(2007/05) May 2007 MTB

cheezel
I just give bb broccoli and threadfin with the rice lor..but now since i starting to give him rice..must find more variety already..just now i ask MIL whether he ate porridge..MIL said he ate leh..think they really wan variety leh..

cheezel

awww, yr baby can talk already? so cute!

zhuzhu
sounds like a good menu..hehe but i agree...must find variety. just like us, babies also want to eat new & yummy food
imagine if we have to eat the same dish with rice everyday....

Re: Solid food
Tried giving Shyanne mee sua few weeks ago.. she also dun want. i think got wierd taste leh. I tried also not as nice as porridge. Think she still prefer porridge.. just tried to cook it with different stuff.

Oh btw.. Shyanne can walk already. But she walks like she drunk .. hahaha

wonderbaby,
I used calamine lotion when Shyanne had heat rash. Recover v fast.. Nowadays, I bought a lot of singlets for her to wear. Weather just much too hot.

Re: Sterilising
Can I ask if we have to continue sterilise bb milk bottles as long as they are still using bottles?

For Advent steriliser, where can i get the de-scale powder?

naqia/ cheezel
tks he was having fungal infection, saw speacialist cost me $126 ok. lucky now recovered after the med.

JG
i think after 1 yr old can do without sterilising bottles but since we had the sterilizer so just continue to do so bah.

so far i never use de-scale powder sanrio taught me to use vinegar.

wonderbaby

no lah my baby can't chew meat (beef etc). But chicken is easy to mash up & don't need much chewing right? So far I very very rarely give him meat.. Only give chicken & fish meat

JG
The de-scaling powder is available at AVENT Phillips. It's actually citric acid. Or some mummies here say can use vinegar or something right?

JG
I am using pigeon sterliser..to descale i pour in 40ml of vinegar and 80ml of water...then when it finished sterlising..i wait for another 20min-30min..then use a clean cloth to wipe the metal part..and rinse it...then i pour in 120ml of water to sterlise again..rinse it and then its done..

JG,
Besides vinegar, you can also use lemon. Squeeze the juice out, and mix with water. Method is the same as using vinegar.

cheezel,
now you carry javen, do you carry him on your side, or you still carry as per normal in front, so that he is like sitting on your stomach.?

I would like to try using slow cooker to cook porridge this weekend. How much rice and water do you add? Besides throwing the veg inside, do you also throw the meat inside?
I usually use stove and normal pot to cook my porridge. Thought of trying slow cooker now.

BTW, any mummies taking leave on 2 or 3 Jun?

JG
It's not necessary to sterilise the bottles after 1 yr old. Mayb u can consider sterilising the bottles after 2-3 days of usage. That's wat i do hehehe:D

sgn,
Do u buy dried scallops from medical shops? Or where do u buy them?

Re: Threadfin
Is threadfin also known as kurau fish?

wonderbaby,
same as chloe, xuen also says a few words only, especially "papa" and "bye"... may be "mummy" is too hard to pronounce at their stage. wow, 8 teeth in total, really good.. this means she can enjoy more food in the near future.
xuen also has rashes, i bring her to pd and they gave her some cream to apply, it will eventually dissapear after 2 days.

naqia,
yeah.. don't know where to stay... seems like all the hotels increase price significantly.

JG,
i sterilise by hot water now after every use....

Cheezel
Jonas attention span like very short lei…when I teach him using flashcards…he see for 1-2 minute then turn away liao…so dun think he can recognise pictures yet.

By the way, you know the gender for no. 2 yet?

Naqia
Thanks for sharing your feeding experience….you sure make it seems so fun!

Maybe becoz I dun know cooking….so find it hard to think of ways to prepare food. Only know steaming & boiling. :p

By the way, you can feed minced beef to Adam. Get the fillet steak..it’s very tender…Adam should have no problem in chewing that…even Jonas can eat it already.

Cheezel / Naqia
Your boy can talk / Your boy can walk….my boy cannot both! So envy!!!!!!

Janet
Am using slow cooker to make porridge for Jonas all the while….one soup spoon of rice to 1 & 1/3 rice bowl of water. I throw the vege in to cook but meat only add later when porridge almost ready. But if you want to retain all nutrients, then best to steam vege & meat separately and feed when porridge is ready.

EK
You can get dried scallops from the dried goods stall (the one that sells ikan billis, dried shrimps etc.) at the wet market….

zaczac
dried scallop can get from dried goods stalls in the market. usu i will buy from hock hua cos they got discount. try to get bigger scallops as their nutrition value is higher, this is what the sales person said. if from japan ones even better than those imported from china.

today ky tried walking with support by himself.
i'm so surprise cos all the while mil said he was lazy to learn to walk.

janet
3rd i'm having sleeping day? why u want to meet?

janet
i carry both ways. side and front as tummy not so big yet. but i tend to carry more to the side now as its more comfortable and javen tend to like to kick his legs when hes excited with something he saw.

for slow cooker, i put in the rice first then when the rice has broken up i put in the meat. the last 1 hr b4 bb lunch, will add in vege n fish.

springdance
not confirm. but mostly its a boy.
dun worry. diff baby develop at diff spd. javen only learn how to crawl at 11 months when most of the may babies were already crawling n some even walk liao.

i seldom use flashcards now cos javen will always wanna take and crush them up.so normally i will like show him the apple which i going to cut up for him to eat, and tell him repeatedly that its apple. n will do tat everyday. or will show him where the fan is in the hse. and then repeatedly tell him. will test him if he remember else, will teach again.

Me oso 1 lazy mummy who dun use flashcards :p Yday, jboy kips touching things he not suppose to, till I scolded him ' why you bu ting hua (dun listen), where's your ear' .. dan he actually pointed to his ear **faint** It was a pleasant surprise tho' coz we never teach him this b4. After dat, I tried few times ask him where his ear he can point correctly

Bridget

oh you mean you have to put up at a hotel when you return to SG? All yr relatives have moved to M'sia? Goshh must be tough! Will you be staying long?

Flashcards?? hehe I only have 1 set - the infant black & white. And now it's all gone... forget it...ehhe no attention span for that. But it's cute how babies can respond and understand meanings of things huh...like get yr water bottle etc. So cute lah CD, yr baby knows how to point ears. Super cute!

Re: Flashcards
I just started flashing the Dot cards. Aiyo.. she not looking also. But they said should just continue flashing.. I look so stupid flashing cards to someone who's not looking at it.. haha

Re: Sterilising
Thanks for all your response to my qn.

cool daughter
bbs r so cute hor. there's once my boy holding on to his piglet softtoy and i ask him to show me where is pig pig ear....n u know what he did...he come to me, tilt my head and point to my ear. my hubby has a good laugh teasing i'm the pig!

naqia
my infant flashcard has become my boy's toy. i bought a bigger and colourful set for him. theres pictures of animals, fruits n vehicles. he seems interested the 1st time i show him. pay full attention. after tat, subsequent, he only pay attention to the 1st 10 or so cards and crawl or looks away. so now, i spread the flashcard on the floor and ask him to search for the things i named.

Cheezel
oh, expecting another boi huh. Boi super active rite? But can lose wgt faster too. heehee....

JG
Me oso find it stupid to flash cards initially. But it realli helps. So far I taught bbK A-J, n whenever I say A for airplane, den I'll ask her wer's airplane?, She'll point. B for ball den she point the ball..etc etc. Dont gib up.

cheezel

wow, i salute you...i can't imagine going thru pregnancy and handling my tiny little active tot!

Mum@work, cheezel

U gals are amazing..i think my attention span is the same as my baby's. if he can't be bothered to see flashcards, I won't bother. But I like reading books to him. This was one of the first books I bot for him http://www.amazon.co.uk/Lets-Play-Happy-Baby-DK/dp/0756625998/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1211899617&sr=1-2 and it was his favourite book at about 3-6 mths old.

I think our babies are learning to talk huh? They start with understanding words.Just now my mom said when she asked "where is adam??" my kid walked to his picture frame and pointed...hehehe. He also likes to point at the train, and would get excited the moment he can hear the train coming. It's amazing, just a year ago they were so helpless. Now they're such adorable human beings

now my boy likes to play with the TV remote..this morning, when I turned off the TV..he walked to the coffee table and hold the remote high in the sky..trying to turn on the TV again..

thanks for feedback on vege and scallops.

sgn
I ever bought scallop, those big ones (from japan) from Hock Hua but my mil commented that they smell very fishy and not as frangrant as the one she bought from Msia. So I'm actually sourcing for other types of scallops. There isn't any dried food store at my market leh. Looks like I gotta go to Ellenborough market to buy liao

yesterday qayshon fell down from the coffee table. He climbed up and was standing on the coffee table. his korkor grab him and he fell and hit the floor head down. But he seems to be ok after crying for some time. no vomit so far but there's a huge bump on his head. do u all think I shd bring him to the doctor.

Springdance

you mean fillet steak is available in markets? I'm not a much of a meat person...so dont' really know the cuts. OK, will try!

EK
Guess falling is part & parcel of growing up huh... just monitor, hope nothing serious happens! Then BabyQ will grow even stronger

Cheezel
Another prince…. The brothers can share stuff in future. Aren’t you excited whether the two will look alike?

I have a friend with 2 boys…their character is the opposite of each other…my friend say this is usually the case for siblings….if 1st one is quiet…2nd is active and vice versa.

By the way, you still have MS? Hopefully it’s gone since you have passed the 1st trim.

Naqia
I got the fillet steak from ‘Marketplace’ supermarket….dun think the sellers at the wet markets know what is fillet cut.

ZhuZhu/ EK
Think all babies just LOVE the remote controls…same for mine. In fact, he will even go press on the buttons on the DVD recorder itself…got once occasion he actually started the recording on SCV.

<font color="0000ff">Re: Flashcards &amp; books</font>
My boy likes to fly the flashcards from the coffee table to the floor….sweep sweep sweep everything away with his hands…..

He has no attention span for books too…keep trying to close the book that I am reading to him.

Hiazzz……motor skill slow, not talking anything yet, no interest for books….really cant figure out where his strength is at present?????

zaczac
oh dear, can observe at home if the kid have no vomiting, headache or decrease in consious level.
as long as he can eat n play then should be ok.

re: scallop
i find the scallops ok ley, they are from the sea sure have smell. maybe ur mil very particular bah.

zhuzhu/ zaczac
aiyo my boy also did that! this morning climb up the coffee table. remote control had been his flavourite since few months ago. when i ask him 'di' then he will use the controller to point at the tv or fan. he can tell which controller is for fan n which is for tv! like what naqia said our darlings are such an adorable creature!!! ha ha ha.

flashcard:
i did't take out until recently, n ky also can't really stay still to let me finish the 26 cards... hai! at least i read to him he know fish, apple n bus.

Springdance,
Different kids have different milestones. Though they can't talk yet, but they are absorbing.. at such an amazing rate, looking at what you do, listening to what you say, everyday..

I think as mummy, we just want them to be healthy. That's the most impt, don't u agree?

zhuzhu/zaczac/sgn
my boy aso like remote control. whenever he gets his hand on it, he will also held it high high machiam trying to on the TV or aircon. n when u ask him if the aircon is cold enuff, he raise the other hand trying to see if the room is cold.

think they learning fast now. whatever things we do, they will imitate.

springdance
no more MS. in fact, i cant wait for my second one to be out soon cos its rathering tiring taking care of my boy with a tummy.

JG
Yes of coz health is the most important...but my boy is not eating much and also quite petite in size...so that's another worry for me...Signzz...I sure am negative rite. :p

Cheezel
Yeah...can imagine the pressure in having to carry more than 10kg with a big tummy...you got a maid to help you?

springdance
no. my mil helping me look after my boy. i'm on leave for te past 2 weeks to look after my boy as mil went for hoilday. coming back tonight. will be back to work on fri. quite tiring but glad can spend more time with my boy. my mom do come over to help me out now and then.

Springdance

don't worry, your baby is learning equally fast. It's just that he is shy in showing his tricks... hee hehe.

Cheezel

I agree that they're imitating whatever we do. Can put whatever object on his ears and pretend it's the telephone. Remote control... it's universal, i think all babies love it.. mine would start banging it too, then grin...Grrrr...

GSS
Anyone gone for a shopping trip? I think this time I'll shop for baby clothes. Since having a baby i tink i shop more for baby than myself!

naqia,
well, i do not want to trouble anyone... that's why we prefer to stay somewhere else loh...i plan to be there around 1 week.
flash cards: i flash "book" page by page...haha...

Cheezel
That's really nice...got two experienced mums to help you. Have you started eating tonics?

Naqia
Well...you are darn right about his shyness...he IS VERY SHY...another of his weak character by nature. :p

You planning for overseas shopping trip?

bridget

ohhh but if you drive a SGD car, cannot top up at JB liao eheh..

SPringdance
No lah..now GSS...so must spend $$ in SG, generate the economy. So, putting a pause on Overseas sprees now :p

bridget

cos i told my boss i no choice ma. shes not very willing to let me go off for 2 weeks. the most 1 weeks only. i told her even she dun let me go i also have to take....the most i take urgent leave or ask gynae to give long MC. she also no choice....she not married...no kids yet so she dunno abt family value or the needs to take urgent leave at times.......expect us to slog for her even after work....i dun care...i just shut down PC when its time to knock off.

springdance
only take black chicken soup which my mom will prepare for me everyweek. else nothing much abt tonic.

hey mommies
just to check if you let ur bb wear socks at night when sleeping in air con room? i let Javen wear long sleeve pyjamas with socks at night. recently i remove his socks and when i check on him in the middle of night, his feet feel cold so let him wear back. he didnt like blanket and will kick off in the middle of night. sometime i will cover back for him but at times too tired liao.

btw, make potato corn soup yesterday and cook rice for my boy. then mix the carrot, potato and also one vege for him to go with. he took abt 3/4 bowl. normally if porridge will be one full bowl or slightly more.is the rice intake ok? just wondering if he's ok cos the last few mouthful, he actually give me a vomit look so i stop feeding him cos scare too full for him

cheezel
usually i will let him wear sleepsuit if sleep in aircon..cos i find that socks will have a mark on their little ankle..or u buy those pants with the leg parts covered kind..

cheezel
i don't let bbQ wear socks at night, no good for blood circulation leh cos it's tight round the ankle like what zhuzhu says. bbQ sleeps in air con with t-shirt and long pants nia. I think he's scared of heat rather then cold. hehe:D

Can your baby say mama and papa? bbQ still cannot say much, only say there there, berber, dada. So sad until now he cant say mama.

cheezel,
We are a polar bear family &amp; luvs the cold :p
But I still let jboy wear long PJs, but no socks. I also make it a habit to cover him with a blanket, but usually, within a few hours, he will kick it away.

EK,
jboy oso haven say 'mama'. Only 'papa' n 'ah', occasionally 'ey'.

cheezel
i also don't let bb wear socks..only long sleeves and pants

chloe can say papa mama dada but she doesnt connect it to us..she only know how to point to us when i ask her 'where's mummy? where's daddy?'.currently she only knows how to say 'mum mum' and 'bye' and knows the meaning. the rest of the words she knows a lot but can only point and not say

cheezel,
u really challenge your boss... haha... yesterday i went for an interview, although they offer attractive package, but i think i am not going to take due to it is sales nature... have to juggle bb and work..really not easy.
xuen still wear socks at night as we sleep in an air con room, worry she will catch cold if not wearing.

zaczac
my boy can say mama n papa though he call out papa more frequently. But he dunno papa is daddy....haha.....he will say "day day" as daddy. my boy just learn how to start "work" n "star". when i ask him where's daddy. he will say "work". then when sing twinkle little star, he will "star star". btw, i just realise he's singing whenever those drama serial starts with those songs......very funni...he will "ehh....ernn....hmm...." along while listening attentively

bridget
yeah. now i dun care. if i think she's being unreasonable i will just say my view. dun care if she is not happy. anyway, dun think will wanna stay there for long also.....think time for me to move on after my #2 comes out.

i aso let bb wear socks but i dun pull it high as it will leave a marking. i just wear n leave it at the ankle area.

cheezel
I usually let bbK wear sleepsuits. Guess all bbs the same, if cover wif blanket, it'll be all over the place after a short while.

EK
bbK know 'papa'&amp; 'mama' but prefer to call 'papa' most of the time. She very funny de, whenever she call 'papa' she muz look at our wedding portrait instead of daddy(when daddy is right infront of her.) hahahaha....Somex she'll oso say 'cho cho'(smelly) when I clean her poo.

Does any of u have the Abbott Discount Voucher for Gain IQ?

Is it possible if I can have them coz I have lost mine? I am thinking of trying out Gain IQ for babyG and at the same time enjoy the discount.

Any mummy? We can exchange for local stamps if u want too.

Please email me.