(2007/05) May 2007 MTB

i seriously duno wat to cook for bb already..this morning tried to give him ABC pasta with his milk in it..he ate a few mouth then duno liao..give him this bb biscuits he eat..haiz...

Mum@work
there are a few brands of magic pot..endo..thermos..tiger..u can find them at Isetan or CK Tang

m@w,
I bot mine at OG during sales .. no brand made in Taiwan kind. I heard some mummies using Endo & its quite gd. Basically, it's a thermos pot where u boil e ingredient to a roaring boil, dan juz put it in e thermos pot & let it cont to cook for next 2-3 hrs. Sorry, i dun hv pic.

zhuzhu

how about rice? he got teeth already right? ABC pasta where to find huh? I tot pasta is rather hard to chew if only got front teeth...hehehe...

zhu zhu
i'm going to cook mee sua for chloe tomorrow. last time i cooked ABC pasta with tomato and she wanted to vomit out after only 1 mouthful then refused to eat..think next time will try pasta in soup

naqia
actually the ABC pasta can cook till very soft . no need teeth

naqia
i think i going to try rice tomolo..but i worry too dry lar...got my ABC pasta from NTUC..

like wat wonderbaby said..cook until very soft lor..

zhuzhu/ CoolD
Thks for details of magic pot. zhuzhu, I have tried rice b4, but muz cooked till soft rice(abit wet juz b4 it break into porridge kind.)

chloe doesnt want to eat the mee sua! she juz refuses to swallow..so i ended up making cereal for her..haiz...
will my ABC pasta and cheese have the same fate?

zhuzhu & wonderbaby

I've been feeding baby with the rice we adults eat! ehhe. just mash it up a bit, and he enjoys it. he'd eat about 4-8 mouthfuls... so little...but at least it's solid and I hope it keeps him full. Of coz must feed water along the way.

This morning brought baby cycling at east coast. He only "tompang"his dad lah....and on the way back to return the bicycle, he fell asleep!! tsk tsk...must be the breeze

naqia
just cooked my rice..waiting for bb to wake up and see if he likes it o not..

Re:BP
do u ladies now find the BP thread super duper hard to read..i cannot tell which are the new BPs now..aiyoh

zhuzhu

Yeah I agree that BP threads are sooooo messy now! And a lot of unnecessary things being sold. Given up on buying the baby clothing liao. And before i purchase something now, I'll thinkfirst. Think the spree section more fun.hehehe

naqia
Oh, u went cycling in the morning huh...me went in the evening abt 6pm. Juz washed her n put her to bed liao. On the way bk to return the bicycle, she starts to cranky, don wanna sit, wanna walk!! faintzz... We cycled very far to the end so in the end gotta sing songs n attract her attention to see dogs, children etc etc to cycle bk to the station. Haha...lesson learnt. Dare not cycle too far nxt time.

janet/wonder baby
normally i bought the laughing cow party cube and just scope some for bb to eat. didnt come across my mind to spread it on bread for him. prob will try tomor. hope it likes it.

Wonderbaby
can try ABC pasta with soup as its not too much of a diff in taste as compared to tomato. with cheese maybe too dry....n with milk sounds abit funni to me cos i wont dare to eat pasta with milk. hehe....

i haben tried rice except for a tiny amount which i feed him when we having our meal. but ow to cook the rice till not so wet like porridge and also not too dry le.

Re: Milo
Can baby start to drink milo?

cheezel
i tried giving bb rice just now..think something new for him..so he finished most of it..to make it less dry..i put abit of the veggie soup lor..cos when I steam the veggie..got abit of water..so I just pour the water onton the rice..

cheezel
my mil had been giving milo (without sugar) to my boy but my aunty always find it too sweet for bb.

zhuzhu/ naqia
agreed with u that very hard to catch up with the BP thread. after posted for something n the next time can't find the thread.

Hi Mommas!

Sorry to intrude, but I'm wondering if anyone has any gal party stuffs from birthdaydirect to let go of? I'm keen to get them for my bub's birthday in late June. Could you please drop me an email if you've any? [email protected]

Thanks a bunch!

There is Milo Junior meant for kids above 3 yrs old. I think the adult milo not so appropriate of kids. Mayb u wanna try milo junior cos it contains milk n malt.

re: What kind of vege do u give your baby?
Do u gals buy organic veges or just normal vege?

wonder_baby and zhuzhu,
So your kids also dont really like solid ah? Mine also. I tried lumpy-solid porridge, she doesnt like. I tried rice, then semi mashed with added soup. She took a bit more, but only 1/3 bowl. So I always supplement with cereal after that.

Cheezel,
For milo, I am not so keen, because there is sugar added in milo. But I guess it depends on individual preference regarding when should sugar be introduced to baby. I guess now the stage 3 milk powder also added with sugar already right? But just make sure that the milo is not replacing the milk intake.

Anyone interested in joining HT spree?

Re: Solids for Baby
My boy is also not really open to other solids...tried mee sua, beehoon and ABC pasta (tried both soup & cheese version) b4...he only eat 2-3 small mouths then dun wan liao...when I try to make him eat a few more mouths, he vomit. haizz......so we are still stuck to the boring porridge (which he is taking quite long to eat nowadays)...at least 45min or more to fnish one bowl. And as per usual, he still still like & drink little milk.

zaczac
i do buy organic veg but not all the time. sometimes just normal veg if mil goes market.

Janet
my boy is the other way round. he dun like cereal so everyday i got make effort to cook porridge for him.

springdance
got use thermos to keep warm while feeding?
my boy also chao kuan if the drink or food turns cold he dun want to eat or drink.

spring dance
agree with sgn. only scope out half a bowl of porridge to feed and keep the rest in thermo flask or slow cooker to keep warm. when finish then take out else cold liao not nice to eat. Javen also no like to eat cold porridge...very chao kuan also. last time he took 30 min to finish.....now better...10-15 mins chop chop finish.

zhuzhu
what else u put in the rice beside vege? wanna try tonight or prob tomor. hmm....thinking of making potato n carrot soup then mix with the rice. but dunno if like plain anot.

tis morn made myself a cup of milo n let bb try abit..his expression so funni n he dun like....prob too sweet for him.

Janet/wonderbaby
i let bb try out bread with cheese spread....he take le...hehe...one more variety liao beside brea with milk or egg yolk.

Ek
i just buy normal vege from market.

ic. so i have to wait untill at least my boy is 2 yrs? cos my boy refused to drink water. So i have to try all sort of method to make him drink water.

EK
For me, I juz buy normal vege.

SpringDance
bbK drinks little milk too. And eat once full meal per day, feeding time so longggggggg too.. faintz. 45mins-1hr cos after feeding half bowl, she'll start to be like a hamster. So far, she eats anyting tat I cook.

RE: MILO
Not gonna gib yet cos it can be quite heaty for toddlers.

Cheezel
I always gib a varieties of vege n meat for rice. For potatoes, carrots, pumkin I dont mash it, I juz cut to cube size. Meat like beef, pork, chix, I'll minced it. Soup is a muz cos rice can be quite dry.

BabyJ
U can try to gib glucose maybe? But not too much. or u can mix baby juice n water lor. (if it is sweetness he's looking for.)

Springdance

how about biscuits and rice? You know those type of biscuits you weigh and buy in markets? My baby likes the one with the fish shape. He would nod his head when he eats it (means it's nice!). I also feed baby bread...basically anything that's not spicy, too sweet or oily. Mine is like yrs..small eater, but he eats when I feed.

I've stopped givng porridge months ago. I spent so much time cooking it, then he refuses..preferring my rice (adult food).

Baby J
how about fruit juice? Or Delrosa water?

personally i think milo is a bit heaty. If just drink one or two sips for fun i guess should be OK, but i won't want to let him drink too much. wouldn't want him to enjoy yummy, milky milo and later he might refuse milk.

Mum@work
Hey you were there too? Was it super crowded in the evening? Babies..dont they just do things that catch us by surprise! ehhe. In the evening, we went for a swim. My hubby said baby went for triathlon - morning cycle, afternoon walk (non-stop as always) and evening, went for swimming :p

naqia
hahaha...mini triathlon. Evening was a bit crowded, many kids cycling on their own. When I cycled wif bbK, I oso worried other kids might bang into me. Talk abt walking, bbK can walked 10-15steps on her own nw and she wanna walk walk n walk!!! Refuse to sit down. Everytime I put her on sofa, bed, she'll start to push her butt towards to the end of it. Muz watch her cos she's like a humpty dumpty!!! hahaha... Looks like I can shed some wgt liao..

Mum@Work,

I have tried glucose water also. dun help. really cannot tahan him. ieven let him try heniz baby juice, he rejected also.

Naqia

Delrosa water suitable? i tot is for adult?

Sgn/ Cheezel
I cook the porridge using slow cooker…Actually I now it’s better to scoop half and keep the remaining half in the cooker to keep it warm lar…but the feeding is in the living room and cooker is in the kitchen…baby start screaming or run away if the person feeding (either my MIL or me) walks off halfway lei. So we will just scoop everything out at one go and sit right beside and feed all the way through he finish.

There’s a big feeding bowl for baby where you can put hot water in the tray supporting the bowl to keep the contents warm…but it’s quite heavy to hold so long and baby have the tendency to sweep the bowl away…so must hold very tight & steady which is not easy if it’s a big & heavy bowl with tray.

bbJonas used to eat faster when he was younger….but now he starts to keep the porridge in his mouth & dun swallow until after some time…that’s why eat so slow! Signzzzz……

Naqia
My boy seems to prefer food that has got liquids…do you mean feeding the cooked rice with just biscuits crumbs sprinkled over?

Mum@Work
Your gal know how to get down the bed/sofa on her own? If not yet, time to start training her. Otherwise, quite dangerous...

janet
actually my girl is ok with lumpy porridge leh..dunno why she doesnt want to eat abc pasta and mee sua..so i guess bee hoon and rice will be out too coz she doesnt seem to want to chew

springdance
my girl can shake hands with jonas..she takes very long to finish her porridge too..then she will demand for books while eating and will throw all onto the floor. without books she will juz keep turning her head away and refuse to eat..so no choice today i resorted to turning on the tv..and she finished the whole bowl! normally she'll only eat half a bowl at most..she likes hi 5 a lot and wont watch other shows.then she sits on her hi chair like rickshaw puller with her foot on the tray *faint*

SpringDance
Ya, taught her how to get down frm bed liao, tats y she kept wanting to go down...(regret) Juz tat my bed is abit higher den the rest of the rms so she'll pull the blanket to help her down. But still muz watch her cos she's still like a tumbling tot!! bbK only watch "wheel on the bus" for her feeding. like u say lor realli 'bo bian', if not refuse to eat.

babyJ
Does he poo regularly? If yes, as long as he dont contispate can liao lor. One of my gf's son oso bo drink H2O de but he can poo 3-4x a day. bbK drinks min. 8oz of water a day but oso don poo everyday.

spring dance
agree...quite troublesome to feed halfway n then walk off to scope the rest. normally i feed Javen (in high chair) in the kitchen.near to dining table which i put my slow cooker on. sometime will play Hi 5 or Wheels on the bus for him to keep him entertain else he will demand this n tat...n keep pointing here n there n ask me to " take take or na na"

wonderbaby
javen also like hi 5. his fav show esp when they r singing n dancing.

baby J
delrosa is ok. i feed my bb tat since he 6 months till now. just dilute it and let him drink. lots of vit C. i drink tat too as its also safe for preggies.

cheezel

Where can i get it? is it x or not? will it cause phlegm?

So happy to hear so many of u babies can walk.. mine still dunno how to walk himself. I dunno is it i am too anxious to see him walk by himself. Signzzz

springdance

no...eheh what i meant was, just feed him some rice with some chicken, vege or anything lah (sometimes I feed him with egg if there's really nothing else). Then if he eats only a little, later for snacks you can give him some biscuits. Those biscuits melt in the mouth, and he can self-feed. If you're worried, get him to bite half first

My kid is the sort, whom after milk or food, can still open mouth to eat biscuits etc etc or milk. He's a small but frequent eater. That's why I just feed him everytime he wants to eat. hehe, except night time, no no lah. Especially since he's not that chubby either.

Some babies prefer adult food to baby food... that's why i started giving mine rice. It's our staple diet too, so easier to get him used to it. But of coz, now rice getting ex...so might want to teach him to eat potato or pasta too! I also give him mashed potato (cooked in soup, then just mash up & feed to him or add rice).

Fooh, lengthy post!

Baby J
Delrosa water has been discussed before..ehhe, just dilute. Can buy from NTUC or Guardian. Or have you tried feeding him with a spoon? Some babies drink more when you feed with spoon rather than thru teat or spout.

Mum@work

Hehe so cute right now she can walk! She'll get suppperrrr excited and won't stop walking. And of course, climbing :p

baby J
can get it at any NTUC, pharmacy. guardian sells that too.

dun worry. my bb also cant really walk by himself except a few unstable steps.

naqia,
thanks for your compliments....u feed the junior with rice? i am still with porridge ler... she has only 4 teeth now.
sgn,
i am staying in malaysia now... will be going to singapore this year end...

Naqia
Wah...your boy shares the same food (rice/vege/meat) as you all? That's so convenient & easy....me interested to know more... How do you know when he is ready to eat the same foods? And how much rice to give for each meal?

Cheezel
Actually I think Javen quite advanced in learning rite...can say a few words liao and even recognise pictures & numbers and point to them.

Mum@Work
We very slack in letting baby learn...he watch the same programmes as us...nver let him see education DVDs. :p

cheezel/springdance
chloe knows a lot of things and can point to them when i ask her to, but she doesnt seem to want to say the words..now she keeps saying 'bye' only..and no signs of walking yet

bridget
mine also hv only 4 teeth but can see 4 more sprouting

naqia
how many teeth does adam hv? he can chew very well? even vege and meat? wow!

BabyJ

In a way I understand why you say you're anxious to see him walk. I think apart from their climbing & exploring, it's actually much easier now they can walk! WHen I enter the house, I just put him down, and off he toddles along. Just now my mom was carrying him around the house, and then she said, Oh ya, I forgot you can walk now!

Bridget

I see... you're coming back for good?

Springdance

Yups, I've stopped cooking food specially for him for about 3 mths already (esp since he got 4 teeth on top, 4 teeth bottom :p). Coz a part of me thinks that weaning is about introducing him to adult food. As long as no MSG, not spicy, no seafood, its ok with me. But of course i don't cook too much spicy food too.

LIke last Sat, I just roasted some chicken in the oven, and threw in some potatoes too. Mashed them up (the breast meat part), then I just feed him lor. I really can't tell you how much rice to give each meal, coz if he's full, he stops asking for more. Most of the time he only eats about 5-7 mouthfuls of rice. More if it's delish...hehe.

As for vege, a bit tough lah... I give carrots or broccolli most of the time. Once they're in soups, they should be quite soft. If spicy, I'll wash them with water (whoops, lazy right).

I guess there's always trial and error with baby food. No hard and fast rule. You'll discover. Try to make this fun, not stressful. You'll enjoy it more

Re: baby DVDs
I also wished he could sustain some attention watching DVDs. Can your babies sit still to do so? Mine can't. But I notice he watches teletubbies, and this prog shown around 9 am on central today..eheheh..

chloe had bad rashes think it's heat rash on her neck since few days ago. now it has become dried up and some of them is like those yellow dots with pus inside..like pimple that is ready to be pressed kind.do i juz leave it alone?

baby j
i also feel very tired whenever i carry javen now. esp now preg cant carry for long. he always want me to carry esp during shopping. will fuss when i put him in stroller...but now, i just tell him mommy tired and ask him to sit in his own car.....he seems to be able to understand and more willingly to sit. else, i think my hubby arms will break....hehe

springdance
its only when i realise he can recognise most of the things i point out to him, then i quickly teach him thereafter, cos i think if hes able to absorb well then just teach him. today, i heard him say "star" when he heard the twinkle twinkle little star song and he say repeatedly when we having dinner just now at a restaurant where the ceiling is full of little stars. n the whole restaurant is full of his voice....every body keep looking at him. very talkative now. morning wake up, can hear his voice at my ear liao.

but hor.....no sign of walking on his own ....

wonderbaby
got bring bb see doc? or apply any cream? if its disturbing, then best to see doc.

sgn
what happen to ky? what cause the rash? nowaday, whenever i bring javen out, will wash his hands when we back home. scare of HFMD