(2007/05) May 2007 MTB

Hi mommies!

It's been a LOOONG time since I lasted posted here! Been trying to catch up with the threads. Good thing the thread hasn't been as busy as when we were on maternity leave, or else it'd take me forever to catch up.

Anyway, haven't been able to post much coz my little boy was hospitalized coz of high viral fever - something like Cher's I believe. But he had it for like... 4 days I believe. It was only when he started becoming lethargic, and wasn't eating anymore, the doctor decided to admit him.

I was "camping" in the hospital for 4 days, then I caught the bug just when the doctor said we could go home. So, my turn with the high fever for about 4 days, then it was Laura's turn. But she was still drinking okay, much lesser, but still okay, so the doctor didn't see the need to admit her. It was during this time when she lost most of her chubby cheeks and thunder thighs though.
Then finally, it was HB's turn. He had it for about 3 days I think. During these few days, my MIL came over and kept walking around with a can of Lysol, spraying here and there, in hope that the virus wouldn't spread anymore. She and the maid walked around with masks too. It was a good thing that they didn't get it.

Talking about my MIL, I am so pissed with her! She cut Laura's precious curls all off! Not once, but twice, and in 2 weeks! TWO haircuts in TWO weeks! Now she looks like a boy! &#^%@#$ I was so upset I almost cried, coz I loved those curls! But I'm too chicken-hearted to say anything to her, coz she's the ultra sensitive type. So, had to just sulk to myself, and curse under my breath... coz HB was out of town. Sigh. I think next time I should make a nice big tag with the words "PLEASE DON'T CUT MY CURLS" and hang on Laura every morning when she goes over to my MIL's place. Hopefully when the hair grows out, they will curl again, or else I'm gonna be pretty pissed all over again.

Anyway, it's awesome to be able to catch up with what's going on with you guys via this thread, as well as your blogs. Yep... I check them out whenever I have the chance. You guys really do a great job! Sorry, I don't blog - simply no time! Oh by the way... what happened to Faith's blog?

Okay, take care dears.. miss you guys you know! Hopefully can meet up sometime soon!

Dudette
long time no see, n u sure had a very stressful event. now is my turn. hope the bug dun pass to my hb.
u take care too.

Dudette!

Yeah been some time since you posted. I was wondering where you were. Good to know baby's fine now...must've been a nightmare when she was hospitalised...

Taro
How is YX getting on? Hope his fever has subsided. You must be very tired...managing work & gogomummy...and YX is sick. Take care!

Dudette
Seems that viral flu going on strong during this period...think is the terribly hot and sudden heavy pours weather...climate is going crazy. Better avoid outings to crowded places during this period..

My MIL also keep commenting "your son perspiring alot...keep scratching his head...better to keep his hair shorter...."

hope all the sick babies are well now!

naqia
ya the thread so quiet nowadays.

re:goodie bags for party
what can we put in the goodie bags?

springdance
javen also always scratch his head. machiam no scratch till like no wash hair for days. hehe....

wonderbaby
i bought some eye mask, party hat, balloon, blower (dunno whats tat call...when u blow,the paper will unroll), shaker, candies, chocolate etc.

my poor ky had fever for 3 days. seen pd but still having high fever depite of med, very worry we may ended up in kkh!

yo 'colleague',
Hw hv u been .. haven seen ur post soo long. BZ at work? anyway, seems dat alot of bbs r falling sick. blame it on e weather !! Laura's curl, no worries, am sure it will grow out soon

<font color="0000ff">Hello everyone!

Just drop by to say hello to everyone! Hope all of you are doing well! Just a short update, bbR becoming more and more notti and now likes to scream and shout for things! ...
Sgn, take care! bbKY will be fine but you have to be more patient and monitor his condition. Springdance, sometimes I on skype but nvr see you online..
Cheezel &amp; Wonderbaby, must catch you all online msn one day! Jeanyard &amp; Ziying, I miss you two! Sanrio, hope Cher is doing well. Heard she is not feeling well, must take care yeah! Taro, HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY TO YX! Softpillow, whenever I see my bbR smells his bolster, I think of you!

Ok, guys, take care! Will drop by again!

wonder baby

the fun part is actually for us adults right..hehe putting stuff into the goodie bags &amp; all..

yoyo

hey! How've u been? Our babies are exactly 11 mths today

Oh yes, btw if anyone's organising a fast Birthday direct spree, can I join you, pls? See lah, last min then thinking of getting some stuff from there...

yoyo
it had been a long time since we chat. remember the days when we were doing confinement we logon everyday, really miss those days. happy 11th month to ur boy.

last night ky could sleep but wake up many times, fever subsided this morning.

Cheezel
Jonas also like to scratch his head…think he feels hot…the sweat running down his scalp…so he feel itchy.

He also got use his hand to beat his head sometimes! Like having a very bad headache….dunnoe what’s wrong.

YoYo
Soooo longgggg never see you. You sure you got add me correctly in Skype??? I am on everyday on weekdays office hours.

My boy also getting bad tempered nowadays...will scream or jump jump angrily if we dun let him have his way!

yoyo/naqia
happy 11 mths to your babies!

sgn
glad to hear that ky's not hving fever. you must be very tired

yoyo
ray likes to smell his bolster? so cute! bbC hardly notices her pillow n bolsters. she prefers to hug daddy's big bolster instead

Happy 11mths to those turning 11mth! bbK suddenly down wif fever yesterday after lunch. (hearsay tt bb turning 1 will fall sick?) Donno wad happen, I reckon its teething? I juz gave her panadol n put the cooling pad on her 4head. den fever com on &amp; off. Nw monitoring her, quite grouchy at times too.

wonder baby

Thanks for the wish! I bring my baby swimming almost every week :p I use a swimming diaper (non-disposable type) from iplay. It looks like a swimming trunk. Then I put on a swimming suit over him. If not the exposed top veryyy cold lei..

Mum@work
Yeah i think it's due to teething. My baby doesn't have fever, thank goodness, but he was super cranky for 2 days last week. Realised he was sprouting 2 extra teeth (beside the front teeth). Luckily now not so groucy anymore. DOn't worry I think yours will get over the phase soon too...

SGN
So u on MC? Or leave? Take care and rest well!

My baby has almost none of the baby fat left...not so chubby as last time. Is your baby also like that? Maybe around this time, they grow long instead of fat??

Anyone brought their babies for chinese physician before? Any recommendation?

naqia
i'm on emergency leave for 2 days, ky had fever for 4 days.

wonder baby
yesterday seen but pd said got to take 1-2 days time the fever then will subside.

sgn
oh no, ur bb oso fever.....did u use cooling pad on ur bb? I did n I think the fever subsided very fast, though at 1st come on &amp; off.

naqia
yes, its teething. Try to put teething gel on her gum n touch, her lower canine coming out! She whinned frm 6pm till nw!! omg!!! gg bersek liao...heehee.....

wonderbaby,other mummies
have u ordered? cos thot of calling n check out any BP price n minimum order for BP... Any mummies interested to make order?
If so, by this week? cos mine celebratin 3rd may, dunno nd how advance we nd to order..

naqia,
didn't really plan to have 2 kids consecutively cos very difficult to get the 1st one. so when had 2nd one, really happy.
agree with you that don't need diaper bag. just a big one with good zip and some compartment is good enough.

RE: play yard
anyone bought play yard? where can I get it? any warehouse sale?

RE: nickname for the 2nd one
i haven't thought of what to name Cookie's sibling. heh, don't ask me what gender, cos I don't know too. you have to come visit and remove bb's diaper :p

Going for Glucose test tomorrow!. wish me luck!!

mum@work

canine is the one beside the front tooth is it? haha, forgot liao...geez, must've been in primary 4 or something when I last used that word! Iknow what u mean by going berserk by whining. Nothing seems right...dunno what else to do. My boy would just want to play and play... don't want to sleep... sighs...

Wonderbaby

When's yr babys birthday? what's in the party pack? I finally managed to join a bday direct spree. Hoping the items will be on time...

Jeanyard
Good on ya that 2nd one came more easily
Ya lah, actually all these diaper bags, they're just out to make us spend $$! :p And I fell for them, I got a skiphop diaper bag which was good, but at the end of the day, any big bag would do. And if breastfeeding, don't even need too big a bag!

Playard
I think it's worth it if you get it since you're having a 2nd one
plonk a bumper mat in, and voila!

And good luck for glucose test! I didn' take any previously leh... btw, u preggy mommy, awake till late?

sgn,
how's your dad now? must be really stressful for you. are you still working?

dudette,
long time no see! hope everyone's well by now. oh dear, seems everyone who log in now always have a sick bb. Hopefully by our bb's first birthday, they will get better.
I'm super busy at work and struggling to take time off to relax. Gastric getting worse whenever my machines are down cos I have to do a lot of troubleshooting.
hope to meet up with you guys soon!

Yoyo! we are supposed to meet up, until now, never see your zhen mian mu.
let me know when. I'm off almost every Tue for yoga from next month onwards....

wonder,
think mee suah is too salty for bb...
make cup cakes lah..

jeanyard
mee sua salty ah? won't hv time to make cupcake coz bbC is like koala bear now..sleep also stick to me..haiz..i miss baking
how's your 2nd pregnancy? any difference from 1st one?

bel
i've ordered for 4th may but hv not paid. i've juz pm-ed augleo from april thread to ask abt the 15% discount. waiting for her to reply

naqia
i only need to prepare 2 goodie bags coz decided to hold simple bbq for the family at my sis's new plc. think will buy gerber puffs for the 6 month old bb girl n a toy car for the 3 yr old boy. then add in all the party stuff maybe. i'll be bringing bbC for photo shoot at foto-u then later swimming n bbq n then cut cake. any idea where to get nice birthday candle? don't think in time to order from birthday direct

Jeanyard
my dad is on the way to recovery but ky last nite had fever 39 deg, we went Mt Alvernia 24hrs clinic. given antiboitics but ky whole nite can't sleep n cranky due to breathless.
good luck for ur glucose test.

sgn
ky's fever has been on off for 3-4 days already, right? poor bb

bel
you can pm augleo your name, delivery date, cake code, HP# n email address to get discount for ecreative cakes

Bel,

I am also celebrating my boy's birthday on the 3rd May. I am thinking of ordering our birthday cake from ecreative too

JeanYard
All the best for your glucose test today! By the way, you know that Jmonster has delivered?

Janet
My boy looking more &amp; more slim nowadays...body &amp; hands like so thin....wat to do, he dun drink much milk....on somedays, he only drink only less than 400ml for the whole day.

sgn
Hope that ky gets well soon...let him drink more water or fruit juices.

When my girl had the slight fever, I gave the water chestnut drink. blend the water chestnut, and run the puree thru a sieve. Collect the juice, and give that to your baby.

Temperature could be brought down with this method.

Springdance,
your boy dont like drink milk, but can take solid food mah.. that is still good...

jeanyard
me got the play yard..call up cheong choon to delivered to my plc..think prices had increased..but this is one of the most useful things I every bought

hi yoyo,
tks. cher is well oreadi. gd to hear fr u agn
how's work. is bbR taking his solids well now?

hi dudette,
ai yo... whole family sick. i can undstd. phew... cher din pass her viral fever to anyone. nowady virus very potent. i got a big shock wen nurse told me her temp was 41'c..
hope evy1 is well now.
i remb laura got nice hair. some old pple jus like kids hair to b super short, b it boy or girl. i waited until neck long long............ cher still has super little hair.

Anyone went for the JWT trial? What will they let the babies play eh? UOB card having discount, so i am contemplating whether to bring my girl to try.

sanrio,

did you put wine on cher scalp? old saying, i have never tried before. dont now whether works or not.

springdance /sanrio
he only wants water n bread, EBM he also dun want. last nite was really cranky due to the nose block and he can't breathe + the high fever made things worse. this morning temp went up to 39.6deg. after panadol he managed to eat a bit of fish meat n slept till 2pm. now just keep my finger cross n hope fever dun come back.

jeanyard,
Good luck for your GTT. I had GD for #1 but for #2 it was ok, so it may not be the same for both pregnancies.

Btw, western mums, wanna meet for lunch this Friday?

Bel,
I am interested in the ecreative cake too. Let me know if you need to make up numbers.

Janet
My boy taking half bowl of cereal x 1 time and ¾ bowl of porridge x 2 times daily…. once awhile eat fruits…I find that is not much actually in comparison to some mummies who still got give tea-break &amp; snacks in between meals plus daily fruits plus 250ml milk per feed…..your gal taking lesser solids than mine?

Naqia
1st birthday I feel better to have a whole cake lei...can consider cupcakes option for 2nd year birthday.

Sgn
Even adults also no appetite when sick…. let alone baby…. Once his fever subsided, his appetite should return in 1-2 days’ time. Maybe can try scrap abit of apples for him to eat too in the meantime?

Springdance,
That is quite a lot of solid, good enough lah...recommendation is 1-2 bowls of porridge, and 750ml milk. Your boy drinks less milk, but can take more solid, good lah...

My girl doesnt really like solid. So per day, she is eating only 3/4 bowl of porridge. But I let her drinks more milk loh...around 850ml milk.

Sgn,
did the PD give your boy the nose spray? Think could help in unblocking the nose. or you could tilt the mattress abit, so that his head is slightly higer than his leg...must be very uncomfortable for the block nose