(2007/05) May 2007 MTB

softpillow

you're thinkin of having a liquor cake for a birthday? hehe, careful about the kids getting a bit woozy :p

IT's FRIDAY! I'm thrilled but I gotta work tomorrow...groans..

congrats to all the preggie mums! i don't think i can handle another one so soon. now oredi so busy with bbC

bbC used to say 'mum mum' for food..now she chged to 'ma ma' for food! *slap forehead* how to correct her ah?

Softpillow / Naqia
I ended up didn't order from PG. Actually emailed them to request for sample photos and prices...but waited for sometime still no response. Whilst waiting, I saw a design I like from another shop so ordered liao. By then I receive the list, it's too late. But I'll probably go for PG option for my husband's birthday or my boy's 2nd birthday. Their cake flavours so interesting & tempting!

Softpillow
I think preg can still eat the LYM...I hear from some mummies' feedback is that the liquor taste is quite mild only...afterall, this is a cake, how much liquor can there be?

You can email PG at [email protected] to get some photos samples of their cakes. But must be patient to give them few days for reply though.

softpillow
huh! i'm tired with 1 already. unless i have someone reliable to look after 2nd one if not dun think of having 2nd one untill ky is 2yrs ba.

the last time i tasted the lychee cake can't taste any liquor ley.

softpillow

ehhehe woozy babies would surely look cute! Blurry expression...hehehe... my sister is so terrible, sometimes she spins herself while carrying my baby, then my baby would giggle in excitement then after that a bit blur ehhehe....

Springdance

For me, cakes got less options lah, coz must take halal ones. In May there'll be 3 birthdays - my baby, my mom & my sis! I see a lot of cake-eating.. tsk tsk...

naqia
pola cakes also nice i order that for my wedding cakes for my collueags.
swentons ice cream cake also nice but can't leave at room temp for long.

naqia,

there is a primadeli near my place lei...but i dont dare to order from them ...

are you getting a primadeli cake?

springdance, i called them 2x but no one pick-up e phone. they dun wan biz? i surfed their website but cant get much info, not much pics also. anyway i've emailed them.

ladies, how abt bangawan solo cakes? saw they hv disney characters cakes, seems cute.

softpillow
i love Bangawan solo's walnut cake hee hee.
i likes Angie the choic's fresh cream cakes too esp their yam flavour. talks about cakes i'm hungry lor.

my work place have premadeli and pola outlet so staff have 10-15% discount. hee hee.....

anyone have loband to get helium gas?

i was thinking if can get the man to inflate the baloons for me on the spot so i need not bring the baloons back with me after inflated.

sgn: u have not taken lunch? do u hv any cake in mind for ky's birthday?

i also intend to get some foil balloons, i read somewhr tat florists hv helium gas.

softpillow
i'm sick at home n MIL also not feeling well so never cook. i only had a piece of cake for lunch.

i'm getting the cake from pine garden cos it's near my place can just collect n go to the party venue.

i asked to florist at my work place the boss says $2 for each balloon but thinking of bringing back is a prob unless get a maxi cab.

Any mummies like baby Gap clothes?

They are having discounts now. 50% for the second piece. On top of that, if you have OCBC card, a further 10%.

havent been coming here for a long time.
Hope all of u are well..

so surprise to see some of our May 07 mommies are preggie again! *WOW*

cheezel, lovedogs, taro, congrats

think I won't dare to have another baby so soon. can't cope.

time flies huh. Most of our babies are 1 yr old or going 1 yr old....It seems yesterday that we are still discussing abt pregnancy and our ultrasound scan.. so fast...

Janet,
the GAP sale is at Vivocity?

Naqia
Oh …hmm…then I would say Angie the Choice is a good option for you…or maybe you can check out Emicakes also? Think they might have Halal certification…..

Softpillow
Really ah…what time you call? I believe they should reply your email…but takes a few days of patience…..

Sgn
Some of the April mummies rented the helium tank home and inflat on their own… you can find out from the balloon vendors. Here are some vendors:
http://www.twinkleballoons.com
http://www.bezballoons.com
http://www.balloonsrus.sg

check with u all, if cater buffet for baby's bd, usually need to ask the caterer come how early in advance?

softpillow,
ehh.. I tot I read somewhere taro said she 4mth preggie?? or something like tad.. unless I blur..:p
emi durian cakes nice? I heard it is but I nvr try before leh.. they got sell 1 slice or not, maybe I go buy and try..hee

ziying
taro was saying she looks as if she's 4mth preggie. hehehe.

re:emi durian cakes
i like e crepe n puffs but ex. for e puffs 12pcs for $10+ , i rather buy e durian n eat.

sanrio
Glad tat cher has recovered.

sgn
I've enquired a few places for helium. If u wan the guy to blow up ur balloons & do abit of decor, he's charging $1.40 each for latex balloon. (for foil balloons, its abit ex cos it goes by sizes)
email: [email protected]. I'll be renting frm another pl, a frenz who recommended me, 60pcs $45 or $400pcs for $150. Deposit of $200. Tank to be collected at Ubi. When is ur bb bday? Would u like to share? SpringDance hv the webby http://www.balloonsrus.sg, price not bad but abit far, its at WL.

naqia
Talking abt spinning the bbs, tat day my sis spinned bbK till she giddy den her eyes go left rite left rite trying to get her position rite!!! so poor ting but funi!!

ziying
normally caterer nit half hr to set up the buffet line. Btw emi durian cakes & puffs are nice. They do sell individual.

mum@wok
rent a tank? my hse got no place for the tank, i only need to inflate 5-6 foil balloons. if the florist charge me $2 each + taxi fare i think $30 is enough.

btw my boy's bb is 13th may n we r celebrating on the 11th

Janet

There'll be 3 birthdays in my family in May, so I think we'll get to eat at least 2 cakes. And then another little celebration at my MIL's so that makes it 3 cakes! hehehe, will surely put on weight. I love sweet stuff!

Talking abt cakes..will you ladies be letting your 1 yr old precious eat the cakes? heheh...a bit too sweet for them, don't ya think?

My baby was soooo cranky yesterday. whole afternoon my mom said he didn't sleep, just whined..but when it came to playing, really enjoyed himself! WhenI took over after work, I realised he was growing a 5th tooth (beside his front tooth). No wonder lah so cranky

He couldn't sleep, so we actually drove out at night...within 2 minutes in the car, he fell asleep...must the rocking motion.

But milk-wise, drink so little...sighs...

naqia
my boy was cranky yesterday too, i felt warm when carry him but never take temp. he was not sleeping thru the nite too, this morning 6am he cried n i carried him n felt he was hot take temp 38.1deg. wonder did i passed my virus to him or he is teething cos i still having sinus infection.

I'm not sure but do Chinese people have this belief that when babies about to celebrate theirmonthly birthday, babies tend to be a bit cranky?

I heard some pple telling me this, but I find it soo strange.. i guess it's just coincidental that the babies are going thru some kind of development at the same time they are celebrating their monthly dates.

Jus wanna check out reponses and feedback regarding home childcare services as i may wan to start a class in my home at anchorvale with a max of 4 children of age 3-4 next year (mon - fri only fr 8-6)Time-table as per how a childcare center runs
Pros:
small ratio, own utensils, home evironment, chances of transmitting virus is minimise, more flexibility...
Cons:
no subsidy, no bb bonus,no mixed age group activities...
Appreciate your feedback and suggestions. What price range will mummies be comfortable with the above mentioned pros and cons?
BTW, how can i go about ordering cake from ecreative if BP? Tot i saw one mummy bought through BP. Will anyone be interested to order one in May? cos ordering for my bbgal 1st bday..

naqia
i'm not ban tang but so far ky had been sick on his monthly birthday on his 9th n 11th month. today he had a spike of fever of 38.1 n in the afternoon went up to 38.9deg. now he is better wth bufen. panadol dun work for him. i think i passed my virus to him cos he also having running nose n cough.

Sgn,
YX also having a fever since Wednesday night till now. This morning hitting 39.7 and afternoon 40 degrees. We rushed him to KKH A&E. Thankfully, the blood and urine test did not show infection but could be fake measel. After Nurofen, it subsides a little to around 38 plus but always comes back higher. I even had a heated argument with my mum
cause she keeps asking me to give him the strong medicine even when it's only 3 hours from his previous dose. The doctor say cannot overdose as not good for baby's kidney... But she really one kind keep saying she looks after so many baby, won't harm my boy de. So how come I never ask for insert... I bo chup my son's fever that high... blah blah blah... I'm so upset with her snike remarks....

Sgn,
Ask your bro to go balloons r us at woodlands near seagate to help you pump. It's very reasonable. I pump mine at the boss lady's place. Email me for more details if you want

Taro,
sori to hear tat YX is sick. sounds like cher. but cher's wbc n platelets was low n they admitted her cos cld b 'suspected dengue'. i was so worried then. ended up was viral fever (somtg like fake measles), d medical term is roseola infantum. agree mus not overdose bb on medication as is not gd for their kidneys. dun wori, YX wld b well soon. cher fever lasted 5 days n 2 days it wen up real high, highest was 41'c. kkh gave her panadol evy 4 hrly as voltaren (nurofen) is actually 8hrly dose but since cher has fever evy 2-3hrly, they said safer to feed her panadol evy 4hrly as it has least (minimal) side effects. oso if hers is dengue, nurofen wld lower her platelets futher so is 'not so safe'..
take care..

zhuzhu,
actually doesn't matter how you do the milk sign. As long as you do it consistently, your HB does it, your in-laws do it whenever you say the word "milk", bb will just follow.
Now Cookie can sign milk and sleep only. other things, he just points and points cos we also point. Sigh, think the angmohs more successful in teaching hand sign.

kris,
want to join high tea but I'm on sugar-free diet, so cannot go for those buffet style cos cannot eat too much. Now I have to bring whole grain bread with me wherever I go cos they always serve rice or noodles.

Naqia,
must invest in good bb shoes, forget about your Coach lah. Now I use diaper bag to contain my stuff. Cannot carry 2 bags and a tummy liao.
If have 2 kids, do we need 2 diaper bags?

Sanrio,
didn't know cher was sick. how is fake measles spreaded? any idea how she got it?

softpillow,
long time never here from you ah!
now i'm very busy with work cos colleague resigned and now training new new staff to learn the ropes in the company PLUS take over my job before I go on leave. But I still have time to go yoga and massage :p
EDD is July but think will pop by end June.
you can come see me at KKH but prefer if you and West mums meet at my jurong house instead?

ziying,
you can start trying for another bb now. by then, just nice.

Re: Cakes
can't eat any now. thinking of getting sugar-free egg tart or soya tart for Cookie's Birthday. any idea where to get?
now craving for chocolate cake from Cedele to eat during confinement......

re: eclair
Sgn, last time I ordered choc eclair for CNY but response very poor. seems like not a lot of ppl like or they pai seh to eat? in the end, all melted...

softpillow,
alamak. paiseh..think I read too fast..hee:p

janet,
so are there a lot of designs left? sometimes when sales hor, everything sold out very fast ...

Mum@Work,
thks for the info on emicake

Taro,
hope YX gets well soon..
*pat pat* think your mum is just very concern about your boy. Guess she doesnt mean what she say..

Sanrio,
Is your girl ok liao? hope she gets well soon too...

Jeanyard,
dun think I dare to try. quite stressful to take care of 2 kids...
tads why really salute to you... cos so fast having 2nd one.

feeling so excited for all mommies having baby no.2..heee..

ziying,
one advantage of having bb now is I don't have to handle my 1st one and HB will help me settle all diapers and bath!
think I have to learn how to clean the backside for the next one....

ziying,
one advantage of having bb now is I don't have to handle my 1st one and HB will help me settle all diapers and bath!
think I have to learn how to clean the backside for the next one....

Jeanyard

Ya lah, guess can't satisfy my Coach needs. Well i guess when we have babies, lots of $$ go to them instead, and mummies' wants & needs take a backseat...hehe..

2 diaper bags for 2 babies?! Never thought of that one...or perhaps can get diaper bags with more compartments- one for cookie,one for cookie's lil' sibling. Actually I realise diaper bags aren't really necessary..any bag would do as long as we can organise it well :p

Yeah one good thing abt having kids with close gaps is that you get over the parenting, night feeds at one go! But then again, my mom said she prefers bigger gaps so the older one can help out..keke..differing preferences I guess...

Teething
My baby's teething again... so cranky at night. Lucky in the day he's quite cheerful. As long as got toys, or can crawl or practise his walking, he's quite manageable in the day.

Taro, SGN

you mean there's nurofen for babies? Hope the fever's gone by now. Frankly I think I wouldn't know what to do if my boy's got fever. So far he only had mild fever once when he was about 2 mths, after that no fever till now. The panadol is still intact in the fridge. But now that he's teething, sometimes can feel body a bit warm though not fever stage...hopefully not...

taro/naqia
oh my god the whole nite ky almost slept on my chest cos he can't lie back. fever spike up n down after the nurofen n panadol. today i gave him ventolin which surpose to help open his airway. i still sick while my child is sick n mil also had fever today. worse thing my dad just went for operation n still in icu!

taro
tks for the information i will email u next wk when we all are well.

jeanyard
what a waste, cos my colics like it so much each take 2-3 pieces even i bought 144 pieces also not enought for them instead the furit tarts nobody eats.

Hi! I'm a mom staying in Clementi....
I used to be an instructor for a popular right-brained school. I'm thinking of setting up small groups of 6 for babies 4months to children 3 years old. Lesson plans are a little similar to the lessons in those in right-brained schools.
Can email me at : [email protected] for more details

sgn

oh dear... ventolin? I thought ventolin was only for people with asthma. Your dad went for operation also? I hope he recovers soon...must be a difficult time for you now,but hope things will fall into place...