(2007/05) May 2007 MTB

caymom,
u shd try it. Porridge smell quite nice when added w tat.
Tho my ger is still rejecting porridge recently. I tried the porridge, tastes v nice leh.. dunno y she dun like.

My mum was saying that ikan bilis got more calcium lah. Good for bb's bone development. But I find it more salty than yin yu, so reluctant to use it.

<font color="ff0000">Sanrio,</font>
Wow... sounds really nice. What is the recipe for the 'love porridge'?

<font color="aa00aa">JG,</font>
I added ikan bilis to my elder gal's porridge when she was a baby. She likes it but I agree that it is more salty so I hesitate to use it on bbcay now.

<font color="0000ff">Hi Cheetos and Cool_daughter,</font>

Now left with 5 teams!!

Last week ratings:
1) Singapore team
2) Phillippines team
3 &amp; 4) Malaysia teams
5) Thai team

Rumors said that the Malaysia's sisters will ultimately win the US$100k
. The phillippines team will be second. Don't know how true
??

Gossip a bit:

Both couples are dating

Rov &amp; Vanessia is a pair!
Marc &amp; Paula is a pair!

kao_love.gif

Caymom, JG,
1) Stock:
ms tan uses 'tao tui ku' but me use 'leng ku' or 'ba tao'. can use fish bones also.
wash, boil bones, discard d water (so as to remove 'porky' smell, oil or blood if any)
boil d bones, somtx i add carrot n potato or beijing cai or carrot n corn or lotus root n black bean (whatever combination as i oso prepare d soup for my boy). so far corn soup is very sweet n fragrance.
2) 'Ma Yu San' Organic 5 Grains Rice
wash n grind
3) cook grinded rice w stock over slow fire for abt 20 mins.
4) steam 'yao rou' or 'beef fillet cut' (these 2 are the tender portion of d meat) - grind, add to porridge b4 serving
5) steam vege: brocolli or calliflower, pumpkin, zuchinni, carrot, or any organic green vege, sweet beans etc
- mash, strain if necessary, add to porridge b4 serving

so far, i hvnt added fish since tat tx she gave d yucky look wen i gave her steam, flake threadfin. oso i hvnt introd chicken. some days, i dun serve her meat. as the stock oreadi contain meat. n i may gave her 2 vege combination instead.
once a while, i freeze d stock but usually i cook evytg fresh.

<font color="0000ff">cool_daughter,</font>

Why never follow the show??? Must follow tonight ya
!!

U assume that the Phillippines team will win every episode, is it
??

sanrio,
so now your bb like to eat porridge already? I remember previously you mentioned that she doesnt like.

Ok, I will try this recipe too....hopefully, my bb will like it.

Where do you get the 5 grain rice? NTUC ?

janet,
hope ur bb wld like d porridge
for stock, i cook a small pot but with quite generous amt of ingredients so is very 'sweet'.

sanrio
can ask u brocolli n calliflower must steam then mash n add in? can put in together while cooking in slow cooker?

sgn
u can steam , mash then add into the porridge. or you can even add it straight in the slow cooker abt 5-10 mins before the porridge is done. then take out and blend

sgn,
for my non fussy ash, yup i dump into slow cooker but vege last wen porrridge abt ready. but not too late else wont b soft.
for my a bit more choosy cher, i steam then mash.

zhuzhu,
twice fr ntuc (hb bought) n once i bought fr taka cold storage. there are actually more than 5 grains in it. whenever i cook (wen hb is ard or mum came visit), they said it smell so fragrance.

Umm, a bit shy to ask but any mummy from the May thread found herself pregnant? Or anyone with their kids 15 months apart? Need some advice on how to cope

cheetos,
tks for asking. he is seeing d paed surgeon agn on 14 feb. wld nid a surgery.

flora,
u can check out apr thread, there are few preg mummies there.

hi flora

my 2 kids are 18 months apart in age. Calendar year wise, it should be 2 years apart. Hard to cope sometimes.... having a maid helps alot, esp with housework.

pisces/cool,

The fili team v cute hor?? Are your gossip news true that the couples are dating?

flora,

My kids are 18 mths apart. It's not too bad, like what jackie says, it's a great help with a maid around. Otherwise, the 2 can be sticky and you have to constantly attend to both. Elder one can get jealous quite easily and gotta carry both at the same time!

hi sanrio

I also like the five grains very much. I grind them and add into the porridge when i cook for my baby. Very fragrant! She loves it too. But need to grind cos takes a longer time to cook it alone like tat...

j&amp;j,
u add d grinded 5 grains to white porridge? i cook d 5 grains as porridge. yup very fragrant
n high in fibre. my girl has no problem pooing w tat. but wkend if i feed her cereal, she wld hv a harder tx trying to poo.

yes, i added 5 grains to brown rice porridge. I still feeding her mainly brown rice porridge, cos we bought quite a few packs of 1kg rice previously. i tink she likes brown rice porridge very much.

will be ordering from Healthy Times this weekend. let me know if any of you want to tag on order for 15% discount. have $100+ worth of orders now. emailed the CNY promo to those that i have email addresses of, so check mailbox or bulk folder. :p

sanrio
can check with u the 5 grains need to be soak over nite?
how long does it need to be cook till very mashy?

sgn,
yes soak overnite if u dun intend to grind. i tink nid to cook quite long for d grains to becum mashy as so many types. for me, i wash, grind into powder then cook. cos cher dun like 'yi li yi li' texture.

zhuzhu,
hope markus likes it
is cher 3rd pkt oreadi.

sanrio
how about brown rice? i plan to mixt both white n brown rice to cook porridge can?
also soak the brown rice over nite?

hi JG
long time no chat ...

sanrio
ur post to cheetos "tks for asking. he is seeing d paed surgeon agn on 14 feb. wld nid a surgery."

confirm Ash has to undergo surgery?

yoz mummies
our babies 1st birthday coming. anyone wants to organise birthday direct spree? if no, i'll join another spree.

sgn,
ya ok to mix white n brown. but note white cook much faster. yes if u dun grind, is gd to soak d brown rice.

soft pillow,
yes nid surgery..

sanrio,
poor Ash, will be he staying at the hospital after the surgery? which hospital?

Flora,
i'm 4 mths preggie now? can cope if family members are cooperative and I've stopped carrying my baby. Anyway, he only runs, I mean, crawls to his dad when his sad or happy. he just ignores me unless i have his milk bottle.
My bro and sis are 14mths apart. My mum said she closed both eyes and left EVERYTHING to nanny.
I had emotional breakdown last week after a quarrel with MIL. now, learning to let go and less fussy with bb caring details.

sanrio
tks for the advice.
hope ash get well soon, will pray for him.

jeanyard
wei nan ni le, that's why i worry i can't handle morning sickness n still got to look after bb.

sgn,
I don't have much MS, only gastric. but want to eat everything, yet cannot digest.
Yah, had a hard time cos my MIL and mum's culture is totally opposite, plus my hormonal swings, I am near depression.
now, just learn to keep quiet but I think this will end up bottle up even worst.
hiaz, now spend more time on work, so I won't hu si luan xiang.

sanrio
Poor ash...hope he get well soon..

today brought bb 2 see PD..realised he had ezecema on his neck...then his anus had some infections..sooo sad

jeanyard
must try to relax..

sanrio,
hope Ash recovers soon. Ash is a strong boy...

jeanyard,
everything's gonna be over v soon, stay strong

zhuzhu,
my boy also develop ezecema again, red patches on his face
actually this coming wed gotta take photoshoot n was looking forward to it...now might hv to postpone liao ...

soft pillow

oh dear..hope the patches go away soon.poor thing for baby... coz those patches itch right? I wonder if using cleansers like california baby would help?

naqia,
yes, they itch. my boy scratch till bleed n blistered till v bad (got puse), bot him to NUH, medicine v good, the rashes heals v fast but now they are back again

zhuzhu,
my boy also using the cetaphil cleansing n cetaphil moisturizing cream.

hi jeanyard

U should close 1 eye and open 1 eye to whoever is taking care of your baby now. Cos it'll be hard for u to be particular abt alot of things. I had the same problem when i was preggie with my 2nd one. My mum told me tat since my 1st one is not so baby now, just leave him to be more indept, and not so particular abt hygiene. If not I'll go crazy no time.

Jeanyard
ya u must think of urself 1st, just got to close 1 eye, sometimes we just can't control things we want it to be.

today went NTUC n bought a safety gate for the kitchen door, PIL not very like it due to not used to opening when going in n out the kitchen n mil nearly tripped n fell twice.
so sad, got to bring back for refund. hai.....