(2007/05) May 2007 MTB

Naqia,
Enfapro is stage 2
7 months onwards can take so I just switch.

Zhuzhu,
YX takes 1 soup bowl of porridge for lunch, 3/4 bowl of cereal for dinner

Sgn,
ya lor. We eat our lunch and dinner together de.

Serene,
YX loves his porridge. Now he refuse to take plain cereal. I gave him Nestle cereals now with flavourings and he can finish in 5 min. If he does not like the food in particular, he'll refuse to open his mouth and head bends down. haha

Wonder_baby,
YX takes Gerber puffs. It's ok cause melts in the mouth easily. But mind you, dun use the bottle to keep cause will "lau hong" use an air tight container to store the biscuits. Dun take too much biscuits too cause may cause phelgm but it really depends on the baby's constituition itself.

Jesmine
Woah..Ernest eating quite alot...trained by you? kekek...by the way, you shift house yet?

Taro / Wonder_baby
My Gerber puffs "lau hong" liao but I still got give my boy...coz he not chewing but "gum gum" on them until it melts..so I guess doesn't matter if it ain't crispy anymore. :p

Your Party Checklist:

Most Important
Birthday Cake
Birthday Gifts
Invitations

Themed Tableware
Napkins
Cups
Cutlery

Decorations
_________
Banners
Balloons
Cutouts
Centerpieces
Streamers
Confetti
Signs
Scene Setters

Fun Accessories
Horns
Pinata

Don't Forget!
Thank U Cards

Where would you let your bb sleep if not in your bed? The cot should be quite small now for them right? When they sleep always turn here turn there, cot seems to be too small lei. Any suggestion?

lovedogs/ karen
my boy also same after feeding him,n he see we adult eating he will pull our pants asking for food.
as for the biscuit i only give when outside cos when he fussing when we are outside will give him biscult to divert his attention.

taro
wow u are no.1
tks for the checklist.

taro
u also planning for bb party...me intend to book a chalet for the party..

hmm now must go and source for party deco

anyone know where can order cute n nice cake..cheap will be good..

my boy was seen at kkh tdy, still nid to go back on wed to c d paed surgeon for more detailed assessment.
diagnosis tdy: hydrocele
it is a fluid filled sac surrounding a testicle tat result in swelling of d scrotum, d loose bag of skin underneath d penis. abt 1 in 10 male infants has it at birth but most disapear wo treatment w'in d 1st yr of life.
if a hydrocele doesnt disappear af a yr or if it cont to enlarge, it nid to b surgically removed.
symtom/indication: swelling of 1 or both testicles.
d surgery is gg to b painful, me really sim tia.. haiz..

Faith's feeding schedule

7:30/8am - latch
10am - Oatmeal cereal with fruit puree
12:30pm - Big Combi bowl of porridge
3:30 pm - 160 ml (I normally give 180ml, she'll leave some)
6:30pm - Big Combi bowl of porridge
8:30pm - 180ml (she usually takes 160ml)
Midnight if she gets up wide awake sometimes - 160ml

Sanrio
Sorry to hear abt Ash, he's a strong boy. He will get well very soon
Hope U are feeling better yourself.

taro,
i switched to enfapro when alvin's 6mths+ cos the tin wrote abv 6mths. at that time really confused if i shld stick to enfalac or switch to enfapro cos enfalac is birth-12mths, n pro is abv 6mths.

zhuzhu,
wow, planning for bb 1st birthday liao ...

sanrio,
sayang sayang Ash, hope he doesnt need to undergo surgery.

alvin's feeding schedule
7.00/7.30am - cereal
9.00am - apple/pear juice or puree.
10.00/10.30am- 120ml FM
12.00pm- 1 bowl porridge
3.00pm- 120ml FM
6.00/6.30pm- 1 bowl porridge
10.00pm- 120ml FM
midnight will wake up 1-2 times for milk

sanrio
hope it's not hydrocele, did they do a scan or ultra sound? it will go away by itself? i will pray hard for ash.

sanrio

sorry to hear abt that.. hope everything is ok for u.. will pray for u n ash... u take care..

taro, zhuzhu
wow u gals so fast plan for bb's birthday party... hmm.. i dun noe whether i shd have a big one cos both my sons have the same bd date.. but i scare if invite relatives like very funny.. no meaning..maybe invite very close friends only..

<font color="aa00aa">hi sanrio</font>
sorry to hear abt Ash... hope that he will get well w/o the op...
i knw how u feel... Dylan's been thru a major op @15mths old... now, every half year, have to go for DMSA/MCU/ultrasound.... during the period he was in hosp, was a trauma for me... i was the 1 to carry him into the op rm, see him been sedate... see him struggling... crying in pain everytime the nurses/doc poke him...now when he go checkup, he will be so phobia when see the bed in doc room....

hope that Ash can do w/o the op.....

<font color="ff0000">Sanrio,</font>
Sorry to hear about Ash. Hope he can be spared of the surgery.

<font color="0000ff">Re: Meals</font>
I'm struggling to intro solids to bbcay. Here is her feeding schedule.
<table border=1><tr><td>8am</TD><TD>190ml of EBM (with fine cereal added) </TD></TR><TR><TD>11am </TD><TD>Half a bowl of brown rice cereal </TD></TR><TR><TD>2.30pm</TD><TD>190ml of EBM (with fine cereal added) </TD></TR><TR><TD>6pm</TD><TD>Half a cup (?!) of porridge + 120ml of EBM </TD></TR><TR><TD>8pm</TD><TD>Pureed fruits / crackers </TD></TR><TR><TD>10pm</TD><TD>200ml of EBM </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>
When it comes to porridge, she siam really well. If it is Gerber fruit puff, she cheong for it.
Even for cereal, she also doesn't eat a lot this week. Feed a bit and she wanna puke liao. Dunno why.

sanrio
hope ash won't need to go for the surgery. u take care also

ambery
babies this age need 500ml of milk till how old ah?bbC only taking in 450ml max leh.

bbC still on enfalac coz she is easily constipated..by the time she's 12 mos old, hope not easily constipated so can chg to enfapro else headache dunno switch to which other brand.
i've finally gotten a potty for bbC. how do we train? juz let them sit on the potty after every meal?

sanrio

I'm so sorry to hear about baby ash' condition. Must be worrying. I had the same worry when my baby was to go for circumcision. Whatever it is i hope he has a speedy recovery..and hope he won't cry so much too

Taro

oh so that's what u meant by UPGRADE. When i told PD that I was thinking of experimenting with formula, she straightaway gave me EnfaPro 400g to try out. So far OK my baby took to it. Now thinking of buying another 400 g of formula just for back up in case i can't express enuff milk on time.

Caymom
My baby's also a small eater. In fact he drinks even littler than yours! About 125 max one shot. And then so active some more. that's why he's not that chubby ...sighs..

caymom/naqia,
my bb also small drinker,
he prefers porridge to milk.
he can eat 1 whole bowl of porriage finish but milk only takes 4oz, anymore than that he will push away the milk bottle. force him to drink more, he scream. buey tahan.

soft pillow

hehe our babies are so bold huh...know how to rebel by screaming! :p Mine also, if we tell him not to do something, he'll give a mischievious smile then do it. I can't believe babies behave this way!

Good that yr boy likes porridge... as long as he's being filled up with something I think we shouldn't worry so much

<font color="aa00aa">Naqia,</font>
I sort of 'forcefeed' my bb because if left to drink on her own, she can drink as little as 90ml. I purposely cut the teat hole bigger so that even when she is not sucking, milk will continue to flow into her mouth.
She is used to it already so she wun choke but hor... she became lazier in sucking. Furthermore, she is not very active... she can sit the whole day kind so she is rather chubby.

<font color="ff6000">Soft pillow,</font>
My bb doesn't like porridge. It is a real challenge to feed her because she will clam her mouth shut, hit the spoon and turn her head away. She doesn't really like milk too but at least she allows the milk to flow in even when she doesn't suck.

naqia,
ya, my boy also.
he knows that im telling him not to do this n he will give a mischivious smile n look at me then do it again to let me see. buey tahan.
if he's in a walker, more notti.
he will run away fast fast in his walker, then give me mischievious smile again. (like playing catching)

sometimes see my boy like that also makes my day la, so cute n funny. babies r babies ...

taro
thanks for the checklist....
so you planning big party for yx?

ms tan
500ml of milk ah, dunno if sophie makes it or not. can't measure the suckling. :p

sanrio
hope ash doesn't need the surgery. try to be optimistic, and be strong for him. will pray for him.

caymom

sometimes i also feel like force-feeding my baby! Coz he drinks little..sometimes only 90 ml, sometimes lesser! But I add some cereal (frisocream wheat) and he seems to chomp it down with gusto..maybe it tastes more delicious thats why.

I realised that my baby likes food with "taste" those bland ones he won't eat. I wonder if it's coz he has tasted yummy things thru breastmilk so he knows how to taste already. If i give him plain porridge, he won't like. But if i add some salt, he'll open his mouth for more!

Soft pillow

Yeah, i agree with you. It's nice seeing them no matter how mischievious they are... the wonders of motherhood

Wonder if anyone here is using Quinny Zapp? Thinking of getting it coz it's just so chic looking!

caymom,
did u consult paed? will she eat/drink if she's hungry or still clam her mouth tight whenever u feed her?

my boy doesn't like plain water, hv difficulty making him drink from bottle. if spoon-feed him, not so bad, at least he takes a few slips.

<font color="ff0000">Naqia,</font>
My mom also told me bb may eat the porridge if we add some seasoning. That's what she did to my 1st kid. But hor, not very good to intro seasoning when they are less than 1yo lor. Sigh. My mil is more hardworking, she will cook stock first and use it to cook the porridge. The porridge will be tastier.

My 1st kid was hard to feed too and she will puke if we force feed her. We added cereal in EBM and finally intro porridge when she was around 9mths old. Now she is 2.5yo and she is still taking porridge. She takes rice but she only wants plain rice. She always tells me she doesn't want to eat meat and vege. *faint* So we mixed everything into porridge and she cannot tell what is inside it.

<font color="aa00aa">Soft pillow,</font>
She will still clam her mouth if she is hungry. Then we bobian and feed her milk and she drinks leh. Although she doesn't likes milk but compared to solids, she still prefers milk bah. But at her age, she should be taking more solids lor. Maybe the porridge we make is not tasty enough for her. I must ask my mil to help, her porridge is very nice and my bb seems to like it.

My gals hate water! I also have to force feed them. Very sian lor... especially when my elder gal is already so old liao, still must chase after her EVERYDAY to feed her water. *sob*

I haven't consult doc on my baby's feeding problems. I will do it when I bring her for assessment next month.

Anyone tried adding Borvil or Marmite into porridge? I did add some when I am in a hurry &amp; no time to cook stock for porridge, but I am not sure if it's ok. Both MIL &amp; my mama feels dat it's ok to add a little.

naqia,
yes. its so heart-warming to witness our babies progress,
im waiting for the day when my boy can call me 'mummy',
i think i'll be overjoyed to tears

Been a while. I just changed job and just work last week.

All our babies have grown, learnt and progress.
Very heart-warming, as what soft pillow has put it.

My mum also keep wanting to add Marmite into the porridge but I prohibit it. Cos heard got MSG in it. I'm super against adding seasoning to BB's food. So till date, even if no meat to cook stock, will just add in the Yin Yu powder which I have pre-grinded.

Shyanne also dun like porridge. She can take rice cereal v fast but not porridge. Gotta feed her other things, fruits lah, etc in bet of feeding her porridge before she would open her mouth. Mum is having a hard time on that during wkdays. I dun cook porridge for her usually when I bring her back on wkends. Just give her cereal, etc. Lazy mummy.

Shyanne has made 2 big progress for the last wk - able to wave bye bye and clap her hands. So funny. Now, as and when she feels like it, she will clap her hands and smile at us. So heart-warming.

Soft pillow,
I'm also waiting for her to be able to call me. Now whenever I'm back from work, she will 'eh eh' me when she sees me. So fun.

JG
hi long time no see, still BF ur bb?
well i likes marmite so i add little bit when i'm in a hurry

my boy had been waving his hand whenever we says bye bye, now trying to teach him gong xi gong xi!
sometimes he will do but sometimes he dun want.

caymom

Hehe, well different babies are different huh... some easier to feed, others, more choosy :p As long as no allergies, I think we should count ourselves lucky

Reading you mummies' posts make me feel a bit like a bad mummy leh...coz frankly I feed whatever I'm eating (as long as not hot or too "adult") to baby. Mashed version of course :p

soft pillow
Hmm, u noe my baby has started calling ya-ya-ya... that's similar to the term for father in malay :p My hubby is estatic, but I told him, it was by pure accident baby said those words..hehe...

Quinny Zapp is a stroller - made by Quinny! 3-wheeler and easier to manouver. I'm using a Combi now. It's lightweight, but i think a 3-wheeler is so much more chic and easier to manouver too.

<font color="ff0000">JG,</font>
So long never year from you.

Shyanne is so smart. bbcay seems to know how to wave bye bye but not consistent.

<font color="aa00aa">Soft pillow,</font>
Hee... I really need more practice to cook tasiter porridge.

<font color="ff6000">Naqia,</font>
Dun say that lah. I was quite a lazy mummy to my first kid.... always feed her cereal and bottled food instead of preparing nutritious porridge for her. So now have to learn from scratch.

JG
Can u tell me how to grind the yin yu? And is there specific kind of yin yu to choose? Also, how do u store the powdered yin yu &amp; how long can dat be stored?

Sgn,
hi hi.. yup. BB still on TBM, but all EBM. I don't latch altogether cos she gets distracted easily so think she drinks v little when latched. Good thing is she don't wake up at nite for feed so not so bad.

I have been pumping twice a day, before work and before sleep. Supply decreased a lot, no excess for freezing already. Just enough for BB to drink everyday. On days when her appetite is better or she wakes up earlier (so 1 more feed), then will ve to tap on the frozen supply.

Am thinking that I might have to start FM soon, in case supply suddenly cut off.. haha.. dunno wat brand to use still.. hee

same here, am teaching her gong xi gong xi as well. She has been doing that action for v long already. But think she cannot link that action to what is it. Hee..

Caymom,
been reading the posts now and then but just not posting only. Just tat now started new job, nothing much to do leh. Heh..

Not smart lah. Just tat diff bb learnt diff things only. 'man man lai' la..

cool_daughter,
I read some mummies here will toast the yin yu first then grind it. My mum's place got no toaster, so what i did was fry over the wok, but of cos, w/o oil. Just to dry it before grinding. Erhmm.. different kind of yin yu? Not that I know of. Asked mum to buy one. I store the grounded powder in a normal container and put in fridge. Been there for 2 weeks already. Heh..

JG, may i know what is yin yu?

Btw, my baby's still on TBM too. I latch &amp; express as well. Supply is definitely going down coz sometimes just no time to pump! But as long as there's enuf for baby to drink, should be OK

I've tried Enfapro on baby coz PD gave that to me to try. Anyway my PD said, all infant formula are almost the same...so... u might just want to try any brand for now... realised Enfapro is rather expensive! I'm thinking of waiting till baby's at least 1 yr before I start weaning. Coz i tink by then also, milk powder won't be as Ex as for younger babies

JG
good to hear that u still bf, my bb also TBM but nite time 5-6am usu i will latch cos my boy still can't sleep thru the nite.
so now expressing 1 in the morning, 1 during work n b4 sleep.

i think my boy got mix up with gong xi gong xi n bye bye, cos just now tell him gong xi gong xi he start to wave!

btw how do u grand the yin yu till powder? i got hard time to do that.

naqia
my boy was on enfalac so will give enfa if to stop bf i think will carry on with enfa cos some FM have problem like constipation.

yin yu is those white little fish smaller than ikan billies.

<font color="0000ff">Hi Mummies,</font>

For those mummies who are breastfeeding, do u need Medela PureLan 100? I have one tube that I have only used 1 time and is expiring in August 2009. Do let me know via e-mail: [email protected] for details if u are keen. Thanks

Haven't had time to log in and post. Only managed to read recent posting cuz work is getting super busy.

Soft pillow,
Yes, it's very heartwarming when bb calls you mama. Even when my elder gal calls me every day, it's very wenxin :)

Caymom,
I'm in exactly the same position as u...haha. My elder girl is 2yrs 3mths...still on porridge. Gotta mix everything inside. Likes only plain rice. Sigh...you think it's a phase? Doesn't seem uncommon leh, since I'm experiencing the same thing.

sanrio,
Read abt Ash...hope he'll be fine. Any new updates so far?

Pisces,
ARAsia getting v exciting...wonder who's going to win!

cheetos/ Pgal,
I missed quite a few episode of TARA le. But it seems most of the time I watched, it's the filp team in 1st position, SIN in 2nd. So now down to how many team?

sgn,
I grind the yin yu using a grinder. But think the impt thing is to make sure they are very dry before grinding, so easier to grind till powdery form.

naqia,
Milk powder for above 1 yr cheaper ah? Hmm.. then maybe I shd re-consider on weaning.. But scared that if wean later.. bb may reject milk powder?

JG

That's what someone told me but I've yet to check it out. Apparently, the most milk powder are for younger babies..

My SIL's daughter doesn't like FM till now...she was fully breastfed till about 1 yr plus. I think it depends of the babies. I experimented with formula and my baby drinks it (only tried 1 400g can so far and just feed when I feel like it..hehe). So it depends. I intend to wean him off after 1 yr plus...

<font color="ff0000">JG,</font>
I thought of grinding yin yu too.

<font color="aa00aa">Cheetos,</font>
Really? I thought my gal is the only one who likes solely plain rice. I am quite worried leh. She is now 2yr 8mths old liao.

dear mummies,
do read up ydy straits times, 30 jan, under 'mind your body', there is a useful article that talk about food allergies in bbs n kids.

caymom,
cher din like porridge at 1st too. but af i tried (big tk u to ms tan who cooked n brought a share of faith porridge for cher to try) n 'copied' ms tan's porridge receipe, cher loves her porridge. we call it 'love porridge' as it is prepared with 'lots of work' n love

i supposed cher likes multigrain as it is very 'pang' so i used organic 5 grains rice to cook her porridge with stock. vege or meat i wld steam n mash/grind separately n add to porridge b4 serving.