(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

today, so little post nia ??

pink,
wah! so serious have to go court ?? think can consult Irin, she is pur resident Fine consultant ! wahahaha

belle,
u go to the store her n seee the shade whether its the pink u want. beta lah

SQ,
how come u dun want to go to their preview class to listen b4 u signup???
btw, did u mention b4 that the principal is ur husb's frend

gak, am browsing the website now... the nearest one for me is at kovan.. quite ok... wow... sounds like cherie hearts is wat i am looking out for!!!! learn thru play, foreign language and most imptly, reasonable fee!

ya, am on waiting list for shichida april class now.

michelle,
no lah. not my hubby's fren. else got lobang liao

aiyo, at the preview, what do i expect to hear? that the course don't work? waste time oni right

edde
hehe..u're welcome

actually $595's after subsidy so if SAHM u need to add another $75..
i think i heard somewhere that some of this subsidy rules gonna change so think u better check it out too ya

actually i dun mind to share it here
juz dat afraid the moderators think otherwise ;P

i actually went to 1 CC which's an affiliate to PAT's schoolhouse..
was kinda messy the way the classes are conducted

oh ya when u go for these orientations, better to bring ur hubby or someone along so that when u busy asking questions, the other person can walk around & check out the teachers & students...
can see that some CC's students are more well behave than others
& whether their native Chinese Teacher can understand simple English so that if ur kid speaks to her in English, this Chinese Teacher's able to correct ur kid with the correct Chinese word/sentence

if i'm not wrong, Cherie Hearts teachers are tertiary & above..

edde
i think that most CC's fees are more or less abt the same after subsidy..
but i've discover that MMI's most expensive!

i was oso kinda impressed with Cherie Hearts too!
juz hoped that we made the rite choice

btw, the branch director was very friendly too & willing shared her experiences as a mom..
think it's rather impt that some of these ppl needs top be moms too ya
i find that they wld tend to be more understanding & helpful

SQ,
1 of the april mummi started her gal on schinda in dec.
she showed me wat she has done for her gal homework when i was over at her plc on monday.

btw, i got this feedback from 2 diffeerent frends. after going thru 1 sessions, decided not to contine.
1 of my frend commented that they will push u to enrol for the next term when one juz started a term.
ended most parents felt pressured and decided not to enrol for the 2nd semester

Edde: my house is sandwiched in between 2 cherie hearts... the one at kovan (1 bus stop away) and the 1 at Upper Paya Lebar..hehe
Must check the diff schools cos i think diff outlets have diff teachers.. so see which teachers u prefer and where they are located.

Gak: so when Adriel going in? soon? or must wait till he is 16mths?

i also cannot tahan liao.. going to zzz... so tiring, did all my CNY shopping at Giant today, lucky they do home delivery, if not, sure carry till siao.

starfruit
hi babe!
actually all CC only accepts from 18mths, anything below's consider as Infant care..weird rite?

so only this Cherie Hearts i go to accepts max 2mths b4 the kid turns 18mths..
i'm not sure abt other branches ;P

*L0L* after seen my post think many parents will opt for Cherie Hearts!
cuz they believe in being a One Stop centre so that parents can spend quality time with their kids during the weekends!

wonder y Parentshood didn't interview them huh..

michelle
haha...ya think i shld do that ya
no need commission, juz give some discount for the school fees & free uniforms ya ;)

re: LVision
i didn't go for an orientation there but from wat i read in the mag...
think it's quite good too

gak,
kekeke ..shld propose for every 5 sucessful referral can get discount/ uniform rite ?

reali ??? good, coz my husb co has 1, then think his company got subsidised as well.

ask u, how long were u flying previously ?
which year u started ???

michelle
hahaa..ya ya!
but all franchise branches leh..ask from the big BIG Boss??

hey babe,
nevertheless i still think that u shld call LVision up for an orientation..
check out the environment, teachers, students well-behave, menu, etc...
u can also try to check out other nearby CCs?

u SAHM?
Y u dun wanna check out CCs near ur place?

gek,
no lah, FTWM
wld prefer the one at husb co's so can pick bth of them up together

no hussle. then husb can check up on her if need be

thinking of sending her when she is 2yrs.
but heard from husb collg's waiting list LONG LONG! kekeke...

my place in wdlands, husb's off in JE, mine in UBi. so less 1 place to drop off/pick up is the BEST for us

hey mummies, EJ's diarrhoea is back! after he recovered last week, 3 days later, his diarrhoea is back. HB brought him to see doc, but was given the same med and same advice. Last round, the doc did tell me to switch his formula to soy-based one, but because EJ has recovered then, I didn't switch. So today, we finally went to buy Isomil, the soy-based milk. It seems that after a bout of diarrhoea, the gut will become sensitive and lactose-intolerant. Doc says let him take the soy-based milk for 2 wks and then see how.

Michelle,
LVision, it depends on which branch you go to. Cos sometimes it really depends on the teachers in that branch. My workplace has one too.. and i don't really think highly of them! haha..

michelle
oic..
JE actually got quite a number of CCs leh
maybe u wanna check out CCs near to ur hubby's workplace??
did u buy the Pre-school Guide by YoungParents?
inside got many CCs according to areas like West, East, Central, etc
i oso shortlist the CCs from there & other parent mags (got 1-2 recommended by frens or i spotted) & check them out b4 u decide?

michelle
hehe...
maybe u wanna tell ur hubby that the CC at his office already fully book & need to be on waiting list liao so need to source for others
& that birth rate in 2007 increased by 1K+!
considering the fact that no increase oso on waiting list, now got increase LahGie on waiting list!
so expect many KS parents ya!

btw who's looking after ur kiddo while u & hubby works?

Michelle,
i do think it's good for children to be able to go to 'school' because there is the opportunity to interact with other kids.. and i think that is very benficial in learning and growing up. But if you have ILs who can help to look after K, then you don't need to send her to full-day CC. Just send her to playgroup/pre-nursery/nursery. I think this is for a couple of hours a day. Then you should find one near your ILs place, so they can send and pick K from the centre.

michelle
furthermore both of u working so can only view like once a week so need to do early if not how to find CC of ur choice?

u noe hor, 1 of the CC i went to even got a mom who's baby's only 2mths old visiting liao!

& the more popular ones hor, those on waiting list got baby born in Jun/Jul..

gak,
WAH !!! 2mths already on the look out ???

autum,
i also agree with u coz K only child. i wld prefers that she attends "School" so that she can adapt to other kids mah.
Also she can learns too. PIL are limited in terms of teaching, so i wld prefers she learns things from beginning

yup i agreed with Autum..
but these hrly kindergarten are not entitled to subsidy & i visited one, it's abt $1000+/term (10weeks) so works out to abt $400+/mth
& half day CC's fee's only slightly lesser than Full day CC's..

I actually can't decide to send my kid to those hrly kindergartens or CCs in the beginning..
but end up decided on CCs cuz to lessen my mom's burden,
she can help to look after my kid but she recently sprained her knees while looking after him even with me around!
so i can't imagine when i'm not around..& her knees been acting up quite a bit, pain here pain there
so decided on CC..but Half or Full day?
Full day of coz! cuz Half day's fees not worth it..
that's how i came abt choosing Full Day CC
& when i'm on Leave i oso got some time to myself ya..cuz the kid's in school ;P keke

yup!
my kid's the only grandchild too, got no cousins or kids abt the same age to play with him..
so send him to "school" to socialise & pick up skills which i can't teach him..
& maybe can even reach his mile stones earlier!

michelle
ya..very Kua Zhang rite!
2mths! some of the CCs i called up were trying to tell me that they only accept 18mths & my kid's too young..

kekeke.. very Kua Zhang leh !

was busy updating my blog, got tons of pix from Jan outing not posted in my blog yet.

so finally went to copy the pix from camera

i also hoping that K will achieve milestone from monkey see monkey do !
wahahahaha

but only the good stuff hor

pink,
not too sure... u can go to the police website to check... i think they will write down... if not u can call them...
hope ur mil don have to do community service...

veri tired... go slp liao... nite...

Mommies...i know it's abit too early...but hor, scare last min too rush..coz i will be away end of feb...so can Jaylen sends his birthday invite in advance???

1235221.jpg

Mejo, u hv The LittleTouch? That s more suitable for our babies. MFPL is for 3-5 yrs. Don't get the learning system - shd get the R&W instead but this can wait cos it for 4-8 yrs.
For Littletouch, pink ordered plus 3 books, came up to 80.3 I think. Little touch is the more ex system them MFPL or Learning system, or Rw.

SQ: Saw your post last night. But was too sleepy. I only have one thing to say. Get a suitable timing slot for YE that doesn't clash with her meals or nap times.

Gak,
My sis children attended Cherie Hearts at Holland V. So far ok i think.
I send my girl to the Learing Ladder at Woodlands branch opp the ten mile junction.
Previously my girl attend Kinderland childcare.
Actually if no hurry try not to put kids at cc at 18mths as their immune system is not so strong will get sick easily. Or half day will be better as less time there.

Edde,
I thot Pat's school house is not bad. How about Brighton Mortessri?

For CC, the environment and teachers is imptantort.

Babygirl,
I also have the read and write pad i think the lst leappad is enough now. No hurry to get the system for read and write pad. Maybe sell off the books or wait till you go US or got another sale then start spree.

gak, michelle...
there's a Dou DOu group near my place...for 18M and above..im thinking of letting leia attend the weekend class -1.5hr..just to interact with other kids...she really really loves to play with other kids. its $50..not sure sat & sun or either. if eveyday it will be $120..

Many of us evaluating play school. I'm at a loss. Dunno which one to go to. Cherrie Hearts has Kindermusik teaching as well right? So those who are going to Cheerie Hearts don't have to go Kindermusik anymore.

How abt Montesorri, Pat's School House and Eton? Any reviews abt them?

I ike GUG too cos I read they also emphasise on right brain training. But the school is only for 36mths on isit?

Huignee: Ok. Have decided not to get the R&W yet. I already bot several books and the phonics kits that work only on R&W and Leappad system though. So I will be getting it later. Else, got to lelong away the books and phonics kits.

BabyGirl,
this baby gender prediction thing not accurate leh. last yr when i was preg with EJ, i already tried it. it says i will have a girl.. but i got a boy. this time round it also says i will have a girl.. so we shall see.. anyway, it's 50-50 lor.

err, sorry what right-brain training materials huh? i must have missed it.

Autum: No wonder EJ has a bit of pretty and girly looks too.
Just half-believe lor. I think to confirm gender for baby girl have to wait longer than to confirm gender for baby boy.

Michelle, SQ: So far Anna has no homework to do from Shichida class. Maybe the children are too young so the teacher didn't give any. But the homework and home practise is to "train up" the right-brain - left-brain circuit. The more training the better. I don't pressurise myself to do x number of activities everyday. So just do when there is time.

I agree the principal is someone who has a very high ego/pride. She has just cut a singing CD - my goodness I don't think she sings every well at all. And she advertises it at the parents talk. Want to throw up!

BBgirl,
my gynae managed to see my girl 1st at 16th week leh. It's my boy that wanna give us some "shen2 mi4 gan3" so we only knew about him at the 20th detailed scan.

Audrey,
didn't manage to take a good look at her yesterday. She's so sweet with the nice hairband.
A hairband will never get to stay long on Reyes' head.