2006/2007-Twins/Triplets MTBs

lyricist,
thanks for the link will check it out
hmm...good idea to mix brown rice powder in the porridge, btw...do u grind it yourself or buy from the supermarket? Currently i m giving them Healthy Times brown rice cereal.

Shall we share our babies' daily schedule with each other? In this way we can learn frm each other and also be of a great help to new mommies.

I'll get the ball rolling

Twin boys

Daily schedule
6-7 am ------Formula 150 - 180
7-8.00-------kick and play
8-8.30-------breakfast cereal
8.30-9.00-------Bath
9-10--------zzzzzzzz(sleep)
10-11.30----------unpredictable, may be still sleeping/wants to carry around/kick and play/cranky etc
11.30-12noon--------lunch,cereal+fruit puree or fruit juice
12-2.30-----kick and play/cry to be carried or zzzzzzzzzzz (not consistent)
2.30--------------milk
3.00--------------kick and play/cry to be carried/zzzzzzzz
5.00----------dinner, cereal+fruit puree or fruit juice
5.30----------bath
6.00----------get ready for bed
6.30-----------milk
7.00------------night nightzzzzzzzzzzz

looks great ya??? but it doesnt happen this way always, yesterday I struggled with my first one until 8.30 to put him to sleep...sooo tired

The naps are not consistent except for the morning nap and thats why they have problem going to bed easily...haiz dont know how to solve this???

I m trying my best to follow this schedule, I know we cant have a strick schedule for them , so i m very flexible and keep changing the schedule as when their needs changes.

Every baby is unique so sometimes their naps are not at the same time.

I would like to see other mommies' schedule and see where i can improve or change

Best Twins,

that's a good idea. Here's mine:

Twins: B/G
8am ~~~~~~~ wake up, milk
8.30am - 10am ~~~~~~ play
10am - 11am ~~~~~~ sleep
11am - 12pm ~~~~~~ rice cereal / brown rice
12pm - 12.30pm ~~~~~ bath
12.30pm - 2pm ~~~~~~ sleep
2pm - 2.30pm ~~~~~~ milk
2.30pm - 5.30pm ~~~~~~ sometimes play till 4pm then sleep. Sometimes goes back to sleep after 2.30pm til 4pm then wake up & play
5.30pm - 6pm ~~~~~~ milk
6pm - 6.30pm ~~~~~ bath
6.30pm - 8pm ~~~~~ play
8pm - 8.30pm ~~~~~~ milk
8.30pm - 10.30pm ~~~~~ gal will sleep. boy sometimes will sleep but most of the times will get cranky
10.30pm -11pm ~~~~~~ milk
11pm ~~~~~~ sleep

Irin,
thanks for contributing

Wah ur kids sleep so late ah? My husband also want them to sleep late so that he will have more time with them but its a no no for me cos i m very tired of taking care of them the whole day leh!

Hey girls,

Mine to share:

700-730am ~~ Wake up, milk (~180ml)
800 - 830am ~~ Bathe
0830 ~~ Cereal with fruit puree
0900- 1000am ~~ Sleep
1030am ~~ Milk (~150ml)
1130am ~~ Brown rice porridge (cooked with either pork liver, dried scallops or beef for taste, fish, carrots, sweet potatoes, potatoes, pumpkin &/or yin choy)
1230 - 1330 ~~ Sleep
1430 ~~ Milk
1530 - 1700 ~~ Sleep
1730 ~~ Milk
1830 - 1900 ~~ Brown rice porridge (as above)
1930 - 2030 ~~ either sleep or play
2100- 2130 ~~ Milk then sleep

DD usually likes to stay awake, wait for her daddy to come back to play with her a little then sleep. By then, it's about 1030pm when she finally falls asleep. Would love to get her to sleep earlier but not too worried abt her not getting enough sleep, cos' she always naps in the afternoon. So far, I try to make sure the babies have between 13-15 hours of sleep a day.

twinsmom, how do u manage to get them to sleep so early? Much as I would want them to, both hubby and I usually reach home after 830 so would love to spend more time with them. Sigh....

J&Smum,

Actually when they were 4months they started to stay up late until 9 pm, and everyone at home would want to play with them but for me i cant have my personal time after a long and tiring day caring for them. so I told everyone that bed time is 7 pm and no one will play with the babies after that :p sounds cruel ah?? but no choice la, if i dont get that personal time i would be in woodbridge haha...
But they wake up very early say anytime from 5.30 am.
If i m also working i m sure i will also put my babies to sleep late so that i can spend time with them. Now both looking at ur schedule and irin's i m feeling guilty for not providing ample time for hubby to play with them. May be, I'll slowly move their bedtime to 8pm so that hubby can get about 1 hour with them

Best Twins,

my gal goes to sleep anytime between 8.30pm - 9.30pm. But my boy will start his crankiness from 8.30pm till don't know what time ... On luckier days, he will go to sleep at 8.30pm or 9pm.

A+Cmum, alethea
actually what i meant by minced pork is the scraped then blended yo jee bak pork meat, not the usual one we buy minced.

alethea
we started them on the pork porridge at ard 7mths. they took to it quite well. actually, if their system can't digest, it'll just come out in their stools undigested. i noticed that in some of the other foods i tried them on when they just started weaning. i suppose the same principle works for pork?

best_twins
we bought organic whole brown rice and i ground it up in the blender so the grains are smaller and therefore easier and faster to cook. we couldn't find the powder form anywhere.

i oso tried healthy times brown rice cereal. it's ok, but i find that its consistency becomes more watery as i feed them. doesn't seem able to retain liquids well.

my baby schedule:
6-7am ~~ milk (100-150ml BM)
7-8am ~~ sleep
8am ~~ bath time, followed by playtime
10.30-11am ~~ brown rice cereal mixed with veg puree followed by mashed fruits
11am ~~ playtime till tired, then sleep
2.30pm ~~ milk
3.00pm ~~ playtime
6.00pm ~~ porridge (usu threadfin or pork with chopped spinach with tsp of brown rice, occas add egg yolk, carrot or pumpkin)
7.00pm ~~ rinse and changed into PJs
9.00pm ~~ sleep*
12mn ~~ milk, then put back down to sleep

* Kai usu wakes up after an hour or so, and then refuses to sleep till ard midnight. although i sometimes wish he'd sleep thru like Min, it does give my hubby precious bonding time with him. he usu takes much longer naps than his sister in the day to compensate for this. i reckon they sleep abt 11-13 hrs in total.

hm, my two seems to drink much less milk than all of yr twins. not that i haven't tried feeding them more, they simply refuse to drink more. esp now with the intro of solid foods, their milk consumption have been dropping. no wonder my two so small size lah... haiz.

anyway, i intend to introduce another porridge feed for lunch and move cereal up to breakfast time when they turn 9mths.

thanks for the sharing regarding baby cots and/or playpen! ok, in this case, looks like it should be all right for babies to share a cot during the first month or so... i'll probably go for the baby cot and playpen option for a start and see how it goes!

wow.. there's lots of sharing on babies' daily schedule! I definitely have a lot to learn for all the mummies here!

I took my twins for their 3rd vaccine today & the PD was trying so hard to convince me that they are over-sized for their age, got me worried. My gal's weighing 7.5kg, boy's 8.3kg. Are they over-sized for 5months 2weeks bbs?

lyricist,

no, she didn't ask me to do anything. Does that mean it's still acceptable? Hope they won't go over weight.

My gals' (10 months/1week) daily schedule is more or less as follows:

<table border=1><tr><td>Time</TD><TD>Activity </TD></TR><TR><TD>6am - 7am</TD><TD>FM (180ml - 200ml) and say goodbye to daddy </TD></TR><TR><TD>7am - 8:30am</TD><TD>Play time with treats like raisin bread or plain high fibre white bread. </TD></TR><TR><TD>8:30am - 9am</TD><TD>Bath </TD></TR><TR><TD>9am - 10am</TD><TD>Watch Sesame Street (sometimes fall asleep halfway) </TD></TR><TR><TD>10am - 12 noon</TD><TD>Sleep </TD></TR><TR><TD>12 noon - 1pm</TD><TD>Lunch (normally porridge. Just bought ABC macaroni to try out soon.) </TD></TR><TR><TD>1pm - 2:30pm</TD><TD>Play till tired or jalan-jalan around the neighbourhood </TD></TR><TR><TD>2:30pm - 3pm</TD><TD>FM (180ml - 200ml) </TD></TR><TR><TD>3pm - 4:30pm</TD><TD>Afternoon nap </TD></TR><TR><TD>4:30pm - 5pm</TD><TD>Afternoon snacks (normally fruits or rusks or none if they overslept.) </TD></TR><TR><TD>5pm - 5:30pm</TD><TD>Afternoon bath </TD></TR><TR><TD>5:30pm - 6:30pm</TD><TD>Dinner (normally cereal or sometime bottle baby food.) </TD></TR><TR><TD>6:30pm - 8pm</TD><TD>Play while waiting for daddy to return home (if before 8pm) </TD></TR><TR><TD>8pm - 8:30pm</TD><TD>FM (180ml - 200ml) and say goodnight to everyone </TD></TR><TR><TD>8:30pm - approx. 2am</TD><TD>Sleep </TD></TR><TR><TD>2am - 2:30am</TD><TD>FM (160ml - 180ml). Sometimes plain warm water works on Twin 1.) </TD></TR><TR><TD>2:30am - 6am</TD><TD>Sleep </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

I am asking on behalf for my gf who is expecting a twin, she is now in 28 weeks. Does your gynae charge extra delivery charges?

Irin,
Both your boy and first boy are similar, hard to go easy for sleep...ya?

Mine at 6months are 7.5 kg and 7kg, then my second one is below average...?

Lyricist,
ya agree on the brown rice cereal. I think I may also wanna grind my own brown rice once they start on porridge. Thanks!

my bbies schedule was same as urs until 11 am, but now i m making some changes to suit their needs and my needs :p

mine also starting to refuse milk especially their 2.30 feed
so i m gonna change their bath and dinner time so that i can move their 2.30 feed to 3 or later and then they can also go to bed a bit later.

I realize u r giving them only two solid feeds a day...me so fast 3 liao...no wonder my boys cant drink milk anymore.

mommies,
great that many of u r sharing the schedule, me gonna make some changes to see if it works better for them so that they will be less cranky and sleep a little longer during the day....really so tired as they only nap less than 2 hours during the day and doing in 3 sessions haizzzzzz

hmmmm....I realize many of ur bbies are still drinking milk at night, my first one doesnt, even if he wakes up my mum will pat him to sleep(unless he cries a lot and he had not eaten his dinner well then i will give him milk). My second one will drink one feeding around 1---3am. Do i mommies, make it a point to feed them at night or give only if they want? me sometimes worry that i shouldnt stop their night feeding
but as far as i know, bbies can go on without milk for 12 hours at a stretch after their sixth month???Not sure lah!

Hi mummies, I am also expecting twins next Feb, but most prob will deliver in Jan. Anybody had good CL to recommend?
It is scary to imagine taking care of 2 babies! From all that all of u share, I really salute all of you.....

I've finally brought myself to the point of expressing milk for the babies. It's a lot easier and I am wanting to put them on a schedule as well. Do you think 7+ weeks is too early? I'm looking at all your routines and waiting for the day where I get there!

Dawn, welcome to the world of twins!

Any moms that face the problem of one twin drinking less than normal?

My girl used to have no problems finishing 80-100ml in one feed. Now she won't drink more than 60-70ml. Worried she's not getting enough.

welcome dawn

Enj,
Good to know that its easier feeding them now, about putting them on schedule, for me i couldnt do that until they were 4 months and still it doesnt last for long as their schedule kept changing.

About the milk intake, I have always had this problem, my second one is always behind my first one by 1 or 2 oz however, he is slowly catching up. Both my babies had a cycle of drinking very less for a week or so at least once a month, my pd said that its growth spurt and its very normal so now i stopped worrying abt it. If the milk intake is very low as in u think she isnt getting enough please consult a doctor, ya?

Been reading through the forum, and my feeling of being overwhelmed when I found out I was expecting twins 8 months ago has not receded. I have a 15 month old son as well.

Just visited my gynae today (I'm 35 weeks pregnant) and he said that there are signs that labour will happen soon. I hope my babies will be ok when delivered.

What were your gestation periods and how heavy were your twins when delivered?

Xavpris - My gynae charges twice as much for delivery of twins, and no package was offered after the 4th month.

mommies,
looks like i m gonna move back again with hubby to batam next month
Cos hubby misses us sooo much that he wanna quit his job. So looking for an indonesian maid there now, I would greatly appreciate if any of u know of any indo maid who is going back home and wanna work in batam (live in or live out). There are lots of maids there i think but i have no one there to help me find one.

Oh i can still post here as i m getting a laptop

WElcome nora,
Dont worry, there are many mommies here with twins and older siblings and they are all managing well

I think we have mommies here who have given birth as early as 31st week (not sure if anyone here has delivered even earlier, pardon me) and their babies are doing great
. For me I gave birth exactly on the 37th week and babies weight was 3.010 and 2.210

I cant remember how much my gynae charged me, ur gynae from which hosp and where are u delivering?

Best Twins,

ya, my boy & your 1st boy similar. Come to sleep, I'll have headache.
Based on the chart, your twin 2 is below average but as long as healthy shouldn't be a prob. Your boys weighing 7.3kg & 7kg at 6mths only? They look big from pixs leh.

Good that you'll still be able to post here.

Xavpris,
my gynae from KKH didn't charge double for delivery.

Dawn,

Nora,
Welcome! 35 weeks is already quite good for twins. Best Twins is right, quite a few of us here gave birth between 30 - 34 weeks & our babies are doing well. Mine came out at 34th week, weighing 2.42kg & 1.95kg.

Hi Best_Twins and Alethea,

Thanks for sharing. So I am not alone in the frustration of baby being too close to someone else. Am glad to say my relationship with the younger twin has improved since I stopped wk to take care of both full time. But feeding is still reserved for my helper, cos baby will cry the min she sees her. Unless my helper keeps herself away. In any case, my younger twin is also quite a fussy eater who lll cry n throw tantrums so I d rather not feed her..

Xavpris,
My gynae did not charge double too. More than normal single preg but not double.

xavpris,
My gynae didn't charge double for my 9-month follow up package (which includes consultation, ultrasound scans, vitamins, etc but excludes blood tests and 5th month detailed scans or what is commonly known as OSCAR). Neither was I charged double for his "specialist fee" when I delivered via c-section. The only additional charges came in the form of hospital charges where we were not allowed to take standard maternity packages. Mothers and their individual babies will have to be charged separately from things like daily room charges to medication and procedures.

I think not all gynaes charge double for multiples. Its up to the individual gynaes to determine their specialist fees in the private practise. So ask your gf to find out more from her gynae first. Hope this info helps.

Thought I'll share this pix here. My gal was shouting & pushing away the gor gor, like so worried that he'll fall on her. I was practically laughing all the way while taking this pix. So funny.

927955.jpg

Thank for your info.

My gf just get to know abt the extra charges when she in 28 weeks. Her gynae just implement tis new charges not long. she is thinking to change hospital if her gynae refuse to waive off the extra charges.

Anyway, I'm a twin too. But did not inheit from my mom, my boy is 12 mth old now. Maybe next round????

Thanks for all your reassuring words. I'm currently on nifedipine to delay labour as my gynae is hoping that I can hold on till at least 37 weeks. I'm just trying to prepare myself mentally for what's to come, be it in the 35th week or 37th week.

Best Twins

My gynae is from Gleneagles Medical Centre, and I will be deliveing at Gleneagles.

I realise from reading the forum that what I'm paying seems exorbitant, but I guess even if I had known earlier I would still have stuck to my gynae as I'm comfortable with him.

Btw, did any of your babies have to stay in NICU after delivery?

irin,
Ya loh...my boys always look big in pictures, there was one picture of my twin which looks like 18month old boy :p May be his face looks very matured not like baby keke...

A+Cmum,
Happy for u that u hav began to bond with your bby, i m sure she will know who's mom and who's maid soon...me too telling myself that my boy will sure sleep when put him to sleep very soon...jus waiting for that day

Irin,
Thats soo cute leh
I have seen many twin's doing such cute thing on the video in America's funniest video....I used laugh and laugh and wonder how would it be like to be parents of twins....cant believe here i m!

When put together my boys like to hug and kiss each other or play fight keke...
Here is picture i took today while they were having good time playing with each other.
928623.jpg
928624.jpg
Rehan is kissing Ruhan while Ruhan is enjoying it

Nora,
Icic! ya our comfort level with the gynae is very important too....mine were not in nicu, discharged with me on the 3rd day

Nora,

mine also not in NICU but were in SCN (Special Care Nursery). I'm not too sure about the criteria of upgrading to SCN from NICU. But in order to be discharged from SCN would have to fulfil 3 criterias:

- must be more than 35 wks.
- must be more than 2kg.
- must be able to suck milk from bottle.

Best_Twins,

same here! I had never even dream of having twins cos there wasn't any twins history in both me & hubby's families. And yet, we are mummies to pairs of twins here. That's life.

Your boys' face look abit like gals especially in that pink outfit.
Are they identical or fraternal? Forgotten ... They don't look quite alike, do they? I guessed it's getting more fun now as they get older.

Irin,
hehe...many people on the road also think my second one is a girl.....the outfit is sort of red and pink la...me dont wan to stereotype them keke...however, scared they will be angry with me for letting them wear that colour
929036.gif

Hi all twin mommies and mtbs,
It's so heart-warming to see all your twinnies here....;-)
It's been so long since I last chatted all of you and i think most of you must have forgotten that I ever existed..hehehehe
btw, I'm a mother of a pair of twin boys and they are now 4 months plus and it's really amusing when we see them laughing and cooing at each other....haha
my pics and video clips are all uploaded on my blg at http://isaacandjosephgan.blogspot.com/

Juz to check something with you, are there any mothers here who go through more than 1 twin pregnancies.
I was thinking of having another girl, but kind of having second thoughts when I'm not too sure about the possibilities of having another pair of twins..hahahaha...kinda overwhelmed by the first pair, though enjoyable but very draining on my mom, my hb and i, esp when we get to wake up so many times in the wee hours to feed them.

vineyard,
welcome back

Its the same topic i was chatting with hubby jus now......read from another forum that there were a handful of mommies who has two pairs of twins and 1 or 2 singleton.........I was sooo umbfounded when came to know about it...gosh how on earth are they managing....really should applaud them. Since i read abt it i feel more confident and capable of handling my boys alone

Blessedone & Best_Twins,

I was thinking about the same topic few days ago. Had quite a few preggie colleagues in office, made me sort of missed my preggie time. Actually I wouldn't mind another pair of twins cos I think it's really fun with them though the initial stage was quite a chore. hehehe.
But hubby says must wait another 3-5 yrs else he'll go crazy with another bb in the house. hahaha.

Irin,
I cant believe, you want another pair of twins keke...me cant imagine of even having another child after going thru sleepless and restless 6 months. Now I dread being preggie :p I Think the idea also depends on how difficult our kids are to manage? Me already counting down to their 17th month so that i can send them to childcare and go back to work haha...

Yah, it's kinda scary just thinking of going thru' the initial months at the newborn stage. But I also miss being preggers very very much. Dunno why, I still get emotional when I think back on those days when the munchkins were still kicking about inside me and how I weathered the 10 weeks of hospital stay. M hoping to try again with hubby in about 2 year's time. Not sure if we're asking for trouble, but well, children are a blessing from God, tho' a singleton for the next would suffice!

J&S,

same thoughts here. Felt scary about the initial 1st 3mths newborn stage too. But on the other hand, missed the attention & the feeling of bbs inside me during preggie. & also the preparation & excitement of their arrivals.

My mum also said that I'm asking for trouble when I mentioned about having another one but I think the happiness the little ones bring are worth all the trouble. And you are right, they are a blessing from God.

I salute all mothers who can even think of another pregnancy, more so a twin one, so soon after the first pregnancy. Of course this is the perspective of someone (i.e. me) who is not sleeping at nights due to all the aches and need to go to the toilet every other hour.

Perhaps once the initial period of exhaustion is over, I might change my mind and think back happily on the 9 months.

heheheheh....
I seem to like girls more than boys, though I want my first one to be a boy ...coz i feel that boys being the eldest at home tend to be more manly and independant - I see this trend appearing in my family....:)
I seriously do not mind having another singleton but no more twinnies..hahaha, though they are really fun and adorable....;-P
Best_twins,
You look after your boys urself?
Any maid ???
I'm going to be a SAHM soon...and am thinking of sacking my maid, but not too sure if i can handle all the chores and look after them on my own...hmmmm..

I also missed those days when I was still pregnant. But I missed those days when I can go everywhere anytime and travel overseas too. So its a challenge to us if we ever have another child. My gals are fun and it great to have them around. Yet, HB and I missed our "freedom" so much, we think we'll stop at 2. We just can't imagine ourselves going through this journey again, even though we are enjoying our gals at this stage. Well, let's face it. We're both hitting 35 soon (opps, he just did), so battery running low. And I'm not willing to be a SAHM any longer than 3 years, so we kind of decided we've achieve our target of at least 2 kids, and one of them have to be a girl (cos I like gals), so its OK to stop here. Heee... I watched documentaries of moms who managed 6-8 kids without a maid. I think its their calling. It was never my childhood dream to be a mother, so I'm happier to be able to practise what I've gain through working experience and education.

To all of you who are keen to have another child, or better still, another pair, ALL THE BEST and DON'T GIVE UP! I'm sure if you want it, you'll be able to handle it. Furthermore, once you have managed a pair of twins before, handling another baby or even another pair would be a breeze. No sweat!!! Hee...

Alethea,
You already have a B/G combi anad still craving for more? Hee... Children are indeed a blessing from GOD. I've been asking why HE gave me twins from the day my gyane broke the news to me. And we more or less know the answer now - HE just knew we won't want to do this again. Kekeke... And I'm very thankful for this pair of girls. They are indeed a blessing.

Hi dorayaki,

Your situation is exactly the same as mine!! When we first knew that I was pregnant, we were considering to stop at one kid.. who knows the "powers that be above" decided to gave us two! He/She probably knew we only want to go through it once and thought "ok lah, give you one shot 2 kids".. :p

Betty,
You're right. GOD knows best. In fact, HB was very, very thankful when he knew about the twins. When he saw how bad my MS was, he told himself "I bet she'll never want another child". Hahaha...

But it wasn't the MS that I'm unhappy about. Its no big deal to vomit after every meal. Its losing the freedom to go anywhere that makes me depress. My HB became my bodyguard and followed me everywhere I go!!! He had the idea it's his responsibility to ensure our safety. And he thinks I'm quite chor-lor too, and I may just trip/fall, or I may get bumped into/fall when I'm in the mall. Arrghhhh... @#$%^&*

So I especially didn't like being "followed" during my pregnancy. The fact that he gave up his hobby to stay at home with me when I was home bound also made me mad instead of appreciative. Kekeke... Come to think about it, he's quite poor thing also. Hahaha!!! But FREEDOM is something to enjoy and losing it makes me insane... No choice lah...

Your hubby and mine is the exact opposite! I envy you lah.. if my hubby would only show as much concern as yours to you..

He a bit bochup one, you know sometimes when your tummy get so heavy and your back is aching, I tend to "grunt" a bit while moving about, and he always like to copy me! Like it's very funny like that.. hmph!!

irin,
yep for now the plan is we may be going...however we may not if the project requires him to work offshore. So I will only know for sure at the end of this month....my life is so uncertain for now la....sickening not knowing were u r gonna settle. If we are not going then i will go back to work once they are 17 months

dorayaki,
My view is more or less similar as u in having another child, however, for me I enjoy spending all the time with hubby...:p But we together miss our couplehood and want our privacy back badly (mom and mil are involved a lot in helping me, me slowly trying to cut down on that)

ACtually during the first few weeks of my preggie days and when didnt have ms i told hubby that i want a girl two yrs later if both are boys and boy if both are girls....but now boy or girl kids are kids and I closed shop liao!