(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

hi Leia, Kris, Augbaby, Jas
I agree with Jas. We have flashed "animals" cards to her even b4 we brot her to see the real animals..then on her birthday, we brot her to the zoo.. then when in SM class during the next few weeks and even at home, when I flash the animal cards to her, she seems to be able to associate...

so perhaps, can work based on a thematic approach?

Hi cat,
Same sentiments too... so I gave my mum a flat no.. she must be thiking I very niao...

augbaby..

same same.. haahaa.. initally used to flash... now zorian will come and grab.. then want to put in his mouth.. so dun bother to flash to him now..

Wah so many post....

Hi Kris

Thks for your concern. Crisann fever had stopped but now she is having false measles. This is her 2nd time having false measles.

Re : Sleeping

At my hse, Crisann will sleep from 10pm to 7-9 am. But at my mum place she will sleep at 11pm and wake up 1-3 times a nite. For noon she will only sleep once for 2-3 hrs. She is sleeping v little seem she is born.

re: chicken pox jab
-------------
1) Cynthia - No.
2) jesline - yes... taken her jab when she turns one
3) Catherine- No, I will let her chicken pox come out fully instead of stopping it. If not when she old she will also suffer from chicken pox.
4) Piyo - No. same as cat, I prefer to let chicken pox come naturally then suppress it.. let her build up immunity against it...
5)HoneyB - Yes, will take when she has cleared her runny nose
6)Erin - Most prob yes. Still thinking abt it cos the supervisor at the childcare centre advised me to let Kayden have the jab. says even if he has it, he'll recover faster. Somemore, dun have to worry abt shingles.
7)Amy - No unless putting her in playgroup next year.
8) kelly - yes. even HepA & pneumoccocal jabs too. i KS mummy n edward mingles wif many tods/babies every wkend so i cant afford 2 take any chances.
9) Jasmine - Yes. Cos JAdelle go for many types of classes and might pick up viruses and bacteria from other toddlers.. will try to minimise impact too.
9) Yes - Early next year. Cos she will be going for her MMR in Sep, 2nd Pneu jab in Oct and MMR in Nov. So the doc was saying maybe not this year if not Crisann sure scare of him.

Hi HoneyB

Me also still thinking. Maybe will continue with 1 more term. Will see how.

Hi Piyo

Crisann also dun like us to carry her horizontally.

Crisann,
oh dear..hope crisann is feeling better now alr...anyway wat r the signs of false measles ah?

when is the next compulsory jab for our bb ah??

Hi augbaby n kris,
kayden also the same. can point to the 'fan', 'tv', 'light', etc when we ask him where the things are.

kRis/HoneyB/Rain,
Ha. . . Jay likes to play with all the babies in the class as well, esp girl girl!! Most likely I will stop BJG (Baby Jumper Gym) next term and change to GUG. Wish if have chance they all can be classmate again
I think sometimes I enjoyed the class more than Jay! ha. . .

RP mummies,
sorry very bz at work so not able to read the thread. Next Wed lunch should be no problem!

Jas/Leia/Piyo/Augbaby/kRis/erin,
Regarding flashcard, I agree that to flash the card alone is not enough and we need to associate the card with the real action/objects. Now Jay can understand few simple words if I flash the cards to him. For example, when I show his 'kick', I no need to say anything he will just kick his legs, I show 'head'/'ear' he will point to his head/ear. When I show him 'clap' he will just clap his hands, 'No' he will just shake his head etc. Maybe he recognise the words or maybe he just memorise them which I dunno la.

Hi Crisann..

Glad to hear Crisann is feeling better.. take care..

which time slot is Crisann attending at BJG??

Hi Mrs Chng..

BJG = baby jumper gym.. the one we attend is at Bukit Batok.. beside the driving centre..

Hi cocomo..

Jay so clever.. zorian dun even know where is his head.. show him a few times but he dun seem to be bother.. he love to point only at his bellybutton and kicks his legs..

btw is GUG?

Hi cocomo, HoneyB, Crisann..

so letting babies joining BJG for another term?? wat time slot will you go for??

Jas/Leia/Piyo/Augbaby/kRis/erin,cocomo

looks like all babies r progressing so fast.....

totally agree with what u all say regarding flashcards....did show Jia Hui flashcards as & when lor...showed her animals cards last week & brought her to the Zoo too... went to see the elephant show & she enjoyed it alot... when she everyone clapping so also clap....

whenever we said "bus", Jia Hui will point to the bus & say "ba" .. when we point to a cat, she will make meow meow sound lor.... yesterday night, daddy taught her A to F & told her what which letter stands... after that, daddy ask her where is fish, & after awhile she will point to it....

think babies really can absorbing lot of information at their age

Hi Kris,

haha, dun stress lah.. let our babies develop at their own pace.. Just keep on exposing them to new and interesting things and soon, they will pick up more information so much faster then you think!

JAdelle learned from this advertisement on TV about coughing (I think iz wood's peppermint advertisement). Now, she see people coughing, she indicate to them to cough and cover their mouth!! (I was really annoyed that my MIL exposed her to TV and a lousy 29 yrs old CRT TV that kept flickering too!! But, that is another story..)

hi mommies..

anyone let your babies drink gripewater?? my mommy ask me to give zorian everything before he goes for his jab.. can reduce possibility of fever.. but my in laws not very much approve.. thanks..

hi kRis,

Rae used to take gripewater in the morning but has since stopped after the bottle is finished. I know it helps in reducing air in their stomach and controlling their saliva. But, don't remember it as a mean to reduce fever. If Zorian never had it before, maybe don't start giving.

Re: tricycle,
Check with you mummies who let ur bb sit in the tricycle, How you all prevent ur bb from Moving in the tricycle. My Girl will stand and want to climb out of it thats why i don't dare to bring her out putting her in the tricycle.

kRis,
Crisann, Megan, Jay, Reina and Hannah are in same BJG class this term, Sat 5:30pm

I show Jay his bellybutton lotso time and till now he just cannot find his belly button! ha. . . So let them go with their own pace lo. I heard baby can absorb lotso things now till age 3 so the most we input the more they absorb. However we should not expect instant output from them whenever we input lo.

Augbaby,
Your Jay so so so cute with the bag! The bag just nice for him, not too big not too small! He want to carry it? My Jay will make noice whenever I want him to carry bag le. You Jay so guai1!

Catherine,
Jay oso the same nowadays, after a while he will not want to sit in the tricycle and wannt to be carried. So I make sure I bring my hubby/helper along to bring the tricycle back. ha. . .

cocomo,
haha..think he only carry a few only..juz let him try at nite only lor..empty inside one..haha..but he kept on pulling the sling leh..:p so i guess he sure wont carry for long one..i bought it at RP...

Hi Amy and Catherine..

Thanks.. will bath him first.. cos his jab pretty early.. so dun manage to bath him before bringing him to jab.. then i wont start him on gripe water..

Hi Catherine..

Zorian moves alot in his tricycle.. usually we push him inhouse.. if go out, he will sit there and see things.. wont ask to be carried lor..

cocomo, kris,
haha so i think i going to put seat belts so as to prevent her from moving around liao.

Kris,
previously even my ger's jab is like 9am i will still bath her b4 going.
As my mum say is better to bath b4 jab as it wont get fever so easily

Catherine24,

usually my jab is at 10am.. zorian got up at 9am so will be pretty rush to bath him lor.. so end up we dun.. this time round, will book a later date so can bath him first.. keekee..

can put seat belts one hah?? how to?? keekee.. nowaday zorian prefer to sit in those cars.. i try to take photo to show here okie..

Kris,
Don't know leh looking for one, will go and sorce for one so that she wont move when seating in the tricycle, i see other bbs in at the market they all guai guai sit one leh never move here and there.

Hi Augbaby

Crisann is better now. Thks for the concern. She has something like rashes around her whole body.

Hi Kris

Thks. Crisann now is attending 5.30 pm on Sat for BJG. I'm not sure what is the timing they have next term. I prefer April to be the teacher cos find her quite gd. My mum give Crisann gripewater everyday before she bath her. My mum also ask me to bath Crisann before the jab. Heard is better for them.

Hi Jasmine

Jadelle so cute.

Hi Kris,

I working at Jurong East leh.. but i live near JP.. aiyo...

Augbaby,
Cool bag Jay had! Den it wil somehow make our bag lighter a bit. So he is working fantastic well! Will get to see him at Jadelle party!

Natalie start to walk without our support BUT she is very horrible.. her style is like running and fell alot times. Alot horrible times that slam her face on the floor la, hit her jaw etc or her head.. I getting very season to it liao.

Do you all think its ok to send our toddlers to Full Day Childcare when they are 18mths or prefer to wait longer like maybe 2yrs for Pre-Nursery? Some my other mummie frds commented maybe 2yr plus.. feel like I m v bad to send her while she is so young..

Wow the thread is v active.....

Conso my reply here....
Re: Marmite and Ribena
Dun encourage giving d said things simply becos Marmite is full of preservative n ribena of sugar.

Jab
Yes, will let dd take the jap.

Cynthia,
I will enrol my gal to few hours playgroup before gradually move to full day. Let her warm up first cos she never go for any weekend class in the first place, dun wan to fret her.

DD's style of walking oso same as Natalie.... seem in hurry. Yesterday just got herself a blue black mark cos knock onto her gor gor's study table when she try to climb it up.

Augbaby,
Cute bag jay hv....

Crisann,
Hope Crisann is betta now.... So it is false measles.

anyone know about or researched on Kinderland? near my home there is Kinderland, Character Montesorri, Pat's School House, Children's Vista.

Also, have u al moved your kid's the the Stage 3 milk?

Hi Ms Chng...

BJG will do flash cards, singing and gym time..

Hi Crisann..

Thanks.. will bath him the next time round before giving his jab.. hopefully he wont kena fever.. cos the moment he has fever, he will be sticky to me 24hrs.. even hubby also dun want..

Hi Cynthia..

sigh.. no choice then.. keekee.. me staying at AMK.. very far from jurong.. but cant find a job in town yet..

Hi Butter8..

Zorian should be starting to take his Stage 3 milk today.. cos the stage 2 one should be finished by today mah.. keekee..

Morning Mummies!

Hi Butter8,
I have visited Kinderland @ Jurong East.
The teachers there are friendly and certified for sure & with years of experience. Do have China Teachers and quite surprise some of the teachersare much older than us aroung 40plus. They divide into different classroom. For Jurong East branch nearby no playground so they have a mini one built in the centre. They divide classes into individual like Pre-Nursery, Nursery, K1 K2 etc. Have list of programs and interaction in the morning. Currently now is 1 teacher to 6-8 Toddlers from 18mths abv called e Pre-Nursery. Its better you make appt to see personally the place cos I realise different centre differently lor..
I have Change Natalie milk to Gain IQ. Dono y she seems to be sick of NAN and doesnt finish all. When I switch slowly and she finish all & ask for more too! hehehee

Cecelia,
Oh think this way can be better.. maybe shld try to place in her short class before start her off & freak her out. Was so worried she will be very superglue & cant adapt fast. Some may need 2-3day but some maybe longer as what the centre I visit mention to me..

Hi Jas,
So sorry last min could not attend Jadelle's party! Megan suddenly devepoled rashes and was not sure if it's false measles or due to egg white which I haf given her... Jadelle's pressie still with me... pass to you when we have chance to meet up k! Post pics of jadelle's party! Kelly told me Jadelle's cake very sweet!

<font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">***HAPPY 1ST BIRTHDAY JADELLE!!!***</font></font>

Hi Cecelia,
You sending Rachael to daily half day playgroup or 3x a week? Whr are you looking at?

Hi butter8,
where are you staying? I have heard good reviews on character monte...but it's the serangoon side branch I think...

I am weanning Megan off EBM and transiting to Gain IQ
That is considered Stage 3?

HI Kris,
We always bath megan at 6plus7 in the morning so sure will bathe her b4 jab..

Hi Cyn,
ya! must visit the ctr you wanna consider putting our babies in.. cos they are dif from pics in the website and each ctr seems to vary even though they may be under the same umbrella.

Some told me they are putting their babies straight full day into the CC once they turn 18mths... but these friends of mine are mostly having the 2nd or 3rd kid and they have already placed the 1st or 1st 2 kids in and they feel it's better... I m still thinking of 3x a week in the morning. The most I wil stretch is 5x in the morning later on? see how it goes...

On CC and the likes...

My colleague placed her dau in CC when her boy came along cos her parents are not able to handle both of them. Looks like that's a norm. But I thought it's quite sad when that happens lor. Like the older child has to make way for the new baby...

If it's CC just for daytime, to learn some things and to interact with other kids, I feel that's not too bad. In any case, I hear that CC plan most activities before lunch??? However, if it's for the whole day... imagine 7am - 7pm... that's a good 12 hours away from the comforts of home...

So for me, ideally, I would consider 3-5x a week in the daytime. Afternoons can be spent kooning at home. Home is still the most secure and comfy place.

Butter 8,

Character Montessori Punggol is one of my choices if i were to enrol Justin for pre-school cos its one of the better ones within my vicinity. Like the fact that it has a big compound with a lot outdoor activities.

Regarding bath b4 jab, Justin always have his daily morning bath between 830 to 9am so sure will bathe b4 any jabs.

Leia,

I also feel sad if i were to 1 day have to place Justin in cc becos of a sibling. Can't imagine he'll be missing home and crying for Mummy while he's still so young. Also feel that i'll the most put him a few days in a week for half day when the need arises.

Hi Piyo,

Is Megan doing fine? She will too okie.
The party was great. Thanks Jas for making an effort to rent the toys and place them in a room for kids to play. Nat play till she doesnt even wanna leave & don bear to sleep! Only till when we leave the house she KNOCK OFF! GOSH..

False Measles
--------------
Nat had contracted it before. PD say normal it will go off within 1week. Mild fever will occur. At this point normally PD will gave med to reduce any itchness for Oral & Apply.

Bathing B4 Jab.
----------------
It is true adviseable to bath our toddlers before going for any jab. In case after the Jab they develop fever. Normally I will set appt for Nat Jab ard 10am so she could have her bath as early as 7plus bah.

I have come across a story which I borrow from Library "Everything Guide to Raising ONE YEAR OLD". They do advise to bath tods later in the evening is cool them down before they going bedtime. This can make them more relax & soothing & more clean up. I have been bathing Nat 2x a day, morning & evening cos she always so sweaty & smelly! Even use cloth to wipe her no use...

Jas,
Happy birthday to Jadelle too!! so sorry I also not able to go to her birthday as I was not really feeling well that day. In fact I did not go office today as well. Hope she has lotso fun!!

Leia/Racoon,
I agree with you totally!! Feel very bu se de if once day I am going to place Jay at CC/playgroup for full day. but then for my case,I have no parents or PIL here to help out so if I am gonna to have a second one then my maid definately cannot handle both at the same time for afternoon section. very wei nan!

kRis,
Jay on Gain IQ once he turn 12mth. But then the nutrician told me to reduce the milk for stage 2 gradually le, for eg. Jay's taking 7OZ milk now, equal 3.5 scp of FM. So for 1st week mix 2.5 scp of similac + 1 scp Gain, then 2nd week 1.5 scp Similac + 2 scp Gain, then 3rd week 0.5 scp similac + 3 scp Gain and then 4th week 3.5 scp Gain.

Hi Kris and Cyn,
The rashes are subsiding liao.. think shd be ok..

Hi Leia, racoon and cocomo
I have the same tots as both of you... I hope when I have no.2, I really dun haf to make a decision to put megan in CC for whole day! for now, start with 3x a week in the morning..well, it's a comfort that at least megan have jayden ard...a familiar face! my parents so farni! when I told them may put megan to half days in preschool for some days in the week, they asked me "wait kena bully how? for me, I worry if she bullies other kids how?

and nothing beats "kooning" at home...

cocomo,
you ok not? got go c doc?

Hi racoon,
heard the character monte at your place not bad lei! the one that cocomo and I saw at Mt Sinai very run down.. we are like "er... forget it" hahaha

Hi piyo,
hope megan's feeling better.

hi jas,
thanks for the invite. Kayden also enjoyed playing with the toys. sorry we have to leave early that day cos he was cranky. hope jadelle have a great birthday.

hi leia, racoon and cocomo,
i share the same sentiments too. will just send Kayden for 3hrs or the most half-day child care so he gets to socialise with others.

Cocomo,
for my jay also same...i will be switching him to Enfagrow slowly as well and must do it slowly...a little at a time....

Jas,
happy bday to jadelle...we hav a great time there and yr cupcakes r nicely done...so sorry we had to leave b4 jadelle cut her cake coz need to make jay nap before we go out in the evening..he fall asleep in his car seat on the way hm..haha...

Regarding milk, Justin is still on NAN HA 2 and he refused to switch to Gain IQ, tot of switching cos thinks he shd be taking milk for those above 1 yr old liao. Maybe will start with mixing the 2 types.

Piyo,

I also think that Character Montessori not bad, but aiyah a pity, they dun have those a few days per week classes, its either everyday full or half day. So maybe will consider putting Justin there when he's much older then.

piyo,
I also realised the milk at stage 2 more nutritious le and more ex also. But then dun know why should switch to stage 3 lo. Just that the stage 3 one indicate > 1year old. Maybe when they grow older they will gain more nutri from solid food that why content in FM reduce? You wanna call the customer support to ask? hoho . . .

Here some pics taken @ Jasmine's Jadelle party. Didnt manage to take more & the cake yeah.

Me, Natalie, Augbb, Jay
951115.jpg

Delicious Jelly
951116.jpg

Shortcakes!
951117.jpg

Nat & Erin's Kayden (Didnt manage get hold looking)
951118.jpg

951119.jpg

She loves ribbon instead of the Balloon
951120.jpg

Cyn,
i simply find that nat is so cute n pretty now..getting prettier each day..too bad she din allow me to carry her...hee hee...can email me the pic of u n me ah...hardly take much pics nowadays coz i feel i look so ugly n this pic looks nice leh...haha...:p

Cocomo,
wat happen....hope u r feeling better now ya...rest more at hm ya...take care...

my mum started giving jay rice liao leh..wif side dishes..like soup n fish etc...but of course the rice is cook till rather soft lah but not mashy like porridge...i tried feeding him on sat n he is ok i think...juz eat lesser leh...but my mum say its ok coz rice is more filling than porridge so its ok he eat lesser..any mummies started giving their bb rice liao? anyway regarding the stage 3, i ask the enfagrow supplier and wat they say is that stage 3 contain less fats as compared to stage 2 coz i think stage 2, they juz started on food so i guess the milk content need more fats coz to supplement it..but think now dun need...anyway i will be switching jay to stage 3 soon liao too..gotta finish the stage 2 first...haha

for me, now that no 2 is coming, i am still not willing to put jay in childcare everyday..think i prefer him to be at hm wif his grandparents still and i wan him to enjoy his childhood still lor...more play..haha...anyway am still looking for those that he can go max 3x a wk lor n half day as well...afternoon i prefer him to sleep too n eat dinner at hm...prefer actually too if he can hav lunch at hm too if he is in playschool in the morning as well...reali hope my current co will allow me to work part time or at least like 3days a wk i work..that way i can pick jay up from school myself...if come to the worst n i cant find a gd suitable school then i will put jay in playschool only when he is 2yrs old instead of 18mths lor...

Hi Augbaby,

Kekeke Shall email you the pic later on.
She is v shy... only in public. Need to warm up la she takes her about 1hr so slow.. Jay looks different! So obedient and he walk very stable too! Cant stop playing too that y U got a hard time taking care and chasing. You still look great to me la. I also remeber don like to take pic when I m preg with Nat

Childcare / Playgroup.
Maybe it is still advisable when they reach 2years old? Cos they able to express more and wont be so poor thing.. unless no choice to place them after 18mths due to family issues or no one able to really focus or take care bah.
Was thinking maybe when Natalie is gg to 2years old, even we have 2nd one coming, it will be easier for MIL.. so she can be in school maybe fullday or half day first bah.

Hi cynthia,
thanks for taking Kayden's photo. din recognise u until u introduce urself. so sorry din really chat with u. hope to chat with u another day.