(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

HoneyB,

Once, Jadon also grab at my glasses. I whacked his butt/back of his thigh HARD and told him fiercely, "Don't pull Mummy's glasses!".

He cried and I bochap him and gave him the super black face. From then on, he never do it again.

My friend stopped wearing glasses cos her son keeps pulling at hers. I think this can be taught one lor... especially since now they would already be able to understand what is NO.

Hi augbaby,
I'm talking about the kinderland at SAFRA. think they just opened it in july.

hi piyo,
ya, from TTC. ordered a few categories of picture cards and a couple sets of blank cards to use in school. ai yah, seems like the quality really not very good. so worried liao. haiz... now just hoping that the ones i received will be ok. will be getting it this sun.

hi leia,
happy birthday to jadon.

hi honeyb,
kayden too. he'll just grab my glasses and throw it on the floor.

Leia,
Happy birthday to Jadon!!! You Jay so guai, I really hit my Jay hard hard when he pull off my specs but he still do it again and again le. ai. . .

happymum,
You can refer to http://www.sjck.org.sg for more information on St James.

Augbaby,
Brighton do not have a website.

Leia,
Happy birthday to Jadon!!! Your Jadon so guai, I really hit my Jay hard hard when he pull off my specs but he still do it again and again le. ai. . .

happymum,
You can refer to http://www.sjck.org.sg for more information on St James.

Augbaby,
Brighton do not have a website.

Hi apple,
ya, long time din contact each other. who's taking care of ur gal? i'm only looking at the playgroups near my place leh so choices quite limited.

hi augbaby,
I think I won't put Kayden in Learning Vision at TP. met the teachers and P once regarding work and dun really have a very good opinion of the branch there. my sis's colleague also withdrew her son from the branch (not sure of the reason though).

hi augbaby,
just realised that there's also a crestar branch at tampines central cc. keke... now more choices liao. can check out www.crestar.com.sg.

list down my choices 1st. u see which one u prefer then we go shopping ok?
1) Crestar (Tampines Central CC)
2) Kinderland (Tampines Safra)
3) Elfa (Tampines Central CC)
4) Learning Vision (Tampines Blk 817)

Hi Piyo & Amy

Noted. Will not soak from now.

Hi Piyo, Augbaby, Racoon

Crisann also the same sleep 360 degree. Alway kick and slap us. She also almost push me out of the bed cos she like to sleep close to me. This morning her head knock onto my mouth when she wana lay down in seating position. She does not feel the pain at all but i was in great pain while she still can laugh. Really have to careful liao she is so strong.
Hi Leia & racoon

Crisann also like to lie or sit at my tummy... can feel the pain. Cos experience before liao.

Hi Leia

happy birthday to jadon.

Hi Piyo & Jesline

Think I really have to find a way to stop Crisann from sleeping in sarong. This morning she wake up at 7am. Than at 9am+ she was so sleepy already. So put her into the saraong to sleep. She dun wana sleep and turn and turn round the sarong. After a while her head was out of the sarong. Scare me off.... Faster carry her out of the sarong. Think she is too strong.

called GUG today and happened that they have slot for trial class in the late afternon hence went for it ($45/1.5hr)... there are several rooms and i think every week will rotate diff room with diff toys/settings...

this is what happened during the 1.5hrs: warming up, singing, story telling, motor skills (simple gym tunnel), snack-time, teaching zoo-phonics, art & craft (palm printing w paint) and music class... end result? $450+ poorer ($100 refund depo, $50 non-refund reg fee, $280 term fees + gst)... dun mind signing up with them cuz cant seem to find suitable weekend class for our 12mths old (> gym activities)...

Jadon thanks aunties here for the birthday wishes.

939653.jpg

We celebrated his birthday 4 days early (actual day 29/8). Wore a shirt and tie specially for the celebration today.

Catered from Lavish Dine, which came with 2 "uniformed staff in attendance" who did not put on their uniforms and disappeared halfway through the event. Tsk tsk tsk...

939664.jpg

There's even a "choice of color theme" and "fresh flowers decor".

939665.jpg

939666.jpg

Sounds strange, doesn't it? Anyway, there's a loooooong (and funny/silly) story behind this one. :D

Nonetheless, the food is great, as expected. Had tasted a similar menu from them ~2 years ago.

Ordered cupcakes instead of a big birthday cake.

939680.jpg

No need to cut and can double up as party favors.

939681.jpg

(Cheapo plastic bag in pretty shade of purple)

939682.jpg

Nonetheless, there's still a small cake for cutting. Ordered a "chocolate of a thousand leaves" with fresh cream from CoffeeBean and stuck on the decor ourselves - sadly, we need plenty of improvement in this area. :p Nevertheless, cake still taste great.

939683.jpg

The birthday cake table... courtesy of Lavish Dine once again. :p

939707.jpg

Started to work on a simple slideshow 1.5 months ago on the month on month changes/development of my boy. Only manage to complete it this morning! (no time and no inspiration).

939708.jpg

Toying with the idea of renting a helium tank, but since we only have about 15 children for the event, decided to just blow them and have them on sticks.

939709.jpg

Besides the cupcakes and balloons, also bought rubber duckies for kids as a small party favor. Even the grown ups want to have one... but limited quantity - too bad. Being young definitely has its privileges. :p

939718.jpg

At the end of the day, everyone has a Thank You bookmark from Jadon (Took me dunno how many nights to tie the ribbons!).

939719.jpg

Hi leia,
jadon looks so handsome in his shirt and tie. wow! u sure spent a lot of time, effort and money on his birthday. He's so lucky to have parents like u guys.

Hi, Crisann

Jia Hui also lor...when put her in sarong, when she awake or dont want to sleep, she will put her 2 legs out & then press herself out of the sarong...last week, she does that & luckily, i caught hold of her.....

Leia,
That looks like a great party, like the tie on Jadon, so young so handsome already loh. The bookmark also looks nice, very innovative, all your efforts paid off :")

catching up on the thread.....

Leia, keiran did the exact same thing as jadon this morning. the back of keiran's head slammed right onto my nose this morning...nose didnt bleed but hurts like hell man...think the bruise is appearing..and keiran didnt cry but my tears of pain just flow out.... terrible..

Piyo, you are refering to St James at HV behind Esso station? there is a St James at Dempsey as well.... How about Carpe Diem @ telok blangah or Eager Beaver at safra mt faber? know anything about them.....
Brighton at river valley right? tons of ang mohs go there.....

Leia,
wow...jadon party looks so fun and u reali put in a lot of effort..wah worth it leh...must saluate u liao..the rubber ducky is a v gd idea for the kids and the bookmark too..so cool!! N yr jadon look so handsome in his shirt n tie...hee hee...a v nice party instead...

Erin,
saw that crestar also have a new branch at safra tamp...nearer to my parents place...u have any idea how is their playschool like etc is it everyday half day or a few times a day? Fees? Anyway where is Tampines Central CC ah? kelly mention to me that learning vision from TP is more like a child care coz it everyday from certain timing one..anyway wich TP branch did u have a bad impression coz there are 2 learning vision in TP u know...
Any website for Elfa? Ya think we reali need to go shopping for school when i am on my maternity leave liao..:p will sure arrange wif u one...

Hi Leia,
Great party and lots of efforts! where did you get the tie? Jadon looks handsome in it! I like the party favors! anymore rubbie duckie? gif me 1! haha!

hi babyboy,
You are staying ard bt merah too right? Yes, it used to be at HV but shifted to Dempsey liao! have you gone to take a look? I went to look at Carpe Diem. Their curriculum is based on Multiple Intelligences approach. Very gardenly and resort like but when I went in to take a look, it looks a bit dark and depressing and messy... cocomo reminded me of MOSQUITOS fainted... I went to mt faber safra ytd morning... eager beaver looks new (from outside) but maybe no outdoor playground? they offer swimming lessons cos of the pool in safra... but I think no montessori.. you going to take a look? there is another near vivo called learning seeds at bt chermin.. cheap and good for whole day only $400 after subsidy with monte syllabus as well...ya brighton at river valley.. my hubby likes brighton... did you go visit? a few ang mos not alot? but ex haiz...

Hi mummies who are considering playgroups,
are you considering putting our toddlers

a. for a few hours to half a day max?
b. full day as per in Childcare?

on a
1. daily basis?
2. 2x a week?
3. 3x a week?

a friend of mine told me might as well put megan to full day in the centre.. more independent and learns faster, speaks faster.. better than being at home alone with maid or grandparents... *confused*

hi babyboy,
some centres you can consider ard our place... cocomo and I did quite a carpet search ard our area:

1. MMI at old HDB centre
2. Learning Vision (LV) at old HDB centre (Surbana one)- no outdoor playground
3. Learning Seeds at Bt Chermin
4. Lorna Whiston at Winchester Road
5. Carpe Diem at Royal Rd
6. Seedlings at Dawson place - no outdoor playground
7. Cambridge at Tanglin (Belvedore Close-next to Cresent Girls)
8. Brighton at River Valley
9. MMI at PSA Building - pathetic outdoor playground
10. Pat's Schoolhouse at Claymore
11. MMI at Claymore
12. Eagerbeaver at Mt Faber Safra (not sure abt playground)

Cocomo- anymore to add?

Hi Crisann and jesline,
did you clip both sides of the sarong when she is in it? btw, just realised one for he new "skills" in the sarong, she can sleep and take off her socks while in the sarong..

Hi jokojoko,
thanks for your review of GUG.. may wanna sign megan up for about 1-2 terms after BJG ends in Sep... I like their zoophonics...I think JG does not not have that right?

hi piyo...iam living near cocomo and the same block as superdad lah...
my cousin went to st james when he was much younger, its that old cause he is already 13yrs old. a very christian based kindergarden with quite a few school concerts & activities which involve parents and $ when it comes to outfits for their performance.....
and of course, not forgetting the donations...

have yet to start searching ard but heard Learning vision at Biopolis is not bad, colleague sends her daughter there....

on the other hand, is it abit too early to send our babies to full day? if i do, i probably send a few hours a day max and even so, not now. K just started walking and goes round touching everything so i would prefer someone watching him for now.

COCOMO...saw you, jay & yr hub at Giant on Saturday...i was a distance away so couldnt call you..... : )

Leia, nice party decor n food, must hv put in much effort! great job, mommy!! =)

we had our party at the same condo function room! =) i did mine on 4 aug... =)

piyo,

you really scare me with the preschool fever leh......

Must be a lot of work to do to search for preschool. I also plan to consider those near my house so if you talk abt good ones, there are a few montessoris here.

The Montessori Playroom at Hougang Plaza
Modern Montessori Preschool at Sengkang Eastway

Dunno abt the rest liao. How to do homework, really hv to visit the centres ah? Guess have to do it myself liao, ask hubby to do legwork, he will surely complain.

crisann, erin, Mrs Chng, HoneyB, Butter8, augbaby, piyo, leobbsmom,

Thanks. I think I spend more time planning/conceptualising than executing. Tying ribbons on the bookmarks is a mindless activity... doing up the powerpoint slides is easy as ABC if you already have an idea of what you want in the slides.

But nonetheless, I enjoy party planning - fun, fun, fun! And it's prolly easier since I did the planning all by myself so am given free rein (HB can't be bothered about such things one). :p Anyway, in terms of party planning, this is the 2nd biggest "project" after my wedding.

piyo,

Sorry, no more rubber duckies. Had to disappoint some of the grown ups and teens at the party too. The tie was purchased online from The Children's Place.

leobbsmom,

What a coincidence, you also held your party there. It's good especially since they hv quite some tables and chairs.

piyo,

You are not exaggerating when you say you and cocomo did a 'carpet search'. Anyway, i think you have fun in the process and is going to be making a very wise and informed choice.

leia,
does the rubber ducky comes wif the hats n stuffs one or u customise it? hee hee...v cute..where u bought them from ah?

check with u all ah...wat type of container do u all use when u bring out snacks etc for babies? coz currently i am using the dora containers wif lids to bring out food and i am thinking of looking for one which hav a few different compartment so i can juz bring out 1 container..coz over the wkends, i brought out strawberries for jay to eat and also another container for food...so looking for 1 container i can use only to put fruits and maybe ano compartment to put steam veggies or biscuits etc..must be airtight...

Hi augbaby,
do u know where junyuan sec is? tampines central cc is just next to it. there's a ntuc there. think at st. 82 or 83.

the learning vision that i'm not keen on is the one at tp.

actually, i just realised that most of the ones i selected are all under crestar. u can check out http://www.elfa.edu.sg/indexeng.htm for info on elfa.

I've called up Kinderland and the person-in-charge said that the hrs for kids of our age will be from 8 to 11am. Teacher-pupil ratio will be 1:5. Fees are around $360 per month after subsidy.

Hi piyo,
I'm considering putting kayden in playgroups for abt 2 to 3 hrs on a daily basis so he gets to socialise with others.

Hi, mummies

does anyone know of any music school that r suitable for toddler of our baby age???

Hi, piyo/crisann
the sarong that Jia Hui is using got zip at the end... but she will use her legs & drag the zip down....

Pretty cupcakes from Jadon's birthday celebration for your viewing pleasure...

Feel very motivated to bake and decor my own cupcakes. Wonder how much practice I'd need before I can achieve this kind of standard of consistency...

942286.jpg

942287.jpg

942288.jpg

942289.jpg

Helo Mummies!

Wow alot posting.. Now is CHILDCARE SCHOOLFEVER!!!!

Realise Kinderland & Crestar belongs to one! Kinderland seems not bad. Have seen their woodland centre. I have called and ask. For Full day is $716 (after subsidy for wrking mum) Ratio is 1:5. Not bad right.

I have seen Daystar too. The branch in Jurong West opposite my house.There is also another branch at Holland. Not bad too. Full day $361. Ratio is 1:8 and may be adding to 2:8 lor. My frd frd son was in this Full day and better train like toilet trained, well behaved, better temper, help to do simple hsekeeping (keep toys after use, learn wearing shoes putting back, table manners) I think basically this is wat she gave me the info which seems not bad hahah.

MMI fee varies from location.. Full day services min of $600...

Hope we can share more over here and more choices...

Leia, the cupcakes are really NICE leh!

I've seen alot of beautiful cupcakes at the food fair at my church last Sat too! really BEAUTIFUL...

Piyo/babyboy,
Did not bring my list, off hand can only remember Maris Stella, Ethonhouse, Little woods, Little oaks and JHS.

Babyboy,
You saw me at Vivo? Ya I went there to shop shop after Jay's BJG on sat.

Leia,
Well done on Jadon's party!!! Jadon so so so cute and handsome! Like his tie. . .