(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

leobbsmom,

You could actually give soft rice from 12 months onward, when yr baby starts to chew. It's actually not encouraged to keep giving them soft and mushy food. Should increase the 'coarseness' to encourage chewing.

Piyo,

Babybites is made in China so I seldom give. Ok, to give baby some baby biscuits (read the ingredients first) for snack. However, I usually give cheerios and fruits instead.

Ya, the readership of my blog shot up, despite the fact, mine's private and could not be googled.

Anyone so bo liao as to create email account/s for your babies with their names?

I've "choped" 3 for my boy on gmail and yahoo liao :p

HoneyB,
my office is at Hitachi tower which is at change alley there where u can get a cab that area...hee hee...tks gal for being so nice to meet me at my office...i feel so paisei leh...**blush blush**

augbaby,
No worries, I can go down if its not raining. Ok I know where already, you name a shop and I'll meet you outside the shop can cos lunch time it can be very crowded there to spot on.

augustmum,
wat type of cheerios do u give zac? u mean those breakfast cereal type we adults eat? do u give zac bread too? thinking of letting jay try bread already but not sure wat brand n type to buy..can u advise??

piyo, leobbsmom,

Not too bad lah. Am hvg it in the function room and there's space to spill over outside the function room, around the pool. Eventually, not everyone will come so am catering food for 100pax for now.

Anyway, my parents will be entertaining their relatives, my in-laws will be entertaining theirs, my HB will look after his friends. Myself, I'm only inviting 10 friends.

okie..how abt i meet u at mphosis tom at around 1215 then...if its raining or anything, juz let me know n we can reschedule...
tks dearie...

cecelia,
go to my computer, click Local disk :)C)
then click WINDOWS then u will see a file call temp.click it select all and clear..
otherwise u can go internet explorer got to tools then internet options and click clear history,

lebbs,
You should feed bb cereal cause cereal got more proteins and vitatmins and other things which porridge won't have.

I try many types of cereal for my girl my friend told me to try until they like the cereal. so everytime i will try this and that i even mix different brand of cereals.seems to taste good.

Catherine,

I usually mix in quite a lot of vegey in Justin's porridge, at least 3 + either fish or pork, and i use multi grains as his porridge too.....will it still be less nutritious compared to cereals?

wat types of veggies do u all mix into porridges ah? coz i realise jay dun eat much veggies..only brocolic...can we let them hav asparagus alr?

augbb,

heard asparagus very good for health, but i haven't tried, maybe will try this weekend. I gave Justin spinach, broccoli,cauliflower. Wanted to try kale cos read from Super Baby Food its good, but dunno where to find and dunno how it look like. Also, i tried to give avocado which is supposed to be very good, but i mash until hands and fork want to break liao, still hard hard, so gave up on that.

Racoon,
I also cook porridge with 2 types of veges and fish or pork, lately I also serve my girl mesh hard boiled egg. I feel that it should be quite sufficient in terms of nutrients, also depends on how much baby's body can absorb huh.

To be honest, I quite like the baby porridge, sometimes when my hubby is not in town, I will cook a little bit more and after serving Hannah her fair share for dinner, I will add in a bit of soya and chomp up the rest for my own dinner haa...

Cereal on the other hand I find it very dry and ummph..tasteless, unless I add in alot of puree and my girl somehow don't like cereal too so I stopped serving her that.

racoon, augbb, honeyb
what's kale in chinese? how do you choose ripe avacado? those dark green and soft ones? actually, can we try generally green leafy veg like kai lan, chye sim etc with our babies?

megan seems to like her porridge even though I find I repeat the foods inside. She will always get her 1-2 green veg, white and brown rice, wolfberries, pumpkin, sweet potato, 2 meat and fish, occasionally carrots, tofu, lentils, millet, hard boiled egg yolk etc.. I think super sufficient liao! i dun have so many dishes per meal myself:p

racoon,
oh avocado is the easiest to give leh..think yr avocado is not ripe yet that is why coz when they r ripe, juz peel the skin n mash...very easy one...ripe avocado shld be very dark brown colour or almost like black colour the skin...unripe one the skin is bright green...n if u put avocado in the fridge it wont ripe so u hav to leave it out in the open till it turns dark brown or if u wan it to be faster, put the fruit into a paperbag...jay simply love avocado n its a very gd fruit to give bb....
For cauliflower, how do u cook in with the porridge ah? u steam it first n then blend it n then add into porridge?

how do you serve the avocado? cook it with porridge or eat it as a fruit? need to cook it? hmm...maybe blend it with milk and do an avocado milk shake haa..

piyo,
i find megan porridge very yummy n colourful leh as compared to the porridge i serve jay...wat type of veggies u add into megan porridge ah...how do u do it, steam the veggies separately 1st n then blend n add in? if not wont it be hard hard? for pumpkin n sweet potato leh...u also steam b4 adding in? sweet potato, do u use the japanese type or the normal kind?

Seem like all yr babies are eating 2-3 meal a day. For Crisann, she is eating only porridge for dinner and yet she doesn't want to eat. Really don't know why. But she wants to eat plain rice that we eat and also bread. My mum even give her chwee kuai without the cai po. She love it so much that when we bring her to market she will look at it and pat herself, telling us she wana eat. Btw she love to eat durian. Never show her, she smell it she wana eat liao.

honeyb,
I understand that avacado no need to cook, can just mash and gif...

anyone gif bb eggplant? if yes how to prepare? cos I dun eat it myself

HoneyB,
i serve avocado fresh...Dun need to cook one!!peel n mash and usually serve as a fruit when he finish his cereal or porridge..but if he fuss n dun wan to finish his porridge, then i will add in some avocado tog inside his porridge and feed him lor..he loves it very much...

hi crisann,
she is so cute! can imagine her eating durian!maybe that cld be next fruit on my list haha! my maid gives a little bread to megan sometimes... she does nip a bit and she likes!

augbb,
same like you-brocolli, spinach, carrots etc but sweet potato and pumpkin is a must cos she loves them...I dun restrcit myself to jap or local.. I go mkt see what they haf I will get.. main thing MUST NOT have worms... use to cook separately then add in now a bit lazy, dump most in and cook together, except the green veg, meat and fish steam separately then add in...maybe it;s the carrots/egg yolk/wolfberries etc that gives the porridge more colour? else what you give to jay is also what I give to megan

My mom put egg yolk in porridge sometimes.

I nvr cook porridge for my boy before. I cook pasta with tomato, egg, cheese, brocolli. Shiok! Cos I'll cook just a bit more so that I can sample too :D

honey,
oh kailan! thanks! that means can start giving liao!i wonder other green veg like chye sim etc can gif not... cos I am running out of ideas liao

piyo,
so u mean now u put the pumpkin, sweet potato etc tog to be cook in the porridge? wont it be hard hard ah? so u actually tried the japanese sweet potato lah...i dun think u freeze any of the fruits or veggies hor like purees?

I see, ok, will get some avocado to let Hannah try out this weekend hee...

Crisann,
Your girl so cute, smell only want to eat already. I also fed Hannah a little bit of durain once, she seems to like it. My mum also feed my girl chwee kuai wo the cai bo but I still think its too oily

leia,
how do u cook the pasta..i also wan to try leh...u use fresh tomato? n wat type of cheese? pls share wif me how do u do that...pls pls...

augbb,
I use slow cooker and cook, so by the time the porridge cooked, dun thk hard liao! quite soft lei! my prob is with green veg like brocolli, always end up like dark green in colour after steam and putting it in porridge. do you haf this prob?

ya megan tried jap sweet potato.. ok leh...u mean jap potato got prob? haha you know me well.. I dun freeze fruits/veggies cos I wanna serve them fresh-on the day cut and prepare and serve..you freeze them?

anyone give asparagus liao? i think can give already to our bb if i am not wrong..juz wondering how do i do it..shld i peel away the skin from the stalks or dun need...

honeyb,

agree, actually i think justin's porridge very nutritious liao leh, I also gave him 1 whole hard boil egg yoke on weekends. But just that we can't get that assurance like what's shown on the cereal box on "Nutritional facts" .

Piyo,

I dunno what's kale leh, tried to scan the supermkt shelf also, but can't find. I read from the Feed Ur CHild Right book that can give chye sim too but i haven't try. I also interested to try lentils but haven't bought it.

Yday mash some green beans for him but he give me that vomit action maybe becos of the texture, so i dip his biscuits in the green bean puree and he ate it fine.

anyone gives your bb ribena, glucose water etc? shd not right? my mum told me to gif I say no.. Hope I am not the only one who is anal about this..

crisann,
at first my girl also dun like to eat porridge that i cook. but now she loves it. I bought the Just harvest rice to cook porridge. Its very good and its not too sticky.
i just add carrots and mince meat and toufu. she loves it very much and finish 1 whole bowl.
btw i add ikan bills so that the porridge wont taste so blend.

racoon,
megan dun really like lentils so I got my maid to add a little to her porridge sometimes... you just reminded me.. I give megan beans too, those long bean and those snow peas etc but cut into smaller pieces.. try serving to justin in porridge, he may like it better

Piyo,
ya i freeze fruits coz its my maid feeding her and dun think she got time to prepare coz she prepares our dinner at my parents place...i only freeze pumpkin n brocolic too...oh my maid dun use slow cooker, she will cook porridge in the conventional way using chicken stock, add in pearl rice..think she cook the meal n take out n when rice is cook, she will mash it n add in the meat...that is y jay porridge always v boring one..coz she usually cook the same things..sigh..think i am going to start a menu for her to follow liao...do u think if i dun use a slow cooker, i steam veggies n then mash n ask her add into the porridge it be the same as well..juz more troublesome only lor...

augbb,
my maid also prepares our dinner. she will prepare megan's meal about late morning and if you place in slow cooker, can cook for both lunch and dinner at the same time... I think your mtd is fine! not troublesome, just ask your maid to follow your instructions..my maid prepares her food only 1x in the morning..my maid plays by ear.. like she will vary megan's food, like today got tofu tomorrow gif egg yolk etc.. she dun like to gif too much carrots cos she says megan's skin will turn yellow if gif too much... so sometimes I let her free play

Piyo,
I think other veg also can but they tend to be harder compared to spinach I supposed. green leafy also abit bitter in nature but if you are adding pumpkin or sweet potato then should be fine. Hey, btw, do you know cannot feed baby with pumpkin everyday cos like carrots and all other orangy fruits, will cause baby to turn yellow.

piyo,
wat is those long beans n snow peas? snow peas r those frozen in a pack from supermarket one is it? n long beans r like french beans but longer rite?

Piyo,
for wolfberries, do you actually feed Megan or just for flavour and the benefits? My mum fed Hannah wolfberries once and when she poo poo the next day, the wolfberries are still intact (as the way they look before cooking) yikes!!

honeyb,
I put it inside the porridge and feed her.. for benefits and flavour...cos good for eyes hehe.. I must go see megan's poo liao! I go pump milk liao come back later if you all still ard!

Hi Piyo

Think white bread is alright for them to eat. She hah eat durian non-stop 1 leh. Can't stand her. Somemore eat further than us. Wana give her eat better be fast leh. Cos now is end of durian season. I cook the brocolli together with the porridge in the slow cooker. Won't turn dark green leh. As per my mum brocolli got 2 type leh.

My frd was telling me that pumpkin is heaty. Is it true? Crisann love it leh. Same as Megan.

Hi Honeyb

Oh really.. Think she like it because I ate alot when i was pregnant. Hehehe.

Without the chi po should be ok. Cos my mum ask the lady to put separately.

piyo, augbb,

I same same as piyo, use slow cooker, dump everything inside and cook. But i will put the grains into to cook for 3 hrs, then 1 hr b4 the meal time, add in the pumpkin or sweet potato or carrot. Then steam the broccoli or spinach or cauliflower + tofu separately and mash with sieve and add into porridge just b4 serving. Egg yolk also mash and add before serving.

The porridge will look very green so maybe Justin use to the green colour liao.

Let me try and look for the ripe avocado.

I also scared Justin not enuf nutrition and lately started to add a little milled flaxseeds into his bfast porridge

honeybb,

So kale is kailan ah.......my mum says kailan a lot of pesticides leh.....hehehehe...unless buy the organic ones.

Catherine,

Oh no, after we add sooo much into the porridge, still cannot fight cereal ah....

piyo,
me confuse..haha...so snow peas is those frozen peas is it in a pack? long beans is those like french beans but longer rite??me blur liao..haha..okie..going off now liao...mummies anyone know wat is snow peas n long beans, pls share wif me..or if got pics better still..:p

catherine,

think i shd swop his morning bfast with cereal liao, at least some variety. He's on Nestle Brown Rice Cereal b4 the porridge.