(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Augbaby,piyo/kelly,
agreed with augbaby 100%...stick to the orginial plan the best...
another idea of gettin the presents, is each baby grab one numbered ball frm a bag/box, based on the number to collect her/his gift.. think most of the mummies hope to hav more time interact and chat abt kid's stuffs... babies will be busy and excited playing with themselves...

off the topics of the bash, can i know wat other types of fruits our bb can eat now ah? can they eat strawberries, kiwi, watermelon, honeydue etc? coz i read super bb food and they say all the above can eat alr, but for strawberry can cut into smaller pieces n feed, but jay got no teeth yet, n they r consider slippery food so was concern if he will choke...any mummies can help...also kelly, that time u mention can let jay try abc pasta or mashed potato..how do i cook it ah n pasta is slippery food leh..will jay choke? also mashed potatoes need some milk to mix tog then can be smooth so wat type of milk shld i use? or dun need too?? pls pls help..i be alone wif jay wif maid at hm for the whole of next wk, n thou of trying new menu for him coz my parents r away in perth n hence i need to take leave to look after jay..

Hi Amy,
Can you update us how it went for the Waddlers group at Woodlands? I asked the person in GWC. She says it's ok to join the waddlers too...in fact most of my friends brot their kids to waddlers group even at 10mths lei

HI CJ,
you still wan to keep your slot if we are going for waddlers? if not, I will ask jasmine liao

augbaby,

check out this webpage for suitable fruits: http://www.wholesomebabyfood.com/tipFruits.htm

this pg says not to offer strawberries...
http://www.wholesomebabyfood.com/forbiddenbabyfood.htm
Actually i read Amazon reviews on super bb food book and ended up not buying cos several people said that the book does not give updated recommendations...

As for pasta, get a hand blender to chop into smaller bits..that's how evan eats his pasta...and mash potato i blend with home made chicken/beef stock so its tastier...and can add certain cheese too

hi net,
so u actually boiled water with chicken and then blend the mashed potato wif the stock? do u use that as 1 main meal? as for the pasta, u feed evan with plain pasta?

That day i gave my ger for dinner

potato + carrot + broccoli + tofu. IT is quite dry . But she still finish half the bowl.

Next time i add in some stock

Birthday Bash

I also think we should make it simple. Just have catered food, cake or cupcakes and ample time for interaction. As for decor, maybe just paper cut-out of words and lots of balloons.

As for something for us to remember, I shall volunteer to make. I will make a collage of all babies' photos and have it printed at a photo shop 4R size. I will need a mommy's help to get it printed at a shop cos I'm currently residing at my parents' place which is very inconvenient to get to shops. The cost per photo will max be 50 cents only.

Agreeable? Any one wants to help me get it printed?

If all are ok, then pls email me your babies' pic (high resolution) pls. Deadline: 30 June.

If we shld just keep things to the bare minimal, I suggest this:

10am-12pm - swim at own time own target
12-3pm - makan (the function room needs to be vacated at 3pm)

Order buffet (whatever the buffet), order cake (whatever the cake). Junk decor, junk reception, junk memento, junk gift exchange, junk toys rental, junk games, junk contests.

We can still have a theme by color, eg. red and white (aug babies, month of National Day). Just come in red and white if you feel like dressing to the theme.

We don't really have time for many activities unless you want to junk swimming and start the real event much earlier, which I doubt so cos some babies don't wake up that early and would possibly give the swim a miss also.

Actually, simple better also lah. No need to do so much work. :p

To add on, should we all forget about gift exchange. This I think can help reduce any unneccessary anxiety or misunderstanding.

As for interesting activity, we could have bubble time. Very often at My Gym, they will have bubble time. They will have a bubble wand (dunno wat it is called, the and has many is a big circle with many small circles), put it in front of a tower fan and the bubbles will be flying all over. Very nice. Fun for kids and good for photo taking. Very economical.

augustmum,

If want, make collage from pics taken of the babies on the day of the event will be more meaningful.

We can print our own fotos.

Leia,

no problem. However, this means we should have a photographer, one of the parents or a part time one. It will be easier if I cooperate with one photographer. On that day, both kids are coming, so most likely, hubby and I will not be able to take many pics.

Leia and mommies,

There's no need to vote if we should have a collage of all babies' pics or one for the post event. I can make both. Shall we proceed with all parents to receive a 4R collage on actual day and a soft copy of a collage for post event.

If no objection by tomorrow, pls email pics

Hi Piyo,
I would transfer the amt for myGym trial tonight. Once done, would let you know later.

Just to share a news. I'm preggie again. Just see gynea last Sat and confirmed 7 weeks+.

leia, augustmum,
okie good good. both of u help me managed my expectations man. we jus keep it real simple no problem.

augustmum,
i can help wif photo printing. tik i saw a shop at Compasspoint before. Keke.. will ask HB to do it but must giv me ample time.

piyo,
u able to contact Jasmine? if in the end cannot find replacement, i will make payments let me noe.

augbaby,

since my girl was 6mths, i'd introduced her to honeydew, (strawberries/berries frm cake-topping), durian, etc. although she's still toothless now, she's able to "bite" using her gums...so i jus let her nibble abit.
as for mashed potato, we've given her the KFC-type with no/minimal gravy, and sometimes MIL will make her own mashed potato (mix with butter and ikan bilis powder and then steam).

congrats crispyapple!

m so envious of all preggie mummies here! i would lik a second bb too but i m still on TBF, any mummies got preggy while still BFeeding?

hi piyo,
think jasmine is out of town.

hi augbaby,
i also gave kayden mashed potato b4 but without gravy. he's ok with it.

this was what i ordered for my daughter's 1st mth last yr, which everybody raved abt the food.
@ $10/pax for 80pple...which fed my 100 guests (cos i had 3 other homemade main dishes too)

may i suggest the menu below as i think it suits most tastebuds. (if you have any preference, pls suggest the food to change)

1) curry chicken (80) - 2 sets
2) sliced fish with sweet & sour sauce (80) - 2 sets
3) cereal prawn (80) - 2 sets
4) vegetarian bee hoon (40)
5) pineapple fried rice (40)
6) xiao bai cai with mushroom (40)
7) broccoli with beancurd (40)
8) breaded crab claw (60)
9) U-tiau with sotong paste (20)
10) steamed phoenix seafood roll (80) - 2 sets
11) Hot cheng tng (80)
12) fruit punch (40)
13) lime (40)

Congrats crispyapple!! take gd care of urself..=)

augbaby,
i cooked stock by using chicken bones and feet and veg like carrots, tomatoes, celery, abit of parsley, corn etc so that the meat taste is not so strong and its also tastier with the veg...u can also do pork/beef stock the same way...for fish stock i use some veg and also the small red seeds (paisey..suddenly cant recall the name) to add sweetness to the soup and make it less fishy...
i mash the potato with the stock and mix with blended peas (get the frozen kind; its as nutritious as fresh veg & choose the one with least sodium content) and some meat and sometimes add apple, carrots or pumpkin too to make one meal...u can freeze the extra potato for future meals. Impt thing is to NOT use a blender to mash the potato...it will become thick and starchy and harder to digest.

for the pasta, i normally cook with stock or bake with light cheeses and add veg & meat/fish

its useful to have the stock prepared in advanced and frozen in cubes...my maid uses it to prepare meals for my PILs too..

btw, anyone can recommend good brand of safety gate? i checked out the ikea one but dun think its good lei...got to get a few for my place..evan just climbed a full flight of steps yesterday...

Post on behalf of Rachelle

AUG06 BIRTHDAY BASH ON 22 JULY AT LEIA'S CONDO (HOUGANG)
1. Piyo, hubby, Megan and maid
2. cocomo, hubby, Jayden and maid
3. jasmine, hubby, jadelle
4. Doris, hubby, Elysia
5. kelly, hubby, edward & gabriel
6. fiona, hubby, denise
7. Augbaby, hubby, jayden, maid
8. Kris, hubby, zorian
9. Babyboy, hubby, keiran
10. erin00, hubby and kayden
11. superdad, sophia and dickson
12. CrispyApple, hubby and Aden
13. cheers, hubby & gwen
14. Cecelia, hubby, raphael n rachelle
15.jesline81, hubby, Jia Hui
16. racoon, husband, justin, maid
17. augustmum, husband, noah, zac
18. butter8, husband, ryan
19. net, husband, evan
20. leia, hb, jadon
21. honeyhaven, kayden
22. jojos, (hb mayb working cannot confirm), lucas, maid
23. cj, husband, kaefer, maid
24. smlow, husband, Joshua & Louisa
25. vel, (hb yet to confirm), jovie,
26. jokojoko, hb, maid & Aidan
27. MH, hubby & Gen
28. Rachel, Ashley and Rachel's sis
29. Buffer (cynthia), husband & Natalie
30. Yoki03, hb & Ayden
31. catherine, charlotte & hubby (to be confirm on july again)
32. Rachelle, Hubby & Reina

AUGBB B.DAY BASH

I agree with Augbb and some other mummies opinions.. maybe we can keep it simple as its will be true alot of us may hold another big affair and for sure burn a hole again.

Compeition is good bt we are not sure on bb napping time.

Gift exchange. Maybe we can just allocate names as we previous mention? It will be easier too. If bbs to grab on table.. maybe some will some not cos as for mine little gal she don even know how to crawl hahaha.

Rental of Toys. Think all of us busy talking and catching up with each other and with limited time.. so can actually forgo liao. Maybe each of us jus bring along any toys and share.

Maybe true to make it simple and alot easier for all of us. Piyo and kelly don have to work so hard as both of you need to plan timing, allocate names on gift, catering etc etc.

Think the main concept of this b.day is for us to interact and gather up with our bbs..

with regards to the bash..
i'm still waiting for a reply from the caterer i contacted. Told her that we are currently looking at $10 for 11 dishes and asked her to better that or give me her best deal for that.
i agree we shld not have too many things planned for the bash...too complicated, timing too short and our darlings are not necessarily gonna cooperate with whatever we have planned for them =P...leia's suggestion is good i think..but we still need to have something to entertain them..was surfing online and saw this :

**NO FRILLS** Party Package
(45min ++ Duration)

This package is specially catered for parents on a budget but still want a quality party for the kids.

This package includes:

Fantastic Puppet & Magic Party Show (30min)
Delightful Cake-cutting Hosting Ceremony
Balloons Animals for Each Kid
This package is especially designed for parents who:

Are celebrating their kid's birthday in a childcare centre or school
Are celebrating their kid's birthday in a fast-food restaurant or similar venue
Have already planned other party activities
Would like to keep the birthday party simple
Also suitable for toddlers aged 1 - 3 years of age.
Visual elements, songs and music are the focus of the entertainment for this version, not to mention a surprise appearance of a ventriloquism puppet. Toddlers love this show and so will you!

Was thinking that in this way, everyone can enjoy and not worry abt organising the contests/games/entertainment etc...shall call them tomm n c how much...

augmum, tks for volunteering to do the collage! i love the idea!

crispyapple,
congrats!! yeah i got company liao..Hee hee...

Cj,
jas is out of town on business trip..think she will be bk next wk only..:p but i think she shld be keen to take yr place ba..

net,
u r very capable leh...so nice..a few questions for u if u dun mind helping me ans them..
1. so the stock can be frozen as normal like fruits puree in a ice cube then n when i wan to use it, juz throw 1 cube in etc? sorry ah me idiot in all this one..haha..
2. so after u cook the stock, all the vegtables n chicken bones etc u throw away right??
3. as for the mashed potatoe wif peas, u hav to cooked the peas 1st b4 blend rite? so juz boiled in water till its cooked?
4. how do u freeze the extra potato for future meals? also in ice cubes?? **blur** but do the frozen extra potatoes, has it juz the potatoes or is it with the apple pumpkin u added as 1 meal?? or when wan to use then add the apples, pumpkins etc?
5. lastly, for pasta u mean u cooked them in the stock and then feed yr bb the pasta tog wif the soup etc? where can i get the abc pasta n jay got no teeth yet leh so can he eat them? shld i cut into small pieces or wat? n baked, how to do it ah? can they take cheese now? wat type of cheese? reali hope u can help wif all these answers..thanks alot gal...

Piyo..apologies! I have to skip the MyGym trial..So now LOOKING FOR BB ZORIAN's MUMMY! Are you able to take over my place??? If not, it will go to Amberlyn....

As for bday bash - agree to keep it simple. Just chatting & getting together would be rather sufficient already - wld think that probably keep us rather busy....and if everyone pays more for the 'entertainment' ie:games and some babies happen to nap during the competition, it may end up being unfair .....
however, would the attendance be a little overwhelming for the function room?

Gift exchange - guess it wld be good if everyone bring a gift not less of a certain value, tag it with a number, then let baby do a lucky dip for him/herself....

.... my two cents worth...

augbaby, no lah...i enjoy cooking that's why...heh...plus i want to make sure my boy eats right and dun be a fussy eater!
1. yupyup. but rem to minimise the fats and skin on the meat for the stock...remove oil & scum on the stock surface before freezing. You may want to leave in fridge for 1/2 day to let the scum/oil rise to surface but if ur meat not so oily, then no need lah. To make sure ur stock is nice & tasty, put only enough water to cover the ingredients...its easier to dilute the stock than to thicken it. Btw, i bot some ice cube trays from NTUC that has 6 big compts. Easier to freeze the stock this way cos the standard trays have such small compts!
2.yupyup too =) no more nutrients in the ingredients so no pt keeping...i feed to the dogs.
3. i steamed the peas for 5-10mins (steaming & baking retains more nutrients) then blend. I use wat i want and freeze the rest. (I prepare these during the weekend so the maid can cook Evan's meals quickly and easily while i'm at work and i know she's not putting rubbish into his stomach!)
4. yup also freeze in ice cubes..i normally freeze individual ingredients so can mix and match and give him variety but u can also freeze the mixed potato & apples/pumpkin/peas.
5. yep i cook in stock but its not very watery else hard to feed (esp when he's fighting for the spoon!). I saw organic alphabet pasta at parkway NTUC..dunno if other branches have. I buy organic pasta in any shape then use blender to chop into small pcs...our babies should be able to use their gums to chew liao plus the pasta quite soft.
to bake the pasta, first boil in plain water than blend pasta and veg/meat together. Put on baking dish/plate and sprinkle shredded cheese over (can add butter if u want..use unsalted kind better). Place in oven to melt and its ready! Cheeses to use for now are : Cheddar, Mozarella, American, Colby, Romano...I bot organic shredded cheddar cheese from cold storage after comparing sodium content..some cheeses are so salty!

wah i very lor sor hor...heh.....eyes blur blur liao...

Hi Piyo,
I've transfered $29.50 yesterday at 18:12 to you. Ref No. 0812.

Hi Sharon, erin, cheers, net, augbaby,
Thanks for the well wishes. Actually now a bit scared. Cos looking after 1 is very tiring. Can't imagine 2. I'm the type who's very lazy and dun quite know how to do housework and looking after bbs. We may get a maid later. Think may not be able to cope liao.

So, augbb, when your's edd? Mine is mid Dec 07.

i was catching up wif all the posts here. well...can't imagine i'm actually holding 4 part time jobs now, initially juz wanna work for fun, how in the world did i accept those offers....haha

net,
your cooking method is so detail and i love it! now i know what & how i should prepare the food for mil to feed denise when i'm not around...thanks!

crispyapple,
congrats to u! so excited to hear another mummy is preggy hehehe

re: birthday bash
i would certainly vote for a simpler celebration. not to mention adults, dun think our 1 yrs old are able to take it if it gets any complicated. i dun wanna end up wif a ultra cranky baby in the midst of a crowded place :p

anyway, do have a nice weekend! will miss all of u...must find time to come in and chat whenever i can!

CrispyApple - Congrats on ur 2nd pregnancy. I same like u..lazy mum..i dun even knw wat to cook for my gal...i tink im underfeeding her.

net - I tink u r so hardworking..if only im half like u...i dun knw wat to cook for my bb..she doesnt even like porridge..eat 10 spoonfuls den dun wan liao. I oni feed her cereal mixed with fruit or vege or meat puree..dats it.

fiona - Wah hw come u got so many PT job..me looking at finding PT job oso but nt a lot leh. Got lobang ?

Anyway Gen has been pooing 4 times a day for the past 5days..watery stool.She has seen a PD & PD asked me to give her lactose free milk & sme medicine for diahorrea but it hasnt help..its worrying me wats wrong with my gal...

hihi, just a note...the caterer i contacted havent reply me yet lei..she said will email me on monday but i will be away till tues...will update again on wed =)

Fiona,joko,augbaby
hope ur babies enjoy their food...they eat well and be happy and we will be happy too!

hi net,
thanks for the detailed instructions. would try it out. i'm running out of ideas wat to cook.

hi fiona,
ya, why so many pt jobs? how abt denise? who'll be taking care of her?

MH,erin,
erm...i was actually helping a friend wif one which only needs to work accasionally. then i took up a sat job(only work half day every sat), next is a half day tues, wed & fri job in a day surgery ctr, and end up being approached by a doc to join him for mon & thurs(will convert to daily after i quit the other one)...sounds confusing rite? hahaha

at the moment i'm still doing alot of half day assignment, so when i'm not ard, denise will be taken care of by mil & maid...so far so good

Hi MH,

Hey dont worry about whether you have underfeed ur darling. You see starting i was also feeling that too. Sometimes Natalie only have cereal in morning and porridge is on n off during the lunch. She is also not drinking alot of milk since sick recently BUT now she is recovering and on the route to increase her milk intake again.

Been running through some articles on feeding infants. Intro solid b4 1 yr old is more to let them learn to get use of food n chew which is good for their jaw too. Now milk is stil the main priority. I personally feel as long as they can drink milk is the best for calcium esp!
There is never ending of learning to dish up goodies for our little one. STIll have plenty of time to do for them & let them slowing explore & taste different foods available for them okie.

MH,

Could it be bacteria or stomach flu? Last time Natalie she have diarrhoea for more than 10times a day horrible right. I bring her to Singapore Baby & Child Clinic at Gleneagles, Dr William Yip. He done a stool test, give her 3 jabs of anti biotic & smecta to stop her diarrhoea & it stops within 3days! phew.. Maybe you can try to go see him if Gen doesnt gets well? Maybe now just give soya milk for the time being. Rember more fluid to prevent dehydration okie.

wondering about milk bottle... if baby is already on fastest teats, what is the next step?
Do we let them drink milk from those 'cups' with spouts? my boy still slow at learning to drink from straw, will try again.
he just doesnt seem interested in water... so if i give him the straw cup, he just plays with it...

what can i put in to entice him to suck?
milk?
he no like apple juice...

hi mommies..

long time since I log in.. busy busy busy... like the rest of the mommies, opt for a sample birthday bush.. thanks to piyo and kelly for their hard work in advance..

Hi CrispyApple,

Congrats!! haaha.. just discussing with my hubby whether to have a 2nd one cos me also very lazy and sometimes will go mad when Zorian keeps on crying for no reason.. so still considering but most likely will have a go next year or so.. keekee.. you must take care okie..

Hi augustmum.

thanks for the suggestion.. i will ok with it.. if cj can't i can help with the photo printing.. there is a shop behind our house and my PIL is a regular there.. so might even get some discounts.. let me know okie.. i go take some nice photo of Zorian first then pm u..

I will be pretty tied up.. so plse pm me if you need me to print okie.. will try my best to come in as often as i can.. keekee..

Hi Rain..

Which baby is yours??

Hi babyboy..

Yes i m willing.. i pm you lor..

Hi Fiona..

you really steady lah.. keekee.. must take care of your health okie.. hope to see you and Denise soon.. Think Zorian miss her a great deal.. keekee..

Happy belated mother's day. I am so angry with my MIL. Yesterday, we went to Geylang to eat dinner, so they ordered frog leg with brands essence. My MIL and my brother in law asked me to let Kayden eat the frog leg. She says eat frog leg, then the leg will be strong. I said he cannot eat.. Then they said how come I everything also dun let him eat.. They are all brainless people. How to let him eat frog leg with essence added?? Urgggh.