(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

On "goodie bag"...

I suggest some memento which can be kept to remember that occasion.

eg. a cute 1st Birthday foto frame (4R size will do)

If got budget constraint, can get those cheap frames from Ikea and customise the name of the baby, the date, the occasion with stickers and alphabet pasta and stuff.

We can take a nice pic of all the babies on that day to be framed up. Good?

On gift exchange...

If it's gonna be "lucky draw style", suggest to keep budget to $10. No point spending too much for generic, non customisable gifts. Sama like your office Christmas gift exchange.

And maybe we shldn't restrict the gifts to TOYS. Any gift is fine lah... books, water bottle, bag, baby vcd, etc... Just some ideas...

Leia, hi-five. m tiking along the same line as u.

tik the focus of the bash shd be on bbs so why not we hav some activities for them. eg, some sort of competitions-- fastest gift wrapper tearing bb, most friendly bb that allow the most no. of stranger uncle/ aunties carry without fussing, most entertaining bb etc.

Oso, another suggestion is maybe we wan to hire a part time photographer for dat day cos the parents will be bz wif their bb/ eating etc to take photos. and not fair to arrow any parent to do the job since he/she oso need to enjoy e event wif bb. after that, we can compile the fun photos into a special edition mini magazine, inside we can oso include each bb's biodata, and make it our official August Bb membership booklet. ( maybe Cocomo can help write funny captions for some of the photos too )Tik this momento will be quite special, like Leia say, kept to remember that occasion which is so hard to come by.

MH,
i like the idea of getting bb to choose their own gift and the surprise element too. after all, focus is on bb. i believe bb will look forward to tearing up the wrapper.

re: cake
prefer cupcake as well...as tis bday bash is more to all bb celebrate together..IMO.. goodies bag usually stuff wif lots of paper toys and sweeties tat, i dun think we would gv it to our bb to eat or play,
where we can take photo wif cupcake as memory in future....who knows 10, 20 yrs laters...when they meet again..ha ha..

Hi kelly/piyo,
i would standby on tat day if anything i can help out, cos sophia tummy big big liao by den..not able to take care of Dickson

piyo,
tt to u liao...transaction no is 1170386527 at 1.36pm for $29.50..thanks gal..

Hey all,

Goodies Bags:

I think no need for goodie bags. The kids cannot appreciate. Think the whole event is very memorable already. No need for goodies bags.

Theme:

I think to make things easy. We shall just have color theme.

Photo taking:

Hi-5 CJ. I was thinking of a photographer too. Hee...hopefully, can find a volunteer.

Gift Exchange:

Either we have a lucky draw or have a common agreement, no gift exchange at all. Make things simple. The money spent could be channelled to hire a photographer or buying gifts for competitions.

Cake:

I still like one cupcake for each kid and do away with a big cake. The cupcakes displayed on a tiered tray or display tray would look like a 3D cake. No need to worry about how to cut the fondue cake.

795356.jpg

leia is right about keeping th gift budget to just $10 instead. cause most baby items can be found from $5-10.

Maybe the gift part can also be lucky draw let our baby pick the lucky number their hand grab and take the present.

Cj,
yah let bb choose thier own gift is good cause we can see how amazing and curious our baby are like be put all the gifts infront of them and baby touch the gift they want then its theirs.

wow..so many discussions..me on mc today...sigh..fever...somemore my parents going perth next whole wk and i am on leave the whole wk to look after jay..hope i be ok by then...if not faint..

For me personally,
i am ok with the idea of the gift exchange b it lucky draw or pre decide who to buy for...as for the cake, i love the idea of the cupcakes and i think its more meaningful than other party favours...leia idea of a theme is cool...i am on for it...think we shld be keeping it relatively simple n not spend too much hence i think a PG is not needed as it means more $ spend and i think each babies be having their individual party as well...
hmm wat else did i miss out? haha

Hi piyo
I have done my ATM transfer today. Sorry for the wait.

MY GYM Trial.
Amount : $29.50.
Dated: 10/05/2007 at 12.43 pm.
Reference NO.: 9350.

I agree on
A) Cute 1st Birthday foto frame suggested by Leia.
B) A part time photographer - Can compile the fun photos into a special edition mini magazine, inside we can oso include each bb's biodata, and make it our official August Bb membership booklet.
C) Cupcake is good enough. With 1 candle for each baby. Then we can sing birthday song together and the babies can blow their own candle.hehehe.

wow augustmum,
dat's a realli lovely pix of the cupcake tier. whose b'day was it? decor looks v. grand.

me bz wif work. will log in tonite to read the post liao.

hihi..it is so fun to see the augbb bd bash...and all the efforts put in...it's going to be great..i feel tat there is really no need for goodie bag since the bb will not be able to appreciate the stuff inside until they are much much bigger..as for presents..i thot since it is a celebration for all bbies..then maybe mementos like wat Leia said...and the memento no need to give on tat day..maybe can buy plain tee...then after the event..print the group photo on the tee...like tat the gift can wear and can keep...

ignore me if no like the idea...no worries..

Handi,

I was thinking of a tee as well. Maybe customise with a name and some words and pic... Trouble is, we'll need to coordinate the size and all, and the babies will outgrow the tee very fast. That's why I didn't suggest it eventually.

In any case, printing a tee with a pic of the Aug 06 babies will be a bit of a challenge as well. Cos the tee will be so small (unlike adult tee) and hence the pic will also be very small too. Can't see properly also. :p

Just some thoughts...

in any case, be sure to take a group pic! heee
these are beautiful memories...

who knows when they grow up, maybe become colleagues? school mates etc etc hehee

mrs chng, who knows... they may become husband n wife! hehee...

sounds lik the bash is becoming more n more complicated! maybe we should just keep things simple, the most impt thing is that our babies have fun rite? i agree with augustmum, no goodies bag, yes color theme, yes photographer, no gift exchange / lucky draw, yes cupcakes. rather than spending money on goody bags or gifts, maybe use that money to rent some toys so the babies can play on that day?

cj,

dunno whose wedding is it. took it from a website.

mommies,

how about a photos CD instead? Oh no, with so many ideas thrown in, kelly and piyo sure very confused one. Feel so bad.

piyo,
sorry these few days got no personal time in the office to post or read here...
could you email or PM me your account no.? Let me know what I need/owe u for the MY GYM thing...

Kelly and other mummies planning for the bday bash,
apologies too i have not feedback much...

cake,
my friends wedding used the cupcake cake... pretty nice... but i didint get to taste it ( they forgot to hand it out to me!)

photographer,
maybe can ask some photographer friend to voluteer service...
then we just upload on web and we download and print our own? ( then won't bother the organisers so much)

Gifts,
if overall feedback is that is hard to buy gifts, maybe we just have simple 'door gift' for everyone (can save $ and everyone get the same thing?) like a cute party pack with baby cookie inside, small gift etc?

I may not be giving good feedback cuz i had no chance to chat much or see all the posts... but i try a bit okie

hi Piyo, just made payment. trans ref is 1171123261. tks for organising!!

kelly,
did u get my PM? let me know when u wanna pick up the tin..=)

As for the birthday bash...i think goodie bag not neccesary lah..like wat was said earlier, dun think its very practical lei...i trying to check for good catering deals cos e co. i work for supply to caterers..will let u guys know if i find any better deal than what kelly has suggested...

after reading the posts (all i hope!), i kinda agree with sharon since mummies have now shared their diff views & renting toys for that day seems quite fun for the bbs... though im still fine with the majority... it's the fun to see all bbs celebrate that counts!

wow! I finally finished reading all the posts! Seems like we are having a motherhood fiesta/bonzana!!! After all the brainstorming, we have should tap on the good ideas here and get them into action:

<font size="+2">AUG06 BABIES BIRTHDAY BASH</font>

Points to add:

<font size="+1">COMPETITION GAMES</font>
This sounds exciting! On top of the games that some suggested, we can add on to include games like swimming competition, "most chatterbox baby contest" etc? We would need lots of volunteers on this. Bascially, the volunteers would have to
- plan the competition games
- clear an area in Leias condo/function room and set up the area for the games
- rally and gather all >60parents and >30babies to play the game
- to look after safety of all 30+babies
- be the judge for the games
- look for and give away presents for the winners of each games
- budget for the presents? We would need more $$$ on this..

<font size="+2">ASSIGNMENT OF TASKS-ADD ON</font>
<font size="+1">GAMES MUMMIES</font>
1. CJ?

<font size="+1">CAKE</font> - a birthday cake or cupcakes?

<font size="+1">PHOTOGRAPHER</font>
We would need about $200-$300 MINIMUM to engage a photographer to take pics of our Aug bb bash for 2-3hours. If longer, would need more $$$. Everyone ok to fork out >$10/family on the photographer? Anybody got lobang on this? If yes, please share.

Kelly is very excited about this and would like to be the photographer for this event! Then we all can pay her $300. She says she is a SAHM and this $$$ would come in handy haha!

<font size="+1">PHOTOFRAME/PRINTED TEES</font>
We also need volunteers for this. Mummies would need to go Ikea or other places to search and purchase the frames and get the ABS pasta and do some art and craft and finally slot the pictures in and gif to all mummies! Volunteers pls!!!

If we look at the printed tee option, mummies would need to go source for the tee, get the pics and then get it printed and distribute to all the babies who attended the party

<font size="+2">ASSIGNMENT OF TASKS-ADD ON</font>
<font size="+1">PHOTO/PRINTED TEES MUMMIES</font>
1. Leia?
2. August Mum?
3. Mrs Chng?
4. Handi?
5. Cocomo? - someone suggested to ask cocomo to write funny captions :p

<font size="+1">GOODY BAGS</font>
Kelly and I dont intend to haf goodie bags in the 1st place, which is also y we are replacing it with cupcakes. We can always do away with cupcakes too and totally scrape this idea.

<font size="+1">GIFT EXCHANGE</font>
1. Option1 : Lucky Draw
This is a good idea and if mummies are concerned about the budget, maybe we can haf it at $10/baby. Personally, I find getting a nice gift for a 1 yr old baby may be daunting at that budget.
2. Option 2: Placing it on the floor/table and let all 30+babies go snatch the gift.
We can have this option if majority of the mummies are fine with this. I would not let Megan go snatch the gifts as I am worried that Megan may "lang ga" some other babies in the process and gets hurt. But the rest of the mummies are welcome to do so with their babies.

<font size="+1">RENTAL OF TOYS</font>
I think Kelly suggested earlier that each family brings a toy for the babies so that they haf lots of toys to play. But if we want to rent instead, Kelly, I can get it touch with the rental coy for toys. We are thinking what do we do with all the toys after the event? Maybe the rentee, Kelly and I and all volunteer mummies can split up the toys and bring back for our babies to play for the remaining 1month? hehe

<font size="+1">BUDGET</font>
Kelly mentioned somewhere in the string of posts that its:
$35/family - $10/adult on food, $10cake/cupcake, $5 deco. If bring maid, must top up.

If we use the gift exchange budget of $20 for photographer , photoframes, rental of toys, gifts for competitions, gifts for gift exchange, we would haf:

- $10 gift exchange

- Remaining $10 for the rest of the items??? Not enuf lei how??? Mummies mind topping up? Or do away with some of the above and have a simple birthday bash of food, gifts, cake, perhaps some swimming at Leia's condo and chit chatting gathering session? I am fine with the above cos they will make our party very interesting but we would need lots of volunteer mummies and extra $$$ to make this work - comments?

i juz like 2 add something...
try imagining 70+ adults n 30+ bbs in a function room (mummies like cocomo, babyboy, jasmine, cj, myself, pupsandcups hv seen e size of Leia's condo's function room). some bbs may b cranky, some bbs may b napping, some bbs may b happily mingling wif friens, some bbs may b swimming.

i cant even imagine gathering 30+ bbs at a table 2 cut 1 big cake, i cant imagine other activities. i mentioned b4 tat at cocomo's plc, we tried gathering abt 10 bbs 2 take pics n a few bbs cant sit still or was crying away. try putting 3x more bbs tgt.

as for games/competitions, piyo & i did tik tat not all bbs will join in at one go but if every family "zhut liu" (spend $$) 2 buy presents for e games, shldnt it b fair 4 every bb 2 hv a go? so shld we hv qualifying rounds, semi finals, finals?

my take abt tis bday bash...keep it simple as possible. suggestions n ideas r gd but piyo n i need volunteers 2 help execute. i know it'll b exciting 2 c bbs in action but it's a short event for barely 2-3hrs, not a full day fr 9-5pm event.

abt e photog, i dun mind earning e extra $300
. i did tik of this idea initially but every family (u r talking abt 30+ families) will bring their own digicam n HP cameras rt? wont candid shots fr 30+ cameras b betta than shots fr 1 photog? every1 can then upload these pics somewhere or burn e pics into a CD so every1 can download 4 their own use or get a CD.

piyo
u forgot 2 ask for volunteers 2 bring playmat. i did suggest every family bring 1 toy 4 each bb 2 play but since we r renting so we can scrap tis idea.

can u pls add 2 e list of 'assignment of tasks', asking 4 volunteers?

Piyo,

I have transfered $29.50 to your account - ref: 1171585651
Thanks for arranging!

Kelly,
I can bring playmat, just let me know.

Piyo,
I transfer the $29.50 to you, ref is 1171585651.

Kelly,
If you need a bumper mat, i can bring my world map one. Just let me know.

it seems like the birthday bash is getting a little too complicated...shld we try to keep it as simple as possible? Need too sure how many mummies can hav to time to volunteer...for me, i can help out in anyway i can coz my tummy might b a little big by then liao..:p can i am sure i am still onzz...:p ..juz let me know, other than the actual day itself at the receptionist...

OKie! Volunteers to bring playmat:

1. Piyo
2. Butter8

So we each bring our own toys to share or rent?

Hi Augbb,
Your tum tum big big liao, better dun do so much plus you need to attend to jay...hehe

Update on payment for My gym:

MY GYM TRIAL

1. Piyo, hubby and Megan -<font color="ff0000">paid</font>
2. augbaby, hubby, jayden and maid -<font color="ff0000">paid</font>
3. honeyhaven, hubby, kayden - <font color="ff0000">paid</font>
4. erin00, hubby and kayden - <font color="ff0000">paid</font>
5. babyboy,hb & keiran
6. butter8, hb & ryan <font color="ff0000">pending- is your nick Nadine?</font>
7. CrispyApple, hubby and Aden
8. racoon, husband, justin - <font color="ff0000">paid</font>
9. kelly, husband, edward & gabe (tentative)
10.fiona, hubby, denise -<font color="ff0000">paid</font>
11. cj, hubby & Kaefer
12. Doris, hubby & Elysia -<font color="ff0000">paid</font>
13. cocomo, hubby and Jayden
14. jokojoko, hb, aidan & maid -<font color="ff0000">paid</font>
15. mrschng, hb, Jordan-<font color="ff0000">paid</font>
16. net,hubby & evan -<font color="ff0000">paid</font>
17. MH,hubby & Gen -<font color="ff0000">paid</font>
18. Superdad, Sophia, Dickson -<font color="ff0000">paid</font>

Hi piyo,
I also prefer to keep the birthday bash simple and fun. maybe a colour theme, simple cake cutting, gift exchange, makan chit-chatting and swimming for the kids.

piyo,
no worries lah..still can help help one lah...me onzz mummy..haha...hubby can look after jay lah coz jay not sticky to me one...:p can pls remind me again when time is nearer abt the playmat in case my memory becomes bad..haha

OKie! Volunteers to bring playmat:

1. Piyo
2. Butter8
3. Augbaby

piyo,
me agreed with erin00... cos is 10-3pm session.. dun think all will turn up at 10...all depends on the babies' timing.. by then makan, cut-cake, photo-takin, will spend quite some time to complete... so think a simple and fun bash will be easier...

can i add on to simplify the issue since more or less the floodgates opened after me?

COMPETITION GAMES
My suggestion is that not so much on competition activities but more on 'voting' games which will not need too much up space and easier for all parents to participate. Small Voting boxes can be put on the registration table, voting slips can be prepared easily ahead for each title. ( i can prepare the voting slips )
eg. each parent after 2 hours of interaction cast their vote for 'Most Chatterbox Bb' and votes can be counted and present given out later.
essentially, parents and bbs mingle together at the same time while 'playing the game' and no bb is left out. of course we can still hav swimming competition for the earlier part of the morning but not all bbs will be there, but to chip in sponsor 1 or 2 more prizes split among all will not be too costly. ( if all is agreeable )

CAKE OR CUPCAKE
seems like most mummies prefer either a cake or cupcake, not both. maybe this one we can confirm by vote.

GOODIE BAGS
scrapped as mostly dun agree to this.

GIFT EXCHANGE
if let bbs choose their own gifts, which is more entertaining to them n for parent's to watch. we pile all the gifts in the middle of the playmats. let 5 bbs or so crawl/ walk/ run and grab a gift by themselves each time. no need to worry who goes first cos we dun know wat the gift is anyway. 30 over bbs maybe just 7 rounds, all bbs should hav choosen, if bb cranky halfway, parent jus choose on their behalf. the giz is that this is just a game for bb to enjoy, not really matter wat is the gift.

RENTAL OF TOYS
dun tik we need to really bring toys. this occasion is for our bb/ parents to interact wif each other. wher ther r so many playmates, dun need toys lah. m sure they hav been playing toys at home alone most of the time rite?

PHOTOGRAPHER
reason why i suggest hiring a part time photographer is cos most of us will be super bz wif our bbs/ food/ chitchat etc. Yes most of us may bring our own cam/ digicam but not all the time will be shooting or even forget to take out n use while our hands r busy. furthermore, our focus is on our own bb so 90% of shots sure hav our bbs. to produce a CD/ album wif our own bbs inside anytime we can do it. My idea is to capture more of the event from a neutral party point of view. watever form we choose to compile it is going to be a momento for all August bbs. i hav no doubt kelly will do a gr8 job as photographer but it's not fair to deprive her from the celebration and time wif gabe n ed. Imagine, time to sing the b'day song, will she rather hold the bb's hand and clap together or hold the camera trying not to miss a good shot?

Mummies, above is my summarised view for your considerations only. majority still rules. Other than the voting slips, i can bring my playmat if required. However, strenous activities i will not be able to help out out on that day, pai seh.

Hi i also opt for a simple party heee cos sure to be busy with the babies, screaming, luaghing , crawling, napping, drinking milk, makaning etc...

We can have a simple decor... cater buffet for the parents, a cake (with wording "I'm a Aug 2006 baby etc..)a memorable birthday present (group photo etc/t-shirt), and we can have some mingle/chat session....

as for photo taking, everyone can take a pic and we can upload somewhere so that all of us can share individual pics (pro or candid) heee

We will all gather, say hello... put the babies together and play etc, while we chat and exchnage tips... then sing bday song, blow candles on a cupcake (if u all still on) and eat... then proceed with any other simple activities...

my 2 cents worth

btw piyo,
u checked the My Gym whether GWC having classes for our bb's age group yet? if age group not suitable, tik i opt out of the trial n let next mummy go. shd be jasmine if i remember correctly.

mrschng,
yes, dat's why i suggest voting type of competition. it's ongong and all parents can input while carrying on the activities.

I also prefer to keep it simple. Its a lot of work for the organisers and moreover we all have babies to tend to. Since some of us (including myself) are quite new to the group, I actually prefer more free and easy time to mingle with the mommies and chit chat and share ideas etc etc.

Condo function rooms usually not very big like hotel function rooms, sometimes baby get cranky cos too much noise or whatever, some parents may bring them out walk walk, or suddenly have to leave early. So it might not be easy to gather everyone at all time for activities.

I understand we all try and make it exciting and memorable, but we only probably half a day so can't plan too intense activities too.

I'm ok with the simple gift exchange or door gifts, cake cutting or cup cakes. Photographer yes and no, my hubby would probably be snapping away himself cos with a baby, we are used to bringing camera wherever we go. But of course some parents may not bring one so a photographer would be good.

Just sharing my thoughts, I'm flexible.

Hi cj,

Coincidently, I'm bringing Rae to My Gym's Waddlers Trial Class tomorrow. I asked the lady whether it is suitable to go now as the class is supposed to be for 11 - 18months. She says it is alright if baby is already crawling.

Wah..the bday bash thingy is getting more complicated.

Here sme of my summarized views

1) Think Cupcakes beta than a WHOLE bday cake..can bring the remaining back home

2) Games qte messy leh coz so many ppl..im sure most of us will mingle here & there..time will pass so fast. Oso our bb can go swimming mah.

3) Do away wif photographer, most of us will go with Hubby/wife..one can take pics impromptu .

4) Bring 1 toy each family..rental can be messy leh..who bring wat home etc ?

5) Colour theme is good. Boys 1 colour theme, girls 1 colour theme ?

6) I tink the main objective is to keep things simple, affordable & memorable. Dun wan end up wait some mummies get so frustrated in getting tis bday bash goin...dats nt the point we all wan mah. So i tink $10 for buffet (will all of us eat alot?? Mebe sme of us will munch abit then go to the bday bash leh) & $15 for gift exchange + $$ for the cupcakes can liao. Since personally i tink no nid to engage fotographer & rent toys & buy prizes.

If sme mummies wan..can oso bring xtra food lor..like mini potluck..pity..i dunno any simple french cuisine.

Well..dats my tot lah..

Oh forgot to add...i tink most mummies dun wan to spend so much since most of us will celebrate the actual bb bday with a bigger bash..so save the $$ for the actual bday bash of our babies.

Its not dat me or sme otr mummies r nt willing to spare the cash but its practicality ba i tink. No offence ar.

piyo n kelly, r u getting stressed and confused by all the suggestions now? :p

i just want to say that regardless of all that was suggested, i will personally go along with whatever both of u decide at the end, coz u're organisers, and most work will still fall on both of u! so u both decide bah! it's not possible to satisfy everyone...

rather than taking a vote on every item (budget, cake etc), y not both of u just take into account all the suggestions, take a decision on everything then post the details here n ask if anyone objects? if no, the decision is final.

if anyone has any strong opinions, then do join piyo and kelly in organising, so your voice will be heard.

any objections?

piyo, kelly,
tink we shld juz stick wif the original plan lah..
-1 main cake for all and cupcakes for each bday so that each family can blow out the candles wif their bb and rest of the cupcakes can bring hm to eat..
-dun need gift packs..
-buffet as per suggestion...thou i told hubby abt YSL and he says the food is not v nice coz his friend parents business is located at YSL place which is at simpang bedok is it, kelly? dun noe him lah..:p
-Bring our own camera for PS...
-n as per yr suggestion kelly, each family bring a toy so every bb get to play...n hence less hussle who to bring hm the rented toys since every families will be forking out n sharing the amt..
-as for gift exchange, we can either go wif pre-determined names allocation who to buy for or like one of the mummies can, buy general gifts, n each time let a few babies crawl or go there to select themselves..think it be more fun for them...maybe we can put all the presents on a table and each bb take turns to select the presents based on which bb bday is first lor...

my personal view lor...so it free up mummies to mingle and chat n babies to interact too..plus there is quite a bit of work already wif the reception, deco etc...wat do the rest think? maybe can vote again??