(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

CAKE

discussed wif piyo liao...we'll do a decent sized cake wif design #2 (if most mummies prefer tis) n we'll order individualised cupcakes fr cupcake momma.
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/450761/781342.html?1178442844

Since we r not giving out party favours, how abt we order 4cupcakes in a box at $6.50? u can blow 1 candle using 1 cupcake n bring e rest home 2 eat.

e only problem is e max no of letters on e cupcake is 6 so bbs wif more than 6 letters hv 2 provide a shorter name (eg dickson, rachelle, natalie, jadelle, etc)

e other major problem is trish is out of town fr 23-30jul so we hv 2 hold our party on 22jul 2 b able 2 order e cupcakes fr her.

few days din read thread, wanted to try My gym also but full liao ...

piyo,
can put me in the waiting list for My gym trial also? btw, since min 10 babies & max 18, how about spliting all into 2 groups/sessions now that we have more than 20 babies? ... just suggesting ...

MY GYM TRIAL--WAITING LIST
1. Jasmine
2. BB Zorian
3. Amberlyn, hubby, Jor
4. jojos, lucas

HI, kelly

not sure whether do want to order the cupcake from the thread cos read from sept thread that they ordered the cupcake but no reply when they called the person & in the end, no cupcake for their party or etc... can read the link as below

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/353640/790096.html?1178462910

as for the caterer, Neo garden is good as ordered from them during baby 1st mth celebration.. especially their dessert & curry .... think the range of food will vary lor... will choose the higher end one, the food will be much nicer.....

re: birthday bash
i'm fine with the arrangements.
1. FOOD-CATERER - y
2. DECOR-METHOD OF AND BUDGET FOR PURCHASE - y
3. BUDGET - y
4. GIFT EXCHANGE METHOD -y

piyo..
jus transferred to your account liao...
DBS Savings Plus 012-2-015907-S$29.50
Transaction Ref No.1168697229...
tks..Elysia so excited...can play with all sisters and brothers..
793729.gif

Hi Doris and Mrs chng,
I received your TT.

Hi racoon & My gym trial mummies,
are you the one who did an ATM tt? I have 1 of that.. wondering who?

jesline
strange leh...i spoke 2 trish n she's very friendly. chatted wif her abt 15mins. i guess she must b busy cos when i emailed her my order (i ordering 4 edward's birthday), i got a reply saying she's fully booked til 15may so cant take in orders n if she misses our calls, do sms her.

Hi Dino,

Hi Cocomo and bb Zorian,
BJG classes end on 16th Jun for Sat classes and 17th Jun for sunday classes (for megan). the new term won't start till 7July. So very safe can go for mygym trial...

Hi jojo,
I was checking on this privately before I proposed this solution hehe...July schedule for myGym not out yet. I am asking for another booking on 23 Jun Sat but waiting for the lady to get back to me b4 I post further details... stay tuned

hsbd just received news that we'll be back in sg in july, so i may be able to make it in time for the bash, can i join in too?

AUG06 BIRTHDAY BASH ON 22 JULY AT LEIA'S CONDO (HOUGANG)
1. Piyo, hubby, Megan and maid
2. cocomo, hubby, Jayden and maid
3. jasmine, hubby, jadelle
4. Doris, hubby, Elysia
5. kelly, hubby, edward & gabriel
6. fiona, hubby, denise
7. Augbaby, hubby, jayden, maid
8. Kris, hubby, zorian
9. Babyboy, hubby, keiran
10. erin00, hubby and kayden
11. superdad, sophia and dickson
12. CrispyApple, hubby and Aden
13. cheers, hubby & gwen
14. Cecelia, hubby, raphael n rachelle
15.jesline81, hubby, Jia Hui
16. racoon, husband, justin, maid
17. augustmum, husband, noah, zac
18. butter8, husband, ryan
19. net, husband, evan
20. leia, hb, jadon
21. honeyhaven, kayden
22. jojos, (hb mayb working cannot confirm), lucas, maid
23. cj, husband, kaefer, maid
24. smlow, husband, Joshua & Louisa
25. vel, (hb yet to confirm), jovie,
26. jokojoko, hb, maid & Aidan
27. MH, hubby & Gen
28. Rachel, Ashley and Rachel's sis
29. Buffer (cynthia), husband & Natalie
30. Yoki03, hb & Ayden
31. catherine, charlotte & hubby (to be confirm on july again)
32. Amberlyn, hubby, Jor, maid
33. sharon (emmum), husband & emma (to confirm in july again)

kelly/piyo,

The BUDGET of $25 per family which will take care of the buffet, decor & cake EXCLUDES GIFT EXCHANGE is fine with me.

The nitty gritty like which cake, what decor, I'll leave it to you guys to decide.

Was just thinking that it could be fun to have a Theme Party of sorts, so bbs can dress to the theme. Or maybe a small best "coordinated dressing" family contest (like the whole family wear the same colour tee shirt, or same wudever...). Just a thought only lah. No need to take me seriously.

hi piyo, thanks for arranging the trial on a saturday!
but i'm too late, all slots hv been taken up. if u arrange another session, and if it has to be on a sunday, pls exclude me then. i can only attend on saturday, thanks very much!

1. Jasmine
2. BB Zorian
3. Amberlyn, hubby, Jor
4. jojos, lucas
5. smlow, & Louisa

piyo/kelly,
i'm fine with the birthday arrangements. thanks for everything. i can help in the gift distribution.

Hi, piyo

if u organising another My gym trial session... pls include me too.... if on sunday, then dont include me... thanks

cocomo,

banana and apple can actually cause constipation. According to another mommy in the forum, when she was in france, the doctor actually recommended these two fruits when the kids had tummy upset.

Piyo,
if the next trial in held in MyGym Woodlands, then I will join

piyo - Will tt the $ to u by tonite.Tks for organising the trial.

Feeding wise..Gen oso nid to coax, give her toys to kip her hands busy & frm attacking the spoon. I din feed her porridge in France, guess thats where the prob starts...haiz.

B'day Bash - YES for all the suggestions..

I tink Leia's suggestion is good..a theme..

AUG06 BIRTHDAY BASH ON 22 JULY AT LEIA'S CONDO (HOUGANG)
1. Piyo, hubby, Megan and maid
2. cocomo, hubby, Jayden and maid
3. jasmine, hubby, jadelle
4. Doris, hubby, Elysia
5. kelly, hubby, edward & gabriel
6. fiona, hubby, denise
7. Augbaby, hubby, jayden, maid
8. Kris, hubby, zorian
9. Babyboy, hubby, keiran
10. erin00, hubby and kayden
11. superdad, sophia and dickson
12. CrispyApple, hubby and Aden
13. cheers, hubby & gwen
14. Cecelia, hubby, raphael n rachelle
15.jesline81, hubby, Jia Hui
16. racoon, husband, justin, maid
17. augustmum, husband, noah, zac
18. butter8, husband, ryan
19. net, husband, evan
20. leia, hb, jadon
21. honeyhaven, kayden
22. jojos, (hb mayb working cannot confirm), lucas, maid
23. cj, husband, kaefer, maid
24. smlow, husband, Joshua & Louisa
25. vel, (hb yet to confirm), jovie,
26. jokojoko, hb, maid & Aidan
27. MH, hubby & Gen
28. Rachel, Ashley and Rachel's sis
29. Buffer (cynthia), husband & Natalie
30. Yoki03, hb & Ayden
31. catherine, charlotte & hubby (to be confirm on july again)
32. mrschng, hubby, Jordan
33. Amberlyn, hubby, Jor, maid
34. sharon (emmum), husband & emma (to confirm in july again)

Think amberlyn omited my post heee

piyo,

thanks so much for arranging the trial.
i'm ok if it's on sunday.

1. Jasmine
2. BB Zorian
3. Amberlyn, hubby, Jor
4. jojos, lucas
5. smlow, & Louisa
6. cheers, hubby & gwen

kelly,

re: AUG06 birthday bash

1. FOOD-CATERER - y
2. DECOR-METHOD OF AND BUDGET FOR PURCHASE - y
3. BUDGET - y
4. GIFT EXCHANGE METHOD -y

hi piyo,
trf $ to u liao... aidan naps 1+hrs and sleeps for about 10hrs (luckily for me, he sleeps throughout the night)... so i think he din really sleeps alot...

re. birthday bash
im fine with all your suggestions!

Assignment of tasks

DECOR MUMMIES

RECEPT MUMMIES - think we shd haf 2 to help out in case the other is busy with bb
1. Cynthia
2. Augbb

GIFT MUMMIES
1. Erin no need 2 come early...abt 12pm will b fine
2. jokojoko

hello
rachel's cousin here...

send email to [email protected] and [email protected] for the dryper or drypantz sample

include the following in your email -

Requestors name

Contact number

Mailing Address

Size Required / Product (e.g. Medium size Drypantz) :

Babys current weight

Babys current diaper brand /size

Babys age (in months)

am listing the duties for easy ref...

Assignment of tasks

DECOR MUMMIES (these mummies need 2 turn up at 10-1030am 2 get e decor up)

RECEPT MUMMIES (to sit at the reception table 2 manage the guest list, collect e gifts, hand out name tags, etc) - think we shd haf 2 to help out in case the other is busy with bb
1. Cynthia
2. Augbb

GIFT MUMMIES (sorting out the gifts & giving them out)
2. jokojoko

hi mrschng,
rec'd ur email! now i know who you are... our hubby are colleagues lor...

piyo, kelly,

DUN kill me after reading my post hor.

firstly-- MY GYM trial
i happen to see there is a voucher wif last mth POSB Everyday credit card bill for My Gym. Entitled to free registration if registered before 31 May 07. I called up to make some enquiries comparison at Woodlands and GreatWorld City branches. WDLDS have a class for bbs from 10-18 mths costs ( $300 for 8 lessons ). GWC youngest class is for 14-22 mths bbs ( $345 for 10 lessons ). both prices are before the $55 registration fee that is waived wif the coupon. if such is e case, would the WDLDS class be more suitable for our bbs? unless the girl din giv me the correct information. Piyo, u can counter check?

Second and more importantly - BIRTHDAY BASH
- Cake : both designs look soo cute. Kelly can i hav the cake contact cos i intend to get a 'No.1' design for celebrating Kaefer b'day ourselves, may consider. However, i agree wif Augbb that design 2 is quite hard to cut up. How about another any other cute design that is 'non No.1'? In fact, as most of us probably celebrating our bb b'day's individually, the cake the just a significance and not possible for all to be cutting and blowing candles. i oso tik the cupcakes are not so important, maybe can spend the money on something more tangible?
-Presents : Tik i m very bad at choosing presents and am afraid to disappoint the 'target' bb as i m not knowledgeable in bb books, educational toys etc. So i prefer lucky draw type. otherwise, damn stress u know. i do understand the well intention is such that each bb get a more meaningful gift but again, tik the gift should depend on the giver rather than limiting choices for the buyer. And vouchers are out har? Or anybody volunteer to help me buy my gift, i just pay? any kind soul?

the above is jus my opinion, not trying to create trouble here. however, if majority is fine, i will still go wif everyone's opinion bah.

okie?

John Little sales - its for OCBC card members.

Went to Bugis Seiyu (now is been call as BHG) all bbs stuffs at 20%! Worth to take a look. Bought magmag for natalie after discount only cost $7.90!

Hi Kelly,
Around wat time do we need to be at the recept? Is 10am for the start of event bit early ah? Hehee cos believing bbs wake up ard 8-9plus.. den prepare everything to go out is mroe than 10am.. I stay at jurong so need to roughly judge the timing if I can make it there yeah.

Food catering for AUG B.DAY BASH.
- I have try Neogarden before but no so nice lo..
- Though I don have very cheap lobang but I can check it out on Kate's catering. Very nice.

http://www.katescatering.com/

i've been so busy wif my new job, and no internet access for my kinda work. finally done reading all the posts.

piyo,
i would really love to help out wif the bash, but can't come that early leh...denise always takes another nap ard that time after her morning bath. can u assign me something?

btw, i've tt u the amt for mygym trial. thks so much for organizing! the ref. no. is 1169570258.

cynthia,
i'm staying in jurong too, which part r u residing? i can give u a lift that day, but i can't go that early lah...let me know ok? or u PM me ur contact no.

hi joko, yup... well at least hubbies wun feel left out heee..

Was at their boss's place on CNY.. but i come, u all go, so no chance to meet

See u at the birthday bash..

cynthia
no need 2 b early...cos whichever mummy arrives 1st, can help out. mayb abt 1130am-12pm?

cj
piyo n i hv discussed part of ur concerns b4 so i reply 2 u 1st. <font color="ff0000">piyo, if u like 2 add anything, feel free 2 reply 2 cj</font>

- CAKE
e pics came fr www.cherylshuen.com

as for #1 shaped cake, u can get it fr many places. gabe got his #1 shaped cake fr prima deli. most cake shops offer such designs, even neighbourhood cake shops. mayb check out e cake shop u like 2 buy fr or heard gd reviews abt. i can offer u four leaves (http://www.fourleaves.com.sg/webtop/cakes/wedding.html#occasions), ecreative (http://www.ecreative.com.sg/cakes_products.asp?SID=14), prima deli, bengawan solo, cake avenue (http://www.cakeavenue.com/product_category.asp?catid=28)

gabe's #1 cake is a 2 tiered cake. bcos it's not a fondant cake like design #2, it's easier 2 cut. both cakes which i showed every1 are fondant cakes so be it design #1 or #2, not easy 2 cut.

other than e 2 tiered cake, wat other designs u like us 2 consider? mayb u hunt around n propose a few designs?

e reason y piyo & i tot of proposing cupcakes is bcos
1) we tot a "signature" cake (like design #2) will b cute, interesting n i tik our bbs'll love 2 look at such a colorful cute cake.
2) i tot tat since most parents'll b getting a #1 shaped cake 4 their bbs, no point getting a #1 cake too (like wat u mentioned)
3) bcos such 2 tiered fondant cake (design #2) is pretty 2 look at, not cheap (it'll b abt $180) n also not big, e cupcakes'll come in handy as party favours (something like goodie bags) 4 every family 2 bring home.

wat other tangible stuff do u propose? I've gone to many 1st birthday n e goodie bags given away always consist of candies/sweets (which our bbs cant eat), bubbles, rattles, flapping stuff, etc. tat's y i tot giving away personalised cupcakes more meaningful.

4 me, i ordering abt 15-18 boxes of cupcakes (4 in a box) 2 give away 4 edward's birthday party. i gave away goodie bags 4 gabe's 1st birthday b4 (went 2 concourse 2 buy lotsa stuff, still gotta pack...aiyo, very leh chey lah) so decided 2 do something different 4 edward.

i very grateful u brought up valid points cos more heads 2 tik is betta than 1 but bcos it's only piyo & me discussing, it'll b gd if u bring up suggestions & ideas 4 us 2 work on too.

- PRESENTS
e original gift exchange idea was a lucky draw method but piyo & i discussed n we realised tat it can b hard 2 buy unisex gifts. u urself said it tat it's quite hard 2 buy gifts for bbs cos most of us r like u, not gd at choosing pressies 4 bbs. i'm one of them.

if we r doing lucky draw, then no vouchers r allowed cos e purpose of lucky draw is 2 enjoy e element of surprise mah...but since we r now allocating who 2 buy 4 who, vouchers r allowed cos e mummy can b telling e buyer tat she not sure wat her bb'll like 2 hv now so vouchers'll b gd. i'll b telling e mummy who's buying edward's gift 2 get vouchers 4 him pls.

tat's y i tot if we ballot 4 everyone, u'll know wat 2 buy 4 e bb. eg if u r buying 4 smlow's louisa, mayb smlow can tell u wat louisa like specifically.

e mummy or daddy who is receiving pressie fr cj, mayb u can tell her wat ur bb'll like 2 hv.

Update on payment for My gym:

MY GYM TRIAL

1. Piyo, hubby and Megan -<font size="+1">paid</font>
2. augbaby, hubby, jayden and maid
3. honeyhaven, hubby, kayden
4. erin00, hubby and kayden -<font size="+1">paid</font>
5. babyboy,hb & keiran
6. butter8, hb & ryan
7. CrispyApple, hubby and Aden
8. racoon, husband, justin <font size="+1">paid</font>
9. kelly, husband, edward & gabe (tentative)
10.fiona, hubby, denise -<font size="+1">paid</font>
11. cj, hubby & Kaefer
12. Doris, hubby & Elysia -<font size="+1">paid</font>
13. cocomo, hubby and Jayden
14. jokojoko, hb, aidan & maid -<font size="+1">paid</font>
15. mrschng, hb, Jordan-<font size="+1">paid</font>
16. net,hubby & evan
17. MH,hubby & Gen -<font size="+1">paid</font>
18. Superdad, Sophia, Dickson -<font size="+1">paid</font>

kelly,
like that the gift exchange i felt that like no surprise at all leh.. i feel that like put all present on a table and we anyhow pick more fun hehehe.. let our baby pick the present they want. will be very fun.
if let say our baby pick a boy stuff we can exchange with those picked girls stuff instead lor..

anyway i don't mind the lucky draw or exchanging present method. just an idea for u all.

I like mrs chg's colour theme! RED!!!

Hi cat and mummies,
My 2 cents tots...
I am with kelly on what she wrote since we haf discussed this many times...

I like Kelly's idea of buying for the specific baby in mind cos the present would be more appropriate. I am more on practicality... no point I go buy a generic toy and maybe the baby say one of the Jaydons who receives it dun like it.. I mean if we haf a choice, buy something more meaningful..

But I go with the majority, if all feels the surprise element is nicer, then by all means we can go for it

On d pt on goodies bags/cupcakes, I haf been to 1yr old parties where mummies gif out the goodies bag which cost about the same as the cupcakes and end up the children play play a bit, may just chuck it 1side...and alot of things in the goody bags consist of sweets, rattles etc which maybe 1 or 2 can be given to babies of 1yrs old... for me I am anal about what she puts into her tummy so goody bags is equivalent to giving to us parents than the child...

and cupcakes is something unique and meaningful if we haf each babies' name on the cake and like what augbb says let them blow their own candle on the cupcake with their names

but of cos majority wins, so we put up this for discussion

Hi CJ,
I won't kill you but I will bite you! haha

re: My Gym
I will counter check and let you know. The lady who served me told me our age group is fine. Let me call and confirm again. I choose GWC cos it's newer and bigger/abt the same as Woodlands so equipment are newer too? and it's cheaper if we sign up cos $345 for 10 lessons versus $300 for 8 lessons and location wise more central than woodlands...

re: cakes
I am ok with tangible items to replace cupcakes but what do you suggest?

piyo,
the cupcake is each baby 1 cupcake or 1 box abit messy when i saw the pic of the cupcake. cause 1 box there are different design, any way for the cupcake thing i think is fun for our baby to blow it themself haha but don't know will then know how to blow or go and touch the candle instead..

Hi Piyo and Kelly,

I'm staying in Sengkang area so would be able to help out. Justin naps after his morning bath around 10-11am and I have to nap with him cos he'll cry if he can't find me when awake. I would love to help out at the decor but what time do I need to be there?

piyo/kelly,
same here.. Elysia naps like Denise/Justin... can put it this way, if i can come early, i sure help out on the deco... hope my hubby can play with her a while...or perhaps i can ask my hubby to help the deco...

piyo, kelly,
thanks for your LOVE bite. haha, i noe sure kena jia lat fr u guys but got discussion make it more interesting rite? actually, i hav no experienced in celebrating bb first b'day lah, jus wanna add my humble comments lor.
cupcakes wise-- i feel that our bb wont know how to blow the candle, neither can they eat it. in e end, the parents gonna eat it, just like the rest of the buffet. jus a wild suggestion, maybe we can hav a mummy who's good at computer/ design to make for each bb a personlised photo frame so we can frame the pix of our bb wif the b'day cake individual photo. we can pay the mummy for the products. As for goodie bags, not necessary cos it's more of a joint celebration n each bb oreadi got a gift. this way oso can cut some costs. becos most of us celebrating individual b'days another day so can cut the duplication or to do something that we may not do on an individual scale. the main purpose is to hav our similar aged bbs come together n not to duplicate another celebration bah.

for the cake design, maybe wat i meant was to make a single level cake easier to cut than doubledecked cake but again that's not a big problem. ( as long as dun arrow me cut the cake hehe.. cos i sure karang kabo )

Presents-- whoever chosen to buy gift for kaefer most likely i will choose voucher den. cos v difficult to open mouth n tell the mummy to go to a particular place n get a particular item and make sure dun get the wrong item else the bb will be disappointed, u noe wat i mean?

like i mentioned, i will still go along wif majority's choice since these r realli not life n death issues lah. both of u hav put in a lot of time n effort to organize and i really appreciate it cos i know i cant do a better job than u. so please dun get upset wif me hor. at most i volunteer to be the money collector and disperse to the buyers lor. ( if u all trust me lah, that is )

wah liao, my fingers r tired fr typing liao.

Theme wise i can oni tink of Prince or Princess theme..like in disneyland type or cartoon oso nt bad.

Honestly hor, i tink lucky draw for the gifts exchange is beta. If for eg. i suppose to buy for piyo's bb & kelly's for mine, i wld be paiseh to tell kelly wat i wan for my gal.Then like dat oso no surprise element mah since i knw wat kelly wld get for my bb. If i buy the gift for the particular bb but oso dunno if he/she like or nt, its still the thought that counts. Dats my personal view lah

I like the cupcakes idea rather den goodie bags.

I knw its nt easy organising such a big scale event & i thank kelly & piyo for their effort as well as the rest of the mums here.

Assignment of tasks

1. Leia + HB

RECEPT MUMMIES (to sit at the reception table 2 manage the guest list, collect e gifts, hand out name tags, etc) - think we shd haf 2 to help out in case the other is busy with bb
1. Cynthia
2. Augbb

2. jokojoko

Kelly,

Ok sure the timing shld be ok wth me. We shall have arrangement again soon when the day comes.

Fiona,

I am living near Jurong Point. Maybe we can arrange again when the day is near? If reach ard 11plus for me is not a prob. I will PM u my contact yeah.

Gift.
Hmm its a little bit of headache here. I think if lucky draw doesnt seems to be easy too. Maybe its alot beta to allocate cos in my past few events normally we do this and both parties are happy with the gift cos we check with each other what is their preference..

I prefer lucky draw too. Similarly, I would be paiseh to tell the mommy what to buy for Justin. Instead I believe any toy the mommy decide and bought for Justin shd be fine for him cos he simply loves to play with anything he has not seen before so I'm not particular what the gift is.

I like the cupcakes, nice to take pictures for momento sake.....heheh...and looks delicious so i would love to eat it up for Justin too... :p

I can put my name down tentatively for the decor too, probably slip away and back before Justin wakes up from his nap. For all you know, scully he dun want to nap nap that morning knowing there's a big event waiting for him leh, so me and hubby might just drop by early. Will only see how then lah, babies schedule are very unpredictable

Assignment of tasks

1. Leia + HB
2. racoon

1. Cynthia
2. Augbb

2. jokojoko