(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

piyo,

when Jadelle look away, i stop immediately.. continue to kiss her and praise her, then leave her alone for a short short while..

I only try again when she seems attentive, with min 15 minute gap with the previous session..

Like Amy, i don't flash in sequence.. when i introduce a new card, i don't always put it in front as the first card though.. this way, it is like a surprise for Jadelle..

LEIA...rec'd yr PM..thanks! Shld be joining in for the swim..there are babies going for a swim right? wld like to chip in some food/snacks.. let me know whats on the list...

SWIM DIAPERS - 11 pcs @ $15.80
Erin, augbaby & piyo still want 2pcs each?
pls let me know...any more mummies want swim diapers -- there are another 3 pcs available...or know where else is cheaper...??? pls share...TIA~

Hi babyboy,
ya, I still want the swim diaper. might be joining u gals if i can make it. have to bring kayden for hep b jab 1st.

FYI
Babies using HUGGIES (all blue packaging) is on SALE at Giant @ $14.69! Usualprice- $18.90 M size - 84 pcs which works out to 0.17cents! cheapppp...
Offer till 31st Jan...

Hi Cecelia,
Hope your dd's feeling better already.
My #2 was on neubuliser couple of times (including his hospitalisation).
It does help them to breathe better & clear their lungs.

Hi MH,
It does help keep my boys warm when they are in the pool.
I took my cue from their running nose.
Usual swim costume - Running nose within 10 minutes
Wet suit - Running nose 40 minutes later

That said, it varies from kids to kids lah.
My boys have sensitive noses.
The caucasians dunk their babies in only swim diapers!

ok, noted Erin...if u cant make it, i will either hold it till the next gathering or mail it to u...see which u prefer...
but know anywhere that is cheaper??

Hi Augustmum,
kao_dizzy.gif
Looks like I need to take Jav & Jul back to visit my GP again.
I see that running nose coming back.
Even Joe's having stuffy nose.

Sorry, it's Hou Zao San that my parents are talking about.
Yeah, I get them from reputable medical stores.
More exp too ... Urgh.

Jav's stuck with me literally.
When #1 was 2 and half, I took him to Kindermusik while my MIL takes care of
#2. Now, I can't seem to leave Jul in anyone's care so he's so clingy.
He cried throughout the 2 hour service yesterday when I left him in the nursery.
If possible, I would like to take Jav to Kindermusik again once Jul's comfy with my MIL taking care of him.

That's so cute of your Noah!
Jav's very active. So he needs to be out every day at least once.
If not, he will take a long time to knock out at night or get cranky in the evenings.
Unlike his bro, his pronunciation is not as accurate but his kinesthetic skill is amazing.

We can sms each other to catch up lah.
Shall PM you shortly.

Erin,
Thx.

Noe,
DD n DS oso kena neubulizer on sat.. how is ur boys now?

I am a lousy mum... yesterday, my dd fall from mattress n knock her head.

hi babyboy,
will get from you if i can be there at leia's place. if not, will get from u at another gathering then.

hi cecelia,
don't say that u r a lousy mum. we try our best but sometimes accidents happen. kayden also bang his head against the floor yesterday cos I din lower him carefully onto the cushion. was upset with myself at that time too.

Hi Jasmine,

I do not have any FBM:)So I have 2 resort to feeding FM uring my absence.

I am wondering if I can get Hotel's assistance to freeze EBM. Even if they can help, the flight journey of 5/6 will get all the FBM thawed? & can only keep for 2 days usage? can get SIA's help to put in freezer? sigh, trouble-lehh. btw, where can i get ice pack?

hello gals
i just watched First Steps.

Was wondering if your babies have learnt to fall asleep on their own? So far, leon MUST b sayang-ed to sleep, there is NO chance he can fall asleep on his own, how do i begin training him to sleep on his own?

Also, do u gals leave your baby to cry, like they show the bb in the playpen? i never leave leon to cry for long leh, dunno if im spoiling him or not.

i dunno how to kick in any discipline ..

SIMILAC FOLLOW ON (fr 6mths onward)

i hv a tin of brand new 900g Similac Follow-On FM for sale. Meant for bbs above 6mths old. any1 interested, pls PM me. Selling at $28.

Hi pupsandcups,
kayden still can't sleep on his own too. must be carried lor. he will lie there awake for quite some time before he gets tired and falls asleep. takes very long so i prefer to carry him.

I don't leave him to cry for too long too. scared he'll take in a lot of wind which is not good for him.

I also dunno how to discipline him. hope i'm not spoiling him too. but i read somewhere that children only begin to understand reason at 2 yrs old so no point caning him or give him harsh punishment cos they don't understand what they have done wrongly. I will just use my voice (sounds a bit sterner than usual) and tell him "No, no. You can't do it" only if he did anything which I disapprove. He'll stop but then once i dun notice, he'll do it again.

hi kelly,
when u starting work?

babyboy,
ya i still wan the swim diapers but i wont b joining in the gathering at leia pl so think i have to take from u ano time...

piyo,
where did u get the GD flash cards and how much did u pay for them? I am interested but like flash cards are so exp leh...

pupsncups & erin,
i have to carry ryan to sleep every nite and every nap... my friends tell me thats bad.. but like u i dun wan him to cry too much... once i get a routine going, he sleeps pretty fast.. just that i need to carry for a bit.

my boy is at a stage where he is putting every thing in his mouth and biting. even if we try to feed him cereal, he will try to snatch the spoon to chew on it!

i oso watched the baby program last nite... at wat age can babies go for tumble tots or kindermusik etc? any good places to recommend?

hi butter,
ya, now usually if he's sleepy, carry for a short while, he will fall asleep. but if let him sleep on his own, will take very very long.

hello all...wif regards to sleeping on their own..i hve my experience..

when my ds was 9mths..i was still carrying him rocking and singing him to sleep...then some kind frens told me to try out the cry out method at nite...so i tried lor and perservered for two weeks cos they said need time to establish mah...but the end result was my ds not oni cried to sleep...he would woke at every 2hrs crying...after two weeks..i abandoned the method cos i felt tat he was feeling even more insecured than secured as wat the crying method said...then i started to hug him to bed...but no rocking or singing...and he took to it v well..since then he no woke up every 2 hours..then close to 11mths..i decided tat he shld just try to sleep on his own again...so i put him next to me..and i would pretend to sleep...and slowly..he got used to it..and was sleeping by himself by 1 yr old...then on, i just put him on bed for nap and nite...and he will sleep on his own..
now at 3, he can even go to the room and sleep by himself...
so the verdict is....there will come a time they will sleep by themselves...so if can tahan...just carry lor..if wanna rush the process...then cry out lor...

now for my dd...abit difficult..cos she has abit of reflux...i worry tat she will vomit her milk if i let her roll and sleep by herself...so now i still carry and sing her to sleep lor..she is 5.5mths..

i would say if bb can adapt to the cry out method..good lor..but if cannot..then dun force...will make them v insecure...

okie..tat's my experience...

did you all try to read "the baby wisperer" series of books? Available at NLB. Quite useful on sleep tips... Might help those who need to rock or walk their baby to sleep.

Handi,
Actually from start u should not rock or sing to ur baby to sleep it will cause a habit to them and they will get use to it. but lucky ur DS at 1 yrs old u let him learn to sleep on his own. If not like my colleague DD now 4 yrs old still sleeping with them.

my girl 5 months and 1 week old, she now know how to sleep on her own without rocking or singing to her i just put her in her playpen or cot she will dose off with her favourite pillow.
Since after she was 1 mth++ she learn to sleep on her own when lights are off. So i guess is habits which u give ur child.

hi cat..i do agree wif u...but then hor...they kept cryin leh in e early mths....so no choice lor...and oso my dd got abit of reflux leh..even no rock her..got to carry her lor..cos she will vomit milk...

as for the bb whisperer...wanted to get the book but then Borders is out of stock...

My gal also goes to sleep on her own when it's 9pm plus. I kept the night as boring as possible for her. Like after I bring her home from my MIL's place at around 8plus, I will let her sit in the playpen and I quickly bath. Then, sit beside her on the bed, read bedtime story to her then dim the light, leave her in her playpen in sleeping position. Sometimes, she doesn't want to stay in the playpen, I will bring her back to bed (never out of the room)then put her back to playpen again.

Then, I will leave the room and watch tv outside, because as long as i'm in the room, I will be quite conscious of how she's trying to sleep. When I'm outside, I will check every ten minutes by only opening the door slightly.

And you need also to know how well the baby sleeps in the day, ironically, the better they sleep in the day, the better they sleep at night.

I did try to structure her sleeping habits right from the beginning and highlight to my MIL not to always carry her to sleep. So, maybe it does helps. I agree that cultivating some habits from the start are helpful.

I have sort of established a routine for my boy since after confinement month by putting him in bed after his bath every evening... as early as 8pm (so that I can do my chores). I'd bathe him at 7.30pm after my dinner and after changing him into PJs, dim the lights and try to get him to sleep.

He sleeps on my bed. And normally, if he has his milk before bath, he's less likely to fuss after that. So I'll leave him there while I sit at the other corner of the bed with my laptop. I'll not attempt to make eye contact with him/sing to him/talk to him. If he does fuss, I'll give him his pacifier (It helps to soothe him. He doesn't use the pacifier during other times of the day), lie him on his side on the bed and see if he goes to sleep. If he whines some more despite the pacifier, I'll pat him and sing a lullaby till he's calmer. If he did not have his milk before bath, and if he whines, I'll nurse him till he's nearly gone-ded. Then I'll put him down. He'd be semi-awake, but normally too contented to fuss some more.

Now that I've gone back to work, the routine's still pretty much the same except I get home a lil later, so he sleeps a lil later... but generally by 9pm. Never had to carry him or rock him to sleep, except during confinement month when the CL does it now and then when he can't sleep.

There was once, a long time ago, when he cried a fair bit at night just before he went to sleep and I just leave him be. He fell asleep eventually after crying heaps but he woke up several times that night crying... So I don't think it's a good idea to let him cry till he fall asleep.

Hi Cat n mommies,
Same with u, my ds oso can sleep w/out ppl rocking or singing. Juz ned to pat his bottom (awhile) w/light off, he will doze off himself. But i cant apply dat method onto my dd as she will cry till she tired off n will wake up on n off (if me/mil din carry her).

Erin,
Thx for the 'an wee' words. Luckily dd is ok...
How's kayden? Hope he is ok too.

ATTENTION: Those coming for the Gathering cum Swim Fest on 11th February 2006!!!

We have about 13 babies for the event. Need some bumper mats. Who can volunteer to bring, pls?

Date: 11th February 2006 (Sunday)
Time: 10am-3pm (Makan and chit chat session from 12pm)
Venue: Leia's place (fringe of Hougang/Sengkang/Punggol - will PM addr/contact)

1. Piyo, hubby, megan and maid (tentative)
2. Jasmine, hubby & Jadelle
3. cheers, hubby, gwen
4. babyboy, hubby, Keiran
5. cj, hubby, Keafer
6. cocomo, hubby, Jay and maid
7. HoneyB, hubby, Hannah (lunch)
8. adeline, melvin, leon
9. augustmum, hubby, noah, zac (lunch)
10.vel , jovie (lunch)
11. Shirlyn, elder son, maid
12. Encheong, mummy & Dickson
13. erin, kayden (tentative)

thanks for sharing. i guess different babies have different personalities.
from confinement period, i REALLY wanted leon to sleep on his own badly, but even in the hospital, the nurses said this one likes to be carried, cos the moment u put him down, he will wail INSTANTANEOUSLY.
sometimes i worry about him, cos during pregnancy, there were times when i was q depressed (due to staying in MIL's house that time and constant arguments w hubby), and i read some where this can lead to bb having insecurity..
leon has been sleeping thru the night since he was around 6weeks old, only thing is MUST b swaddled and latched onto me to doze off.
think i will try leon on some alone time soon.

anyways, all the feedbak v useful, i will also pretend to b asleep next to him, or like do my own thing at another corner of the room

Leia,

think bumper mat no use for this gathering liao, with all the rolling, flipping etc. Think we shall all bring our strollers since it's not in the house. hee, then we shall line up all the strollers and take pic

I shall bring either a cake or some muffins ( baked by noah and mommy, so standard of food will depend on how much/ little noah stir the mixture)

Gathering cum Swim Fest on 11th February 2006!!!

2. Jasmine, hubby & Jadelle
3. cheers, hubby, gwen
5. cj, hubby, Keafer
6. cocomo, hubby, Jay and maid ---- fried bee hoon
8. adeline, melvin, leon ---- fruits
9. augustmum, hubby, noah, zac (lunch)----cake or muffins
10.vel , jovie (lunch)
12. Encheong, mummy & Dickson

leia,
wat time will all of u be there till huh? i am interested to join but have to see schedule for that day and if we still have alot of spring cleaning to be done...so mayb can juz add my names in tentatively and i will let you know when the date is nearer can..but pls PM me yr address..

Hi Cecelia,
So your kids used the neubuliser once at the clinic only?
That's a good sign already.
For us, we had to rent the machine home to administer the medicine.

Took my boys to my GP today.
He prescribed Cough-En & Ventolin to Jav (2 and a half years old) and said none is needed for Jul (5 months old).
He prefers the body to fight by itself if possible then to use medicine.

Now it's monitoring time for me again. Ha ha ...

i also wished that kayden can sleep on his own. guess will try letting him sleep on his own soon. He has a sleep routine too. i'll bring him back 7plus from my mum's place to our room where it's dim and quiet and he'll usually sleep around 8. But i guess catherine's right. he's used to us carrying him to sleep.

i did that last time cos he was born very small and light. heard from some friends where the nurses at Mt A suggest carrying them to let them feel secure and thus encourage weight gain. I tried that and he gained 1.8kg within the 1st month (dunno whether it's due to his feeling secure). now it's ok cos he's at a normal weight liao so guess must learn to let him be independent.

hi pups,
guess we must learn to let them sleep on their own.

augbaby,

The booking of the function room is till 3pm. Lunch from 12pm. So I guess we shld be hanging around till about 3pm?

Come for lunch lah. 1, 2 hours only. You're at Tampines, right? Nearby only.
Or try to springclean a bit earlier? Then can come for swim as well! :D

Will PM you my addr/contact tonight.

Hi noe, my pd prescribe antibiotic 4 my dd lei. Plus ventolin n med 4 cough n block nose. She is oso presc antibiotic 4 ds bt i din giv. Take care ok.

thks mummies for the discussion on sleeping..

i tried to let JAdelle cry to sleep, but it didn't work.. she yelled the place down for 1/2 hr.. and still no go.. even if she does fell asleep, when she wake up like 2 hrs later.. she will yell again.. and so "cham" somemore.. i was afraid that she will cry herself sick, cos each session of such a crying bout meant she will be full of perspiration (really using lots of energy!!). If she sleep after wailing, while sleeping, she will still make that sobbing noise.. i think it didn't work on her..

I will be on long leave before CNY.. so, i will try to eastablish a routine for NAPPING and night time..somemore she still wake up to latch and seek comfort from knowing me nearby! If she move her arms and legs and hit me, she will go back to zzz and if she doesn't, will get woken up and will cry!

My MIL has been carrying her and rocking her to zzz and she does fall asleep very fast.. but, i really hope she can sleep by herself and through the night..

Will try Leia's method.. except, Jadelle dun take pacifier!! arrghh!!

pups,

Ok to the fruits - thanks. To bold the words, do this:

<-b->words to be bold<-/b->

(remove the dashes " - ")

augustmum,

Ok with strollers... just that lesser chance for the bbs to socialise and pull each other's hair. Heehee

Looking forward to Noah's cake/muffins.

2. Jasmine, hubby &amp; Jadelle
3. cheers, hubby, gwen
5. cj, hubby, Keafer
10.vel , jovie (lunch)
12. Encheong, mummy &amp; Dickson
14. augbaby, hb, jayden, maid (tentative)

Oh..so glad im nt the only mummy who carry my child to sleep..tot i was the only mummy who is spoiling my gal &amp; i even thot my gal is naughty &amp; hard to look after. She usually has no prob sleeping in the day..but when come to nightfall..she has to be carried to sleep...i oso dun let her cry too long coz she juz wun sleep &amp; when she has insufficient sleep she gets cranky &amp; refuses her milk.

My gal oso sleep besides me &amp; hb on a mattress nex to us..hope nex time if nt so hard to train her to sleep on her own *cross my fingers*

Noe - The 'angmohs' just love the Sun..so dress as little if possible.When its summer here, their babies oso go out wif just diaper on only..save $$ on clothIngs haha.

3. cheers, hubby, gwen
4. babyboy, hubby, Keiran --- Old Chang Kee snacks
5. cj, hubby, Keafer
10.vel , jovie (lunch)

LEIA, pm me yr addy.. will bring Old Chang Kee snacks..will try to make it before 1pm cos bb usually have his cereal ard 12pm, will feed him before leaving the hse...

hi leia

aiyo, i itching 2 join in cos long time never c the mummies. i'll put myself down as tentative can? i may come by 4 e swim n go off cos really a lot of springclean 2 do n husband doing it all by himself (no maid yet).

if not, i'll come by abt 1pm. i'll let u know. can u pls PM me ur contact n add? thks!

3. cheers, hubby, gwen
5. cj, hubby, Keafer
10.vel , jovie (lunch)
15. kelly, hubby, gabriel &amp; edward

erin,
i may not b ur colleague liao. i looking at other options. i juz started my online biz (cant post it here, scared kenna fr e moderators of tis forum). we advertising in e biz thread so will only do so once e ad is out. i also doing another biz so checking out e details 4 tat now.

i really not keen 2 b FTWM lah...too comfortable being a SAHM liao.

piyo
gabe's attending a homebased enrichment class. 1hr, every sat fr 230-330pm. e lady's doing right brain training so lotsa flashcards, intuition games, speed listening, memory games, etc. something similar 2 shichida.

hi Leia
I have never join your gathering before. Am I welcome?? If i will to come, it will only be Kayden and me. I would love to bring him to see other babies of his age. hehehe. Can put me in the tentative list too. My hb has to work on Sun and for my maid she has to do spring cleaning at my in- law's hse. BTW, I have amended the year for the gathering. It should be 2007 already. hehehe.

Gathering cum Swim Fest on 11th February 2007!!!

Date: 11th February 2007 (Sunday)

3. cheers, hubby, gwen
5. cj, hubby, Keafer
10.vel , jovie (lunch)
15. kelly, hubby, gabriel &amp; edward
16. honeyhaven, kayden (tentative)

kelly,
how did u come about the home based enrichment class? I am looking to find such things for my boy too.

good to hear all the diff sleeping methods for babies
my boy still needs to be carried regardless for naps or nite time. no need much singing or rocking, jus carry. if leave on the cot by himself, he end up playing with pillows n rolling about, end up more awake and harder to put back to sleep.
i guess once he gets taller/bigger, that will pose a problem.. i hope to lie him down on bed to sleep, will start bit by bit...wish me luck.

Jasmin,
keke, my boy spits out pacifier too... that may be a good thing, but makes it harder to calm him too like your baby....

butter,
let ur boy play with pillow or toys when in cot let him play once he is tired he will automatic shut his eyes no matter how u disturb him.

Thats what i did for my girl. When she doesn't want to sleep no matter how u force her she won't sleep she will cry and cry, becos she want to play. so i carry her up onto my bed and play with her until she is tired rubbing her puffy eyes then i put her back into her playpen b4 she get deep into her sleep she is still playing with her pillow. so i leave it to her untill she stop moving the pillow.

btw my girl spit out pacifier too, but need me to hold it for her for awhile then she suck to sleep.