(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Hi, cat

since baby born, had never used powder on her as what Mrs Wong of TMC said before at her classes during pregnancy... think not good for baby breathing lor.....

hi, babyboy
what to do? as we still need to work for a earning .....

: (

i dont use powder on baby either, then mil keep insisting must use powder. i gave her a stern NO. ya, went for Mrs Wong's classes also..believe better be safe than sorry, so never used powder on bb. only medicated powder for bb's rash.

jes, replied yr mail already...received?

jesline,
i din know about that i still use powder on my bb cos i feel without powder bb will feel sticky.
KKH also use powder for bb so i think powder still ok as long as don't hit on bb face can liao.
i believe that since when i was bb my mum also use powder on me i am also healthy breathing until now. anyway i use jonhson baby powder which kkh also using.

about powder. what i've heard from the medical experts is no poweder for baby's private parts as powder and urine combined can cause an infection, but other areas of baby's body is ok, jus make sure u avoid baby's face. so that's what i do.

BM VS FM at 6 months
jus called one of the bfeeding advice lines, wanted to ask about supplementing BM with FM at 6 months (i think augbb posted this qn earlier). they say it is not necessary to supplement with FM. while it is true that baby needs more nutrients (esp iron) than our BM can provide at 6months, our baby would have already started on solids, and as long as we feed our baby nutritious solids such as fruits n cereals, baby will be getting all the nutrition it needs.

also another thing i JUST learned from her (as i was asking her qns about storing BM) is we should cool our BM in the lower compartment of the fridge for about 2 hours b4 putting it in the freezer. seh lah, i ddnt know always put directly in the freezer

also, for any of u ladies who have excess frozen BM, like me, u can donate it to babies who need it in NICU, which is what i'll be doing.

Hi Mummies...

I m back again frm PD. Nat no sign of improving. My frd recommend mi to see Dr William Yip @ Gleneagles Singapore Baby & Child.

They do a culture test for her as her diarrhoea too long n also got blood.. N gotta give her 3 jab anti biotic continous 3DAY! Oh god.. so heart pain when she scream out loud!
PD mention can be due to bacterial infection.
So beta take roatvirus dose lo.. jus in case!

Now gotta wait for Nat to recover n see how it goes!

Kind remainder: PLS PLS practise HYGIENE & sterilise bottles properly! Though start weaning bb, jus keep a look out on cleaness, no oily, no salt, no much sugar at least till 1yr is best....

Haiz... esp those wit ils taking care, will be like mi so worried & dono realli how to tell them to practice all THE above!

hi babyboy,
can see that kieran is very happy. giving the toothy smile

hi leobbsmum,
u never log in for a long time liao hor. ur baby looks a bit like caucasian leh. her eyes and skin very nice.

hi augbaby,
kayden is sleeping in playpen now cos cot (the one that was handed down from my sil) was too small. hoping that he'll be able to sleep on his own when he's slightly older.

hi jesline,
ya la. mil always like that. generation gap mah. they meant gd but their methods are not what we think are right lor.
when i attend antenatal class, the instructor also told us that we shd not use baby powder cos most of us will use powder puff and babies will tend to inhale the powder in. if want to use, put a little on our palms and rub them together, then smooth them on their body.
so when mil wants me to use baby powder, hb who attended the class provide her with the info. even though she might grumble a bit, she's ok with the idea now.

re. POWDER, pups is right in saying that it will cause infection if apply near bb's private parts... it happened to my nephew and he was hospitalised due to infection caused by powder... so be very careful when you apply powder on bb k... for me, i'll stick with baby lotion and no where near the private parts...

cynthia,
being in the same situation before, i couldn't agree more on the hygiene part and vaccines... think we "once bitten twice shy" so will take all "precautions"...

hi mummies, me busy didn't get to follow the thread for so long.
let me wish all of you a Happy New Year 2007 !!

gathering in jan at my place.

Date: 13Jan2007
Time: after 1pm
Food: simple fare - fried meehoon & chicken curry. is this OK? my husband will cook.

Mummies who can bring playmat pls indicate ok. maybe will need abt 2 playmats. i dont hv any at home.

1. smlow, husband, joshua & louisa

by the way, how heavy are your babies now?
mine at 4 months 2 weeks - 8.2kg and 65.5cm

sometimes i cant carry her for long, coz heavy leh! i think i strained my left arm, coz having constant pain for the past 2 weeks and i really cant carry her on my left arm anymore, but i cant carry properly on the right arm!!... i still dunno how to use the sarong sling!!!!!!! feel so dumb....

My daugther, born on 30 Aug, started to roll over 2 weeks ago. At night, I would let her sleep on her back but in the morning, she's sleeping on her tummy. I'm very worried that she might get suffocated. Any mummies experiencing this?

smlow Louisa 4mths 2wks - 8.2kg 65.5cm
Leia Jadon 4mths - 7.2kg
Jokojoko Aidan 4mths - 8.2kg 64cm
erin Kayden 4mths - 7.2kg 64cm

I'm new here. I'm glad that my collegue told me about this forum. There are so much information here. I'm a first time mum and my baby girl born on 2 Aug 2006. almost 5 months already yet her weight is only 6.8kg.. (63 cm)

Leia Jadon 4mths - 7.2kg
kelly's edward 4mths - 7.5kg 64cm (now 5.5mths-8.4kg 66cm)

isis, floppy
welcome

Leia Jadon 4mths - 7.2kg
Noelle's Julien @ 4mths - 6.9kg 66cm

Hiyee Mummies,
Our little ones sure have grown. How time flies.
kao_sad2.gif
My boys were down with flu recently.
Joe (#1) had fever for 5 days. Haiz ...
Jav & Jul still phlegmy now.

i've been very busy wif both boys so no chance 2 post anything. hv been reading the postings n enjoy looking at e bbs' pics - all so adorable & charming.

cocomo
glad 2 hear tat jayden is betta. u intending 2 stop giving him soy milk? hv u considered goat's milk? i heard goat's milk quite gd.

augbb
a few things 2 reply 2 u...
1) if u c how e few bbs r sitting, u shld get an idea of how 2 prop jayden up since he prefers 2 sit upright now. watever jayden is doing is normal development...human beings r the most advanced mammals...all bbs somehow will flip, try 2 sit when they r ready, try 2 stand when they can & walk when they r able 2, run when they can walk well, etc...not all bbs crawl though

2) i dun believe tat BF bbs r stronger. i've seen a few bbs who drank very lil BM n they rarely fall sick. it all boils down 2 e bb's immune system, e bb himself, e environment & e caregiving.

3) edward sleeps on his own now. gabe sleeping wif us on our queen-sized bed & i tik he'll continue 2 do so 4 a VERY LONG WHILE.

gabe started co-sleeping wif us since he was 5mths old n when he got bigger, it was not so fun 2 sleep wif him (it wasnt tat fun in e beginning too cos gotta watch out 4 him when we sleep. husband & i worried we may "squash" him). it wasnt fun when he got bigger cos he flips when he sleeps, turns around all over, kicks us everywhere, head-butts all e time, his legs would b on our face, body, etc. of course, not 4getting e heartwarming moments when gabe knows how 2 snuggle up 2 us. awwww....i miss those moments now cos after since he was 18mths old, he prefers 2 snuggle up 2 his bolster.

i've been trying 2 get him 2 sleep on his own bed but he simply refuses. 2 him, his bed is my bed. "siao liao lor"

4) edward loves 2 grab his feet too. gabe never does tat so it was very fun 2 c edward 2 do so.

Leia Jadon 4mths - 7.2kg
Piyo's Megan @ 4mths - 6.8kg 63cm

Hi isis and floppy
welcome! Isis, your baby's sname wt and length as mine!

hi noe,
long time no hear! where have you been??? ya our lil ones sure have grown!!!

hi kelly,
i dun quite remember but are you the one who brought your bb to see a skin specialist? my gal's rashes on the face is getting worse and spreading, wouldn't go away with the cream PD prescribed...pls advice.

hello everyone! long time no log in.. been busy taking care of ryan cuz after jab got fever again

but since he went for jab, i can update his height n weight too:

Leia Jadon 4mths - 7.2kg
Piyo's Megan @ 4mths - 6.8kg 63cm
butter8's Ryan @ 4mths 1 week - 7.8kg 64.5cm

Happy New Year everyone and hope all baby's have a great year ahead!

how come seems like above babies taking jabs at 4th month? my boi jab was during 3months +, the next jab 5 months +... so my timing different? all of u taking the 6-in-1?

A healthier & happier 2007 to all moms and babies!! i wish all babies enjoy good health in years to come, and love their mommies more and more each day. = ) i'm glad to know the mommies here, and may we learn and share our experiences together and grow together as moms, esp first time moms.

here we go with the update list:
1- smlow Louisa 4mths 2wks - 8.2kg 65.5cm
2 -Leia Jadon 4mths - 7.2kg
3 -Jokojoko Aidan 4mths - 8.2kg 64cm
4 -erin Kayden 4mths - 7.2kg 64cm
5 -kelly's edward 4mths - 7.5kg 64cm (now 5.5mths-8.4kg 66cm)
6 -Noelle's Julien @ 4mths - 6.9kg 66cm
7 -Piyo's Megan @ 4mths - 6.8kg 63cm
8 -butter8's Ryan @ 4mths 1 week - 7.8kg 64.5cm
9 -leobbsmom's Shervonn @ 4mths 3weeks - 6.9kg 64cm

fiona
go c prof giam at nat'l skin centre. wat i did was call NSC, make appt 2 c prof giam

cocomo did e same but was told by prof giam tat u can actually walk in.

u asked abt exersaucer b4? i wont put edward in it cos i dun fancy such toys.

cecelia
pai seh, i juz realised i didnt reply 2 u...my maid & mum'll help 2 take care of my boys when i do go back 2 work.

cynthia
i can only shake my head abt ur ILs. i've heard & come across too many horror stories abt ILs. u take care, really bo pian then juz hv 2 close 1 eye when it comes 2 things tat wont hurt or affect natalie.

hope natalie gets well soon.

pupsandcups
my elder boy gabe teeth-ed at 6mths (as in his teething symptoms started when he was abt 5mths+) n his 1st 2 lower incisors popped out when he was 6mths old. i've come across a few bbs whose 1st tooth popped abt 4-5mths old.

not surprisingly if leon is teething now cos edward's going thru all e symptoms which babyboy's son displayed. e worse is tat e teeth takes a while 2 pop so e crankiness, refusing milk, biting stuff could b here 2 stay for a while.

if i not wrong, gabe's 1st 2teeth took abt 2-3wks 2 pop. so imagine 2-3wks of 'torment' 4 me. after his 2teeth popped, subsequent crankiness/tantrums r predictable so i handled him betta.

thks 4 e info u obtained fr e expert. i too dun hv intentions of stopping BFg cos i believe tat edward can get his nutrients fr e solids tat he'll b taking fr 6mths onwards.

leon is impossibly cute in e santa claus outfit. can i pls borrow it when we meet during e next gathering? i like 2 put edward in it & create some personalised xmas cards 4 next yr. didnt make it 4 tis yr cos i was very busy wif settling gabe's school.

catherine
it's not true tat bbs'll kenna fever when teething. gabe didnt kenna fever 4 most teeth when he was teething. also not true tat when bbs r putting things into their mouth, it means tat he's ready 4 solids. my boys started chewing their fingers/putting things into their mouths when they were abt 4mths but tat doesnt mean readiness 4 solids. it's juz a developmental behavior (bb 1 2 explore their other senses so other than using their hands 2 touch, they start 2 put things in their mouths 2 taste). if u read some bb websites, u can c tat it's all part of bb growing up.

cj
bbs who start their 6-in-1 jabs at 2mths, will hv 2 take a jab at 4mths & 6mths. as for 5-in-1 jabs, the bbs need 2 take jabs at 3,4,5mths n 6mths.
wat type of jabs is kaefer taking?

jesline
edward's PD charges $90 for rotavirus including consultation & GST, excluding medication (if necessary).

we getting edward an education savings plan. no intentions of buying a life ins 4 him. his kor kor gabe has a life ins plan but we switching 2 an education plan 4 him.

leobbsmom,
do join us at e gathering on 13jan if possible. love 2 meet u & ur girl.

SLEEPING FACE DOWN
aiyo, i know i've told piyo tat i NEVER put my boys 2 sleep face-down in e nite cos it's SO dangerous IMO...but edward has been doing so. ever since he knows how 2 flip, he has been flipping in his sleep. not only does he flips in his sleep, he goes round his bed like a helicopter. i've found him sleeping in e opposite direction many times in e morn

i tried 2 flip him back many times but he still flips & flips so me & husband kinda gave up. we juz checked on him many times when we not sleeping yet n husband has 2 b more alert now when he sleeps next 2 edward. (edward sleeps on his own bed while husband bunks wif him on a mattress)

SITTING UP RIGHT
edward started 2 b able 2 sit upright when he was 5mths old. during then his neck not so strong yet so he was bobbing his head most of e time. these few days he can sit well liao...almost abt 5mins. head also stable...not droppy like when he 1st started out sitting.

631139.jpg
631140.jpg

floppy
i hope my above posting answered ur queries. ur bb's neck shld b strong enuff 4 her 2 change her head direction BUT u still need 2 watch her very closely.

seems like aidan is the heavyweight here...

fiona,
aidan went to see prof giam too... she prescribed a very mild steroid cream and a tube of moisturiser... only applied the cream once and apply moisturiser every morning and evening on aidan... now his face no more rashes... the moisturiser good for bb's face/complexion... no steriod just like we use moisturiser...

jokojoko
dun u find prof giam amazing? tat's y after i went 2 her, i 'xin fu kou fu'. i dun even consider bringing gabe 2 PD/GP 4 his skin problems anymore. wasted so much of my time, effort & $$ back then n poor gabe had 2 suffer cos his skin condition didnt improve. he saw prof giam once, applied e cream n in 2 days, all rashes gone.

so 4 edward, if he kenna sensitive skin, i 'zi tao' go 2 prof giam.

hi kelly/joko,
thanks so much! i'll call up NSC first bcos it's PH for the next few days, have to see my poor gal's red red face for a while more liao...

kelly,
oh ya..i did ask about exersaucer. can share why you dun like it? i may not get it also bcos i'm thinking of getting a safety gate instead to keep my dog out then i'll juz lay the foam mat on floor for bb to play.

edward looks so sturdy sitting in the pic, and he's doing great in the video too! till now, denise's still lying comfortably on her back with no sign of flipping, except that she really loves to be in the sitting up position too, but with some help from us of course...hee

fiona
i find tat bbs shld b left 2 explore, esp when they r during e crawling or learning 2 walk stage. i dun like putting my boys in an exersaucer (i find it restrictive) n play wif juz those toys merely in front of them. after a while, they may find it boring n an exersaucer not cheap lor...4 min $100, i tik i can buy 4-5toys, leave e toys lying around, let edward move towards it or sit near it & play wif it.

mummies may not b putting their bbs 2 sit in it 4 long but 2 me, it's somewhat similar 2 a walker (i used 2 hv a walker which hv toys in front of it).

hi kelly,
ya, glad i brot him to see prof giam... the cream that PD gave was too strong... never heal and like "eroding" the skin...

fiona,
they may give u an appt date that is too long cuz got queue.. but asked them to call u if anyone cancels the slot, i got mine same day cuz someone cancelled.. otherwise gotta wait 2 weeks...

hi cocomo,
re. SOYMILK, my PD instructed me to switch back to normal formula milk once aidan's got betta... think soymilk's nutrients level not as good as formula milk... just my guess...

Hi Piyo,
Yeah, my boys have grown up quickly indeed.
I've been browsing through the postings but most times unble to participate as I need to return to attending to them.
Jul requires lots of attention & he doesn't take to others carrying him for long, doesn't sit in the rocker/bouncer for long.
Tiring for me ...

Wow Kelly,
Ed's doing a great job!
It's so encouraging watching him commando crawl.
Jul's yet to flip yet. He babbles & drools a lot.
Joe & Jav hardly drooled during their infant days so this is new to me.

kelly,
yah an exersaucer doesn't come cheap at all... and i agree that bb should get the chance to explore as much as possible. then i shall get the safety gate which will serve better purpose, thanks!

joko,
thanks for the info, think they'll entertain walk in? i'll call up NSC and check whether prog giam got clinic for the day then maybe just pop in and hope won't have to wait too long...2 weeks kinda far.

And hereby wishing all Mommies & Babies a wonderful 2007, hope everyone will be healthy & happy while staying young & energetic (so that have strength to chase after our bbs in years to come...haha)!!

Update list:
10-Fiona's Denise @ 4mths - 6.8kg 63cm

fiona,
ur girl rashes on her face very bad? or just like one patch one patch.
normally i use jonhson baby lotion for her rashes on her face. next day its gone leh. esp my girl can scratch her face until bleed i also apply johnson baby lotion and it heals very fast. but dunnoe ur girl allergy or not so better ur see PD

hello piyo,
she is 4 months 3 weeks with wieght/length of 6.8kg/63cm. so much smaller compared to others.

Kelly,
Edward is so cute. My Ying Fei will start crying after she's on the belly for ard 1 mintue cos she still don't know how to flip herself back yet. But everytime after I "rescue" her, she will right away flip herself on the belly again. Hee...

Floopy,
My daughter does that also. But I let her be cos now her neck muscle is quite strong so risk of suffocation is low. But i do keep an eye on her (She is sleeping with us).

Update list:
10-Fiona's Denise @ 4mths - 6.8kg 63cm
11-Isis's Ying fei @ 4 mths 3 weeks - 6.8kg 63 cm

Hi Isis,
my boy also the same. flip over then after some time, sian already, starting wailing. after i 'rescued' him, he'll flip over again.

Hi kelly,
re: sitting unsupported
kayden also just started sitting unsupported. but can only last for 2 to 3 mins. but he sits like a frog though. body is hunched and his hands are grabbing his feet. lol. and if u call him or put something in front of him, he'll try to reach out and then collapse on his face. will put up his photo after i upload.

hi cat,
it's bad...especially the one right below her chin, got fluid oozing from it. tried most possible remedies and PD prescribed cream but it only worsen...haiz