(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Jasmine,

1st day pumping in the office is BAD. But it seems to get slightly better after taking goat's rue since Tues. I'm pumping 3x in the office but it's a miserly ~11 oz.

It's frightening when my mum tells me my boy is taking 4.5oz every 3hr (~18oz from 9am-6pm) or so and still can stomach more. So far, including the evening, night and morning pumping, I'm just right about matching his demand.

Hope supply improves a lil more, so I don't have to worry whether there's enough for tomorrow or not. Hahaha... first time in my life I'm worrying whether tomorrow got enough food or not... though I've already saved up some since Nov for "rainy days", but preferred not to touch my "savings". :D

I remembered some of the mommies here mentioning that they are giving their expressed milk to their babies based on LIFO (last in first out) basis. I personally feel that shld be the way too.

Read somewhere that the mother will start producing antibodies when she comes into contact with some virus and stuff and in a few hours, her milk will also contain those antibodies, and will be passed on to her nursing baby.

That being the case, it will make most sense to give her baby the "newest" milk cos that will best meet his needs for the moment in his environment.

Also read somewhere that at different stages of the baby's development, the mother's milk content will "change" somewhat to meet the needs of the baby at that stage. As such, may not be most ideal to give milk produced at 1 mth to baby that is already 3 mths.

I believe there's some truth in the above. Though there's nothing wrong with giving "old" milk to baby, but where possible, give the "newest".

My HB has gone to the doc for at least 3x over the past 3.5mths for cough and sore throat. He still carried and played with baby as per normal. So far, we haven't need to see the doc yet.

Hi cocomo,
How is Jay? Betta? U still feed him with porridge water or had start on FM? Take care of yourself ok.

For readymake bb food, i actually not encourage it as they contain some preservative to make the food in good condition on the shelf. If possible go for handmade (i know that is troublesome) but worth it for our precious bb's sake

Dear Mommies,
I notice my gal reject FM (similac) eversince i given her some juice, fruits n white bread for her to taste. R u facing the same prob?

jesline
tat's e book. u'll find tat tis book more western, more ang mo...not so situated 4 asian context but i read it for e info on nutrition, how 2 prepare meals, etc

Hey mommies,

I recommend another book 'Feed Your Child Right' by Lynn Alexander and Yeong Boon Yee.

Found this treasure at Popular. Like it as it is a nutritional guide for Asian parents. Have many recipes which are easy to make and think closer to what our parents or in-laws will cook for our children. The book has recipes for weaning age till school-going age.

Have also bought another book by Annabel ... Can't recall the author's full name. Find it so so cos the recipes require lots of preparation and too westernised. However, like the recipes for initial weaning, such as various purees

SIMILAC for sale

any of u keen to buy Similac for 0-6months from me? 400grams, unopened. U can name your price... my hubby bought that time when i had a fever he thought i'd be not well enough to bfeed, but i still did....

Leia
Agree about bmilk being good for keeping baby healthy. leon has been around q a few ill babies/kids but so far he's always ok. vaccination also no fever.

FLIPPING
leon has been flipping to his tummy for the past 3 weeks now. can i ask, how to encourage or aid/teach him to flip back? he knows how to pull out one hand but not the other .. dunno what to do, i jus put him back on his back when he starts being too frustrated.

hi pupsandcups,
kayden has the same problem too. doesn't know how to flip back. he'll get frustrated after being on his tummy for too long and I have to flip him back.

it's so troublesome nowsadays since he started flipping. wanted to flip during changing time. i haven't even finishing drying him or apply lotion on him and he's on his tummy liao. changing diapers also the same problem. have to get my parents or hubby to hold him down.

hi cecelia,
kayden has been rejecting milk for a long time and I haven't even introduce him solids yet. haiz... if he wants to play (during the day time), he'll not drink a lot. force him to drink also no use. he'll cry. he only drinks a lot during evening time or during his last feed.

Leia, so what happened to the "oldest" expresed milk? we throw them away from 3mths?

for me, sometimes FIFO method makes sense for me, but I cant bear to freeze the freshest milk and let me girl drinks the "old" milk leh...

S26 GOLD & Isomil - 900gm for sale
I have a tin of each to sell coz my hubby bought them for standby...expiry date in Oct 2008. dun mind to let go at a low low price...

Kelly/cecelia/cat,
Thanks, I started to give Jay soy milk last night and he's better, only poo twice this morning. Will replace soy milk for 4 feeds today and see how. But then nowadays he wakes up quite often for feed le. I fed him at 11pm, 2am and 5:30am. And 6:45am gotta wake up pump milk. so tired.

pups, erin,
haha....i also facing the same prob with jay...he has started flipping so easily and so fast that i juz turn my back and he is on his tummy alr..aiyo headache...now like wat u said, 1 of us have to be there to hold him when changing his diaper..:p But he also dunno how to flip back leh..n after a while he will also get frustrated being on his tummy n we have to flip him back...

i saw the BP for the ice cubes leh..seems exp..thou of maybe buying 1 tray for a start...anyone bought any cheaper n more economical one...from where ah??i am interested to prepare home made food for jay when he can start eating...
mummies who are bfing, we r approaching the 6mths min guidelines, any mummies will continue feeding BM still? also how long can frozen BM be kept in the freezer ah? can be longer than 2mths or not? coz mine is a separate compartment from the fridge...n i got quite a bit n like wasted to throw away..

pups, erin, augbb
edward started knowing how 2 flip fr tummy 2 back 1st, abt 1mth+ back. tat's y when he knew how 2 flip fr back 2 tummy 2wks ago, he can flip with ease now.

then it's also e headache part cos he can flip nonstop. if i placed him in e middle of my bed, he does 3flips n ends up by e edge. i placed him on his back, so he flips 2 his tummy, then 2 his back, then 2 his tummy again n by then he's at e edge. very scary!

pupsandcups
i didnt train or encourage edward 2 flip fr his tummy 2 his back. he does it on his own. initially he cant so very frustrating but once he gets e hang of it, very easy. in fact i tik he flips fr tummy 2 back much easier than back 2 tummy.

augbb,
i'll b BFg. if i do get a job, i'll still BF til 14-15mths. i may give FM 2 make it easier 4 e maid 2 handle edward...warming up EBM takes time n a screaming edward will not make e situation any betta 4 my maid 2 handle.

hi catherine,
but how do we increase the amt of milk if baby refuse to drink? My boy is still drinking abt 100ml every 3 hrly except for nite feeds. he'll drink 165ml for his last feed at 12pm and wake up at 6.30am for his next feed. I was hoping he'll drink more but less frequently.

hi kelly,
so u will be going to IE 1st if offered? but there's no where to store bm leh. perhaps u have to get the fridge-to-go then. do inform us if u get the job.

about flipping.
ya wats the next step after flipping? cos leon quite clearly doesnt know how to flip back, but he absolutely loves, practically must be 'jumping' all the tine, or he will 'complain' (make ek ek ek sounds). he loves to think he can walk, altho obviously he can't la. and he can't sit at all, will flop forward. what is the next step ah, sitting or turning back or what?
bought him a 2nd hand play pen n he hates it
hopefully when he starts to sit we can put him in it. no choice have to put him in playpen cos my mom's house has dogs.

fruit store uncle was telling me one of his workers the maid dropped the 4mth old baby, and the baby DIED from head injury. totally freaks me out these stories.

cat,
But his PD said give 4OZ only coz he is having diarrhea. Maybe when he ok that time then I increase lo. Me so sleepy, now almost wanna fall asleep liao.

Leia,
I gave Jay the lastest EBM. Will clear the fridge daily and put the oldest access EBM to freezer. But for frozen BM, I will clear it FIFO method (discarded or give to my friend's daughter) coz nowadays never give Jay the frozen one, only feed the fresh EBM.

erin/kelly/augustmum/cecelia & other mummies,
No problem to give bebe eat frozen food huh? My mom always say kid shouldnt talk too much cold things le, and must cook first b4 let them eat. So dunno if the frozen purees good for them?

Augbaby,
I will keep the frozen EBM for about 2 months (plus minus).

hi pups,
kayden also the same. think he's so smart. can walk. keep wanting us to hold on to him and let him walk. will chuckle aloud when he walks. jumps and jumps on our legs if we hold him upright facing us when we sit down. also can't sit yet. will flop la. me also curious abt the next step of development leh. hoping he can sit upright soon. then can play ball with him. now always have to support him. very difficult to play with him.

oh my gosh. so pitiful. the baby landed head first ah?

hi cocomo,
i din buy the freezer tray cos dunno whether i will persist in making purees or not. most prob, will mak cereal and porridge when he's older. me also lazy.

Cocomo,

No no, we don't give them in frozen form
You take out the frozen food cube, heat it in a pan till piping hot. let it cool after heating and test the temp before giving to baby.

Food once thawed cannot be frozen again.

taken from Annabel karmel's book:

freezing puree

allow freshly cooked puree to cool to rm temp, then spoon it into clean ice-cube tray. Wrap in a freezer bag/ ziplock bag and transfer the tray to freezer. When frozen, remove the trays fr freezer. Push out the food cubes and transfer the cubes to a fresh freezer bag, seal tightly abd label the date and content. return to freezer and can keep up to 6 weeks.

when needed, just take the required no. of cubes and heat it up.

kelly,
ed is so smart and cute..thou it is scary huh when he knows how to flip both ways n ended up near the edge of the bed...
i also thou of continue to bf, but i wont be so strict after that i guess...coz now working like always not eno sleep...my time after work is all abt pumping, sterilise, latch n transferring milk...

erin,
jay also still dun drink much milk..intake still at 120ml max..but we r thinking of mixing powdered brown rice into his night feed and it is said that the baby will sleep through the nite..not sure if it is true thou..anyway his growth is ok...n i dun worry that much...he is now 7.01 at 4mths 2wks...

juz curious ah..does yr bb suck their index finger or thumb huh? my mum v cute...coz jay suck his index finger and she says it indicates he love his mummy...haha...faint...but if thumb then its daddy..haha...

I dislike the flipping stage too. Zac can also flip all over his bumper mat and playpen. Three flips, and he will be at the other end of his playpen. Cannot leave him on bed anymore.

Now, he seems to be pushing himself forward -lifting his hips high, with legs tucked below and pushing body forward. another headache coming soon. His bro. started crawling before 6 months and gave us so much problem then.

hi erin
yep leon is the same, will laff as if he think he can walk. it's cute, but vv tiring, my mom said her arms buay tahan already. sigh at work always thinking abt baby non stop, i really not suited to be working mom.

apparently the bb was in coma for a week, then died in KK. freaky.

augbaby,

i got locknlock. they have a container which can put three ice trays in. can cover it. Jumbo sized Ziplock bags will do.

However, I seldom use food cubes. Most of the time, cook fresh porridge using slow cooker. I like to make soup stock cubes though.

kelly,
mine is annabel's feeding yr baby and toddler.

oh leon is super light
6.25kg only!! and only 61cm. but my PD said he's at the 50th percentile altho i don believe. SIGH. my hubby n me are not say that small ... seh lah, next time how to find gf so small size.

how to make him gain weight? but he really drinks rather a lot of milk leh .. mb my milk not fattening? sigh 6.25kg i believe mus be the lightest bb in the forum

pups,

You can refer to the health booklet and check the percentile. The last few pages...

Fat fat also not too good. Too heavy, cannot crawl, cannot flip. Do you want that? healthy and happy, can liao

augustmum

i referred to the book, yeah he seems normal, but really q a lot of people have commented he's small sized. still got people think he's like just born u know. n cos he got so little hair, a lot of ah ma on the streets, ask me if im taking him out first time after man yue ...

ya he's healthy, so i guess i guess he's still blessed.

622793.jpg

i really miss leon badly .. crazy annot, sometimes i feel like i'll cry jus missing him. today im working full day n been thinking about him all the time.

pups,
dun worry too much abt it...since doc say he is fine..he could juz be small size..jayden is 64cm at 3mths so now i dun noe if he has grown taller...but he is taller, so i guess he be heavier as well...

augustmum,
okie tks..btw wat type of ice tray u bought ah n from where?

augbb,
true true! i can sort of see the resemblance. sigh i really not in the mood to work today but got work to do.
i miss leon so much. wan to hold him so badly.

any mommies planning on going on holiday without bb? cos hubby n me havent had a chance to go on honeymoon cos of baby, but hubby wants to go for one, but i think even 3-4 days i will miss leon like siao.

pups
ya he can..haha...i even hav shots of him taking a rest on his albow when he is tired after lifting his head for long period of time..haha..

My boy is one of the youngest among the lot, and he's also beginning to flip already. Changed his diaper yesterday morning, went in to the bathroom and wash my hand for a split second and when I came out, he's on his tummy already! Last weekend, he's still not showing much signs of being able to flip by himself. And I've only gone back to work for 3 days and then, suddenly, he knows how to flip already!

Btw, do your babies love to see themselves in the mirror? Apparently, my boy will smile when he looks at the mirror. My dad says he recognises himself, but I don't think babies at this stage have the awareness yet leh. *scratch head*

leobbsmom,

Oldest milk after 3 mths, I guess can give baby for 1 or 2 feeds lor, if don't want to waste it... Or give away to people... Or throw away lor.

If you have bountiful supply, then give the best and the freshest to baby. It's people like me that needs to scrimp and save - supply about equals demand. :p

pups,

After flip then learn to crawl. If they never get on their tummies, they will never be able to learn to crawl. :D

mommies with experience,

May I ask from 6 mths onwards, after bb begin to take solid food, how much milk feed per day did you give your bb last time? And what is the qty per feed?

Separation anxiety...

I do think of my boy sometimes when I'm in the office. But I've been quite busy so far and so there's not much time to think either... except when I'm expressing milk.

I brought my boy to my office several times over the past months when I'm on ML and I remember once I had to look for a colleague and I left him in the stroller with my mom at the sitting area beneath the escalator on the ground floor. Somehow, I have this like a snapshot in my mind. Now that I'm back to work, I have to walk pass that area every now and then, and when I see a stroller parked there, it struck me that it might be him and I'd look again, and look hard, but only to be disappointed. Jia lat hor? :p

hi augustmum,
thanks for the info abt the frozen puree cubes.

hi augbaby,
jayden is q. tall hor. kayden quite short leh. 64cm only at 4 months. just now i measured him. he's only 65cm. only gained 2cm each month now. kayden sucks his fist, thumb and index finger.

from the pics, can see jayden always looking at megan mei mei hor whereas ningyo's yongjie is like chatting with yee ling hor. so cute.
all in pairs.

hi pups,
i also worried that kayden will be short next time cos hb and i not tall mah. kayden has little hair like leon. keke...
my dad and i also cannot tahan. i will be like so tired and my back aches.
dunno why i always find kayden and leon quite similar. perhaps it's the smile and the hair. keke... kayden has very little hair too.

622954.jpg

kayden sitting on my friend's son's bumbo.

Augustmum,
Thanks for the info on freezing puree! Think I am gonna get the book liao. Really scare Jay unwell again, so muz be 100% careful now.

Hi Pups,
Ur Leon so handsome. Slowly.. take time to adjust yourself. Remember myself last time cry in the office 1st day after ML. Think back so... malu.

My gal oso not being able to be on her elbow yet.

Augbaby,
wah... u so 'on' har, taking every movement of jay. U must be hving camera standby with you 24hrs.