(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

hi noe,
no worries. appreciate ur helping me to look for the info.

hi kelly,
thanks for collecting the books for me. ya, quite true. i was having a cold when i gave birth and now also always fall sick. sigh...

hi cocomo,
so sorry to hear about jayden.

hi kelly,
u collected the brainy books from firstmum already ah? asked her when she's going to post the books but no answer...

aidan went for 5in1 jab yesterday and this afternoon still got fever... hopefully no more fever tomorrow... i worried so told my boss extending another 2 days leave...

Some thoughts that went through my head today...

I'm a regular visitor to the BP threads and it amazes me how BP for books, flash cards and the likes are always so hot with mommies. It never struck me that I can start my boy on these things so early and today, I found myself browsing through the piles of flash cards and sound books at Popular. It's like a sort of kiasu mentality. If the other babies of my boy's age are starting so early, then I musn't let him lose out too. :D

Then I found myself wondering, what do babies at this stage really want and need? I have no doubts that flash cards and sound books may amuse them... for as long as their attention span can hold. Then again, I guess so do faces of people on the streets, the feel of soft fur running across their cheeks, the smell of ice cream and a lot of other things.

My HB was brought up by his maternal grandparents (his bro by his paternal grandparents). His mum is a teacher, while his retired dad used to be some high ranking personel in some MNC. He stayed at his grandparents home from Monday - Friday till he was in late Pri school or early Sec school. That was when he went home permanently and stayed with his parents. They never visited him on weekdays. I asked him today, if he did feel resentful about this whole arrangement back then. I wasn't surprised by his answer. I gathered that grandparents can never replace the roles of parents. Otoh, my mum's a housewife and I was taken care of by her when I was young. My retired dad was a production operator in some factory. We lived in a 3 rm flat and shifted to a 5 rm flat when I was 12. I don't remember him having problems making ends meet. I do remember I have no lack of toys. We don't go to fancy restaurants but an extravagant meal is having zi-zhar at the coffee shop. Till I was about 21, I still find that a meal costing >$10 is extravagant.

These days, we chase after so much material things... yeah, the don't know how many "C's"... car (or cars), condo (or condos), country club (or country clubs)... and the "C" that we do not hesitate to sacrifice, is our children. The most amusing thing I heard this weekend, and I can't remember from who, was someone saying that some grandparents have decided to help their daughter look after her child so that their daughter can "concentrate on her career". Though I can't be too sure of the background, it does sound to me like the daughter is quite keen on advancing her career and is quite reluctant to retreat from the workforce *shrug* I was secretly glad that I do not have much of a "career" to talk about... else I guess it will be harder to let go when I have a chance to next time... hopefully... :p

Having said so much, I find it hard to kid myself that the childcare arrangement that I have after I return to work in mid Dec is the best one. Yes, I have the luxury of my parents to take care of my boy, and after going through quite a bit of "things", they are now a mere 5 mins drive away. Sounds like wonderful. But when I think of the amount of time that I have with my boy from mid Dec... weekends + 2+hrs on weekdays (should be about bedtime when I fetch him home), this is very little or almost no time. Is that the sort of mom I want to be? Is this going to be the best for my boy, and will he be happy? *shrug* Unless I stop working, else I think it may be hard for me to want a second child when I can hardly spare time for my first.

Just some thoughts...

Hi Leia,

Thanks for your sharing. Very insightful.

Now my turn to share...

I went back to work when my first child turned one. True enough, the extra income really helps a lot but hubby and I plus mil aren't happy.

Mil had difficulty in coping because of her poor health. Hubby and I were burdened by guilt cos we had to sent our son at 6.20am every morning to mil's house and take him home only after 9pm.We were also frustrated as we faced work stress and when we were home, we had to entertain the little one who refused to sleep so that mommy and daddy could spent time with him. We became poor parents plus poor employees. A lose lose situation.

We became angry with ourselves and to the caregiver cos' our child was not properly stimulated but exposed to TV only. However, who could we blame actually? Mil is old and not really educated.

So, when my second child arrived, I took a year leave. During this year, I shall consider if I am to go back to work. As days pass by, I have somehow become reluctant to go back to work.

I am amazed at how fast and how much my first child learns when he is with me. I am also glad that when he falls down, he now comes to me instead of to my mil. I really enjoy the rough play with him. I really regretted depriving him of parental love for one year.

In addition, I always thought my first son was noti cos mil was always complaining and he was also very hyperactive at night. However, I realised this is not true after spending more time with him. Now, with a more structured lifestyle, he is more predictable, and more well behaved.

I still worry about the loss of income but the joy really outweighs everything.

FIRST TEETH BABY TOOTHPASTE
a mummy asked abt tis earlier...

i started brushing gabe's teeth wif tis when he was abt 15-16mths old. dun ask me y i use tis and i dun use the other kiddy toothpastes. cos i didnt bother 2 check out the other kiddy toothpastes and tis was recommended 2 me by my frien. quite gd cos it comes wif a finger brush so it helps me 2 brush my son's teeth well.

dun buy fr outside cos VERY EX. buy thru e BP which is <$8.50. if i not wrong, KP sells it for S$19.

SENSITIVE SKIN
my elder boy gabe was diagnosed wif sensitive skin since he was 3-4mths old. his condition was rather bad as his rashes near his fat folds &amp; neck wont go off, despite me visiting GPs &amp; his PD.

when he was 6mths old, i brought him 2 c Prof Giam fr Nat'l Skin Centre. i still rememebered tat visit very clearly. i presented gabe 2 her, placed for 4-5tubes of cream (prescribed fr GPs &amp; PD) 2 her and explained his condition. Prof Giam was patient enuff 2 go thru all e creams wif me, telling me how e PD/GP prescribed wrongly, hence gabe's condition didnt improve. Prof Giam then prescribed something 4 him, introduced PhysioGel 2 him. Viola, his rashes went off two days later and rarely bothered him again. When it did, i juz applied e cream and off it went.

Since then, whenever friens or fellow mummies in tis forum complained 2 me abt sensitive skin, i introduced Prof Giam 2 them and they never regretted visiting her.

Noe,
2 spend $700+ on skin treatments is very ex. My visit 2 Prof Giam at NSC only cost me $100+ and i didnt hv 2 bring gabe back until he was 18mths old (he was supposed 2 go back for a review when he was 1yr old but his condition was stabilised so i felt it didnt warrant a visit 2 NSC). e visit at 18mths was due 2 my MIL (who took care of him for 4mths while i worked fr jan-apr) who kept putting powder on him after his bath &amp; whenever he sweats (despite me telling her MANY TIMES not 2 use powder on gabe). In the end, i had 2 spend $80+ 2 make her learn her lesson.

piyo,
u asked abt e covered toes pyjamas rt? mayb buy until 12-18mths cos tat was e last size gabe used.

u asked abt flashcards too rt? i dun buy e idea of flashcards cos u must b a diligent &amp; hardworking mummy 2 flash constantly and faithfully. it defeats e purpose if u flash 2day, dun flash 2mrw, flash for e next few days then dun flash again. i'm not such a "kut-lat" mummy so i didnt invest in any flashcards.
books 2 me r gd enuff.

leia, augustmum,
thks 4 sharing. i love 2 read y other mummies chose 2 b SAHMs or FTWM (both professions all very wei-da).

augustmum,
i agree wif u 101% abt e loss of income but e joy of watching ur kids grow outweighs EVERYTHING.

here's my story...

i chose 2 b a SAHM when i was 22yrs old. yup, i wasnt married then and i was still dating my husband. y at tat age? bcos my ex-colleague made me realise it.

my ex-colleague cried 1 day when she hung up e phone. i sat next 2 her and asked her y. she told me tat her son said e 1st word 'ball' and she wasnt there 2 hear it. who heard it? her maid &amp; her maid was nice enuff 2 call her &amp; tell her.

at 22yrs old, i dunno how 2 console my colleague but at tat instance, i told myself tat i wont allow a foreign person or my parents/ILs 2 tell me wat my kid 1st achieved. i wanna b e 1st person 2 c it, cheer/praise my kid abt it &amp; share e joy wif husband &amp; every1 else. after continuing working wif her, e NEED (not a want) 2 b a SAHM became stronger. my ex-colleague shared wif me how her son was closer 2 e maid, would wait 4 e maid 2 tuck him in bed (and not her), etc.

when i became preggie, i reminded my husband abt being a SAHM. he didnt refuse my request but he also didnt encourage it. we had loans (car, reno, study) 2 settle, not 4getting a few credit card outstanding debts (fr too much retail therapy &amp; overseas trips).

when i popped, e urge 2 b a SAHM became stronger &amp; stronger. i popped in Oct 2004 and was due 2 return 2 work in end Jan05 (i took 1mth paid leave, on top of my 3mths ML).

by early Jan05 (when gabe was abt 3mths old, when he was becoming more fun 2 b wif everyday), i was SERIOUSLY tiking of quitting. husband kept asking me if i was sure, am i able 2 change my extravagant spend-like-water lifestyle, etc (husband didnt tik i was able 2) but i assured husband tat i can &amp; will learn 2 shop/spend/eat out/entertain/travel less.

it was even harder cos i was earning abt 3x more than husband's income so without my income, we lost 75% of income. we cleared our credit card debts &amp; study loan but it was e car/reno loans which was still ongoing. days ahead would b VERY TOUGH without my fortnitely mani/pedi, dinners at restaurants 1-2x wkly, entertaining friens at coffee joints/movies/clubbing, mthly facials &amp; spa retreats, 2-3holidays every yr, retail therapy as &amp; when i like (when happy, go shopping. when sad, go shopping. when angry wif husband, go shopping - kinda pattern), etc (yes, i do spent A LOT but mostly impulse purchases)

i tot abt it for 1 MONTH...on 8feb05, i gave my boss my resignation letter. i NEVER regretted 1 day of being a SAHM. yes, we had lesser $$ but we had more fun. i didnt know being a SAHM can b SO rewarding. i used 2 b in sales in e banking industry and when i closed big deals (>$500K of investments), i would b so thrilled tat i would treat husband/friens, go shopping, etc. But being a SAHM, e rewards are more than wat i used 2 achieve back in e workforce. i knew if i left my boy wif my ILs, i would b a terrible employee (cos i cant concentrate at work &amp; probably need 2 take leave now &amp; then), i would also b a terrible mum (cos i need 2 put in long hrs &amp; meet clients after work) and i would probably b a terrible DIL too cos i dun trust my ILs or anyone else 2 provide e best care for my son. IMO, only ME can provide e best care. wif tis kinda mentality (very possessive mummy and unable-to-concentrate employee), e option of being a SAHM was very clear.

it was tough on my husband &amp; we do argued at times when we dun hv funds 2 travel like other families of FT working parents (we dun argue abt buying material gds cos husband &amp; i believe tat our son can learn &amp; hv fun fr simple things in life and we were also blessed 2 receive many gifts fr friens &amp; relatives)

so after becoming a SAHM for 25mths, i've learned 2 spend much much less (i would find cheap clothing bargains 4 my boy by joining BP, borrow books fr library &amp; confirmed liking it b4 buying it, use all my tons of creams/perfumes which i doubt i'll ever get 2 use IF i'm still a FTWM cos i'll keep buying &amp; buying) and eat out less (cooking at home more nutritious &amp; cheaper). husband managed 2 bring us on a trip 2 KL/Genting last Oct (which was gd enuff 4 me). we did watched movies, ate out at decent restaurants a few times &amp; bought a few big-ticket items (such as new camera, laptop, etc).

in summary, my life is no longer tat materialistic but more fulfilling &amp; rewarding. 2 me, $$ &amp; climbing up e corporate ladder isnt wat i want cos my boys only grow up ONCE. i can always go back 2 work when my boys r bigger but my boys cant wait 4 me 2 c them grow up.

DISCLAIMER:
i'm not saying being a FTWM is bad. it's all boiled down 2 choices &amp; making lifestyle changes. some mummies juz cant b SAHM. i know a few friens who r like tat. some mummies also cant b SAHM bcos of financial commitments. in any instances, all mummies r wei-da. 4 me, i juz not cut out 2 b a FTWM but i admire those who r.

when i was a FTWM fr jan-apr tis yr, i felt so guilty and felt tat my boy wont b close 2 me (aiya, me possessive mum), blah blah blah

pai seh 4 my long story...me very lor-soh

jokojoko
u got e organiser's HP no? y dun u sms her? faster response. if u 1, i can ask her 2 contact u.

erin
aiya, no worries lah. see ya on tues.
ya lor, i was sick when i gave birth 2 edward so now easily fall sick.

kelly, augustmum,

Truely appreciate your most candid and heart to heart sharing.

augustmum,

Discern well during your one year leave and I do hope from the bottom of my heart that the choice you'll make eventually will be the best one

Hi Kelly/Augustmum/Leia,
Thanks so much for sharing. Like I told Kelly b4, I admire mums like you who can be a SAHM cos I belong to those who is better off being a FTWM
For me, work keeps me sane. If I stay at home 24*7, I will go insane. I am not a mum who goes goo-goo-ga-ga over my baby (so bad right?)

I just came back to work last week and as much as I hate to leave my ger with my parents and maid, it feels good to be back to office. &amp; for our lifestyle to continue the way it is and buy her things that she may need/want from now till she grows up, I can't stay at home. I told myself I will have to make do with quality time spent with my ger when I reached home and during the weekends.

Of course, if I have a choice, I MIGHT consider staying at home but on the other hand, I am not the very patient sort of mums so I may makes things worse if I am at home 24*7. I may end up killing her haha! I felt I am more patient with my ger after I come home from work and during the weekends. Perhaps it may be due to the fact that I dun spend the whole day with her
Guess this arrangement works well for me for now.. maybe when she learns to crawl and walk and talk, I may think differently...

Hi Leia,Augustmum &amp; Kelly,
Really great of u to quit ur jobs n be SAHM. Dont think i'll be able to do that &amp; if i really do.....er, its becoz i hope to have noon naps &amp; tv sessions. Shame on me!

Guess i'm still not too used to being a mum &amp; too reliant on my mum. I'm lucky that my mum's looking after my boy for me and her health is good coz she's considered young, early 50s. Her thinkings are pretty modern and she's receptive too.So, i'm borrowing books from library for her to read up on babies.

With her help, i can concentrate on my job (note:not career, am never ambitious).

Sometimes, i feel that my mum seems more like my boy's mummy than me.

I only bring my boy home on weekends but usually weekends we'll go out shopping. My mum will also join us and most of them time, she's the 1 pushing the stroller.

Bad bad me hope that by the time i have my 2nd baby, my mum can still help me....

Hi, Kelly/Auguatmum/Leia/piyo

Thanks for sharing your thoughts on being SAHM &amp; FTWM..

I really envy those SAHM who can stay at home looking after their precious baby &amp; showering them with so much love everyday unlike a FTWM who can only shower baby with love after work &amp; during weekends..

For me, I too like to a SAHM but there are too many financial commitments (Housing loan, car loan) &amp; cant bear to see my hubby carrying these heavy burden by himself so had to continues working.really miss baby during work. Haiz.. no choice lor. with additional income, can provide the best for baby but of course nothing can be compared to mothers love which is priceless..

Think had to wait until I strike Toto or 4D before can stay at home looking after baby hee hee hee.

cocomo/smlow,
When I saw your maid at the last gathering, I felt that she was much better than my maid! I can never leave my maid to test the water in the tub cos most often than not, it is always NEVER warm enuf. So bathing every morning and night has to come under my mum and our supervision.

My arrangement is 3 weeks b4 I went back to work, we shifted back to our parents place as my place is undergoing upgrading and we gathered that the noise and dust on a daily affair is not healthy for megan. Plus I "bu fang xin" leave my ger with the maid alone for so long in the day. The shuffling from my place to my mum's place in the morning and later back home at night may be very rushed for us during the weekdays. So we concluded best shift back for the time being for the weekdays and weekends move back to our house again. A bit cumbersome but this arrangement works fine for all. My ger gets lots of interaction with grandparents and her uncle (my bro), my maid get supervised, although in the afternoon, she is left at home with my mum's maid (that's y I am thinking of webcam to combat this area) and we get private time to spend with her during the weekends and some nights

smlow,
when you shift back during the weekends last time, do you have2 of everything, 1 in your PIL place and 1 in your own home? cos the packing of stuffs back home is horrendous!

Hi piyo

agreed with u that packing of everything baby need is horrendous....

i will go to mil house to play &amp; rock baby to sleep everynight &amp; every friday, i will fetch baby home &amp; then on saturday, will bring baby to my mother house to stay until friday.... so every time, got to bring lot of stuffs over.... so in the end, bought additional 2 more sterilisers one at mother house &amp; one in mil house... so for me, there is 3 of everything... quite shiong...

augustmum,
how do u know yr boys have enzema? Do u only know when u brought them to PD? Coz i hav enzema so rather worried if jayden will have it too...

Piyo,
did u manage to collect the brainy books from firstMum yest?

Hi Augbaby,
So sorry no I didn't cos was delayed by baby and could not get out of the house. But I am liaising with First Mum to collect them. If really can't then we arrange by postage would that be ok with you?

Hi ningyo,
I also depends a lot on my mum...like yours she is quite young so can help me handle... without her, not sure how things will work out hehe.. and with her, I can consider having no.2 else very difficult..

Hi jesline,
... ya $$$ not enuf!must go find $$$ haha!agree on the packing.. sometimes it deters us to go bk our own house cos so many things to pack, our clothes, baby clothes, baby stuffs, toys etc... can faint... I ended up buying a cold water steriliser from mothercare over the weekend to put at my own house for the weekend... wonder what other things that i need 2???

How long do we need to monitor on the fever after the 5in1 jab? 1 day or a few days? We brot megan for her 1st 5-in1 jab and rotovirus as well on Satso far touchwood... no negative effects on her...got the details too..so happy she has moved up to the 50% percentile hehe..

Mummies Nick Baby's Name Height Weight Headcircumference Week/Month
Fiona Denise 60.5cm 6kg 11wk
Augbaby Jayden 64cm 6.235kg 3mth
ningyo Yongjie 62cm 6.8kg 43cm 3mth
jesline81 Jia Hui 60cm 6.2kg 3mth
kelly Edward 64cm 6.8kg 3mths, 7.2kg at 3.5mths
Augustmum Zac 60.6cm 6.4kg 41 cm 3mths
Jasmine Lau Jadelle 61cm 5 kg, head circumference unknown 10 weeks
smlow Louisa 63cm 7.6kg 41.5cm 3 months 1 week
erin00 kayden 62cm 6.7kg 41cm 3 months 1 day
Honeyhaven Kayden 63cm 7.2kg 3mths
jokojoko aidan 62cm 7.2kg 40.5cm 3mths
piyo megan 60cm 6.03kg 39cm 3mths

Hi, piyo

Ya. $$ is really not enough. Think with the GST hike next yr, bus fares, MRT, electrical bills all going up but SALARY not UP, confirmed not ENOUGH.. without $$, think a lot of things cannot do like taking baby for the optional jabs such as Rotavirus &amp; etc.

For me, whatever stuffs I had at home, will buy extra sets for my mother &amp; mil house.
Lu yi you
Pampers
Diaper cloth
Pillows
Yao lan
Sterilizers
Baby clothes
Socks
2 Musical bear bear
milk bottles
bathing stuffs
cotton swabs
cotton wool
baby cots
baby toys
changing mats
pacifiers
baby nail cutters
baby comb
baby net bouncers

think there r still alot of stuffs which cant remember.... hee hee hee... very forgetful nowadays

Hi, piyo

how much u pay for the rotavirus jab?

wow.... yr baby catching up with my baby.... if yrs is in the 50% percentile, then think mine also the same???

very worried if my baby is growing well? cos think most of the mummies r very big......

not sure whether i worried too much or not.... during last visit, doc said baby growing well &amp; told me must look at overall.... but me still worried...

morning mommies

reading on all the sharing makes me feel less alone, as i think about the same issues you guys think about too.

my story:
my parents were both high earners with v good careers. my family is a bit complicated, but basically, my mom brought us up single handedly. when she went to work (&amp; she always worked late, she was a lawyer), my malay nanny will look after us. it was tough on my mom, but no matter what, she will always buy us everything, and at the same time, try her best to spend time with us altho it still wasn't much time. i remb growing up on seseme st, being close to my nanny, and calling my mom in the office all day &amp; really getting on her tired nerves. i grew up with A LOT of issues as a teenager, but in recent years, have grown closer to God, and my family, and choose friends who basically don screw me up. my husband is also my life saver.

finances wise, things changed a lot when my father had a MAJOR stroke last august. ironically, my dad was actually a GP doctor, who gambles, used to smoke and drinks a lot. a completely uninsured nomad (well no one really knows where my dad used to stay see), and my mom has a v kind and loving heart, he now stays with us, and there are a lot of expenses to look after now (his maid, food, doc visits). altho my dad has never supported us, we now support him. altho it is tough, he's still my dad after all.

all these events in my life have led me to ask, what do i want to give Leon? i was happy as a kid, with all the toys, but i really yearned the attention of both of my parents.

i used to spend a lot on anything and everything (something like kelly hehe) when i first started earning, but with my dad down, i've learnt to spend a lot less, and actually its not as bad as i thought it would be.

in life, having LOVE is most important (the bible says so too). i may not be financially rich anymore, but i'm rich with the love of my family, husband and Leon. and i want to give Leon the same feeling of being loved.

there was a v good article in TODAY some weeks back on SAHMs. research has indicated it is impt for children to have ONE key caregiver with them up to the age of THREE, and i definitely plan to be the one for Leon.

i work half day now till end dec cos my ex boss needed help urgently, and i miss Leon like crazy when i'm in the office. although i can probably explore the opportunity of working full time, my career is not most impt to me. i always say, i wanna do things that are worthwhile, so that i can die anytime with no regrets, a bit morbid la, but i dunno how else to put it.

altho i still sometimes gripe to my hubby about $$$ and mb i should go back to work, i constantly remind myself i wanna give Leon a complete and loving childhood, something i felt i lacked. being a SAHM is confirmed more tough than working if u ask me, but the rewards i believe are worth it.

i still ALWAYS pray for God to give me strength and guidance in the decisions i'm still making each day.

Hi jesline,
Did you get those double stuffs along the way or all at 1 shot? me tyring to cut down on the doubles but seem like I really need to stock up liao so that each time we pack our bags, there would be less to carry... haiz...

I paid $80 for the rotovirus but it's oral not jab.. need 2 dosage... next month another dosage... I felt this rotovirus not necessary but hubby says best take... I felt it's not as detrimental as pneuccocal.. I think if I have no.2 I wont go for this anymore.

Dun worry too much about the numbers.. if your doc says baby is growing well... that's good news! my PD told me megan cot up quite a bit and she is good... like you I am worried about her head curcumference but since he says ok... I dun wanna hold onto that so much. Main thing is she is healthy!!! dun fall sick can liao!

hi piyo,
i think rotovirus is just as detrimental as pneuccocal... if im not wrong, currently there is no cure for rotovirus and if contracted, it all depends on the bb to fight against it...

Hi, piyo

for me, think will let baby take the rotavirus jab lor... to play safe....

heard that the pneuccoal jab is very exp... ($170 per jab, think need 4 of it)

I get those extra stuffs along the way... quite siong if bought out at one shot....

AMEDA PUMP PROBLEM

was wondering if anyone knows what the prob is. my pump for some reason, sometimes one side stronger than the other, i'm not sure if the bellow or valve is torn but i can't see it? but i change around the spare parts, and then like it'll be ok for a while, then after a while not ok?? it works, but basically its not as powerful as b4. i dunno if im jus used to the suction, or the pump is spoilt?

those using ameda, do you put it on max for both the cycle and vacuum? i always do, i dunno if i'm overworking my pump?

Hi Cat,
wow! My baby is small compared to yours!

Hi jojokoko,
is that right? cos what I understand is baby will get diahheorea and vomit etc but will recover from it so actually can dun take this jab...

Hi pupsandcups,
I heard b4 that it;s best not to max out the vacuum... I usually put it as 3/4 of the whole full power.

Hi jesline,
I tot I wanna avoid injecting so much stuffs into megan esp when she is still so young... mummies, when would you be introduing the pneuccocal jab to your babies? and would you be taking other optional jabs like chicken pox etc?

hi piyo

thanks. o dear, i've been max-ing it out since day 1 .. maybe really spoilt it
v frustrating now, cos everytime i pump i don feel emptied out.

Hi ningyo,
I saw that you are collecting the books from Firstmum from BB station. Do you mind if I tompang you to collect for Augbaby and me as I missed out on her collection at TB station ytd... then when we meet up 3dec we pick up from you?

Let me know if it's convenient. If not, never mind.

hi piyo,
hospitalisation is very likely for rotavirus infections as it caused bb to be dehydrated and can be very costly in terms of bills and emotionally... chickenpox vaccine is not optional for my bb's case leh... it was included in his pd appt card... me very kiasu, will let him have pneuccocal jab as well (to be taken at 7,9 &amp; 12 mths)...

Hi Piyo,
I'm fine to collect for both of u &amp; Augbaby.

Anyway, if u want to collect earlier b4 3rd dec, also possible. Eg, meet town etc.

I'll be at Plaza Singapura tmolo 7pm.

Hi piyo, ningyo,
thanks so much for helping me collect the books...watever is convenient for the both of u..if not postage is fine..juz let me know..
Been reali super tired lately..Jay been v fussy lately..sigh..not drinking much of his milk and wan to sleep and will wake up suddenly n cry and have to carry n pet pet for a long time then he go back to sleep..sigh..dun noe wat wrong leh..anyway i have brought him for his jap yet..think will do so this wkends..anyway think i will juz pick up the books from u on 3dec during the gathering as i wont be in town this wk...ok??

i also have the same sentiments as all of u...wan to be a sahm..coz i wan to be there for jay growing up n be there to guide him..all more so bec i have a friend who is a sahm and her son is so well behaved but still sociable...nowadays kids r not so well behaved and will hit adults..like my hubby side...the newphew even hit the maid..sigh..but bec of financial reasons too, i cant...so i stop trying to think abt it alr...coz if not i be more miserable and unhappy. I try not to work OT and juz spend quality time wif jay...

anyway think this few days, my maid been irriating me...coz jay is crying so much lately and when he cry and dun stop, she will like stand in the hall and look into our master bedroom and like see if i can handle jay..she will stand there till jay stop crying...as if she is better than me and can make jay stop crying..arghhhh...makes me so irriated...i guess she is juz being nice but it juz irriates me...last time it happen, i was carrying jay in the hall and she actually came up to me and ask me to let her carry jay and bec he is crying so badly n non stop, i got no choice but to let her carry..but luckily she carry also no use..haha...in the end i quickly carry jay back and he finally stop crying...luckily she carry jay, he din stop crying..if not i will be crush...
anyway sorry for ranting away here ah..juz that i guess sometimes she irriates me alot..like also when we go out, and after putting jay in his stroller, as i sit in the back sit, i will come out later..so she be standing infront of the stroller and like want to push...and i will juz stand beside her and tell her its ok, i will push, and she will move aside juz a little and like so unwilling to let me push....hellooo...i am jay mummy, of course i wan to spend time wif my bb during wkends mah...so during wkends, i will do everything myself..even change jay diapers...sigh...sorry for voicing out all these..guess i am super tired and frustrated now...

cocomo,
realise i forgot to reply yr question abt the BM..well u can post it in the free things corner to say u have BM to give away lor..will hav pp reply u one..

Augbaby,

I suspected my boys have eczema when they started to have rashes. Took to pd and pd confirmed it.

On 4 Dec, we shall all choose one digit and put them together to buy TOTO

If we win, we shall set up a home based business and earn BIG money ok?

Seriously, FTWM or SAHM, it's a very diff. decision to make. No matter what, all of us are trying to be good mothers. Cheers

Augbaby,
try delay the feeding time from 3-4hrs to 4 and 1/2hrs. my girl also the same but end up she still finish her 5 oz milk.

Dun get frustrated when jay is crying find ways to console him like walk him around make him on seating position rock him on rocking chair and so on. he needs attention. btw baby might be fussing while drinking just find some ways to walk him around or play with him and continue feed him.

my girl always like that i have to rock her move around and pat her to drink her milk. end up she still finish up the milk.

They are hungry but just making fuss. Its how we find ways to make them drink.

Just remember in ur mind, baby must drink milk not enough not healthy...then u will find ways to make him drink his milk.

Cat,
thanks...he definitely dun wan to drink, coz he will push it away and i pet pet him for a while, then he will sleep...anyway i feed him on demand...meaning that if he cry then i will feed lor...
anyway not frustrated wif jay, more like the maid...she will stand there n observe me...

augustmum,
thats a great idea..hee hee...maybe we will be lucky and have the capital to set a biz tog...when there is dream there is hope...haha

Hi Ningyo,
thanks! When would you be collecting from firstmum? is it today? If it is, I will sms First mum now and ask her bring along Augbaby's and mine to you. Where are you working? perhaps can go pick up from you if I cant make it to PS at 7pm?:p

I cant access email till I go back tonight... but you collect for us 1st can? gam sia so much!

Hi Augbaby,
Did you try explaining to your maid to let you handle most of the things when you are ard with baby cos you wanna spend time with him? My maid gets on my nerves at times and I ended up explaining to her not to volunteer her svs unless I asked her to. It helps cos most of the time, they are worried that we may think they are not doing their job if they bo chap and just let us handle the baby ourself.

Hi augustmum,
good idea! 3 dec we all sit down draw number ok? you prepare a mug and small notes with nos k?

Hi Augbaby,
I tried feeding megan on schedule instead of demand...like when I know it;s about her feeding time, when she "aek" a bit, I will quickly pop her to my breast... it helps lei

come to think of it, i do miss bfg aidan... the closeness... bonding...

btw, my hubby tries to talk to aidan yesterday morning and he cries... i tot maybe because he happens to be hungry or sleepy... then later in the day while aidan was smiling/playing with me, i quickly asked hubby to talk... guess wat happened? he cries... hubby very sad said bb dun recognize him anymore... he very busy with work whole week so when he came home bb alr sleeping (aidan sleeps very early, 7-8pm) and when he went to work, bb was either sleeping or drinking milk so no talk talk... but strangely aidan still respond to my mil who also go work/come home with hubby... so i think maybe its the voice he's not used to... maybe the voice/pitch not sweet/high enough... any daddy facing the same?

Hi Piyo &amp; Augbaby,
Yup, I'm collecting the books from her today.

My office is at ULU woodlands. Doubt u'll want to collect them on weekdays Marsiling or Woodlands MRT.

Anyway, i'm meeting my gfs tomorrow at PS for dinner, so will be staying there for some time.

piyo,
sigh..i wan to explain to her but i am also concern that wait she everything also dun do n hack care coz we still need her to take care of jay every morning till my mum is back from work..Coz my dad dun noe anything at all...so she will be the one who handles jay every morning..arghhh...dun noe wat to do...