(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

jesline,
thks! i hv e "your baby can read" VCDs. i was searching 4 e links 4 augbb 2 take a look. thks 4 ur help. i also hv e bb einstein set. havent let edward c it yet but my elder boy dun fancy it.

wat do u mean by sleep by themselves? as in sleep alone in e cot/bed?

fiona,
share share how to develop this sleep on their own habit leh

hi piyo
i use J&J everything, was given samples when i was discharged from KK, and since he got no problems with it, and its cheap, i'm sticking to it.

hi kelly,
re: BF to 14months, do u plan to supplement with FM too? i'm reluctant to do that, but if they say its good for baby.. actually i love the feeling of leon latching onto me, can really feel the bonding, and when he smiles at me when he is nice and full, melts my heart ...

i also have to do the baby dance, altho less and less so these days.

jokojoko
leon also likes to stand and bounce bounce and don like tummy time ...

piyo,
so megan don like to bathe ah? leon likes i think, will kick kick and smile. but he likes the water v warm leh, i thought it's too hot but any cooler he'll fuss.

he also likes to change diapers, somehow it makes him laugh, ticklish maybe.

DIAPERS
mommies, when your bb was about 5.5-6.5kg (i know most of u your babies are heavier than leon already..), can advise which brand diaper u use? am using Pet Pet,S to small, and M too big .. then i tried Drypers, M like kinda jus not the right fit .. dunno wat else to try.

pupsandcups,
i dun intend to supplement wif FM cos when they start 2 eat solids at 6mths (u asked abt tis earlier too rt?), they can get other nutrients fr the food they take.

i only intend 2 start giving edward solids abt 5.5-6mths when he can sit upright well. gabe started when he was 5.5mths old cos he started 2 sit well when he was 5mths old and of course he was interested in the food we were taking. i know wat u meant when u said leon looks at ur food interestingly. gabe was like too, he would lick his lips, eat his fingers (as if he wanna eat too) whenever he saw us eating.

how abt trying nepia sized S or huggies?

seem like all the babies like to be hold uprite. mine too. will fuss if we carry him horizontally too.

hi piyo,
i use J & J for bath, body lotion etc.

we will hold kayden by putting our hands at his armpits there and he'll attempt to stand. in fact, he likes it very much and will smile at us. but he can't stand for too long tho. his legs will 'luan'

hi pupsandcups,
i'm using mamy poko. s is ok for him but think will be upgrading soon cos his thighs are very big.

hi piyo,
thats right, using both hands to hold him, under the shoulders... just like when you carry him out from the bed...

hi pups,
maybe can try nepia S cuz the cutting a bit bigger... betta if u can find a piece to try first... otherwise i know pampers baby dry cutting quite small so maybe can try M...

re. falling asleep on their own, the only time when aidan can do it is bedtime at night... and it is because he falls asleep after he finishes his milk then we put him into his cot... sometimes he makes noise but sleeps thereafter... is it counted?

hi kelly,
you said earlier that edward sleeps face down during e day time... so do u watch him every second? cuz im going back to work next week and wondering if should let my maid makes him sleep this way... cuz aidan wakes up very very easily in the day while on his back...

fiona,
the taka fair is not baby fair is toy fair aiyo my hubby give wrong info. got sell baby's clothes but is disney characters. $9.90-18.90.

but i went up to the taka baby department saw they selling the elmo cloth book @ $14.90 as well. so i felt the BP also not much different.

pupsandcups,

If you wanna try Nepia Size S, pm me your address and I can mail you 1 sample piece. My boy using that now.

Jesline,

Zac falls asleep on his own in the evening after bath time. I will just leave him in the cot at about 8pm and switch off the lights. Sometimes, he will fall asleep on his own in the afternoon, but usually with some crying as I'm too busy with his gor gor.

Re TV.
If possible, try to delay TV watching. True, as a teacher myself, I've to admit that lessons could not be as fast paced as TV programmes, which have many images within a few seconds.

However, TV does help us in a way as sometimes SAHMs will need to cook and settle some stuff and thus, baby needs to be entertained. Under such circumstances, we have to resort to 'TV nanny'. So, choose only VCDs in which the images do not change so fast and do teach the kids some useful things.

hi augbaby,
i just keep a small pail of clean water next to me to give bb a rinse, i.e. just pour the whole pail of water over her while lifting her (let her semi-stand in the soapy tub of water). that's what i did to my son too last time.

regarding J&J top to toe, mummies dont find it drying? my son was using it and i find that his skin is always very dry, i also let him try other J&J, like the blue one and the milk bath, all very drying for him, so i switched to Pureen head to toe, and no problem with it. but the lady said the Pureen head to toe not meant for babies under 6 months. so use the normal Pureen baby bath, i like the blue one, very nice smell.

Hi Timpani, Pupsandcups, Jesline,

I got problem in putting her to sleep at nite without yao lan (yao lan in mil's house while mine dun hv). She became v lite sleeper even thou' had rock her to sleep furthermore now the time to rock her become longer (break record 2 hr). Dun wan her to be addicted to yao lan but it seem..... <haiz>

Augbaby,
DD like it when i carry her upright, i think most of the bb will like it to be carry tat way. I am using sebamed bb and JJ to bath her. She oso love to be bath.
Kind of siong for u using 2 tub to bath bb lei.

FYI.
If you'd like to get your baby used to entertaining herself for small amounts of time, the best time is just after she's eaten, when she's most content. Once she's done eating and burping, place her in a safe place (such as a swing or her car seat) where you can still observe her (never leave your baby unattended) and give her a favorite toy. She may play quietly for several minutes at a time at this age.

Hi, Cecelia

my bb got no problem in sleeping at yao lan at day &amp; night.... just that she dont like to sleep at her cot... my bb is a light sleeper...will wake up even by some light noise...had tried to carry her to sleep at her cot after she fall alseep in the yao lan but the moment i picked her up, she is awake so quickly put her back to yao lan....

if bb is tired, the moment i put her on yao lan, she will fall asleep.... dont need to rock.... sometimes i also experienced the problems of rocking her for so long &amp; she did not fall asleep...the reason for my bb is bcos she dont want to sleep yet &amp; want to play so will pick her up.... nowaday, if she is not tired &amp; we put her on the yao lan, she will cried &amp; kick her legs for us to pick her up..the moment we pick her up, she is happily smiling.....

for me, there is yao lan in my house, mil house &amp; my mum's house.... so easily to bring bb to these 3 places without worries....

Morning Leia
Just PM-ed you

Hi Cecilia
Do you swaddle your bb? Leon used to be a light sleeper too, but since i started swaddling him, he has been sleeping vv well. I swaddle him quite tight (but of cos make sure he can still breathe la) so that he can't 'escape'.

Last night, Leon slept from 1130 - 8 this morning, i feel q fresh today

Hi jesline, kelly,
thanks for the link..will go see later..

Today got a lot of posts..juz finish reading them only...good to know that jay is not the only one who loves being carried upright? I was juz wondering if it is ok to carry bb at such a age upright so now relieved liao..coz all of u doing the same..:p Seems like all of u using J&amp;J..i am currently using avent body n shampoo for jay and it smells nice and good so we continue...but i dun noe if has to be rinse off and my in laws n mum say must rinse off with water after bathing him in the avent body bath leh...so i also not sure...
i need i need to maybe call avent and ask them if it dun need to rinse off one...

Hi pups,
we have been letting jay use mamy poko since he is born..he started with newborn and now is S size...u might wan to try that..

erin,
jay also love being carried up under his armpits and he will attempt to walk..the first time hubby did that, he was so happy that he laugh out loud and we got a shock as it is the first time we heard him laughing out loud..haha...Guess he enjoy it v much

FYI. Anyone using nature farm's product, they are having sale at suntec lvl 2, from 18-19 nov. Furthermore, Penguin (the publisher for Ladybird children book) is oso having sale at Expo hall 6B, from 17-19 nov.

anyone know of any place where we can get fisher price product at a cheaper price or any bulk purchase? i'm interested in getting the infant-to-toddler rocker. the bouncer seems a bit cramp for him as he likes to shift about.

581589.jpg

Kelly,
U mean u oso checking on edward every 10-15min in the nite. Cos am trying out for DD to sleep on her stomach, c whether she can sleep longer or not.

Pup,
she no prob with swaddling but prob is I cant everytime swaddling her to sleep as she most of her time in mil house (mon - fri) n mil is d type nt carry bb 1. headache ah....

Jesline,
I think getting yao lan for my house will be my last resource liao....

Hi Ceceila

My mil has no problems putting her to sleep in yao lan as well. Just that at night, i made sure she doesn't sleep in yao lan. I dun want her to be addicted so i got to carry her and rock her. Sometimes if she is really tired, it can be fast otherwise i have to carry and rock her for 30 mins.

Hi pupsandcups, so envy. Till now, i dun have a chance to sleep through the night. She will definitely wake up for her feeds.

can someone let me know the softbook thread? i have placed my orders but did not hear anything from the seller. Have u all paid her?

hi cecelia,
kelly meant in the day only... i was asking her about that... not advisable at night coz of SIDS...

cecelia
thks 4 e info abt e nature farm, shld b checking out 2 buy my stuff.

i dun place edward 2 sleep on his tummy at nite...too dangerous. when he started sleeping on his tummy at 1mth old (cos he gets startled easily when he slept on his back so i put him on his tummy at 1mth old n he also didnt like 2 b swaddled so easily startled too), i already very scared (cos elder bro gabriel only started at 6-7wks old) so would check on edward every 10-15mins (cos at 4wks old, his neck muscles not strong but strangely he was able 2 change his head direction as n when he wants to)

putting him 2 sleep face down at nite is a NO NO. even husband &amp; i sleep very lightly nowadays, if we dun get 2 edward in time when he's fussing due 2 being face down, e few secs may make a difference.

augbb,

regarding ur YOUR BABY CAN READ vcd series (it comes in a set of 5VCDs), it's suggested tat u let e bb start watching fr 1mth old. i was shocked but it says 2 let bb watch 'starter vcd' at 1mth, 'vol 1 &amp; 2' at 2mths, 'vol 3' at 3mths &amp; so forth. so i've been letting edward watch a lil but he dun watch much &amp; dun watch for long.

cocomo, erin
get well soon!

chrys,
u able 2 join us on 3dec? hv u left 4 taiwan yet? i hope 2 c u &amp; ur son. u bought ur allerhand bag yet?

hi jokojoko,
have not seen the real thing. just saw it on a catalogue before. can use up to 40pounds or 18kg. can use it as a rocker when they are young and when they are older, they can use it as a rocking chair. I've checked out the fisher price website and it says can use till 2 years old.

are u still using the netted bouncer? if it's a little cramp for kayden, it would be too small for aidan rite? did u change to a bigger one? I've heard there's a bigger version but haven't seen it at the baby shop near my place.

Piyo,

Noah likes 'Baby Einstein (Baby MacDonald, Baby Mozart and Baby Van Gogh)'. Personally, I only like Baby MacDonald. As for 'Your Baby can read', Noah did learn words from the series but he's losing interest now. He prefers Barney and Sesames Street now.

However, I still do not like the idea of him watching TV. He only watches it in the morning and 1 VCD per day only.

With Zac, if I can help it, I will delay TV watching.

Hey mothers,

Got reply from the clothes supplier, keiki. Initially, I wanted to go to her place to view the clothes and now, she's coming down. Hee Hee...Always feel more secure when we can see and feel the clothes b4 buying.

This is her reply to my email:
hi! thanks for the link. date is fine ... but i can't find the venue or time tho... (uh where's august mum's house?) hehee

Gathering at Augustmum house on 3 Dec (Sun)at 1.30pm

1. augbb, jayden, hubby and maid
2. piyo, megan, hubby and maid
3. kelly, hubby, gabriel &amp; edward
4. smlow &amp; Louisa (think will leave my older boy at home for his nap!)
5. adeline, hubby and leon
6. augustmum, hubby, noah and zac
7. jesline, jiahui, hubby
8. ningyo, yongjie
9. celine, yeeleng
10. cocomo, hubby, Jayden and maid

Total adults= 20
Total babies/toddlers= 12

btw, was cracking my head on what food to buy for the gathering. We have OCK at cocomo's house. Do you guys want the same or do you prefer cakes or sinfully, tidbits?

the polo private sale is so good...sigh...anyone got US based credit card? Seems like they only accept that..the clothes for bb is v nice and cheaper than spore..