(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

thanks fiona

how much is the goats rue?

anyone tried the lactation tea for mothers from brown rice paradise at tanglin mall? i saw it the other day and read abt it too, but dunno how good it is ...

halo all,

pai say, i just came back from my mum's place.

Hi pupsandcups - i also use the avent liners and as wat fiona said, i will transfer the BM into the feeding bottle before warming up. Do not warm up using the liner directly. It is poisonous. My bb is coming to 7 weeks and is only drinking 100ml so i store 100ml in each liner.

Hi erin - my bb is also drinking lesser especially at night. I don't understand why either. Anybody knows?

Hi cocomo - my bb also cannot finish her milk during the night as she is sleeping. And there is once that i forced her to drink and end up she pukes the milk. So sad!

pups,
you don't let your bebe try bottle ya, then later when u go back work and he rejects bottle as what boy did then how? Even now he still dun take bottle if it's me who feed him so everytimes will ask my maid to feed.

Pups, either way we can't put the milk into hot water to warm up (even from fridge), will kill the antibody le.

Fiona,
Wah that goat's rue very effective hor! May try also. . hee. .

Aiyo, the reason I latch him on at night coz he drinks faster that way la! Ha. . . If bottle then everytime he will 'play play' towards the end of the feed and cant finish it (waste my milk). Furthermore I gotta wake my maid up le, so just latch him lo. One more reason, latching baby on will better maintain milk supply.

erin,
ya lo, my boy also drinking lesser and lesser. Last time when he was at 6 weeks (b4 I latch on 100%) he drank 125ml every 2.5hrs and now cant even finish 120ml most of the time for every 3hrs feed. Headache hor. .

Timpani,
ai how huh . . my boy can't finish his milk every feed today! and just now only drink 70ml then KO liao.

Hi cocomo

i also don't know how lei. But i heard that it is normal as this time bb is still trying to fix their intake. Don't push them too hard lor. Last night, my bb also damn jia lat, only managed to finish around 60ml then doze off liao. It occured twice in the middle of the night. In the end, i poured away 80ml altogether.
My mum suggested that i feed her with FM in the middle of the night, at least not so heartpain.

Btw, what do u mean why can't put the milk into hot water to warm up? i don't have a warmer so every times i take my milk out from the fridge, pour into bottle and put it in a cup of hotwater to warm up lei.

halo gals

I have some qn rgd mixing of breast milk, appreciate if someone can answer them.

can we mix two bottles of frozen breast milk ? must these two bottles be expressed within 24 hrs ?

ok for eg

i have 3 bottles in freezer expressed on (a) 22/9 10pm and (b) 23/9 11pm and (c) 2/10 10pm

I have 1 bottle in lower deck expressed on (d) 15/10 10pm.

can I mix (a) and (b) after I thawed them in lower deck ?
can I mix (a) and (c) after I thawed them in lower deck ? But they are not expressed within 24 hrs ?
similarly, can I mix (a) and (d) after I thawed them in lower deck ?But they are not expressed within 24 hrs ?

thanks !!

hi cocomo

don worry, i tried bottle twice so far, and he seems ok with it
not going back to work, but planning to go short holiday, 1-2nights without baby, so trying desperately to store up hehe.

seems like your babies hv settled into some feeding pattern.
my baby is 7 weeks old, TBF on demand. suddenly for the past week his feeding became very erratic. some days feed every hour, sometimes 2 hours.
very often he will regurgitate even after we burp him. sometimes he doesnt want to latch on or latch on only a while then start crying loudly.
yesterday even stranger, after his feed at 6pm he did not feed again till 3.30am this morning. i tried to latch him at 9pm but he rejected, after which he slept all the way.
so far, he does not seem to have quiet time (i.e. awake, lying down on his own, not crying) for more than 5 mins. he's either sleeping, feeding or crying, and we need to carry him all the time. he's taking infacol. quite tiring for me and my husband.
any of you experience this?

Hi cocomo,
no lah...he sleep thru out only bec at nite i feed him FM...2x at nite...last feed FM is at 11+ and next time is abt 6+ to 7+am lor..i dun feed him BM at nite...i usually express out nowadays coz my boy dun latch on liao...N i definitely cant pump out as much as u can..hee hee....
Today is my 1st day at work n i miss my boy so much liao..
n i intend to maybe pump 2x a day at work lor..coz i pump this morn alr at 6+am and when at work i pump at 11+ and think next time be at 4+ and then after that i will go hm n pump lor..hope the supply wont drop as well...sigh...Me reali thinking of starting my own biz...now juz have to look for suitable products...wanna be able to spend time wif my boy

Timpani,
My PD said better dun use hot water to heat the milk le so everytime I will just add a bit of tape water.

pups,
Great that ur baby can take bottle. U pump after feeding lo, then mix few pump into one bag for storage but before you mix must make sure they are at same temp hor.

augbaby,
I intent to express at 11am and 4pm as well but then dunno if my Jap boss will face black black or not le?!

What I do is I install 3 cameras at home (2 at living room and one in kitchen), not only can supervise my maid and babysitter but can also see what my baby is doing the whole day, can feel closer to him. My wishes is to stay at home be tai tai without working!

Long time didn't come in, miss the talk here..

I express 3 times during office hour, 10am+, 2pm+ and 5pm+. Trying to reduce it to 2 times, not so obvious.. hehe..

How about night pumping schedule?

pupsandcups,
the goat's rue cost 48+

timpani,
my baby frequently pukes too, so now dun dare to force her to finish her milk...

The worse thing is, my gal can't tolerate formula milk at all, i've even tried soy formula when i was urgently storing up ebm before i went for my trip, she juz merlion everything out, seeing her that way really freaks me out. Fortunately i managed to store up enough for the 5days i was away or my mil will be very stressed...haha

cocomo,
it's good that baby actually drinks faster being latched on, mine juz falls asleep after a while, and being unable to see how much she's drinking made me unsure of how long should i keep her at my breast, so i sticked to feeding ebm lor...

ilovebabies,
if they are all thawed and to be used within 24hrs, it's alright to mix ebm expressed on different days.

Hi cocomo - if we dun use hot water, then the milk won't really be warm up right? Thanks for the article. But i heard that we should minimise the no. of hours because of the bacteria that is present in the air. Moreover, if we keep it for next feed, we are not supposed to warm up again as this will decrease some of the valuable nutrients. Actually i find it quite contradicting. We are also not supposed to give bb those unfinished milk later as it has turned cold and if they drink it, will introduce air into them and causes wind. SIGH

Hi Fiona - do you know when will bb stop puking milk?

Hi timpani & fiona,
Mayb can try not to burp ur baby after feeding.My boy also puke alot recently whenever i burp him and so now i stop burping and he no longer puke.

Hi timpani,
so far i think my boy dont have air in his stomach or colic coz he's still behaving quite well, didnt cry alot lor.

HI ladies
It has been a long time since i logged in. I am back to work last week. Took 2 months maternity leave and i will be taking a friday off till next year Feb for my third mth. Kayden is fine. I stopped breastfeeding since my office has no place to pump and to pump in the toilet is too unhygiene. It was difficult for my baby as he misses my nipple. It took him a few days to get used to bottles. He drinks abt 150ml with 2 scoops of milk powder. According to 2 scoops should be 120ml, but I diluted his milk so that he can poo every day or once every 2 days. Kayden now weighs 6.2kg at wk 8. Hope I didn't missed out much from u all and hoped that I can post his latest photo soon.

one of the reasons for causing baby to merlion is overfeeding. my cl said not to overfeed. when she was here, my baby never pukes. but when i took over and increased the amt of milk, he vomited a couple of times. Hence, I continue feeding him with the same amt as what my cl used to give until he started demanding for milk within a shorter interval. But now, he knows how to tell us he doesn't want the milk anymore by pushing the bottle away. Ai yoh, now very strong. can use his hands to push the bottle until it hit my mum's chest. lol

won't be able to attend the gathering tmr. mil going to be discharged today. ai yah, chum liao. sil supposed to come over and help out with the cooking but now she's angry with us. she wants me to give her son tuition every day for these 2 wks but my hb not very happy so told another sil. Then the sil talked to her sis abt it n now things are very messy now. headache ah.

Does anyone know where i can get sample of the diaper nepia brand? Heard that it is v good and would like to get a sample b4 purchasing a whole pack...

I am back to work today too... 1st day... had to leave ryan at mum's.

just counting down the hours to 6pm ....

my boy's timing has been erratic ... one nite sleep from 6pm-12am! then yesterday, didnt sleep till 12am :p sigh dunno how...

hope can get used to some arrangement between mum and our home...

oh, i oso have about 3 weeks of my 3rd maternity month unused... hope to clear about 1 day a week too...

HI erin,
It is such a popular name. hehehe. I like this name a lot. Do u know that this name means fighter. I wants my son to fight for the things he wants in life and be strong minded like a fighter. But my friends always disturb me that later he fights with people. *touchwood* hehehe. My baby was born quite big. He weighs 3.69kg which is 8.1 pounds when born, so u dun have to worry so much abt yr baby's weight. My PD said Kayden belongs to the bigger percentile, most impt my PD mentioned that he is big but not obese.

hi ningyo,
wah your boy neck does seems quite stable hor...

like timpani, i must burp my baby, dun think it's the reason she pukes bcos if dun burp can be worse...so good that your boy doesn't have this problem.

hi erin,
thanks for the info, but i dun think my baby's merlion is due to overfeeding but rather due to gas in her tummy bcos she knows when she's full, will also push away the bottle like your kayden. So now as long as i diligently burp her well, feed her before she cries and apply ru yi oil whenever i change her, hold her up for a while after feeding, things seem to improve le...guess my baby has sensitive tummy juz like me bah...juz hope she can get over this period soon.

cocomo,
i dun think i can go your place for the meet up le, my running nose n sore throat is still very persistent. Hope you all have a great time!

hi honeyhaven,
ya, i know it means fighter/warrior. I have the same idea in mind too. Oh, ur baby was born big unlike mine. think my kayden still have lots to catch up. hee hee...

wow, all your babies look so big and alert..my twins are only about 5kg at 8 weeks...one of them still sleeping most of the time.

augbaby, how I wish my boys can sleep through the night like yours. They don't even though they are fully on FM. It's tiring to have to feed 2 babies at night as they wake up at different timing.

Erin,
Wow...kayden is trying to flip alr...so cute...do u lie him on his tummy alr...i tried once but jayden looks so uncomfy...n i dun noe how to position his hands....but he has started lifting his neck of his pillow alr and alot of times, in the morn, when we wake up, we found him lying in a different position n has slide off his pillow onto the bed..so funny..so now we r more careful wif him when placing him on the bed...but think his neck is not that strong still leh...Oh notice from the 1st pic that kayden is sleeping on a rocker thing is it...does it help? I am afraid if i put him on one, next time he will always wan to be rock to sleep leh...how ah?

Hi tch,
maybe we try to establish a routine for him lor..that is y...at abt 11pm latest, we will wipe him wif a cloth and change his clothings n mittens n booties.. N it is always regular timing from 11pm onwards that we will feed him FM...so maybe it helps lor...

Jayden is now at my parents hm and my dad says he wants to always b carried now then will sleep...so how? Does anyone also experience it? At hm, he is not like that leh..not that much at least lah

augbaby,

if u wan nepia sample, i can spare u 1
i am using nepia now... if u are every near tanjong pagar mrt let me know ( i remember u at raffles place ya?) I am back to work now.. so can meet u

leobbsmom,
we almost the same same

now all mummies who are back to work got baby blues
not monday blues....hehehe

seems like most mummies have gone back to work. I'm still thinking if i should cut short my maternity leave so that i can take at least one day leave for each week till end of the year. What do u all think?

btw, i tried to upload my bb photo but the dimensions exceeded and the system asked me to shrink to 600 x 600. May i know how can i do it?

Hi, Timpani

think most mummies have gone back to work.... i had been back to work since last monday.... miss my baby alot... really hope can look after her myself...

personally, i think it is better to leave the last month of maternity leave to be taken within 6 mths as can take off every week ... for me, i am taking half day on friday & one day off on monday .. can last until next yr Jan...

this is my baby girl when she is 6 weeks old
547140.jpg

i am also a mtb in early may next year. i am looking ard for a good confinement nanny and wonder if anyone of you will recommend yours? I am a first time mum and intend to breastfeed so need to have a probreastfeed CL.

Gathering at Cocomo's place:
Attendees:
1) Kelly + 2boys
2) erin (can't confirm)
3) adeline & leon
any other mummies? i know some of u hv started work (augbb, leobbsmom, dino, butter8, bottle, honeyhaven, etc). how abt e rest? jasmine, piyo, leia, noe, timpani, fiona, white lady, etc?

erin,
can u confirm if u can make it?
there r 4 kaydens...honeyhaven, yours, bluesky & skyblue.

Hi butter,
My parents r looking after jayden now...but in the morning, it is the maid who will feed him n change his diapers till my mum come bk from work at 1pm..My dad dun noe how to do anything one..juz can supervise only lah..he leaves for work at 1pm lor...But i dun trust maid n worried..sigh...she not v experienced leh

Hi Augbaby,
ya, kayden is trying to flip. i do lie him on his tummy once in a while but he likes to lick the bedsheet very much so i'll put a hanky for him to lick lor. think the babies are more active. kayden also very funny. raised his leg very high and hit the side of the cot hard when he tried to put it down. cried very badly. haiz. now put the cot bumper to protect him now. Kayden's sitting on a netted bouncer but he doesn't like to be rocked. I'll put the wheels down so that it doesn't rock. Very strange hor but I'm happy lor. Don't want him to want to rock to bed all the time. But nowsadays, he prefers to sleep in the bouncer during the day rather than the playpen. My boy wants to be carried until sleep too.

Hi kelly,
wat's the arrangement then? timing etc. i need to bring my boy over to my mum's place in the morning. will only be free after 11am. can go to cocomo's place but only for a while. sil will help to take care of mil first then i will go back to take care of her abt 3plus.

think i got the names mixed up. should be skyblue not bluesky. unless there's a bluesky who has a son named kayden too.

Hi erin,
Tomolo starting from 10:30am, you can come anytime after that! I have PM u my add and contact no.

Anyone free to join in please PM me and I will give you my contact and add (cant publish here la) ;p

All the bbies look so alert n cute

erin, kelly,
I was trying very hard to recall if there's a mummy called bluesky in our thread... hehehe...

kelly, cocomo,
Sorry but can't join u ladies. Have got smthg on tomoro. Enjoy urselves.

leia,
My bb smiles when i smile to him at times. But nowadays quite easy to make my bb laugh/smile. In fact it started when he was 1 mth plus.

erin,
Wah ur kayden trying to flip... Mine i tink too heavy to do flipping. Doesn't really enjoy tummy time too, very unlike my #1. ;p

Wah! seems like quite alot of mummies back to work early. I'm counting down...sighzz...so sad.Cant imagine the no.of emails in my inbox.
I'm still at my mum's house,havent move home yet, not sure if i can fit into my clothes.

hi timpani & fiona,
yup, thats a strategically located mole or birthmark in the middle of the forehead. Dun know what's the difference betwn mole n birthmark.My PD call it mole but some pple call it birthmark. hehee

There's once when we brought him out, an old couple saw my boy's mole and thought we had delibrately put a dot on his forehead for identification purpose in case of missing.So creative!

My boy's neck is not really that stable, looks stable coz i put cushion behind to support when taking the pixs.

Hi erin,
u sure kayden is 5.7kg? Looks more than that, he seems to be growing well, got michellin thighs. heehehe, so clever of him learning to flip now.
Wonder when my boy will learn to flip.

Hi jesline,
ur girl got dimples?

Hi jokojoko,
Aidan's so chubby n round!

Hi cocomo,
Jayden looks so alert and his eyes r pretty!
Thanks for offering ur place for gathering but wont be joining the gathering tmr coz the haze seems to be quite bad these few days at my side so dun think i want to bring my boy out.Sometimes i wonder if the PSI got error.
Would have love to see the cute babies!

Hi Leia,
yup, my boy smiles more now especially in the morning when he woke up after his long night sleep.He also smiles after a satisfied feed.
Sometimes if we make funny sounds, he'll also smile.

All the babies look so cute!!

kelly,
can't join you ladies, me still down with the flu juz popped 2 panadols haiz...

erin,
your boy so fast can flip, my gal still at the stage of lifting her head.

Leia,
my gal smiles alot, sometimes even gives out a loud chuckle!

hi leia,

ya, my bb smiles a lot nowadays too... usually when we are talking/playing with him... think bb smiles more often when they start seeing you...

hi skyblue,

same here, aidan doesn't really enjoy tummy time too...

hi ningyo,

hehe... aidan's favorite is milk milk...