(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Long time din log in..been preparing to go bk to work next wk. sigh...
how i wish i dun have to...Anyway i have been freezing my EBM in avent liners and storing them in the freezer alr...N i recently juz bought 3 medela milk bottles to store milk..think it is a new items..3bottles of 150ml at $30+ and now at isetan there is a 15% discount on medela..coz when i go bk to work, think i need more bottles to store fresh EBM at my mum pl as well as bottles to store EBM when i pump in my office..

ANyway does anyone has any idea when colic will not occur in bb anymore? Is it till 3mths old only?? Jayden appetite has also decrease..nowadays when i feed him FM at night, he dun finish all 4oz anymore..SO does it mean that if he dun finish, i can increase the quantity coz i hope to get him to sleep longer at night when i go bk to work...

I guess i cant join u all for the gathering coz be bk at work liao..if there is a wkend gathering, do let me know ya..

Anyone was juz wondering if there r any mummies out there who like me also wish they can stay at hm with their bb..sigh...it be so nice if we can set up our own biz n work wif our bb wif us like Moms in Mind...anyone got any biz proposal to start..hmm maybe we can start our own biz??? Hee hee...n then dun work but still got some income...haiz think i am day dreaming..

hi kelly,

no problem...

hi timpani,

dont worry, give bb some time to cool down... and dont stress yourself k... at least he's drinking the BM and dont stop if you can still produce BM (unlike me)... wasting some is better than not giving bb any right...

hi white lady,

dont worry, bb will get over it soon... how's bb poo poo now?

1st Gathering

Cocomo has kindly offered her plc for the gathering and I'm helping her organise cos she rather busy.

Date: 18Oct, Wed
Venue: Redhill
Time: Anytime fr 1030am

Simple lunch will b provided (courtesy of cocomo). If you r not bringing ur bb, it's fine. we love 2 meet up wif e mummy too. Kindly RSVP by Sun so tat cocomo can make arrangements for lunch.

Attendees:
1) Kelly + 2boys

hihi, long time never post in here. anyone using Avent VIA cup to store breastmilk in the freezer? If how to defrost the milk huh? can we just heat up the frozen milk that is stored in the VIA cup? Thanks

thanks mandy for the maid house rules.

Seems like it is normal for bb's appetite to decrease. Normally colic will go away when bb is 3 months old. This is what i heard. Hopefully, my bb is not because of colic. Pray Hard! Just as what jokojoko said, needs to be patient. But anyway, i will stop BM once i'm back to work.It is really heartpain whenever i throw away the BM. Moreoever, If i'm not eating nutritious food, my BM won't contain enough nutrients as compared to FM. Am i right?

btw jokojoko, may i ask why u are not feeding BM?

Mrs Wong from Thompson parentcraft taught me whenever baby cries, just hole them near to your face and talk closely to them (face-to-face). This works for my baby sometimes and sometimes dun!

Kelly,
Thanks for help. No choice now on no pay leave (but still need to work from home - my boss's condition) But then my plc very small one le so all mummies must bear with it hor... hee. .

I heard from my colleague the midwife at Mount A will help to massage the breast during Labour time to stimulate breast to produce milk and latch the bb on immediate after birth. Is it true? or we have to ask them to do that? How about those giving birth at TMC? My colleague said the LC at TMC not very good except for Mrs Wong B B.

Hi Timpani,

Cld ur little darling having oral thrush?
Sometimes it make bb discomfort. Natalie she had it recent also behave like this.. Bt now she recover liao.. try to see PD to advise too.

Don worry ur darling will be fine

hi timpani,

believe BM should contain all the natural nutrients u cant find in FM... common saying, BM is always the best for bb...

my BM was already decreasing when bb's a month old... furthermore, bb was hospitalised thereafter and subsequently had surgery when he recovered from his illness... so stress during that time and BM also stop producing liao...

Hi, mummies

long time never log in already as i am back to work already after 2 months of maternity leave.... will be taking the last month within 6 mths period....

so sian.... does anyone of u know where to buy flashcard (A-Z & Maths)?

smlow & mummies who are coming for the gathering,
My address is Blk 40 Jalan Rumah Tinggi (the hilltop behind Leng Kee Rd).

Hi Cynthia

May i know what is oral thrush? Do you know what are the common symptoms?

Hi jokojoko

I'm sorry that you have to bring this up. But i thought we mummies have to eat well in order to produce good BM?

The link I've posted say to avoid brocolli cos it causes wind. Do take note.

To think that I've just finished a plate of those veg. for dinner :p

cocomo,

Thanks for the link.
I'm curious about the storage of EBM at room temperature. Cos the room temperature stated in the link is 19-22 deg cel. Our room temperature here is hardly 19-22 deg cel. So I wonder how long our EBM can tahan outside...

Timpani,

You're welcomed!

I remember during my first week of confinement, sore nipples, v frequent night feeds and all, I was bitching to my friend how bfg is so urrrrgh! and how our generation all grow up on formula milk anyway, so why should I even bother at all! :p My target now is 6 months (am going back to work after 3 mths ML is over), thereafter, I'll see how long more I can tahan. :D

Hi augbaby,
I feel the same as u, wish i can stay home & play with baby. I'll be goin back to work on 30th oct. Sighzz....
If only our govt can extend the ML to 6mths since they're encouraging mummies to breastfeed. :p

Dun know y the 12wks ML seems to fly. Didnt do much during my ML, basically is sleep n more sleep. Wish to go trips BUT cant bear to leave baby.

Initially my target is also 6 months but during these period of time, i'm seriously lack of sleep and i can't imagine what will be of me if i'm back to work as well so i shorten my target to 3 months so that im able to sleep more. Very selfish thought of me hor. Moreover, i'm thinking of going for a holiday early next year so i want to stop before that. I can't possibly bring my pump along to express it out and throw it away. And i still find it a hassle to bring my pump equipment to office. A lot of things lei. My pump is the medela electric pump-in-style traveller kit. Very big. *SIGH*

for those breastfeeding mothers, are u still taking papaya fish soup or fish for every meal? ive just finished my confinement, not sure if i dun take these will my supply become low?

edksd: i'm only taking the papaya fish soup once in awhile, but taking fish everyday. Also need to watch your intake of fluids, do make it a point to replenish as there's a lot of output

Hi edksh,
So far my supply still ok.Even when i eat the papaya fish soup during confinement also didnt help to increase milk supply.

er, i must be the bad bad mummy coz i dun make efforts to eat fish on daily basis.

Just need to check something with you guys:-
1) Will you wake your baby up if he/she reaching the feeding time? (let's say he supposes to drink at 3pm but still sleeping)
2) If baby can't finish the BM, can we keep it for next feed? I usually will put it inside warm water and feed again 20mins later, if he dun want then will throw away the milk. Is this method fine? But sometimes tot of just throw away a bit waste le.

Hi cocomo

For my case, i won't purposely wake my bb up for milk. I will let her sleep. She will automatically wake up if she is hungry.

If bb is not able to finish BM, i will wait for a while and feed her again. I will only keep it for at most an hour. And as for the unfinished BM, i won't put it inside warm water again cos i heard that it means we are re-warming up the BM, it won't be good for the bb anymore. Don't know how true.

Hi Timpani,

Oral thrush.. bb will feel uncomfy to drink milk or water whenever u try to bottle feed her or sometime even BF.. I try feed NAtalie & she refuse n make a fuss crying n crying. When u don feed her she stopped awhile BT yet hungry! So try force her drink at least 1oz.. provided she is stop crying AS while crying & feed BB will tends to VOMIT & intro MORE air too lo.
BUT normally oral thrush will occur to bb feeing FM as e tongue is accumulated wit those milk particles..

PD told mi this is commonly seen. Try to wash her tongue mroe throughly & carefully. At least not fungus as I heard fungus will lead to mroe serious prob..

Hi Cocomo,

I will not wake up my bb lo.. sometime natalie also like this. Suppose to wake up at 3pm to drink.. she can wait till 4plus 5. When they hungry they will wake up. FM can stand hunger so not to worry...

hi gals!

sounds nice to hear there is a gathering planned - wish i can go with baby, but i go back to work on the 17 Aug

Saw a post on the lucky baby sling - is it better than the MIM sling? I've been using the MIM sling, but I find a hassel to adjust each time i after i take baby out. and not always I get him in the rite position... so my one arm gets tired from supporting his head...

Updates on my end,
feeling better, my post natal depression is tapering off - i hope

baby now extends his nite feeds to about 4 hours apart.
weighs about 6kg at almost 2 months.
he used to take 120ml each time, but i notice his is not really finishing it all off now. so i can assume he is regulating and also extending his intake to about 3hours apart.
I have braved going out with baby, and have been to parkway, taka, centrepoint & westmall with him.

Now that I am enjoying time and going out with baby, i dun look forward to going back to work.

same thots as you augbaby

My next headache also is having a new maid coming in in 1 week - my prob is my mum dun like my current maid, so since she is spending most time with baby and maid when I go back to work, I have no choice but to start again... sigh
new maid, new problems and re-training. so tiring.
my current maid will be missed, she has learnt to take care of my bb, bathe, sterilize etc.. plus she cooks pretty well now...my house so organized with her...

pray my new one will be just as good...

Hi Butter8,
Is your current maid (the one u sending off) good? Why your mum dun like her? I am looking for a maid to look after my newborn also. If yours is good, can consider transferring to me..

Hi Timpani/Cynthia,
I actually wake my baby up for milk le coz my PD said daytime need to do but at night it's ok. But then sometimes my baby was really sleepy and even drinking also close his eyes and sometimes cant finish his milk. That's why I think a bit waste to throw away the unfinished milk lo coz I pump it till my nipple so sore. But then sometimes he drank not enough then he will cry loudly while waiting for the refill. Headache le.

Timpani,
Tot if milk already cold better don't let baby drink (what I heard la)? That's why I keep those unfinished milk in warm water for abt 20mins then let my boy drink again.

Hi Timpani,
Juz saw your posting about going on a trip next yr and pumping while away...well, that's exactly what i did! I've juz returned from my trip and i brought along my pump and been expressing and throwing away the milk, very hard pain but no choice if wanna maintain the supply. At least i'll still be able to continue feeding my baby breast milk when i'm back. Do reconsider your option if possible bcos it's really good for both you and your baby...
kao_smile2.gif

hi ningyo,
you r not a bad mommy lah, i dun eat much fish since after confinemment, my supply not as good as before now...haiz

hi augbaby,
are you on the goat's rue? is it effective in increasing milk supply? pls do feedback, am thinking of trying. TIA

hi cocomo,
i dun wake my baby up for feed either. And try to feed the amount your baby always finishes then add on, and it's alright to let baby cry a little while we refill the bottle.

recently my baby also dun finish her milk, and the most i juz keep for an hour then dispose but i dun warm it again leh.

hi butter8,
i'm currently using the lucky baby sling, i do find it easier to use than the MIM sling, i'm not really good with the adjustment

But some may find it a concern bcos it does look more shallow after putting baby in the sling, not so much of excess cloth compared to the MIM one, but so far so good for me lor...

Hi nyngyo,
Sigh..same sentiments...dun noe where the 2mths ML went hor..it juz flies..

Hi cocomo,
I also dun wake my bb for feeding..JUz wait till he cries then i feed him and for EBM i also only leave it outside for max 1hr and if he dun drink, no choice i throw away lor..heartpain but no choice.. I also dun warm it up again if i leave it for within the hr and he drinks..

Hi fiona,
Ya i started on goat rue but frankly i do not know if it helps leh..wat is consider good supply? For me, as at nite i usually feed FM at around 11+ to 12+, after that i will pump and then the next pumping would be abt 7+ am when he wake up to feed again...N each side i can get abt 100ml but i dun think it is alot leh...

Anyway juz to check wif mummies who had pump milk at work b4..how often do u pump? 3x? means the duration bet each pump is longer rite? like 5hrs apart? Coz when i am at hm, i usually pump every 3 hrs but quantity not alot..like abt 50ml 1 side and 30ml the other...so i do not know how much shld i pump when im working..pls help..

1st Gathering

Cocomo has kindly offered her plc for the gathering and I'm helping her organise cos she rather busy.

Date: 18Oct, Wed
Venue: Redhill
Time: Anytime fr 1030am

Simple lunch will b provided (courtesy of cocomo). If you r not bringing ur bb, it's fine. we love 2 meet up wif e mummy too. Kindly RSVP by Sun so tat cocomo can make arrangements for lunch.

Attendees:
1) Kelly + 2boys

No one else, other than me?

Hi cocomo,
when I delivered my boy with low birth weight, I was told to feed him every 3 hrs (during the day) and to wake him up for feeds. But when I see the pd during the 1st month check-up and my boy had gained sufficient weight (1.8kg), the pd asked me to feed on demand. Now I dun wake him up for milk.

been rather busy recently. time really flies ah. am also going back to work at the end of the month and really dun feel like going back to work. How I wish I can dun work n stay at home to look after my boy too.

Hi Kelly,
I would be interested to attend but can't confirm yet cos my mil's still in hospital. Will just add my name in 1st. don't have to prepare my food in case I can't make it.

Gathering at Cocomo's place:
Attendees:
1) Kelly + 2boys
2) erin (can't confirm)

Hi Kelly,
I would love to join u all but afraid i cant this round as i be back at work on Monday already..sigh..Pls do take more pics and share them wif me so i can identify the mummies n babies..
Enjoy!

Hi Fiona/augbaby/erin,
My baby did not gain much weight during his 2nd mth le, partly coz he rejected bottle then did not take sufficient milk during that time, was rather worry coz he gained less than 1 kg.

Augbaby,
I m also 1st time mom, after my boy accepted bottle, now I m giving my boy EBM for day feed (I also pump 3 hrly and get 100ml-180ml both sides). Same as you last pump is at ard 11-12+, but will latch on my boy at his next feed at ard 4-6am (wah your Jayden can sleep thru till 7-8+ so nice!!!) and will pump after feed (usually will get ard 120-180ml). Then still latch him on for 8-9am feed (but lazy to pump after that).

When officially start work, I intent to only pump after lunch (maybe at ard 1+) coz dunno if using office hour to pump my boss will make noise or not?! But then scare milk supply will drop hor if like that?

hello

me long time no log on cos been staying at my mom's place, should be able to make the gathering, altho looks like many can't make it ..

Gathering at Cocomo's place:
Attendees:
1) Kelly + 2boys
2) erin (can't confirm)
3) adeline & leon

quick question, those who store in avent liners, how do you thaw? cos cannot put the plastic directly in hot water right? also, about how much do u guys keep in each liner? my bb now 8 weeks old, about how much should EBM should i offer him? i'm really lost cos he's been latched on all the way ...

Hi augbaby,
I got my hubby to buy the goat's rue for me yday, and not being exaggerated, after juz 4 doses, for 2 sessions today i can express another 50ml more from each side leh(but i only pump 6hrly)...but bcos i was running a fever so drank alot of water than usual, so not sure could it be the goat's rue effect...

Hi cocomo,
I am so lazy compared to alot of mommies here...hahaha. I dun have the patience to latch my baby on bcos it'll take a longer time to feed, unless i got blocked ducts then her latching works like magic! And i only pump 6hrly some more...

Hi pupsandcups,
i store my ebm in avent liners. i transfer the next day supply from the freezer to the fridge to thaw, then feed within 24hrs. I pour the ebm into the feeding bottles first before warming up.
Now my baby coming to 9 wks drinking 110-120ml but recently can't finish her milk too, but i still store 120ml in each liner. Hope that helps.

Or you use this formula, 150ml x baby's weight then divide by 8 feeds.

thanks for the tips fiona! so def cannot heat the avent liner directly right?

baby's weight in kg issit?

also where to buy goat's rue? i wan to increase my supply to stock up so i can go on a short holiday without baby ....

Hi cocomo,
my baby din gain as much weight compared to the 1st month too. In fact, gaining even lesser this month (he's approaching the 3rd month liao). still can't find out the reason why he drinking lesser and lesser. haiz...

so few mummies going for the gathering. I shd be able to go over unless my mil is going to be discharged that day. any more mummies going? really hope to meet up with u gals.

pupsandcups,
yup, dun heat it directly, i read can only run tap water over it to thaw, and baby's weight is in kg

the goat's rue can get from camden(the one behind tanglin mall) medical's pharmacy, pharmaplus. it's open till 7pm on weekdays and 2.30pm on sat.

Hey all,

Don't think I can make it on a weekday. Not confident to take both boys out on my own and redhill is a bit far for me. Now taking care of two on my own and is realli exhausted. When one naps, the other wakes up.