(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

just checked with my pd's nurse and she confirmed desitin does not contain steroids... so we can apply at ease now...

Yeah Leia,
I have MIM Sateen and BayB Cotton sling as well as Ergo Carrier (for later use).
Yes yes! I remember I was feeling so hot when I tried the sling on the first few times. I guess we are a little jittery and the babe can feel it too. Subsequently, when I got more confident, the boys enjoy being in it.

Wah ha ha ... Ya, Jul weighs a sack of rice already too.
All my boys gain weight quickly during their infant days.
Which's the reason why I invested in Ergo too. I got it about 2 years ago. Worth the investment.

do you use cloth diapers or disposables? my boy using disposables and the turnover is very high... dun think i can be SAHM as i need to bring home milk powder and diaper money...
btw, what brand you using? dunno why pampers will leak when used on aidan... so now im using nepia most of the time even at night...

Hi Jokojoko,
Thanks much for the assurance.

I am using Nepia disposables for Jul now.
(Still much cheaper than Pampers Premium comparing the soft material).

Jul's currently using size S.
Although, NB fits (still can tape at number 1), his pee and poo leaks.
Once I changed to size S, they don't leak anymore (at least till now)

All my boys don't take other brands of diapers well during their infant days.
In fact, I tried Jul on Dryers the other time and rashes surfaced after one usage!
kao_sad2.gif

My older boys are using Prokids or Nepia for the night.

Hi Jokojoko,
thanks for the clarification! Now I can go tell my friends I can apply on baby's face cos no steriods! mummies, so sorry for the scare!

I use cloth diapers in the day and pampers at night... I tried several brands like mammy poko, pampers, drypers etc, all seem to work fine on megan... but I am trying out bumwear.. if it;s good i hope I can switch to that almost full time! saves $$$ and looks nice too!

hi noe,
I will try nursing in the sling the next time I get a chance outside... do you wear the sling at home too? you have both the carrier and the sling, so when do you use the sling and when the carrier?cos I have both 2... but now using the sling or stroller depending on where I go..

hi Smlow,
My parents r staying in Queens...

Skyblue, Augustmum and Erin,
Kudos that you can still return to work after delivery.
When I conceived #2, I told my P that I will resign after delivery.
I guess I am not a very good multi-tasker.

Hi Piyo,
No leh ... I don't use the sling at home.
Jul wants to be carry most of the time when he's awake.
I will carry him for a while when he cries for attention and place him in his cot once he settles down.
Usually he will dose after that and to wake again an hour or so later.
The cycle will repeat itself.
kao_dizzy.gif

Thankfully, he doesn't do that at night since he doesn't get into deep sleep in the day time.
He will sleep after I nurse him. Thank God!

I will use the carrier once he can support his own neck.
Likely in one/two months time.
Ergo really eases the weight off my back. Ha ha ... No I don't sell Ergo.

hi noe,

aidan is also using nepia size S now... the material is softer and cheaper than pampers...

hi piyo,

er, what's bumwear?

Check wif u ah..when will bb neck b more firm and we dun need to reali support their neck anymore and when can we stop burping them after feeding? Or do we have to do it still irregularless of age? blur leh..hee hee

Hi Augbaby,
Our babies can support their own necks around 3 - 4 months.
Strong & sturdy by 6 months old.

I stop burping my boys when they were 2 - 3 months old leh ...

hi cocomo,
my parents said that too. now so many things to do compared to last time but they willing to do it when i explained dat it's for the good of their grandson mah.

me also want to meet up but now not confident to bring kayden out.

re: diapers
have tried many brands cos some given by colleagues and friends. here are my comments on them. the brands tried are:
1) pampers premium - very good and soft. absorbant too. material is thin too.
2) mamy poko - pretty good too. soft and absorbant. material thicker than pampers.
3) pet pet, fitti, pureen - all quite comfy but not so absorbant compared to mamy poko and pampers premium.
4) drypers - quite absorbant but not so comfy. kayden's hips and thighs are cut by the material. the sticky tape is really very sticky. can be difficult to remove.
5) huggies - cutting is a bit small compared to the others and material isn't very comfy.

re: baby carrier
I bought baby carrier from mothercare when he's 1 month plus old. the carrier can be used from birth till 1 yr old.

hi augbaby,
those are the questions i'm interested in too. my boy loves to be in the upright position so everytime must hold him in that manner. so worried that we might strain his neck and spine. sometimes, it's a little difficult to burp my boy now as he falls asleep during burping time or will twist around.

hi noe,
i am not a multi-tasker too. dunno whether i can cope or not when i go back to work. really feel like taking no-pay leave to stay at home to look after him but guess a lot of us have no choice due to the financial aspect.

kao_sad2.gif
Hi Erin,
My NPL then had to be repaid.
I took 4 months of NPL after delivering my #1.
I couldn't quit after NPL should I decide to as I was obligated to repay that 4 months.
They call that obligatory service.

That was one of the main reasons why I quitted instead of taking NPL after I delivered #2.
I did want to be obligated to serve detention should I decide that I am not returning to service.

I understand it's different now.
Quite a number of my friends in education service can quit after their NPL.

erin,
I hope the auntie have that 'willing to learn and follow' attitude also. But then she always 'forget' to hold Jayden's head when carry him, I scare he will twist his head coz still soft at 2 mths.

erin,
forget to tell that this auntie has only taking care of her niece once 8 years ago together with her sister. So she has not much experience on babies. That's why I employed a maid to help her. Think this way better than leave the maid alone with baby.

I also think pampers premium very good! Other types of pampers must pull the size properly and balance both size space else easy to leak.

Looks like quite a few of us are teachers...
I teach too and am going back to school next thurs!!! Sianz...

Hi Jokojoko,
I kinda like used bumwear on my boy for a while. Pretty good so far. works quite like diapers except that it leaks a little. Mum claims it is hot so she refuses to use the bumwear anymore... so it is sitting in the shelf wasted for the time being... Hmmmmph!!!!

Those of you using pampers permium, saw that there is an offer in Carrefour in Wednesday's "TODAY" $69.90 for 2 of the huge packs (i think each pack of S size has got 90+ diapers) Then there is also a cut out for $5 off with purchases above $50 or something like that. Which makes the cost of the 2 packs $65.90??? Cheaper than normal rite?

Ya pampers premium is reali good but rather exp..so far my boy is using mamy poko and we find that it is good..not much leakage at all..We juz switch him recently from newborn size to s size coz his legs area like too small already and there is always a red mark there. Guess it is too tight..thou the waist area is still big n s size is huge..so we have to stick the tapes reali close..if not might leak from the top...

As for the Bumwear, i read the info alr but am still confuse what is the different bet it and a diaper cover? Is it that wif a bumwear i dun need to wear a cloth diapers over the bum wear? Whereas for a diaper cover, i still need to let jayden wear a cloth diaper then cover wif diaper cover??? Blur....

I am also not confident to bring jayden out yet..think difficult to handle him esp when he wants to eat..will wail his lungs out till he eats..sigh...

Hi Noe,
so does it means that by 3-4 mths, we can carry them upright with our hands and dun need to like cradle him in our arms like now coz their neck is soft? So is it actually 3 or 4mths then we can stop reali supporting their neck ah..how do i know shld i stop when my boy is 3 mths or 4mths leh...also burping, u mention 2-3mths..Jayden is 2mths alr..so can i stop burping him or wait till he is 3mths...sorry ah...coz i dun noe how to guage when u say 2-3mths... :p

Noe,

Does BayB have a website? And do you know how much it is? It does look good!

I'm joining the Bumwear BP. Purchasing 2 pieces to try out. About changing inserts outside, you mean no need to change the diaper, just change the insert?!? Perhaps that's why they say to buy at least 2 inserts per diaper. Am thinking of trying out that cos I find diapers and nappies very thick and uncomfortable. Imagine wearing super thick sanitary pad! Urgh! And they were saying something about how diapers may affect the fertility for boys... Aiyoh...

Ladies on TBF,

Your BB still poo very often everyday? After turning 1 month, my BB seem to poo less (~3 times in 24hrs) and can often sleep through the night without pooing.

noe, augbaby:

Burping is to remove the air so BB feels comfy and won't regurgitate, is it? So at 2 months, if BB still regurg, means must still burp him? I'm equally clueless! :D

augbaby, does Jayden regurg btw?

leia, augbaby,
I tink i stopped burping my boi when he was abt 6 mths. But mostly when they know how to sit uprite unsupported. 2-3 mths i still tink a little too young to stop burping cos ard this time, colic can still occur. So we shd try to relieve them by getting rid up the wind in their tummy.

RE: diapers
I'm currently using drypers during the day and mamy poko in the nite. Both M size for my 2 mth old son. But i find drypers cutting abit too small. It didn't pose a pblm for my elder son last time but mebbe cos his thighs not as big ;p

augbaby,
When bbies neck become firmer depends on individual bbies. Some become stronger earlier but usu ard 3-4 mths.

skyblue,

I have the same thoughts about the cutting for drypers. It seems too small for my BB who has fat thighs (heehee), though the tummy area is ok.

Unfortunately, my aunty bought for me 6 packs of size S at the JL sale. Jia lat!

On burping:
I stopped burping my elder girl at around 2-3mths too!No problem as if not mistaken,by then their digestive tract is more mature so therefore less chances of having discomfort?Anyway every baby differs so ...do what you're comfy with and if baby don't seem to fret and is contented then why not?
Diapers:
Not a fan of Drypers as baby seems to develop rashes after usage as well.Switched to Mamy Poko and rashes slowly disappear!
Lochia:
Finally...no more discharge!!
Think for those who are still bleeding heavily after 6wks,it's best to seek yr gynae's advice as you would want to be cautious in this area as infection could set.
For the fishy smell,yup!I experienced that too but it's completely gone now that discharge is over.

Noticed that many of the ladies here are teachers. Really admire you ladies who are going back to work soon. My MIL is a Pri school Chinese teacher and apparently, there can be so much work and extra activities (parents contact time, this and that)... so unlike the time when I was in Pri school! Still have to bring a whole load of assignments and papers back home to mark, coupled with a new BB, seems like it's gonna be a challenge. So *kowtow* to you ladies and jia you, ok?

Leia,

Both my girls experienced rashes while using Drypers.
My dd1 had only redness but it'e enough for me to switched ad wouldn't want to offset rashes.
dd2-thought won't experienced the same thing so just went ahead to used them since hubby already bought w/o my knowledge.Aiyoh!This time it's even worse as baby had angry red blister like rashes..had to use cream from pd.

Leia

for bumwear rite, you can just take out the inserts after say 3 or 4 pees then put in a new insert without washing the bumwear itself. The fleece layer on the bumwear still feels dry. The cotton batik one is not very good. will leak quite a bit but the others are not too bad...

delsa,

My BB have some redness in between his buttocks this week after I switch to Drypers, but cleared after a few days with liberal use of Desitin cream. So I was also wondering if it's Drypers... Will monitor for a few more days...

juz jewel,

Thanks for the info. It'd be a challenge to determine the no. of times BB has pee-ed. :p

Oh dear, the haze is so bad lately. Supposed to go downtown to the JL sale (15-20% of children's items), now don't dare to go liao... scared BB's respitory system cannot take it...

Looks like I'm stuck at home for the day again...

hello

can i ask if any of u still TBF latch on only? how come all of u know how much bb is feeding ah? cos i got no idea if my leon is getting enough milk, other than the wet/soiled diapers.

also since he latch on only, how to 'disrupt' the feeding schedule, so i can express the milk? i'm thinking of introducing the bottle to him so i can have some personal time going out etc.

my bb now sleep about 5hours straight at night, like 11pm to 4 or even 5am, then feed again ard 9am, is this normal? i'm concerned he's not feeding enough. each time i feed him, i offer him one breast and he feeds for about half an hour.. he's currently 4.8kg at 7 weeks.

Yeah Augbaby,
Around 3 - 4 months, you will be able to gauge your baby's neck strength.
His head won't go bobbing around like now or throwing his head backwards (Jul does that now).

Heh heh ... You can continue burping Jayden for another month and see how he reacts to the burping session lor.
My cue was when they could be propped with neck unsupported.
Most importantly you feel that the burping session is helping your baby to relieve any bloatiness in his stomach.
Jul burps quickly and farts alot though.

Leia,
Hope all will be well with yr baby

pupsandcups,
As I'm a SAHM,baby is fully latched on till recently when I decided to expressed my milk out so that the hubby can feed her whenever I need a break.I have totally no idea as to how much she's drinking as well.My cue is the no of soiled/wet diapers and that baby is putting on weight steadily plus she seems happy and contented at every feed.She wouldn't take the bottle of ebm from me though as she knows mummy has 'fresh'milk ready...but take w/o problem when hubby feeds her.Think the teat that you're using plays a major part too as some texture are simply too hard and babies tend to reject them.Try teats that are similar to our nipple shape/texture like nuk,avent etc.The key here is to try which nipple yr baby is receptive to.So far she only takes abt 80ml of ebm but I'll latch her on to top it off once I'm back or rested.No matter what baby still prefers mummy to supply the milk;-)
I'm using Avent.

a BIG welcome 2 all the new mummies who juz joined us...

i've MIAed for a long while cos i brought both boys 2 JB for a wkend getaway fr 23-24sept and b4 tat i was sick. Upon our return, both boys caught a viral infection on 28sept. Sigh! i've been busy & tied down wif them. both boys suffered fr a runny nose at 1st, followed by a very bad phlegmy cough. the elder boy recovered much faster but it's edward, the younger boy who suffered the most. Edward even had 2 take antibiotics at such a young tender age (2.5mths). Also, very heartwrenching 2 c him cough wif so much phlegm in this body. There were many occasions when he coughed until his face was red and almost choking.

Luckily both boys didnt kenna fever n are recovering (no more runny nose since Wed) but the phlegm in their throats juz wont go away. So i resortted 2 giving them chinese medication. Another difficult task cos it's not easy 2 take e bitter chinese medication. My edward would b screaming away everytime he has 2 take it.

i've been reading the thread but really no time 2 post the replies until now...here goes!

augbb,
i've been carrying edward upright since he was abt 3wks cos he dun fancied being carried horizontally. i've also been putting him on his tummy 2 let him practise exercising his neck muscles. i would say edward's neck getting stronger. he wont bobbing his head abt so much n we've always been carrying him upright whenever he's awake.

pupsandcups,
edward's on TBFG (latching on) for abt 3wks. he rejected bottle and simply refused it whenever anyone feeds him. *i tik* he shld b getting enuff cos he sleeps for 2-3hrs after every feed and lately at nite, he has been sleeping for 4-6hrs stretches.

leia,
my boy who has been on TBF since 6wks old only poo poo every 2-3days (there was once he pooed 4days later). i was rather concerned so consulted the PD last wk. PD said it's very gd cos it meant tat e bb's absorbing all e nutrients so nothing 2 dispose. oh well, i've heard fr friens tat it also not gd for TBF bbs 2 poo poo only every 2-3days, shld b everyday. anyway, my boy's growing well, gaining weight so i dun bother. unless it's causing him discomfort, then i'll b concerned.

skyblue,
i also find tat drypers cutting very small. i was given a 'S' pack n when edward was abt 3wks old, i quickly finished up the drypers 1st (i had other diapers such as nepia, mamy poko & EQ). very tight fitting for him.

now edward's using petpet M (sometimes L - cos confused wif gabe's petpet L), mamy poko M and pampers all nite L (bought fr our recent JB trip).

ur lochia lasted very long hor...mine was only abt 3wks, same as gabe's time. i guess if ur gynae's gonna prescribe hormones pills 2 help u fix it, y not? u cant b having lochia forever rt? but do check if the hormones pills will affect ur breastfeeding. u still BFg?

fiona
i'm e one who asked abt e lucky bb sling. gd huh? where did u get it fr?

cocomo
glad 2 hear tat ur boy's drinking fr e bottle again. yes, u must really hardened ur heart. my heart forever soft so i still latching on directly. anyway, me SAHM so ok 4 me 2 offer my breasts all e time. of course it can b difficult if i wanna go out but so far, wherever i go, both boys coming wif me. i'll need 2 train edward 2 drink fr e bottle b4 he starts eating solids but will wait until he completely gets rid of his phlegm 1st.

juz remember bbs wont go hungry. they'll wanna drink milk & have their fill b4 they sleep.

noe
i'm still very amazed on how u can nurse ur boy in a sling. i cant even sling edward. he gets totally uncomfortable when i do so BUT husband's able 2 sling him very well. i tik i didnt sling him properly, tat's y

smlow, cocomo
i was juz talking 2 PIYO a few days ago abt arranging 2 meet up wif all of u. my boys r recovering...PD said all clear 2 meet up wif pp (so i brought them out since fri). let's get PIYO 2 fix something since she offered her plc (i love 2 offer my plc but i stay in e other end of e world - Pasir Ris...i tik hard for e westside mummies 2 travel over)

piyo
thks 4 offering a plc...how abt u suggesting a wkday and a wkend? almost every mummy is still having their ML (of course except SAHMs lah). it'll b a gd chance for the mummies 2 try bringing their bbs out on their own on a wkday and on a wkend, the husbands can come along too.

count me in hor...i'll love 2 c megan and the other mummies/bbs.

kelly,

With regards to the lucky baby sling,I've heard positive reviews abt it too so just ordered one from here:http://gothemilkyway.com/index.asp
Although I'm quite happy with the MIM sling that I've been using since my elder girl was born,I could certainly do with a hassle-free sling plus I like the designs too.

fiona,

glad to hear another good remarks on the sling..I'm sure I would prefer using this than others.

Kelly and anyone who can help,
Jayden rejected bottle again ytday after I offered breast at night time. He has been very fussy at night for about 2-3 weeks already (thought growth spurt only for few days?), always wanna be carried and cried for milk at night. Sometimes can sucks from 10pm-1am/2am (even he suck till tummy big big and puke milk still cried for milk). I gave him bottle in daytime (started 2 days ago when he finally accepted bottle) and latch on at nite. But In order for me to know how much he actually consumed as he so fussy at night, I gave bottle at 12am feed, he rejected and staretd to cry non from 12am till 2am non-stop (till he fall asleep) and refuse the bottle even though he really hungry. This morning he still refuses bottle. How huh?!!!!! I change from Avent teat to nuk but he still rejects. SOS!

Another thing, even though he accepted bottle 2 days ago (only for that 1 day he used bottle then rejected again), he only drank abt 40-50ml most of the time but sometimes can drink 125ml. I know of if he latch on he can drink more than 120ml coz I can pump out more than 120ml both breast (sometimes even from one breast). Why like that huh? Then ytday he only poo for once.

Kelly/Piyo and others,
We can have it at my place as well, just got my replacement maid ytday. I am staying at Redhill area.

i finally know how heavy is my boy.. 5.3kg at 7 wks
drinking 120ml every 2-3 hours... would love to know your bb weight/age & feeding too... really envy those whose bb feeds every 3-4 hours... any idea how to train longer hours? many thanks...

Jokojo,

My girl is 6kg at 7wks

Don't really know how much she's drinking as she's fully latched on...only occasionally will drink ebm from the hubby.I'm feeding her on demand as well so don't really go by the hours.

Jokojo

my baby v small sized ... last i weight he was 4.7kg at 7weeks, is it normal i wonder, but he was born 2.7kg,so maybe jus a small bb i dunno. he's fully latched on, so sometimes i really wonder if he's getting enough. well he's got lots of wet/soiled diapers n is alert so i guess ok. i think. sigh, as mommy always worry.

hi kelly

can i check with you, your boy sleep 4-6hours at night, do u wake up and express milk? i had a blocked milk duct a few week backs that led to a fever am wondering if i should express in the middle of the night, but its so tiring

cocomo,
u 1 2 call me so i try 2 help u? hard 2 type my long story here. need 2 find out more details fr u too.

pupsandcups,
yup, have been doing so lately. i usually pump at 3am or 5am. last nite, edward slept fr 930pm-5am. i didnt pump cos my breasts not engorged cos he sapu BM fr both breasts b4 he KO 4 e nite. BM ss also affected these two days cos didnt sleep/rest well.

YES, it's very tiring...i can barely keep my eyes open when i express. i keep myself positive, telling myself tat i'm helping my breasts produce more milk tis way and storing more BM reserves 4 my boy juz in case i not around, he still has EBM.

hi pupsandcups,

dont worry, every baby is different... it could be our bb are overweight! ai ya, we mummies always worry this, worry that... drink too little we worry, drink too much we also worry... so long bb is happy can already la...