(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

hi jokojoko,

did u take baby's temperature after crying and feeding? cos if u do, then its not accurate, tats wat PD told me. how many times do u bathe ur baby? for me, if the weather is warm, its 2 times, if weather is cooling, nite time will wipe the face n body then wash the bottom..

Timpani,

My PD prescribed ridwind also. 0.5ml, 3 times a day... does it mean I give it to BB once every 8 hour, even at night??

My BB absolutely hates it when I syringe it into his mouth. Even though I do it a bit at a time, and then let him latch on, he'd wail like I've fed him some bitter medicine! Headache man! Does it taste so bad? How did your BB take to it?

My CL finally left on Sunday. And though I don't particularly miss her, I see the value in having an extra pair of hands to do the cooking, the laundry, the house cleaning, and to entertain BB while I surf the net. :p

I forsee I'll be alone most of the time for much of the next 2 months cos the HB is studying part time after work (2-3 times a week till 10pm), has to go to school to do project on other days and his final exams is in Nov...

Hope and pray I don't go M A D in the meantime...

Oh, was out with BB and my mom to buy stroller yes'day. Not a v enjoyable experience cos in the 3 hours that I'm there at the mall, I had to go to the nursing room twice to nurse BB... and he can just latch on forever! *sigh*

Hi Leia

As mine is 4 times a day, i did it on alternate feeds. For your case, i suppose it is not necessary to do it every 8 hours, just make sure that morning, afternoon and night, at least 4 hrs interval. The ridwind medication tastes like vanilla, it is sweet but my bb also hates it. Whenever i syringe it into her mouth, she will puke all out. Very clever. So i do it very fast, syringe all in and then follow by water. This way, she will drinks it naturally.

It is always good to have an extra pair of hands. Initially when my CL went back, i also can't cope. My bb will cry even if i carry, i can't calm her down. Not sure if she recognised the CL's smell. :p But after a week or so, everything is ok. And i find that the most important thing is that we must let them exercise their lungs, i.e. let them cry. We got to close one eye as long as they did not cry too hard. If whenever they cry, and we attend to them immediately, end of story liao. Life will definitely be tough.

Yeah Leia,
Confinement over!

Have you tried nursing your ds in a sling while you are out?
I find that helpful as I will nurse Jul in the sling and shop at the same time.
It takes some practice of course and nursing blouses with openings under the busts are most helpful
We don't have to pull a lot up to nurse mah.

<blockquote><hr size=0><!-quote-!><font size=1>quote:</font>

hi, mummies
did any of u feed ur bb with infacol (meant for treatment of colic/wind)? my bb is 7 wks old and has colic - been cying alot at night and cannot be consoled. bought infacol but wondering how much we can give. according to the instruction, for 1 month - 2 yrs - to give 0.2ml but doesn't say how many times a day. is it once a day or with every feed? can someone pl advise? quite desperate now. tks.<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
Hi Amberly,
I fed my #1 and #2 Infacol during their infant days.
As I was nursing, I will drop a drop of Infacol into their mouth before each nursing session.
As when bottle-feeding with EBM, I will drop it into the milk before feeding.

Hi mummies, long time never posted msg here, i delivered on 21 Aug 06 and will like to check with you all on the following:

My case: I kept my expressed breast milk initially in fridge, later after ard 12 hrs, i transfered the unconsumable milk into freezer. How should i warm up the milk for baby? Actually i already transferred it back to fridge to defrost (wah and it take 1 day for the milk to defrost, just saw the milk already defrosted, upon defrost, the milk can kept in the fridge for another 24 hours right?). Can this way of defrosting be done and let baby drink by warming up later? I really dun want to waste that bottle of frozen milk so i want to confirm before giving bb to drink or throw away. Do you know how to check whether the milk spoilt?

Piyo,

Just to double check...you mean desitin cream contains steroid? My sons are using them ...

Noe,

Still not good in feeding baby with a sarong. Teach me leh. Find it so diff... must loosen the sarong, pull up the shirt, unbutton the nursing bra...oh no...am I doing it correct?

piyo,
Yalor, if Bfding menses shdn't come so soon. How long is ur lochia oredi?

erin,
My last day of ML is 1 nov, but i intend to utilise my childcare leave so can extend another 4 days. Haven ask my p though.
Actually i have mixed feelings abt gg back to work.

joko,
Yar, when did u take bb's temp? U monitor daily? Usually, wats his temp like?

other mummies,
Have ur lochia ended?

hi ling2, skyblue,

will bathe baby in the morning then wipe whole body in the evening... unless its very warm then will bathe in the evening...

usually takes his temp when he's drinking milk cuz only time he will stay still... temp normally around 37.1 to 37.4...

i delivered on 18 aug and had stopped BF since 2 weeks ago... lochia also ended around same time but menses have not came though... i have irregular menses before pregnancy so dunno if my menstration cycle will change anot...

hi skyblue,
baby is into her 7 weeks liao so my lochia has lasted for 7 weeks too... long right?

Hi Augustmum,
my coliqs told me desitin creamy contains steriods that's when i stopped applying though I have to admit it;s really effective.. the rashes clear almost immediately... now I am using hazeline cos old folks suggested...

hi Noe,
I have the sarong sling too! I only know how to have megan inside via cradle hold position and most of the time she is asleep... how to nurse with the sling? I bot some nursing wear too... so far I have tired bfg in public but without the sling..but I still prefer togo into nursing room to do so, can open more freely haha..

Do you use a spyringe to drop the infacol into Jul's mouth?

Leia,
I have a very good confinement lady so i really miss her when she left..in fact after she left she even called me up the next 2 weeks to find out how Megan is doing.. when I told her about her rashes, she told me next time she comes in again (this mth) she will bring a cream for her to apply...supposedly to be good...

If i have taken out EBM from the freezer to defroze in the fridge, how long can the milk last in the fridge? if it's still unconsumed, can it be placed by in the freezer again? have you all tasted your own breastmilk? Not sure if I am sensitive, but I find EBM and our fresh breastmilk to taste slightly different... anyone have the same feeling?

Megan cries non stop when we bath her almost each time... any of you encounter the same prob? any advise how to stop her from crying?

In my case,lochia ended by 2nd week but thereafter will have light menses-like discharge on and off.Got to postpone my pap smear too.

As for re-gaining our pre-pregnancy figure,yeah!I'm anxious abt it as well.Took 6 mths for my 1st baby and am hoping that this time around will be faster as gained lesser weight but looks like the weight is not budging....sigh!

delsa,
But how do u know the discharge is not lochia? For me, it's been 8 wks, and past few days seem to be heavier flow, jus like menses. I wonder when i can stop wearing pads.

piyo,
Mine longer hor, 8 wks liao

jojoko,
Below 37.4 degrees is normal. BBies tend to have slightly higher temp than adults. As long as not above 37.5 is ok.

hi skyblue,
think my p will not allow me to take childcare leave. my colleague tried to apply for her son's 1 yr old birthday but my p was saying how abt the children in the class. we are in the education line etc... but the childcare leave is supposed to be used for bringing the child to the zoo, etc.. rite? think becos we r in this line so very difficult to get these entitlements.

i also have mixed feelings abt going back to work. sigh... btw, u teaching in pri or sec sch? sec sch have hols earlier rite?

Piyo,
I am using desitin also. After reading your post I checked the ingredients but did notice any steriod le. How's hazeline you using so far?

Piyo, my boy difference from your Megan le, he likes to bath and always cries after bath when I wanna dress him. Why not you try to wrape Megan with cloth and slowly put her into the water and slowly unwrape her? Remember to pet some water on her chest before you do that.

hi piyo,
how do u know desitin cream contains steroid? oh dear, i've been using it for my baby's bottom to prevent rash. my cl told me that if baby's bottom is pinkish or reddish, quickly apply the cream to prevent nappy rash.

does hazeline really work for ur baby? my bb has the usual baby rash which pd says will go off on its own. still thinking whether to apply or not.

my cl also v. nice. called me thrice after she left. in fact, she was in s'pore helping another family with confinement this month. asked abt my baby too. still miss her tho' now getting more used to her absence.

kayden also cries when we want to bathe him esp. during the washing of hair. however, after he's in the water, usually will stop crying and will like sort of enjoy himself even though he's a bit tense. can see him holding his fist very tightly.

oh... hmm
how about drapolene cream? does that have steriods? uh oh... my maid smears on the creme on my bb bum... i keep telling her dun use so much...

gals,
my mum now insisting on changing maid.. looks like have to start looking...
she caught maid being very very close to baby, like kissing him late one nite in the dark... would you all find that erks you? i find it a bit uncomfortable.

also, my maid a few time forgot to check the hottness of the milk she maid, i caught her once, feeding him and he cry, i snatch the bottle and checked - so hot! i am so unhappy...
being stupid is one thing, but lazy or careless with baby, makes me very worried..

sigh, i think now my stress shift from hormonal to stress from maid...

my boy didnt sleep well at all yesterday at mum place... he was up from 6pm - 1145pm, eat and cant go to sleep after feeds... poo poo usually yellow, but did one greenish one - should i be concern?

piyo, erin, cocomo and other mothers,

don't think desitin contain steroid. search the web and found it is commonly used by mothers.

anyone who knows a pharmist or doctor or is going to see yr pd soon, can help to ask the expert?

i forgot issit kelly or erin who's interested in the lucky baby sling...i've tried on mine and i really prefer it to the MIM sling, mainly bcos it doesn't need adjustment ,much easier to use and the design is very trendy...

hi butter,

today 1st time encountered my gal passed out greenish stool too, but she seems alright otherwise, so i think juz monitor and see how, dun worry unless it increase in amount and frequency.

And the issue of your maid kissing your boy, honestly i find that move irky leh...

Timpani:

Yes to exercising lungs, but sometimes, crying develops into the "broken tape recorder" kinda wailing, and I find that when it reaches that stage, it's very difficult to stop already. I can only successfully stop by stuffing my nipple into BB's mouth, while my CL used to be very good at stopping that by just carrying him. Does your BB wail like that?

About Ridwind, you won't believe how many ways I've tried putting that damned 0.5ml into BB's system! Last night, I tried coating my nipple with Ridwind before stuffing into his mouth. But there's still quite a bit left, so as he was latching on, I syringe it into the side of his mouth. He doesn't like it when I do any of this. Very sian to wrestle with him and to hear him cry. So this morning, I mix it in 1 oz of EBM, let BB drink, then let him latch on. This one no complain. :p

And I can't seem to burp BB properly these days. When I try to burp him, he puke milk. *sigh*

Noe:

Nursing tops, I have a few. Slings, I have 2, one cotton and one sateen sling from MIM. Test try them at home but it feels so HOT. BB also a bit scared scared when I put him in, so never continue to test liao. At 5wks, BB already weighs 5.1kg. I honestly can't imagine carrying a sack of rice on my shoulders. Well maybe I should give them slings another go. :p

augustmum, erin:

Desitin cream was prescribed by my PD. Should be ok to use, right?

skyblue:

Lochia more or less finished in 2 weeks. Now still have a little bit of discharge.

piyo:

About BB crying during bath time, is water hot enough? CL ask me to leave mittens on so that BB has something to grab on to... feel more secure that way (is it true?). Also, use your wrist to support BB's head and hand to grab BB's arm... BB feel more secure too.

My boy enjoys the water. It's when I try to lift him out of them water, he gets frightened cos I only support his neck and butt and I guess it feels scary for him cos he'll cry a little and piss in his towel. After 5 weeks, I'm still hopeless at handling a BB.

Ladies who TBF:

Your BB's poo is it always mustard colour? After confinement, I've been eating all the any-o-how stuff and his poo has a more greenish tinge. Ok right?

Skyblue,

I still have lochia. It comes and goes. However, I noticed that it comes whenever I have too little sleep or am stressed.

Erin,

Wow, your p.... I hv nothing to say...actually another reason why I do not want to go back cos I'm lazy to express milk. In addition, sometimes, parents, pupils or other teachers want to see you during yr free periods or recess, how to tell them you can't make it cos' need to express milk.

Was very tempted to go back cos work less than 2 months will be school holidays, but no babysitter and hates to express milk,; so no choice but to forfeit the Nov and Dec pays. My boy's milk very expensive hor?

Butter8,

Actually, it is not advisable for adults, even the pareents, to kiss babies cos may spread germs and diseases to them. Think it was on the news before.

My gal has been experiencing bad regurgitation too, until i started using gripe water and her condition has improved tremendously. I started giving her half a teaspoon every alternate feed(6hrly), now i reduced to 2 times a day, usually i add to the feed after her bath.

butter8,
yah...if i'm the one who saw it, i'll surely carry the bb away from her or tell her it's not hygenic of her to do that.

I am also concern abt the desitin cream as i have been applying it on jayden bum since birth liao coz i find that dropelene cream is too thin n not gd..anyone knows if it reali contain steriod??

My boy seems to like bathing leh..he dun usually cry during bath time..thou it is usually after i carry him out of the water that he sometimes cry..haha..maybe he does enjoy the water that much...anyone, my mum told me to pat the bb chest wif water 3 times b4 putting him down into the water...which i did lah...think it is suppose to prevent bb from being frightened

Hope I did not give everyone here a scare but some of my friends told me so just to be safe, now I only apply on the bums, not on the face.... perhaps anyone who is going to PD soon can ask to clarify?

Breastfeeding mummies,
Does EBM and fresh breastmilk taste different? For the past 2 days, my ger has been rejecting EBM. I am unsure if she is rejecting bottle feeding or EBM? I have been latching her on most of the time.. previously I will always supplement with EBM but recently I have stopped as I have been going out most of the time... now that i am back with supplementing her with EBM again, she dun wan and even puke out my EBM
any help on this?

hi butter8,
that's the trouble with maids... there will be things they do that we see liao we unhappy...maybe you can tell your maid not to kiss your baby due to hygiene reasons? nevertheless, having a maid who loves your baby is far better than having one that is just going thru motion right? I am waiting for my replacement maid to come next week then this current one will go... though she is good but she dun wanna stay haiz

Megan passed out greenish poo once in a while. I think it's ok.

hi cocomo,
will try your method of unwrapping her in water... she starts crying the moment she is naked all the way till we put on clothes for her again... c liao very heartpain..

hi erin,
so far hazeline works well for her face...but she gets upset everytime I try to apply on her..

hi Leia,
Our CL also bathed our ger the same way as yours and we followed her mtd after she left... no use...

My ger's poo is mustard colour and watery most of the time, only once in a blue moon, greenish poo..

hi leia,

this is what i found in a book im reading:
seedy, curdy, creamy or lumpy: light yellow to mustard or bright green. Normal BM stools.

slightly formed: light brownish to bright yellow to dark green. Normal F stools.

Red streaked: rectal fissures or milk allergy.

hi white lady,

hope the above helps too... you may want to consult your pd as blood in bb stools is not "normal"...

just to share with you a book im reading which may be helpful to some first time mums like myself. its titled "What to Expect, the first year" by Heidi Murkoff, Arlene Eisenberg &amp; Sandee Hathaway.

Piyo,
I am in the same situation as yours, having TBF (direct latch on) and now trying to give EBM but my boy rejects bottle. He rather puke all the milk from his mouth then just swallow it! I tried few times and everytimes he rejects (seems like he has forgotten how to suck and struggle a lot to drink the milk so he gave up) I have no choice but to let him latches on as he cried till his whole face red red. Today I tried to give him EBM again and he still rejects. I dun let him latches on but just placed him on the bed and let him cries. After seconds I carried him again and give him the bottle, he rejects and I put him on bed again. Then when third time I carried him and gave the bottle again, he tried to suck although he struggle a lot to suck (at the same time cried loudly), finally he got the tactic right and suck the milk successfully (I so happy and nearly drop tear - must thank to Kelly as she asked me must be 'heartrock'). Maybe you can try the same? Good luck!

hey hey mothers,

checked with my fren, a pharmist. He said any med that cld be bought off the shelf shd not contain steroid. Desitin could be bought off the shelf @ polyclinic and guardian, so shd be safe.

hi Augustmum,
the desitin cream i am using need to be prescribed by doc, not the off the shelf version...

hi cocomo,
I hope I don't have to resort to this mtd but I have a strong feeling I need to..I tried feeding her with bottle this evening, she rejected following which I gave her my breast, she took it quite well... after that I tried giving bottle again she wailed so loud.. guess can confirm it's bottle rejection?

piyo,

Desitin is given by my PD too, but you can also buy it at Guardian for about $11.20. It's the same one. They do not place it on the shelf. Must ask from pharmacist, but they can sell it to you without a doctor's prescription.

If you check out the BP threads, some people are ordering in from drugstore.com. Seems to be cheaper.

Anyway, I only use it on the bum. It's a nappy rash cream right? If it's meant for other kinds of rash, eg. on the face, certainly they won't market it as a "nappy rash cream", but a "any rash cream". :p

Hi Leia,
Yes, the 1st one
haha, I apply on her face cos bums also skin, face also skin, so to me no dif...but some of my friends told me got steriods and would thin out the skin on her face so i stopped just to be safe...

i also use desitin on my girl, but i dont use it everytime i change her diaper, only once a day. sometimes i forget
but so far she hasn't got any rashes on her bum, and to me, as long as there is no rash, then no need to apply any type of diaper rash cream.

any mummies hv meet up already?

Hi, I still think it is safe as the other creams which contained steroid and were prescribed by my pd came with instructions such as 'applying only a thin layer', 'used for only a week' or 'stop application when conditions improve'. etc. However, for desitin, it is to 'apply liberally...'

Anyway, the person going to see the pd, help us ask ok?

smlow,

think no meeting up yet? Wanna organise one.

I'm applying Desitin at almost every diaper change. I'll apply more liberally when I see redness at the buttock.

would love 2 meet up n see everyone in person

where n when? before working mummies go back to work..... ? i'm staying at west area, qtown.
wanna meet in town/public or at someone's place?

hi mummies read that yu all also encounter red patches on baby face, check with my friend she said its baby changing newborn skin to baby skin,
so not to worry i was told to use baby oil on the face so that it won't be so dry.

hi cocomo and augbaby,
I've tried patting his chest with some water before i put him in the water. that's what my cl does too. strangely is that when my cl bathes him, he's ok but when my father or i want to bathe him, he'll cry. only when he's in the water, he'll stop crying. he also cries when i take him out of the water. ai yoh.

hi piyo,
thanks for the info.

If you mummies don't mind, can come my place (south area, Telok Blangah) or my mum's place (Queenstown, just next to Queenstown MRT)...I am going bk work exactly 1 month from today

Hi erin,
think it is normal lor..as long in water kayden dun cry shld be ok..maybe b4 he go into the water, he is scared n after that he din wan to go out of the water..for jayden he sometimes cries when i take him out of the water too..

Me going bk to work on 16th oct liao..would love to meet all of u up but seems like can only do so on wkends liao...

erin,
your baby likes to bathe so much, same as my boy!

After I start to work I will hand my baby to my neighbour (she will come to my place and look after my baby with my maid). She started to come ytday and when I go thru the procedures I done on baby like change diapers, bathe, heating up EBM etc. She keeps saying nowadays so ma fan (eg, gotta apply nappy cream etc), last time she no need to do such things. I damn scare she will skip those things after I go to work. Then she keeps carry the baby upright without holding his head (only hold two arms)!!! I so worry!!! very jia lat...

hey, mummies, I would like to meet up with you guys also!! But then damn scare bring my Jayden out as it will be disaster for me. . .

Hi Augustmum,
It sounds like you got it all correct!
Just need more practice only lah ...
kao_dizzy.gif
I remember my first time nursing Joe in the sling was a messy experience.
My milk sprayed all over his face, I loosened the sling too much, the breast pad in the way etc. Ha ha ...

Hi Skyblue,
Bright red lochia ended 2 weeks after my delivery. Now I am having brownish discharge.
kao_sad2.gif
Urgh ... And it smells fishy.
Is that common? Didn't experience this the last 2 rounds. Can't be infection I think, no itch mah.

Hi Piyo,
Same! Jul knocks out once he's in the sling too.
Usually I will loosen the inner part of the sling more to reveal the nursing opening.
Yeah, I will also try to look for nursing rooms if available. (Can reveal more as you said. Hee hee)
Sometimes if they are occupied or none in sight and Jul's showing signs of hunger (rooting reflex), I will nurse him in the sling before he cries.

Come to think of it, my male friends who are daddies themselves know that I nurse Jul in my sling.
Recently one of them stopped in front of me and asked if nursing is in progress before he approaches me to look at Jul.