(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

anyone start taking leave? i will start mine next monday. but tomolo will be taking mc for my gynae appointment. very sianz to go work.

me just entered 38th week... mine also no signs of coming out even after we tell her to... tomorrow also seeing gynae... he is not very for induced... cos he says my cervix not dilated, if induce may become long and complicated birth...and he wanna take her out b4 EDD so if still no signs may need to go for csec!
So we told baby to come out soon b herself then I dun need to be slaughtered!

thats something i'm scare of also. If go induce and not successful, will end up c section also. But wanted to try natural if possible.

hi celine

i also have increased bowel movement for the past week or so. Sometimes pass motion twice a day, which is very unusual for me.

I did read that a bout of diarrhoea could be a sign that bb is coming, it's the body's natural way of clearing your bowels before labour. But it is only 'could be' lah.

Induce i think will be e last options for us bah.. No doubt hw natural will be better for us instead of waiting at hospital haiz.

I now at home liao lo.. wait n wait getting tired n cant sleep well. I ask gynae y always shit he say normal. N also pelvic more pain AS bb is pushing n presssure us there lo..
aiyo.. sometimes think of all these, scare to have another BUT when carry bb in our arms is worthwhile!

Hi Celine,
I also got loose bowels recently... and I found I got more discharge... anyone has that too? are these signs of baby coming?

ya gynae did mention if induce not successful may end up emer c... yucks! like that I might as well opt for epi csec myself if I know chances of successful induction is low...

Piyo,

I also shit abt 2-3X a day. I think shld be normal too. I have more discharge too.. shld be a sign bah hehehe yeah!

I read somewhere that during the last stage of pregnancy, when the baby is moving down, our body will produce certain hormones to clear our bowels every now and then so as to make more space for the growing baby, its amazing how intelligent our body functions.

haha okie

looks like we all got the sign 'bowel' signs. more discharge is very normal i read.

is your tummy lower now? mine definitely looks much lower, and all the movement is also at the lower part of my abdomen, where i can't see at all ...

piyo,
yah i read some induce still not successful end up c section and got to pay double. but heard that first timers normally won't be that early so just be patient lor maybe baby want more time in our tummy.

or baby we should all do more squating?

hmm....you all so fast take leave already?
i took my ML on 21 aug which was my EDD don't want to waste as gynea had advise not to take until the day baby comes

Pup, Piyo, Cecelia, Cynthia,

Not sure if frequent clearing of bowels a symptom or not. However, I did have loose bowel a week prior to popping...

Noe,

Ya, Noah's underexposed, that's why. We have given mil VCD and DVD but mil did not play them frequently. As sils are also staying with her, they dictate what they wanna to watch on TV. Anyway, mil has a lot of housework to do cos no one wanna help her. Can't blame mil.Her health is not v good too.

Might consider homeschooling before sending Noah to childcare next year. I've teaching background too so scare may be too 'teacher'.

No NDP babies in our midst???? Any news???

Hi Augustmum,
So you are teaching now huh?
Will you continue to work after maternity leave is over?
Yeah, homeschooling or not, being there for our boys during their formative years does make a difference.

Ya, sometimes MILs are overwhelmed with a lot of responsibilities. We will be MILs one day ourselves. Ke ke ke ...

Hi Cyn,
So were the ND babies highly sponsored?
Ke ke ke ... Was wondering if their hospital bills are paid for or something. Ha ha ...

Noe,

What i saw over the TV, alot hampers behind bt i didnt take much notice.. they didnt mention got any sponsor or FREE hospital leh.
I ask hb, he say see who are e sponsor.. BUT I FELT NDP bb not as good as NEW YR bb leh!

ND babies...

i find it puzzling tat the 1st ND babies r twins cos i tot usually twins r induced via c-sect and i was told b4 tat if ur bb is born via selective c-sect/natural delivery, they wont consider ur bb 2 e 1st ND or NY bb. it's like u purposedly choose timing/date mah...

i not too sure abt e info i have. any1 else has any idea?

Kelly,

I agree wit u. I heard ND bb shld not be induce or csect lo.. esp for twins. BT so funny leh when e news announce leh hb also argue n tell my gal y she don come out leh! hahaha..

There is also 2 more ND bb.. 1 in TMC another is MAH.

Check something wit all mummies, was chatting wit jasmine. This come across our conversation.
Have u all prepare first aid kit for bb?
What are the medications etc which suit to be in e kit..?

THANkS!

Yeah Cyn & Kelly,
I was too surprised to read that first ND babies are twins.
Unless, it's really all natural lor, not Csec nor induced.

Noe,

Will be applying for one-year no-pay leave first. Hopefully, after one year, they will approve my application for the second year.

Ya, agreed that formative years are v. important. Once you missed it, you could not turn back the clock.

Regretted going back to work when Noah was one. Can't perform as well at work after return and couldn't provide quality and quantity time with him. Do not want to repeat the same mistake with Zac and hopefully, can make up for the lost time with Noah this time round.

Heh heh Cecelia,
Civil Service!!!

Hi Augustmum,
It's good that your P is supportive of it.
I understand what you mean.
Things are different when I became a mother.
My priorities changed instantly.
When I knew that I was pregnant with #2, I knew I will definitely resign.
kao_sad2.gif
2 years ago, the NPL they offered is obligatory.
Meaning if I take a year NPL, I will need to stay at least a year more in service when I return to work.

I understand it's different now.

hi all, so many postings, need to catch up wif u all.

i m back fr hospital today. it was q an ordeal as suffered lots of side effects of epidural but glad dat's the labour process is over for me. will try to describe more details later.

my bb born 8 Aug by induce, weighs 3.38 kg at birth ( surprised so big right, cos gynae predict bb max wt 3 kg ).

kelly,
thx for msg n wishes. i hav spoken to Mona dat day. will start massage probably next week.

Thanks mommies.

Noe, leobbsmom has popped on 5th Aug (Sat).

Piyo, have already PM you ytday le. Will PM again. Let me know if you still didnt receive. Thanks ya!

Hi Cocomo,
Okie! I will access the details tonight and update the table

Hi CJ,
Congrats!!! Come back and update us again

those who have experienced contraction pains, mind if you describe the feeling again? Is it at lower abdomen like menses cramp?

morning gals

MUCOUS PLUG
can mommies who have popped or had kids describe to me what the mucous plug looks like? i just had a blob of discharge, like a tablespoon, it was clear, tinted VVV slightly brown. Difference between this and my normal discharge is that it is kinda ... 'stringy'? really like phlegm/mucous from the nose.

*PaNiC* - labour??

SPECIAL BUYS IN THE PAPERS TODAY

Urban Warehouse (opp Somerset MRT)
Lucky Baby Play Gym $19.90 (Usual $39.90)
Picture on Today paper Pg 45

Taka Baby Fair
Weekend specials (Fri 11Aug - Sun 13Aug)
Aprica
UN Nelccobed Stroller (4.7kg) with free storage bag (Newborn to 3yrs)
UP $899
Now $399
(Limited to 30 PIECES)
Picture on Straits Times Home Page8

Hi pups,
I went down to taka fair yesterday n find that their pigeon wideneck bottle is having sales. They sell it for the price of $18/3 btls but this is the taller bottles.

cecelia i heard that the avent blts also cheap leh. $16 /3 bths????
i cant wait to go down on sunday to shop for it..

Cat, i din browse on avent product as din use it, sorry....

Btw, want to check smting. For hospital bag, d u pack u daily changing clothing apart from the nightgown that u bring. Or we just wear the nightgown during our stay in hosp?

Hi Catherine,

Yes Avent bottle 260ML cost $16 for 3 bottles.
If we are using avent products, can go there have a buy as they have discount for all accessories..

Augbaby has discharged. She will post her story n her prince pic when she is better.. now handling BF n getting adjusted. She is doing fine.

Cecelia,

I will b bring 1 set of clothing first. Don wanna make my bag so heavy lo. Den when hb come back another day he will bring back e old one n get mi a clean set.

Some hospital has their gown, like TMC. But for mi I felt more comfy to wear own one.. more warm..

pupsandcups,

think u juz lost ur mucus plug.. but, this can happen a few days to few weeks before labour..
next thing to watch out for is water bag breaking and regular contractions...

Hmm Augbaby is having difficulty latching on her boy, cos still no milk yet, plus, her boy is a yeller.. once wake up, will yell for milk immediately.. and as we know, yelling babies can't latch on well!

What can she do? any advice from the 2nd time mummies? She has been drinking papaya soup.. and red dates drink n milo.. still very stressed over the situation.. plus, PND has kicked in... how ah?

thanks Jasmine,

yeps been surfing the net on mucous plug, but guess it dsnt equal to labour. phew for me, cos we're moving tis weekend.

wish i could help augbaby too. but am clueless too. tell her i send my well wishes, and we're here if she need someone to listen during PND.

hi jasmine,
i just talked to lactaction consultant. it's a bit to late for me but think it can help augbaby. ask her to latch bb on as they can clear block ducts. once cleared, milk flow shd come in regularly. use cold cabbage leaves to soften breasts if they harden. then use hot towel or hot compress. put on breast for 15 mins and massage during the meantime. then latch baby on or express for 30 mins max (do not be like me. i pump for too long so over stimulate milk supply)

i stopped bfing at the moment liao cos i have blocked ducts and engorgement. worried she'll be like me cos my baby wasn't discharge with me and din latch on the first few days and hence he couldn't help me clear the ducts.

think i'm also suffering from pnd too. can tear for nothing. perhaps i'll call her later so we can support each other.

Piyo,

Contraction pain is worst then menses pain...pain till cannot walk...and when intervals are close, by 5mins, time to go hospital...anything not sure, call your gynae cos' everybody has diff threshold of pain...

Jasmine,

When did augbaby give birth? Milk will usually come in on the third or fourth day and usually the mother will suffer from engorgement when that milk comes...since she has a yelling baby, mabbe can try latching the baby on b4 baby gets hungry and starts to yell...

Could also try changing the feeding position...if cradle hold cannot, try lying down position...

She could also try expressing, on top of latching on, to stimulate the milk supply...can ask her to call Thomson parentcraft for help too...

erin,

It's normal for first-time mums to feel sad...they said it's the hormones and motherhood could be rather overwhelming...

Try to rest more, when baby sleeps, you sleep... log on if you need a break...

Btw, did the lactation consultant said you could continue to breastfeed? For my first one, I stopped for a few days cos' baby got jaundice but after latching on for a few days, the milk supply came back...but be prepared for a yelling baby and frequent feeds...

hi augustmum,
she's not too sure abt it cos of the medicine i take. i din know the med is to stop milk supply. thought it would reduce gradually. but anyway, she ask me to continue expressing and drinking more malt drinks. hopefully can still maintain supply. but another worry is i'm not sure whether the med will have any side effects on the baby if i continue to bf. she says shd have but no studies have been done on bbies and young children.

Hi Augustmum,

Augbaby gave birth on 6th Aug.

I think having PND for a start cant be avoided cos everything is new to some of us n also will tends to freak when bb cries...

Lucky we have friends here to share n feel free to call n chat. This is another good way of releasing stress n doubts too..

WHAT IS MUSCUS DISCHARGE?
Is it jus like normal vaginal discharge which is increase esp reaching EDD? How does it realli looks like? I have done some serach online but still bit stupid n blur.
For mi my discharge is increasing n color bit like we having runny nose..

hi cynthia

if tis morning mine was really my mucous plug, the distinctive difference is the texture, it was kinda 'stringy' like phlegm from your nose, vvv different from normal discharge. mine was v clear also, vaginal discharge tends be be cloudy..
i think.

Hi Pups & Cyn,
Yah ... The mucous plug is thick & stringy as Pups has put it.
We can actually hold it with our fingers and it won't break.

I experienced that for #2 together with streaks of blood.
I had a show. Contractions started soon after.

I am having lots of Braxton Hicks lately in fact the whole day yesterday. It only ceased when I sit or lie down ...
Oh when? Oh when?

Hi Pups & Noe,

Oh.. i have it more than a week. Its thick n slightly clear bt got bit yellowish n sometime if wipe after urine got bit bit small spot of blood.. i wonder is infection or wat bt i do not feel any itchness. Yesterday didnt ask gynae abt it aiya. Think shld be muscus...

Ya oh.. having all these symptoms when ah when!!! when to pop! cant wait! So tiring to play waiting n guessing games!

Wonder sleep half way in e nite water bag burst how? HAHAHAHAAHa