(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

hi piyo ,

i m not sure whether do we need to take antibiotic if c sect , cos gynae did not mention anything abt this to me yet

but u not going c sect rite ? u going for natural rite ?

Hi Piyo,

Tell me about it..i feel like i'm forever worrying. At 1st was Grp B then was baby weight small
No no..must take the antibiotics! My doc was so stern when he said "its your duty to remind me abt the antibiotics during labour" n the doc i went to for 2nd opinion said that he seen cases tt some babies even died cos nvr take antibiotics.Tts so scary

I also was toying around with the idea of C section cos i read tt some mom opt for it so baby wont have to pass through the baby canal and kenna the infection. I asked my doc abt it but he said he will still give me antibiotics leh

Hi Cecilia,
The antibiotics given during labour is also in pill form issit? Cos i read that they will insert using drip.What abt the tablet to insert inside vagina? If normal delivery..wont i eventually end up pushing it out? Sorry to ask so many qns.Doc doesnt say much abt the infection and the internet sites seem to make it sound like its serious.

white lady, piyo n all
am been asking for c sect due to my diabetes condition plus history of undilated cervix.

even if u r gg of c sect hv to eat antibiotic which am taking now....

cocomo,
thx for the article

Hi cocomo,
Thanks for the link! very informative

Hi White Lady,
If baby still not growing well, gynae may wanna take it out earlier via csec...

Helo!

I think 2.5kg shld be ok.. i don mind a bigger bb cos always wanted to hit at least 3kg.. ok la.. for my size wont be a prob to pop a bigger one hehehe..

WOW at least im glad to hear from some of e mums here on their bb weight den i wont get so worried too.

Hi honeyhaven!
Oh i receive e Pre-admission form from MAH. Last check up told Dr Adrian to book 4bed for mi. MAH send a confirmation letter liao lo...
Ya i now gg to see him in 2 weeks time den will be 1 week.. den POP! hehehehe

silvia,
i oso come across the other article on sm topic. in the delivery, they will gave us the drip form. d 1 to be insert into vagina only b4 we are delivering.

Peddie, here's some suggestions

1) toiletries for baby - get Lactacyd (green and blue stripes one, cos babies have sensitive skin and this is an all purpose wash)

2) detergent:

Pureen liquid detergent wif softener, selling cheap at KKH, the shop next to Mcdonald

3) nb/small diapers (for 1st few weeks)

You'll get a pack of diapers (nb) to bring home after delivery, so need to get one more pack.

For cleaning bottles and other baby items like your breast pump, it'll be good to get Tollyjoy/Pigeon baby liquid cleanser. Sterilise bottles, teats etc using the old method of boiling in a pot would be economical if you don't have an electrical steriliser.

For breastfeeding, do invest in a bottle of nipple cream, I have a tube of Gerber unused given by a friend. Send me your addy and I'll post it to you. I'm using AVENT, not used to Gerber's. This cream would help to soothe cracked nipples especially during the first month when the breasts are "changing" its elasticity to adapt to breastfeeding.

For diapering baby, use disposable diapers until meconium or those sticky tar like faeces are gone or else it'll be hell for you to wash off the stains from your baby's cloth diaper.

A good source for getting cheap/used baby stuff would be:

1. http://www.babytown.com.sg
(for strollers, prams etc)

2. http://www.yahoo.com.sg
(click auction, I've always get the best deals from this site)

3.http://www.twinsplussing.com/buyandsell.htm

You may like to go to this forum's site under Free Items or Willing to Buy (WTB) to get some stuff you need. Most mommies are more than willing to pass their used/excess items.

Take care dearie

aiyah.......i'm also tested postive for GrpB Strep...sob**

hubby was so so worried, coz we din noe wat tat was.. he even asked if it was caused by FOOD! hahaha...coz we had baked cheese oyster 2 days ago, and i tasted abit of the raw oyster, so hubby was worried. FYI - i got food posioning due to uncooked prawns when i was in my week 20+...

so we are paranoid abt raw food now.. =P

gynae told me tat the bacteria can travel up the birth canal from our anus. so gotta be really hygienic lor.. but it's common, coz we are too big to be really clean after WC biz..

so if u hv those small pipe in your office toilet, pls be sure to clean properly after WC biz..

Hi Cecelia,

Thanks! Now it makes sense
Doc did give me the tablet to insert but i thought it was for my thrush. Ya,i dont think i'll forget to tell him cos i keep thinking abt the infection.Haiz,jus cant wait for baby to be out.Seems like its safer for him to be outside than inside

I started to have this crampy feeling again...

Going to ask my gynae to check if I have dilation anot tomorrow during my visit to him.
Last sat, Wk 37, my bb weighs 2.5kg... wondering what is her weight now??

Seems like quite a number of us kena the Strep B virus huh?

Hi Rain,
I think your baby would definately put on wt liao by the time you go c your gynae... keep us posted k

hi sylvia,
I am about 1.58-1.6m so I am not petite lor

Hi Leobbsmum,
Noted! will take more care when we go toilet...

Hi Cat,
Thanks for the encouraging words

i had checkup tis morning. bb still not engaged yet. But i just realised i have spotting..
just called tmc emergency no. maybe it's due to the dilation check tis morning? so worried..

piyo ,

dont worry too much , if really have to c sect also ok lah , nowadays c sect is very common , no worries ! just dont think too much , cos tomorrow can see how your bb growing already !

nurbates,

the jabs have to be administered on the thigh or buttocks.

Peddie,

Congrats! so things did manage to work out when u try...

piyo,

according to my gynae, even positive, it's not very worrying cos'he say only a small percentage of the mummies with positive Grp B Strep will pass on to baby. I wud tink u shd take the antibiotics to be on the safe side.

Thanks JFong and White Lady

Am curious...if baby is still breeched in 38 weeks..does it mean tt we need to go for c-section?

For those who've gone thru c-section...how is it?? Can we take essence of chicken after delivery? Any foods to avoid?

hi skyblue,
my legs also aching like mad at the end of the day esp. now when bb's most prob pressing on my nerve. limping all the way.

i'll be taking the 84 days of maternity leave all the way too. want to establish my milk supply too.

hi peddie,
congrats. glad to hear the good news.
keep us updated when u deliver.

hi sierra,
long time din hear from u. all the best. may u have a smooth delivery.

Hi Chrys,
It maybe due to the dilation check. But you have to monitor if there is contraction or frequent cramps.

I just had my wk36+ checkup. Baby's weight still at 3kg. Had my dilation check, still not open. So gynae use the membrane swapping(use her fingers to try to open the cervix).It is a bit painful,but i feel the intense menses cramp and asked her to stop. She told me she manage to open the cervix to abt 0.5cm. I have so many contractions and tightening, yet cervix still so stubborn. Sigh.I am very anxious to pop and tired of the waiting game. I think i need to walk more n squat more liao.

Oh, Dr Wong told me that Wanli spend almost an hr to push her baby girl out, and she was very exhausted after that.She was discharge today.

Peddie,

Am glad to hear the good news.

You may want to give ROM a call. From what I know, you should be able to get a date within 14 days, but you have to pay some amount of $ for the last minute thingy. $100+ I think.

All the best!

hi peddie,
its great to hear ur latest development n wonderful news dat u can keep e baby. so happy for u cos it's a big u-turn of events. so we realise a lot of problems can b worked out wen we faced it courageously.

hi ladies who PM me. replied u liao.

anybody's feet swelling is v bad? cos my feet is so swollen dat i got stretch marks on my calf. the whole feet is so red n ugly n like gonna blow up any minute...sobz

Hi Peddie,

Congrats! Glad it work out for you.. Can't u ROM outside with a justice of peace? juz need to fill in some stuff that's all rite?

Mummies who want to buy nursing bras from impression, saw today's papers that OG got 20% + 10%??? so this means the bras are on discount again from its original price of 9.90sgd!!! BTW, the tube bras,, free size leh.. getting tight liaoz for me..

Anyone investing in a DIY post natal belt/ wrap??

Seems like alot of us got medium babies. My gynae also estimate that my boy will be 3.5kg if full term at 40wks.

Went for my 36wks scan tday n CTG scan n my boy is now 3.2kg. He has gain 600gm in 2wks time. He used to gain abt 400gm in 2wks but suddenly increased extra 200gm. I'm getting abit worried coz he's still not engaged yet. Dun think i'm showing any signs of delivery coz i only got mild contractions. So far my gynae havent done any VE check for me.

Btw,is there any exercise that we can do to get the baby engaged?

Anyway, I think it's better if possible to clear the 84days maternity leave in 1 shot. Coz in case *touch wood* ur employee decide to retrench u or give u the golden hand shake, u cant claim the balance maternity leave.

Urrgggg, mommies....

experiencing contractions again. Couldn't sleep. dunno is it real for this time. Praying hard to God to intensify the pain if it is real. Feel like pooing actually....

Jasmine,

Not sure if the Impression bras are going at 20% + 10%. I was at OG yes'day but not all items in the store are going at that rate. Some of the baby items are though...

Maybe I'll check it out after later. Am working today and my workplace is in the vicinity of an OG store.

sierra,
all the best...have a smooth, fast & safe delivery.

augustmum,
yikes! the contractions must b keeping u awake such tat u r posting at 3am+. take care ya...hopefully u'll pop soon.

peddie,
i was very sad when i 1st read ur posting abt how u hv 2 send ur boy 4 adoption, u cant b wif ur loved one. then u shared the gd news. very happy 4 u.

u b strong, take care & keep us updated. let us know if u need help.

WHO'S NEXT?

looks like we have a mummy in tis thread popping every wk? i wonder who'll pop tis coming wk. 3wks ago was jfong, e wk b4 was me and a few days ago was wanli.

Hi Kelly and Leia,
Still at home trying to figure out if it is contractions. The pain wnet off at about 5am, after I tried to sleep. However, the tightening came back. Now my tummy very tight, got the feelig of as if period is coming. Feel very different from my experience of contraction, not the gastric feeling, where pain came and went.Just wanna to poo...

Urgggg....no one at home and simply too tired to go see doc. Still praying hard to have a more obvious sign, mabbe like a show which is more obvious.

Kelly,
How did your contractions feel like the previous time?

augustmum,
my contraction felt like cramps and they r below the belly button. very painful crampy like feeling. hope tis helps.

how abt timing ur contractions? u seeing dr ang rt? mayb u 1 2 call him 4 advice?

I went for my 37th wk consultation this morning and my baby is now 2.95kg. The baby's head not engaged yet and doc said still very high up. I will need to do fetus weight and pelvic check next week to see if my pelvic is big enough to have natural birth as I am quite small in size. Feel damn discouraging, have a feeling that it's gonna be a c-sec. Ai. . .

peddie,
i am so sorry i have checked the battery breast pump and is not working. lucky i check b4 handling to you becos in the first plc i nv check at all i just throw it aside.
i am so sorry for that.

I went for my wk 36 checkup. Baby is now 2.886kg at wk 36+. My gyane says baby is quite big, asked me not to eat too much especially durian. He says too big baby difficult to go for natural birth. The good size for natural according to him is 3.0kg to 3.2kg. My baby's head also not engaged yet.

Hi cynthia,
Dr Adrain has changed my checkup frequency from 2 wks to every 1 wk. My next checkup will be next fri for wk 37 checkup.

Thanks to all of you, especially encouraging smsed from chrys, dino and kelly

Here my birth story:
19/7/2006

7am:
Can't wait anymore and call gynea as I still don't have any consistent contraction. She advice me to admit to the labor ward as she think I may dilated 3-4cm after monday checkup. So happy finally no need to wait any more :p. Pack my thing and have a simple breakfast at "Ah Kun".

9:00am
Take bath and see "show" again, it has started 3 days ago but today getting more and look like jelly dark red color.

10:30am
Reached TMC and instructed to wait at the observation ward and hubby proceed to do the admition. In the observation ward, nurse asked me to change the hospital gown (dunno even bra or panties also need to take out :p). Midwife check blood pressure and VE. ohhh, 3.5cm dilated and confirm I'm in labor so should delivered today. Midwife do the shaving then inject fluid via anus (enema) to clear bowel (it is something like warm jelly being injected). Ask the midwife how long need to hold because immediately I got the feeling want to rush to toilet. It is like diarrhea feeling. After that I have been assign to labor ward 1. (The labor ward we had visited during parentcraft class)

11:00am
Waiting at the labor ward with CTG On, watch TV and magazine. Dr Wong came in and do VE check again. Confirm 3.5cm dilated and she said will burst my water bag and ask me don't look at the equipment she used as she know I'm very scare of pain
. (It is a very slim glass tube inserted into the cervix). It is not pain, then u will feel some warm water flowing out. Anyway, my contraction still not regular then I asked when is the best time to take epidural, doctor said anytime. Decided wait for a while so that experience a bit the contraction pain
. Dr wong said she think baby will be out at 6pm.

11:30am
On drip and nurse collect 3 small tube of blood for the cord blood donation. Started to feel some contraction but bearable, it is 6 mins apart.

1:00pm
Nurse increase the dosage from 12 to 16 (for contraction). then contractio become 4 mins apart. Can feel quite pain already.....but with 4 mins apart still can tahan. Kelly, now I know why last time u said my pain threshold is high, actually it is not my pain threshold high. The contraction pain after and before water bag burst is different. At least now I really feel quite pain when the graph only reach 40 plus. Pain until I can not breathe as normal.

1:30pm
Nurse increase the contraction dosage again from 16 to 18. Now contraction become 2 mins apart. Oh my god, I pain like want to die already, request for epidural. So regret requests it so late. Need to wait for 30 mins before anesthetist came in. Dr Wong does the VE check again, so disappointed only dilated 4 cm.

2:30pm
Anesthetist came and starts preparing the epidural. Didn't see what the anesthetist using to do the injection but she is excellence, at least I don't feel any pain for the whole process, it only take less than 5 mins. Feel the dosage running into my body but still can feel the contraction. Anesthetist said need to wait for 10 -15 mins before it take effect. Started feeling the legs are numb after 15 mins. In fact I got no more feeling on both of my legs.......even one of my leg fall down from the bed also don't know. Now happily chatting with hubby again
. Feel hungry already.

4:30pm
Nurse came in and ask whether I feel any pressure or any urge to push, I said my legs totally got no feeling, can't feel anything. She did VE again and said already 9cm dilated, just need around 1 more hr.

5:30pm
The nurse came in again and told me I can start pushing. harr, so fast? Feel so surprise. The midwife set up all the equipment and ready for delivery.

5:45pm
Nurse checking the CTG graph then whenever contraction come will ask me to push like pass motion. Start pushing, push push push........the nurses there very encouraging, they said the way I push is correct.

6:00pm
Dr Wong came in and joins with the nurse to ask me push. They said can see the hair but still got long way to go
. So tired already.......... how come correct way of pushing still take so long. I think is because I feel hungry.

6:30pm
Dr Wong left the room because she knows I still got long way to go....
, continue pushing by following the nurse instructions. Suddenly got the urge to vomit, quickly tell the nurse give me plastic bag. I vomiting alot....spread until the bed also has, all yellowish bitter water.....nurse said is the side effect of epidural.

6:40pm
Dr Wong back and she sit in front of me. I know she prepare to do episotomy for me. She keep asking whether I still got energy, if yes then better continue because she hope no need to use forceps. Continue pushing but now 2 nurses helping me by pushing on my tummy.

7:00pm
Don't know how many push until I already fully exhausted then finally my baby out at exactly 7pm, weight 2.77kg. Dr put the baby on my tummy,
so happy to see my little angel, baby is purple color when out. Doctor said it is normal, need to wait until she breath then will change the color. Nurse clean up the baby and doctor helping me to push the placenta out. It is stuck inside, then I saw doctor put her whole hand inside and pull it out. (I really cant imagine without epidural how pain will it be
). Then doctor do the stitching, can feel abit pain already but bearable. Baby put on my side to breastfeeding her, feel so touch and happy

8:30pm
I being push to my own room and baby at nursery.

I think I really have a long push until after that I got no more energy even to hold my handphone. Whole day like not eating anything except my breakfast until I feel so hungry. After delivery they give me a sandwich, so happy but just bite once then vomit again, side effect of epi. Then the nurse said you better don't eat anything until 11pm...
. I think before admit to delivery ward should eat more to make sure you have enough energy. After delivery is really weak, until today my whole body still pain.

Hi Dino & Chrys,
Dr Wong is really good, very encouraging
. Her stitching skill also very good, I didnt feel any pain for my episotomy. My muscle pain is painful then the episotomy. I think with epidural, the whole delivery become painless. You can try the contraction feeling first then decide whether want to take the epidural.

Hi Kelly,
May I know when the milk will come in? (I mean with heavy flow where we can actually pump out). I see some milk already but seem like not much lei, I don't know whether my baby get enough or not. Anyway, i think she is not enough become every 1 hr she will cry for milk. The first night I just discharged I totally never sleep because baby keep on crying every hr
so tiring...... I decided to give her abit of formula.

And is that normal for baby to look yellowish on 4 days? When the jaundice will go away?

Welcome back Wanli!

Painful contractions aside, it's light-hearted reading your sharing. Hee hee ...
It must be quite an experience for you.

Have a good confinement & speedy recovery ya.

<blockquote><hr size=0><!-quote-!><font size=1>quote:</font>

May I know when the milk will come in? (I mean with heavy flow where we can actually pump out). I see some milk already but seem like not much lei, I don't know whether my baby get enough or not. Anyway, i think she is not enough become every 1 hr she will cry for milk. The first night I just discharged I totally never sleep because baby keep on crying every hr :-( so tiring...... I decided to give her abit of formula.

And is that normal for baby to look yellowish on 4 days? When the jaundice will go away?<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>

Hi Wanli,
The milk will come in any time between 2nd - 6th day.
It differs from mummy to mummy.
Supply = Demand
With dd latching on &amp; suckling more, it will come soon enough.

Yeah ... For my #1, his jaundice surfaced (more obvious) from 4th day onwards.
It can go on from weeks to months (breastfeeding jaundice). #1 had it for 2 months whereas #2 had it for only 3 weeks.

Did PD ask for follow-up on dd's jaundice level?

Hi Noe,
. It is really a different experience in life..... so many first time need to be gone through during the whole delivery....

Any tips for breastfeeding? I already have sore nipple, think is because baby not getting enough and keep on crying so whenever she cry I will let her latch. ohhh...it is really painful...

Hi Noe,
Yah, I got to bring the baby to check for jaundice level tomorrow. Her jaundice started from saturday, feel abit worry because today clinic not open.

Now I really can feel being a parents really not that easy.....hahha...my baby is crying again, got to feed her, talk to u later

Hi Wanli,
kao_dizzy.gif
Sore nipples is a common problem for mummies.
Especially as first time mummies, our nipples will be subjected to long periods of suckling!

I remember that my nipples cracked &amp; bled the second day I was trying to nurse #1!
I learnt that he was latching on incorrectly.

You may like to check if dd is latching on correctly.
If needs require, try asking for friends who have breastfed to visit you for support.
If not, visiting an LC will be helpful.

Recently, my friend approached me too late (8 days later) so she developed mastitis &amp; subsequently abcess.
She'd lots of milk, however she also had blocked milk ducts so it made it difficult for both herself &amp; her dd.
kao_sad2.gif
Yes, her dd didn't latch on correctly too.

<blockquote><hr size=0><!-quote-!><font size=1>quote:</font>

Hi Noe,
Yah, I got to bring the baby to check for jaundice level tomorrow. Her jaundice started from saturday, feel abit worry because today clinic not open.

Now I really can feel being a parents really not that easy.....hahha...my baby is crying again, got to feed her, talk to u later :)<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
kao_smile2.gif
Hi Wanli,
Tomorrow is coming soon enough.
You will find out her bilirubin level.

Yeah, being a parent is not easy.
Run along ... Don't neglect your own well-being too okay.

Must rest &amp; recuperate. Being too stressed out will affect milk supply as well.

After the dilation check on friday morning, i had spotting. I called TMC emergency no. as nobody picked up the phone at 5.35pm at ACJ clinic. Almost immediately, Dr Wong called back. She said the spotting might be due to the dilation check, asked me to monitor baby movement and look out for contraction pain. I told her there wasn't any pain at all, only the spotting.

But early this morning around 5am, I was awaken by contraction and menses cramp. It comes every 10 minutes, sometimes 5 min, sometimes 15 min, each cramp and contraction last for abt 30 secs. And the spotting on friday which had already dried up "show" again.. I couldn't really sleep, just looked at the clock to monitor the time when the cramp came. It continue until now. There's some discharge of jelly like blood too..

I called TMC emergency no. again tis morning 11+. Dr Wong said if the contraction+ cramp becomes regular for interval of 5min, just go straight to the labour ward at level 2, or if the pain is so great that i can't endure anymore. No point to go now as i might be only 1cm dilated, and she'll ask me to go home if so. So better wait at home. I asked if i need to bedrest, She asked "NO" but to walk alot and squat alot. But sigh.. every 10 min when the cramp comes, i'll be "stoned" there, paused everything and wait for the 30 sec to get over.. I still planned to go shopping today leh.. Hb dun allowed, he said see my condition first..