(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

piyo,
ya me too hope i can pop early leh..hahaha..i just cant wait anymore...as long as bb is not premature i would love to pop..yeah will definitely sms u when i am going to pop..hee hee

Hi Jesline,
I delivered my boi by c-sect with GA 4 yrs ago. Reason is cervic cant dilated, had to be bed rest for 24 hours, on drip, after that.

Am thinking going for c sect w/epidural as i can walk around few hours after delivery. Need to check with my gynae the pro & cons using this method and whether i can use as i had gest diab.

Hi, Cecelia

oic.... me too had a c-section with GA abt 1.5 year ago.... ya.... feels quite drowsy after the operation.....

i am also thinking of going for c sect with epidural as i am able to see my baby asap & also husband can witness the birth of our baby... but my gynae is against epidural so not too sure whether will he agree to it... will need to check it out with him as having my 35th week checkup tmw afternoon

will keep u inform

Hi, I'm selling my new Medela Mini Electric Breast Pump at $100. I have only used it twice since I gave birth in May as my hubby bought a set of dual pump for me. It is still in very good condition with the entire packaging intact.

Interested mommies pls contact me at [email protected]

Can I ask if anyone tried out pre natal massage at the House of traditional Javanese massage? If yes, which branch did you go too and is it good?

Hi Augbaby,
okie okie! Me also same thinking ... as long as after 37 weeks baby not premmie can liao

for those who love durian puffs etc.. hubby yesterday bought some from goodwood park hotel and they r simply delicious..yummy..i ate 1 only lah but reali nice..hee hee..thou i juz share n tempt u all..haha..saw the pics posted in another thread and they talking abt it and yest ask hubby to go buy...they have 3 types..the normal durian puffs, 1 with hazelnuts on top and another which is like nuts crumbles...i tried the durian nuts crumbles one...reali very good the durian...hee hee..better than angie the choice anyday...

Feel so happy for Kelly..
Receievd her text last night before sleep.. She thanked everyone in this forum for concern about her.. she'll update us when she discharge tis weekend. Her bb's weight is 3.23kg.

talking about durian puff, i ate durian last night, and now i feel so sick, having sorethroat, sigh.. pray hard not falling sick.

Just came back from my 37wk checkup. BB hasn'tengaged yet.. dunno y.. thought i already walk alot leh.. Gynae said i'll not pop so early probably so will see her again next fri. She said my bb's weight is still small at 2.6kg, so she doesn't mind him to stay longer inside.. She said walking, squatting and intercourse will help bb to engage wor.. ekekeke.. :p

Hi Piyo,

Baby Reanne was born 2.68kg while Prince Edward 3.23kg. Thanks for updating.

Hi Noe,

Yes Reanne is my #2 Princess. My elder one is 4 this year.

Hi Leobbsmom,

What i did at the hospital was whenever i need to bf my baby (which is every 2 to 3 hrs), i make it a point to check her diaper and i change them myself if soiled. It's a good practice for mummies and daddies too.

Peachsorbet,

bb is preemie if born before 37 weeks. But usu after 35 weeks, bb is safe to be born, may or may nt hv complications depending on the baby. The lungs maturity is the concern and usu at 35 weeks, they shd be okay. Gynae usu hope to delay labour till after 35 weeks by giving steroid jabs to strengthen bb's lungs and ventolin to prevent contractions and also at the same time, buy time to let bb grow to a weight of at least 2kg to lessen the chance of being placed in NICU.

Reanne was born at 35 wks 3 days at 2.68kg. She's considered a preemie.

hi piyo, I've tried the prenatal massage at 2 branches of House of traditional javanese massage: River Valley and Orchard.

preferred the one at River valley, as the massage lady there is better and the service is more professional. At the Orchard branch, the staff were chit chatting more and the massage lady was more focused on talking than her strokes.

hope this helps!

hi peddie

so glad u managed to tell your parents, v brave of you. how do you feel about their reaction? i guess the initial reaction is shock and surprise.

i still advise you get in touch with a social worker to help your entire family, and your bf's too, through this period.

all the best.

Hi Peddie,
So happy for you that you finally told your parents about it! At least now you don't have to handle this alone. At least your dad is suggesting ways to make the situation better... Give your mum some time to dijest what you have told her. At least now she knew about it, when the baby is out she will be able to recieve her grandchild better...

Hi Sierra,
so qiao! I called both the branches this morning. I found the Devonshire branch's receptionist a bit unfriendly. Don't feel good after putting down the phone.. ended up calling the river valley branch and ended up booking a timesolt with the RV branch. How long did you have the massage? Any particular massuer there that is good?

hi piyo, i tried the one @ changi, it was so so only.. maybe it was pre-natal, and the lady din dare to put any pressure on her fingers. so i din feel shiok at all! =(

hi peddie, i'm so happy tat u hv made the first time! dun feel sad abt the reaction from your parents, it's only normal.. coz u hv really shocked them.

if your dad is agreeable, and your BF is sincere abt the marriage, and u might consider the ROM. does your BF noe tat your parents know abt it already? if yes, how did he react?

Peddie,
really happy for you, you are a brave girl! Your mother might be sad but she still loves you no matter how. Words might be hush from her but its her concerns for you.
At least your dad is calm. Now you see theres more pathways to move right rather then keep it to yourself and bf? At least your parents still standing by you and giving you moral supports.

Now i feel a relief for you.... hehe :p

hi peddie,
ya, reali glad u told yr parents..that takes courage n you have taken the very first step in deciding your future and yr bb future..now is just yr bf side..be strong and i am sure things will turn out well for you..
Take care

Peddie,
C-section and natural birth are different. natural birth is baby come out from our below..
c-section is to cut our tummy and take baby out.

Confinement got to depends on your culture different family got different culture. Sure your mum will tell you what to do.

Peddie,

I'm soooo glad when I saw your post!

Your parents, no matter what you say about them... how they favour your siblings more, etc etc, will -never- leave you on the lurch. You know that too, cos you're gonna be a parent yourself soon. And that is how God loves us too... just -more-.

Feeling a lil crampy lately. The same feeling I get when I have menstrual cramps. It doesn't hurt... just that it feels uncomfortable. I supposed that's normal?

peddie,
I'm indeed glad for u dat u finally pluck up ur courage to tell ur parents. It'll take some time for ur mum to accept the fact dat u're preggie. Once she sees ur bb, it may be a different story. At least now if ur bf doesn't provide u with the support dat u nid, u still have ur family members. I'm sure ur parents will not let u suffer on ur own. U're after all their own flesh and blood. In fact they may even be the ones who'll speak to ur bf's parents to resolve the matter. Watever the outcome, stay strong, and take care of urself and ur bb

Hi Peddie,

So glad that you have told your parents. At least, there will be somebody much older by your side. ROM, all these can wait. Now, I think you should take good care of yourself and wait to pop.

Are you moving back home, after you have told your parents?

peddie,
I'm indeed glad for u dat u finally pluck up ur courage to tell ur parents. It'll take some time for ur mum to accept the fact dat u're preggie. Once she sees ur bb, it may be a different story. At least now if ur bf doesn't provide u with the support dat u nid, u still have ur family members. I'm sure ur parents will not let u suffer on ur own. U're after all their own flesh and blood. In fact they may even be the ones who'll speak to ur bf's parents to resolve the matter. Watever the outcome, stay strong, and take care of urself and ur bb

Hi Peddie!

It's great that your parents know of your situation now. It's strange, but my mum was the one who was against me having my baby at first as well. And my dad was surprisingly the calm one too (was so afraid that he would go into some heartattack cos he has high blood pressure type).

Think mums are maybe more protective and have all these "dreams" and "plans" for their little girls. My mum I think was especially angry that she had to find out of my naughtiness that way.

Marriage was also not confirmed for the first 2 - 3 weeks after telling BOTH sides of the family. It was a scary period for me too... My family was like are u sure he's going to marry you? What if he changes his mind after it's illegal to abort? What if his parents send him overseas to study and leave you behind? So many what ifs...

Well, everything is sort of settled now for me. And I'm really grateful to my mum who has been super supportive ever since... from saying if I have the baby she wun love the baby.. to holding my stomach with me to feel my baby move and kick and poking my tummy to play with the baby.

I know no two families are alike, so I hope that with the short time left before you pop, everything will be more or less settled too. No point having a baby in one hand and having the other baby (ur bf!) in the other ya. *hugs*

You can't hide the truth forever, it's a sooner or later thing. If he wants to take responsibility, he'll have to tell his parents sooner or later as well. Who knows... maybe his parents reaction would be much different from what u both imagine it to be. =)

As for confinement... hehe I'm as much at a loss as you are. Me being a young mum and my mum being a young grandma. We're both just gonna refer to confinement recipe book and chiong our way thru the 1 month! My mum herself didn't have anyone helping her for the confinement last time, she just got my grandma to cook and my dad would deliver the food to her during his lunch time and after work.

hi peddie,
glad u made the 1st move. at least, now ur parents know what's going on and are more likely to provide u with some support. guess shd be 1 burden off ur chest now. now just hoping ur parent's talk with ur bf and his family goes smoothly.
take care and best of luck.

Hi Peddie,

I sure am glad to know you've made the first move. Your parents' reactions are normal...they love you and your mom is protective of you hence the emotional outbursts. Give your mom time to cool down....

You may like to contact a social worker in the meanwhile, to mediate between both families if you worry the two families would blow their tops at one another.

At least, a third party could give more insights, available community resources and assess the situation in an unprejudiced manner.

Pls do not think tt you're airing your dirty laundry should you seek help outside. There are lotsa help/resources/advice from these social workers you can tap on...there isn't just one solution to every problem....do seek help so you would know the various avenues you could go to tackle this issue.

I am not bias against early marriage or adoption or whatsoever....but do weigh other options too.

Take care dearie

Btw, do confirm wif me regarding meeting point for the stuff too okay, my hubby's working tomorrow but I'll be home.

Hi, Leia

my gynae is against the use of epidural as he mentioned that there is alot of side effects for using that. So he doesn't really encourage his patients to choose that.

Hi Jesline,

Thanks for the reply. It seems like different gynae say different things. *sigh*

At the end of the day, it always best to go drug-free... whether you're having a little cold or cough... and let your body heal naturally.

hi leia

i agree with you, i think drug free is the best way to go. so far my whole pregnancy i havent taken any med at all.

i plan to not take epidural, praying everyday that i can do it!

Hi paddie,
am glad to recd ur post. As others are saying just let yr mum have a little bit of time to calm down. Mum normally more protective but they will be the one helping us more.

Hi chrys,
Do take care. Ya, I also everyday do the squating at least 10 times. Doctor said can help on dilation. Yr baby weight seem like started growing slow hor.....may be u will have a 40wks baby

pupsandcups,

i really feel like not taking epidural too. then again, i don't feel like i'm mentally prepared.

*sigh* i really don't know...

Hi Piyo,
It is best to start after u reach 37wks, which mean baby is consider full term.

Hi Leia,
Actually you no need worry whether should take epidural or not, you will have the answer during delivery
. My doctor always said if you can tahan then good but if during delivery you only dilated 3-4cm already scream or cry like anything then you will automatically request for epidural. So, you should relax now...

hello all!

to those playing the waiting game till end Aug... lucky i have u gals

i am now feeling bigger and heavier, like more diff to move. sigh...

just had a massage last evening, felt so good..

CONGRATS Kelly! look 4ward to hearing about your birth

say hello to baby Edward

take care!

hi leia

i'm the same as you, really want to be all natural, but as wanli says, if we can't take it, it'll be instintive to request for epidural.

i mentally prepare myself by praying a lot a lot a lot, and also jus accepting that it is indeed gonna hurt more than anything in the world, but there is an end point, and best of all, focus on wat to look forward to seeing at the end of the session - our little baby
and remb, mother nature created us so its not a pain that we cannot bear, but one that we will realise is worth our while when we see baby.

all this said, who knows i might still buay tahan heehee.

will keep you in my prayers as well.

Hi ladies..

Just came back from my Wk37 checkup. BB weight now is 2.5kg.. Yeah! She gained 0.5kg in 2 weeks... Head engaged now...

Told My doc abt my crampness these few days. He say is ok... Just watch out for three things - water, blood and contraction will do...

Wondering when my ger will be out. Everything is ready now. I hope she can come out by next week...

any idea if we can bring essential oil burner to the TMC delivery suite?

any idea what essential oil is good for calming effect during labour?