(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

hmmm hehehe pupsncups n cat,

actually my bb was half down for a while, then, for some strange reason he sat up last week :p maybe cuz i went swimming... sigh, so my dr was worried that he dun have time to turn again if he doesnt turn this 2 weeks... notti boy...

but a bit scary hor, if turn down n feel like coming out hehehe... my hubby joke how if the hand pop out and say hi? :p kekeke

i just got back from Amara, there is a push cart selling baby stuff there, sooooo cute! bought gifts for my galfrens having bb soon or gals, the gals stuff is so sweet...
really incentive to have gal next time round

You mean when baby's head down you all can feel at the bottom? My gynae told me my baby head down liao and most likely won't go up again but I don't have the feeling her head is at the bottom leh... only feel pain the the pelvic bone area. That one not counted hor?

Anyone going for waxing b4 popping?

hi butter,
your hubby got sense of humor! he reminds me of a documentary "Amazing babies" I watched on SCV where the baby's feet came out 1st and said hi before the whole baby was delivered :p

piyo,
yalor, me too, even though my bb's head is down liao, but i dun feel it leh.. only feel pain at pelvis area, same like u.. Or those mummies babies engaged already, so then wil feel it?

y not? I have preggie friends went waxing nearer their EDD dates so that nurses dun have to shave them down there else they say the regrowing part is unbearable:p
So I am asking if any of you doing it?
maybe waxed liao will pop liao? whahaha

I have signed up with stemcord. It's at least 5yrs bond with the company.

Hi Chrys,
I have bought the dry shampoo from the pharmacy. Quite a small bottle only.

Hi Piyo,
Tks for the list, I have received it.

hi piyo

i waxed about 4 weeks ago, may go for one more in another 3 weeks or so ...

may i ask, any of u still have sex life? we do, altho sometimes i worry it may bring abt pre-term labour, but doc says its fine to continue heehee ;)

hey piyo,
u thinking of going waxing? do it yrself lah..dun noe if the chemical they use for waxing is ok for bb or not...
my doc also say my bb head is facing down already thou not yet engage..but i also dun feel wat the rest of the mummies describe..n wat is pelvis pain? Anyway my doc say wont be so far engaged..coz our edd is still abt 1.5mth away...anyway the weird thing is that now i can feel my bb up to till below my breast...he kick me near my ribs or breastbones n it is so painful..does anyone feel the same way? Doc say my bb hands n legs r all on my right side..maybe that is y there is lesser space for him to move and hence he sometimes kicks me below my breasts..does any mummies experience the same thing as me??

Hi Piyo & Chrys,
For first pregnancy, bb can be engaged as early as 33 - 34 weeks.
Whereas subsequent pregnancies, I read & experienced myself that bb engaged much later or just before labour starts.

Urgh ... I am in my 33th wk and Julien is definitely not engaged yet.
I still feel breathless.
kao_dizzy.gif

Hi Noe,
Any feeling when the baby is engaged? Is this the same as the lightening effect some talked about?

Hi Augbaby,
Waxing don't use much chemicals and I tot it's pretty safe? not ah? and btw pls describe to me how you DIY eaxing yourself hehe! The pelvic pain I experienced is at the bone area below the lower tummy. In fact when I pressed the bone is super pain leh
I also still feel my baby quite high up but not to your extent of near the breasts :p

hi pupsandcups
so the general interval is 3 weeks? cos I planning to time it so that I just need to go one time b4 EDD...where do you go for waxing? I have a voucher with Strip... thinking of using it for this waxing :p

Dino,
Can share a bit on the stemcord thingy? I've yet to call them up. Dr Wong said we can call them for meet up, she said someone calculated that even though Cordlife's first year fee is more expensive, but subsequent year is $200 (Stemcord is $250), so dunno on which year, will break even and in fact both is about the same fees in total.

What do u mean by 5yrs bond?
How many years can they keep the cord blood?

ya, the klorane dry shampoo is very small bottle only, but in fact i heard won't use up also. How much u bought?

<blockquote><hr size=0><!-quote-!><font size=1>quote:</font>

may i ask, any of u still have sex life? we do, altho sometimes i worry it may bring abt pre-term labour, but doc says its fine to continue heehee ;)<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
Hi pupsandcups,
It's a resounding yes!
I would love to deliver earlier anytime after 36th week and sex is thought to help naturally.

Citing from Babycenter Website:

Sex as means of getting labour started is thought to work in three ways: firstly the movement may help to stimulate the uterus into action; secondly, sex can trigger the release of oxytocin, the 'contraction' hormone; thirdly, semen contains a high concentration of prostaglandins which help to ripen, or soften, the neck of the womb (cervix) ready for it to dilate when labour starts.

Hi Noe,
Any feeling when the baby is engaged? Is this the same as the lightening effect some talked about?<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
Hi Piyo,
Yeah, engagement is same as lightening.

Usually when baby has engaged, our bump will look lower (if you have not beeng carrying low to begin with).
As for feeling, for me, my pelvic muscles ached more &amp; passed urine more often whenever my boys rested on my bladder.

Noe,
Why bb engage earlier in first pregnancy? I thought our vaginal is more narrow in 1st pregnancy hence no so easy to engage? hmm.. heehee.<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
Hi Chrys,
I think that could be the reason why baby can engaged sooner for first pregnancy.
Our muscles are still well-toned, so with lightening, the weight of our baby will stretch our pelvic ligaments in preparation for labour. Something like warming up.

Went for check-up today at 36 weeks.
My baby is still NOT engaged...aiyah...must wait longer...

She's now 2.6kg hennngggg ah..within two weeks gain 500 grm.. satay did help I guess...heee..heee
CTG (heartbeat) was okay too.

Hoping to deliver after 38 weeks, hopefully baby weighs 2.8-3 kg by then.

Btw, to mommies who are petite...doesn't mean baby more than 2.9 kg must go for C-sec, I'm very petite...only 1.52 m and my weight was 45kg before pregnancy. For first pregnancy, I delivered naturally eventhough my baby was large, at 3.4 kg. So..moms pls don't be pushed to deliver via C-sec if they aren't any complications.

din log in for a couple of days n so many msgs.
slipped and fell down yesterday. so suay. the floor was so wet and slippery. my whole back was wet. was quite worried so went to see a gynae. luckily, baby is fine but i needed to rest and monitor baby's movements. Dunno why leh, he din move much from yesterday nite till today. hope he'll move more tonight.

Re: baby being engaged
mine has been head down for quite some time liao but still not engaged according to last visit. sometimes, when i bend, i can feel his head near my pelvis.

Re: waxing
My friends were saying if we are going for c-section, then we might want to go for waxing 1st. The regrowth will not be so prickly compared to shaving.

thanks for that nurbates
i totally agree with you. thankfully, my gynae is also not so for c-sect, unless its absolutely necessary. nowadays a lot of private gynaes recommend c sect cos i think its easier n quicker for them too, plus earn more ..

Hi Chrys,
I bought the dry shampoo at $14.30, the same brand u mention earlier.
For the Stemcord thing, they will store as long as we want. As for the price, it is the same as Dr wong that mention lor. But they have this clause which they may adjust not more than 5%(if i m not wrong) of the price every 5yrs. All the prices quoted are without GST. Since Dr wong's baby's cordblood is also with stemcord, i guess ok lor. Hubby say we will keep for a few yrs, then see how. The person-charge will give u a kit box, which needs to bring upon admitting to the delivery ward. The person in charge is quite friendly. You can just call up n fix an appt with her. I met up with her during my last checkup while i was waiting to see dr wong at TMC.

As for the bb engagement, i feel much pressure at my pelvic area, no matter i walk, stand, or abt to lie/ get up from my bed. And always have to urge to pee, due to the pressure.

also chrys

about helping baby to engage earlier, wat u can do is ask your husband to talk to baby for below, my hubby does that all the time and i think it helps, cos baby is drawn to sounds it is familiar with, and with you hubby talking from below, it will draw baby's head down.

u can also try the exercise, being on your all fours n crouching forward, i read that somewhere, altho i dunno how effective it is, i do it sometimes then feel so silly, give up after 1 minute heehee

thanks jas

they r nice! i personally find showing my tummy v ... i dunno feel v shy leh, so big and round.

i might consider a photoshoot with ben too.

Hi chrys,
Thanks for the infor

Just back from my 37.1wks check up. My baby engaged already
and I was 1.5cm dilated. I think walking really help a lot. My baby started head down from 30 wks. Doctor said I may deliver these 2 weeks, I said "harr, still got to wait for 2 weeks?" hahahha...but Dr said if I want early then keep on walking and climb stair. She said baby at good weight now 2.7kg, so no problem to deliver anytime.

Talking about the engagement I think the different is you always got the urge to pee and feeling very heavy down there. I can even wake up 5 times in a night and every hr in day time for pee.

Hi Jasmine,
Thanks for sharing the photo, it look very nice especially yr tummy, so good no stretch mark at all
!

Hi chrys,
TO help baby engaged, I don't know my method is working or not but I have tried for the passed 1 week and my baby really engaged :p. My hubby not believe my method, but no harm to try loh. Actually it is same as pupsandcups, I got a habit to let my baby listen to music every night for 15 mins using ear piece. For the passed 1 week, I just purposely put the ear piece very low.

Hi pupsandcups,
You are right, actually I got the urge to pee quite frequently start from 3rd trim. but these 2 weeks more serious and always the amt not much, sometimes like few drops only..... but you will really feel a pressure on the pelvic area after baby engaged, especially when u walk you will feel the pressure more obvious.

hi pupsandcups &amp; wanli,

thanks for the compliments.. personally i regret not going do my own hair n make up..keke.. but anything lah.. i not complaining about the photography skills.. keke..

i still early leh.. week 33 only... some people.. last 4 weeks then suddenly pop out stretchmarks.. still keeping my fingers crossed!!

We should start to do more exercises.. i always ask hubby remind me to do my kegel, pelvic tilts and stretching..

hope it helps manz during labour!

Jasmine...don't mention stretch markslah..sobbb..i veri sensitive abt them.....my hubby alreadi calling me tigress...even asked my dd to take a look at them..sobbbbb

wanli,
u r dilated too...so exciting. who knows we may pop at e same time. i'll sms u if i pop earlier than 20jul ok? too bad u r at TMC, me at MAH.

jasmine,
u look very gd. pics very well-taken.

PELVIC PAIN
i mentioned b4 i getting pelvic pains for a long while n i've read abt e mummies' pelvic pains. in fact, my pelvic pains is at my genitals. not so much on my hip/butt area (pelvic area rt?)

my genitals have been aching 4 a long while n my gynae said it's normal. though my bb not engaged, he's putting pressure on cervix, hence e pain. it feels like my genitals r numb n my movements r very restricted. sometimes i cant even turn in bed, get off e chair/bed or even get dressed (put my legs into my undies/shorts, etc).

DIAPER BAG
i recall a mummy asking abt diaper bag.

u can use any sort of bag 2 b a diaper bag. of course there r designer diaper bags but b prepared 2 pay for it. i've come across friens who use tote bag, backpack, carry-all bag, sling bag, etc 2 double up as diaper bag.

lately i saw e latest diaper bag fr TMC (e lime green colored ones)...very nice. i dunno abt e compartments but i tik shld b gd enuff.

for me, i used a FILA carry-all bag as a diaper bag b4. now i using a puma gym bag (not e big big type lah) as a diaper bag. i've used an Allerhand lunch bag as a diaper bag b4 when i was TBFg my son. very compact cos i only need 2 pack his diaper/wet wipes/tissues.

lotsa options around so up 2 each mummy/daddy (who may b carrying e diaper bag)

noe,
thks 4 e write-up on episiotomy. for me, i leave it 2 my gynae 2 decide 4 me. i dun 1 2 make decision abt it cos skarly i CHOOSE not 2 cut, my son tears me up &amp; e condition is worse as compared 2 me having an episiotomy.

for my 1st pregnancy, even wif episiotomy, my son still leave me a tear (according 2 my 1st gynae, his shoulders tore me elsewhere) so on top of stitching e episiotomy cut, my gynae had 2 stitch me up elsewhere too.

i know e only thing i must hv is epi cos no epi, i cant relax. labour pains stresses me up &amp; my cervix cant dilate.

hi jasmine,
just viewed ur photos. u looked good. showed my hb the photos too. guess we won't be taking the photos at the studio. perhaps will just take some on our own then.
trying to cut cost.

hi wanli and pupsandcups,
i got the urge to pee frequently too but sometimes not much. guess it's bb pressing down.

re: stretchmarks
when do we actually see most of them appearing? during 3rd trimester or after we deliver? m scared of seeing them too.

Hi Jasmine,
Nice shots! Hope mine will turn out near yours:p I understand your friend Wai peng did it for you. Was it based on the basic package where there is bacis makeup provided?

hi Erin,
I have stertchmarks since 2nd tri and they sure look ugly.... not sure how they would trun out in the photoshot but never mind, just wanna keep a momento of this pregnancy period :p

I was suffereing from 'stomach pains' that feel like menses cramp (I don;t really get them when I have menses but something similar) or those stomach pains we have before going to do big business or gastric pains so to speak. they come on and off and they felt more uncomfy than pain to me that I do not know how to distinguish them. They went on till at night when I sleep. Based on your experience, are they considered "contractions" or false contractions? I took Salbutamol last night and this morning I don't feel them anymore but not sure will they come back in the afternoon
Anyone can advise?

nurbates..

Stretchmarks are the signs of motherhood.. though we all vainpots, trying to avoid them! I have been desperately applying lots of clarins oil... the itch is back.. think my girl is fast gaining weight liaoz...

Piyo,
my package is even lower then basic package lah! I did my own makeup! hehe.. wish i applied more though..

wei kuan,
I took it with Foto-u studio.. click on the photo link I uploaded and you can get details.. my photographer is Wai Peng... Piyo will be using Benjamin...

Piyo,
Think u better visit your gynae.. you might be having contractions... but whether it is the actual thing or not.. you have to time it.. the intervals should be REGULAR.. me says you go to your gynae to check if you are dilated!

Erin00,
You know Dor rite? She has no stretchmarks until week 38! So hor... it really depends if our babies are gaining weight gradually or all at once.. if all at once.. your skin needs to be able to take the sudden stretching, if not, the stretchmarks will rear its ugly head..

i haven't gain really lots of weight (~9kg @ 33 weeks), but i feel very fat leh.. my fat storage is on my thighs and arms and my back.. really hope i can lose all these fats.. already, due to poor blood circulation, they are appearing as cellulite on my thighs and arms leh.. so ugly lor, especially when i wear sleeveless...

Hi Jas,
you don't look fat ok! wait till you see me! I am BIG
Where was the venue you took the shots? not in the studio? cos I see those maternity shots taken in the webby not same background as yours!

My next appt is this sat... I hope I can "dong" till this sat to see him... Will such contractions affect the baby? If they don't I can still bear with them (if they come back within these few days) Can we still walk as much like going shopping etc?

Hi Chrys,
Yes, we can keep as long as we want. I asked if we can keep to 21yrs, she told me "yes". So far the longest cordblood is 26yrs, n they r still keeeping it.

Hi pupsandcups,
I don't know much abt the dry shampoo. I heard it will cure the scalp itch temporary. But i feel that i need it since I am a person who will wash hair daily and couldnt imagine how i am going to tolerate/survive without washing my hair daily.

Hi Wanli,
Feel happy for you that your bb has engaged n u r dilated. Maybe you will be the nxt one to pop. The waiting game seems very long. In 2 wks time, u will be wk39. I agree with you that u will go to pee even though very little, sometimes even feel like leaking urine when bb's head movement a lot. And when i go shopping, i will need to go to the loo within 1/2hr.

Hi Piyo,
Actually very hard to distinguish btw true or false labour until u let your gynae check. For my case, i feel the menses cramp (at lower abdomen) from mild to peak, then slowly subside, and my tummy is super hard and slowly soften.

Hi Dino,
How does the gynae check? use CTG? Mine is similar to yours, will turn hard then soften but it's upper tummy slightly below my breasts. Last time the hardening comes without any discomfort or pain. Yesterday it does...

hi jas,
yup, i know dor. oic. guess will wait a few more weeks to see if i have them. pray pray they will not appear. ur weight gain still ok. i've gained abt 11 to 12 kg liao. now so fat. plus with water retention, i look really swollen.

hi piyo,
gynae says if u lie down and rest and the cramps go away, then they are false contractions. real contractions do not go off. they will intensify over time.