(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Just came back from my 36wk checkup, my weight gain has bcome stable, not gaining any weight this time, bb now 2.4kg, gained ard 200-300g. BB not engaged yet, so unlikely tat bb will come out in this 1-2 weeks time, so gynae asked me to walk more to let bb engage faster. During the time if bb already full term and his head hasn't engaged yet, i can't opt for natural birth, but must go for c-sec. So must walk more now!

<blockquote><hr size=0><!-quote-!><font size=1>quote:</font>

BTW, experienced moms here, issit true tat we cannot wear jewellery into the labour ward? not even earrings?? if so, think I better take everything off asap, just incase emergency labour happens anytime..

Pls advise...thanks! =)<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
Hi leobbsmom,
Ya, you are correct.
They will have us remove all jewellery once we enter the delivery suite in case emergency c-section is required.
Same goes for food. No food, no water during the labour in case we need opt.

As i already experience braxton hicks contractions now very often everyday at 36wk, especially when stand up after sitting for some time, gynae said that unlikely tat i'll have overdue baby. But bb head also must engage first then dilation will happen.

I also asked about cord blood thingy.. Am considering now..

juz curious ah, at 33wks plus, how much do yr bb weighs? Oh ya btw did all of u get the nipple cream? Wat brand is good and is it necessary to get it b4 we pop?

Hi chrys,
My weight also stable start from 36 wks
. Really? U mean if the baby not engaged then must go for c-sec? Why must buy the swimming float? must use it? Where u bought it?

Hi wanli,
Same as dino, i also thought u delivered liao, as din see u for some time..

In fact i quite scared i'll gain weight again this morning, as i ate quite a lot of swiss rolls from the BP here.. :p

Yes, Dr wong said if bb's head not engaged, there's no way we'll have dilation. that's y she encourage me to walk more, do exercise like squatting, in order for bb to engage faster. When bb's head slowly engage and pushing down, the pressure will then make vaginal dilate. She'll check if I have dilation on next week, she hopes to see at least bb's head engaged or some dilation. She said normally after bb's head engage, there'll be still 1-2 weeks before we can in real labour.. by norm lah..

I bought the swimming float (those inflattable one) at neighbourhood shop. It's useful for us to sit on it after deliver our bb. With a hole at the center, it'll be less painful for sitting (in car/ at home) after we just back from natural birth. I asked my mum, she used this method too when gave birth to me.. :p Some pple even sit on a tyre.
But if c-sec, dun need it lor.

Hi chrys,
hehhee...no lah. I think Dino will pop first because her baby already engaged. You are same as me, my weight like can not control keep increasing 2-3kg per mth for the last few mths. So scary.....lucky now already stable
. So yr next appt also next friday?

hi wanli
ya, next friday 930am.

i am on mc today, but before she managed to sign the mc already rushed in to the operation room, think someone is delivering.
I asked her am i near to delivery already since my legs start to swell, she said not true..

hello

so fun so many pple on mc today, i hvnt taken any mc since im pregnant ....

wondering wat is everybody's weight gain now?
im wondering if im off track, gained abt 9kg i think ... i wan baby to be a nice size, 3kg like that leh

Hi Leia,
Your furbaby is so cute...I must admit that my mini schnauzer is super greedy when it comes to food haiz... Last nite my bro in law spilled some soup on the floor, my dog quickly took the chance to lick up the mess no matter how he tried to stop him, make me so angry too! End up have to wash his whole face...grrrr

Piyo,
No prob! BTW, i forgot to indicate that my doc is Douglas Ong...thks again!

Alot of us got doggies here leh! I've also been reading up on how to intro my BB to my dog. Keeps telling him, he's gonna have a mei mei soon. Will ask HB to bring mittens worn by BB to let him smell 1st...

chrys,
i think i do get braxton hicks now n then, sometimes makes it like hard to stand up straight and walk...

i was oso going ask about the float, was wondering where to get or wat size.

i saw the BP for swiss rolls and eclairs... hmmm what brand is that? is it really soooo good :p sounds yummy and so many pple order!

how much walking is really enough for us? and how much is too much? walking will make us have more swollen feet or not?
as for swimming, i dun dare go if hubby dun go with me, i look so funny n round :p

pupsandcups,
i washed my bb clothings in may/june, i am thinking of washing them again.. hehee.. i used Kao Attack for my bumwear and Pigeon bb detergent for clothings.

butter,
ya, when the braxton hicks attacks me, my tummy will feel as hard as stone, and can see my bb's feature (eg the backside hump, etc.. very funny)

i never take note of the swimming float's size, just bought as i love thomas and friends design hehe.. can let my bb play it too in future.. Only ard $4.

It's amosco. http://www.amosco.com.sg/products_thaw.htm
I tried the swiss rolls and eclairs, very yummy, can't stop at 1, hv to pop in my mouth 3-4 at 1 go.. :p

I asked my gynae the same questions too. But she said standing too long may cause swollen feet, but walking can helps in pushing the water back to circulating. My hb already plans to bring me to east coast for 2 hr walk tmr, followed by 2 hr walk in the evening at lower pierce reservoir.. siao liao..

Hi pupsandcups,
I got my maid to start washing baby clothes since beginning of July

hi butter,
your Braxton Hicks painful? Mine is just a firm bulge at a certain area of the tummy, happens when i am sitting down at my office too...

hi Chrys,
2hr work a bit too long right??:p I am going east coast tomorrow morning too, bringing our furball for a swim hehe maybe may see you ard :p

you can see the baby's bums? me can't see anything when the tummy firms up. just fill like a hump that's all...

Hi Fiona,
will update the table tonight

My Goldie also likes to wait at the dining table, hoping for some food to drop down from the "sky" for him:p and while waiting, you will see him salivate so horrible!

Hi pupsandcups,
I gained near 12 kg so far but I doubt my baby will hit 3 kg since gynae keeps telling me my baby is small sized!

This thread sure moves fast!

just taken medication..hyperemesis...sian..

Think braxton hicks hit most of us alreadi, felt mine while i was lying on my mattress this morning, sure brought back those labour memories..nostalgic..haaa..haaa..

Piyo, can update my details for me...
OBGYN: Dr Irene Chua
Hospital: KKH

Oh...Leia..heh..hehe...thinking abt your dog tickles me. Hmmmmm...is she pregnant also?? Heh...hehe....

oh ya btw did all of u get the nipple cream? Wat brand is good and is it necessary to get it b4 we pop?<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
Hi Augbaby,
I personally tried Medela Purelan, Lansinoh &amp; Palmer's Cream &amp; give Lansinoh 2 thumbs up.
It's a smoother &amp; softer texture to apply &amp; provides me with relief when I had sore/cracked nipples.
http://www.breastfeeding.org.sg/indexshoppingcorner.html

kao_smile2.gif
Yeah, it's good to get before we pop so that we can use it after delivery if needs be.

Hi wanli,
how early is too early to have Braxton Hicks? i am in my 33 week liao, consider late or early? But I don't feel any pain leh...

Hi Augbaby,
Heard the avent nipple cream is good? else some say can use our BM to soothe also.

piyo,
oh really u going to east coast too..? hehe.. wat color wil u be wearing?

I think i gained the most weight here, it's 17kg ok! I dun care now, just hope tat after the postnatal massage and breastfeeding will make me slim down to my previous weight.

Hee ... Pupsandcups,
I just washed my baby's clothes, blankets etc.yesterday.
DH is painting the boys' room right now. We will set up the cot when I am about 36 weeks.

For first time wash for new clothes, gentle detergent will.
It's the subsequent washes when baby's clothes &amp; nappies (if you are not using disposables) are stained with BM/FM or pee pee &amp; poo poo that we use baby detergent powder.

One mummy raves over Napisan.
I will try that after we finish my Pigeon Baby Detergent Powder.

piyo,
I go East coast sometimes too, but mostly in the evenings.. i get heated up and feel faint in the morning n afternoons...

the braxton hicks are not painful...

i got the mother care nipple cream cuz its now on sale, dunno good or not...

chrys,
me put on about 12 kg already.. catching up fast..

I remember one of us was asking about Episiotomy.
The following is a write up on it.

Saying No to Episiotomy: Getting through Labor and Delivery in One Piece
By Elizabeth Bruce

Episiotomy--the cutting of perineal tissues during delivery--is not something that most women give a second thought to, at least not until they've given birth for the first time. The perineum is the delicate area between the vagina and the anus. After an episiotomy, even sitting can be painful, and sex can be unbearable. Episiotomy is the most common surgical procedure performed in the US, and, according to Sheila Kitzinger, "It is the only surgery likely to be performed without her consent on the body of a healthy woman in Western society."1 During a typical hospital birth, it's the rare woman who is not cut either "above" (in a C-section) or "below" (an episiotomy).

Currently, at least 80 percent of first-time mothers delivering vaginally in the US undergo this painful procedure.

A research review by the World Health Organization, however, indicates that evidence only supports a 5 to 20 percent episiotomy rate.

Medical textbooks teach that episiotomies are necessary to prevent tearing and to protect the baby's head. Actually, tears are usually less severe without episiotomy, and the procedure itself can cause further tearing. Furthermore, unless the baby is premature, its head is made to withstand the pressures of delivery. For years, it was believed that an episiotomy protected a woman against future uterine prolapse, although this has since been disproved. As Penny Simkin points out, "The advantages of episiotomy have long been assumed, but never proven."

One doctor told me that he preferred doing episiotomies because he found a straight edge easier to repair than a "jagged" tear. Christiane Northrup, MD, maintains, however, that vaginal lacerations "are trivial and very easy to repair in comparison to the damage done by episiotomies. They are also far less painful."

In any event, should the doctor's convenience really take precedence over a woman's comfort? Another contributing factor in the hospital is the general rush to get the baby out once full cervical dilation has been reached, even though there is no evidence to suggest that faster is better. Since an OB is hired to "do something," he or she may feel pressured to do an episiotomy when things naturally slow down during transition.

Complications of Episiotomy

Although episiotomy seems like a simple operation, it carries the risk of complications, including "excessive blood loss, hematoma formation (a form of swelling or bruising), infection, or abscessing. Sometimes trauma from an episiotomy of the anal sphincter and rectal mucosa leads to a loss of rectal tone and, in severe cases, a fistula, or hole, between the vagina and rectum."

It can also kill your sex life, at least temporarily.

Sheila Kitzinger found that episiotomy harmed women both physically and psychologically. Fifteen percent of postpartum women who had torn described their perineum as "painful or very painful" at the end of the first week, compared to 37 percent of the episiotomy group.

Moreover, a woman "who has had an episiotomy, especially if her permission was not asked beforehand, may also feel violated. That is a word many women use when talking about their reaction to episiotomy."

Certainly extreme pain and the feeling of being violated may help explain why some women have no interest in sex after an episiotomy.

Why Do Women Tear?

The myths that purport to explain why women tear during delivery include
a)the mother is too small;
b)the baby is too large; and
c)pushing happened too fast.

The further back her legs are pushed, the more strain is involved. When a midwife notices your tissues looking "white," she will likely tell you to stop pushing, or she will apply counterpressure to the area. In contrast, a physician may figure he can repair the damage later and may continue telling you to push. In her book Gentle Birth Choices, Barbara Harper writes, "The combination of birthing in the lithotomy position and strained pushing will cause the perineum to tear."

How to Avoid Episiotomy

If possible, have a midwife deliver your baby instead of a physician. Although midwives are skilled at performing episiotomies, they rarely find them necessary. Typically, midwives "place warm compresses on the perineum to relax the tissue and make it more flexible, or massage and stretch it out with warm oil.

Hiring a doula is another way to keep your perineum intact. A doula stays with the mother during her labor and helps the mother and her partner to be comfortable. She helps make sure that the parents' birth plan is followed, and provides physical and emotional support during labor. In one study, the presence of a doula resulted in a 60 percent reduction in epidural requests and a 40 percent reduction in forceps deliveries; both procedures are major contributors to high episiotomy rates.

There are situations when an episiotomy may be necessary, but these are rare. A breech birth is the classic example, when time is of the essence to birth the baby's head. Other unusual fetal positions, such as face first or a compound presentation, may necessitate an episiotomy. Premature births sometimes also require an episiotomy to take pressure off the baby's delicate skull.

Women's bodies are designed to give birth without surgical intervention. Episiotomy was invented to facilitate forceps deliveries and has continued mainly out of habit not necessity. If you eat well during pregnancy, move around during labor and delivery, and deliver in a supportive environment, chances are that you won't require an episiotomy or even tear. If you do tear, recovery is almost always easier than with an episiotomy. As with most concerns about labor, often the best advice is to trust the process and to follow your instincts.

Notes
1. Sheila Kitzinger, Episiotomy and the Second Stage of Labor (Seattle, WA: Pennypress, 1990), 1.

2. Watson Bowes, "Should Routine Episiotomy Be Performed Routinely in Primiparous Women?" Ob/Gyn Forum 5, no. 4 (1991): 1-4.

3. Marsden Wagner, Pursuing the Birth Machine: The Search for Appropriate Birth Technology (Camperdown, New South Wales, Australia: ACE Graphics, 1994), 165-174.

thanks for the feedback, okie, think i shd start washing bb's clothes soon too. i thot if i wash too early, ill need to wash again , so ill use normal gentle detergent

Anyone bought surgical ring/ swimming float? I bought 1 to put in the car, for use when returning home after delivery.. :)<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
Hi Chrys,
I bought surgical ring for my first delivery as I had a generous Episiotomy done to me!
Yes, I checked it myself in the mirror. There were 3 - 4 stitches!
kao_dizzy.gif

I was using the ring for about 2 weeks, as the wound really hurt.
It didn't help when I had to take my #1 in and out of the hospital to check on his bilirubin.

For my #2, I asked for NO EPI!
I had only a superficial tear.
Praise God! I didn't need the ring at all.
And yes ... Our gynae's stitching skill does make a difference too.

Noe,
I always dun dare to think about the cut down there.. how could they.. and how painful it'll be.. oh dear.. it'll make me faint when come to think about it.. isn't that area very soft and thin.. how can it stand the CUT, the stiches and needle and thread pulling thru it! pengsan!

can i ask mommies here who have gone thru natural labor a rather intimate question, that has been on my mind..

i was wondering aftr give birth, wen can resume sex life, i know they say abt 6 weeks, but wat is the gauge? u mean the episiotomy takes so long to heal?
also, will our V. like become more loose, since the muscles hv been massively stretched..

don mind me ah, but ive really been wondering

Hi Chrys,

Your hb is so caring. Wanting you to walk so much, but if u feel the pressure at your pelvix area cum tightening, you got to stop and rest. My hb always says I am a lazy person as i refuse to walk for more 10mins. But the true fact is i could hardly walk with those tightening, cramps, pelvic ache, all at one go. I have only gain 10kg so far, although i eat quite a no.of meals everyday. I guess my bb absorb alot. 2mr will be my nxt appt at wk 35, hope not dilate yet, else need to take the steriod jab, very scared. I think I also need to find the swimming float.
Have you meet up with the stemCord representive? I am meeting her 2mr. She told me that the promotion is currently at $500 for 1st yr.

Congrats to jfong! Feel so happy for her.

Wif the new baby in tow, we'll (both mom and dad) be soooo exhausted, sex is the last thing on our mind....we'll settle for a good nite's sleep instead..heh...heehhhhh

The cut does hurt more than six weeks at times especially if we walk a lot, we are definitely less lubricated down there, it'll take a while perhaps three mths..to completely heal

If your hubby watches you deliver the baby au naturel like mine...he'll probably be as freaked out as mine..would stay away from the game until we fully recover from paranoia and the wound....

Hi pupsandcups,

At 32wk, my weight gain is ~7.6kg. EFW ~1.7kg. Gynae is rather pleased with the weight development. From what I read in some mag, the desired weight gain for the entire pregnancy should be ~12-13kg, most of which during the 3rd trimester. I take 3 meals regularly as per pre-pregnancy, but that's about it. Hardly snack and no craving. I think my stomach has shrunk so I can't take in more food without feeling bloated and uncomfortable. Pre-pregnancy weight is ~55kg and I'm 1.6m short.

Hi Nurbates,

No, my bitch at home is not pregnant... I don't think an overdose of multivits and calcium pills will be good for her baby even if she's pregnant.

Hi Fiona &amp; augbaby,

Aiyah, you all tease me about my dog. I'm the victim in all of this, you know? She's so notti and you all still say she's cute!
kao_confused.gif
Should have seen my one black face when I got home and saw the mess yesterday! She knows I'm pissed with her from my black face cos she tried to siam me for the rest of the night. And when our paths happen to cross, her tail will go down.

Hi Piyo,
Actually I'm not so sure how early consider early. As long as no crampy feeling i think should be not so serious. I get this hardening when I am 30 wks only, that's why need to take medicine. You should check with yr gynea.

Hi chrys,
wah.....yr hubby so ON
. 2 hrs walking is alot leh.....
I'm quite interested on the postpartum healing salve and healing bottom spray as well, where you bought it? online? BOth seem like having same function, we should buy both or any one will do?

Talking about episotomy I really can't imagine it, but very funny, I asked most of my fren and all said got no feeling on the episotomy because the labour pain far more painful than this. Another reason why I want to take epidural is because it may help me to forget the episotomy pain :p.

I think I was the second one gained alot of weight :p .... 15kg+

Noe,
I always dun dare to think about the cut down there.. how could they.. and how painful it'll be.. oh dear.. it'll make me faint when come to think about it.. isn't that area very soft and thin.. how can it stand the CUT, the stiches and needle and thread pulling thru it! pengsan!<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
Oh Chrys,
So you won't be going for Episiotomy huh?
Let us know how's it as I didn't know better for my first birth then.

Noe,
thanks that is a really good read! :)<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
kao_smile2.gif
Thanks Butter8,
Am glad that you didn't find it boring or long-winded.

wanli,
i champion liao lor.. by gaining 17kg! dunno whether i can reduce to 44kg. sigh..
strange, my frens also said the same thing to me, tat the labour pain is so great tat episiotomy is negligible.
I bought them from a mummy here, used for 1-2 times only. I heard the comments is not bad, and the products are organic. I can ask her where she bought it from, then let u know.

Noe,
huh.. i thought we dun have chance to choose? Was told in the antenatal class tat asian women's skin are less stretchable, so episiotomy is unavoidable, most of the time.

can i ask mommies here who have gone thru natural labor a rather intimate question, that has been on my mind..

i was wondering aftr give birth, wen can resume sex life, i know they say abt 6 weeks, but wat is the gauge? u mean the episiotomy takes so long to heal? :-( also, will our V. like become more loose, since the muscles hv been massively stretched..

don mind me ah, but ive really been wondering<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>

Hee hee ... pupsandcups,
Having sexual intercourse 6 weeks later is usually the advice to mummies who go through normal delivery.

Actually, the main hurdle is also the psychological part.
We will be wondering if the wound will tear during lovemaking.
On top of that, if you are breastfeeding, you will be relatively dry down there so do have KY Jelly or the likes on standby.

If you are greatly blessed with milk, sometimes the milk will leak during foreplay or lovemaking so urm ... place a towel underneath lor.
And yes, our muscles will not be as tight as before so usually our gynaes will remind us to do Kegel exercises after delivery.

Hi chrys,
Actually I don't really scare on the weight gain now, because I have a fren who gained 24kg during her pregnancy and able to lost most of her weight during the 3 mths maternity leave. From 64kg back to 45kg (before pregnant she is 40kg). The secret is breasfeeding.....
I fee more worry whether I can success on breasfeeding now.
Thanks, pls let me update on the product infor

Hi Noe,
Yah, most of the asian mumuies can't escape from episotomy for 1st pregnancy. But you may able to escape for the second one

Noe,
huh.. i thought we dun have chance to choose? Was told in the antenatal class tat asian women's skin are less stretchable, so episiotomy is unavoidable, most of the time.<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
Oh Chrys,
It depends on our gynae actually.

Dr Paul Tseng from TMC almost never do Episiotomy!

Yeah Wanli,
I did!
I asked for no Episiotomy for #2 of which I had only superficial tear and I have told my gynae that I don't want any for #3 either!

Hee hee ...

Leia,
I always find MS so smart! She's guilty ar, but can't resist the temptation...wahahaha! Mine always pull back his ears &amp; tail goes down when guilty too.

Noe,
kekeke...i've been thinking about the leaking milk part too. Been imagining how DH will react if milk leaks during the process

Hi Noe,
Tear is better than doing episotomy? but I heard people said tear will more difficult to recover, is that true?