(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

When we drink coconut, can we eat the flesh too or just drink the juice only?? Have u all been going to toilet more frequent??

Hi nurbates,
Your story really sounds scary to me.. I wonder how my sis make it w/o epi??

Hi Jesline... Yup. Same day same place! Just slightly more than a month to go.. quite nervous...

Epidural sounds really good... but so worried if got complications.. Keep hearing about all the bad things that can happen also if doctor do wrongly.. *shudder*

Pups and catherine,
I think catherines' description of the 'test' for water retention is better then mine

piyo n cecilia,
me later leh, 29 Aug
but do you think some of us will be late or earlier? if I am late, i think I could end up in Sept :p
actually i hope bb comes a bit earlier ...

honeyhaven,
me drink mostly juice only, but sometimes cannot resist eating a bit of flesh :p

anyone here know of any Avent sales?

and anyone opting for c -sec?

mommies, think we better dun take the flesh of the coconut, just take the juice is gd enuff..
i noe we cant resist esp when the flesh is those thin and soft type..kekeke...

oh, only can take the big big type, not those small thai ones.. think bb cant take it.

Actually have been confused in whether should be take big or small coconuts. Some say big coconut very 'liang' and some say small ones are more 'liang'. Dun know which is true.Should we take the more 'liang' ones or the less ones...
456668.gif

<blockquote><hr size=0><!-quote-!><font size=1>quote:</font>

noe,
not true tat wif epi, it's painless. somehow even though i was on epi, when my gynae was stitching up my episiotomy wound, i could feel e needle poking at TAT area n e the pulling of e thread. i let out a painful squeal n my gynae quickly gave me some local anathesia (i dunno how 2 spell it correctly).

so tis time round, i specifically told my gynae tat 2 give me a few LA jabs at TAT area when he's cutting or stitching me up.

i did hear tat once u hit >7cm dilation, they wont give u epi anymore. waste of $$ n no point! so for me, once i see any signs of labour, i'll head straight 2 hospital. definitely dun 1 2 b in a situation when i'm >6-7cm dilated n cant use epi. i sure peng sanz fr e contraction pains b4 i even pop.<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
kao_dizzy.gif
Really Kelly! Ouch! Ouch!
Could it be that the dosage was wearing out nearing the point of stitches?
I delivered mine 2 boys 2 hours later after the administration of Epidural.
Perhaps that's why it was still painless for me.

However, I could still feel the tugging of the needle &amp; thread. It felt numb that's all.
kao_smile2.gif

Wah ha ha ... Yes yes. That's what my gynae said too.
It will be a waste of $ to use Epidural once we are already 7cm dilated.
I will still go for Epidural this time round too.

Hi,peachsorbet

Are u going to deliver my natural birth or C-section? I will be opting for c-section as not confident that I am able to bear with the labour pain &amp; also becos of previous wound due to miscarriage 1 year plus ago....

<blockquote><hr size=0><!-quote-!><font size=1>quote:</font>

Noe..
what's e procedure like for the Epidural? what do thy do? and e induction?<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
Hi Peddie,
(Going through the archives)

Here's what I shared with White Lady recently. Hope this helps!

<font color="0000ff">I had normal delivery with epidural for my first 2 deliveries.
The tubes were inserted through the spine.
Methods of insertion depend on the anaesthetists. Some prefer us lying down, some prefer us sit crouching up in a C-shape.
A good anaesthetist takes only a few minutes for the procedure.
They will visit you the next day for follow up.</font>

As for my experience of induction, my gynae burst my water bag &amp; placed me on drips &amp; oxytocin.
Other mummies experienced different methods though.

Hi butter,
If I am late, my EDD may be turn out same as yours? hehe I hope mine will be earlier though cos counting down like "very long" leh :p

I hope I can go for natural. Last visit I did ask my gynae and seems like he is more for natural delivery for my case unless got complications...also heard natural can heal and slim down faster ?

Gynae told me if i wanna opt for elective csec must inform him at 38 weeks the latest... I wonder y....

Hi Yipee, honeyhaven and leobbsmum,
I also asked around. Mostly say drink the big green ones not those small ones found in NTUC etc.. and drink will do no need take the flesh...

Hi Honeyhaven,
me waking up one or 2 times in the middle of the night like 2am 4 am or 6am to go toilet so these few days like zombie at work

hi jesline ,

u opting for c section ? is it epidural c section ? which hospital will u be going and at 38 weeks u can do the op already rite ?

Hi, White_lady

ya, I am opting for c-section... but i dont think it will be epidural c section.. think most likely is c section -GA. had not asked my doc (Lawrence Ang) abt how is he going to do abt it.

I am delivering at TMC.... my c section will be on the 39th week. yes, u can do the op on the 38th week.

So which hospital u going to &amp; who yr gynae?

As educated by my gynae, contrary to what most think, epidural is normally not injected into the spinal cord but outside of it. Unless instant relief is needed, then it is injected into the spinal cord. That is why it is important to be very still during the injection of the needle so as to prevent it from being inserted into the spinal cord accidentally. Therefore if you have decided on epidural, it should be done when you're most relaxed not while you're writhing around in the midst of severe contractions, for safety reasons.

"Epi" means close to, around, beside... but not INTO. Do check out the diagram here.

hi cat

thanks for the 'water retention test', i pressed and no mark, so i guess no water retention. i been drinking gallons of water so maybe thats y don have. dunno so shd i avoid walking ard a lot still?

hi , jesline ,

y didnt u opt for epidural c section ? u can see ur baby immediately if u opt for epidural c section .

i m still choosing , not sure tmc or mt a

Just back from my 36 wks check up, no gain on weight compare with last wk and baby also only gained 150g, now is 2.5kg.

Bad news is get infected by Grp B strep, so got to take antibiotic for 5 days.
and Dr told me those who get infected must do injection of antibiotic during labour. hiazz...confirm got to poke during delivery.

I told doctor I hope baby can pop after 37wks, then she said now I can start walking more, which will help faster dilation. For those who wish to deliver early may be can try

Hi Cecilia &amp; Piyo,
My EDD is in between, on the 22nd Aug.
Just went for my 33rd wk check up last evening. Everything's fine, BB is weighing 2Kg and turned down already. Doc mentioned mostly won't turn up again(no space liao...haha). At this rate, I may be having a 3.5Kg and above BB...unless she decides to come earlier.

Hi Jesline,
Talking about the type of anaesthesia to use for your C-sect. Although alot of ppl always mention the side effects of administering an epidural, however all drugs created have their own sets of adverse reaction in every individual. And GA does somehow carries more risk, since it requires you to be totally asleep and your breathing is supported by the machine. And upon waking up, you r bound to feel more lousy(giddy &amp; nauseousness).
Of course the choice is ultimately yours, we all have our own preference.

Hi Kelly,
dat must be really uncomfortable! Bcos epidural was titrated in a way dat it wears off when it's near the birth of your BB, so you can still feel a little, enabling more efficient pushing of BB out the birth canal. So it must have worn off by the time your doc did the stitching up, should have administered some LA prior to dat.

Hi White_lady

Is it a norm that most pple will opt for epidural c section? But heard that there is lots of side effects of taking epidural... think will ask my gynae more abt the c-section during my next visit next week.

So when will u be due? your first child?

pups,
walking is good leh seating got long hours our back will ache..so as and when walk a little is ok.. and is good for easy delivery.

Hi jesline and white lady,

can I ask what are the reasons that prompt you to do a csec instead of natural?

Hi Fiona,
so we doe re mi go pop huh?:p maybe we end up all same day haha! my gynae also told me my baby turned down liao with her bums on my upper tummy so farni :p Your baby is BIG!!!

Hi Wanli,
what's the implications during delivery with grp b strep?

jfong sms-ed me abt 1230pm, saying tat she's checking into MAH n she'll inform me when her bb is out.

me so excited 4 her. she's e 1st mummy in our thread 2 pop. i'll inform everyone again when i hv any news fr her.

Hey kelly,
oh wow..how many weeks is jfong already ah? So i guess her contractions got too bad that her bb has to come out early is it? Ya pls do keep us updated.

Hi Augbaby,
from the list I complied, Jfong's EDD is 7 Aug.. so back counting it's about 36wks? wow the 1st baby to pop in Aug! SO exciting!!!

hey piyo, cat,
hee hee..ya alot of our edd dates r so near..mine n piyo is same 23aug..think a few others juz a few days away..wonder if we will pop b4 our edd..me be only taking leave a wwk b4 my edd leh...

my EDD is 25aug, also v close to yours, cat me also KKH, which ward u opting, im going to be in b2+.
maybe we can start a PM thread of mobile numbers since the popping has begun?

indeed exciting 1 pop, soon many will start popping heehee.

wow so exciting...

jfong poppin!
keep us updated! yay! so she is early....

piyo,
whom should we share hp no. with
i dun mind

sigh me long way way to go... baby EDD one of the last....

piyo,
u 1 2 inform e mummies here wat info 2 send 2 u again so u can complete updating e table?

augbb, catherine,
i suspect her waterbag burst, if not our gynae wont ask her 2 head straight 2 MAH.

i know our gynae's pattern. if u only hv contractions and/or spotting, he'll treat these 2 by giving u medication 2 relax ur womb, ask u 2 hv LOTSA bedrest n wait until >36wks then c wat's e weight of ur bb. only if waterbag burst, then bo pian our gynae will deliver our bb.

i'll keep everyone informed once i hear anything fr jfong.

butter8, pups
piyo has started a table wif our info n i tik some mummies hv given her e info. let's wait 4 piyo 2 advise everyone here e info required then she can email it 2 us?

Hi Wanli,
Me too, have to take the jab during labour, coz of +ve GP B Strep. You are quiet for a while and I thought u have given birth
So no dilation or thinning out yet, right? How's you contraction? Your nxt appt is 1wk later?

Hi Kelly,
Feel so excited for jfong.

wah you all post comments very fast... me panting here:p

Okie I am looking back at the table I complied. So far, I have Kelly's, rain's, Wanli's, Sierra's and Jasmine's details. For the rest of us, if you want to be part of the list, can you pm me the following details?

Mummy's Nick
Mummy's Name
Baby's Name
Baby's DOB
Daddy's Name
Mobile
Email Address
MSN Contact
Home Address
Occupation
Blog/Online Photo Website

gam sia!

Hi, *piyo*

Reasons why i opt for c-section is bcos my gynae told me that i must be very motivated to bear with the labour pain, baby weight cannot exceed 3kg, there is 0.01% chance that my previous wound will tear &amp; lastly the success rate of normal delivery is only 70% compared to those first time mum (90%). So after listening to what my gynae said, i decided it is better to opt for c-section.

Hi kelly,
so meaning if we experienced contractions/spotting etc, we may not need to head to hospital so fast huh? I feel bumps on my tummy every now and then, wonder is it baby movement or Braxton Hicks?

Hi butter,
I am also the last few to pop so don't worry k, we will still be around

Hi Cat and Augbaby,
you all plan to start maternity leave 1 week b4 EDD? I planning to work till the day deliver leh :p

Hi peddie,
Gynae told me this is due to the pregnancy hormones wor but he gave me some pills and cream to apply. I try not to eat the pills and meantime trying to do with the cream application only. Have you asked your gynae about it?

aiyo!!! so excited for jfong!! my EDD has moved to 7 Aug, same as hers leh! =P

piyo, u must keep us posted ok! she is also delivering her girl @ TMC like me!! @__@ we are of the same age too..

hey peddie, hApPiE bDaY tO yA!!! =P
am glad that U hv found your support group here, it's nice to hv a group of mommies to share n care issit it! i'm also glad i noe abt this forum and had learnt so much here. =)

i wish you all the best in the days ahead with your new family! =) God's blessings upon you and your loved ones. May He continue to guide and lead you on the right path to take. moving forward, u must be a strong and good mother and wife! see! u r doing great now! i'm happy for u! =)

hugZZz...

Hey piyo,
i have actually PM u all the contacts details some time back liao..U dun have? If reali dun have, i PM u again lor.. :p

Dear peddie,
A very Happy 20th Birthday to you. Wishing u a smooth path from now onwards in everything you do. Stay happy always!

happy bday peddie =)
u have obimin (multi vit) yet? will give you that as bday pressie when i see you heehee.

piyo, i pm you my details already

keep us posted on the updated list. thks!

Hi Augbaby,
I checked liao... no have.. can you PM me again? I will go compile tonight. Thanks!

Once I get the majority of the details, will email to all of you

piyo,
er...it depends leh. betta 2 seek advice fr ur gynae ok? u r a 1st time mummy, i 2nd time mummy so definitely different experience, different pain threshold.

LATEST SMS FR JFONG
"i had some pain at the pelvic area so went 2 dr ang 2 check n i was abt 3cm dilated. he is going 2 break water bag. now me in the delivery suite. let u know when i pop."

yikes, i've been having excruciating pain at my pelvic area tis whole wk. it's so painful tat sometimes i cant move n cant even walk well. i also experiencing very bad contractions on a few nites, til an extent tat i'm timing my contractions 2 c if i could b popping.

looks like i betta pay a visit 2 my gynae 2mrw or soon. who knows i could b dilated like jfong n i wanna pop soon too!

This is the latest table I have on the EDD dates

If your details are in in here and would like to add in, pls let me know k?

<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD>NAME</TD><TD>AGE</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>OBGYN</TD><TD>HOSPITAL</TD><TD>GENDER </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>Sandy Kerk</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>31-Jul-06</TD><TD>Dr Chen</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>BOY </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>Connie</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>01-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr KK Ho</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>BOY </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>Rain</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>01-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>GIRL </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>Chrys</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>02-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>BOY </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>Peacy</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>02-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Tan HK</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>1BOY&amp; 2 GIRLS </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>Wanli</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>02-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>GIRL </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>Babymum</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>04-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Tanny Chan</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>Kelly</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>04-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>BOY </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>Bottle</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>06-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>KKH </TD><TD>BOY </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>Leobbsmom</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>07-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr W K Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>GIRL </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>Jfong</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>07-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>GIRL </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>Babyboy</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>10-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>BOY </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>CJ</TD><TD>35</TD><TD>10-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Joan Thong</TD><TD>Raffles</TD><TD>BOY </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>Augustmum</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>12-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>Bearybear</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>12-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Ho HK</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>BOY </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>Bbnmum</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>13-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>BOY </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD>Dino</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>13-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>BOY </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD>Honeyhaven</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>13-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>BOY </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>Ningyo</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>14-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Kenneth Lee</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>BOY </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>Stay</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>15-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>KKH </TD><TD>BOY </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>Yipee</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>15-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr W K Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>GIRL </TD></TR><TR><TD>22</TD><TD>Ling2</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>17-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr K H Tan</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>BOY </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD>Sierra</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>17-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>2GIRLS </TD></TR><TR><TD>24</TD><TD>Jas</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>18-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>GIRL </TD></TR><TR><TD>25</TD><TD>Zshih</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>19-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>GIRL </TD></TR><TR><TD>26</TD><TD>Celine</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>20-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>GIRL </TD></TR><TR><TD>27</TD><TD>Catherine Wong</TD><TD>23</TD><TD>21-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>KKH </TD><TD>GIRL </TD></TR><TR><TD>28</TD><TD>Augbaby</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>23-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Adelina Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>BOY </TD></TR><TR><TD>29</TD><TD>Piyo</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>23-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Fong Chuan Wee</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD>GIRL </TD></TR><TR><TD>30</TD><TD>Adeline</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>25-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Wee HY</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>BOY </TD></TR><TR><TD>31</TD><TD>Buffel</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>25-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>GIRL </TD></TR><TR><TD>32</TD><TD>Erin00</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>25-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Judy Wong</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>BOY </TD></TR><TR><TD>33</TD><TD>Butter8</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>29-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Joan Thong</TD><TD>Raffles</TD><TD>BOY </TD></TR><TR><TD>34</TD><TD>Foonny</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>29-Aug-06</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>BOY </TD></TR><TR><TD>35</TD><TD>Jasmine Lau</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>30-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr. Denas Chandras</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>GIRL </TD></TR><TR><TD>36</TD><TD>Lala</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>30-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr LC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>GIRL </TD></TR><TR><TD>37</TD><TD>Mrschng</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>30-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Tan LK</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>BOY</td></tr></table>

piyo,
u can update e table &amp; put MAH for jfong cos she's in MAH now.

once she &amp; e rest of us start popping, u can REMOVE e column "gender", ADD in these columns "DOB" &amp; "NAME". a column on "WEIGHT" is optional.