(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

hi erin00 ,

i am looking at TMC or MT A . Wonder which is better ? any mummies have any comment ? and the price wise ? should be around the same rite ?

erin, I asked to be induced cos don't want to be caught offguard. My obs advised it's safe to deliver after 36 weeks, I'm going for it at 38 weeks.

Last pregnancy, was induced too cos I was worried baby was getting too mature at 39 going to 40 weeks.

There's also a risk of baby ingesting meconium (their first faeces) typical of matured babies.

Besides my hubby works erratic hours and I have a toddler too, so it's best for us to have it all planned out.

Mommies can discuss wif their obs regarding their birth plan. As for myself, I had asked my obs to give me epidural before puncturing the water-bag, even indicated on my preference to breastfeed my baby right after birth.

It's good to take some time to discuss these matters wif one's obs especially if he/she is the one to deliver the baby. At least, we don't feel hard pressed to make decision at a moment when we are simply too exhausted or in acute pain.

Oh...btw I have verrrrryyyyyy low threshold for pain ...ahhhhaaahaaaa..hence the epidural or should I call it Happie..dural, keeps me calm and pain-free. Told hubby can even give birth to four children if all my births are on that drug keee...keeee..

Hi Noe,

Haven't decided on how many bedder yet... but will keep a lookout for u too!

Hi erin00,

If cut short, must be real short. Else if it's neither here nor there and can't even tie it up properly, then that's trouble! In any case, I've survived the worst with my hair through many "summers" in the Sg weather. I'm sure I can survive this one. Besides, don't believe in the myth that hair must be kept short for confinement... don't believe that I can't wear heels during pregnancy (I'm still on 2")... :p

Hi Jasmine,

I'm keeping my fingers crossed that I don't end up ballooning beyond what my current clothes can handle. I have not bought a single piece of maternity clothing/undies... and I'm hoping I don't have to. :p

nurbates,
i have the same reasons as u on y i want to induce. husband dun hv erratic working hrs but he cant take too much leave since he just started on a new job. i also hv a tod so need 2 arrange 4 caregiving arrangement. i definitely dun 1 2 get caught offguard, esp if my waterbag burst in e middle of e nite. no 1 can bbsit my boy then n my husband wont b able 2 b wif my in e delivery suite.

me also MUST hv epidural. dun 1 2 b caught in a situation whereby i dilated too much n cant use epi. i'll scream my lungs off & probably deafen e midwives, my gynae n probably my newborn son.

for those who are already mommies

is there anyway to give us new mommies an idea of the level of pain? like its 10 times worse than .. severe food poisoning? i really dunno if my pain threshold is good enough, but i don plan for epidural. so far i think my pain threshold is good but i dunno wat is considered good.

pups,
2 me, contractions at e beginning stage feel like menstrual cramps but >10x worse. subsequent contractions i dunno liao cos i was given epi.

for me, when i was strapped on e CTG, when e contractions hit 50+, i was cringing in pain, holding onto e bed railing tightly or squeezing my husband's hands. e midwife who saw me in pain, told me 2 use epi cos 50+ contractions is considered low. contractions can hit as high as 120-130.

after i was administered epi, when i saw e CTG machine hitting 120, i no feeling. my pain threshold is practically NO pain threshold at all so u can imagine how happy & relieved i was!

tat's y tis time round, i MUST hv epi. if not, i'm sure i cant make it.

When I have v bad menstrual cramps, I feel nauseous, dizzy, break into cold sweat and can't think properly. My main worry is that I will not to be able to follow the gynae or midwife's instructions when I reach a state like this, thereby making life v difficult for everyone.

Gynae advised if I want epidural, to have it early. Reason being if it's given too late after the pain kicks in, one could be struggling and that compromises safety during the insertion of the needle. I thought that makes sense.

Hi, Augustmum

I am also delivering at TMC on 11th Aug..... ya, i had received the letter from TMC with some brochures & the pre-admission form last week. Maybe u should check with your gynae or call up TMC.

Hi,peachsorbet

so your due date is also on the 11th Aug..... me too ... hope to see u there

hmm i dont really get menstrual cramps, but when i do, i still function and do sports too, so that mean i can tahan labour pain?

still can't decide on epidural...

any mommies here went thru natural labour w no epi that can share with me?

i need to tell my gynae by next monday ..

i think diff pple has diff menstural pain and diff threshold. so it's really hard to compare this way.

hi kelly, hv u done those chinese foot reflexology before? do u enjoy it or find it a little painful or v painful?

i rem i used to go w 2 friends, and from there we can tell the difference in our pain threshold.

white lady,
i only said >10x of menstrual cramps so up 2 each mummy's pain threshold 2 determine how many TIMES of menstrual cramps.

edksd,
i've done chinese foot reflexology n it's painful overall. bcos when e reflexologist pressed on some parts, it's not painful but on some parts, it's damn freaking painful lor so overall it's a painful experience. not something i'll do often.

even when i do massages, i always tell e masseur 2 b as light as possible. once in a while, e masseur will say things like, "then massage 4 wat? must apply pressure 2 b effective wat..."

so u can tell wat pain threshold i hv rt? none!

i think i experience b4 the pain. that time i miscarriage the pain was unbearable till i cannot sit cannot stand cannot walk worst then menses cramp. Breathing also got problem. Then will have cold sweat.......can you imagine i still can walk to market there and take taxi.....i believe labour pain will be similiar..

thks for all the sharing mommy.

hmm ive done chinese foot reflex, i find it ok, quite shiok in fact, i always tell masseuse to press harder.

i think i will go for no epi, will let you gals know if i regret it!

What's the purpose of drinking coconut juice and when is the best time to start?

I have not sign up the delivery package with hosp, doc said still early. :p

hi kelly ,

i mention 1000x of pain , is refering to other mummies =P cos some mummies told me that , i am not saying u , he he =)

sorry for any mistaken ! =p

Hi, Bottle

Heard that drinking coconut water make the delivery more easier & that it is best to drink it abt 3-4 weeks before u r due.

5 Signs That You're in Labor
How will you know when you're really and truly in labor? Here are 5 of the most important symptons.

It's been a long nine months and you're anxiously awaiting the big moment. How will you know when you're finally in labor? According to the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, the following symptoms indicate the onset of labor:

Bloody show: You notice a pink stain on your underwear or toilet tissue. This indicates that you lost the mucus plug.

Rupture of membranes: You feel fluid gush or trickle from your vagina, indicating that the bag of water containing your baby has ruptured.

Regular contractions that intensify: You feel contractions that are frequent and increasingly painful. They don't go away but instead intensify with physical activity.

Pain in lower back: You feel a regular and intense pain in your lower back that radiates to your lower abdomen and sometimes even to your legs.

Cramps that feel like intestinal upset: You feel cramping that seems like the onset of diarrhea, and you may actually experience diarrhea.

If you're not sure you're in labor, call your doctor and discuss your symptoms. If you feel that you are definitely in labor, call your doctor and ask her for instructions or to meet you at the hospital.

Hi, Peddie

Not too sure ... but i think should be ok if drink coconut water 2-3 times per week....

As i'm now 34th week, my husband's sis will be preparing those coconut water for me in abt 2 weeks times when i am 36th week.....

Jasmine,
Thx for the advise. I'm choosing MAH too. Delivery on 21/8 (c-sec).

Fiona,
Bought Okunishi brand for my 1st boy. The material excellent, din strech even after countless time of wash. Isetan scotts have promotion on their clothing but mind you, not much variety.

Kelly,
Thx for the advise....

Due for consultation with my endocrinologist this afternoon. Really cross finger, hope my HB1ac going down....

<blockquote><hr size=0><!-quote-!><font size=1>quote:</font>

Hi Noe,
Haven't decided on how many bedder yet... but will keep a lookout for u too! :)<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>

Hi Leia,
Heh heh ... Will do.

hi pupsandcups,

i told my gynae i wanna have natural birth and try not to have epi, she suggested tat see how i can endure the pain when i am admitted. If during the time i am admitted, i already cannot endure the pain, then i can then choose to take epi, but if i still think the pain is bearable, then maybe i wan to persevere not to take it. Tolerance of pain varies for individual, so no matter 10x or 100x, we still can't imagine it.. even when i asked my gf who gave birth before, she could hardly describe it, just said, it's the greatest pain of all.

But, I have another gf who had appendicitis 1 week before she's due, and was suffered from great appendicitis pain and was admitted to the hospital. As her bb is blocking her appendix, so doctor need to induce her bb out in order to remove her appendix. Luckily she deliverd her bb only within 3-4 hours. But then her appendix was burst after the bb's born and all the dirty stuff was spreaded all over her stomach. It's very very dangerous if it's burst before the bb's born. The biggest challenge was, the doctor couldn't sew back the wound after removing the appendix, as the dirty stuff was all over the stomach, so the doctor had left the 5" wide wound open with a pipe connected to it, and all the dirty blood was piped out to a container. When doctor cleaned her 5" open wound without any anesthesia, She wished that she could die right a way. She told her hb she could give birth to him 10 babies with the pain she suffered from this appendicitis.

So, depends on individual. My mom said she din suffer from great pain when delivering my bro and me. She deliverd me in 45 min. pei fu her..

for those who are already mommies
is there anyway to give us new mommies an idea of the level of pain? like its 10 times worse than .. severe food poisoning? i really dunno if my pain threshold is good enough, but i don plan for epidural. so far i think my pain threshold is good but i dunno wat is considered good.<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>

Hi pupsandcups,
If you are induced, you will be injected with oxytocin to speed up contractions. The pain will be higher compared to a normal labour without injected oxytocin. That's why, usually mummies will request for Epidural after they are induced.

For my first delivery, I was induced.
4 hours later, I was only 4 cm dilated. Usually for first time mummies, they said that the cervix dilates about 1cm per hour. I didn't want to wait that long so I asked for Epidural.
I delivered 2 hours later.

For my 2nd delivery, I was already 5cm dilated when I reached hospital. My cue was:
1) A show
2) Regular contractions come every 5 minutes interval
3) Each contraction last for at least 40 seconds

I asked for Epidural as they wouldn't give it to me once I was 6cm dilated.
2 hours later, I delivered.

You can always try other methods of pain reliefs before considering Epidural.
(The gas didn't work for me. I was definitely not laughing. In fact, I was nauseated once I smelled it.)
I think the cut off is dilation 6 - 7cm for Epidural administration.

thanks chrys,

ya i guess there is no way to tell. i had appendicitis too when i was 18, it was ok, but then again there were no complications.

i guess i will go w no epi, and leave the midwives to decide if need later. altho i guess its better to have epi right from the beginning if u kw u gonna take epi.

the receptionist in my office had no epi, she said pain like bad stomach ache only ...

peddie, if u wanna drink it for stengthen bb's skull, then u can drink once a week till week 36 or so.

if u wanna drink it so tat bb is clean when delivered, then u can drink 2-3 times a week after week 36 or 37.. coz u dunno which week u will pop, and just drink so tat incase u pop, bb will be clean, and not so bloody..

Oh! One more thing.
If you are considering having Epidural, it's not given immediately. You first have to sign the papers (to acknowledge that risks are involved) and it depends on the anaesthetist's availability as he or she might be attending to another mummy at another ward.

On top of that, you will be requested to stay still for some minutes as they insert the tube up the spine amidst the contractions.
kao_dizzy.gif
No mean feat.

Dear Noe,
Thanks..but where is kids mall ah..")<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
kao_smile2.gif
Hi Augbaby,

Kids Mall Outlets
1) IMM Building #03-02. Tel: 6563-7677
2) Suntec City Mall #03-029. Tel: 6235-7277

hello,

wow all this talk about pain :p

kelly,
i like painful massages (tuina and thai type) and also foot massage.. maybe I am the sadist type hahahaha

pupsncups,
wow u brave..
my gynea also ask me to try first.. dunno if I will be so brave when the time comes :p

Noe,
so putting the epi not too pain?
wow if it helps make labor faster its tempting...

Heh heh Butter8,
With Epidural, it's painless!

The cervix dilates faster when we are relaxed.
I was definitely relaxed with it.

Anyway, you try &amp; tahan first lor.
Taste the labour pain! (Ha ha ... Sounds sadistic hor)
Just remember that Epidural is out of the question/request once you are 6 - 7 cm dilated, k.

Silly me opted for induction for #1 then (I wanted my boy to be born on the First Nov) so the contractions pain was more intensed with the injected oxytocin.
We managed better with our natural oxytocin produced as I had experienced with my #2.

How should I describe labour pains....like menses pain.....haaaa...haaaa...haaaaa...very different what the two?!

Share my first birth story, sorry ah first-timers..

I was given prostin (inserted from down there) at 6pm on 8/12/04

Strapped to CTG machine for three hours then midwife came and check down there to see if I've dilated (found out only dilated 1 cm..cheh!!!)

I made almost three trips back and forth (maternity ward and delivery suite) over the next 6-8 hours until I cannot walk properly cos they check down there for sooo many times...everything just felt numb!

My contractions was 1 minute apart and the pain...ooohhhh...laaa....laaaa...abt 80-90 on the scale. This happened on 9/12/04 early morning. Tried to eat but puked everything out cos contractions was severe. Btw, couldn't do breathing exercise to counter pain cos contractions was tooo painful and close.

And for a moment I thought I was going to give birth in a jiffy, boy was I wrong!! They checked me down there again (too tired to complain liao), and found I was only three cm dilated.
Pengzzzzz!!!!! After all that!!!!

I asked for whatever painkilling antidote they can offer and they gave me a jab (pethidine). Waste of $$$ man.....knock-out and when I open my eyes, kept puking cos of the drug. And it only worked for two to three hours!

They administered epi on me at 2pm after my mucus plug came off. My midwife asked me to hug onto a pillow and bend over, she pressed down my shoulders so I won't jerk as they insert the tube down my back.

After epi, I was on seven heaven. Told the midwife and anaesthesist that I shd have taken epi hours before!!!

Everything was smmmmmoooooottthhhhhh after that.

What shocked me was the reading on CTG monitor when I was delivering my baby. Triple digits!!!!
80-90 on CTG alreadi like cannot tahan, what more three digits, think it was 200 or sthg, severe manic pain man!!!! Haaa....haaa...haa...lucky on epi if not I would have bitten my hubby for causing me all this pain!

So..that's my birth story, a little less scary than Freddy's nightmare huh...heeee...heeee...

tks for sharing nurbates
quite comical your story heehee. i think i will still try for no epi, then will learn for #2, if i have a #2 heehee.

btw gals, coconut, is it cannot drink thai one? only drink the big msian type? weather so hot i jus keep drinking whenever i can tho most places only got thai coconut.

noe..
hw much will the epi n inducing cost?
if like too ex then must tahan oreadi.. so must wait for the signs then.. e show, regular contractions every 5 min, for abt 40s la.. <!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
Hi Peddie,
If I recall correctly, KKH charged about $250 for Epidural (max 2 dosages).
Hmm ... I don't remember any charges for induction as they just broke the water bag &amp; placed me on drips &amp; oxytocin.
kao_smile2.gif

Ya ... Those are the standard cues for labour &amp; making way to the hospital.
It differs from pregnancies to pregnancies though.

If you are in doubt, call the KKH Ask-The-Nurse Service. You will be able to find it in your patien booklet.

is it true that if u got water retention n yr feet start swelling, it means u might be giving birth soon? i think it is an old wife tales rite? coz one of my hubby friend was talking him..haha

ask you gals (sorry me today have a lot of questions)

how do you know if you have water retention? sometimes my feet ache but they don seem swollen, not sure, i mean i can still wear my normal shoes, is that water retention?

hey Cat,
wat u mean by 3times more swollen? meaning the first time my feet swell, n the next time it swell 3x the first time it swell is it? Me blur lah.. Hee hee

pupsncups,
me oso dunno how to see.. but my friend told me if we press our leg/skin, and feels spongy spongy is the start of water retention.
I think my legs must be getting bigger, but since it has been gradual, I dun really notice.

I still can wear most my flat shoes, only the narrow ones cannot.
if i walk too long in my birkies... my ankles pain..

anyone got painful ankle? I got pain on my right leg... i think too much weight or pressure...
and maybe old injury make it worse....
i wonder now can see chinese doc or not...

is it bad to walk a lot at this stage? i still walk quite a lot, have a lot of shopping to settle for my new place.
i find swimming is the best exercise for us now...

butter8, wat you mean by spongy?

white lady
*scratch head*
there's no offense by u leh...i meant 2 say tat i only used >10x more cos different mummies hv different pain threshold. for me, it's definitely 1000x painful. my pain threshold is practically NIL.

edksd
i tik my pain threshold is considered NIL, not even low 2 start wif. LOL!
nurbates can even tahan abt 80-90+ contraction level, i cant even tahan 50+.

noe,
not true tat wif epi, it's painless. somehow even though i was on epi, when my gynae was stitching up my episiotomy wound, i could feel e needle poking at TAT area n e the pulling of e thread. i let out a painful squeal n my gynae quickly gave me some local anathesia (i dunno how 2 spell it correctly).

so tis time round, i specifically told my gynae tat 2 give me a few LA jabs at TAT area when he's cutting or stitching me up.

i did hear tat once u hit >7cm dilation, they wont give u epi anymore. waste of $$ n no point! so for me, once i see any signs of labour, i'll head straight 2 hospital. definitely dun 1 2 b in a situation when i'm >6-7cm dilated n cant use epi. i sure peng sanz fr e contraction pains b4 i even pop.

butter8,
it's true tat wif epi, u r more relaxed so u'll tend 2 dilate faster BUT tis also depends on e mummy's pain threshold level. if ur pain threshold is high, u can dilate easily, then u may not need epi. u can rely on other forms of pain-relief such as e gas, pethidine, etc.

hi nurbates and kelly,
thanks for sharing. just talked to my gynae abt it. she says it's fine but try to do it closer to due date cos the cervix will be riper. m still considering abt it.

hi leia,
u r cool man! can still wear heels. my feet will be aching like mad after work.
will be cutting my hair thin but not too short. agree with u if it's not too short and yet not long enough to tie, it'll be even more unbearable.

hi pupsandcups and peddie,
sorry. i made a mistake. so blur cos my appt was supposed to be on the 12th but i changed it to this wk cos next wk will be very busy. can only recall that u r supposed to see the doc 2 days b4 me. pai seh.

456339.png

hi pupsandcups,
I signed up for the delivery package today. took the normal delivery package and paid the intial payment. the staff will explain everything to u in detail abt what is included in the package. Just hope there will be no complications. if not, guess the bill will be rather exp.

Pups,
you press your ankle with your tumb hard for 5 secs if theres is a mark that means its water retention.

aug,
i think so it will be more swollen then current..thats my friend told me.. don't know true or not.

Got alot of birth experience sharing to read lately. Definitely an eye opening as i din manage to go through it for my 1st 1 (cervic cant dilated, pre-eclamsia n past EDD).

anyone with delivery date on 21 aug at Mt A.....

Long time no post! Have been busy and just logged in to read and saw so many posts!!

Saw quite a few newocmers on board! Hello!!!!

I went for my 32week checkup last sat. The urine test strip changed colour for the sugar portion (does that mean I got GD?) and I gained 2 kg this month. Till to date, I have gained about 11-12kg. Gynae did not ask me for any blood test like what some of you have mentioned here cos he mentioned my baby is growing healthily but on the lower weight graph scale. He says mine will be a small baby

I was also given the admission letter and we signed up the hospital package at Glen E on the same day... next visit will be 34th week liao...

I have swollen legs as well and occasionally, I have painful ankles esp on my right ankle. Will this swollen thingy persist till end of term ah?

I also developed rashes on my thigns and arms etc esp at night..anyone has that as well?

hi Kelly,
I am here!!! *waves* Have been down with rashes over the weekend and been busy with work and all... How have you been? I read that you have GD how are you now? there is sugar detected in my urine does that mean I have GD also??

I managed to get some contacts from a few Aug moms some months ago. Not many have sent to me so I did not share wthe contacts here...