(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

<blockquote><hr size=0><!-quote-!><font size=1>quote:</font>

noe..
mostly on the tummy.. sometimes on the calf or arm.. tats all.. v heaty..<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
Yeah Peddie,
Try not to scratch!
If you have anti-stretch marks cream, apply some on your tummy.
If not, normal moisturiser should be able to relieve a little of the itch.

Noe,
Usually the nurses will clean us up before sending us to the postnatal ward. Probably will still be in the open back gown till we change into our own. We may stain our own clothings bcos of heavy discharges, so try to bring at least 2 sets bah...<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>

Yeah Fiona, I stained the gowns on the first day with the lochia for my 1st &amp; 2nd delivery.

I better look for some gowns that I don't mind staining during my stay there.
Hmm ... If not, I can wear sarong!

the itch is also getting me ... couldn't tahan n jus had a good scratch .. shdnt have la
i put heaps of palmer's cream, n some powder too, no use
can we put calamine lotion?

Hi pup,

My edd date is 1st Aug... last sat went for checkup, my bbonly 2.1kg...
Her head turned down already. But just now, I feel some pressure on my bladder... Is care bb make her way up again.. sianz...

Hi Jasmine,

Thanks for the list! I've saved it on my laptop already.

Hi Noe,

28/8/06 too!? What a coincidence! Which hospital?

Hi Butter8,

Had my checkup today too, at wk 32. The last checkup was 4 wks ago. EFW = 1738g and my weight gain over 4 wks is 1.4kg. It's been consistently 1.2 - 1.4kg every 4wks since wk 20. I supposed the EFW is fine cos when I ask the gynae if I need to eat more, he said no need. So if your EFW is about the same as mine, I don't think there's any problem at all! So don't worry, ok?
My next checkup is 3 wks later. Looks like gynae don't need see me every 2 wks... *shrug*

Hi Mums,

Just to check with those delivering at Thomson. For my first pregnancy in 2004, prior to my delivery, I received a letter from Thomson re. the ward I wanted.However, for this time round, I did not receive any. Did anyone of you receive it or the hospital no longer practise it?

Btw, my EDD is on 12 Aug. Anyone about the same date? Me, a bit kan cheong now. No mood to work actually.

Hi Erin,
Where are you having your prenatal visits? You can try asking the clinic to backdate you one. I'll just bring the receipt which I paid for my package, as long as more than $450 can liao...

Noe,
hmmm...wearing sarong is a good idea, cooling some more...hee
Think when I'm lying in bed, will pull up the gown and cover with blanket, dun wanna stain leh..else i'll have a hard time washing after that.

Peddie,

I suggest you pay a visit to the neighbourhood doc. Remember to tell the doc you're expecting so that he'll give you medicine safe for pregnancy. That should alleviate your gastric problems, giddiness and diarrhoea.

I was on mc yesterday. Got rashes on my tummy quite itchy. Dun know what causes it, so I went to see my gynae. He says preggie's skin is very sensitive ask me to stop using my stretch mark cream. He mentioned some preggies cannot even use johnson johnson, which I thought is already very mild. Given 2 days mc, yesterday and today. The rashes seems better, so I came back to work today. Baby weighs 2.567kg at wk 34. Head is still down and my next visit will be in 2 wks time that is wk 36. BTW, does anyone faces the same as me. My neighbouring office stuffs recently keep on asking me when I am going to deliver. It is like this wk they ask, next wk they ask again. Then will say how come I am still here not yet deliver.. I told them my EDD is 13 Aug and going on ML on 8 Aug, unless baby decides to comes out early. The same people asking me the same question again and again. So sian to answer them again and again.

Hi Augustmum...

My EDD is on 11th Aug at TMC too! =) Maybe we'll see each other there. hehe..

I received the letter leh.. they let u choose which room you want, even though the doctor already book for you.. It comes with other brochures and all that too.. quite some time ago one..

Wah..
locia will stain until so jiat lat ah?? i better make sure got spare clothing set aside at home where hubby can find in case i need one more change of clothing!!

Erin,
Ya lor.. time is moving fast fast liaoz... take care of swelling legs ok? prop them up where possible.... some people say, swelling in feet means baby going to pop liaoz.. dunno true or not...

I went gynae last nite.. baby @ 31weeks + (approaching 32 weeks) is 1.717kg.. at this rate, I am likely to have a 3+kg baby... i was like.. huh? baby need to double in size over next 2 months.. (I BETTER PUT MORE OIL ON MY TUMMY!!) We discussed about episiotomy (I dun like cuts, but he say, 1st time mummies usually cannot run away..), epidural (he recommend me to take epidural and to take it early if i make up my mind &amp; i cannot tahan initial contractions..), checking in process.. which ward, which PD (I took terence tan.. keke..gyane actually put him baby's PD liaoz before i ask him..hehe.).. my blood pressure is normal, no protein &amp; sugar in my urine.. so, all seems ok.. I took my usual video of the scan, since gynae now don't give me printouts of baby.. too big liaoz to be useful to see the whole baby..

My next appointment is 3 weeks later also.. then it will become 2 weeks interval then 1 week interval..

regarding swelling feet, i am not having it yet.. but, been wearing birkenstocks liaoz to work daily.. not only it accomodate swelling feet, the grip is good and i have lesser risk of slipping on slippery surfaces..

Hey Jas,
Wow, seems like our bb size is almost the same..hee hee..might at wk 31wks n 3days is 1.7kg...hee hee..btw wat is locia??

Hi Erin,
do take care of yrself then...if the vomitting MS?? Prop yr feet up n try to rest more...ya i also heard that if mummy feet swell up 3 times, means going to give birth..dun noe if it is true..

For me, over the weekends, my feet swell has gone down alr n now my feet is normal size..dun noe y leh..maybe wkends i din walk too much n on mon also on mc...

Noe &amp; Leia,
u gals EDD is 28/8 - nice date
me very near 29/8

Leia,
thanks ;)
I was just worried that bb not getting the nutrients but me - just getting fat :p
I will try to exercise more now, but increase my milk intake... Dr say I can try more milk and see how.
now my visits are every 2 weeks... i thinks is just part of package...

at my last check, the nurses ran through the cost for delivering... sigh all $$$$$ dr come n check $, paedetrician come n check +$, if emergency c-sec, everything add more... :p having baby so diff, still must sign all these papers hehehehe

augustmum,
no mood hor... dun worry, my EDD is not till 29/8 but i already sometimes no mood to work :p
lazy bum me....so hard to focus and motivate myself... haha

Butter8 ...

hehe.. no mood to work also! but think that's like every day... then every day at the computer, surfing forums and reading websites for interesting things about babies...

me too also no mood to work and my edd is 23 august...still long way..haha...

Butter,
did yr doc say yr bb weight is ok? if yes, then shld be ok..dun need to worry too much..me too also sometimes seems to put on more weight than my bb..hahaha...dun noe y...but as long as my doc say bb is growing well, i try not to worry too much lor..

Hi all ladies,
another new day, waiting waiting...
peddie.... my gynae, in the begining only , suggest me not to drink milk, citrus fruit, causes acidity. if U R drinking any type of milk (say normal or soy), make sure, to take it before afternoon. &amp; after having milk take rest for atleast 15 min, just allow milk to settle in UR stomach.

hi jasmine,
ur baby puts on weight very fast hor. the other time was abt 1.2kg rite?

birkenstock good rite? was thinking of getting it but exp la. now also don't know which size to get cos feet swelling mah. never go back to normal leh. sigh...

dun feel like taking epidural cos afraid of the side effects. i mean i have been vomitting so often during this pregnancy. don't know can escape the side effects (vomitting). but guess most probably, i will be using it la unless labour is short

hi augbaby,
thanks. dunno whether is it ms cos kept feeling nauseated. just hope it's just gastric.

hi peachsorbet and butter,
i no mood to work too but have so much things to clear. guess i'll be taking maternity leave at the beginning of aug (edd: 25 Aug) so i can clear my work and hand over properly.

hi erin,
ya i hear that birkenstock is good..n fact i juz order from a mummy who is organising a BP n it is abt $60...so still cheap than buying in spore...i juz got the usual shoes size i am wearing coz my feet size still seems almost the same despite sometimes my feet swell...hope can wear...
So good..i be only taking my ML 1 wk b4 my edd 23aug....

I be going to see my doc this friday..be in my 33wks alr..wondering how heavy will my bb be...

peachsorbet, gunjan, leia
welcome 2 our thread!

piyo,
wah...u really MIA? i wondering how u r?

noe,
u popping at MAH rt? after u delivered, e midwife will ask u 2 change into ur own nursing suit ASAP. u cant even wear their delivery outfit out of e delivery suite.

betta bring ur own n get ur husband 2 get it ready so u can change into it once u pop.

Hi erin...

My dr suggest taking ML only one week before EDD.. so as not to "waste" the leave..so... looks like wait until early Aug also. I feel like taking the ML now..

I just went to see dr yesterday anyway.. and I'm already in 34 weeks.. baby is 2.46kg. apparently healthy la.

mommies

any idea whether first pregnancy more chances to give birth early or late?

my new house still renovating ... hope bb doesnt come early, wat r the signs of early labour?

Honeyhaven,

The most frequently asked qn I get, besides when I'm gonna deliver, is "Are you going to cut your hair?" (My hair is butt length). Depending on my mood, I give them different ans., including my gynae. :p

Hi Leia,
Yah...this question also quite frequent. My hair length is up to shoulder only.

Hi peachsorbet,
My gynae also ask me to work till delivery. My EDD is 13th Aug and working till 8th Aug. Another 5 wks to go. How abt u??

hi mummies.. so waiting for our due date next month huh.. feels excited already.. going to feel the labour experience all over again.. so any 2nd time mummy here like me? are you getting the cold feets again or is like bochap feeling?

Hey Erin &amp; Augbaby,

Baby growing ok lah.. seems average leh, my baby's weight.. this week, feel like my tummy growing fast fast..

And movement of baby has changed.. it is less of kicking, but more of shifting around..and i am starting to feel hot!!

I am still surviving on 3 maternity pants, 1 maternity skirt, 2 dresses, and loose tops/ babydoll normal tops.. wondering if my tummy will suddenly grown super fast in this last 2 months..

As my EDD is end August.. i have to finish all my projects on hand by July.. (SOB!!) even if they are due in sept-nov.. so, rushing through everything now.. sigh..

hey jas,
ya me too...bb movements have definitely change..less kicking n more shifting around...i feel my bb bumps more often n obvious at my tummy than kicking already..guess not much space in tummy for bb to kick much already..usually when i place my hand on the bump, i can usually feel the bump moving from 1 area to another..even hubby manage to feel it too..haha

hey
baby kick lesser is normal?
aiyo i start to worry when my girl is not kicking for hours. cos i am too used to her kicking every min and hours. Not only as and when she will kick a few times don't know is kicking or what but i will see humps on my tummy.

I ask hubby to see my tummy moving, he thought i purposely make one.. haha..

the itch is also getting me ... couldn't tahan n jus had a good scratch .. shdnt have la
i put heaps of palmer's cream, n some powder too, no use
can we put calamine lotion?<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>

Hi pupsandcups,
A good scratch indeed! I can understand totally what you mean!
kao_sad2.gif

I had bouts of them for my 2nd pregnancy. Silly me was too lazy to apply anti-stretchmark cream (I get mine from my friend who's a beautician during my 1st pregnancy) &amp; was happily scratching away. So I have stretchmarks a plenty from my second pregnancy.

I didn't use palmer's cream. The cream I got from my friend, Babor (Body Line Thermal) works well for me.
It works its wonders especially after my 2nd delivery as I had itch all over my tummy due to the side effects from Epidural.
Of course, it didn't come cheap. $100 for 200ml.

Hi Noe,
28/8/06 too!? What a coincidence! Which hospital? :)<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>

kao_smile2.gif
Hi Leia,
I will be delivering at Mt A this time round as my gynae has gone private.
My first two were delivered at KKH.

Noe,
hmmm...wearing sarong is a good idea, cooling some more...hee
Think when I'm lying in bed, will pull up the gown and cover with blanket, dun wanna stain leh..else i'll have a hard time washing after that.<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
Hi Fiona,
I most likely will bring sarongs &amp; match it with nursing tops. I stained the gowns big time from my last 2 deliveries.

hi all...i haven't been posting here for awhile as well....

i'm having rashes too, right now i'm using aloe vera gel to relieve the itch...it's quite mild, non-steriod based so it's quite safe to use...peddie u might wanna try that...

I'll be popping early....so likely it would be a end july delivery.

hope all goes well for all of u!

hey sierra,
Been a while since we hear from u...glad that all is well..take good care ya coz i am sure now yr tummy must be v heavy wif yr 2 twins girls...
Do keep us posted...

Helo mummies!

well haven been posting here too.. busy n well don feel v well too..

Jus see my gynae. Hmm v funny leh. IM suppose to be 32weeks now BT from e gynae scan on bb etc im into 31wk 4days! I also blur like sotong! My edd like sudden been pushed back to 1Sept instead of 25Aug!

BB now weigh abt 1.8kg..seems to small to mi. Though my weight increase abt 700g BT seems to be bb weight instead! Gosh.. Been trying to eat more bt oni 3 meals a day, don seems can squeeze in at all lo.. Must try more durians but worrying been too heaty!

Haiz.. now having headache again!

me looking for a fitted sheet for my bb mattress for the playpen...does anyone knows where i can get it..i have checked out aussino and it seems like their fitted sheets are 28inch by 52inch which is too big..my mattress is only 28inch by 41inch..how? the mattress i got for the playpen from bb kingdom has a cover but i prefer to put another fitted sheet over it...pls help if anyone knows..
tks

We discussed about episiotomy (I dun like cuts, but he say, 1st time mummies usually cannot run away..), epidural (he recommend me to take epidural and to take it early if i make up my mind &amp; i cannot tahan initial contractions..)<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>

kao_sad2.gif
Hi Jasmine,
Yeah, most gynaes will go for the cut on first time mummies.
I had a hard time healing (took me about 6 - 8 weeks to heal as I was taking my son in &amp; out hospital to check on his bilirubin) from my episiotomy for my 1st.
I had 3 - 4 stitches.

For my 2nd delivery, I told him that I didn't want a cut.
Yes, I tore slightly but it required only 1 stitch. I was up &amp; about 4 hours later after delivery &amp; healed very quickly within 2 weeks.

Ha ha ... I am definitely not going for a cut this time round!

I took Epidural for both deliveries. It sure helped me relax &amp; dilate faster.

First Delivery - 6 hours of labour
Second Delivery - 2 hours of labour

However, there are side effects also lah which varies from mother to mother &amp; pregnancy to pregnancy.

Noe &amp; Leia,
u gals EDD is 28/8 - nice date :) me very near 29/8<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
Hi Butter8,
Are you delivering at Mt A?
Heh heh ... I will be checking into the double-bedded room.
I will keep a look out for the both of you aye!

noe,
u popping at MAH rt? after u delivered, e midwife will ask u 2 change into ur own nursing suit ASAP. u cant even wear their delivery outfit out of e delivery suite.

betta bring ur own n get ur husband 2 get it ready so u can change into it once u pop.<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>

kao_dizzy.gif
Wah Kelly!
Not even a chance to leave stains on their patient gowns ah!

Okay, I better bring with me a few sets of cheap sarongs. Hmm ... I can wear them at home too.

Honeyhaven... My EDD is on 11 Aug.. Hopefully I can wait until around 9 Aug?? Haha.. Then can "save" on the leave... Otherwise the public holiday will be quite wasted. I don't mind work actually, because it's just sit in front of the pc and reply emails... Just going to and from work is the really draining part. Still got about 5 weeks to pack stuff/prepare in the evening.. So don't really need the day time to prepare yet.

Hopefully baby is obedient enough to not come out so early though... otherwise... her clothes all not washed yet, her cot not yet fix up yet... bath tub haven't get yet either. hospital bag is packed 50/50 only... need to hunt all the receipts... need to pack in nightgown (still in the wash).. uhoh.

me looking for a fitted sheet for my bb mattress for the playpen...does anyone knows where i can get it..i have checked out aussino and it seems like their fitted sheets are 28inch by 52inch which is too big..my mattress is only 28inch by 41inch..how? the mattress i got for the playpen from bb kingdom has a cover but i prefer to put another fitted sheet over it...pls help if anyone knows..:) tks<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
Hi Augbaby,
Would you like to try Kids Mall?
I found my odd sizes (24" x 48") cot mattress &amp; mattress sheets there. They are having promotion till 9 July.

noe,
no leh, me delivering at RH.. :)<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
Hi Butter8,
That's great!
My friend delivered there &amp; she loves the services provided.
There are lesser patients there compared to other hospitals so the staff are always available to lend a hand.

hi mummies.. so waiting for our due date next month huh.. feels excited already.. going to feel the labour experience all over again.. so any 2nd time mummy here like me? are you getting the cold feets again or is like bochap feeling?<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
Hi Voguemama,
Yeah, feeling rather excited as the D-day draws nearer.
This is my 3rd pregnancy &amp; sure would like to deliver soon.
I am experiencing more breathlessness lately.
kao_dizzy.gif

hi fiona,

hi augbaby,
me also in wk 33. seeing gynae tmr. hope bb is absorbing well. eager to find out how big he is now.

i am using the 28" X 52" bedsheet too even though it's too big for the hand-me-down cot. Guess I will tuck it and pin the excess. keke...

hi peachsorbet,
i no choice. unless doc can give me mc. if not, really have to take leave early so i can clear all my work. M working as a teacher so if i don't take leave, the marking will keep on piling up. Have to return all the worksheets to the pupils before i bomb mah. otherwise not fair to the kids.

hi leia,
ur hair is really long. mine isn't that long and my sil has been asking me the same question too. kept advising me to cut it short but i dun want. hate the process of growing it long again (especially when it's shoulder length and it curls untidily)

hi cynthia and sierra,
long time no chat. sierra, glad ur babies are growing fine. remember to post here after ur delivery. will be waiting for ur labour story

hi pupsandcups and peddie,
how's ur check up yest?

hi jasmine,
no wonder recently u seldom msn. must be very busy with all ur work. how u getting along with the person who'll be relieving ur duties when u r on leave?

hi erin

heehee it's next monday actually
we will definitely keep you posted. with KKH, this is the first time im scanning again since the 5th month scan, when they confirmed its a boy. should b quite exciting to see bb again

Hi all mummies ,

realise that in the last 1 or 2 months of our pregnancy , so much have changes , suddenly like a ballon , tummy n legs all " blow " up n out ! heehee . And stretchmark all coming out also ,and getting heavy everyday..

And any mummies go for hospital tour ? or just walk in any hospital n look see look see ?

Me starting to waddle too...tiring mannn....

My EDD is on 6/8 but gonna be induced in late July. Hopefully no cut down there cos I took a long time to heal too

hi white lady,
which hospital will u be delivering? i did listen to one of the mtbs and walk walk around kkh. visited the various wards. now still haven't decide which ward to stay. kkh dun have a2 ward. think have to decide tmr. they ask me to book bed during last appt but i told them will decide on next visit(which is tmr).

hi pupsandcups,
u mean u din do any scan from 5th onwards? ya, shd be exciting. think gynae will be telling ur bb's weight this time.

hi nurbates,
are there any reason why u have to be induced in late july? can we ask to be induced? I feel like giving birth earlier such as around late 37 wks or early 38 wks.

455476.png