(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Oh ya can we also drink some chrysanthemum water as well? coz i feel that i am very heaty lately and some elders say we need to take some cooling water if not when bb is born, will be very red and have johndice.. is it true??

sometimes i get an achy feeling like suan suan round the pelvic area.. anyone get that.. it happens when i sit and get up or also when walking... can feel some pressure there...

about breast pump again hehehe :p
is it true advent has a manual pump that can also have option to use batteries?

hi augbaby,

I'm also having those heatiness. U can drink barley water. Its not as cooling as chrysanthemum.
As for coconut water, my colleague told me to drink from 37wks onwards, probably 1-2times a week, not daily.

As for baby being very red n jaundice, that i'm not too sure.

Thanks augbaby!

Ha ha ... Indeed, we get more & more busy once they are up and about.
Now with my 4 & 2 year old, my rest comes only when they are napping!
kao_dizzy.gif

It's true that they roughhouse a lot more than girls do.
And once they start, it's very difficult to get them to stop.

That's when the cane comes handy.

As for coconut drink, I was told that it helps remove vernix (the white coating around our babies once they are out).

Don't know how true that is but I enjoy drinking it nonetheless! Hee hee ...
#1 & #2 came out rather clean though.

kao_drool.gif
One more month to go before I can enjoy that.

As for jaundice, Asian as well as breastfed babies tend to get them more. Not too sure if it's related to taking cooling drinks.

Hi White Lady,
Will you be breastfeeding & returning to work after delivery?

kao_smile2.gif
If so, breast pumps will definitely be of great use to you.

I returned to work after I had my #1 so I had to pump regularly to maintain supply.

Whereas for #2, I quitted my job after his arrival.
I used the pumps only for the first week but stopped thereafter as I prefer direct latch on.

I nursed #1 & #2 till they were 17 months & 20 months respectively into my 2nd trimester of pregnancy.

They kinda self-weaned as there was a change in the taste of BM & drop in supply though I would very much like to tandem nurse.

Yo Butter8,

The pump you referring to is the Avent IQ UNO. juz launch this year @ 279sgd (which is very expensive when compared to the mini electric from medela). I bought the AVENT ISIS Manual pump initially, but, when i see my frens all complain that manual pumping with ISIS is effective but tiring, and at the same time noted that there was also a mummy who wants to sell off the electrical part & battery pack of her IQ UNO, i pounced on it @100sgd as i would like the flexibility to accomodate me to return to work and still express my breast milk ( and maybe save my tired hands?)

The electrical portion can be fitted on the ISIS, but the valve inside isn't the same.. so you muz get the IQ UNO valve when using the electrical head and/or battery pack...

I tried it out liaoz.. but now no milk lah.. juz to feel the suction.. the noise level is very quiet and it has memory function to remember the last few pumping rythmn..

White lady,

It isn't a must to get a breast pump, but some mummies find it hard to latch on babies initially, and there are babies who somehow never got patient enough to latch on correctly (too hungry??).. and a breast pump is useful if you have engorged breasts and can't nurse baby directly for some reasons like you are travelling without baby. I have girlfrens, whose babies kept crying for milk, until they no choice but to feed formula milk initially, and their babies juz dun latch on, no matter how they tried! so, they end up expressing lor..

hi noe ,

i think i wont be BF long term , maybe for the first month only , so not thinking of getting any pump

Jasmine ,

thank for ur info =)

coconut doesn't remove vernix. From what i learnt during the antenatal class, the only thing that can help remove vernix is by using a little bit of vegetable oil to remove it.

what i heard abt jaundice is that it will occur in 75 to 80% of newborn bbs (usually during day 3 or 4). seems like it's quite normal. in fact, the nurse jokingly said that it is due to the good food we eat nowsadays. Eat too much iron during pregnancy so bb can't break down the iron as the liver is still not very well-developed. She also teaches us how to check for jaundice. Put your finger at one cheek and press for abt 4 s. If there is a yellow imprint after a while, tendency is that bb has jaundice. Test again at 3 other areas (the other cheek, nose and forehead).

441111.png

jasmine,

oh thanks for the info... so maybe i can consider the avent iq uno then...

i got a silly qns;
after we express milk, we keep in fridge or freezer ya, then how we heat up to correct temp after that? ;) sotong mum here.

then if go back to work, say if i am using the 1x pump, if express one side, will the leaking be very much on the other side? how to manage, if i just one to get a single pump?

Hi Wanli, Chrys,
I finally know who is Wanli, but not chyrs.Hehe.

Wanli, does the contractions goes off after taking the pills? I still can feel the hardening, sometimes still with the cramps even though i had just taken the pills 2hrs ago and when I am lying down. I cant walk for long, probaby 10mins only, then i feel the pressure at my pelvic area. I guess bb's head is putting pressure on me. My next appt is nxt monday.

Hi Piyo,
Your stomach will be very tight and hard. And follows by menses cramp at the lower abdomen. Then it slowly goes off. That happens to me.

good morning...me feeling sick..sigh..wanna puke n not much appetite..think i am too heaty..i ask my mummy if i can drink chrystanmum and she say a little is ok..think i take a little coz i am reali too heaty n cant sleep at nite..
as for the coconut water..so when can we actually start drinking it then??

wow..looks like a few of us are experiencing braxton hicks...

i had my first crampy feeling yesterday...and tightening of my tummy....it just comes and goes...not regular...and does anyone feel like poo poo, though nothing comes out when u go to the toilet?

Hi Dino,
That's not what I experienced the night b4. The pian was the upper tummy and slowly covering the rest of the tummy. I did not notice the tightness though..

Hi Augbaby,
Try drinking barley it will cool you down.

Hi Sierra,
I felt like poo poo that night. 1st time went to toilet nothing comes out but after 1 hour plus, I did passed out...

Hi Dino,
Actually you should not walk or stand too long at this stage. Try to bedrest (on yr left). Me too, after walking few mins need to sit down for some rest. Sometimes I even can feel short sharp pain on my pelvic area like the baby want to come out. but doctor said my baby not engaged yet so probably is because of the baby causing the pressure only.

No, the contraction not going off for me after taking the pills but it is not so frequent and consistent anymore during my last check up. I can still feel the hardening and tightening(it is real hard, like I carry big stone in my tummy) on and off but seldom feel the cramp.

I saw yr CTG graph (because I went in the CTG room after you), that's why I know yr contraction really high and consistent. If you have Mrs wong childbirth book, you can actually look at the contraction page, the book show 2 different contractions, one is consistent and another one is not consistent.

During my MC last week, I only will walk when goto toilet or when having my meal. Most of the time I'm lying down, don't want to give pressure to the cervix. Dr said as long as yr baby reach 2kg then most probably no need put in NICU
. So, what u can do is rest rest rest and eat more, let's the baby gain more weight. You must also drink more water, not enough water may cause contraction as well.

By the way, have you pack yr hospital bag?

Hi Sierra,
Yah, not so sure is having braxton hicks or real contraction. but dr said if braxton hicks happen too early (before 37wk) and very consistent then still need to on medication, if not will lead to pre-term labour.

I don't feel poo poo lei, just feel not comfortable on the tummy.

After endless sleepless nites, I've finally managed to sleep thru' last nite...phew
Went for a prenatal massage at gold wellness therapeutic yday, bcos really cannot tahan the aches liao...The therapist, Diana was good, immediately after the massage all the knots I've been having were released. Although I find her a little too chatty, she's really nice and gave alot of advices and was able to recognize my problem areas during the massage...cool!

She told me the muscle at my hip area is very tight, with the massages it'll help loosen it and promote easier and shorter labor. Hope it really works, anyway left 2 more months only, so no harm doing...hee

hi butter,
if u keep ur breast milk in refrigerator, u only need to put it in a cup of warm water (not hot boiling water) or a warmer for about 10 mins. if it is kept in a freezer, must put it in refrigerator for 12 to 24 hours to thaw. After that, repeat the procedure as the one for milk kelp in refrigerator.

Fiona,
wah, go for massage.
so shiok. actually i also feel like going like. this week has been very tiring even though i din do much. back has been aching too. am also thinking of going for mani and pedi next wk.

Sry to bug into your thread.

I have some raspberry leaf tea (helps with easier delivery) for sale. Bought from MIM in May. Can't finish them as I'll be delivering in a few days time.

Left 4 packets. Each packet is gng for $4.50. Self collect at Woodlands MRT. Interested, pls pm me.

http://www.momsinmind.com.sg/rasptea.html

Hi Wanli,

Thanks for your info. I drink lots of water. I still go market and do my self-cooking at home for the past 2 days( else need to tabao as I am alone at home during the day). Probaby I need to cut down the walking n standing. I have not packed my hospital bag and wash baby clothes yet. Still not prepared to go labour. Dr wong says I may give birth btw wk35 to wk38k, definetly not full term. I just hope my bb kuai kuai inside, dun come out early. My CL is doing another confinement in Jul, I just hope she can help me if I pop end of jul.

i havent been posting in a while, but ive been reading
not much to add cos i dunno if its weird, but my pregnancy is so far symptomless, no contractions, sometimes a bit sleepless but just for a night or 2, no discomfort.. walking a lot still......

you gals all take care
im so excited that bb is coming soon. am still gung ho and trying to for natural delivery no epi ..

Hi Dino,

Hv been reading the postings and hey! we r in the same boat again leh! Varicose veins, groin pains, threatened preterm and now sama sama gana bedrest! Me now 32 wks+ bb was 1.9kg on Tues.

Yesterday nite, i tink i lost my mucuous plug and had some cramps at nite too. But contractions nt regular yet. I got a feeling like i might pop anytime tis week like that. really hope not cos' want to wait till 35 wks, safer.

with my daughter at home, quite hard for me to bedrest all day. At least try to sit, not stand or walk too much ... that's wat i've been doing.

U take care too... okay?

Hi jfong,
what do you mean when you said you lost your mucuous plug? How do it look like? You must take extra care and rest as much as possible.

apart from Golden wellness, is there any other pre-natal massage that any have tried?

Hi Dino & jfong,
Hope you too are doing well
, at least hold baby > 35 wks because at that time baby lung consider mature.

Just want to cheer u up
,I just heard my colleague said last time she suffer from threatened pre-term as well (with contraction and dilation), but with enough bed rest, she able to hold until 37wk. She said bed rest is crucial.

Dino, I also alone at home when I was on MC last wk. but I bought quite alot of food put in fridge, like milk and bread for breakfast. At night will normally ask my husband help to wash/cut the vege or fish so that I can put all inside into slow cooker or rice cooker to make porridge. Just make simple and healthy lunch then will able to reduce the time for standing too long.

Erin,
yah...the massage very shiok! Hiak hiak hiak... can really make your body feel fresher & lighter.
I also drink crysanthemum tea leh, I even take sugar cane drink bcos I was told it is safe, not too cooling...else when I become too heaty, the edge of my tongue & gum becomes swollen & painful de..

Dino and Jfong,
Best wishes to you both...even if preterm labor, hope everything will be smooth and turn out really well for both mother & baby!! Take care ladies!

white lady,
i tik eating durians did helped my 1st boy n i probably kenna GD too but my 1st gynae didnt check me thoroughly.

noe,
wow! u breastfed 4 so long for both boys. i only managed 14mths for my 1st boy n had 2 stop bcos i was preggie. my present gynae advised me 2 stop cos i delivered my 1st boy at 35wks+ n he feared tat BFg may bring abt early contractions while i was in my 1st trimester. so bo pian...stopped BFg. if not, i'm sure i'll still continue.

i admire u for being able 2 accept e fact tat u hv 3boys. i dun tik i can cos i badly want a girl. i understand tat it's god's blessing for watever the sex of our bbs but i also prefer 2 stop at 2 for financial reasons. me SAHM so dun 1 my husband 2 b slogging until 60+ just for our kids (if i hv 3) and retirement funding.

dino,
wow! ur pain threshold is also very high. can 'dong' contractions til 60+. i cant even bear anything >40+.

do rest a lot n dun move around at all. talk 2 ur bb too. ask ur bb 2 hold til 37-38wks if possible.

wat wanli did is right. u must really lie on bed or b horizontal, only move abt when u need 2 use e toilet or have ur meals. my GF faced preterm labour when her bb is barely 6mths. she was getting contractions e min she stands up 2 move around so a lot of bedrest for her. she managed 2 hold e bb til 37wks.

butter8,
if u use a single pump, b prepared tat ur other breast will definitely leak while u pump. for me, when i used a single pump, i would hold a glass bottle on the other breast 2 store e dripping BM - 2 me, every drop counts so i dun 1 2 waste. can u imagine e scenario? it sure is troublesome but if u dun mind it, use tis method.

i heard my GF talk abt using breast shells 2 hold e BM. i've seen a breast shell but not sure how much BM it can hold. 2 me, still leh chey cos after the BM is collected in e breast shell, i still need 2 pour e BM into a container (breastmilk bag, glass bottle, milk bottle - watever u'll b using 2 store ur EBM). then u also need 2 wash & sterilise ur breast shell cos BM can b oily, depending on ur food intake.

as for warming up ur EBM...if u store it in e fridge section (assuming u'll use it within e next 48hrs), u can warm it up wif hot water but MAKE SURE u dun warm it up 2 too hot cos EBM is in fact consumed at room temp. if u store it in e freezer section, u need 2 bring it out 2 thaw it 1st then warm it up wif hot water.

for me, i'll move EBM fr freezer section 2 fridge section when i need 2 use e supply. watever EBM i express, i put them straight into e freezer section cos i had sufficient supply for my boy then.

GIVING BIRTH >35WKS

need not b frightened if u pop at >35wks or even earlier. as long as ur bb is healthy, there's really no harm.

i popped at 35wks+ and it came as a HUGE surprise for me. no contractions, no pressing pressure at cervix, nothing...all i had was spotting on a fri nite, water bag burst on the next sat morn n i popped on sun evening. hospital bag not packed, bb clothing not washed, bb cot not even here. NOTHING was in place. husband n i definitely was caught off guard but we were thankful tat i delivered 2 a healthy 2.8kg bb boy. while in the waiting room (next 2 delivery suites), i didnt even know tat if my bb's weight is <2kg, my boy may need 2 b in NICU (my gynae dun advised me of my 1st boy's weight at all). i didnt know all these, until e midwives told me. i also only started 2 worry when i was lying on e bed on the sat nite.

the morning b4 i popped, i asked abt my bb's weight n my gynae using her hands, touched my belly n said, "abt 2.8-3kg". we dunno if she's accurate but we could only based on her info 2 hope tat my bb wont go 2 NICU.

of course i received jabs 2 prepare my bb's lungs (gynae &amp; midwives all said tat at 35wks+, bb's lungs may not be fully ready for outside world). of course my son received more checks fr e PD cos he's labelled as a premmie. it was definitely heartaching 2 c e nurses &amp; PD calling my son a premmie. when i 1st laid eyes on him n seeing him all e time in e hospital, he didnt seem like a premmie 2 husband n i. 2 play safe, we followed PD's instructions n let them do all the necessary checks.

wif medical science being so advanced, dun panic even if u do pop <35wks+. i know of a mummy (her nick in tis forum is PCS and her girl is Kiera) fr the Yr End 2004 thread. she gave birth at 32wks, bb girl is abt 1.8kg, spent 1 day in NICU n mother &amp; daughter was discharged a few days later. Now Kiera is abt 21mths, weighs abt 10kg+, 82cm (all of gd measurements = healthy) n is a beautiful, active, cheeky girl.

the most impt thing is stay strong, let ur gynae or PD make the best medical decisions for u &amp; ur bb &amp; accept the fact tat mayb ur bb really 1 2 come out earlier 2 c daddy &amp; mummy.

Hi White Lady,
Alternatively, you may like to purchase 2nd hand pumps or borrow from friends. The initial stage of breastfeeding ain't easy. It got quite a number of my friends depressed.

Some mummies are blessed with mild engorgement while some simply have great amount of milk &amp; rocky boobs!
They hurt alot okay ...
kao_dizzy.gif

On this note, please watch for post natal blues as it usually kicks in on 3rd/4th day when the milk's in &amp; when we are home and on our own.
It's best if dh is aware too so that he (as well as other family members) understand some of the mood swings you could be in.

Hi Kelly,
Thanks for sharing
. I believe it is really shock and surprise when the baby popped without any sign in advance.

Hi Noe &amp; Kelly,
Will you carry yr dual pump to office? I just curious will dual pump too big or troublesome to bring it to office everyday?

wanli,
i carry my dual pump 2 work when i was working part-time. i using ameda n carry everything in a small backpack. quite compact.
my GF uses the Medela PIS n it comes wif a backpack. her backpack is more bulkier than my backpack

<blockquote><hr size=0><!-quote-!><font size=1>quote:</font>

Noe,
wow! u breastfed 4 so long for both boys. i only managed 14mths for my 1st boy n had 2 stop bcos i was preggie. my present gynae advised me 2 stop cos i delivered my 1st boy at 35wks+ n he feared tat BFg may bring abt early contractions while i was in my 1st trimester. so bo pian...stopped BFg. if not, i'm sure i'll still continue.

i admire u for being able 2 accept e fact tat u hv 3boys. i dun tik i can cos i badly want a girl. i understand tat it's god's blessing for watever the sex of our bbs but i also prefer 2 stop at 2 for financial reasons. me SAHM so dun 1 my husband 2 b slogging until 60+ just for our kids (if i hv 3) and retirement funding.<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>

Kudos Kelly!

14 months ain't a short period too. You are wonderful mother!

I understand what you mean. My gynae wanted me to stop when I was preggy with #2 so silly me did so though I delivered #1 at 38 weeks. Now that he has went on further studies/research, I am with his wife who's a mother of 3 boys herself. She has no problem with me breastfeeding till delivery.

kao_smile2.gif
Ke ke ke ... Of course, only thing is that the milk supply dipped though occasionally #2 still wants to nurse.

Ha ha ... No need for admiration lah girl ... I am just taking one day at a time (else I would have gone nuts by now)
kao_dizzy.gif

Heh heh ... Yes yes. Having a girl will be a bonus. Likewise, I am a SAHM too so we will definitely stop at 3 for financial reasons as I don't foresee myself returning to full time work the next few years now that I have all boys. (I have been homeschooling so I have a set of beliefs when comes to raising up boys. If oppourtunity allows, we can always talk more).

If not, I actually wanted 4 kids.

<blockquote><hr size=0><!-quote-!><font size=1>quote:</font>

Hi Noe &amp; Kelly, Will you carry yr dual pump to office? I just curious will dual pump too big or troublesome to bring it to office everyday?<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
Hi Wanli,
4 years ago, dual pumps costed a lot more compared to now. Hee hee ... So I took only a manual pump to work. Workplace not breastfeeding friendly then either so I was pumping in the Ladies.

Imagine the bah woo I had to enjoy if one of my colleagues was bombing!
kao_dizzy.gif

Yeah, as Kelly has shared, it's not that bulky nowadays. You got a refrigerator at work place?

got a qn - it is advised that we lie on our left while we sleep.
But each time i lie on my left, baby kicks and moves alot leaving me sleepless.
Then i would switch to my right, and baby doesnt move at all.

Anyone experience this as well?

wanli : i'll let my gynae knw and see if i need any medication....

piyo: i tried the pre-natal massage at house of javanese massage...think the person at the river valley branch was better....the other time i did it at orchard branch...it was bad service and the lady wasn't good at all...

babyboy: from what i know, sleeping on the right decreases the oxygen flow to the baby...that's y it's recommended that we sleep on the left. U might wanna try putting a small pillow under your tummy and see if your baby still kicks a lot?

Hi Noe &amp; Kelly,
You 2 really my idol
. Hope I can persist on breasfeeding as 2 of u. Yah, my office got refrigerator. Just want to know after you put the EBM into freezer, is that mean we need to maintain the EBM in freezing condition from office back home? If not we can not put it back to the freezer section when reach home right?

HI Noe,
When is yr birthday? My birthday is also end of this mth :p, but at that time I'm only 35wk, so I still hope my baby stay inside longer.

Hi Wanli,
Just take one step at a time. That's what I did.
The initial stages of breastfeeding is not easy hor as much as I would love to say otherwise. So please do find a support in this area prior hand.

For more information on storing &amp; transporting milk, you may like to visit the following website:
http://www.askdrsears.com/html/2/T026900.asp#T026901

By the way, I am one of those parents who are for Attachment Parenting.

Oh Wanli,
My birthday falls on 1 August.

Hee ... #3's EDD on 28 August which is my #2's birthday.

Yes yes ... Our babies will be out in due time. No rush. No rush.
I am just playing with the thought as the likelyhood of being dilated already is high as I had experienced with the past 2 pregnancies.
kao_smile2.gif

When's your EDD?

I am having difficulties sleeping on my left side suddenly and even wif using a small pillow under my tummy..sigh..how? is it reali bad to sleep on our right or on our back..coz it is reali uncomfy to sleep on my left side now..how..

hi augbaby,

Juz thinking, will it help if u swap sleeping place with ur hubby? R u sleeping on the left or right side of the bed?
Coz if u're sleeping on right side of the bed at least when u sleep on the left, u can c ur hubby and more room for u to move ur hands n legs.

morning ladies,
me on MC today, as my back really aches until i woke up this morning and cry, cos i can't turn around at all..

the pain travels up the entire spine.. sigh.. now, what remedy i have?

Fiona,
How much is the massage?

hi ningyo,
me sleeping on the left side of the bed...there is eno room for the both of us actually coz our bed is actually king side..but that lately i am not comfy sleeping on my left side..sigh..last time still ok...it is only recently..dun noe y leh...