(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

hi pups,
thanks. but my appt always in the evening. by the time, i finish seeing my doc, only want to have my dinner. too late to visit the wards then. perhaps will take a look closer to the date.

Hi erin00, yeap, delivery suite is next to where we did our detailed scan @ Level 2. Not sure what KK will provide for FREE, but heard nothing much. So, don't expect too much and bring your own.

Hi pupsandcups, where is the newborn room?

thx jasmine,
guess i gotta standby some den. seems like e list of things to buy gets longer.
and i starting to tik, with all the money spend on the hardware ( pumps, cot, bb seat.. etc), must hv another child later so can utilise fully n make money spent more worth it. he.. he..

hi catherine,
i saw e machine previoulsy in a fair too. but it's also not so simple to use. got to change setting for different stage of milk powder so dunno whether ur MIL find this easier. if she not used to machine, may not be useful to her. mayb u shd get more details on the use first.
oso, the sterilizing side is too small n need to get another sterilizer as well.
juz my tots.

cj,
my hs got dogs which i scare tat the fur might go into the milk when my mil making it. And she very blur n forgetful person. She doesn't even know hw to cook, so i find tat the machine she just need to press as instructed to her.

oic. guess u shd oso bring ur MIL along during demo. btw, u gonna try breasfeeding? initialy, we were oso amazed by dis machine but later remember dat i gonna try BF. if so den dun need to buy so early mah.

hi white lady,
doc said BB is in normal weight range.

As for myself, I've gained around 11Kg so far, so afraid I'll put on excess during this last trimester... :p

catherine,
my hb saw it at last fair and wanted to get it hehehe.. but i feel its so big and bulky, my kitchen soo small no place to put... also wanna save $ so i dun encourage him to buy...

Disposable panties,
I got 1 pack maternity type from Watsons too, and 2 pack from Kiddy palace... i saw one a bit more ex, can wash... but i think that defeat purpose of use n throw rite :p hehehe

maternity pads,
I had gotten the nowing type by kotex at NTUC and 1 pack of nite type, was hoping dun need to get to many maternity, but heard from a friend that during 1st week, when down there a bit sore, she prefer use maternity cuz softer and cushiony... after that can switch to normal when healed. just some feedback...

hi bottle

there is a newborn room in each ward, so i jus walk ard n look at the babies, v sweet, all wrapped up in the blue or pink. i can't wait

hi all mummies ,

i want to let my BB gain more weight , so is it that i have to eat more durains and beef ? and for beef , must be steak or beef burger also can ?

Just visited gynea today, my appt should be tomorrow but yesterday mid-night suddenly tummy pain until i wake up from sleep, can see cold sweat from my head and totally can not move my body at all... so frighten thot my baby going to come out :p.... lucky the pain going off after half an hr, called the TMC hotline and doctor asked me to visit her today.

Today doctor did the varginal check to see whether I have dilation or not, lucky no dilation......so we think should be muscle pain instead of contraction. but to be safe she put me on CTG monitor....I totally can not believe my eyes...I got mild contraction and actually quite consistent as well
..... saw the max. figure is 50+ but i got no feeling at all. SO now got to on medication and MC rest at home for few days.

Hope my baby not coming out so early because now only 32 weeks and 1.8kg only.

Any mummies know what is the contraction figure during labour?

Hi Wanli,
Do take care n get lotsa bed rest then..dun walk abt too much...is this the first time u r experiencing such tummy pain?

Chrys,
how many pieces r there in a pack for Dr P maternity that u bought?

Hi augbaby,
Thanks. I did experience some pain on and off these 2 mths but will definitely go off after few mins. Yesterday night one pain for half an hr and is much more painful then the normal one......but dr said lucky discover early then we can eat medicine to control it, if not may cause pre-term labour.

white lady,
I do take durians but only occasionally. But I drink lots of milk, low fat one(straight from the fridge...yummy!) bcos it kinda help me with my really bad reflux. I wonder whether that helps with the BB weight gain? But I have to profess that I'm not a meat lover...

Wanli,
Do rest more in bed for the time being, just walk around in the house when necessary, and don't carry any heavy stuff hor...take care!

Saw this website which said mommies may experience Braxton-Hicks contraction during the 8th month, which seems to serve the purpose of "exercising" the uterus so it is toned up and ready for the big day...

http://www.verybestbaby.com/content/article.asp?section=pr&id=2001104165118376415757174154

how do we know if we r experiencing preterm contractions etc? Kind of worried abt premature babies and how do we differentiate if we r getting braxton hicks or early contractions that we must inform our doc straightaway? kind of worried...

wanli, take good care of urself and bb ok! try to stay on bed if really tired, if not, walking abt in the hse is the safest exercise for u now, i think...

i experience heartburn after every dinner lately... very xin ku~~

wah.. Wanli,

Muz take care! keep us updated.. do absominal breathing and try to relax.. might help to fend off such contractions.. take a shower supposed to help also?

Hi Wanli,

Do take care and rest more. Luckily, you are being check for the contraction. Is the V check very painful? Does dr wong have the CTG machine in her room?

check with all mummies ,

is sleeping very important to pregnant ladies ? i mean , do we have to sleep early ? if we sleep late , will harm our BB ?

wanli,
u r amazing! ur contraction hits 50+ n u got no feeling. for my 1st pregnancy, when i was on e delivery bed, my contraction hit 50+, i was already squirming in pain, holding onto e bedrail and/or squeezing my husband's hands. 2 me, it's FREAKING painful. i wasnt using epi then n i couldnt even bear e pain.

e midwife told me tat contractions hit abt 110-120 (some mummies even hit 130). u shld hv seen my face...i tik it turned white. just then my gynae popped by n insisted i use epi. i had 2 use epi cos my gynae said i cant relax wif e contractions. since i cant relax, i cant dilate.

u rest well n dun worry. talk 2 ur bb 2 pop in jul n not so soon.

wanli,
better get more bed rest and everything go slow. getting nervous after hearing ur story. i tik all of us better seriously practise our breathing techniques. i din practise at all after the antenal class. always tik there's still plenty of time.

hi ladies...just an update...i went for my checkup yesterday...babies doing ok...now 1.2kg and 1.4kg each at wk 29.5...they are in a breech position, so hopefully they will turn in time to come

Oh wanli,
pls take care.. rest, rest and rest...

augbaby,
i got to see the packaging then tell u tmr ok..

Hi Kelly,
Did u receive my PM regarding ameda breast pump? Hope to get ur advice..

Btw, can u give me the contact no. of the Ameda pump agent? Remember u gave before, but diff to find from archive.. realise it's selling at $350 at MIM.

Remember we suggested (much much long time ago) to buy the Ameda Lactaline Pump together so as to get a bulk purchase discount? Last time we mentioned dun buy too early but wait till 3rd tri then buy, perhaps can buy together to get some saving? Any mummies still interested? As i am thinking of contacting the agent asking for price.

Hi Wanli,
Read about your contractions... do rest well at home and don't forget your medications. They help alot in easing the pain...

Hi Jas,
Let me know if you still waana have the CL k?

Hi Chrys,
I am interested in getting the pump but thought of getting it later after delivery as I wanna try out my friend's to see if it suits me....

morning mommies!! something to share with u!

Exercises to Help You Prepare for Childbirth
Get ready for the big day with four simple exercises.

Get your body ready for childbirth with the following exercises from the Mayo Clinic. Check with your doctor to make sure you don't have any limitations before you attempt any of these exercises.

* Tailor Sitting *
What is it? This is an exercise that strengthens and stretches muscles in your back, thighs, and pelvis, and improves your posture. It also keeps your pelvic joints flexible, improves blood flow to your lower body, and eases delivery.

- How do I do it? Sit on the floor with your back straight in the "butterfly position" (the bottoms of your feet together and your knees dropped comfortably). As you press both knees gently toward the floor using your elbows, you should feel a stretch in your inner thighs. Don't bounce your knees up and down rapidly. If you find it difficult at first to keep your back straight, use a wall to support your back. Hold the position for 10 or 15 seconds and repeat the stretch five or 10 times.

You'll find this exercise is not difficult to do, and it feels great. Your body is more flexible during pregnancy, and this exercise capitalizes on your newfound flexibility.

* Kegel exercises *
What is it? The pelvic floor muscles help support the pelvic organs: the uterus, bladder, and bowels. If you tone them you'll ease many discomforts of late pregnancy such as hemorrhoids and leakage of urine.

- How do I do it? Try to stop the flow of urine when you are sitting on the toilet without tightening your abdominal, buttock, or thigh muscles. When you're able to successfully start and stop urinating, or you feel the vaginal muscle contract, you are using your pelvic floor muscle, the muscle you should be contracting during Kegel exercises.

You can do Kegel exercises two ways: either by holding or quickly contracting the pelvic floor muscle. To do slow Kegels, contract the pelvic floor muscle and hold for three to 10 seconds. Then relax and repeat up to 10 times. To do fast Kegels, quickly contract and relax your pelvic floor muscle 25 to 50 times. Relax for 5 seconds and repeat the set up to four times.

* Squatting *
What is it? Squatting is helpful during labor because it opens the pelvic outlet an extra quarter to half inch, allowing more room for the baby to descend. But squatting is tiring, so you should practice it frequently during pregnancy to strengthen the muscles needed.

- How do I do it? An exercise called a wall slide is especially helpful. Stand with your back straight against a wall, place your feet shoulder width apart and about six inches from the wall, and keep your arms relaxed at your sides. Slowly and gently slide down the wall to a squatting position (keeping your back straight) until your thighs are parallel to the floor. Hold the position for five to 10 seconds, slowly slide back to a standing position. Repeat five or 10 times.

* Pelvic tilt *
What is it? Pelvic tilts strengthen abdominal muscles, help relieve backache during pregnancy and labor, and ease delivery. This exercise can also improve the flexibility of your back, and ward off back pain.

- How do I do it? You can do pelvic tilts in various positions, but down on your hands and knees is the easiest way to learn it. Get comfortably on your hands and knees, keeping your head in line with your back. Pull in your stomach and arch your back upward. Hold this position for several seconds. Then relax your stomach and back, keeping your back flat and not allowing your stomach to sag. Repeat this exercise three to five times. Gradually work your way up to 10 repetitions.

These exercises can yield great benefits with minimal effort. The exercises require no special equipment except comfortable clothes, and a little space to do them.

Thanks, I will rest well these few days.

Hi Dino,
The V-check not pain at all, Dr wong is very gentle and because is female gynea that's why not that embarrase at least. :p She said during labour may need to go through few times of V-check in order to check the dilation. The CTG machine is at next door, the room just opposite the toilet. Anyway, need extra charge for doing the CTG. I paid $33 for that. Next visit still need todo one more time to make sure no more contraction.

Hi Kelly,
50+ consider high ah? ... I really got no feeling at all. but I have no confident I can tahan until 120, because that night I also pain until my face turn white and cold sweat dropping from my head, the pain is really terrible which I never encountered before. hahhha, I already prepare to take epi :p.

hi wanli,
just heard abt wat happened. try to rest more and remember to take ur medicine.

hi leobbsmom,
thanks. actually taught in antenatal class but din really practise. just started the kegels. hopefully can still be of help.

to add on, for tailor sitting, an easier method taught is to straddle a chair for abt 15 mins a day.

hi wanli
take care, and stay positive, everything will turn out ok

chrys,
am keen on bulk purchase ameda, keep me posted. read here n there abt ameda vs medela, still not sure which is better, q confused, but i think ameda sounds ok ..

Hi Piyo,

Its ok liaoz, we decide not to go ahead with a CL.. will be having the maid over daily and my grandma & MIL & mum will teach the maid how to cook confinement food for me..

Just talked with Kelly in the phone.. about Ameda pump and others.. oh dear, she is sick.. and can still bring his son out..

Regarding Ameda pump, the agent can offer $285 if got 10 and above orders. Can refer to this thread for the contact. According to Kelly, can try to ask/neg with agent to send the pump over after we deliver so that the warranty will only start from then onwards.

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/270192/434454.html?1149611500

wanli,
What's v-check actually? Checking using machine or fingers/ hand? cannot imagine that.. As i remember Dr wong mentioned before she uses finger/hand to check how much we dilate when we in delivery room.
Btw, is the pain u had that night similar to menses cramp?

I also din practise the breathing exercise.. dunno still can remember or not.. jialat.. :p

Share something i read from another thread.

How to help your baby into an anterior position

There is a lot of talk nowadays about how to get the baby to enter the pelvis in an anterior rather than a posterior position. This is called 'optimal foetal positioning'. You can encourage your baby to take up an anterior position by making sure that your knees are always lower than your hips:
Sit on a cushion in your car to lift your bottom up
Check that your favourite chair doesn't make your bottom go down and your knees come up
Take regular breaks and move around if your job involves a lot of sitting
Watch television on all fours for ten minutes every day
Scrub all your floors and skirting boards our grannies used to say that washing the kitchen floor was a good way of preparing for labour. And they were right! When you are on all fours, the back of your baby's head swings to the front of your abdomen.
Incidentally, you don't have to worry about getting your baby into position when you're in bed. When you're lying horizontally, your baby is not being pushed down into your pelvis. It's when you're upright that he'll enter the pelvis either in an anterior or a posterior position.

Getting ready for labour

If you are expecting your first baby, you should start to adopt the lifestyle described in the previous section at around 35 weeks of pregnancy. This is when your baby sinks down into your pelvis, and this is the time to get his position right. If you are expecting your second baby, even though the baby won't engage in your pelvis until later, it's still wise to try to keep his back facing the front of your tummy from about 35 weeks.
Sometimes women have a lot of niggly pains for several days before labour really starts. These can be very exhausting. However, the pains might well be due to the fact that your baby is trying to turn from a posterior position into an anterior. The best way to cope is to try and get as much rest as possible during the night, and during the day to remain upright and active, leaning forwards during the pains. Eat and drink regularly to keep up your strength. And don't despair. Nature is getting your baby into the best position for birth.

Hi Wanli,
I didn't know that we are charged for using the CTG monitor. What medicine did Dr wong prescribe? When is your nxt appt? Is the pain like menses cramp? I do get menses cramp and pelvic pain very frequently nowadays.

Hi wanli, do take care yourself and rest well. How does your gynae do the V-check, just wondering and wanna prepare myself. :p

Any website where I can check the details for Ameda pump? So far I only did some research for Avent and Medela pump. Looks like Ameda pump is much more ex than the rest.

Hi white lady,

Don take too much durian. NOT ONI heaty also true high sugar not good for us. AND bb come out also heaty too.

Try some wheat bread n high calcium cheese. If u ok can eat those OATS wit milk. V good for bb n our health.

Beef if u can cook buy from cold storage more fresh. Just stir fry wit some garlic, onion, green & red pepper. IF u like steak also can.
Sometime i didnt realli cook so i jus eat double cheese burger hehehe but once awhile only for burgers.

Hey mommies, what kind of parents will you be?
The same qualities that made you fall for each other may suggest the type of parents you'll be. Are you affectionate or reserved? Spontaneous or practical? These traits will help determine your parenting style.

Watch how your husband behaves with other children to get a sense of how he'll respond to yours. But don't worry if he seems less than infatuated with your best friend's 2-year-old; chances are, the sight of his own baby (who is, of course, more brilliant and beautiful than all other children put together) will reduce him to mush.

Let's find out what kind of dad will he be?

http://www.americanbaby.com/ab/quiz.jhtml?quizId=/templatedata/ab/quiz/data/35.xml&catref=cat1880249&event=event9&DPSLogout=true&_requestid=238541&_requestid=238541

chrys,
nice chatting wif u on e phone.
me bo pian...son kept fussing 2 go out since his daddy left 4 work so no choice, brought him down 2 walk around.

wanli,
50+ is high 4 me! ur pain tolerance limit is quite gd. me absolutely no limit at all.

Hi piyo, Medela mini electric pump only 100+, where as for Ameda one, $285 if 10 orders & abv. Better to check out the exact model/functions for the Ameda pump first.

Btw, what is the PIS stand for?

bottle,
chrys is rt. u cant compare a single pump wif a dual pump. it's really like comparing apples & oranges.

PIS means Pump In Style

Oh sorry, didn't know that the Ameda is dual pump. Thanks for the link.

Do you all know if Ameda selling single electric pump?

How's you all find the Medela mini electric single pump?

bottle,
i bought the medela single electric pump but haven try yet..so dun noe how it is..comments by my friends r that it is gd lor..so i buy when there is a promo..hope it is gd too..