(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

piyo,
not too sure though but think shd be ok for bb. gynae did advise not to do any chemical treatment during 1st 6 months after delivery cos we will most prob suffer from hair loss due to hormone changes.

anyway, i coloured and permed my hair during my 1st trimester as i din know I was preggie. was so worried then but gynae said research was not sufficient to confirm that dyes can cause foetal defects so not to worry. Hope this helps.

but when we breastfeed, we may need to do it every 2-3hourly, so if we consume tonic or wine, how to wait for 4-6 hours for the wine to dissolve?

thks for the info cynthia

i have gained abt 6kg, originally abt 46kg and 161cm .. hope its not too much ..

ooh i wanna watch that show on discovery, wat is it called? i chk if have repeats.

anyone got tips on the main meals foods during confinement? wan to propose menu for the maid to prepare.

piyo,
me n gabe was sick last wk so didnt go out n do much. i did read e postings in e thread but too tired 2 respond.
we feeling betta now so have been going out. 2day, wanted 2 go out but dunno where 2 go.
gabe was by assisted natural delivery.

butter8, pups
ya, my previous gynae said tat i shld go 4 c-sect if bb is >3.5kg. she said i cant push out my bb wif my small frame.

Hi Piyo,

That is y after we breastfeed her, pump e excess n sufficient for another 1-2feed.
Normally during day time we also try to pump out as much as we can. So try to reserve.

From e past experience i had, my gal she cant latch properly & discouragement for IL, i pump out.. almost every 1-2hr once.. so its more than sufficent.

Another way is try to feed her formula milk.

Hi kelly,
Recently my frd gave birth n her body frame also small n she natural birth. Her son weigh 3.55kg.
I think most gynae will judge our pelvic & hip size n decide advise to us if natural birth or csect.

Hi pupsandcups,
For e 1st 10days we are not allow to take eggs n chicken cos it may do harm to our wounds.
Try get her to buy Pork lean meat, fishes, beef if u can eat, sea cucumber,Pork kidney is ok bt not too much. Taking too much pork kidney may have side effect.

Vege like: asparagus, carrot, bb corns, eggplants, snow peas..

For increase of breastmilk, one of e best i heard is green papaya soup wit fish.

I heard we cant take broccoli when BF bb.. cant rember wat will happen bt still not advisable to take.
If not sure wat to eat, i have bought a confinement book from popular, alot of variety.. can take as reference.

CONFINEMENT FOOD

based on wat i was told, we are supposed 2 avoid ginger if we r breastfeeding n if bb is suffering fr jaundice. for me, i didnt avoid ginger cos it's still essential in our foods. i just asked my MIL 2 cut down e amt of ginger in my food.

wine is fine cos when u cook it wif black chicken/chicken for 4-6hrs, e alcohol content would have "disappeared". i myself took a fair bit of such soups when i did confinement 4 my 1st boy. i hv a GF who sapu 7bottles of DOM during confinement. she drinks such soups every other day n her son is doing very well.

my mum told me 2 avoid liver cos she said it reduces ur BM supply so i didnt eat liver during confinement. me firm believer in BFg so very steadfast in wat i consume in terms of food & liquids.

after my experience wif BFg my 1st boy, all i can say is everyone is different when it comes 2 producing BM. e technique 2 ensure lotsa BM is 2 latch as much & often as possible (lactation consultants will tell u e same thing) n also consume e right kinda food (fish, fluids, supplements if necessary).

1) some women just hv tons of BM. they need not even latch as much/often as possible, need not do anything special such as take fernugreek, drink lotsa water/fluids, eat special foods like papaya fish soup, etc. they can just pump out lotsa EBM.
2) some women just need 2 work on it by doing all e stuff - latch, take fernugreek, drink lotsa water/fluids, eat special foods, etc.
3) some women is a combination - got e supply but need 2 work on it.

i belong 2 e 2nd group, need latch as much/often as possible n need 2 eat/drink lotsa stuff.

thks for the tips cynthia and kelly,

vvv useful to me already! i tried to look for confinement food book but couldn't find, will try popular, wat is the name of the book?

me definitely hope to BF baby full time, especially since i won be going back, am hopeful i can do it for bb for at least a year

juz to share, i have 2 colleagues whose babies r about 4.1kg+ when delivered.

1 of them still can have natural delivery.

The other was a c-section coz her baby's skull is too big n so gynae advise her to have c-section.

So probably as long as baby's skull is not too big, still got chance to have natural delivery

pupsncups,
i oso received some of the 'menu' from those delivery co... maybe can 'steal' some ideas from them for confinement dishes
hehehe

ningyo,
4.1kg - wowo so big? thats considered big bb ya?

Have some of your bb turn upside down? my friend who had a gal had a bb turn just b4 27 weeks, rather early rite?

Hi Pupsandcups,

BOOK NAME : Recipes for Pregnancy & Confinement.
BY : The Best of Patsie Cheong.
PRICE: $14.90

Inside contain chinese & english language.

thk u cynthia!
so happy!
cos my maid filipino can read v well, so i can ask her to read the book. then my mom can go and buy the food stuff.

heehee i cant wait to get my hands on the book.

zzzz.. me so sleepy these days its not funny, like can doze off in office

Hi Kelly,
Glad to hear both of you are getting well soon!Thanks for the tips!Can I know what pump are you using? is it necessary to bring pump to hospital when we birth?

Hi CT,
So does that mean that after each feed, we should pump out the excess till both breasts are emptied? and after which store the expressed milk?

I heard brocolli, cabbage and onions should be avoided as it promotes wind in us which will pass to baby and baby may turn colicky?

butter8, my bb has gone head-down liao, @ week 28. my gynae told me tat during my appt last fri. but she did mention tat this is not fixed, coz bb might turn head-up again anytime.

she mentioned tat it's only fixed when bb gone head-down INTO the pelvis.

Hey gals,
jus wanna check wif u all ah..do u all still go watch movies lately? Coz i am thinking of watching x-men 2 and somepp says cant watch this kind of shows coz of the characters in the show. I have only heard that we cant watch frightening or scary movies coz not good to get frighten..can all of u pls tell me yr opinions...thanks lot..

hi catherine,
ya i know can watch movie. But how ant the selection of movies? Me also went to watch MI3 as well as Da Vinci Code but how abt X-Men 3??

X-men why not? you can watch MI3 da vinci code, whats the different? MI3 also action shows.. X-men also similiar..wor

leobbsmom,
yup icic...i think my friends bb turn down never turn up again, so she was worried bb is uncomfortable. in the end when she delivered, the baby face a bit bloated :p

augbaby,
i was planning to watch xmen leh....

catherine,
i oso watched mi3, but guess its just noisy, but no scary faces etc...

yah lor, agreed with pups nothing wrong with watch x-men..x-men also not horror there might me fighting but not those too violent one is ok..
MI3 also have fighting scene..

actuall me sometimes get nightmares regardless of what silly ghost films r on tv kekeke :p

scare myself only, sleeping already so diff, now got strange dreams..

btw, i been going for pre-natal massage at House of traditional javanese massage... getting hooked.. sometimes i wish everyweek can go.. especially when i get neck or backache, really feel better after.
anyone know how many times we can go for massage? i asked a malay massage lady, she said about once a month or 2 x per week is ok. but dun do too long, 1 hour is max.

YES PIYO,

DRY hehehe... n store it. Don think have to put in fridge cos will be feeding bb in few hrs time lo.

WOW now talking abt movie..
Been ages i been to movie.. alot which i wanted to see... BUT think i will catch X MEN! I think still ok la.. as long not those japanese ghostly show will be fine yeah!

yep just don worry too much about everything and become paranoid. preggers must also enjoy life and b happy. my main gripe about watching movies, is i don get to stretch n my lower back aches at the end of a long movie.

butter8 - how much does it cost at house of traditional javanese massage?

Hi butter,
Yeah! but the baby dun turn out to look big lor when i see the pix. Even the big skull baby also dun look big to me. Probably heavy baby.

Hi augbaby,
Shd be ok to watch X-men. Juz catch it yest, only about 1.5hrs,very short movie, not much actions or fighting or suddenly loud noise.

haha! me going to watch Xmen tonight! who says cannot watch? I watched MI3 too and going to watch da vinci colde soon!
dun worry so much augbaby!

so fast babies' heads turn down liao ah? is it due to their normal movements inside? so can turn up again still?

Hi Butter,
I also went for pre natal massage last Sunday. The therapist mentioned if you have budget then go at least once a month till the 8th month 2x a month and >36weeks on a weekly basis.. good for baby especially.. not sure me going on such regular basis. What about you? how often you going?

thanks for the assurance...me also think it is ok to watch lah..but sometimes hor, u know when pp happen to juz say xmen3 can watch meh when u r preggy then u still to think...hee hee...great great then i shall enjoy my movie..:p Realise that that nowadays even when watching movie too long never move, got backaches too...
well my next doc appointment is next sat..cant wait to see my bb boy again..wonder how heavy he will weigh this round..:p

pupsncups
it cost $50 for 1 hr. if you buy $200 worth can get 1 session free.

piyo,
I am guilty of being indulgent on my massage these few weeks, i started 1/month, then now every 2 weeks, but like i mentioned, this weekend i not supposed to go, but i am tempted to just pop in at times :p

Hi Butter,
ya I also agree with pups that it's cheap! which branch are you having your massage? I have one nearer my house at River Valley... maybe can go try... which part of the body do they massage for you?

You must request and find out who is specialist in pre-natal. they even do confinement massage and go to your house. I recommend you try the pre-natal masseuse there is 2 at the branch I go, then you will find out who u think is better or u prefer :0

I stay in east so I go either katong or siglap...

They massage starting from feet, legs, lower back, shoulders and neck and also head... I think they will always check which week/month u r, then they also put some massage oil on tummy but no vigours massaging.

oh btw, i didnt sign to be a member... if u do, u get discounts - they will sure explain... but i do agree if u join, the discount price for 7 day confinement time massage is pretty reasonable, I think its $320 after discount.

Butter,
I understand from the massage therapist who did for me that they cannot massage the feet and tummy... and due to the toxins that is purged out while massaging, we cannot exceed 45 mins for massaging else they may be passed on to the baby via the umbilical cord... are you aware?

cynthia,
i think technically, you need a doc's report to say its ok for u to travel after your 6th month, i guess this is in case u go into premature labour on the flight. also, if bb is born overseas, then passport will be of that country, so its a preventive measure for pp who want their bb to hv a certain passport. my SQ stewardess fren share with me one

hope that helps

pups,
it's not true tat if u deliver overseas, ur bb's passport will b of tat country. i know australia & UK dun hv tis practice. so far i only know of US tat gives out citizenship (hence passport) 2 newborns. i dunno abt asian countries cos never come across anyone who travelled 2 such places when they almost due.

cynthia,
adding onto wat pups mentioned, it's also advisable 2 check wif e airline IF they allow u travel. i was told tat beyond 7mths preggie, ALL airlines dun allow u 2 travel unless u hv special reasons accompanied by a doc's report (husband away so u joining him, u going back home 2 deliver, etc)

i also just watched Xmen last nite. Watched MI3 2wks ago. When i was preggie wif #1, i even watched "Passion of Christ". Tat was bad cos e beating scenes were very gross n my son was moving nonstop when i was watching.

piyo,
i hv a GF who goes 2 tis malay lady at bedok reservior 2 do prenatal massage. The malay lady only charges $40-50 for massages >1hr. It's not true tat u cant do prenatal massage for >45mins. I tik it's just a gimmick by Rose fr GoldenWellness. Anyway, I came across a few mummies who commented tat Rose isnt tat gd when she did their postnatal massage.

bottle,
if u BF, cant drink DOM but DOM can go into ur food n make sure e alcohol content 'disappears' b4 u consume. IF u do consume any alcohol, dun BF or pump within e next 2-3hrs.

piyo,
me using ameda pump. wont be bringing e pump 2 hospital. no use cos BM supply dun kick in until e 5-7th day (of course some mummies' BM supply kick in earlier, say 3-4th day). will latch e bb nonstop n rely on FM at nite.

kelly

medela or ameda better? i cant decide between the 2, have heard good reviews on both. ameda ic cheaper n i heard more gentle, but is it effective?

kelly, if really got no BM supply, wat brand is good for NB? can u advise the price as well, if can? =)

if i wanna BF, then wont the FM go to waste?

Hi Kelly,
If in hospital at night feed FM, later when the milk comes in, won't the baby be confused?
Okie! post the contact when you have it k? Thanks!!!

I heard the Medela PIS is better than the Medela electric and Ameda but it's super ex! They say the PIS is much gentler and helps in supply. Have you had any friends who are using it? what are their reviews?

pups,
i tried Medela Single Pump so cant comment abt Medela PIS/dual pumps. I only can say tat for e kinda price I'm paying 4 Ameda, it's working well for me n i'm very pleased. I was told tat the Ameda works like e Medela PIS. e Medela PIS is abt $600+ while e Ameda is only abt $300.

leobbsmom,
u asking abt FM, is it?
i'll b giving my #2 enfalac A+ which was wat my 1st son took. i cant advise prices of FM cos i dun pay attention 2 them, i get husband 2 buy e brand i want.
As for e other FM, i tik they are all just as gd. It all depends wat u 1 2 give 2 ur bb. e more common FMs are Similac, Nan Ha and Mamil.

piyo,
after going thru e 1st time (giving birth and BFg in e hospital), i've learned 2 b smarter.

when i had #1, i insisted on TBFg n e nurse was pushing my son into my room every 1-2hrs (even in e middle of e nite). I couldnt get any rest n was very tired during e whole hospital stay.

tis time round, i'll do PBFg. BFg in e day but 2 tell e nurse 2 give FM in e nite so i can sleep well. i doubt my bb will b confused yet cos at such an young age (barely a few days old), infants still hv a tendency 2 suckle at any opportunity. Nipple confusion do kick in at a later stage, anytime after 3wks old. For my #1, nipple confusion only kicked in when he was abt 3mths old.

thks kelly, where to buy ameda? don see them selling much, and ameda only have one model issit?

erin00
the bag looks quite trendy compared to other diaper bags heehee. anyone seen backpack one before? i wan to buy backpack, then i can free my hands.

yay friday

morning ladies!
Today is National family Day! so we get to knock off at 5 today hehe!

hi pups,
there is a distributor who sells Ameda pump who delivers also...

hi kelly,
thanks! would mixing FM and BM at this early stage affect the stools?