(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

keke, Piyo, haven't prepare finish leh....still got plenty to shop for.. slowly lor.. otherwise all done liaoz.. no more fun.

Erin00,
the chest of drawers cost 169sgd @ Ikea in dark brown, with no handles. Nice design, but be careful, as the base is still of particle/fibreboard, so cannot handle too heavy stuff. Ikea also haven't members' price for a certain white changing table that can be converted to bookshelf later on, think 200+. Also got baby cots from 229 SGD onwards, 2 adjustable levels. The only thing is i don't like the base of the drawers.. think will sink if put too heavy stuff inside later on... but the children's furniture are cute!!

For cheaper children's clothings, even for NB, i went to toa payoh and noticed got at least 3 stores selling baby clothings. Newborn sizes comes in plain colours and selling for ~4 for 10 sgd..Available in 4 colors, in long/ short/ sleeveless tops (tie at the side or buttoned), with i love mum logos..! Also have made in china cloth diapers, diaper covers, maternity disposable panties.. etc..confirm is cheaper then kiddy palace & departmental stores.. They also have those airy sleeveless tops for kids when bigger in brands like flying wheel..as well as rompers @ ~3 for 10 sgd.

Piyo,
I couldn't locate that store opposite si ma lu guan yin temple last time.. was it right at the back?? cos we did see one store selling towels & some baby clothes at 1 corner of their store.. if that is the one, don't expect much, ladies, cos the designs are really not as cute.. but is good & economical for initial stage.

Avent milk bags is at 13.20 sgd at robinsons, still available yesterday afternoon lah..Pigeon steriliser was sold out! But it cost ~91 SGD if not robinson card holder? Kiddy palace sells it at 87 SGD with the FOC items also, for those who wants to buy this steriliser.

I heard that Avent milk bags are thinner & had previous complaints of leaks, that is why they moved towards the VIA cups system. However, I noticed that some mummies store their milk bags in freezers with old ice cream tubs at the bottom. This keep the milk bags in more or less upright positions. In any case, even if it leaks, just transfer to another bag lor.. still cheaper!

hi jasmine,
my family also going to bkk during june. any idea wat we can buy there besides disposable breast pads?

Hi Jasmine,
Me also slowly slowly buy then fun! Actually me waiting for the GSS then will reach the climax hahaha! I think the shop you located at the guna yin temple is the one. Yes it's really nothing fanciful. I went there to get basics for baby especially during the initial 1st 2 months where baby is at home most of the time. The blouses they sell are also with the "I love mom" tags and it's selling like 1 pac of 6 for $9 I think. I think the TP stores take the stock from them. I plan to get those design ones from other retail shops

Where are the shops located at TP? Perhaps I will drop by...

HI ladies,
Do u all have any idea whether pigeon or nuk bottles can put in the avent steriliser or not?? I am thinking to either buy pigeon steriliser and get the foc items includes 2 wide neck milk bottle and bottle cleaner) or to get pass down avent steriliser from sis-in-law and buy milk bottles only. In total I am thinking to get for baby 4 big (8oz) and 2 (4oz) bottles. Is is enough?? Cheong choon is charging $85 for the pigeon steriliser. Any suggestion??

hi piyo,
no lah, my parents and sisters going. actually, heard can still go if early june but hb dun want me to go.

i'm also slowly buying. waiting for GSS. hoping can save more then. now I have to buy 2 sets of steriliser, milk bottles, bedsheet sets cos have just decided that bb will be taken care by my parents after confinement. mil will help me with confinement instead.

Hi erin,
we actually plan to go in early June but we called off cos they say BKK unstable

maybe I should revive the plan haha!

so good you have your in laws and parents helping you! so you putting your baby with your parents full day after confinement? getting any maid to help?

hi piyo,
ya, will put bb with parents full day until evening. will not be getting maid cos hb dun want maid. quite inconvenient cos havd to adjust to another person.

hi erin,
u r lucky..think we have to get a maid coz if my mum take care of the bb, think alot of other things she will be able to do already like housework n cooking..so we have to get a maid n bb will also be taken care by my mum during the day and we will bring the maid n bb home at night lor..where does yr parents stay ah? Me also dun like maid but like no other alternatives leh..sigh..
We r only starting to look around for maids...so worried too..dun noe if can get a gd maid that can take care of bb..

Hi erin,
Your parents can help you look after the baby without a maid. That's very good! For me, I will have to engage a maid and if I bring my baby over, I think the maid will go along to help my/his parents.

hey erin,
ya i totally agree..n my parents r staying also like 5min away..hee hee..so wich blk yr parents stay..my parents r stayin at blk 936..hee hee

Hi Erin,
Try maternity bras, briefs, nursing bras, pigeon brand items.. errhh.. others, i not sure leh.. i was forbidden to go by my hubby also!

Piyo,
the shops at Toa payoh central.. near bengawan solo that stretch.. also, check out lactycd & sebamed @ beaute spring (the old Lee Wah), it is cheaper then in watsons!

My PIL haven't decide if they want to retire completely n help me with baby.. If not, i will deposit baby at my mum's place where her maid will help look after. My PIL will pick up baby after work ~3pm then..

Since both my PIL & parents stay near me, not a huge problem.. lucky i bought my flat near both parents! phew!

Honeyhaven,
Other bottles can go into AVENT steriliser. My fren can fit in Dr. Brown's bottles and those disney bottles...
max is 6 wide neck bottles... i think..

Keke,
I go into JB and recce this friday.. hopefully will get more good stuff..keke.. will come back and report!

hi augbb,
can buy from any lingerie shop or metro. my mum staying at 879.

hi jas,
thanks. will see if can get pigeon stuff there. go jb ah. so nice. will try to get hb for a short getaway during june hols.

I am thinking to buy nursing bra. Maybe 2 to 3 for confinement. Someone was telling me that try to wear bra without underwire, especially after birth- breast engorgment. Where can i find cheap and good nursing bra?? How many disposable panties are u all buying?? I bought 3 packets with 7 in each packet. Cost me $10 for 3 packets. I doubt is enough..

Hi augbaby,
I bought my bra extension from the lingerie shop E2. Cost $1 each.

hi honeyhaven,
the in-charge from my antenatal class told us to get bra without underwire. with underwire, quite likely to get blocked ducts.

What? Bra extension at $1 each, so cheap! I bought 2 @ $4++ from Spring Maternity.

Any good recommendation on Strech Mark cream?

honeyhaven,
where is E2? i may need to go buy the bra extension. ANyone has any idea how much a bra extension cost in Metro etc??

Anyone having stretchmarks already? I think I have several on my lower tummy liao

Hi jasmine,
Noted! will go check out the shops this weekend!

long time no update the table, here it is:

<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD>NAME</TD><TD>AGE</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>OBGYN</TD><TD>HOSPITAL</TD><TD>GENDER </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>Sandy Kerk</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>31-Jul-06</TD><TD>Dr Chen</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">GIRL</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>Connie</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>01-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr KK Ho</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>Rain</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>01-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">GIRL</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>Chrys</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>02-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>Peacy</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>02-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Tan HK</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">1BOY</font> &amp; <font color="aa00aa">2 GIRLS</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>Wanli</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>02-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">GIRL</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>Babymum</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>04-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Tanny Chan</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>Kelly</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>04-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>Bottle</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>06-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>KKH </TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>Jfong</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>07-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">GIRL</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>Babyboy</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>10-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>CJ</TD><TD>35</TD><TD>10-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr SC Chew</TD><TD>MEH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>Augustmum</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>12-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>Bearybear</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>12-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Ho HK</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>Leobbsmom</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>12-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr W K Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">GIRL</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>Dino</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>13-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD>Honeyhaven</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>13-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD>Ningyo</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>14-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Kenneth Lee</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>Stay</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>15-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>KKH </TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>Yipee</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>15-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr W K Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">GIRL</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>Ling2</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>17-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr K H Tan</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>22</TD><TD>Sierra</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>17-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">2 GIRLS</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD>Jas</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>18-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">GIRL</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>24</TD><TD>Zshih</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>19-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">GIRL</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>25</TD><TD>Celine</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>20-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">GIRL</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>26</TD><TD>Michelle</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>20-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Adelina Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>27</TD><TD>Catherine Wong</TD><TD>23</TD><TD>21-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>KKH </TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">GIRL</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>28</TD><TD>Augbaby</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>23-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Adelina Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>29</TD><TD>Piyo</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>23-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Fong Chuan Wee</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">GIRL</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>30</TD><TD>Buffel</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>25-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">GIRL</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>31</TD><TD>Erin00</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>25-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Judy Wong</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>32</TD><TD>Butter8</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>29-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Joan Thong</TD><TD>Raffles</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>33</TD><TD>Foonny</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>29-Aug-06</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>?</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>34</TD><TD>Jasmine Lau</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>30-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr. Denas Chandras</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">GIRL</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>35</TD><TD>Lala</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>30-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr LC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">GIRL</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>36</TD><TD>Mrschng</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>30-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Tan LK</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font></td></tr></table>

ARRGGHH!

I bought 1 pair of bra extensions from metro's wacoal @ 5.80 SGD!

Augbaby,
I saw cheap nursing bras at OG, Eternity brand @ 9.90 SGD. plain one. but it is advisable to buy it closer to delivery date once your bra size is more confirmed.

Hi Jasmine,
Got it. At OG. $9.90 - very good.

Hi augbaby,
I bought mine at at peoples park (above hawker centre), 3rd floor near cheong choon store (2 to 3 shops) there and united square.

bottle,
your doctor also Benjamin tham ar..hehe
he is nice right..i actually wanted to change doctor..but i am so comfortable with him till i decided not to change..

Piyo,
I don't have stretchmarks yet, but got plenty of rash marks! keke.. I have been applying the clarins' oil liberally morning &amp; night... hope it won't appear..

Do we need to buy diaper barrier cream now? or we wait until after delivery? What brand to get? I heard lots about Desitin Creamy with Aloe &amp; Vit. E, which is supposed to be super good, but it has only 10% zinc oxide? But Johnsons' diaper cream also 10% zinc oxide and at a much cheaper price!

Visited a friend in Glen E yesterday night.. 2 Bedder.. abit cramped, but nice mood lighting and they do show videos on how to breastfeed...Haven't gone for the tour yet at Mt. A Wonder how it is like...

Hi Jasmine,
Now that you remind me, I should go tour Glen E! hehe!
Think I better start applying day and night just in case they get worse!
PDs normally recommend the desitin with aloe vera and vit e. I happen to get 2 tubes via my friend liao

Hi Jasmine,
I am also using the clarins oil..hee hee..keeping my fingers cross.. I also bought thr desitin cream, 4oz at $14.50..heard it is rather gd as well so juz bought 1 tube then..

Piyo,
Is yr desitin cream 2oz or 4oz ah? u mention u paid $20 for 2 tubes rite?
how do stretch marks look like? i am not sure myself..Any pics to share how stretch marks look like? Hee hee

Hi is everyone going for antenatal classes before giving birth?

anyone skipping it altogether? (1st time mummies)
my hospital's is full and the next one dunno if too late. still thinking if really necessary since already may be 24-25 weeks once i start class.

i also saw bra extension at spring...i like the panties there, very comfy..

Hi Augbaby,
My house under some upgrading works so recently no go back home. After this week when I am back home,I wil check the tubes and let you know ya?

hi piyo,
okie..no worries..hee hee..

Hi butter,
me! i am not going for antenatal class..coz quite a few of my friends say there is actually no need coz usually when u r abt to give birth, most of the things at that time, u would have forgotten..hee hee...so they say not reali necessary lor...:p

jus to share wz all, i went for my 1st antenatal class yesterday evening at TMC. Was conducted by Mrs Wong, very interesting and very hands on. Majority of the time on antenatal exercise. I tot was more fun than the one i attended at mt A when i was xpecting my 1st bb.

Kelly,

no worries abt the appt. I let u know my next one so maybe can meet up then.

Helo mummies!!!

Ages I last log in.. Was on shopping spree too bt not much on bb stuffs but myself like those skin care facial products lo.

Need to check something wit all mummies...
I jus bought e Avent Disposable liners (for storage of BM). If we were to pour e BM into e liner &amp; store in e freezer, how are we gg to defroze it when wanna feed our bb? I know that BM in freezer can keep up to 3mths lo.. I see that e avent liner is so thin &amp; we can put it into warm water to defrozen or thaw? Im so confusing cos i was worried e liner is so thin and don think can stand e heat &amp; melt! ohohohoh...

Pls advise

butter/augbaby,

i also skipping antenatal class i felt that all this you can research from magazines library or interenet.. i even got the book from the amk kkh clinic.. for free. so am not going to the classes.

hey catherine,
u got the book for free..so nice..hmm i must go ask my doc liao..heehee..

Hey Jasmine,
too bad i already bought my desitin cream from another mummy in the forum liao...same price as yrs too...so dun think i b buying..i only buy 1 tube of 4oz too...waiting to meet her to collect now..hee hee..but it is a gd buy..thou i try it out first n think 1 tube shld be eno for the time being..coz shld have expiry date one..

keke.. not a problem Augbaby..

I missed out on that purchase mah.. so gotta look for my own.. keke.. think i should be able to get the 40 tubes..

CT,
I also dunno how to defroze the milk leh.. any mummies got any advice??

i also saw from the marketplace that there is a bulk purchase for avent liners (also known as milk bags) from USA a drugstore leh...n it is so much cheaper even after the shipping charges etc..100 pieces in a box for S$10.80...n i heard that it is the avent liners (milk bags) that is the thicker one n not the thinner ones that r sold in spore now..too bad i dun noe how to coordinate..anyone knows? hee hee..then maybe we can order leh... Think we have a mummy here that has order..leobbsmum order i think...

hey jasmine,
check wif u ah, that time u mention that u bought cottom cloth diapers for day use n also liners for the diapers..where did u buy them ah? from the shop near the guanyin temple at bugis is it? does anyone knows that extra blk number? i wan to go check it out...thanks..

augbaby
I thought all Avent milk liners are the same? Got thick ones and thin ones??
Anyway, if u wan to buy the liners at this cheap price, maybe u can PM the previous BP organiser Tan Leng Leng see if she can still organise another round. I just collected my fenugreek from her this morning, she's very nice.

Hi.

Any mummies using Mdm Rohaya for e post natal massge? Got her number? Cos I lost her.. need to reach her..

THANKS!

Hi Chrys,
I just bought e Avent liners.. hmm it seems like thin bag lo.. hehe dono how to go ahead to defroze it.. so seeking any advices &amp; opinions..

woww so envy, u mother buying baby stuffs. I haven even do much shopping.
So bother by my husband's family problem because of my customary wedding. Regret holding customary wedding...
His parent did not even considerate about our burden when our baby their grand child financially or even b4 it is born, the convience of me using master bed room. haiz so sad...

CT
Not sure if this is the same person, got it from forum here.
Mdm Rohaya 94506374

I also bought the liners but never use before. Heard from some mothers tat just take down from freezer let it defroze abit first then soak in hot water to warm it. Or can pour out once it's defrozed to warm it up (put in hot water cup). Can use bottle warmer too if u have.