(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

jfong,
i cant get an appt on 2may. dr ang is fully booked so i settled for an appt on 4may. mayb u let me know when ur next appt is. when i c dr ang on 4may, i'll book the same timing/day so we can meet up. :p

Hi CJ,

Yup, the nurse call me up yesterday also. So see you there next thursday :). She told me the first lesson on weekday and the rest of the lessons is on weekend.

The hypermart is at Kaki Bukit. Shunli Industrial Building if I am not wrong.

Hi cj,
Baby Kingdom address:
83, Kaki Bukit Ave 1, Shun Li Industrial Park, S(417954).
Tel: 65471677
Operation hours: 10am-9pm

I dun have Hypermart address on hand. But they r on the same stretch of building, u find one, u'll find another one.

I have gone for my wk 23 checkup last wk. Baby is now 620g. Glad to see him actively kicking during the scan. Last wk, my hb and I went to buy one chest drawer for baby to put his clothes in his room. We are still thinking abt our baby's name. Still haven't decided yet.
BTW, which brand of milk pump, steriliser and milk bottle did u buy?? So far which place is the cheapest?? Kind to share.

Hey Rain,
How come yr doc ask u to go for the glucose test? thou that test is only if u have high sugar? not too sure abt it thou...did the doc say wat the test is for?

Kelly dear,
need yr help in advising me abt the EBM milk bags...wat brand etc is gd n how abt the milk clips etc? shld i be getting bottles or milk bags..pls advise..i saw a mummy selling medula milk bags leh..dun noe if i shld buy leh...how much usually is a packet of milk bags n how many r there in a packet or box? please help...

hi honeyhaven,
for me, i bought the pigeon steriliser from robinson as they have a 20% discount..so after discount it is abt $80+..As for breastpump, i have decided to buy the medula single electric coz of recommendations from my friends who have used it..might be a little noisy but they say it is gd...think it is abt $100+..i haven bought that yet...As for milk bottles, i am frankly do not know how many bottles shld we have for bb on an average..coz i have 2 200ml bottled from pigeon that comes tog wif the steriliser..can anyone also advise how many bottles shld we have for bb?? i am thinking of either pigeon or nuk bottles lor..coz heard gd review abt them..

Hi chrys and erin,
We bought the 3 drawer chest drawer at ikea. White colour. We chose the one without any handle. Quite nice and modern looking. Only $149. Hb assembled the drawer in baby's room. We all pregnant woman cannot go and see when hb is assembling. U all know what i mean right. Only can go and see when hb is done.

I would like to reconfirm, can nuk teats fit on pigeon bottles??

hi honeyhaven,
white ah? do they have other colours? my furniture all dark brown.

yup, nuk teats can fit on pigeon bottles. heard nuk and pigeon teats can fit most brands of milk bottles.

Hi erin,
They got light brown, white etc. Dark brown?? I am not sure abt dark brown. U can go and take a look there.

Do u all think is a necessity to buy steriliser?? Quite troublesome to bring it around especially u have to bring steriliser, baby's things etc to parent's place during weekend. I am still thinking. Anyone using the traditional method.

Hi kelly,
No problem.

Hi erin, honeyhaven
My furniture also all dark brown..
The cot i bought also dark brown to match. I went to Ikea a week ago, they were having sales. I saw some chest drawers, some quite good quality ones very expensive, $300-$400+. I can't remember how do the $149 ones look like. 3 tier drawers isit enough? I dunno whether to get a proper wood ones from furniture shop or just get a Toyogo 4-5 tiers one will do, of course the latter is cheaper, within $50 maybe.

Hi chrys,
I didn't see the $300-$400+ ones. Even if we see, i dun think we will buy also. We are thinking to make one wardrobe later after baby is born. Now i am pregnant, we cannot do any reno in the house. That is why we bought the chest drawer for the time being.

augbb,
i using avent milk bags. will use free glass bottles fr hospital nursery in e 1st 2-3mths (when bb's milk intake is <100ml). once i can pump out more, my bb's intake increase, i'll use e milk bags. i dunno abt other brands' milk bags. avent has 100pieces in 1 box n i paid abt $13+ for it. i dunno if u can still find avent milk bags cos supposedly out of production.

as for clips, i bought some fr ikea but i realised tat a mummy used rubber bands n another mummy merely tied a knot. i'll continue using the clips 1st. if i run out, then i decide which type 2 use 2 seal e milk bag.

honeyhaven,
erin has responded 2 u. nuk/pigeon teats fit both brands of bottles. they can also fit other brands such as tollyjoy, piyo piyo, etc.

Hi Kelly
I saw the clips at Ikea, one packet around 30 clips, costs ~$5.90, they are mixture of big and small colorful clips. Is this the one u got? I think they look quite ugly ;p, especially the big ones, really too big..

I remember someone shared tat NTUC sells clips too, at cheaper price. dunno whether same kind.

keke,

All mummies on shopping spree now!!

Ok,
I bought pigeon steriliser @ 87 SGD comes with 2 FOC pigeon wide neck bottles + bottle cleanser, cos it can fit more then just milk bottles &amp; teats, plus faster sterilising time of 6 min. Even the parts of a manual breast pump can go in!

Milk bottles:
Aside from the FOC bottles, i also bought extra 2 NUK small bottles &amp; 2 teats for thin liquids. Reason is cos these 2 brands most flexible (in normal size lah, not the wide neck size).

Taka maternity list recommends 2 bottles of 4 Oz (125ml) &amp; 6 bottles of 8 Oz to tide us through initial period. Also to have min. 6 teats to start with to accomodate different flow rates &amp; for different fluids (thin liquids, milk).

Cloth Diapers:
I bought Pigeon brand and sourcing for made in china brands as they seem to be more absorbent, cheaper &amp; cooler. Didn't buy tollyjoy brand as other mummies tell me that the lint will flak after washing, though it is so much cheaper.

Laundry detergent:
I bought pigeon @ 6 SGD at the Robinsons sale.

Clothing:
Taka list recommends 6 short sleeve vests, 6 long sleeve vest, 6 sleeveless vests.However, i am preparing more of short sleeve &amp; 3/4 sleeve tops &amp; in a mix of sizes from NB/ 0-3 mths/ 3-6 mths as i ain't sure how fast baby will outgrow. most are hand me downs. I bought only 2 brand new tops for baby when returning back from hospital &amp; full month.
For NB size, i prepare all buttoned tops as baby will be swaddled initially, and also need to air their belly button area while waiting for cord to drop off. bottoms, likely not wearing much initially, either disposable diapers or cloth diapers.

Rompers, only preparing for after umbilical cord drop off from 0-3/3-6/6months onwards sizes.

Diaper covers:
Taka list recommends 3. I prepared 3 (hand me down) for 0-3 months in S size.

Breast pump:
Likely to get Avent Isis manual, as i think the silicon rubber is more comfortable. not buying yet, as waiting for GSS &amp; motherhood fair. Am also accumulating vouchers to exchange for such stuff

Milk storage:
Got a cooler tote bag liaoz with built in ice pack. Also bought sealing clips from IKEA plus 400 AVENT milk bags.

Breast pads:
Asked my mum to help me buy 1 box of the 60 pcs of disposable from BKK.. cost 185 thai baht before extra 5% tourist discount.

hi chrys,
Wat is the brand of cot that u bought? i am also looking for a dark wood cot as my furniture r all dark wood..but do not know where i can find it..how much did it cost u n where did u buy it from?

Hi Jasmine,
Wah! You like get ready 7788 liao! I went to the wholesale shop selling baby wear and stuffs at rochor road on Friday. Like you, I got 6 short sleeve front button tops, 6 long sleeve front bottoms, not getting any bottoms cos daytime they would be on nappy or diapers. I got long pants with covered legs for night wear. All white and they come in packs of 6.&amp; I got those made in china cloth nappies 30" by 30". One pac comes in 12. I bot 2 pacs. You say enough? then I bot the pac of mittens n booties (6 sets in a pac). All in all only $60. cheap! I am almost done for clothes. Now only need to get new piece for discharge and full month

I juz called robinson and they hav the avent milk bags and now they have discount somemore..after discount, a packet of 100 pieces is going for $13.20...can i check how many packet shld we buy? is 2 boxes of 100 pieces each sufficient? me thinking of going down to buy..the discount will end on 7may..i also call CC n check n they r selling the same thing for $14 so think robinson is more worthwhile..hee hee..as for the quinny zap, CC is selling it at $350..Oiyo, think u bought the quinny zap from hypermart rite..how much did u pay ah?

hey piyo,
where is the wholesale shop selling bb wear? me also need to get mittons n booties..r they all in white colours? n how much is a packet? do they have nice designs there for bb wears? wat brands are they as well..sorry ah, ask u so many questions.. :p

rain
c u next thurs. how we identify each other?

chrys,
thx for address. will go check out the store.

milk bag clips-- i read dat some mothers use rubber band or cable tie instead of clips. i will try using cable tie as they r quite cheap too.

chrys,
me all along SAHM after i give birth. worked for abt 8yrs b4 i quit after my maternity leave. now working for past 4mths cos my GF went on maternity leave so needed someone 2 cover her post. 2mrw onwards, back 2 being a SAHM.

e clips quite gd leh. airtight. i pour EBM into e milk bags, clip then 'throw' e milk bag into e freezer. no problems at all.

hi rain,
ya i thou so as well..thou it is only if yr urine test show high sugar then u have to take the test? does yr urine show high sugar?

ANyway heard that the new batch of avent milk bags is thinner than the old batch..sigh..does anyone knows anything abt this? i do not know shld i juz go ahead n buy this new batch of milk bags from robinson centerpoint or wat? does anyone also know wat is liners for bottles etc?

Hi Aug,
he told me is a routine test. A guide from government hospital. I think mabe he only want to earn money.. $80 u know...
I did not buy any bags. I bought the container and lids from Avent but not bags.. I think it is easier to keep.

hey kelly dear,
thanks so much for the explanation regarding the milk bags..
i have a better understanding alr..

Hi mummies to be, sorry to interrupt your thread.
Have the following to sell, $5 for each item:

Item 1. Pureen maternity pads (20 pieces, used only 1 piece) + Kotex adhesive maternity pad 10 pads, new, unopened + kotex maternity loop (10 pads, half left) [NTUC selling the adhesive pad at $5.90, I am selling all the above at $5]

2. Green Life Fenugreek. (620mg per capsule). 100 capsule, taken only 1, 99 capsule left. Expired on 7.3.2010. Bought from Guardian an $25.75. [This is to increase breast milk supply if you breastfeed]

Interested pm me, collect at Tanjong pagar or Bishan/Toapayoh area.

hi augbaby
I can't really remember the brand of my cot. Bought it at Baby Kingdom for $279 with free bedding set (pillow, bolster, bumper, fitted sheet,..) and mattress, but i top up $20 to get a better safety mattress. With 2 pcs of protector wood gievn, It's convertible to toddler bed later. To me all the cots almost come with the same function, my concern is only the mattress - hard enough to support back and porous enough to air dry if wet; also the wood (preferably natural wood color, no paint).
I bought it last month and had it sent to my home last wk only. The man told us the price has increased abit &amp; dark brown color is very popular.

Hi Piyo
Whr is the wholesale shop at Rochor Rd?

Kelly
What's the feeling of becoming a SAHM? Could u get use to it at first?

Hi augbaby
I think $13.20 is the cheapest in market. Recently there's a BP on this, cheaper, at $10.80 only.

Hi rain
How come my gynae din mention about the glucose test leh..

Wanli, Dino
My next appt tat falls on election day gotta be changed bcos clinic closed. So tat means we dun have parentcraft class on tat day too lor..

chrys,
i wanna b a SAHM b4 i got married. after i gave birth, i discussed wif husband for a long while (during my 3mths ML+1 mth paid leave) b4 deciding 2 tender. luckily wif husband's support n my determination, i did it. it was tough in e beginning (esp after confinement) cos i wasnt tat confident in handling an infant. my son's routine was abt crying, shitting, sleeping, drinking milk (EBM &amp; FM). i got a bit frustrated so i learned 2 bring him out when he was abt 6wks old. I met up wif other SAHMs, bring him out very often n life was getting betta.

i thoroughly enjoyed every sec wif him (of course there were hair-raising moments n moments tat really tested my patience) but i wont trade the time i spent wif my son for anything else in tis world. if i can turn back e clock, i'll still choose 2 b a SAHM. no regrets! i've worked in 3 different positions in my 8yrs+ of working career, earned decent incomes but nothing beats being a SAHM.

friens who know me for very long time, even relatives were surprised tat i was able 2 do it. they were even shocked at my patience (which i've learned 2 build up) n my ability 2 lead a simple life - wif only single income, lotsa material sacrifices.

Hi Augbaby,
I bot the Quinny Zapp at Hypermart. I got it at $399. If you are getting at CC at $350, you should go for it!

Hi Augbaby, Chrys,
For the wholesale shop, it is located at Blk 369A at the corner of the block. This block is across the Si Ma Lu Guan Yin temple behind those stores that sell dried goods. It don't sell branded baby clothes. It's more of those normal "chor cheng" baby wear that we let our baby wear at home kind. Got other colours like blue, pink, tellow etc but I prefer all in white so that I can recycle in future when I am prepared for no.2 hehe. I find them cheap like 6 sets of mittens and booties cost $7.50 100% cotton. Short sleeves and long sleeves each pac of 6 is about $9.50 I think. But they are not those fanciful ones that we find at Kiddy Palace, Mothercare etc which costs much more. I also bought those handkerchiefs bigger pieces (also in white) not those small ones as my friend told me bigger ones are better. I bot 2 pacs of 6 pcs each. Think that should be enuf to tide me over for 1st 1-3 months at least plus I have some hand me downs

Hi chrys,
yahor....I totally forgot we have parentcraft class on that day....I think may be they will inform us on this coming saturday

So when is yr next visit then?

Kelly,
They are 100% cotton. Experienced mothers told me this would be good to absorb baby's perspiration etc.
Your last day of work today? clear all work liao?

Kelly,
so fast hor? if you do bring your boi out to this area must call me k? we go frink iced teh
but good thing can still c you in the forum

Hi Kelly
Thanks for sharing..
I m considering.. as there's nobody looking after my baby yet..

Hi Piyo,
The shop that u mentioned sounds "sek sek" to me leh.. is tat the same shop tat i went.. also opposite simalu Kuanyin temple, but it's at blk 269 leh.. urs at 369A.. hmm..
I also bought 6 pcs of short sleeves from the shop i went, only cost $9, the colors are the same as wat u mentioned. They r wholesaler, so all they sell all things in bulk, ie u can't choose 1 or 2 pcs, but must buy the whole pack, normally comes in 6 pcs. The material very soft and good, but cannot expect fanciful designs. I bought washable diapers, handkershief too.
I bought 3 nappy covers, it's $2.50 cheaper than CC.

Wanli,
it's changed to one day earlier- 5 May 9am.
yahor, this sat got class..

chrys,
if u can, y dun u take xtra leave after ur ML 2 c if u r really suited 2 b a SAHM? not all mummies can b SAHM, some simply prefer 2 work n leave their bbs in betta caregiving. some mummies simply prefer 2 b SAHM.

hard for u 2 consider fr e perspective of 'no one 2 look after ur bb' cos there r few options outside...infant care, nanny &amp; maid. u hv 2 ask urself wat u 1. if u consider fr tat perspective of 'no one 2 look after ur bb', at times when ur bb drives u mad, u'll feel like giving up easily. if u go by e perspective tat u love 2 watch ur child grow up, ensuring tat u r there for ur child ALL e time, u 1 2 take care of ur child on ur own, u wont feel so beaten up when ur bb gets impossible 2 handle.

Hi Kelly,
ON! You call me ya?

Hi Chrys,
I think we went to the same one!Unless there is another?I find the quality not bad for the price I am paying. Do we also need nappy covers? is it $2.50 for one? The old fols there very nice

Cham, did I give the wrong blcok no? This is the location from the street directory:
http://www.streetdirectory.com/asia_travel/travel/travel.php?ismap=1&amp;starmode=0&amp;x=30212.40590084&amp;y=31268.220073207&amp;star=1&amp;iconlist=star1,30494.102660099,31937.791600985;&amp;xyfile=1145860475_5424&amp;searchzone=Rochor&amp;searchmasterid=0&amp;searchbuildingid=0&amp;level=6?310,115
Think you got to cut and paste the url to see.

Hi Wanli, Chrys,
I remember this sat's class. but I forgot that our class will be cancel due to the election day. My nxt appt is this thu, looking fwd for a long time. I am down with flu for a wk. Nowadays no appetite, and I have cut down my tea breaks.

Hi Kelly
Being a SAHM is only an option, of course i will think over all the options tat i have..
Do u think i can study in the same time taking care of baby? Will go crazy onot.. hehe.. :p
Btw, u stil get a helper at home?

Piyo,
Yalar.. same same..

Dino
Oh dear.. take care.. This thurs is ur 24 wk checkup? Wat time is our class hah.. 4.30pm?

chrys,
no helper for me. only my ILs who popped by once in a while 2 play wif my son. they also dun help wif anything. only during tis period when i was working full-time, they helped out by cleaning up our plc n washing our clothes.

tat's y i getting a maid tis time round. i dun tik i can handle an infant &amp; a toddler on my own.

u shld b able 2 study in e 1st 6mths after u give birth. after tat, a bit hard leh unless u quite disciplined. cos when ur bb turns 6mths old, e bb more responsive so need 2 spend more time wif bb, sleeps lesser, eats solids (so need 2 spend time preparing meals), etc.