(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

piyo: i was advised to just get a few pieces (maybe 5-7 pcs to last for a week) of new born sizes (a mixture of short sleeve vests, shorts, body suits, long sleeve vests and pants) and more of the 3-6 mths clothings...

i heard from a fren that taka has this sample shopping list which lists the quantity of clothing...u might wanna check that out?

Hi Yipee,

I also have low lying placenta. I do feel pressure at my cervix but no pain
I forgot to ask my gynae about the position of my placenta last saturday. Today I am WK25 and hope that it has move up

piyo, yipee, rain,
well for most ppl the placenta does move up eventually, especially if only partiallly low. but my case a bit more severe cos the whole thing is low n may cause bleeding in 3rd trimester if not careful. so maybe ur docs dun wan to frighten u as it is still early to say. i do feel some "zapping" feeling occasionally at the low area but not sure is it due to placenta.

oh ya,
btw for newborn, i heard e stroller must be able to fold flat back all the way becos the bb neck is still weak. so if u r buying for newborn use must check on this.

also, there is 1 shop that sells new and second hand bb stuff in toa payoh. i hv not been there but they hav a website -- www.babytown.com.sg. maybe u all may want to browse if dun mind second hand products.

Can i check if anyone of u have bought pigeon breastpads from bkk. Heard that it is cheaper than in bkk than spore..is it true..think kelly n jasmine mention b4...how much is it in spore dollars for a 60pieces of pigeon breastpads then in bkk? Chry,think u mention that Chong cheong selling it too at $8.50..How many is it in a box ah? I got a friend going too bkk n hence told of asking her to help me buy...how many do we need in the initital mths when bb is juz born? please help...thanks

augbaby,
i paid abt SGD6-7 for a box of 60pieces. i dun tik cheong choon carries the 60pieces packaging cos the 60pieces packaging is all in thai wording. e 36+6pieces packaging is in english but it says 'made in thailand'.

assuming u need 4pieces in a day (sometimes even 6pieces if u hv lotsa breastmilk n it keeps leaking), u do e sums n gauge how much u need.

Also wanna check wif u all, wich types of milk bottles n teats is good for bb? I am thinking of eother getting a nuk or pigeon steriliser during the motherhood fair or GSS..but then does this 2 types of steriliser, can any bottles fit into them? Realise that i am so ignorant n lost abt all this
N wat teat is gd as well? Heard avent bottles can prevent colic. Is it true..

Hi kelly, yippy,
thanks for the info..okie..think i shall ask my friend to help me buy from bkk then..kelly, any shopping malls in bkk got sell? is it at the baby department there?

Oh ya, n is the 60pieces breastpads from bkk very big? coz dun noe how many boxes my friend is willing to buy for me

for those of u who went to kkh for ur gynae appointment, can i check whether does ur gynae do a scan for u during every visit?

augbaby,
e box is slightly bigger. i got my frien 2 buy back 10boxes for me. if i not wrong, i paid him abt SGD67. sometimes pigeon got promotion. when my frien bought e 10boxes, he got a diaper bag free.

u shld b able 2 find it any dept store's bb section. i not too sure abt e details.

hey kelly,
thanks so much for the info..hee hee..but dun think i can ask my friend to buy back 10boxes for me..hahaha..think for the time being i ask her to buy a few boxes first lor...

I just got hold of the new Avent IQ Uno @ a bargain price (used only once, so is 2nd hand) of 125 sgd (usual price is 279sgd!!)

Have also prepared so far, 12 pcs of tops (long sleeve, short sleeve, rompers) for 0-3 months.. still gathering more in the bottoms catergory for NB- 3 months & also for the 3-6mths category.. i mostly got it 2nd hand either FOC or really cheap price as i don't want to waste money on the inital clothings.

Augbaby,
The pigeon sterliser can accomodate other brands milk bottles as well as breast pump.. normal size bottles - 9, wide neck bottle like avent is ~6.

cj,
although i got a avent breast pump, i thinking of using nuk or pigeon.. more user friendly..
. Heard that Avent teats are hard & babies might reject it.. if start on avent, keep to avent & don't substitute with other brands' teats, cos baby won't go back to using avent, or so i heard! Don't know how true is it... keke.

Can't wait for baby fair!!

Hi jas,
thanks for the info..so i guess u will b using the pigeon steriliser? How abt bottles n teat?

juz a poll, who is using wich brand of steriliser and bottles n teat? I reali do not know which brand to buy and it is cheaper n good..pls advise..thanks...

augbb,
me still using avent steriliser n for bottles, i using NUK & pigeon. for teats, i using nuk teats (e yellowish-brown ones-dunno wat it's called) 1st 2 avoid nipple confusion. slowly i'll switch 2 pigeon teats.

Do anyone of u use Desitin Diaper (Creamy) for babies? Is it good? I have a contact to purchase it at for $14.50 for 4 oz. Pharmacies are selling at $11 for 2 oz. ANyone is interested or can give me comments if it is good? Then maybe i can order for us all...if anyone is interested...

hi edksdid,
yup, my gynae will do a scan for me at every visit. i'm with the pte suite. not sure abt the normal clinics. but heard from my friend who had her bb delivered last year that they don't do the scan every visit if you are with the normal clinics. Hope this helps!

hi jasmine,
wow, you got a bargain for the avent breast pump! That's great! I'm just borrowing from my colleague the medela electric mini.

Din get much clothes yet. guess will collect some hands-me-down from my friends at a later stage. ya, shdn't spend too much on bb clothes since they outgrow them very fast.

hi augbb,
i bought a pigeon bottle. it's supposed to prevent or reduce colic. heard that pigeon and nuk teats are softer compared to avent.

haven't decide which brand of steriliser to get yet.

hi augbb,
think all 3 brands carry anti-colic bottles but they will be slightly more expensive. think i din express myself clearly.

Hi Augbaby,
I have bought 2 tubes of desitin (with aloe vera content) costing total of $20 at TMC pharmacy via my friend. Those experienced moms told me this is very good for nappy rash...

hi erin,
oh no prob..it is me who dunno anything lah..
so will u be getting nuk or pigeon teats? Me also totally dun noe wich to get..

Kelly,
so for newborn, it is best to get nuk teats rite? for bottles, does not matter if it is pigeon or nuk? as u r using both pigeon n nuk rite? sorry for so many questions..

augbb,
i swear by bepanthen for nappy rash. been using it since my 1st boy. still using it once in a while.

i wont say it's best 2 use NUK teats for newborn. i come across mummies who use avent or pigeon teats. it's all up 2 mummy. if u start ur bb on avent n dun offer alternative down e rd, ur bb will stick wif avent. if u start on other brands then move 2 avent, ur bb most likely will reject.

avent bottles & teats not so flexible compared 2 nuk or pigeon bottles & teats which can also b used wif other brands of teats too.

Hi Augbaby,
I think it was already on promotion when my friend bought it from the TMC pharmacy so cannot use the card. Let me go back and check and let you know the oz

Augbaby,

I will be buying Nuk & Pigeon teats & bottles most likely.

Erin00,
keke, good bargain hor, my breast pump?? i already told juju u not coming for meet up liaoz..

Kelly,
I want to ask something about the Avent disposable milk bags.. after clipping the filled bag of milk, u store inside freezer lying down or standing up? will it leak if we put it lying down?
For the teats, we can use Nuk teats on pigeon bottles? and vice versa? won't leak?

kelly,
me got question too. abt the Avent milk bag clips, after u clipped it wif milk inside, wen lie flat or slightly press the bag, will the milk overflow a bit over the clip?
becos my fren gave me a few clips and i used water to try out first. seems like the clip not tight enough.

augbaby,
my fren gave me a second hand Avent sterilizer so i will be using.
i tot of buying Avent wide neck bottles cos wider n easier to wash inside. But another fren says Nuk teats is the best. And these 2 brand teat-bottle do not fit.. ... headache.

milk bottles
Avent supposedly to prevent colic. But my boi oso kena colic dat time. He rejected milk at abt 3 mths plus. Thought it has to do with milk bottles, so switched to NUK. I have many many Avent bottles, so agree that the teats are hard as compared to other brands. Until now, my boi still using NUK bottles. NUK came out with the premium series which are wide neck but with soft teats. I was so tempted to buy but it's too exp liao.
There r 2 types of teats- silicon and latex (yellow brownish). Personally i prefer silicon ones cos latex gives me the impression it'll become sticky. Like very rubbery. *tinking of ruber bands*

Nappy rash cream
If slight nappy rash, i feel dat Drapolene is gd enuf. For serious case, i'll switch to Desitin. Both work well for my boi.

jasmine, cj
i dun bother abt how i put e milk bags filled wif EBM in e freezer. i literally just put them inside, dun care if they r lying down or upright. so far, no problem wif leakage leh.

Hi edksdid, I am with KK normal clinics and still do the scan at every visit so far. Maybe it depends on your gynae bah..

Ya, I also heard that NUK teats is good for new born, not sure how true is it. I am still considering which brand of bottles/teats to buy. Pegion got the glass bottles, what/how do you all think of the glass bottle for bb?

hi jas,
thanks for informing ju. i bought the pigeon anti-colic bottle and it came with a teat so I don't have to buy them separately.

hi piyo
I have checked out and they said you can attend the course even you are not SGH patient....However, priority will be given to SGH patients first.....You will need to go down to Rm 24 in O&G centre personally to register.

do you experience itchness around your tummy area? It was so itchy for me that I can't sleep for the whole night? Any solution to this problem? thanks!

Hi peacy,

Try to work harder by applying some oil/lotion safe for pregnancy on your tummy. I am using clarins Oil, not to bad, only slight itchness occasionally..dun scratch too much..

any1 feels like tummy tightening very often? sometimes can't even take deep breath cos it would be painful. I have been having these on and off for these couple of weeks and painful cramps. Doc gave me ventolin and another type of medicine to relax the uterus. any1 also having the same problem?

Hi peacy,
Thanks Peacy!I think it's the skin stretching that's y you feeling itchy. Keep applying moisturiser keep it moisturised then the itchiness should go away.

Hi erin,
I am also taking medication from my 1st tri til now to relax the uterus and I think it helps! Mine is salbutamol and pentenoin. Try taking thr prescribed medication for some time. You should feel less tightening over time

Hi erin,
Me too!! i am feeling tummy tightening but then my gynae din give me anything to help relax my uterus too leh...
how ah? i dun have cramps juz uncomfortable tightness of my tummy...

Hi piyo,
did u manage to find out if the desitin creamy how many oz is it? Do let me know ya..thanks..

I have been MIA for a while.. applied time off on monday afternoon went home for rest, tuesday on mc rested at home. Stomach bloated (alot of wind inside) and gastric pain on Mon night, couldn't sleep. I dunno why like tat. Maybe bcos i ate too many banana to ease my constipation, ended up created alot of wind in my stomach. Well.. banana is good for curing constipation on one hand, but is bad for pple with weak stomach if eaten too many.

Hi cj,
Ya, if i dun get to buy the Avent nurser for milk liner, i wil just pour into my Pigeon milk bottles lor.

The nurser is good when u travel, some people just put milk powder in liners & tie, when bb hungry just add water in liner & feed. Then wash teats & cap & screw cap, no need to wash the bottle, no need to bring the long brush.

Hi wanli
Thanks for looking out for the nurser for me

peacy,
i hv experienced the itchiness too. hv to keep skin moisturized. in fact, other areas like my back and shoulders now also itchy. the worst part is i got stretch marks on my neck/top of shoulder. dunno why my shoulder oso need to stretch.

kelly,
ok thanks for info.

chrys,
so u actively looking for the nurser bottle? but i noticed that the blue teats are not sold in the stores. seems like the nurser must go with the blue teats, not the white ones else will leak.

morning... sorry me oso MIA for a while now... just been waiting and waiting for my detail scan... now still waiting.. heee.. next week! being home alone cuz hubby travelling so feeling a bit down and tired...
but have been cheering up myself by shopping at lunch - baby shops hehehe got some baby clothes but mainly been buying 3-6mth onwards... new born see how.. hopefully can get some hand me downs...

i see many of you dicuss the milk bottle... so most of you not getting a sterilizer? if we get some come with some bottles yeah? I heard the mother care sterilizer is not bad...anyone think having one is useful or just bowl or use tabs is ok? my mum thinks dun need...

i am oso getting forgetful... i bought some korean strawberries at lunch yesterday, went to see baby clothes and forgot to take back, didnt realise until too late at nite
wasted $ $9 leh... sigh... blur man

I am also trying to 'interview' some maids this weekend.. dunno if to get single or married with kids. married may know how to look after, but single may miss their kids... ???