(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Good Morning.

I feel tummy tighted when i eat too full or I eat laska for lunch than evening time will have alot of winds and tummy tighted too. Maybe it because of the coconut.

Just to check, do I really need to buy sterilizer for milk bottles? I don't really rem my mum use when she looked after my nephew and niece.

Hi jas,

Traditional way of sterilising is use a big pot of water to boil the bottles. I always saw my mom do this when she babaysit baby. :p

I had not been active in the thread for very long. I also experience the tummy tighted at any time of the day. Sometime the pain is so unbearable that I had to support my tummy and walk.

Piyo,
Help me update, thks:
stay 26 15-Aug-06 Dr Benjamin Tham KKH BOY

Any of u have yellow discharge?
I feel that i have a little yellow discharge, dunno if it's normal. Gynae asked me to go for earlier check for infection, though routine check for every preggie is normally on 36 weeks, even without any symptoms. Won't it a bit late hor.. what if we pop earlier, then dun get to do the check lor..

Hi cj,
No, i m not looking for it actively, if can get one at cheaper price is good, if no, won't purposely buy it lor, not cheap too rite, ard $16. i dun even know there's this nurser until wanli showed it to me.

Hi chrys,
I got the same problem as you, got some yellow discharge but no smell. She also told me normally will do don't know what "Grp B" check on the discharge on 36 weeks. I'm still thinking should I suggest Dr Wong do the checking for me on 32 weeks also afraid get infected.

Hi wanli

She replied me this morning, as below.

"Yes you're right - we usually routinely perform a vaginal discharge culture test around 36 weeks for all pregnant mums to look for infection, especially for Gp B Streptococcus, even if they have no symptoms. Those found to have GBS infection will be treated, so as to prevent baby from catching this infection as he passes thru the vagina. But if you're having a lot of discharge, i would suggest doing the check earlier, just in case. Although it is quite common to more discharge in pregnancy, even if yellow, better to still check to make sure. Actually, even if you do have GBS infection, it is very easily treated, so no worries to baby!"

Actually i dun have much discharge, but a bit of yellowish, not sure if it's the urine stain or yellow discharge. :p

Hi Chrys,
Occasionally my discharge will be quite a bit and sometimes yellow... I think it's normal bah? we are supposed to have discharge during the pregnancy term right?

Hi chrys,
Thanks for the infor
. Hahha, I think I will request for the checking on 32 weeks then.

Just collected the cooler bag from Ling Chua, look quite nice
. Really thks for them to arrange for the purchase.

Hi Piyo
It's normal to have more discharge during pregnancy. But if yellow discharge with bad smell, it might be a sign a infection. Anyway, there'll be routine checkup for vaginal infection, so should clear the fear.

Hi wanli
Ya, i will have the check on either week 28 or 32. When's ur next appt? Mine on 6 May (election day?!) haha.
Ya, just collected mine too. looked very nice and handy, I like it very much too.. how come i din see u? I met a few mummies there at Polar cafe.

Hi chrys,
Yr appointment is one week before me, I'm on 13 May. Heard election day declare as public holiday lei.....clinic got open or not?

I just make a short stay at Polar Cafe because need to rush back to Suntec. Also saw few mummies over there, which one is you? Heard the aunty sitting next table keep watching over our side and guessing the gender of the baby by looking at our tummy, because suddenly so many pregnant woman appear.

i just had my detailed scan last appt in last mth. am in week 24 now.

dunno wat to expect during the appt later, just like the normal appt i had b4, right??

dunno if i shld ask any question pertaining to delivery, or issit too early...?

hehe...frankly, i also dunno wat to ask la. maybe some moms can enlighten me.

thanks!!

Hi wanli
U sure that day is public holiday??
I didn't see u leh.. only violet, Kim, i think adeline, who else ah.. So inspiring seeing violet, she doesn't look like she ever pregnant before, so slim.. She's stil breastfeeding her 2 month baby. So, being slim should encourage us to keep on bf..

HI chrys,
Actually I'm not so sure whether it is public holiday or not, just heard my colleague said it is. Anyway, if the nurse never call you mean they still doing business as normal loh :p.

Yah yah, my fren also still breastfeeding her boy for 1 yr plus. She told me breastfeeding is the good way to get rid of fat, she said she even slimmer than before she get pregnant

Hi leobbsmom,
Most of the following appt should be the same. For my 24 weeks appt, my doctor did explain to me the delivery process, incl those dilation, epidural and contraction etc. I never expect she explain to me so early but she said she will remind me again when EDD getting nearer.

Other than that, we also discussing my weight, sleeping position and ask her what type of breast bump is good etc. May be that day my doctor not so busy that's why discuss alot with her

thanks very much, wanli! =)
ok, if my gynae is not so busy later, then i shall ask her more abt bb lor.. coz during the last detailed scan, my gynae mentioned tat the bb's mouth was clearly seen, coz she was moving abt.. =P

tink i'm getting the avent manual pump..but my mom said i shld get it after first mth..coz i can be certain tat i hv enuff BM to pump out.. =P

chrys,piyo,
i oso hv yellow discharge, jus whether more or less. so i use a liner everyday.

leobbsmom,
am oso worried that got not enuff BM, but very Kiasu leh, oredi bought breast pump cos wan to start earlier.

hi cj,

i heard tat there is an avent opening hse in may... so maybe i will also get it first. dowan to waste the chance if they hv special offer tat day, rite? =P

i went for my checkup yesterday, and it was quite a rushy rush... gynae juz did a quick scan, and said bb is doing good! guess she knows better than me la. coz my bb put on quite a bit.. from 313g to 723g yesterday! haha! =P
and i put on 2kg since last appt.

i hv put on 5kg since.. gynae advised me to put on 2kg or lesser each mth.

hi piyo,
just realised that ventolin consists of salbutamol too. wah, ur tummy tightens during the 1st trimester ah. must be more careful and rest more ok?

hi augbb,
u staying in tampines? me too. which part are u staying near?

Yo Wanli & Chrys,
I also got the fridge to go bag in RED.. keke.. looks nice hor? I just picked it up from Violet.. wah.. so slim.. i was so surprised.. she brought her 4 yr old gal down also to meet me n hubby on Sat... keke..

Been clearing my spare cupboard in the baby's room over the weekend.. phew... finally done..

Now, it is nice & empty and ready for me to go shopping.. keke.. went to Robinson's on Friday night.. they had 20% off NUK, 15% off medela, 20% off Avent.. i bought some NUK milk bottles (small ones) & extra teats for liquids.. slowly buying stuff, but really waiting for G.S.S & Motherhood fair..

Hey Erin00,
lost the deal on the 2nd hand Avent Isis IQ Uno. Seller sold it off but forgot to remove it from auction!! Made me so angry.. so now looking out again lor.. keke

BTW, i want to check, any mummies ever tried the Kaneson breast pump manual? It only cost ~30 SGD on breastfeeding.org.. wondering if it is any good.. heard that KK give out this breast pump to new MTB & feedback is rather good.. i don't want to get a new expensive pump yet cos i don't know about my milk flow....

Hi Celine,
me looking to find out more on banking cord clood... not sure how necessary or useful it would be.. you have any idea? have you checked out with Stemcord and CordLife?

Hi Erin,
The sulbutamol was given to me in the 1st tri cos I suffered from cramps and poking feelings in my lower tummy as well as spotting. My gynae did mention to me that this would help to relax my uterus and I have been taking it since. Is that tummy tightnening?

Hi CJ,
I use panty liner too, mainly to track the amount and colour of the discharge

I went to their website.....cordlife.com & stemcord.com
Juz wondering if it is a good form of insurance for the child.
The cost like quite expensive.

Ya agree. the initial cost is ex but the anuual payment is $200+ which is quite reasonable. But how do we know if x no. of yrs down the road, if we need the blood and what the blood that they provided us is our baby's blood?

hi erin,
me living at tampines near safra that area...800+..hee hee..u leh...

me also went to the robinson sale and bought the pigeon steriliser already..there is a 20% sale and it comes wif 2 free bottles..so juz buy that first..also waiting for the GSS and motherhood fair...saw that robinson is also selling baby cot call wood craft...does anyone knows if it is gd or anyone bought bb cot already and can share which brand is good etc..thanks gals..

hi jasmine,
ai yoh! how come the seller so blur! sold away and still din remove it. never mind, perhaps u can find another that's better. Is KKH giving away breast pump to MTB?

hi piyo,
i'm not too sure whether yours is tightening or not. mine is very very tight at times and difficult to take in deep breath, yawn or sneeze. anyway, now feel better with rest and medication. Just worried that I will have premature labour cos I'm also having thyroid problems.

hi augbaby,
I'm also staying near 800+ too. so qiao. but me nearer to the polytechnic area.

how much did you pay for the pigeon steriliser? Is it $87 then less 20%? When does the sale end?

Hi Erin,
Did you mention to your gynae that you have thyroid probs?My gynae asked me during my 1st visit. If you are on ventolin, you have to take it on very regular basis for it to work.

augbaby, erin
my mum stays at 800+ too, just behind st hilda's. i go 2 her plc abt 3-4x in a wk when i wasnt working. i shld b doing e same once i give birth. we can meet up at tamp mall during ur maternity leave?

Hey erin, kelly,
that be great...hee hee..actually i am staying in blk 815...wat blk r u both? for the pigeon, i don't rem the actual price but after the 20% discount, think i paid abt $91 lor..think the sale will end in abt 7may or so...cant quite rem leh..

augbaby, erin
since we all stay around tat area (ok, i dun stay there but i regular in tamp area), we can start by mtg at the MacDonalds in e CC 1st (bringing our bbs out too) then we proceed 2 tamp mall if we can. cool?

i'm at blk842C.

i started out by bringing my bb (when he was 6wks old) 2 meet some friens for lunch at raffles city. after tat, i more gutsy so bring him out alone 2 more places. if u2 dun mind, we start by going 2 nearby places 1st then move onto further places. i can also bring my bb 2 ur place if it's convenient n u can visit me at my mum's plc (i'm sure she wont mind seeing other bbs). for me, i really cant imagine staying at home whole day (on wkdays) for 3mths (though i SAHM, no such thing as maternity leave) but still....2 stay home can make me mad.

Erin00,

Wait long long for KKH to give breast pump.. keke.. I think they lend it to you during your stay..

i tot 87 SGD for pigeon steriliser is after 20% discount?? i also have the 2 FOC bottles.. and i bought some nuk bottles also keke.. small ones to stand by..

Hey Kelly,
Wat a great idea...hee hee...would love them..it is also gd for our babies to mix around..i am all for the idea..after our confinement period..coz think my mum sure wont let me out during my confinement..hee hee...

Jasmine, is it $87 after discount..hmm i am not too sure too..coz hubby is the one who paid..i need to go back to check..hee hee

kelly,
ask u ah, i wan to buy milk bags for storing EBM next time..wat nag milk is good or shld i buy bottles to store EBM instead..how abt clips for the bag..i realise i know nothing abt breast feeding etc..any gd link i can go to read abt it ah? N if i store EBM in the freezer instead how do i go about warming the EBM for bb when bb wan to drink n can the milk bags be used again after that ah? so blur..

hi piyo,
ya, my gynae knows abt it. was under close monitoring for the 1st 3 months. now thyroid under control but still taking medicine.

hi kelly and augbb,
i'm staying at 889A. sure can meet up during ML.

hi jasmine,
thought they so nice. give breast pump. keke... wishful thinking
u bought the pigeon steriliser too?

hello..

i finally visited the baby kingdom and bought a few things, the pigeon steriliser - comes with 2 bottles and cleanser. and some other small small stuff... eyeing a playpen & stroller....

i oso finally visited the kiddy palace @ toa payoh - Wha very big!!! nice to look c lookc next time can shop more there...

i am considering the avent breast pump too... anyone know if we do not want to use the avent bottle, then how to use? still can use?

another question gals...

i love to drink tea... hav cut out a lot... black tea and milk tea... but what about green tea? still can?

i know non caffiene no prob rite, so i still drink camomile and rose tea.

hey butter,
think green tea is a no no..i read somewhere that it actually prevent the absorbion of vitamins n hence it is not gd to drink green tea when preggy..i used to drink green tea like every day. But now i dun drink at all liao...How much did u buy the pigeon steriliser ah?

Hi Augbaby,
Is it true? Green tea used to be my favorite which I stopped during these few months as I thought it would be too 'liang'. Nowadays I drink ribena

piyo,
the kiddy palace is on the 3rd floor i think in the HDB HUB.

i still drink teh si and ice tea :p

Augbaby,
i got it at $87. is that more ex?

sigh, no more green tea... my colleague just come back from japan got me sakura tea, cannot drink

Butter,
hmm think same price ba..i need to go hm to check it out..hee hee..if it is reali same price then think buying stuffs from bb kingdom shld be cheaper ba..coz my pigeon steriliser is after 20% discount from robinson leh..

Ya no more green tea till after birth..me also miss my green tea so much..used to take at least once a day...

I have bought the sterilizer and milk pump. But for the stroller, car seat, and some other things. AS my hb say maybe ppl will give us during the baby shower. So some of the things I will wait until the bb full mth then buy if needed.
I got alot of hands me down 0-3 clothes from relatives. They look old. But my hb say just a maybe 3-4 sets of new clothes will do incase ppl give during the full mth. Furthurmore, bb seldom go out during the first 3 mths. SO the old clothes should be ok. If ever bring bb out then wear new clothes lor..

Bb has been very active and keep on kicking me recently. Wondering the head already turn down? But sometimes do feel the kick on my lower abominal.

My gynae ask me to go for Glucose test on my next appt. This cost $80. Does anypne test it also? I feel it is a waste of money but my gynae told me is a good maternity mgmt. :-(

rain,
u attending antenatal May class in Mt A right? The person in charge called me today to confirm my attendance redi. Did they call u yet?

Butter8,
u hv bb kingdom / hybermart addresss? cos i tried hunting for it over weekend but cannot find the place. can let me noe address?

Hi Butter n Piyo,

Me oso like to drink teh, cannot tahan sometimes, know its a liang for preggies. but helps in my bowel movements sometimes when i feel a bit constipated. Ha....

Btw, I heard that preggies to start drinking red raspberry leaf tea especially in the 2nd and 3rd trimesters, supposed to tone the uterine muscles etc... can chk it out on the web for more info.

I tinking of starting to drink but realise nt many places sell this tea leaf.

Hi jfong
I saw raspberry tea leaf selling at Carrefour Plaza Sing, on the shelf of all the organic food. The price is ard $8.50 per box. It's stated on the box that the tea is believed to ease women related problem/pain - tone uterine muscles, to relief menstrual cramps, etc. The part in toning uterine muscles helps during delivery ie. faster delivery if muscles stronger.