(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Hi Piyo,
$399 look very attractive
, we always said Quinny Zapp is like luxury car "BMW". How much for the Maxi Cosi car seat then? So after yr baby 1 yr old, u may need to buy another car seat?

I already bought a car seat, so can not consider Quinny Zapp. Did u ask them the peg perego brand?

Hi piyo,
U bought the quinny zap alr ah..we r also looking at that or the quinny zap..but the zap is super exp..hee hee...so how much did u spend on the maxi cosi car seat?

Hi Augbaby,
You looking at quinny zapp and which one? At 1st we looking at Quinny Buzz but that leads us to see Quinny Zap. The Buzz is so ex and the 3 wheeler too big esp for some escalators so end up we got the Zapp instead. Very initially, we were looking at Maclaren Tecno XT and the Peg Perego latest model. the Mac 2006 series cost $410 and the Peg cost $480. We find the Zapp more value for money at $399, especially for those that own a car and requires car seat. The maxi cosi car seat cost $240 if you buy together with the Quinny series.. else I think it costs about $299?

Hi piyo
I am not sure if you can join the breastfeeding class if you are not delivering at SGH....I can try to find out for you and let you know.

Hi Wanli,

Your baby is a bit small. The breast pump seem expensive. I am still not sure should I get 1 or can we use 2nd hand breast pump?
Hi Chrys,
I am also very tired and got headache at work today. Last nite hard to get to sleep. And then woke up 3 times, baby keep kicking me and disturb my sleep. Then I got leg cramp.

Hi piyo,
opps sorry, wrote wrongly..we actually like the quinny buzz too but then it is reali so much more exp...so we r interested in the quinny zap too lor..seems not bad..but overall plus car seat also very exp leh..sigh..dun noe leh..hubby wanted a 3 wheeler lor..

Juz check with all of u something..now that we can feel our bb movements already, do u all experience the movements everyday itself or do u sometimes dun feel the bb movements for a day at all etc...

HI Dino,
Yaloh, Peacy having triplet but each baby also got 700g....I having one baby but only 569g at 24 weeks.
So, doctor said I can still eat ice-cream :p

Actually u can used second hand pump if you don't mind. Saw yahoo auction selling alot with cheap price. But Avent IQ UNO is quite new so no body selling the second hand yet.

I also experience leg cramp in mid-night, dunno is that because not enough calcium......

hi augbaby,

Sometimes I don't feel my baby movements for a day, got to lie down, sing song for my baby, than she will kick. But not as active as when she kicks herself. Don't know why also.

Hi Peacy,
Ya the quinny buzz is super ex plus the wheeler is too big and the width too wide for escalator... not value for money. For car seat, as long as got car, you would need to get it anyway. & most of the time car seats are only used in car. So no matter which stroller you get, you will still need to get strollr and car seat. But if get the zapp then it can be used both in car and on the stroller at least for the 1st year. So to us, it's more value for money

hi augbaby,
There are days I don't feel much baby movements. Sometimes it's so soft that I need to be observant to catch them
My baby movements are very soft, like bubbles popping or fluttering like baby very "wen1 rou2" type haha! My gynae mentioned don't worry about baby movements. That is more important when come to 28 weeks onwards

Hi jas, piyo,
sigh..sometimes i think i worry too much..sigh...coz i am beginning to feel bb movements quite obviously and it is like sometimes my tummy will move up n down..n today like no movement n i got quite worried..sigh..somemore yest think i had a bad scare when sleeping..
Was having the feeling or dreams that something is pressing on my tummy n it hurts so much n suddenly i was jostled awake n my heart was racing so fast..so worried abt bb...
So guess now i am kind of worried abt bb n hence was asking if it is normal if we dun feel bb movements for a day lor..sigh...guess it is reali so much assuring when we can feel bb movements..

Hi wanli
This morning when i went to the yahoo auction wanted to buy the nurser that u recommended me.. only realised it's bidded away.. sad sad..

Each pregnancy is unique, so maybe ur baby gain weight slower. Some babies weight suddenly shoot up in 3rd trimester, some slow down in other weeks. So dun worry, as long as u eat appropriately n sleep well, should be very good.

Hi augbaby, jas
For me, i feel baby movement everyday, but i dun count how many times.. sometimes when i quite attended to other things and bochap.. feel that the movements r less, but i think maybe bcos i dun pay attention lor. He'll kick whenever his daddy talk to him, so if i wan to make sure, i'll ask his dad to talk to him, when he kicks i am relief.

Hi Dino
I easily feel hot and easily feel cold too. I get used to sleep with aircon on nowadays. When i tried not to turn it on the other day trying to get use to wat i'll have in confinement month (cannot have aircon rite), i sweat alot and din sleep well, in the end got to change my clothes (all wet) and switch on aircon to sleep.. worse still.

wanli, dino,
I also have leg cramps in middle of night whenever i trying to pull my legs straight. But i can sense that my legs gonna cramp, before they cramp, i pull my legs straight with heels pointing forward, the cramps won't occur. This is a method to help pple with leg cramps too.

Hi Piyo,
no, i no change my nickname.
my detail no in table.

Nick: foonny
EDD : 29 Aug 06
BB gender : boy
Gynae and hosp still not sure yet, cos i plan going back to msia

HELO MUMMIES!

Wow finally finish my detailed scan on last sat!
Btt most imptly glad bb is doing well, growing in e right pace too..

Weight abt 340g.. think should be ok bah. Hehe finally get to see e gender.. ITS A GAL! wow finally.. though hb seems abit disappointed cos he always wished for a boy.. bt well wat to do.

She is so noti.. was moving n moving n my scan took abt 40-45mins! She was like playing drum inside.. her little hands was beating drum n playing n playing.. after a while sucking her thumbs n keep still!

Wow realli cant wait for her arrival.. hmm time to think of names too!!!

Well PIYO,, need u to do some updating liao! tks!

Hi Buffel,
You sound so excited! Congrats on knowing it's a ger and clearing the scan! Our EDDs are so close, sekali we pop same time!
Now you can go baby shopping liao! Have you thought of any names?

Hi Foony, I did the update liao!

Hi Augbaby,
wow! your baby very active! That's good! at least you felt the movements so don't worry so much!

HI chrys,
yah, no choice loh, I can't do anything. As long as the baby still within normal range then I happy already.

I heard people said during confinement can still on the aircon but not more than 26 degree and can not directly facing us. Without aircon I also can not sleep...

Thanks for the advices on the leg cramps, I got to try this out. Because my case is exactly same as you when I pull my legs straight then the cramp will come......

<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD>NAME</TD><TD>AGE</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>OBGYN</TD><TD>HOSPITAL</TD><TD>GENDER </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>Sandy Kerk</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>31-Jul-06</TD><TD>Dr Chen</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">GIRL</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>Connie</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>01-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr KK Ho</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>Rain</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>01-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">GIRL</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>Chrys</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>02-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>Peacy</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>02-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Tan HK</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">1BOY</font>&amp;<font color="aa00aa">2 GIRLS</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>Wanli</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>02-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">GIRL</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>Babymum</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>04-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Tanny Chan</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>Kelly</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>04-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>Bottle</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>06-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>KKH </TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>Jfong</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>07-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">GIRL</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>Babyboy</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>10-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>CJ</TD><TD>35</TD><TD>10-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr SC Chew</TD><TD>MEH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>Augustmum</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>12-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>Bearybear</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>12-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Ho HK</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>Leobbsmom</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>12-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr W K Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">GIRL</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>Dino</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>13-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD>Honeyhaven</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>13-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD>Ningyo</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>14-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Kenneth Lee</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>Yipee</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>15-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr W K Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">GIRL</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>Ling2</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>17-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr K H Tan</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>Sierra</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>17-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">2GIRLS</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>22</TD><TD>Jas</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>18-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">GIRL</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD>Zshih</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>19-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">GIRL</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>24</TD><TD>Celine</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>20-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">GIRL</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>25</TD><TD>Michelle</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>20-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Adelina Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>26</TD><TD>Catherine Wong</TD><TD>23</TD><TD>21-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>KKH </TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">GIRL</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>27</TD><TD>Augbaby</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>23-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Adelina Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>28</TD><TD>Piyo</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>23-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Fong Chuan Wee</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">GIRL</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>29</TD><TD>Buffel</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>25-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">GIRL</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>30</TD><TD>Erin00</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>25-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Judy Wong</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>31</TD><TD>Butter8</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>29-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Joan Thong</TD><TD>Raffles</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>32</TD><TD>Foonny</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>29-Aug-06</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>?</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>33</TD><TD>Jasmine Lau</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>30-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr. Denas Chandras</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">GIRL</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>34</TD><TD>Lala</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>30-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr LC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>35</TD><TD>Mrschng</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>30-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Tan LK</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Congrat CT,

You can start shopping loh
!

Hi Foony,
Is that mean you may need to take 1 mth off in advance before yr EDD?

hi mummies >> do anyone know how stretch mark look like ?? I got alot of red like vien showing on my tigh, backside , the side of my two leg. Been apply stretch mark cream...

Hi wanli,
no, will resign here. My hubby want go back Msia after have baby, can't change his mind..
So, will find job after deliver.

sandy, i also dunno how stretch marks look like.. been very hardworking in apply mosituriser around tummy and thighs. actually my colleague told me tat even buttocks need to take care.

i heard from colleague - how strech marks started off with small red dots, then red lines will trail off from the red dots..tats strech marks according to her.

dunno how true this is...any mom can affirm tat?

Hi Wanli, Chrys,
I did ask gynae about the cramp. She told me that i do not have enough calcium, therefore causing leg cramp. I also feel the same as chrys. There are times when i drink fresh milk b4 sleep, but I do get cramps. So i suspect probaby cant drink cold fresh milk too. So now I warm up the milk before I drink. The frequency of leg cramp is lesser.

Leobbsmon>> the way u describe extactly like my situation.. OMG will that go away after birth ?? It is so ugly. My tummy big until i got problem just wear pants.. don't feel confortable bending and i don't like rubber type pants. It either too lose kept falling off or too tight until u cannot breath.
I left with 3 mth more so i don't intend to invest on anymore maternity clothes..
So expensive...

Hi Sandy,
I think what u have is stretch mark. When u start applying stretch mark cream? Once you get it very difficult to disappear.... but no choice even u apply cream early but sometime will still get it. What can we do is continue using it....

What leobbsmom said is correct. We need to apply it not only on tummy but also thigh and buttocks. Sometimes, I apply it on my back also because my mum said somebody may even backside also got those ugly line.....

Hi foonny,
U mean both u and yr hubby will resign then go back Malaysia before baby EDD? That's really a big decision. Any special reasons?

Hi Dino,
hmmm.....really because not enough calcium? I only drink one glass of milk per day but I did take extra calcium given by doctor.... really curious why still not enough calcium.
I only got legs cramp from 20 weeks onward... dunno is that because as we get closer to EDD then we need more calcium. How many glass of milk you drink per day?

Yah, forgot to say. If you not too sure whether you will breastfeed after delivery can actually buy Avent manual pump (heard it is quite good), which is selling quite cheap at Cheong Choon, think around $50. Which I think is better than buying second hand pump, at least it is still with warranty.

I am dun noe how to tell if i have stretch marks..any one got any pictures to share? Hee hee..anyway, check wif u ah, have anyone of u bought a sterliser for bb bottles? Any good but reasoable one that is gd that anyone can recommed? Got no idea abt it as well..thanks in advance

augbaby: my frens got the Nuk steam steriliser for me during the JL sale...i'm not sure if it's really good, but at least it can be used for a variety of bottles....for Avent steam steriliser, it can only fit Avent bottles.

u may wanna consider other forms of sterilising, like the tablet form?

any mummies can advise?

sierra
it's not true tat u can only put avent bottles in avent steam steriliser. i use pigeon/nuk &amp; other brandless bottles in my avent steriliser. no problems watsoever.

wanli, chrys, dino
i kenna cramps 1-2x and consulted my gynae. my gynae, Dr Lawrence Ang said it's not due 2 lack of calcium (despite wat i was told by my GFs). he said it's due 2 muscle straining, hence e cramps early in e morn or late at nite. i hv 2 agree wif him cos my calcium intake never decrease n it was abt the same as my 1st pregnancy but for tis pregnancy, i carry my 11kg+ boy regularly, bend down very often (pick up his toys/stuff) and walk/run a lot more.

HI augbaby &amp; sierra,
Think kelly recommended pigeon &amp; avent sterilizer before. Saw many mummies buy pigeon sterilizer, think may be because it is cheaper and also good. During promotion it is selling $87. Personnaly I prefer the avent sterilizer......it is selling $129 during promotion.

HI PIYO &amp; WANLI!

Ya v excited n relieve... well shopping not realli cos i got alot of hands down clothing lo.. maybe jus a few sets new one.. hehe pinkish!

Now jus kinda worried n no confidence in taking care of bb when she is out.. well worry if she keep crying n cant handle etc.. haiz.. cant we stop worrying.

Was looking at toys instead... so many &amp; plenty are not jus normal toys BUT v intellectual.. esp Fisher price.. hmm aim a few liao.. of cos not spoiling our little darling.

As for name.. only think of 1.. Natalie. I find it sweet n wish she is sweet. CHinese we may need to chose a few too to let master decide too when she is born.. Kai3Xin1 is one of it. Means wan her to be happy n cheerful always &amp; looking positively not like her mummy.

Well will look more into christian &amp; chinese name before deciding. WOW v fast we are gg half of our pregnancy liao.. maybe we could arrange a meet up at central town to chat &amp; makan...
Im starting to eat more n more recently liao.. scary... trying to control bt dono jus cant seems to stop it!

Maybe when things is smooth for us n happy we tend to eat more! hehee

Hi Wanli,
Thanks for suggesting the Avent manual pump. I did thought of getting that. Also saw from other threads that manual pump maybe painful. A bit scared. Thinking of the Medela electric pump, but dunno whether i will use it for long. I will attend the parentcraft course and see what the instructor says before investing one. I drink 2 cups of milk per day. if I drink 1 cup, i will eat calcium tablets. But I do get cramps too, most of the time in the early morning, just before my wake up time.

Hi CT,
If you worry abt handling your baby. Maybe you can consider the parentcraft course, or start reading books on child care.

Hi Piyo &amp; gals !

I have cleared my detailed scan. Confirm bb GIRL
Now 21 weeks, my gal is weighing at 391g.

Everything is normal except that my placenta is on the low side. Doc says the placenta is now blocking my internal OS (ie. the passage way to virgina). Usually the placenta will move upwards when the womb further expand with the pregnancy. But if it still blocks the OS till due date. Then confirm need to go for caesarean.

hi lala,
i m in same situation as u. placenta is v low and blocking my cervix-- placenta previa. hopefully it will move up at later stage so we can consider natural birth.

chrys,
if w/out the nurser bottle, maybe u can jus pour into ur own feeding bottle to feed. i m not using avent pump but will pour into avent liner bags to keep in fridge. after dat, will pour into any brand milk bottle to feed. so far dat is my plan.

Hi Kelly,

i realised our due date quite close and we r seeing the same gynae... wonder if we ve seen each other b4

when's ur next appt? mine's on 2 May.

jfong,
mine's on 9may. i can change my appt til 2may, definitely dun mind seeing my bb earlier. wat x is ur appt? u seeing dr ang at sunplaza rt?

hmmm... my gynae did not mention much on the placenta, only causally mention that it's ok. Next appt must ask him on this

Generally, how many weeks would you be when you go for the next appt after the detailed scan?

Hi cj and chrys,

Regarding the nurser bottle, on and off I still see people selling it on yahoo auction. So if i saw it next time will keep you posted.

For those with low placenta, do you feel some pressure pain on your cervix area? Like when u lift up your legs, do u feel slight pain? I also have low lying placenta but just slightly off the cervix when i did my detail scan at week 20. Now wk23, it seems to be better, maybe it has move up already as my tummy gets bigger...

any1 knows how much cheong choon is selling the avent steriliser and the pigeon steriliser? which brand of steriliser is better? i'm not sure abt the difference but saw the price is somewhat different when I was at metro. how abt prams? heard a lot of people recommending maclaren. any1 heard of any reviews on combi or graco? my budget's around $300 for pram.

I went shopping during the weekends. bought a set of body suits from mothercare, piyo milk formula container, waterproof changing mat and a set of booties. Will be buying the steriliser, pram, matress and bed linen soon so trying to get some information before I make the purchase.

Hi erin00,
I think u should buy during Mothercare fair next mth or singapore sales on June. May be can get more discount. Pigeon Sterilizer can get $87, I still saw it is on promotion price at Metro. For Cheong Choon I'm not so sure how much they selling the Pigeon but Avent sterilizer they selling $135. I think these 2 brands both are good, the price is different because one is manufacture at china and another at UK.

Pram is quite difficult to recommend, it depend what functions you looking at. Can go to baby hypermart to take a look different models before you make the decision
. Before buy remember call to cheong choon compare the price first.

sandy...hahaah i didn't notice! wat a coincidence! lol

kelly: thanks for clarifying that! i always have the impression that the avent steriliser is meant for its own bottles only...

erin00,

Motherhood fair @ Expo from 31st May onwards.. May 27th onwards is the Great Singapore Sale. You can do a good comparison then.. strollers, u can get after delivery also.. good if your frens are getting you gifts or vouchers..

hi jasmine,
my sisters are getting me the stroller so I decided to buy it earlier. thanks for the information. guess will wait until next month then. but xin yang yang. feel like buying soon.
me rather excited liao after started on the 1st purchase. hee hee...

btw, can help me inform ju n the rest that I will not be going this fri. no time to chat on msn these couple of days. so sorry.