(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

hi peacy,

I have the same plan as you, I'll bring my baby to my in-law's house with maid. She has to help up my MIL meaning doing house work too.

I will bring back my baby and maid in the night time during weekday. No intentation to ask maid to do housework at my own house during weekday.

Weekend, my baby and maid will stay with us whole day, meaning maid has to do housework at my own house too. Do we need to pay extra for maid? I don't think so lay.

I have similar plans as peacy and jaspeng, only dif is we should be bringing the maid and the bay to my mum's house in the morning then come afternoon, my parents would fetch them back to our house then my mil wld come in and look after till we are back. then the maid can do look after baby, do some housework in our house and prepare dinner for us. Something like that.
We have just interviewed some maids and we have just confirmed one yesterday. She should be coming to our place late next week. Then my old folks and I can start training her on housework and cooking. she has about 4months to settle down b4 the baby comes. When the baby comes, the confinement lady can then teach her more on baby care. So we have sort of plan the "training" and settling down schedule for her. In the event that she cannot do the job, we still have time to change maids.

Hi Celine,

Think the giddiness could probably be due to lack of iron or low blood pressure.
Mayb u can ask ur gynae to check and see if u need to take iron tablets.

celine,
tat was wat i was getting these few days so rushed 2 c gynae yesterday. i didnt wanna play play abt it cos when i was abt 2 give birth 2 my 1st boy, i had such sensations...menses-like cramps, very bad aches on lower back n e sensation of going 2 e toilet.

jfong, piyo
thks for ur concern. must b very careful nowadays. mayb carry my son too much or play around wif him too much.

piyo,
care 2 share wat kinda maid u got? new maid fr overseas? or transfer maid? which agency did u get it fr? how much was ur agency fees? wat did u pay for? pls give breakdown if possible. how much is ur maid's pay? (pai seh...very kay po but i getting a maid too so wanna check around) thks!

Hi Kelly
I dunno wat does contraction feel like, i also dunno is what i was experiencing called tightening, i dunno how to describe it to my gynae when she asked me. I only can say it's like light menses cramp inside, normally i'll experience this light cramp few days before my menses come, it's not like the real menses cramp, becos my menses cramp is quite painful one. So, kinda worried, dunno why i'll experience this cramp now, dunno what's the indication..

Hi jas
We also intend to bring them back at night on weekday and send them to my in law place in the morning.....I also told my hubby that she won't be doing housework for us on weekday coz by the time we come back, it is night time already....She will only clean our house on weekend...I also don't feel the need to pay her extra...

Hi Kelly,
Think you got a better pic after talking on the phone with me
Good luck in your search for maid! I also keeping fingers crossed on mine
YOu wanna know anything more, just ask k?

hi piyo,
thanks for e info. i already called ur agent, shld b going down 2 c her tis wkend.

hi chrys,
tightening is a feeling where ur whole belly feels very tight (i dunno if tis makes sense 2 u). for me, when my belly feels tight, even my husband can feel it. he'll press on my belly n it's harder 2 press down. not like on normal situations, when u can press down as if u r poking e belly. tightening of belly is no fun cos it feels as if u r wearing a tight rubberband across ur whole belly n is very uncomfortable.

as for contractions, when i was preggie wif #1, i also dunno wat's contractions. i also know i get aches at the bottom of my belly, below the belly button area.

in tis pregnancy, i get such aches very regularly (according 2 my gynae, i'm straining my stomach muscles) and the aches goes all e way 2 my lower back. tat was wat scares me cos when i was abt 2 go into labour, i kept getting aches on my lower back. the feeling is like somebody wringing ur lower back as if the person is drying a piece of clothing. damn painful!

in summary...
1st pregnancy = also buay hiao abt contractions, got achy feeling on lower part of belly n tightening feeling
2nd pregnancy = tightening & aching feeling happening very often, together wif lower back aches.

hi piyo,
thanks for e info. i already called ur agent, shld b going down 2 c her tis wkend.

hi chrys,
tightening is a feeling where ur whole belly feels very tight (i dunno if tis makes sense 2 u). for me, when my belly feels tight, even my husband can feel it. he'll press on my belly n it's harder 2 press down. not like on normal situations, when u can press down as if u r poking e belly. tightening of belly is no fun cos it feels as if u r wearing a tight rubberband across ur whole belly n is very uncomfortable.

as for contractions, when i was preggie wif #1, i also dunno wat's contractions. i also know i get aches at the bottom of my belly, below the belly button area.

in tis pregnancy, i get such aches very regularly (according 2 my gynae, i'm straining my stomach muscles) and the aches goes all e way 2 my lower back. tat was wat scares me cos when i was abt 2 go into labour, i kept getting aches on my lower back. the feeling is like somebody wringing ur lower back as if the person is drying a piece of clothing. damn painful!

in summary...
1st pregnancy = also buay hiao abt contractions, got achy feeling on lower part of belly n tightening feeling
2nd pregnancy = tightening & aching feeling happening very often, together wif lower back aches.

Kelly
Thanks for explaining.
Hmm.. i dun think i experience tightening leh.. i dun have the tight feeling that u described.
Neither did i have contraction leh.. weird.. haha.. just some crampy feelig..

just curious, how much we need to pay for getting a maid?

hi kelly,
I'm not sure mine is contractions or wat. sometimes very tight n crampy. yest was quite bad. cramping for a while. then sudden sharp stabbing pain in the lower abdomen n below. it's on and off. also have backache. is this normal?

Went to my 24 weeks check up, gained 2.5kg in a mth. So total I have gained 7+ kg already. But baby weight still in small size range, which mean all the fat goto me
. Seem like what I eat for the past 1 mth baby don't like to eat....

Hi Dino, chrys & augbaby
Dr Wong bought a new equipment which can hear baby heart beat very clear :D!!

Also consult her on which breast pump is good, She said she using mendela before, it is not bad. But she just tried Avent IQ Duo which she personally feel even better, can pump out more milk. The problem is Avent IQ DUo is very expensive.

Hi wanli
ya ya.. i got to listen to my baby's heart beat too last week.. hehe.. She said it's a very expensive machine.. Did she comment anything on ur weight gain? I think if i gain alot in this month again, i dare not go to see her liao.. What's ur baby's weight now?

She encouraged 1st time mum to take epidural, she said she had it for her 2 babies. U mean she just tried Avent IQ Duo? meaning she still bf'ng her babies?? How much is Avent IQ Duo btw?

Hi chrys,
Yah, she told me the new equipment cost $700. Because we also bought the Bebe sound but still can not hear baby heart beat....... only can hear when the baby is kicking :p.

So far she said my weight gain still under normal range but will definitely more than 12kg (which is the perfect weight gain)
. My baby only 569g, she said is on the small side. but she also said small size will have easy delivery and the labour hr will not take longer than those carry big size baby loh.

She did told me she took epidural for twice
. She said no need decide so early, need to see the situation during the delivery but so far she got no side effect of the epidural. I'm not so sure whether she still bf her baby but Aven IQ Duo just launch last year end. So I assume she tried it not long ago. Avent IQ DUO is about $799. It is really expensive that's why I intend to buy AVENT IQ UNO which is $279.

wanli
Thanks for the lobang.. but i already stock up 5 boxes already leh.. wait later cannot finish(bought too many at Isetan haha..) how many boxes have u bought leh? But if i wan more i'll order from Tanlengleng bcos i also buy fenugreek from her, easier for collection lor.. will be crazy if i buy again right.. Do u buy some fenugreek too? i asked Dr Wong about this herb before, she said she used to buy when GNC's having sales, it worked for her.

Hi chrys,
The link I give you is not the disposable liner only. It actually selling the holder where u can put yr liner inside the holder. (but it will be more useful if u r using avent breast pump).

I think I bought more liner than you :p, because bought some from yahoo auction, now should have 7 boxes. I intend to buy fenugreek also, u got any lobang? but we only need to eat after deliver right?

hi wanli
oh i thot the liner can be put in any brands of milk bottles? So this Avent conventional nurser is specially used together wif the liners? Do u buy this type of nurser too? wah.. u r really very determined in bf ya.. so die die must have milk production.. else dunno wat gonna do wif the liners!!

I ordered fenugreek from Tanlengleng-bulk purchase from US, GNC brand, its on the way flying in. 200 tablets for $30. GNC in sin sells 100 tab for $26.90. If u r GNC members n buy in ur birthday month get 35% disc. Else, u can buy from marketplace, some pple sell open/unopen bottle for cheaper price.

Hi chrys, wanli,
me also interested in fenugreek leh..but it is confirm safe to consume rite..n it is in pill form..heard abt it but not sure wat it is actually..juz know it helps increase flow of BM..

chrys,
thks for e links. i didnt know there's a website by e name of kellymom. LOL!

i used fernugreek when i was BFg but only ate 1 bottle. didnt continue further cos not comfortable 2 eat it. i tik it works for some pp but not everyone. i was trying a few methods at one go so dunno which method work for me in e end.

HI chrys,
hehhe....not so sure got enough milk supply or not but just prepare whatever I can loh. I told myself if I didn't BF for long but those liner can still used it for second baby or give it to my sister, so no waste.

Yah, the nurser is specially design to use with the liner. Last time I bought the liner from the shopping centre and the sales gal told me this nurser already stop production. I already bought one also.

wanli
How much is the nurser normally selling at? Can the disposable blue tinted teat be bought separately?

piyo
Actually it's not necessary to take it now, can take after delivery. My gynae said if we have enough milk no need to take, but if no/less milk, can take to increase milk production.

kelly
hmm.. u have shares in at co isit?

Just got in contact with the mummy who organised the fenugreek bulk purchase. If there r pple interested in buying it, she may consider organising another bulk purhcase since it's cheaper than getting from stores locally. What do u think?

Hi all, my gynea suspect me having a girl girl..
I have tight tummy feeling... by the way, anyone here deliver b4 week 38??
I have the tight tummy feeling.. some time cannot sleep well because i feel stretch in every position i try.. hiaz....

Hi chrys,
If I not remember wrongly, it is like selling $16 plus. I believe the blue tinted teat can find easily outside (you can always ask the seller before u bid
). But I didn't really care about the teat loh because I intend to connect this disposable holder (with liner inside) with the pump, so that milk extracted directly to the liner.

hi Sandy,
Your EDD is near late July right? have you gone for detailed scan already?

Hi Chrys,
Do we think if we buy now it's a bit too early since we are not going to consume it till after popping?what you think?

wanli
when u buy the avent breast pump (any type), it will come along wif 1 or 2 milk bottles to be connected to the pump rite? by inserting the liner into the bottles, then these bottles also function the same as the avent nurser? *scratching head*

piyo
hmm.. i dun think it's too early, for me only left 3 more mths to go before i pop. I like to plan things ahead n dun like last minute thingy, so i buy now lor, but it's all depend on u lor.. The expiry date for this product can last for few years.

Hello Ladies,

Long time no talk! been busy with work.. I had that crampy feeling last night too... feels like menstrual cramps, scared me until i decided to call my gynae's emergency hotline...

Anyway, i took a warm shower and rested and it went away 30 min later.. my gynae was prepared to ask me to go down to East Shore Hospital for a scan if it continued..

Later on, he explained that it could be my uterus is twisting & shifting in position..??
Anyway, i am glad it is over.. my baby is confirmed a girl at my detailed scan and it weighs 267gms at almost week 20. :p

Baby's english name is decided: Jadienne Kwok.

Seen most of you have started shopping.. but i am still refraining.. waiting for sale period..

Hi Chrys,
Think you go ahead and get 1st.. me will wait for bit later

Hi Jasmine,
hope you are feeling better now. I got cramps in the 1st tri after which I am on pills which helps to relax the uterus. Think they help
Congrats on knowing it's a ger!

Talking about shopping, I just bought a Laura Ashley dress that comes with matching short pants and matching hat so flowery so sweet! Think I must control liao else will overspend!

HI chrys,

This nurser is different from the normal bottle, because the bottom of the nurser can be open and there are clip to clip on the liner on 2 sides. You can check the avent liner you bought, in front of the box got an example of this nurser.

Hi jasmine, congrats on clearing ur detailed scan n knowing gender of ur baby

piyo,
it's fine.. i m not selling it either.. maybe u dun need it at all. heee..

wanli
oic. Btw, wat brands of milk bottles u intend to buy? Avent/Pigeon/others?
So, satisfied seeing ur baby after 1 month apart? remember to scan the picture, else wil fade off.

Hi chrys,
Not prepare to buy any milk bottle yet, since if I buy the avent pump and sterilizer will have few free milk bottles

Actually never feel satisfy lei :p, baby look bigger now and difficult to capture the whole baby in the scan. So the picture look not so clear.....

Congrat Jasmine!
Jadienne is a very nice name.

Piyo >> I went for my detailed scan already. Everything fine but just still cannot get a difinite ans for baby gender. The Gynea wrote No male genital found. It could be female. Duh...
I feel my tummy stretch and tight. I got some " red" line near my waist, tight and even backside. Now putting stretch mark cream hope it go away.

Just went for my check up yesterday. I am currently at week 24. Did the growth scan yesterday. My babies are growing consistently...From the scan, can see that all of them curled up...I think they don't have enough space to stretch.....My first gal was so active that she refused to position for the ultrasounist to measure her head....My boy is not so active and my 2nd gal was looking at us and mouth wide opened as if she is hungry when my ultrasonist was taking photo of them. So cute...All of them weigh about 700g each at week 24....my gynae was quite happy with my progress and want me to stay at home till my next visit to see him which is week 28...me going to attend the breastfeeding class next week....anyone of you have started attending classes?

Hi Peacy,
Congrat! yr baby progress so well. 700g for each is that on large size? Where u attend the class? I will attend my parantcraft class end of the mth.

Hi Peacy,
Congrats on the progress of your babies! Is it an anenatal class you are attending? or strictly a breastfeeding class? where and how much did you pay?

peacy,
wow! 700g each for ur babes is a very gd size. i carrying only 1 n my boy's 720g at 23wks+. do take care n hold ur bbs as long as u can.

just went for checkup today, did the detail scan, everything ok..but gynae said my weight gained too slow. Before pregnant 42kg, now 45.5kg on 21 weeks.

Hi Foony,

really? my pre pregnancy weight is 44kg and i now weigh 46kg, but my gynae never say anything leh.. maybe cos my baby's size is ok. What is your baby's estimated weight during detailed scan?

hi foonny,
think ur weight gain is ok. my pre-pregnancy weight is 48kg. now 51kg at wk 21. gynae says it's ok. think as long as bb is growing well, dun have to worry too much.

congrats on clearing the detailed scan. have u found out the gender of ur bb?

Hi wanli
I will only be attending the breastfeeding class and parentcraft class. I will be going for my breastfeeding class next tues night.

Hi piyo
I will be attending both breastfeeding and parentcraft classes in SGH. Each session last for 2 hours and each session costs $22. I hope they are useful especially for first time mum.

Hi kelly
Thanks! I will definitely take very good care of myself for the sake of my babies. My re had instructed that I am not allowed to go out except to the hospital. However, I was kind of stubborn and I went out for a while on fri to buy some baby stuff. I nearly slipped in the carpark and got a good scolding from my hubby. After which, I think I have a kind of phobia for going out so now I will really be more obedient as to stay at home. I will only leave the house for my anenatal class and to the hospital. My hubby has been reminding me that if anything happens, he won't forgive me.....

baby size is ok, my weight gain slow because my appetite still no that good..and i had constipation problem...

Erin00,
is baby boy.

I went to baby hypermart over the weekend and big damage!
We finally bot the Quinny Zapp and the Maxi Cosi car seat! From birth till 1 yr, we will use be using the car seat on the Quinny then subsequently change to the Quinny seat after she turns 1! At least, we can maximise the use of both the purchase! and we can use the stroller till 45kg which is about like 4 yrs old I think:
) Happy with the buys!

Hi Peacy,
Can we just join the breastfeeding clas if we are not delivering in SGH?

Hi Foony,
My wt incease since beginning of maternity till 20 weeks was 4 kg, somewhere near yours but doc also no mention anything. I still worried he will ask me watch my weight somemore!

Do I Have your details in the table? Cos I cannot locate it when I am updating the table. Did you change your nick?