(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Hi Kelly,

I done at the clinic. I am 1.66cm and I husband is 1.74cm. So I think is quite average lah. I hope my ger ger height can be like me :p
We also see both her eyes in 3D, but thru out the scan, she cannot settle down.. ha ha. I think I forgot to talk to her the night before to calm her down..
So another month time to be able to see her again. kind of miss her lei. I put on 5 kg in total le. Wondering how much weight I will be at the end of the pregnancy.
My Dr also commented that I have low lying placenta but he say is too early to worry about at this point. He will re check at my Wk 34-36 again. He say normally it will move up. Hopefully everything is fine

Hi Rain,
2 me, u r tall...me only 1.56m and husband is 1.73m. tat's y me not surprised y my son took my genes. in fact most pp says he looks like me now though he looks like my husband when he was 1st born.

Hi, this is my 1st baby, and due date around end of August.
But until now i still feel no appetite, and feel want to vomit especially evening and night, is it normal? I tot morning sickness will end around 12 weeks, how come I still feel want to vomit?

I asked my gynae last checkup, he asked me bear for few more weeks....

I only eat little for dinner, i scare no enuf nutrient for bb..

hi foonny,
i've come a few mummies who experienced MS thru' out their pregnancy. i just met a mummy who didnt kenna MS in the 1st trimester but she's getting MS now. no one is the same in their pregnancies. u need 2 hang in there. if i not wrong, by a certain time if ur MS dun improve, ur gynae may prescribe u wif some medication 2 help u with it.

also, dun worry abt ur bb not getting nutrients. there are many factors 2 consider whether anot ur bb's getting enuf nutrients from the food u consume. i come across a mummy in a mar06 or apr06 MTB thread whose bb is not getting enuff nutrients bcos something wrong wif the placenta.
if u r running low on iron, u may also not deliver enuff nutrients 2 ur bb. even if u r eating lots, ur bb may not b absorbing for dunno-wat reasons.
my understanding from my gynae is tat bbs are smart, they'll figure some way 2 absorb as much as possible from mummy. in some instances, some mummies are losing weight but bbs are gaining weight.

just make sure u consume food from all the food groups...carbo, protein, fats, fibre, etc.

When i went for routine checkup around 13-14 weeks, I just simply asked my gynae abt bb gender. After he checked, he said is boy.

We can know bb gender around 13 wks? I not sure it accurate or not..may ask again gynae to confirm..:p

Kelly,
U explained very clearly, now i roughly understand.

Rain,
Glad to hear that ur ger ger is fine!

Welcome onboard foonny!

My GF just gave birth to twins boy this morning at KKH. I wish to visit her, anyone knows if it's pantang?

chrys,
i've been visiting my GFs when they popped even when i was preggie. i just visited my GF in end feb when she gave birth 2 a boy in MEH.

i know some pp pantang abt tis but i not pantang so i just go. the only thing i am pantang abt is no visiting of GFs in hospitals & going 2 bb's 1st mth celebration in 1st trimester. old folks said bb not stable yet, betta dun go.

foony,
Welcome! Glad to have another one to share and support one other during these months.

My morning sickness was also very bad. vomiting till dehydrated. now usually feel nausea in the evening or at night like u. don't worry, it'll get better. I'm just so glad now that it's nausea and not vomiting. press on.

Don't worry abt your child lacking the nutrients. gynae told me that bb will still retain some nutrients no matter how bad our vomiting is. If you are really worried, do take multi-vits (if you can't keep tablets in like what I do at 1st, try multi-vits in syrup form).

With regards to knowing your bb's gender, shd be accurate if it's a boy. My colleague got to know hers at wk 13 as it was obvious. Congrats on having a boy!

chrys,
I heard it's pantang. Not supposed to attend any weddings, bb's full month celebration or funerals. it's all up to individual whether you choose to believe. I'll still be attending my friend's wedding in May.

kelly,
i went to your shopping site, wow so exciting, baby bags and diaper bags... if shoppaholic sure spend until burn hole in pocket.. so nice some of those bags.

congrats phooney... nice to know ur bb sex

me still dunno.. cross fingers - next week!

rain,
ur gal so cute...must be fun at such detail scan..

Congrat Rain, finally you clear yr details scan
!! I will going for my details scan tomorrow wish me luck.

Welcome foonny!
Don't worry too much about the MS, my case is same as Erin00. I feel nausea in the evening until my week 17th. Now I'm in my 20th week and no more MS. but I also have fren who still vomiting although already in week 23th.

foonny,
i come across a GF who told me she saw the sex of her bb at 13wks so ur gynae shld be quite 'zhun'. after all, a boy's gender is more easily distinguished than girl's rt? :p
congrats on having a boy!

jasmine,
my MIL & mother also forbade me 2 visit but i heck care. the least i do is 2 tell my bb tat i'm visiting so & so and seeing a new bb. i also dun carry the newborn, just in case my GF and/or her family are pantang abt it.

i've come across pp telling me tat they dun like preggies carrying newborn.

butter8,
talk abt burning hole in pocket, i dunno burn how many holes liao when i had my 1st bb. now i really control a lot.

wanli,
good luck for ur detailed scan 2mrw. mine's next mon. quite excited but also a bit worried abt it.

Thanks Kelly

Can understand yr feeling, I feel the same. But when I start worried I will talk to the baby, tell her we love her so much and she must be a health baby. After that I will feel better :p ! Anyway, we must confident with the baby loh. Wish u good luck for the details scan too, monday is very soon

I am not pantang but i check with my SIL, she said dun go wor, so i think i won't go lor, just in case, my GF who just gave birth also ask me dun go, she said better avoid going to hospitals for my own good. I managed to sms wif her, she tried natural birth w/o epi at first, but couldn't endure anymore and chose surgery. She said too painful..
cannot imagine how painful it'll be..

wanli
Good luck! Do update us after the scan. U'll be given mc tmr rite?

Kelly,
Where to get those diaper bags in Sin? How much?

Rain,
Ur ger was so active during the scan. I couldn't feel any movement when i lied down waiting for the radiographer, me & DH trying to wake him up by talking and stroking my tummy, still no movement. We realised that baby was sleeping quietly for the whole 15 min from the screen, only at the end of the scan, he rubbed his eys and just woke up.. sleepy baby..

chrys,
all of 3 kept trying 2 wake him up huh? my GF whose bb was sleepy, was told by the radiographer 2 take a brisk walk for 15mins 2 'wake up the bb'.

u can find allerhand bags in motherworks, bayb supplies & mothercare. for oi oi, u can find it in mothercare only. for fleurville, there's a local website tat brings in fleurville diaper bags but i cant find tat link now. mayb they dun bring in anymore.
most bags are min $100.

Thanks chrys,
Yah, Dr said will give me MC :p hehhehe..... anyway, hubby still need to apply half day leave accompany me.

wah, yr baby so cute rubbed his eye.....What is yr baby length now? Did the doctor ever let you listen the baby heartbeat sound?

My DH is very notti, he always talk to baby and ask him to kick his mum. (siao rite?) He always ask me, "is he kicking u now" If i say no, he wil talk to baby and ask him to wake up, kick lah, whatever.. sometimes it's bed time he stil wan to wake baby up, i so scared next time baby also wake up at our bed time.

In fact the radiographer said it's good that baby is sleeping/ lying down quietly when she's doing the detail scanning, it'll fasten the process.

We just like to tease our baby, not meaning to wake him up.
Sometimes when i do big business, i'll tell him that mama is ps now, isit smelly, endure ok.. (crazy me hor.. :p)

My gynae told me that once we can feel the baby movement already, it'll help us to monitor if our little one is ok. If the baby doesn't move or kick for the whole day, we better pat lightly on tummy to wake him up. If too long no movement, we can go to clinic for a scan. She said sometimes when baby's too active kicking, the umbilical cord may go round his neck, it's dangerous if it's tight around the neck.

wanli,
thanks for ur assurance. i tik i started 2 worry cos i have been having strange dreams abt my bb having hole in a heart, hole on the forehead, tons of pimples on his legs, etc. i also read abt the bbs who have problems shown during detailed scans. when i share them wif my husband, he said i'm scaring myself and i shld stop reading all these stuff.

like i said b4, for my 1st pregnancy, i dunno wat detailed scan is, i just blur blur went in and did it. for tis, the more i learn, the more scared i tend 2 b.

wanli
My baby now measures 15cm from head-buttock. But radiographer said normally won't measure this from now onwards, as it's not important and too big to measure, baby curl up also diff to measure. They'll estimate baby weight by adding part by part eg. head + body, etc. Backbone length is more important.

I am thinking of ordering tingkat service (dinner catering). Any good recommendation?

chrys,
u r not crazy. i also talked a lot 2 my 1st boy when i was carrying him.

i used 2 work fr 11am-7pm so by the time i woke up, husband was off 2 work so i started my day by saying gd morn 2 bb, telling bb wat i was doing in the morn (brush teeth, do big biz, shower, change clothes, wear shoes, eat BF, walk 2 e bus stop, wait for bus, etc). if i was rushing for work by walking faster cos i was late, i would tell my bb too. when i eating lunch, i would tell bb i eating wat for lunch. i would say wat i drink too.

basically i worked in a environment wif my own room so i can talk nonstop 2 my bb. when i was wif my colleagues, i also talk n my colleagues dun mind. husband n i also talked nonstop 2 my 1st boy once we are back home.

now i talk very lil to #2. when i wake up in the morn, i gotta quickly wash up, 'sneak' out of the hse b4 my boy wakes up. when i'm in the car wif my husband (who sends me 2 work), i talk 2 my husband abt stuff. once i get into office, the seating arrangement is open concept so if i talk the way i did wif my 1st bb, i tik my colleagues & ang moh boss would tik i'm crazy. once i get home, my 17mths boy will stick 2 me like a koala bear so i have 2 spend time talking & playing wif him all the way until bedtime when i also KO wif him. so very lil opportunity 2 talk 2 #2. husband also helped me entertain my boy cos my belly getting bigger so i cant carry him for long so he also dun talk much 2 #2.

once i stop working at tis present job, i must make up for it by talking as much as possible 2 my #2.

Hi Wanli,
After ur detailed scan, u can go shopping
My appt is 2wks later.

Hi Chrys,
My baby tends to moves alot everyday... He will kick me b4 lunch, evening time and when I am abt to sleep. sometimes 5-6 kicks each time. Very notti. Every nite b4 bedtime i will tell him mummy going to sleep, dun kick and wake me up in the middle of the nite, and sleep with me whole nite thru. But I still have sleeping problems and tends to wake up 2 times at nite, sometimes hard to get bck to sleep.Sigh...
Do anyone still have this prob as me?

Hi kelly,
After reading all the threads you have posted, it seems that we got a lot to learn.

I was once very furious abt the issue of carrying baby when I am preg. My SIL's baby cried very loud non-stop one evening , n my MIL blame me and told me that preg woman not suppose to carry baby. Its not the adult patang, but baby patang. Sometimes, even when I didnt carry the baby in my arms, but just holding the baby, my hubby stare at me too, as if I am the criminal. My auntie did told me not to attend to funeral, wedding, baby 1st mth celebration and also eating those cakes. Really a lot of Dont's...

Thanks everyone, after read msg i felt relief..

My case not that serious, no vomit for 2++ weeks already, just tongue like no taste, taste bitter..

hi foony,
i m currently into my 18wks alrdy, still having MS as well, me still vomit 1 to 2 times a day. so dun wori, i think u r on the way to recovery. i m hoping mine will end soon, have proper appetite for food.

morning gals!

went for normal checkup yest but still cannot see gender.
bb too active. gynae says bb doing somersault. head down, bottom and legs up in the air. bb's so cute and active. guess shd be able to see gender during detailed scan which will be on 5th Apr. can't wait to see bb again.

finally gained 1 kg.
i shouldn't talk abt ms. just said that i'm getting better and then yest evening vomited all my food out.

Dino,
I've the same prob as u. can't really sleep at nite. will wake up in the middle of the night and then can't get back to sleep. It has been going on for about a month. now I try to do my work in the middle of the night so at least I can complete all my things.

Kelly,
I worried about a lot of things such as hole in the heart, cleft lip, etc. Guess read too much from internet. Now DH threatens to stop me from surfing the net. Guess must be more confident in our bb.

me just back from short trip! how's everyone?

So many of you have gone for your detailed scan and saw the gender of your babies! I won't be able to see the gender till my detailed scan on 7Apr! like so long! I would be 20+ week then. Anything I shd take note of?

erin00,
hahahah, u r like me. tik/worry so much. ya i tik it's bcos i read too much. ignorance is bliss for sure.

piyo,
welcome back! how was ur trip? we waiting for u 2 update the table. :p

how does it feel when baby kick? is it a bit pain? like a pokey pokey feeling?

i occasionally get some 'poke''poke' feeling.. comes and goes... but cant really see anything..

Where about the tummy is baby? lower (below navel) or upper?

Kelly,

what do u use to sterilise your baby stuff? i was wondering if microwave or electric is good?

butter8,
i use the avent electric steriliser to sterilise the bottles, teat holders, my breastpump equipment, glass bottles and milk bottle covers. for the teats, i do throw them into the steriliser everytime but i also boil them in hot water once in a while. after taking the bottles & teats out from the steriliser, i still rinse the bottles wif hot water n soak the teats in hot water while i prepare milk for my baby. i know i sound KS but i rather play safe in terms of hygiene.

i didnt get the microwave steriliser cos i needed a steriliser wif bigger capacity 2 hold my breastpump equipment & glass bottles. if i get the microwave steriliser, i'll b busy sterilising stuff nonstop in the kitchen.

u shld get a pokey feeling, like something 'swimming'/moving in u. all along, i'm getting movements below my navel. these few days, i'm getting movements above my navel. some movements even feel like kicks tat come of nowhere suddenly. i'm now 20weeks tis wk.

AMEDA LACTALINE DUAL BREAST PUMP

a mummy is garnering interest for the abovementioned. if there's enuff interest, she'll c if she can get betta discount from the agent.

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/270192/386784.html?1142492227

mummies who are interested, mayb u can check wif the agent/mummy if u place an order now, can the agent deliver in jul/aug, closer to ur EDD? skarly the price going up later but u are getting it at the price now.

dino,
u can find them in dept stores. according 2 my frien, they sell in different packaging (as in 24 pieces, 36pieces, 60pieces). he bought 60pieces type for me cos it's more worthwhile and the last time he bought 10boxes for me, pigeon was giving away a diaper bag.

Just went for my normal check up today. I also went for a free labour ward tour. The nurse who brought us for the tour thought that I am delivering soon. When I told her I am only 20 weeks, she was shocked. So I guess you can imagine how big my tummy is. I can also feel that the babies are moving towards my pelvic area. Kinda of heavy below and now I can't stand or walk for too long. My gynae said I have to stop walking. I can move around the house but not outside except to the hospital. So sad right?
I have been telling my babies to hang on as long as they can. Really envy you gals who can still go shopping for your baby stuff.
Now, I only have you gals to keep me accompany most of the time.
My next appt will be in 4 weeks time which is really a long wait before I can see my babies.

peacy,
glad 2 hear tat ur bbs are doing fine. u shld really rest at home, put ur legs up, talk 2 ur bbs 2 hang on as long as possible. of course ur tummy is big since u r carry 3 bbs of 300g each. most of our bbs are abt 300-350g at 20wks and our bellies are getting bb. i really can imagine urs b look like u r nearing full term.

would u like 2 read abt 2 blogs when the bbs (twins & triplets) were born premature? i can give u the links but dun scare yourself. i tot mayb u can read them 2 get urself prepared.

dino,
i'll say abt 4pieces a day during the last 8mths of my BFg journey and abt 6pieces in the beginning cos BM supply more and BM supply dropped once my son started eating solids when he was abt 6-7mths old. if u do ur sums...

1st 6mths = 6pieces in a day (the worst is during the nite. by the morn, the breastpads are usually soaked)
Last 8mths = 4pieces in a day
total = 2000+ pieces of breastpads = abt 50 boxes of breastpads

i trying 2 recall if i bought close 2 50 boxes in my BFg experience. i tik i really did. i remember buying 8-10 boxes each time when i c KP selling the 36+6pieces@$8.90 and I've been using the 60pieces packaging from my frien who kindly bought from bangkok.

Hi kelly
I don't mind having the link to take a look. Anyway, it will be useful for me to be mentally prepare now so that I won't be at the lost when the babies arrives.

Hi any mummies here keep pets? dogs or cats?

I have 2 doggies, 1 small and 1 medium.. they love to jump on me and lie on me. This pretty safe rite? I try to minimize the walking on me - lying is ok?

doggy fur - i try to magic mop n vacuum more... in future when bb comes i will keep dogs out of bb room...

how do others cope?;)

Hi Butter8,
Me have 2 dogs also. 1 small (JRT) and 1 huge dog(Golden Retriever). 1 Fine coat and 1 furry furball. Effectively the huge one stays with us, the smaller with my parents. My hubby don't let me kneel down or get too close to our Golden cos he can get a bit too rough when he plays.

I think lying on you is fine but definately not jumping?

My hubby started implementing "out-of-bounds" of all rooms for our Golden since I was pregnant so that he can get used to staying out of the rooms when baby comes.. hopefully then won't feel neglected since it has been this way to him even b4 the baby comes. Then he mops and cleans the house to try to minimise dog fur in the house.

My MIL keeps telling us to give our Golden away, says not good for baby. Anyone faces the same prob? We just ignore

Hi Dino,

My mum bought it for me from Central departmental store for the pigeon breast pads ~205 thai baht.. Ask your fren to get the central tourist discount (! think got 10%?) to get better rates!

Eh, Kelly,
so many boxes of breast pads ah? I only buy 1 box now leh.. for during later months of pregnancy.

i don't intend to buy the more expensive breast pump until after delivery & when my milk flow stabilises..as i really not sure whether i will produce enough milk.. i don't even know how the milk is going to be coming out of my breasts lor...

Hi Piyo & Butter8,

Dog poo.. u muz avoid. Let hubby clean up after the doggies. but heard it isn't as bad as cat poo, which might contain bacteria that cause toxmoplasis..

I had a dog, a male, golden head/ black body, silky terrier.. he liked to paw at my tummy (he seems to know that I am pregnant and very super protective now).. He is a tiny dog less then 5 kg, but his pawing and nudging, made my tummy area uncomfortable.. feel like the balloon can burst type of feeling :p.. so hor, for the big dog especially, i don't think it is a good idea.. We shouldn't even by lying on our back later on into our pregnancy.. as baby will feel restricted and your uterus will be adding pressure to your lower back.. so, don'y let your doggies ly on your tummies as it get bigger!

I developed an allergy to him after getting pregnant, and kept sneezing and having blocked nose and rashes.. he now staying with my mum and sisters and he is still happy there, as he was originally the family dog..

but is it not only cat poo that will contains that bacteria? I don't clean up his poo. My hubby usually does and now we training him to do it outside so that he won't do it in the house. and Yes I agree with you! no letting him climb on top of me so I only play with him within a distance hehe

jasmine,
i tik my frien used the central tourist discount cos i remember paying abt $67 for 10boxes of breastpads. i also didnt buy tat many but the breastpads got soaked very fast once ur milk flow stabilises. i had 2 send my husband out 2 buy breastpads & other stuff (even nursing bra - which of course he didnt get cos there were a few designs n he not sure of my new bra size) during my confinement cos i ran out of stuff.

ur milk flow shld kick in by the 5-6th day, the latest shld b by 7th day. as long as u let ur bb latch as often as possible, ur milk flow will kick in faster. i've come across a few GFs who told me tat their milk flow kick in abt 3-4th day.

as i bought the breastpump b4 i gave birth, i already started expressing BM on the 5th day after i gave birth. i had 2 do so cos my son was hospitalised again due 2 severe jaundice. i expressed BM so tat my son can drink EBM while in the hospital.

piyo, butter8,
i cant advise u abt dogs cos i'm very afraid of dogs. i read from somewhere (a blog i tik) of a mummy who has a golden retriever and the Golden is a very gd bbsitter. when the bb sleeps in a cot/playpen (i cant recall liao) in the living room/den, the dog will lie next 2 the bb and when the bb is awake, he will run off 2 find someone 2 tend 2 e bb.

ya goldens are very good with kids and babies. This is also one factor we consider when we got him last year. Its temperament is quite stable. My dog loves kids only concern is worry may play till too rough that's all. Hopefully he can do what the Golden did in the blog hehe