(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

chrys,

actually ya jul is too late, was hoping that the majority of the classes are in June cos my hubby very busy in April. Actually May wud be more ideal. i c how first....

as for the bra pads, u can still use them with your nursing bra just place inside your bra. But when u nurse, gotta to take it out lor.

TKs piyo & bearybear...

I will keep strong..

Hmm do we have to book those post natal massage lady so early?
Wat are the charges for Mdm Rohaya & Mdm Rokiah?

Can I have both party number if any of u had?
I must need the massage man esp i belongs to plus size....

i oso booked my massage lady, its about $50 per session too.

CT,
same as CL, if good massage ladies are booked early too.

Jfong,
thanks for the tip, i am looking for jeans to buy

when buying maternity wear, if the shop say now i should by s or xs, do u think i will end up having to buy again when 8-9 mth? i wonder...

i bought a lot of capris, and maternity tops.
actually happy that there is a lot of choice now. only thing is the price a bit more.

chrys,
me too, i have spent about that much too.. trying to stop for a bit now. overspent...

ooooh neurogain cheaper in msia huh.. thats good! must find someone who goes there to help me buy then

Dino,
are the clothes there more casual or oso for work?
thanks for the tip...

Hi chrys,
Thanks for infor and pls update us after yr details scan

Hi Jfong,
Jun-Jul is definitely too late for us, especially our EDD is on early Aug. For the Apr-May class the first class is started on 29 Apr (sat) then follow by every saturday on May. So if yr hubby is busy on Apr only 1 weekend is affected.

jfong,
i check wif my cousin then i let u know.

CT,
hahahaha, i also plus size (mayb plus plus size). i didnt use a massage man hor. i also know they dun charge extra if u r of plus size.

chrys
wow! u spent a lot on maternity clothes. for both pregnancies, i only spent abt $500 ($300 for 1st, $200 for 2nd). I wont b spending anymore. likely 2 stop at 2kids.

thks for sharing the tip abt neurogain. i tik it shld b cheaper in malaysia cos (if i not wrong) it's made in malaysia.

hi all MTBs (esp 1st time mummies),

betta book ur antenatal course in apr/may. though our EDDs are in aug, likelihood is tat some of us will pop in jul. i know for sure i'll pop in jul cos my 1st bb was born at 35wks+ (everyone in the hospital fr nurse, midwives, PD to my gynae calls him a premmie despite his weight being 2.8kg). according 2 the PD, bbs born b4 36wks are often labelled premmie. if ur bb's weight not ideal (say <2.5kg), ur bb may end up in NICU (neonatal ICU) for a while until the bb goes beyond 2.5kg. [Disclaimer: the PD will assess the bb when the bb weight is below 2.5kg and born b4 36wks. Not all bbs who are below 2.5kg and born b4 36wks will go 2 NICU]

of all my friens who have gone thru motherhood, i can safely say i know abt 10% who popped b4 36wks (once u pop b4 36wks, most likely u'll pop around the same time at ur subsequent pregnancies), the rest of my friens popped bet 37-41wks.

my cousin who popped at 40wks for 1st bb (she induced her bb cos full term liao) so for 2nd bb, she also popped at 40wks. watever pattern has been set for ur 1st bb, most likely it'll b the same pattern for ur subsequent bbs.

btw, the antenatal courses teach u some exercises and share some tips on bb products/breastpumps, good 2 go earlier so u can buy those stuff if there are sales going on.

Hi Chyrs, butter8,
These shops are those normal shops, and there is a small section for maternity wear. The clothes can be for both casual wear and work, but limited choice, compared to those maternity shops. I have started wearing maternity pants. I still find that maternity tops are too big/flare for me.
Hi Wanli,
U took up the course already?

Hi Kelly!
I have booked the antenatal class in MAH in May too. I wanted to go on April but the lady told me is too early to go.
Hi Dino,
I have also start wearing the maternity pants but not the top as it is also too big for me

Hi Dino,
Yah, I have book the Apr-May class. You just need to call them (6251 4090) and they will ask you yr EDD and Dr. Most probably they will advice you to attend the Apr-May class too. After you confirm the timing then they will ask your details (EDD, address, phone number etc) and request you to make the payment on yr next visit. I will advice you to call them and make the booking first if you keen to attend the class because Mrs Wong class for weekend only left Saturday (4:30-6:30pm/7pm-9pm).

My details scan on next thurday, so I will need to go early register for my FBI first so that I can get the 10% discount for details scan and parentcraft class.

But for those mummies like me whose EDD is late aug, going in apr/may sounds a bit too early, isn't it?

Me going to Malaysia over the weekend... let's see if I can find any neurogain...

Hi Chrys,
When I spoke to Mdm Rohaya, she told me she is quite packed for Aug cos alot of Aug mums! so better to book earlier? Her number is 94506374 if you wanna get her to do your massage.

I will be buying Pigeon disposable bra pads when I go baby shopping later in the months.

Hi Wanli, Chrys,
Thanks for the info. I have just booked the 4.30-6.30pm class. We will be in the same class
Can hubby tag along for the class?

BREAST PADS

i use pigeon disposable breast pads and i swear by them. i've tried chicco disposable breast pads (given free by a cousin) and avent &amp; pigeon washable breast pads. all 3 of them are so lousy. i usually tell friens NEVER buy washable breast pads cos i havent find one brand where the absorbency is 'tok-kong'. after the washable breast pads gets soaked, it gets very uncomfortable and it even smells. YIKES!

it's quite pricey 2 b buying disposable breast pads every mth but for the comfort, absorbency &amp; effort, i rather use them. washable breast pads usually come in 2-3pairs in a box. u need 2 buy abt 2boxes, cos if u use 2pairs in a day, u have 2 quickly wash them, dry them so u can use the day after.

buy pigeon disposable breast pads in BANGKOK if u can or tong-pang pp 2 buy. dirt cheap. i got my frien 2 buy abt 20boxes (comes in 60pieces) at barely S$6-7/box. in s'pore, it's going for $8.90 at 36+6pieces during promotion. normal price is $12.

NURSING BRAS
i only bought my nursing bras after i gave birth cos i dunno how much more my breasts was going 2 grow. i ballooned from a 75B to 85C. i bought my nursing bras from triumph. u can buy nursing bras online or from all dept stores. just need 2 find those u comfortable wif.

nursing bras can be quite pricey. i bought plain cotton simple ones at $30. the prettier &amp; lacier ones can go up 2 $40-50. i only bought 2 pretty ones when i hv 2 attend functions. on other occasions, i relied on the 'auntie-looking' plain cotton simple ones.

jfong, kelly
Normally how frequent need to change or dispose off the bra pads? How fast it'll wet the pads leh? It will leake as long as we still b'feeding isit? What if it happens in the office when we go back to office to work after 3 months maternity leaves? Need to bring extra bra pads to change in office? or pump out? in office? very embarrassing leh.. Can share ur experience? I can't imagine that.. Till now i still dunno how b'feeding is, i used to think need to cut off the nipple to let the milk come out.. err..

I also got the same advice from experienced mums not to get washable breast pads cos they don't have the curvature for the nipple area and must wash quickly and worse over time it smells a "sng sng" smell.... haha! and kelly just confirmed what they say...
Would 1 box of pigeon (36 pcs) be enuf at least for the confinement month?

I think I should be going for June class If I take TMC classes as it ends around mid July. My EDD is end Aug... so if popped earlier I would still be in time and won't forget whatever that was gone thru during the class...

So many of u have booked the postnatal massage.. sounds so tempting to me too..
Will discuss wif my DH and decide whether to go.. i also dun wan to carry a loose tyre around me.. Another suggestion is to go for spa, but normally is more pricey ~$100/session rite? My GF's advice is to get free spa vouchers by surfing the net looking out for freebies/ signing up new credit card/ membership.. haha..
She always do it and get alot of free spa experience..

chrys,
i have 2 change my breast pads abt 2-3x in a day. it dun leak like a running tap but if u tik of ur bb or ur breasts are filled wif milk, it'll leak then. betta 2 bring extra pads when u go 2 office. if u intend 2 continue breastfeeding after u start work, u just need 2 work out a schedule 2 pump milk religiously.

yikes! how can one cut off the nipple? breastmilk flows out from the nipple at multiple points, not a single point.

when u attend the antenatal class, they'll teach u abt breastfeeding. ask mrs wong (TMC) or sister kong (MAH). very experienced lactation consultants.

So, there r Mdm Naini, Mdm Rokiah, Mdm Rohaya, Mdm Ranee... (ranging from cheaper to more expensive rite?)

Dino, Wanli
Ya, will be in same class.. not sure how big is the class size. I remember husband is needed to go along with us for the class, and if he's unable to go on certain class, we need someone to go wif us, dunno y, maybe bcos need a partner for practice or wat??

Kelly,
Thanks for infor on bra pads.
So, can i conclude that Pigeon disposable bra pads are the best.. Will look for it at Taka baby fair/ expo this weekend. (though disposable type kind of not environmental friendly huh.. ;p)

I bought a nursing bra from Triumph too (after trying out few other brands) and i find it very comfy, important is the material, very very soft. I remember i tried out once at Perfect Mum, can't remember how's the material like, cos quite few months back, but quite pricey, $59.90 for 1.

Hi Sandy, how's ur wedding going on?
Must be very busy now..

chrys,
i tik mdm renee is the cheapest cos for 7sessions, it's $350. if i not wrong, mdm rohaya charges $490 for 7sessions n mdm naini charges $450 for 5massage sessions+1scrub session. i not sure abt mdm rokiah.

wait til u check out thyme maternity. the nursing bras can b as ex as $89.

I just came back from Raffles City
Bought folic acid from ntuc healthcare. I see see look look and saw Tollyjoy disposable bra pads 84 pads selling at $7.90. Kelly have u tried this brand, isit good?

Kelly,
U book mdm nainee still together with the blind woman?

Piyo
I bought Triumph nursing bra in Malaysia. At first i tried one that priced RM64, very comfy but i din buy thought too ex, later i saw another one also Triumph diff design but as soft n comfy too, i bought at RM27. The sales girl told me Triumph never/ seldom have discount, so i bought, but only buy 1, definately need to buy more (if got milk), but hard to predict the size now.

Hi Dino, chrys,
The class is for couple, I think the first 2 sessions if you go alone still ok but the following class need husband to be invloved. Remember I saw some topic on "Husband roles" etc ..... , think husband needed to help wife to time the contraction, do exercise and massage during labour, so they must learn also

wah...so fast talking about nursing bra and bra pads, I think I need to write down all yr advices.....really feel blur blur on what I should buy.

chrys,
never tried tollyjoy cos my GFs recommended pigeon so stuck wif pigeon all the way. i tried chicco bcos it was given free and i bought washable pads cos very siong 2 b buying disposable breast pads every mth. i definitely regretted my purchases.

RM27 is very cheap. my triump nursing bras are all S$29.90 except for the lacy ones which costs S$39.90

i booked mdm naini 1st. as for the blind lady, i havent confirm wif her yet.

dino, chrys and wanli,
Yar, the hubby comes in useful during the practical lessons. For MAH parentcraft class, there're 2 sessions where ur hubby is taught how to massage u so dat u won't get backache etc. (U'll surely enjoy these sessions ) They'll oso teach u the breathing techniques. Then the last session, they'll show u a video abt the birth process, so it sort of prepares ur hubby for the actual day :p Other than dat, it's okie if u go alone.

RE: nursing pads
Heheheh, dat time i bought 2 boxes of tollyjoy nursing pads. End up only used a few pcs cos i only BF for 2 weeks :p My colleague told me nvr to buy washable ones cos so mafan... Disposable ones r more convenient.

I am new here..is it ok if i join in? have been following the thread but haven posted anything yet...saw that all the information is very useful as i am a first time mum n feel so lost in everything...what details should i give in for the chart? please advise..

Ya, i feel the same too.. feel blur blur.. everything i heard is new thing to me, so always keeping my senses open wide wide to absorb.

Dear experienced moms,
For those of us going to shop around at Expo and Taka baby fair this weekend, any things that we may keep in mind or anything that we can start to buy if cheap? Think there r lot of things to buy rite.. still haven't come out with my shopping list. Dunno if some of the things too early to buy, eg baby wipes, wil it dry out if buy now? wat brand is good, etc etc.. hin.. Really need ur advice!!

Hi chrys,
So good yr details scan is before the expo baby fair, mine scan is next week so I still can not start shopping
..... saw some posting from other threads regarding the Avent milk bag at Taka is having a good price now @ 20% lower compared to the market.

Hi Kelly,
Any advices on this milk bag thingy?

Hi welcome Sheermeen!!

you should let piyo know yr EDD, gynea, age and baby gender so that she can update the details for u on the table.

Hi Wanli,
Thanks for the warm welcome..my details are as follows:

Name:Augbaby
EDD:23Aug
Dr Adelina Wong
KKH

Can anyone summarize the cost of the massage lady? coz notice that alot of u seems to have already book and i like to know where can i know more abt the massage lady? thanks so much for all the help.

Hi augbaby,
U r lucky :p, I manage to write down some massage lady contacts, will book the massage lady after my details scan:

mdm naini - 94562817 $450 for 5 massages
Rohaya - 94506374 $490 for 7 sessions
Yati HP 97803442 $40 each session
mdm renee - 81428455. $50 for 1 session and can do 5-7sessions

STORING OF EBM (EXPRESSED BREAST MILK)

There are basically 3 modes of storing ur EBM...glass bottles, milk bottles (esp avent bottles) and breastmilk bags (i know avent sells BM bags and i've come across pigeon selling too).

I started wif glass bottles which u can collect from the nursery in the hospital u deliver. the glass bottles can only hold up 2 90-100ml of EBM so very ideal for ur bbs in the 1st 2-3mths when they are only consuming tat amt of EBM/FM.

after tat, when u r able 2 pump more and/or ur bb is consuming more, it's best 2 store in BM bags cos BM bags can hold up 2 8oz (if i not wrong). the only problem abt BM bags is tat it's rather ex (glass bottles collected from hospital nurseries are free, u only need 2 buy the caps which barely cost $0.60-$0.80 each) AND u need 2 buy the clips for the bags. no need 2 buy avent BM bag clips. buy from ikea. much much cheaper. the only disadvantage is tat if ur milk supply is endless, u need lotsa bags &amp; clips so can b rather pricey.

i've come across a few mummies who use avent milk bottles 2 store EBM cos they dun use them n their bbs are using other brands of milk bottles. of course when u have EBM, u'll use watever mode of storage u can find, since the avent bottles are available at no xtra cost, y not use it?

for me, i'll stick 2 using glass bottles 1st then when my bb is consuming more, i'll switch to avent BM bags. when u heat up the EBM in those glass bottles, i merely put the teat onto the glass bottle (all other brands of teat holders except wide-necked teat holders from avent, pigeon, nuk can fit onto the glass bottles). for me, i was using NUK teat holder so i just placed it on the glass bottle, feed my boy direct from the glass bottle. save the hassle of transferring EBM from the bottle to the actual milk bottle.

likewise if u r using BM bag, u heat it up, put into the bottle, pull the plastic over the bottle, cover wif the teat holder n just feed.

when u heat up EBM, once it's lukewarm, EBM can b consumed. no need 2 heat it up until hot cos our EBM is of normal body temp (abt 36-37degrees). anything hotter, u'll kill all the nutrients in EBM.

Dear Wanli,
U have been so nice to let me know..thanks...which one will u be intending to book and when shld our detailed scan be ah? coz seems like my gynae book me for detailed scan on the 22march when i am only in my 18weeks..is it too early or shld i wait for another week or two till i am in my 20 or 21weeks? coz afraid that cant see the gender or others?? Me blur..thanks for sharing...

Is there also a thread in this forum that discuss abt the massage lady? can someone pls direct me if there is..thanks a lot my dear...

hi honeyhaven,

i think her name is faridah/farah hehehe my ex-colleague is using her, so I just happen to ask her, she say can book for me so I just follow keke

I just bought my 1st baby clothes - so excited haha silly mama... just buy neutral kind cuz my friend buy, i go cc, end up buy 2 pjs and 1 tee+shorts set. ranging from 3-6mth, 6-12mth and 12-18 mth haha must wait long long to wear :p

Have u all started thinking of names for your baby? hee hee..i know it is rather early for some of us, but any nice names for boy or girl to share??

Argghhh.. suddenly lots of information... for us late Aug MTB.. is it too early to buy??

I went Taka just now to look n see. but not sure leh.. can we use the avent milk bags to store milk if we dun use avent pump?? So blur leh..

I see that the pigeon steriliser is on sale at 87 sgd free 2 milk bottles and baby wipes.. so tempted to buy as it is a good bargain!

BTW, Isetan Private sale also have baby fair. Watch for the promotion. Heard NUK and AVENT accessories, 20% discount leh... n medela electric single pump at 128 sgd...

I am in a dilemma whether to buy or not.. how ah? my detailed scan not yet..

jasmine,
u can use avent milk bags for any brand of breast pump u use. it doesnt matter.

likewise, if u r using avent breast pump, u can store ur EBM into other brands of breast milk bags.

Augbaby,

I have a boy name &amp; a gal name liaoz..
Ashden &amp; Jadienne

Kelly,
Thanks for the advice..
Think i will get some stuff on last day of bb fair..after my triple test n check up on 18th March..

Welcome on board Augbaby!

Baby name?? not yet.. dunno boy/ girl leh..

Hi Kelly
U can think of conducting an antenatal class already.. U have so much of useful info!

Hi Wanli
I think if i were u, i'll start to shop :p maybe buy a lil bit lah.. Actually our EDD is on the same day, just that i schedule my detailed scan on 19+ week, so just manage to catch the sale, but i think there r more to come bah.. Btw, why avent milk bag n how did u finalise on it? Is it good?

Hi Butter8
I have the same excited feeling when i bought the 1st piece of newborn clothes too.. so tiny.. cannot imagine i was once so tiny too :p U know wat, i bought the top and pants matched wrongly- newborn top with 12-18 mth pants!! cos they simply look the same so tiny to me!

Any advice how many pieces of newborn clothings we need to stock up, i heard 20 suits, wil it be too many?

Jasmine
Thanks for the infor!
Is Pigeon sterilizer good? Normally it's >$100 for sterilizer rite.. think this price is good.

Hi Kelly,

I actually bought the disposible BM cups..
i bought 10 pcs. but i dunno whether i hv BM anot.. so i think i will wait till then i go and buy more if i need more

How many weeks are we suppose to be when we should go for our detailed scan?

Hey Jasmine,
That is a very unique name u have thou of for baby boy n baby girl

chrys,
please...i not so experienced 2 conduct antenatal class. i merely sharing wif everyone here wat i learned from my antenatal class, from friens/relatives, from books and most impt from own experience. i went thru wat all 1st time MTBs went thru so i know how 'traumatic' the experience can b...dunno which brand is gd, dunno how many 2 buy, dunno buy already can use how long, etc. u can c, i trial &amp; error wif breastpumps too, started wif medela then used ameda.

wait til u come 2 diapers, type of FM, etc...tat's another story.

i'm sure when all MTBs here gain more experience, we can all share &amp; learn fr one another.

rain,
if i not wrong, i also bought 1 box of pigeon disposable breast pads. i got my husband 2 run out 2 buy more during my confinement when i finished them. so no worries abt buying 10pieces 1st but i'm sure u'll use them up within a wk.

the thing abt breast pads is tat u dunno if u leak and if u do, it creates a mess so u rather play safe &amp; use it. i do come across instances when my breast pads are dry but i'll throw them away after 1 day.

BABY WIPES

there are a few brands of bb wipes in the mkt. the commonly used ones are tollyjoy &amp; pigeon. i use both for my bb so no preference.

as for tollyjoy, i tik there shld b a warehse sale in changi south (coming soon) so u can stock up on wet wipes when they sell it dirt cheap.

hi chrys,

i very 'eng' 2 post stuff now cos i working in a rather relaxed job. come 21apr, when i go back 2 being a SAHM, i wont post so often liao cos i'll b chasing my 18mths old bb around, bringing him out 2-3x in a wk.

watever i know, i share now so everyone can learn. i must stress tat my knowledge is not extensive so betta 2 learn &amp; share from other friens/relatives who are mummies too.

Dear those who are still shopping for maternity wear,
Perfect Mum @ Suntec city is having special promotion for the month. 50% off on all new arrivals (skirts &amp; pants) with purchase.