(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

i actually envy u gals who got appetite to eat, for my case, i m maintaining my weight bcos of my MS. 46kg. it affected my work alot too. got no choice, have to let my boss know i m pregnant in the very beginning, though alot says not advisable cos pan dang.

Hi peacy,
Waiting for yr update
!

Hi Piyo,
You are not so bad already, when I was just 2 mths pregnant all my fren already suspecting I'm pregnant. I just gain weight less than 1 kg in my first trim but they still able to sense it.

Hi ling2,
What happen to you for yr NS? I'm also no appetite on my first trim, feel so nausea when I see food, that's why I just started to gain weight on my second trim. Doctor said we should start gain some weight on second trim. Now I separate into 5 small meals instead of normal 3 big meals. It really help alots.

When I feel hungry I will feel extreamly nausea, especially at night. That's why I only NS also :p . Now I will eat something first before i feel hungry, may be u can try.

Hi Wanli,
thanks alot. ya, i am trying on the small meals now also, but i still need to be on the anti-nausea tablets. do you feel easily hungry at night? my case, once the hunger attack, must eat immediately, if not will have to "face" the the toilet bowl. :p

Hi Ling2,
Yes same here :p, that's why I will prepare some biscult and bread besides my bed so when I feel hungry at night I will have some. but before i go bed usually I will eat something light as well
. Lucky me is never vomit out my food so still can see my weight is start incresing now.

hi gals!!!

Just back from my blood test & scan
seems all is fine. blood test results were good and neck fold within the saftey zone. yipeeeee happy mummy now i can sit back and enjoy the next term of pregnancy.
gynea say i can travel, so i may start flying again for work...but will select safer country haha

Piyo,
hello, i start to wear maternity pants cuz me bum and waist so big liao hehe i just buy longer tops to cover the waist..

like you, i still prefer my normal tops but i think those mini tees have to get folded away soon

somehow once my colleagues know i am expecting, seems they keep observe my shape
so will comment like ' bigger liao' or fatter.. so i so sad... but some times i look at myself seems ok, but guess its biase liao since they know.. *i hope la*

wow some of you gals so good, never gain weight or only 1kg... i up 3-4 kg le... kekeke but lucky i stabalize the last month.. no change for 1 over month liao, hope i stay like this for a bit :p

anyone know how much is filipino maid paid usually?
its possible that some ask more then others standard rate?

Any one got a lobang for gd and cheap nannies/baby sitters?

Or recommendation for maid agencies? Which country maid better? Philipines? Indonesia?

I saw many of you recommending suntec maternity shops. But the clothes are quite pricey ah? Anyone else got other lobang where else to buy?

Share with you girls what I know currently.
1) Dorothy Perkins (Got up to 70% sale now)
2) Perfect Mum at International Plaza & Suntec & Kovan
3) Spring Maternity at Suntec
4) Maternity-online.com
5) Modern Maternity at Amara Shopping centre

butter8
good 2 hear tat everything is fine for you.

piyo, mrs chng
i'm also checking out foreign maids right now. my understanding is tat there is a base salary u need to pay BUT u can negotiate it. for indonesian maid, it's $280 but u can bargain to abt min $240 (depending if the maid and/or agency is comfortable). for filipino maid, it's $300-$350. if the maid is experienced, they can ask up to $350 and i heard tat filipino maids not very willing to negotiate abt their pay (they are wiser and more knowledgeable).

indonesian & filipino maids both have their pros & cons and it all depends on how comfortable u are with them.

i'll list some pros & cons, based on wat i know. other mummies who have experience with maids, u can add to the list.

indonesian - pros
- cheaper
- need not give day off

indonesian - cons
- may have communication problems
- may not be familiar to handle household appliances n takes a while to get used to using them

filipino - pros
- usually more experienced
- no communication problem

filipino - cons
- must give day off every wk or fortnite
- more experienced maids could mean more "difficult" 2 handle
- more expensive

u can find experienced indonesian maids but be prepared to pay more and also give her additional pay for not giving day off.

kelly, piyo, mrs chng,
My colleagues actually advised me dat if i'm getting a maid to care for our little ones, best is get a filipino maid, if not our kids learn 'weird' English. Most filipinos r quite educated too, so can help u to teach your little ones.

Kelly,
How's Gab?

bearybear,
in fact, i'm more inclined to getting a filipino maid. i need a maid 2 communicate well wif my family, i definitely dun 1 my boys 2 pick up bahasa indonesia, i also dun need a maid 2 give me "trouble" during my confinement, tat's y more inclined 2 a filipino maid. i've heard a few horror stories abt my GFs who had indonesian maids n all told me how they vomitted blood. i'm not saying indonesian maids are not good but it's all "heng suay" (depends on ur luck). of course i also come across 1-2 good indonesian maids.

it's also "heng suay" wif filipino maids, tat's y i've asked my aunties/uncles' filipino maids to help me ask around their relatives/friens to c if they are keen to work for me. they've found me 3 candidates but i have yet got the time 2 look at their bio-data.

thks for ur concern. gabe's much betta (when i called my MIL at 130pm 2 check on him). he's up & running & willing 2 play/laugh. whew! wat a relief for me.

mrs chng,
i forgot 2 add...

when u go 2 an agency n ask abt indonesian maid, they tell u tat the maid can speak simple english. make sure u ask abt the level of education the maid receive. their simple english means "yes mdm", "no mdm", "i know", "i dunno", "ok", "i eat now mdm", "i go sleep now mdm".

my GF just got an indonesian maid and she insists on the maid being able to understand & converse in english & not just know simple english.

My triple test is back already. Everything is fine..

Now looking forward for my detailed scan next month which is 4 weeks again :-( Getting impatient liao

I felt my baby's movement last night..It's a ticklish feeling with very very slight pain. My baby was like kicking, then I quickly asked my hubby to listen, he said inside very noisy..After 10 mins, I can feel no movement from baby..I know he or she is sleeping.. I asked my hubby to listen again..Yah he said inside is quiet.. hehehe so interesting.

Hey girls! i felt the baby's heartbeat for the first time last night! (me in week 13+)

I ask my hubby to listen and he heard thud, thud thud.... very fast.... (wonder if it's normal) hehee

yipee n honeyhaven,

heard from friends that the feeling sometimes is like 'butterflies'in your stomach
keke

so cool and lucky ur gals can feel already - how many months/weeks?

u gals know why gynea say drinking fresh milk is better then taking enfamama?

mrs chng

can hear huh? good for ur hubby... my hubby cant tell.. he blur blur.. listen her and there cant figure it out... then say my stomach too noisy hmmp

baby heart beat is about 2 x our speed i think, so if u hear fast its normal..

I read about some of you talking about maternity clothes. If you want to extend the use of your current pants or favourite jeans as your tummy is starting to grow, you can try the belly belt. Can delay buying maternity pants/skirts because quite expensive.

I'm EDD in June so I have a lightly used one for sale, my tummy has grown too big for it already, good for early-mid pregnancy. Also know of a lady who sells it much cheaper than the original (australian) price, can check out the Marketplace forum under WTS:Belly belt if you're interested. Just a thought.

AS for baby movements, could feel it starting week 17-18 in the form of fluttering and stomach rumble. Week 19 onwards could feel light kicking and it gets stronger. Now at week 25, baby won't allow me to sit or rest long, starts kicking hard to tell me he wants to be lulled to sleep. For those going for detailed scan, you'll be amazed at the 3D images of your baby's heart (can see even the blood flow in the arteries), limbs, kidney etc! a sight to behold.

Hi Butter 8,

I am at my 15weeks...actually start to have this fluttering feeling in my 14 week already. My gynae also say drink normal milk better, coz if i continue drinking enfamama, i will become a fat pig very fast
376225.gif

Hi butter8,
I am abt wk 16 now. I have been drinking HL milk every night. I dislike enfamama's taste..I didn't know enfamama is not as good as fresh milk. HL milk considered fresh milk??? You will also be able to feel yr baby's movement soon..

Hi Butter8

I've been taking mostly the meiji half fat milk. If you want to splurge, go to Jason's supermarket and try the Horizon farm brand organic milk - yummmm, super creamy and tastes so natural and tasty. But quite expensive though - for special occasions

I just felt some bubbling in the tummy too, but not sure if it is just the digestive system going! How to tell the difference?

Actually those kind of feeling is exactly like someone using a light feather to tickle you on your stomach...not a consistent feeling though, on and off and at certian time of the day....

hmmm maybe thats why I put on so much weight.. :p
rats.. going to be fat pig soon..
my friend gave me 2 tins... feel its a waste if I dun drink hor...

as for clothes, bottems I have bought.. but the thing is normal tops make me look like i got a bulging tummy.. running out of nice stuff to wear, today i changed 3 times b4 going to work.. just dun wan to feel 'fatty' or sloppy...
end up wearing my dresses.. which bra area a bit tight but at least elsewhere flare out and comfy but look not too pudgy :p

Just went for my week 17 check up yesterday. My songrapher refused to tell me the gender of my babies. She said leave to the doc to tell me when he does the detail scan in 3 weeks time. However, she did drop hint that I have a boy and a girl and a bonus. Can't wait for find out which is boy and which is girl. I am on medical leave starting from today till I deliver coz my gynae told me that my cervix has dilated 1 cm and ordered me to stop working or else I might lose my babies. He said this could be due to too much walking. So now, I got to stay at home for at least 3 to 4 months. Trying to find things to do.

i started feeling movement in my womb (the area below my belly button) when i was abt 12-13wks preggie. when i told my gynae abt it, asking him if it's possible tat i can feel my bb's movements, he said it's all my imagination. the bb is too small to feel his movements. the fluttering feeling i getting is most likely the motion of my bb swimming/playing around in the womb filled wif amniotic fluid then.

when i got to 14-15wks, i can get feeling like kicks at certain spots in my womb. i checked out www.babycentre.com n they said it's possible.

mummies, enjoy this fluttering feeling u getting now cos when u get to 20wks n beyond, u'll be getting more major movements from ur bb n sometimes u wish ur bb aint tat active so tat u can get some rest at nite.

after i gave birth 2 my 1st boy, wat i missed most abt being pregnant is my bb's movements n how he responds by moving when i talk to him.

HI peacy,
Can i check with you, how yr gynae find out yr cervix has dilated 1 cm already??? Do take care and rest well..and waiting for yr news abt the gender for yr babies..

hi peacy..
take care and rest more then
let us know your updates & bonus hehehe
so u can be online more from home

kelly,
oooh i am almost 14-15.. will watch up for thekicks

at my detailed scan, my baby was naughty.. dr say bb not scared of him..and keep pushing against the scan.. and instead of lying normally bb like doing stretches, n lie super flat - end up look so long..bb should me a 5 and 10 fingers like playing 5/10 then like dig his nose hahahaha
he was bery busy..
but nurse say the dr wont say boy or gal oso.. wait for me gynea to maybe scan in a months time :p

arent we all impatient mummies hehehe

Wah, i never pop in for 2 days, so many things to read.. "pant pant!" trying to catch up.

Hi peacy,

Take care ok? no joke leh.. so early dilated.. so u have to take no pay leave??

I have been having feelings in my tummy also, but not very sure leh..last nite, when i laid down on my side and my tummy against the mattress, i felt a ticklish sensation also, but quite obvious.. like someone inside very softly tapping.. i got a fright and got up immediately.. haha..

I am now 13.5 weeks. will be going for next scan (normal scan) on next wednesday.. will update then..
BTW, Medela is having 20% discount in CK Tang and Avent is having 20% discount at Takashimaya. Are we too early to buy stuff? Got pantang boh? The sale is tempting,especially for more expensive items leh..

Hi peacy,
Congrat of having boy boy and gal gal :D, so happy for u. You should really need more bed rest, don't walk too much. Wish you everything going well. the doctor never check yr cervix already able to see the 1cm dilated?

Hi Jasmine,
Do you know how long for the discount for Taka? I also very tempting to buy baby stuff but my gynea said better wait after details scan
, still got 3 more weeks to go. Hope everything is going fine

Wanli,

i don't know how long it will last leh.. i think i better wait a bit.. still have plenty of chances of sale, especially during May/June... I heard a rumor that Taka might be having baby fair in March... Also there will be a baby fair at Expo?? one of the magazines organize it??

peacy,
must get lotsa bed rest. 1cm dilated at this stage is no joke. while resting, u can read up on some bb/parenting books, talk 2 ur bbs and u must eat & drink well.

congrats on having bb boy & girl & a bonus.

jasmine, wanli
since we are popping in jul/aug, it's advisable 2 buy watever u need from medela (esp breastpumps) since there's a 20% discount. from wat i know, medela dun give discounts often. the last time i bought my medela breastpump wif a 20% disc was in Sept from CK Tang.

i'm not sure abt discounts for avent cos i dun use avent pdts except their steriliser.

as for the bb fair in taka, it happens quite regularly, like every 3-4mths. there's a bb fair at expo fr 10-12mar and a bigger Motherhood fair in jun.

Hi Kelly,
Thks for advice
, is medela breastpumps good? How much you bought it last time? I got no idea which breastpump is good, saw many people is using Avent......can advice
?

Hi MTBs,
wow! I really envy you all! Most of you can feel your baby's movement so fast! and congrats to those who know the gender liao! I am only into my 14 weeks so I doubt I will feel anything and not to even mention gender

me waiting for blood test results from gynae this week... he mentioned no news is good news so one more day to go till GOOD NEWS!

yes you all are right! tangs having 20% sale! I also don;t want to start shopping yet cos scare pantung? and also cos like what wanli says many fairs and sales coming along the way in the next few months! plus I donlt know gender yet
I will only be going to tangs to get the pigeon steriliser as I have a $100 voucher which I need to clear by end Feb. Fingers crossed that nothing happens since I going to "buy" something for baby so early.

It's really hard to find tops that we can stil fit in without looking fat or sloppy!
So I am thinking of switching to maternity tops liao next week so that we can still look mei mei

Enfamama bad ah? I also drinking this leh how?

Anyone signing up for anenetal class liao? whch one good? and when would be good time to do so?

wanli,
i have GFs who rave abt medela, ameda & avent breastpumps. all 3 brands are good so it depends on ur preferences.

all along avent breastpumps are manual, u need 2 work out when u pump milk, unlike medela & ameda which are electric pumps. medela do have manual pumps but not as popular as their electric pumps.

i bought a medela single pump but regretted it big time cos when i pumped 1 breast, the milk will flow from the other breast. i ended up having 2 hold the breastpump on 1 hand, hold a glass/milk bottle on the other hand. the medela single pump is also more noisy. when i pump in the bedroom with the door closed, husband who walks past the room, can tell i'm pumping milk. a single pump is also not good cos when my bb (then an infant) was sleeping in our bedroom, i cant pump in my bedroom. i have 2 move 2 another room 2 pump milk.

after using the single pump (single deluxe) for 2mths, i gave up. i switched to the Ameda pump bcos i heard it's as good as Medela's PIS (the one tat costs $600+, before discount) but i only paid $280 for it. I tik the Ameda pump now costs $300+.

i have friens who swear by the medela dual pump (double select) so tat must b very good too. u check out their website www.medela.com

i also have friens who prefer a manual pump (from avent, pigeon, etc) but while they like it, they also complain abt their arms/hands being cramped after using the pump.

if i not wrong, avent has developed an electric pump but i not sure abt the cost.

betta 2 do some homework b4 shopping for breastpumps.

Hi Kelly and MTBs,
I also have reviews from experienced mums that ameda pump is of comparable quality to medela PIS and it costs half or less than half that of medela. & I observed that most of those using ameda pumps don't regret their choices and relative to them, there are more complaints by users of medela pumps like too noisy or not as effective or not worth the price they pay for. Sekali pay so much but no milk like waste $$$ right? I have a spreadsheet from a MTB that compares the various pumps in the market. If any of you is interested, I don't mind sharing with you all

Personally, I think I will prefer the Ameda pump

piyo,
thks for ur gesture. i must admit the ameda pump is gd n i have no complaints so far.

right now it's collecting dust in my cupboard. will put it 2 action in aug.

if u all are keen 2 buy the ameda pump, i can try 2 find the agent who sold it 2 me. he delivered the set 2 my plc when i ordered on the phone.

hi Kelly,
How much did you purchase it then? Did you get the travel bag as well? if yes, how much also? Is it cheaper getting from the agent? When in your pregnancy then did you purchase it? Mind if you give me the contact should you locate it? Many Thanks!

One thing I heard is that the values or some rubber tubing needs to be changed frequently, is that true?

BREASTPUMPS
when u read thru those links, u will notice tat some mummies actually tried 2 pumps b4 settling for one or they are using 2 pumps at the same time.

i know it's hard for u 2 decide on breastpumps based on preferences. it's not like u decide on color, design, etc. there's no way u can 'try out' the pumps 1st b4 u buy.

u can ask urself questions like
1) is cost a concern?
2) will u REALLY wanna breastfeed for >3mths?
if yes, invest in a good set. if no, a manual set or medela single deluxe pump will do
3) do u 1 it 2 b effortless?
some mummies dun mind the manual pumping. i personally dun like the extra work (aiya, me lazy lah) so i insisted on electric pump from the beginning

piyo,
i tik i paid $270-280 for it. i cant recall liao cos i bought it in dec2004. i didnt buy the travel bag cos i am a SAHM, no need 2 pump outside. later when i started on a part-time job n i had 2 attend full-day training for a while, i bought separate cooler bag (those hand-held mini ones) and ice pack. i also have a black backpack so i just packed everything in nicely.

i bought the medela single deluxe pump 1st when i was abt 8-9mths preggie (cos wasnt sure at 1st i wanna breastfeed faithfully) then i switched 2 the ameda when my bb was abt 2.5mths old.

i havent change the valve or tubing bcos
1) after i bought the pump in 29Dec04, my son rejected bottle on 11jan05 and i was breastfeeding him direct (my son was getting 'fresh milk'). no point for me 2 pump it out when in the end i had 2 throw the EBM away. since 11jan, i latched him directly for all his milk feeds until last dec when i weaned him off.
2) i followed the agent, Euramedic's advice to keep the tubing very dry. According 2 the agent, if u keep the tubing very dry, no need 2 change it.
3) since i dun pump often (<20times in 2005), i c no need 2 change the valve. i merely kept it clean by washing thoroughly.

Thanks Kelly!

Benn really helpful, the choices available in the market..is really confusing.. i start having backaches.. where can i go for a good &amp; inexpensive massage?

jasmine,
do u stay in the east? if u do, i can recommend u a blind lady who does my massages. cheap &amp; good. she charges $40 for an hr of massage.