(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Hi Dino,

I heard doctor said those normal penadol is safe to eat but anti-biotic must becareful. Why don't you call Dr Jocelyn and ask her comments?

Yah, anything as long as for the little baby i think is worth

Hi Makeupfairy,
is yr first child also delivered by Dr. Jocelyn Wong? Can share with us yr experience?

Niki,
I woke up to eat maggie mee at 1230am couple of days ago.. hehe.. other than that, i force myself to sleep before 12am so that won't feel hungry. I am eating 7 meals a day now, sometimes really tired of eating again.. I am not such big eater before pregnant.
My appetite totally changed too, previously i am very health concious, love alot of vege & fruits, nuts, cereals, yoghurt kind of natural food, hate eating meat. Now is the opposite! I crave for roti prata, fried chicken, fried fish, hot and salty stuff (with strong taste), especially hate the smell of steam fish, dun like natural food. I know it's no good.. but i can't seem to control myself..

yipee,
my tummy is still not so obvious the morning, will grow bigger and bigger when the night approaches. Gynae said it's not bcos of baby, it's the wind in my stomach that makes it bloated. :p

ningyo,
We only told our immediate family at this moment. Colleague dunno yet. But i think sooner or later will know, a colleague already suspected me expecting when i was looking for fried bee hoon the other day, while normally i dun quite choose food.

I am still shopping for a pair of comfy shoes - for work and leisure. Any recommendations?

Welcome makeupfairy, there are 4 of us with Dr J Wong.. hee..

Most of the time i'm feeling giddy and nausea, no vomit or morning sickness *touch wood*

Btw, is Jocelyn Wong really so good? Do we have to wait long time to see her?

Anyway, i'm with Dr Douglas Ong and i went to his clinic at Bt Panjang Plaza.

Hi Dino,
u want to try honey or pi2 pa2 gao1?
it helps to smoothen the throat but wonder can we eat?

kelly,
LOLLL... but actually after puking it makes u feel betta rite? Mine wanna puke but can't puke, very xin1 ku3.

augustmum,
Hehehe... we chatted b4 in the augustMTB thread in 2004. Dat thread die liao hor? Me oso seldom carry my son nowadays cos of spotting. How did ur doc find a blood clot in ur womb? Thru ultrasound scan?

RE: Good appetite
Hey, i envy u gals for having such gd appetite. I'm only eating to survive these days. Now preggie, got reason to grow fat. hehehe...

bearybear,

Ya, the feeling of wanting to puke but cannot is really bad. Me feel so bloated all the time even though I eat little.

Hmm....august2004 thread? Hee....you also planned this second pregnancy hor?

The doc saw the blood clot thru the ultrascan. he went," Don't want to alarm you, but there's a blood clot."

Ya, I also envy all of you who have good appetite. Atleast your baby is receiving proper nourishment. I hope the MS will go away asap. It lasted me about 1.5 months the previous pregnancy.

Aiyoh, got two parties tomorrow. Really dread it. Think about the smell of food

hello girls

Can I join in? Had a positive HPT 2 weeks ago and confirmed pregnancy at the gynae today - est 6 weeks. Gynae thought she could see a tiny flickering but I couldn't for the life of me make it out. EDD is 19 Aug based on 40 weeks

Hi Lim,
Congratulations to you & welcome!!! this is an early x'mas gift 4 you & your hubby
. you must be excited too!!

Hi chrys,
sounds like we are in the same boat!!! I used to be health conscious too, small eater & a flat tummy!!! BUT NOT ANYMORE............ my waist line definitely expanding & ya I cun hide that little tummy anymore especially after meals.

Hi Dino,
try guggling mouthwash down your throat, it actually numbs the pain & kills the bacteria causing the sore too. thereafter, slowly down a big spoonful of honey, feel it down the throat if not trick dun work. do this once in the morning & once at night. Hope it will work for you, good luck trying & get well soon!!

auguestmum,
I oso dunno considered planned or unplanned leh. I wanted to have a bb next yr, and dat i'll start trying seriously tis month. Who knows, stuck jackpot so soon :p
Did gynae say how tis blood clot will affect u? I hate passing by places that sell food these days. I hope i dun puke on the spot whenever i pass by food places. If not so malu!!!

Hi lim,
Welcome

All MTBs,
Have a merry merry xmas!!!

Yes, excited but worried at the same time. Had a M/C some months ago. But this time I have a more positive feeling about things and the gynae said so far so good.
Just very paranoid everytime I get what I think is a cramp. Also have been keeping eagle eye on the colour of my discharge!!

Can't wait for next appt to see how it is progressing further. Currently the embryo size is 0.33 cm.

(changed my name to zshih - mistakenly put Lim initially)

Thanks for all your suggestion. I am felling much better now.No more fever. I called Dr wong this morning and ask her abt the medication. she told me that anti-botic is safe for the bb. She even told me to take honey and vit c. She is really very nice and friendly.
I just cant stand the smell of fish and no more steam fish.But during evening, i will feel like puking. But instead, burping all the air. Feels terrible sometimes.

Ningyo
Dr Joycelyn wong is quite good. She is patience. She would tell you the donts' and many more on your 1st appt. She answers my call when i have questions to ask her, just like this morning regarding the medication. Thumbs up for her service.

Hi welcome & congrat zshih

Hi Dino, good to know that you are getting better

Thanks May Wong for the infor !

Hi May,
Thnx for the info, here's wishing you a smooth delivery!! finally can see your bb soon, you must be really excited now!!!

Hi zshih,
dun worry too much, wat's past jus let go of it & look towards your current pregnancy. Important not to stress yourself too much, positive mindset will have a positive outcome. I'm sure you be alright this time round, have faith!!! your bb will stay with you gal!!! Avoid carrying heavy stuff & slow down your pace. Will wait to hear more good news from your next gynae appointment ya

thanks for the encouraging words niki! Yes, am telling myself to have a good feeling about this pregnancy.
Have been eating far too much for myself and bb this long holiday weekend! Am glad tho for the many public hols coming up - at least can rest and not work. Today so tiring....

i cant help wondering something...
how do we know if the baby is still alive in our tummy? i've heard so much abt M/C so gettin abit scared too...

ningyo - i think no way to know for sure except by scan. But you can keep a watch out for warning signs of M/C like cramping or bleeding. also if you lose whatever signs of pregnancy that you are currently having (eg sore breasts, morning sickness etc, then maybe should check with the gynae)
understand the stress. but best thing that can be done is to stay positive and pray that all will be well.

hi zshih,

heard that some mothers still have those pregnancy symptoms even thou its M/C...

Think i juz gotta relax and think more positively..hehee
Cant wait for my next gynae appointment which is 2 weeks from now~~~~~~~

Btw, is it sufficient to eat 1x5MG folic acid per day? Any side effects of eating more?

Hey ningyo and zshih,

This thing about M/C has also been plaguing me through the long weekend. I feel that the first trimester is especially stressful in the sense that because the baby is still really tiny, there's no way we can tell if all is really going well inside our tummies since we can't feel any movements at this stage. To top that up, check-up appointments are so far apart that I'm constantly worrying for this one whole month till the next gynae appointment.

For me, I don't have any pregnancy symptoms at all, so its even more difficult to tell if the baby's well cos I don't have any pregnancy symptoms to lose! Everyone keeps telling me to relax and think positive but, sometimes, its really difficult.......

Does anyone else here have this overwhelming sense of worry hit them every now and then?

hi ningyo, folic acid is water soluble and any access will be passed out of the system with urine.
So don't worry about taking too much folic acid.

Judith - yes, I do have an overwhelming sense of worry, but have to tell myself that it is not going to help matters at all. Just move from one appt to the next. Keep healthy and take care of youself in between.

But really, what I understand is that if it is going to happen anyway, very hard to prevent at this early stage esp if you are already taking all precautions. If it is not a viable fetus, your body will naturally end up rejecting it since it wouldn't have been able to progress, no matter what you do. It's pretty awful I know, but it's not the mother's fault and rarely within one's control, even the doctor's. If the M/C can be prevented, you just have to get the best treatment you can and if the fetus survives, then good.

Hi judith,

U r not alone. I'm constantly worrying too.

My source of consolation is looking fwd to the next gynae visit to get more assurance and to see how the baby's developing.

Judith, ningyo, zshih,

Hi, you all not alone..... me worrying too
. Especially my gynea told me nowaday quite high % for MC, the rate is about 1/5. Really make me quite worry at the beginning, especially we have TTC for quite some time. Anyway, I always try to think positively and act positively too by not eating those food advice by the gynea. I believe this is the only thing we can do at this stage, just look positively, I believe we all will have a very smooth 9 mths

Hey why suddenly everyone here is so pessimistic and worrying..? Worry or not worry, it won't change anything.. so why dun we choose to be happi? Don't worry too much ok.. holiday mood now..!! it's end of the year.. new year is coming!! and it's a long weekend!! so happi.. looking forward..
yah yah.. so looking forward to holidays and weekends nowadays.. it's tiring to spend whole day in office.. rite..

I will never tell pple that my appetite is good now.. real pantang.. i lost my appetite after i said it to everyone! I experienced the gassy, and always full feeling, got no craving for certain food.. haha.. ok ok, i think the baby is pantang that the mummy keep telling pple he is big eater.. So i guai guai now.. if appetite good i eat more, if no appetite, i eat less.
(So Niki, i dun feel like elaborating more on my appetite.. :p)

My tummy also sometimes big sometimes small. My DH also notice that. This morning he said, eh? Ur tummy bcome smaller liao. strange hor..

I read from a book saying that chestnut (the brown color nut from China) is very good food for pregnant women, bcos it is rich in protein and folic acid. Yesterday i bought some, quite tasty..

My MIL ask me to stock up some chicken essence, she said drink it when feeling nausea.. i tried, quite useful.

Going to see Dr Wong this Saturday..

Happy New Year to everyone!!

Hi chrys,

U r in which week now? My appt with Dr Wong is next friday ...... really can't wait to see her lei...

I do drink chicken essence also
, but any idea is that ok if everyday drink 1 bottle?

Hi wanli,
I am in 9 week now. This Sat checkup will be the 9 week checkup bfore the next one in 12 week. But actually i will be 9 weeks 6 days this sat, 1 more day to 10 weeks. We made app on Sat bcos it's more convenient for my DH, dun need to take half day leave or time off.

Brand's advertisement says drink a bottle of their chicken essence every day to make it a balance diet. Hehe.. depends on ur body whether u can take it. I feel that it's somewhat heaty, u know la.. tonic food mah.. My DH ask me to take on alternate days.. I didn't follow. I drink it when i need it only.

Agree with chrys - just try to stay positive - the fuzzy feelings will transpose itself to the bb

Carbohydrates seem to help curb my 'sick' feelings too. For me that's mostly potato in any form!! yum.

Oops, seems like i'm the 1 who start gettin pple pessimistic...hehehe, so pai seh :D

I'm snacking on hi-calcium biscuits and milo.

Dont know y tday so hungry. Waiting for dinner time!

Just curious.. does any of you cook ur own dinner at home everyday? Else, how do u settle ur dinner? eat outside eg hawker centre, foodcourt? eat at PIL place?

Hi chrys,
Most of the time we settle dinner outside.
Too troublesome and lazy to cook.Lazy to go back family home to eat also.

I've grown sick of the food around my estate and so nowadays i always ask my hubby to ta bao back and by the time he's home, it's 8pm+ liao.

But thinking of what to ta bao back is also a headache...Anyway, i hate to eat those veg.rice. So most of the time is noodle or bee hoon soup or porridge for me.

It's very unhealthy. sighzz.

Hi zshih,

I think it's a blessing to put on weight coz its a sign that the baby is growing...hehehe

Anyway, so far i think i didnt gain much weight shd be less than 1kg but my waist line & tummy seems to be expanding. Got difficulty buttoning up my jeans.

Hi Ningyo,
Yah.. exactly!! I used to cook at home after work, those simple meal for 2 person, but also got rice, vege and soup. but now after reach home i am so tired, open the fridge see the uncooked stuff, so lazy to cook... really feel "xin you yu er li bu zu". Sometimes really hungry till starving already, still need another 1 hour plus to get food done. Don't forget after eating, the washing part leh..

But da bao from outside also got limited choices.. eat till sianzz.. also not healthy..
Anyone got any good suggestions or experience to share??

Yesterday DH bought alot of vege, tonight need to cook myself.
(shh..dare not tell him i hate cooking nowadays..)

Last night i fall asleep on sofa when folding clothes.

Hi chrys,
think my bb selective listening lah so up to today I still eating every 3-4hours, hahahaha!!! but now I find eating so often a torture becoz I must hunt for food .... sigh!!! btw, I eat at PIL dinner so not much headache except their "OFF days".... outside food can get boring, but remember to take dark green leafy vegetables at least once a day, high in folic for bb too.....

Hi ningyo, zshih,
this is only the beginning to constant hunger..... hahahaha!!!! welcome to the club!!!! ningyo, understand how you feel but really have to force yourself to eat coz you are eating for your bb now too. change the variety of veg rice, instead maybe try muslim food??? or have fish slice soup, very healthy choice. or supplement your breakfast with cereals will be good too. Anyway, I have kissed goodbye to my favourites ..... jeans!!! dun seem to fit anymore with that expanding tummy

Hey chrys,
suddenly remembered!!! y dun you try ordering "tingkat" service?????? variety of choices from a long menu for everyday, deliver to your place timely everyday & wat's more....... not so much washing to do after dinner!!!! maybe you can look up catering websites...... should be equivalent or cheaper than you have to spend eating outside everyday.

Hi chrys,
I eat my MIL cooking, but sometimes, HB and I will eat outside food.
For bloated stomach, my colleague told me that her doctor told her to fry egg with ginger, and this will help to ease the bloatedness.
Hi Wanli,
Just an update. I went to see Dr Wong yesterday. I did the scan, now the bb is 12mm(now is 7wk+), and I saw the heartbeat. My EDD has change to 13 Aug due to the bb size.
She took my HB's blood to test for the Thalaseamia. She said that is it good for both parties to test. However, i will only test it together with the NT scan and triple test. I dun need to be poke by the needle 2 times.
She told me that we can start using the stretchmark cream from 4th mth onwards. She even told me the the line below our belly with get darker throughout the whole pregancy & ask if I have noticed it. She ask me if I have noticed that my breast may have grown bigger too. Next, She advice me to buy 1 size bigger clothes, and dun need to buy maternity clothes yet. She gave me multi-vitamin. My nxt appt is 3wks later.

Hi Niki,
U didn't change much.. u are still very health contious..
Fish slice soup was once my favourite when i was on diet but now, sigh.. i hope i can stand the smell of fish.. My PIL place is quite far from my home, so quite troublesome to go back everyday for dinner.. only on weekends. Thanks for suggesting the tingkat, I am searching online. Btw, anyone know of any good caterers doing tingkat service? Thanks ya..

Hi Dino,
Thanks for the tips..

yeah, i find that it's always informative and educational tour to go to Dr Wong for checkup.. especially for FTP. The multivit she gave u isit Obimin?

Hi honeyhaven,
I am taking Brand's chicken essence, as it has always been recommended my PIL and my parents.

Hi Honeyhaven,
I taking plain Brand's chicken essesnce also
. Feel that this is the best, at least suite to my taste.

Hi chrys,
U r so hardworking still can cook dinner. The day after I know i am pregnant I already seldom cook, only will do cooking during weekend sometimes. It is really tired after work, since my appetite not that good so I just simply buy something from outside. May be you can buy a slow cooker so that still can cook some soup in the morning and can drink after work

Hello Dino,
Thanks for update and so happy to know that yr bb growing well
. Yr bb is exactly same size as mine in 7 weeks, did she tell you the bb hearbeat?
SO fast she test yr hubby blood. I think we will do the blood test all together on 12 weeks. My next visit will be on next friday which is my 10+ weeks
, really exciting.......but it is really difficult to wait for these 3 weeks.

Yah, my breast really grow bigger, increase 1 cup....already bought a bigger size bra. :p ... Me also not intend to buy maternity clothes so soon, just bought a bigger sizes shirt to cover my tummy

By the way, just want to check with you what kind of scan Dr Wong normally do for you? normal tummy scan or vaginal scan? is it 2D or 3D?

HI chrys,
The vitamin Dr Wong give me is not Obimin, she only give me folic acid and neogobion, dunno enough or not......

So fed up. Only got to eat lunch at 1.45 because of work and it was so crazy this morning that I had no break to snack since my breakfast early this morning. Was about to pass out. The annoyances of work become much more severly pronounced when pregnant huh.

My tummy and waistline also are significantly bigger but think it is bloated from gas and bowel. Sigh.

Hmmm, my waistline has been sometimes big, sometimes small. Think its due more to bloating prob than the baby and what I happen to be eating that day.

Hey, ask you ladies a question, for those of you who have breast tenderness and soreness, is it a 24/7 thing or does this symptom subside once in a while? Eg, sore for awhile, but not sore for the next few days

hi Judith

Funny that you happen to mention this just yesterday. I had the soreness for quite a long while since discovering I was pregnant but last night, it suddenly disappeared. I was extremely stressed out and worried cos had been having mild cramping too.

Anyway I went to see the gynae today and all is still fine. I could even hear the baby's heart beating which was just amazing! She couldn't explain why it comes and goes too - perhaps it's got something to do with fluctuating hormone levels perhaps? I must say I was quite paranoid though.

Hi judith,
for me breast tenderness & soreness comes & goes. sometimes it can hurt the worst during sleep at night, like last night it practically woke me up!! think must be all the hormones playing tricks hor!!!

Hi zshih,
which week are you at already?? did your bb EDD change?? I think it is unavoidable feeling paranoid through out preggie, coz we'll be worried about different things at different stages........ but ultimately staying positive should be important, so let us all cheer one another on!!!! mummy's mood will affect bb & i'm sure we all want a cheerful bb!!!

Thanks for the encouraging words niki!
I'm at week 7 this week. The machine made the EDD change to 17 Aug (originally 19 Aug), but gynae said stick to 19 Aug. I'm trying to be super careful this time too due to the previous M/C earlier this year.
Trying to remain calm and positive but vigilant.