(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Hi Wanli,
She only gave me 2 options, which are OSCAR at wk12, and Triple at wk16. She told me that i could take the Triple test. On my 1st visit, I showed her the folic acid I bought, so she said she will not prescribe any medicine till the next visit. I paid $118+, if I am not wrong. She showed me that the 2nd visit would be $86($38 scan and $48 consultation). How much was your 2nd visit?
On the last visit, I asked the nurse abt Bedok and TMC clinic. She told me that TMC is much better. For example, plasma TV where you can see on the spot, when Dr Wong will point and explain to you about the uterus, the sac and the foteus. And the print out will be given immediately. The nurse there is also very friendly and helpful. I will take up her package too.

Hi Dino,

Yah, I think take up the Triple one should be enough. Seem like the price is almost the same. hmm, may be I should consider going TMC instead of bedok, at least I can get the print out immediately

May be will ask doctor on my next visit. If the second visit she give you vitamin and folic acid then then price will not be $86, my second visit also $110+. Actually quite expensive, hope the package start early.

So are you able to see clearly the foetus on the plasma TV for yr fist visit? The bedok one is just a small pc monitor, abit blurr.....

Hi Judith,

Thanks for yr soya bean infor.
I drink 2 to 3 times a week....is that consider too much?

Hi Welcome Kelly

I didn't log in for a long time, quite tired so didn't log in. I visited my gynae yesterday. I saw my baby's heartbeat..blinking.
My baby measured at 2.8mm. Gynae says i am in my 5th week. I start to feel nauseous in the morning, especially brushing teeth... then after lunch is ok...How abt u gals?? BTW, do u have more white discharge than last time?? and
is enfamama fattening?? I heard annum is quite fattening.. I drinking HL milk for now, but would like to try enfamama if it is not fattening..

Hi kelly,
Congrats to u too.

Hi wanli, I can't say for sure whether generally soya bean milk is bad in the first place or miscarriages during consumption of soya bean milk is really just due to that. Afterall, this may all be just coincidence.

But hey, chinese-practice wise, I've heard that it is also very "liang" and the auntie in my office pantry was also advising not to take too much of it. How about switching to birds nest? *wink*

Hi Judith,

hahah, thks. I think for my first tri better drink milk enough. Not not dare to drink soya bean milk anymore. :p

Did anyone of you feel breathless when in crowded area like bus and MRT? I got this situation when in bus or MRT.....

Hi Wanli,
Yes, very clear, and it is very amazing. Dr wong will zoom in the water sac and foteus to view together.
Hi Honeyhaven,
I do have more discharge these days. But i think as long as it is white or yellow, its normal, but not greenish. Mine was light yellow and very stretchy.

wanli,
Yes, i feel breathless and my heart will race these days when in crowded places. Happened a few times at shopping ctrs dat r way crowded or even in crowded food courts. Very scary feeling when i experience dat.
Soyabean milk can drink lah, jus not excessive lor. And dun take cold one.

honeyhaven,
I ever heard b4 dat enfamama is not as fattening as anmum. Dunno how true it is though. But i was tinking these milks r betta cos they contain DHA or watnots dat r gd for bbies rite, as compared to normal freshmilk?

RE: discharge
Discharge will get more n more as we progress in our pregnancy. As long as no itch or no foul smell or weird colours, it's prefectly normal.

HI bearybear,

Thanks for infor
, i really feel relief now at least someone having same situation as me.

by the way, i don't have much discharge lei.....is it normal?

Hi all, I am not sure I will be July MTB or Aug MTB, because my scan at KKH says my EDD is on 2 Aug, but my scan last week at TMC shows my EDD is 30 July.. standing at border. My gynae said just stick to one date first-2 Aug, so as not to confused. But my LMD is 16 Oct, i have longer cycle.

Wanli, Dino, my gynae is also Joyceline wong.

I seen her first time last Sat at 9am, i am the first patient of the day so no need to wait, after i came out already 10.15, many patients waiting outside.. She is really patient and nice, explaining things in detail, also gave me milk powder. When saw the milk, me and my hubby giggled, she was puzzled. Then we told her that we knew thru the forum that she is giving away milk powder, she shocked and clarified that she is not the milk powder agent and not earning a cent out of it.. :p

Hi chrys,

Yah, I read yr post from Jul MTB
and I know yr doc is Jocelyn as well. kekeke... true....she is really patients to explain everything in details. My EDD also 2 Aug, but i think it may change based on the baby size. So, u plan to sign the package with her?

hahaha, i got the milk powder sample also. but I think they getting all this sample from the distributor. I believe all the doctor got the sample but just sometime you may need to ask only they will give....

Went to gynae yest and confirm i'm pregnant

Doc says i'm in my 6weeks, baby measuring 3mm and can see the blinking heartbeat. Estimate delivery is in Aug but cant give me the dates yet. Have to wait for my appointment in next 2weeks time.
I dont even remember my LMP....hehee

Caught quite off-hand...Only started to take folic acid now

Can someone share with me what are the nutrious food that i shd be taking now?

I think I'll be an August mummy too hehehe. I will be seeing Dr Wong at TMC this Thursday. I'll be exactly 6 weeks then. I hope my pregnancy will be ok as we've been waiting for this to happen for a long time

Hi moms,

Can I join too? Just discovered my pregnancy too. EDD is 14 August. This will be my second child. My first is almost 17 months.

Now, experiencing bad morning, or all day, sickness. Super bad. dislike the smell of cooking, my son's urine and poo. Super tired, sleeping whole day. Now, on leave. Going back work. Really dread it.

Hate almost all food and plain water. Dunno how.

Hi Welcome ningyo, Makeupfairy and augustmum
!!

Hi ningyo,
Don't worry, I also just started taking folic acid after I know I am pregnant on my 5 weeks plus. Did yr doctor give u any multi-vitamin?

Hi Makeupfairy,
Congrat :D!! Are u referring to Dr Jocelyn wong from TMC? If yes, then we will have total 4 MTB with Jocelyn Wong :p

Hi augustmum,
I have the same feeling as you, I'm not only hate the smell of cooking but also whenever think about food then feel like vomiting...... but anyway, I will still able to eat small portion. I really find it useful to eat small portion at one time.

honeyhaven, the milk powder is Dumex Mamil Mama. However i still haven't try it yet, as i am halfway drinking my Anmum. I was considering between Anmum and Anfamama, my hubby said Anmum is made in NZ, so we thought might be better, so give it a try.

wanli, i think i will sign up the package with her, it's more worthy. My 1st visit already cost me $129 (without medicine). With package, starting week 12 (with total 12 visits) cost $500+. Are u gonna take up the same package?

My next vist is 9 week on 31 Dec, do u think i can skip that visit and straight away wait for week 12 for the blood testing thingy? Last visit is week 7.

Previously i went to KKH for consulation twice, both different gynae, i cannot tahan the slowness and long waiting time. So i decided to switch to TMC. The good point with KKH is, 85% of my bill is paid by company, but up to certain amount.

Hi Mommies!
I'm new here.

I've been borrowing pregnancy books to read, and I read that we will be given enema before giving birth. Is this true and the procedure is it painful?

Thanks a lot!

wanli,
No discharge betta leh!!!

ningyo,
In 1st trimester, no nid to eat anything special. In fact the duration of the pregnancy oso the same. Jus keep to a healthy diet is gd enuf

makeupfairy,
Welcome

augustmum,
Hi, welcome welcome. I chatted wif u in another thread b4 under another nick. Nice to know u're preggie again. Me oso 2nd pregnancy. My son 15 mths now. Hehehe... at times i nearly puked when i smell my son's poo poo :p So now usually hubby handles it.

Hi chrys,

Yes, I will sign up with Jocelyn
start from week 12. Actually the doctor really don't mind if you want to skip the next visit and wait until weeks 12. Actually she did sugested this to me but I just can't wait to see the progress of the bb so I don't want to have such a long gap from 7weeks - 12 weeks.

So, I will still visit her on my 10 weeks which is on 6 Jan. Yah..... I really think is abit expensive.....before 12 weeks total i will visit her for 3 times and will spend >$300 plus already.

wanli,
i asked her how to know if the baby is growing well inside without doing the scan. She said no way can know it, but impossible to scan it everyday too. I also dunno whether to skip week 9 checkup or not as i dun have MS all the while, the only difference is my BIG appetite and frequent urination, in fact i think some MS is good, at least u r rest assured baby is growing..

Hi wanli,

Nope, doc didnt give me any multi-vitamin coz i told him i already got folic acid tablets fm ntuc unity...hehehe

100s 5MG only $2.52. :D

Hi bearybear,

Sighz, problem is i'm a small eater so now even thou i'm hungry but dun have appetite to eat.Anyway, i dun have any MS symptoms.

So must force myself to eat more nutrious food.

chrys,

yah true..... I also think like that but i got read one post from one of the MTB, she said she is miscarriage althought she got no spotting or bleeding and still continues having MS. It is really abit scary..... So to play safe then I choose to go more often loh :p since we are just able to save 100+ only by skipping one of the consultation.

wanli,
i agree with u.. and doctor said week 9 husband can do blood test first, so let him do first before i can do it in week 12.
oh ya, i think i will take the oscar test instead.

Hi Chrys,
Welcome & please dun scare yourself. I asked my gynae & he said everyone's pregnancy is different. Some may not have MS at all, it all depends. Anyway , you are not the only one, coz I also dun have MS, jus BIG appetite & frequent urination as well as tiredness. So be rest assured.

Ningyo, makeup fairy, augustmum & belinda,
welcome to the club!! Wishing you joy in this 9months journey.

Ningyo,
just avoid cooling fruits like watermelon & bananas especially the big ones (del monte). Eat tonics only after the 1st trimester was what I was told. Oh ya, avoid liver & carrots too, food that contains vitamin A bad for bb development now.

Wanli,
I also dun have much discharge, think should be ok lah ah. never hear anything regarding this before leh.

honeyhaven,
I am taking Enfamama, it's not fattening so you dun worry. it contains all the nutrition good 4 bb development, better than drinking normal fresh milk definitely.

bearybear,
ya tell me about it, my nieces are more gutsy then my newphew!!! but having gals are so much more interesting when it comes to shopping & dressing them up hor :p

hi ningyo, makeupfairy, chrys, augustmum,
welcome! congrats too!

berlinda,
e midwife wanted 2 give me enema at 6am b4 i was 2 b put on e drip at 8am but i rejected it. i had contractions e whole nite n each time there's a major contraction, i would go & poo poo. hence, i told e nurse, no bowels at all so dun need it n dun want it too.

bearybear, augustmum,
LOL! i puked out my dinner when i handled my son's poo poo last wk so now my husband handles all diaper-changing. previously i would feel pu

bearybear,
remember i told u i had 2 dinners? ya, tat was e nite i puked out both dinners.

bearybear,

Who are you????? We chatted before???

Kelly, bearybear,

Ya, no more diaper changing for me too
Anyway, stopped carrying baby now as during the previous scan, doc spotted a blood clot in the womb. So, it's rest, rest and rest now.

My appetite is getting crazy.. i ate fish porridge at 1230 and got hungry at 1pm and bought a packet of nasi lemak, finish it at 130pm, eat til clean clean.. iyo.

hi chrys,
do you get up in the wee hours of the morning to hunt for food?? Out of a week, at least 3 nights I am like that then I go back to sleep satisfied!!! heehee...... dunno is bb the big eater or me???? B4 pregnancy, I eat very little, are you like that too???

Do you all have tummy already? I am in my 6 week but tummy quite big already leh, those pants, which are just right before pregnancy seems to become too tight, yesterday went to some maternity shop to stock up some bottoms liao...

Hi yipee,

Same as me, I can see my tummy already. I'm on my 8 weeks now. How much u spend for yr shopping on the maternity stuff?

Wah chrys,
you really can eat alot
. Good to have appetise. I always hungry but just can not eat too much at a time.

Hooo..i spend $300 for 2 pants and 4 skirts...those that can keep adjusting to suit your tummy size...still have more to come men..

Wah Chrys! U really have a good appetite! I'm hungry often but juz cant seem to eat coz cant think of anything nice to fill my stomach.

Juz curious, have any of u gals told ur colleagues? Or did any of ur colleagues suspect ur pregnancy?

So far, i still look normal mayb more tired look & abit plump at tummy if i wear tight fitting dress/skirt but dont look pregnant.

Btw, anyone still wearing heels?

Tell me about it! *groan*. I have a tummy that makes me look as if I haven't been exercising discipline in eating! - I bloody just look fat, NOT pregnant. And when I touch my midriff, it's all soft and fatty! HAHAHAHH!

I also look plump at the tummy. My office neighbours also asked me why i look tired recently. I just pretend and say i also dun know. Just hope they won't find out so soon. I stopped wearing heels liao. Did u gals feel nauseous and would go toilet to puke, but worried that yr colleagues will see??

Although i look fat...when i think abt my baby i feel happy. The little one seem to understand me and my hb... For the past 3 nights, i couldn't sleep at night..just toss and turn...My hb will then start to talk to our baby...He will start to say bao bei, mummy needs to sleep cause tomorrow she needs to work..so u be a good baby ok...after that by the time i wake up it is already morning... Isn't it interesting... dun know whether it is coincident or whether our baby just understand us... Maybe u gals can try...hehehe

Actually i have told my family, close friends and colleagues abt my pregnancy..actually i think it is ok to share the joy...just afraid that if too many people know, and if something happen (chio chio), then need to explain again which is the worse during that situation...anyway just hope everything is ok...

hey honeyhaven, my sentiments exactly! I've always been skinny. Its amazing how easily the fats (not baby tummy yet) seem to be accumulating on my waist and hips. *ohmigod* Was just looking at the mirror in the elevator. I think I'm starting to look like a lactating cow with burgeoning breasts and almost non-existant waist.
hahaha.

Hey yipee, not yet. Am crossing my fingers it stays this way. Just a little bit of giddiness when in the cab in the morning when the taxi driver drives jerkily. Other than that, feeling quite normal.

Hi all, thanx for the warm welcome

With all tips that you all shared here I am able to decide who to go to and where so I'm very grateful. If not I'll be so sotong, very blur hehehe. I've had it with bad insensitive doctors so finding out a little bit about each doctor from your experiences here is great.

Wanli - Yep, I am seeing Dr Jocelyn Wong hehe.

I read that those having 2nd pregnancy the tummy will expand faster than the 1st pregnancy. So it might show earlier.

I went to the doc yesterday...I was supposed to be about 6 weeks exactly based on my LMP but during the scan, the baby sac measures about 3.4 mm so she estimated only about 4/5 weeks. So maybe I ovulated late. My period also irregular before this. I dun have any MS yet just a bit queasy and gassy (alamak dis one cannot stand hahaha). I feel hungry pretty fast.

Just saw doctor today, cause I have fever, and sore throat. I told doctor I am preg. He gave me panadol and anti-botics. However, I am still worried if anti-botic can harm the foteus. He said ok. Till now, I have not taken any anti-botics yet. Ladies, any remedy for sore throat? Sigh... Blame myself, I took 2 pieces of durian, then all the sickness come. So sad.

My tummy is also growing, can see that my hips and waist is growing. Couldnt maintain figure anymore. But think of baby, its worth.