(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

hi mummies ,

i have been seeing how ur baby spent 1 day . 1 question , did u all let ur baby watch tv ? wonder issit i let my son watch too much .. very day , he at my mum place watch tv .. cos my mum day time no bring him out . evening time n dinenr time then bring him out for dinner n shopping daily .. u all think is this a problem ?

hi white lady
leon watches maybe one half hour education VCD a day, but he isn't really interested how much tv does your baby watch? i think up to one hour is okay.. maybe give him more books? we borrow new books from the library, like a dozen every 2 weeks, seems to keep leon v busy. i try to avoid shopping centres, we go outdoor a lot, to the park.

hi piyo..our gals have the same pattern...i wonder how to make them sleep longer...shyanne is now back to waking ard 6am....sometimes earlier...v early leh..i hope she can sleep till like 7am...sometimes if she wakes too early like 5plus..i give her milk..and she will play on the bed by herself until 6.45am..then sleep again till 7.15am...how ah??? i tried to let her sleep later..but still wake up the same time....

been a long time since i post anything...trying to adapt to my new work environment.

hi whitelady,
Denise spends quite an amount of time watching tv, but she doesn't sit still in front of the tv, will usually take a few glances while running around, accept when bad mummy is watching her drama serial at 9pm then she'll be on my lap watching with me...hehehe

but i find your boy waking up too late leh...maybe you wanna do some adjustments on that.

Denise's schedule is like..

7.30 - 9.30 wakes up
11 - 12 nap
1 - 2 wakes up
3.30 - 4.30 nap again
5 - 5.30 wakes up
9.30 - 10.30 bedtime (but sometimes may drag till 12midnight)
she occasionally will wakes up for milk otherwise will sleep through.

hi piyo,
i'm very kan cheong to know your bb's gender, and also very kan cheong about mine...hope i'll find out on next fri appt...wish me luck ^^

hi fiona and other mommies

seems like most babies still take 2 naps! leon only takes 11 - 1 or 130. sometimes around 7pm he might want to doze off but i don let him cos when he does he dsnt sleep till past midnight. v hard esp in the car, he wants to doze off..

hi , my son can watch tv the whole day ... except for sleeping time ... issit too much ? cos except for tv , all other things , he dont like ... what should i do ?

here's kayden's daily routine:
7+am: wake up, read books (if have time before we go to my mum's place)
8+am to 12noon: have his breakfast, bathe, play or watch his favourite sesame street vcd or richard scary nursery rhymes cd
12+noon: take lunch
1+pm or 2: take nap
4+pm: drink milk, play or watch vcd again
7+pm: go to playground, have dinner
10pm to the next day: sleep (will wake him up for 1 diaper change and milk feed)
now he doesn't want to sleep early so sometimes feed him around 10+pm and we will skip the nite feed.

white lady,

personally, i feel it is too much to watch tv even for one hour. It is worse if he's watching channel 5/8/U etc. The images of TV prog change very rapidly, unlike those in toddlers' VCDs. Yr son may suffer from short attention span next time if he is used to such rapid changes.

furthermore, some studies pointed out though not realy proven that excessive tv may cause autism.

in addition, i read that you take him shopping daily. If it is at shopping malls, the loud and fast music, crowd, bright lights could also be very stimulating for yr child. That may explain why he is unable to sleep at night. Too stimulated by tV and shopping.

You may like to buy some toddlers' vcds for yr mum and ask her to restrict to one per day. You could also leave more toys at yr mother's place to occupy yr son. Get some chinese pic books if yr mum is unable to read english.

frankly speaking, if yr mum is too occupied by other stuff and unable to accompany the child, you may consider enroling him in some playgroup so at least he could be productively involved and do more kiddy stuff.

I hope my comments don't add on to your worries and stress. All the best.

Crisann wake up at 7 am and sleep only at 3-4pm by force.

Hi Yoshi

Wah u got so long holiday. So nice. How I hope my company has shutdown as well. I'm planning to bring Crisann to Sentosa on either 9 or 10 Feb depending on the weather.

hi augustmum ,

there is a gathering ? when and where ? i want to bring him there =)

Re: TV ...
i dont let my son watch channel 5/8 ... we always let him watch cartoons , like shrek ...i didnt know that bringing him to shopping mall is bad ... =(

And i m trying to move my business to home office , but scare not enough business ... hope can spent more time with him ...

white lady,

the todders' vcds I'm talking about are stuff like Your Baby can Read or Baby Einstein. Maybe the mothers attending the gathering can bring some to show you.

The gathering at augbaby's place...

gathering at augbb's plc

20 Jan (sun)
1. Piyo, hubby, megan n maid
2. cocomo, hubby, Jay & maid
3. ade,hubby mel and leon
4. erin, hubby n kayden
5. Yoshi, hubby, Shauna & Kieira
6. leobbsmom & Shervonn
7. kelly, hubby + 2 boys
8. HoneyB & Hannah
9. kris, hubby & zorian

27 Jan (Sun)
4. erin, hubby n kayden
5. leobbsmom & Shervonn
6. honeyb, hubby & Hannah
7. kris, hubby & zorian

oh ok , gathering is 2 days .. i try to arrange =)

as for dvd n vcd , i got alot of what ever kinds , every kinds i buy n let him watch , but he only like shrek ... haha

White_lady,
Augbaby's house at Tampines. Jay watches Baby can read or Barney once everyday (sometimes dun).

Jay's routine:
7-8am wake up drink milk
8-9am breakfast
11-12pm lunch
12-4pm afternoon nap
3-4pm milk
4-5pm fruits
6-7pm dinner
9-10m milk then sleep

hi White Lady

Looking forward to seeing you at the gathering! As they grow, I find they love interaction more and more. Let's all look forward to a super gathering!

About VCD, agree with Augustmum, the educational ones are recommended. Leon's learnt a lot from My Baby Can Read, and this Chinese one a relative bought. Despite us not speaking Chinese, Leon can say ji dan (egg) and da gu (drum), quite cute heehee.

I also highly recommend books, books, books! The library has HEAPS of good, interactive books, open this, open that, flip this way, that way. Just give them a good wipe when u get them and they should keep your li'l one entertained.

Your baby is a boy right? Leon is in love with playing with balls. So I have a big beach ball, a medium size ball, some small balls, some squeeky balls, those keep him entertained too.

Doodle board I find is good too. Draw, write and show him, and he will imitate.

White lady,

As a SAHM, I do the following...

while I do housework, let him follow and take over or imitate when he wants. Eg. When I vacuum the floor, he would occasionally take over the vacuum cleaner.

Read to him. My boy will take books to me to ask me to read to him.

Play toys with him. Eg. build a tower with him using lego bricks. Play games with him, eg. catching balls, catching, rolling on the floor etc. sometimes, he would initiate the play with you, like wanting you to play peek-a-boo with you.

Take him to market. Point out fruits to him.

Bathe and water play. Give him containers to play with water.

Watch education vcds with him. Sing along, encourage him to follow.

Let him doodle on paper or doodle pad.

Feed him. Let him self feed.

Leave him some quiet time to play on his own while you sit by the side to monitor and take pics

oh, i've an older son to fight and play with him too. Must do conflict management very often.

pups...

For some reasons, I don't like to borrow books for toddlers from the library. I bought mine. Now, my collection is like a mini library.

Hygiene freak lah

Anyway, my older one has the habit of making us read the same books over and over again. He cannot recognise words yet but has memorised a few books. Hee... maybe should buy textbooks and read to him. With all the info implanted in his little brain, he would have an easier time next time. Ha... won't do it though... mummy would doze off after reading a line.

Today, a bit crazy, has the notebook on the whole day. Happy, happy just go tap tap on the keys. Shall hibernate tomorrow.

Hi White lady,
It's only 1 gathering at Augbb's place this Sunday 20th Jan

Megan seldom watches TV too if you look at her schedule. Sometimes even watching Dora ( we bot cos she loved dora so much)is only a 20mins thingy and after that she will walk away. I often bring back from office some big recycled papers for her to doodle with crayons during the daytime when I am not ard. When I am back, she will bring books from her book shelf to me sit on my lap and asks me to read to her.. hope this continues.

Perhaps you can get the Little Leapfrog learning pad and spend some time going thru the stories with him? I just got mine and going to open ceremony soon haha

Hi Augbb,
what time ah? we fixed liao?

Hi Pups,
which library do you normally go? I haf been wanting to bring megan to the nearby library near my place but scare she will make alot of noise and disturb others...

Fiona!, Honeyb and Doris
Now you make me more gan cheong! I just realised my staff taking long holiday from 4th feb(wk of CNY) till 15feb and it clashes with my detailed scan
now wondering shd I just bring my appt fwd, haf a normal scan at 18th wk (28jan tat wk) then when my staff comes back on my 21st week, then go detailed scan? cos I got to be ard if staff not ard
How?

When is yours again??? good luck! must update me!

Hi handi,
Our gers are EXACTLY the same! same scenario! like this morning she wakes up at 5.15am then maid gave her milk and she finally slept at 6.45 but woke up about 7.30am?

Hi babyboy,
How is your current maid? can do? pass your standard? if passed your standard, then try to let your maid haf some time to associate with him.. If cant even meet your std, i suggest you change asap and bring your boy along when you pick a maid

Seems like im a bad mummy..i let Gen watch TV all the time. While at work, im sure my MIL just put her in front of TV coz she wants to watch her SCV dramas..then at nite when i come back from work, i want to relax by watching Ch 8 variety show & the 9pm serial..Gen just play or watches with us..she is very fascinated by quarelling/ fighting scenes & advertisement.

We also let her watch Barney's vcd when she is in car so that she can be seated inside her car seat..think very soon Gen be like me..'4 eyed frog'..She doesnt like me to read to her coz she has short attn span.

Lately Gen is also very sticky to me..keep asking 4 me 'mama mama'..here & there aiyoh & she has become sucha= a cry baby..a little thing she will cry..i go toilet Pee she oso cry...mebe she know little brother is coming out soon...

So far, i also hvnt bring Gen to parks yet..oni shopping once a week..weather so bad lately i cant even bring her to beach which i wanted to for so long already..sigh.

How is everyone? Hope all the preggy mum's are doing well

I've been so busy at work and home I have not been logging on at all. I've missed out on all your chats and gatherings.

Ryan's has been a handful...
MH, similarly, Ryan has been very sticky, mama mama all the time.

Piyo and babyboy,
another thing thats been keeping me busy is maid issue. i hate to change but my maid is not able to help me too with baby. so every morning, I feed him milk, change diaper and clothes.. etc.. then i get ready for work, he will stick with me... headache cuz maid cant help me unless there is TV on ie Sesame street at 9am. so she and him just watch tv together.

Ryan loves to watch Barney and Sesame Street. We got him some baby dvd which he watches too at grandma place.

for activity, on we bring ryan to botanic gardens or malls :p

on weekends we try to do gymboree, playground and if weather permits, a dip in the pool.

ok i gotta go, my kid's watching to much tv with maid. :p

MH, same here! I let Sher watch tv all day long too. she loves to watch barney, hi-5 and other barney-like shows(but it's a bear).

she will watch abt 3 times when i'm at work, once morning, once after her nap, once in the evening. then when we're back from work, she'll watch the progs with us until 10pm.

i've asked around, and seems like other tods are also the same! haha!! at this age, they are very eager to learn and imitate. so i guess i will enroll her to some playgroups once she turns 18-mth old. Sher has started to show signs tat she wants to learn new things, so i really dowan to let her "waste" her time at home.

Hi MH, butter8
dun say that.. actually I also bad mummy, cant be home all the time so I really dunno what my maid does with her in the afternoon...When my maid 1st came onboard, she did ask me on the TV when megan eats or let her watch barney etc. I think most prob her past employers ask her to do that. I told her no.. I say only on music 24/7 but not TV. I think I very bad, i have not let her watch the bb einstein and other DVD which I have bot for her.. wanna hold a bit longer

I signed up for Gymboree annual membership at Vivo last Sunday so that Megan can go there free play as and when if we are available cos it's very near my place and NEW..Last Sunday shagged Megan out totally hahha let her play and haf free trial from 10-12pm.. sleep for near 3hrs in the afternoon! That makes me wanna bring her out to parks, library, swimming etc more.. else she really got too much energy to expound!also makes me think if she goes childcare full day, she shd sleep very well from 1-3pm ..

I have also cleared up my hse furniture to make more space for her to walk from room to room and end to end... think next time can invite you all to my place liao cos last time my hse is DINK friendly, not child friendly!

Hi MH,
Denise is exactly like Gen...everything oso call "mama mama", when i go toilet she wouldn't let me close my door, she'll push it wide open and if i try to close she'll cry too...

and she doesn't let me read to her too, but she loves and dances when i sing to her, so i treat it as another way of teaching her.

i oso very guilty leh...come home i watch ch 5/8 and she watches with me too...i was hoping my mil would on those educational programme for her, but i pass her vcds she oso dun bother to on one la...i'll try asking her to do it again.

hi pups,
denise sometimes fall asleeps after her bath around 7+ bcos daddy nvr keeps her occupied lor...then it'll be nightmare for me. so now i make sure she doesn't sleep so soon.

hi piyo,
dun gan cheong...like i said b4, wat's already inside is alrdy there. will definitely keep u updated on my progress

hi augbaby,
so the gathering's fixed on 20th? i have a birthday cele to go to, see whether i can arrange to come b4 i head there. wat time u all start?

Hi Fiona,
wei, this sunday you die die must come hor! I wanna c denise lei!

re: TV
we make it a point not to watch TV when she is around.. Like we used to watch TV when we are having dinner.. we stopped liao... only when she sleeps then we watch or go study room and watch.. think we r a bit extreme.. You c, my hubby is a TV and DVD and movie addict, I scared Megan got his TV genes!

Hi Piyo,
I think better to go at 21 weeks then, 18 weeks might be too early to get an accurate reading, there's CNY to keep you occupied lah :")

Here is Hannah's daily schedule:

6.45am wake up drink milk
8-9am breakfast, off to the park/playground/market, bathe
11-2pm nap
2pm lunch
3-5pm fruits, watch TV
5pm - milk, bathe
7pm dinner
9-10m milk then sleep

I feel very guilty cos we have to leave our house in the morning by 7am, as such, most times I have to wake Hannah up, she will be so reluctant to wake up but no choice. She will usually nap just before noon too cos my parents bring her to the park every morning and she will be tired out with all the walking and running. I've tried to get my mum to change her habit abit by getting Hannah to eat lunch first before taking her afternoon nap so that when she starts playgroup, her timing will blend in better but this ah ma very weak lah, always give in and prefers to stick to routine too. Sometimes I find it so difficult to change my mum's routine or thinking but I can't be too harsh as well cos come to think of it, should be my responsibility if I want to enforce certain rules for my children...*sigh*...and I can only do so if I quit my job and be a SAHM...

My mum also let Hannah watch TV for 2-3 hours everyday, thats something I don't like but can't help it too cos I know sometimes she needs a break as well. As for evenings when I bring Hannah back home, I will let her watch half an hour of TV so that I can bathe and prepare her for bed. I've stopped watching all the TV shows cos I think she has had enough at my mum's place

Hi, piyo

Pls dont move those furniture by yourself & if maid/hubby doing the moving, pls stay away lor as not good for pregnant woman according to old saying....

here Jia Hui's daily schedule

5.30-6am wake up drink milk
7-11 at mil house, eating bread & etc... going downstairs for her walk
12-1pm eat lunch
1.30-3+ nap time, after nap, go downstairs again
3-7pm... drink milk,playing, eat dinner & go downstair again
7-10.30/11.30pm - eat our dinner, bath, milk, play

these few days, she refused to sleep till quite late lor.. dont know why.... think she got too much energy...will cry if we switch off the light & close the door.... so just let her play in the bedroom till she wants to sleep ...

super bz at work!! No time to come in n post so gotta do a fast one...ya this sun gathering is confirm...wat time u all can? i am ok from 12-latest 4pm coz jay need to sleep by latest 4pm if not he b cranky... food, i cook bee hoon n chicken wings..u all wan fried or soya sauce, let me know ya...yoshi be cooking her nice chicken curry...think i make a salad too...Btw i wan to get some educational dvd for jay to watch too...wat do u let yr kids watch ah n buy from where?? Let me know ya...coz need to go grab n go kind...no time to shop nowadays

fiona,
pls try to come leh...i long time never see denise liao...miss her leh....then i can hug her...

piyo,
think for the moment if u can dun move any furnitures around ya...coz like jesline say when preggy dun move things around better...juz in case...also where u bought yr leapfrog touch system ah..was thinking of buying for jay too...u bought from spree? how much ah?

Hi mommies...

Just back to office today cos went to see gynae yesterday.. baby is growing well and super active.. still cant really determine the gender so have to wait till next month...

Zorian's schedule (Mon - Fri)

6am : Milk and go back to sleep
8.30 - 9.30am : Wake up, bath
10.30am : milk / breakfast (bread, pancakes, etc.)
11.30am : Ah Gong bring them for a walk / watch tv
1pm : Lunch
1.30 - 3pm : Nap (sometimes only sleep for 45minutes)
3.30pm - 7pm : snacks, TV, play with cousins/ neighbours
7pm : dinner
7.45pm : out to NTUC / park
8.30pm : bath
9.45pm : milk, sleep

For weekends, usually he gets up around 9.30 - 10am.. attend class, go out with daddy and mommy.. naps only in the car.. keekee...

For watching of TV, now he is in love with "Wheels of the Bus".. my parents in law bought all the three disc for them.. in the past, he watched "Baby Can read" and baby nursery..

Hi piyo..

how much is the full year free play at Gymboree?? can go anytime and access to all branches?

Hi Fiona..

remember to keep us posted on ure baby gender after seeing doc ok..

Hi babyboy..

Zorian initially also like that.. so wat i do is to do things with him together with my maid.. like play games.. then i will slowly leave them alone longer and longer period.. he slowly get used to it and understand that mommy is around but doing other things.. up to today, he will come to me for hugs and kisses before going back to play with my maid.. it takes time.. so if u think ure maid is able to handle him, let your kid slowly get used to the maid... hope it helps..

Hi piyo/augbaby,
we'll try to come...tampines then proceed to east coast near rite?

Hi Kris,
Congrats to you! Do update on your baby gender when you've found out too ^.^

Hi Augbb and Jesline,
Ya I know about the moving thingy.. was out of the house when hubby was doing that
won't be moving anymore cos spacious enuf liao!

Hi Honeyb,
noted! will think abt the appt date nearer the time hehe...

Hi Augbb,
So you setting time from 12-4pm? Megan's lunch time at 12, so most prob will come after that but gotta skip her milk and nap time haha..

Can try Baby can read series, bb einstein series, brainy child series and leapfrog DVd series?

I bot the little learning pad via overseas spree and almost all the storybooks that came with it in dec last year cos so cheap! and Megan started having an interest in books, then I decided to buy else waste $$$! I think the leappad cost US$26 and each story with cartridges about US$3 plus plus shipping cost not much! I bot from 2 dif oragnisers, just got the leappad and 2 stories ytd" and waiting for the the other set to come
Leappad in singapore is retailing at $99, each story is $20+.. so you can do you sums

Hi Kris,
so you din see gender today too? not at all? hmmm seems like our bbies so busy inside..

Annual membership is $50 - incl 1 free trial which cost about $30+ if you go separately.. each free play you pay $8/hr.. without membership it's $15. We sign up cos we always go vivo city sp very convenient..

Hi Fiona,
Ya lah! you ah lau can speed all the way down

Mummies who are preggie,
wanna set up a table here to keep track of no.2/3 babies hahaha

hi piyo..

cant really see tat is why only guess.. to be confirmed again.. so we just tell ourselves to say unknown first lor.. if not later turn out otherwise, will be abit upset mah.. keekee..

Yeah yeah.. we shall do one.. keekee..

piyo
need ur advice then...what's e difference bet a little touch leappad and my 1st leappad? u know gabe is 3yrs+ n edward is 18mths. which one shld i get?

kelly,

i really pei fu you. Can document yr kuih lapis baking process with pics of the ingredients and post them on yr blogfor baking idiots like me? Thanks a zillion.

TV Mummies - Guess TV is part & parcel of our life so i guess some of our babies oso sama sama like us..glued to the TV. I guess esp after a hard day at work, just wanna watch sme prog to relax.

Piyo - I just had my detailed scan last week at 22 weeks leh..coz i couldnt make it earlier coz i was on holiday & appt was fully booked. Dun worry..thing shld be fine.

Im looking for playgroup for Gen too...dun wan her to shack out my MIL..she is being a handful nw. Can also see she is learning fast & furious nw..beta let her learn smething useful then to waste her time watching TV at hm in the day time.

Hi Kelly,
Sorry for the late reply cos' I really have no time. And sometimes when I surf the net, Aden would come and disturb. He always want me to open the goldfish screensaver for him to see.

Regarding letting 2 kids sleep together, we would try out again when Avelyn starts sleeping thru the night. Currently, she still haven't but recently got improvement lah. She slept around 12 - 1+ am and around 3+ and 6+, she need milk. Quite tiring and at night, before she sleep, she still make lots of noise. I'm quite a lousy mummy. Me and my husband can only attend to 1 kid at the same time with combined efforts. Thus, we still cannot 1 person handle 1 kid to sleep yet cos of Avelyn.

And btw, quite some time back, you mentioned about children cold and flu relief and cough syrup, may I know where got sell or I need to purchase thru the net?

Think there's a gathering, right? Please count us in.

gathering at augbb's plc

20 Jan (sun)
4. erin, hubby n kayden
5. Yoshi, hubby, Shauna & Kieira
6. leobbsmom & Shervonn
7. kelly, hubby + 2 boys
8. HoneyB & Hannah
9. kris, hubby & zorian
10. CrispyApple, hubby, Aden, Avelyn and maid

27 Jan (Sun)
4. erin, hubby n kayden
5. leobbsmom & Shervonn
6. honeyb, hubby & Hannah
7. kris, hubby & zorian
8. CrispyApple, hubby, Aden, Avelyn and maid

Hi mommies..

this is the list i have from the information i gathered.. sorry if some information is wrong.. those that are missed out, i m sorry.. please let me know and can make the necessary changes.. thanks..

Mom's nick name 1st kid Gender BD 2nd kid Gender BD 3rd kid Gender BD
piyo Megan Female 15-Aug-06 Jun-08
cocomo Jayden Male 2-Aug-06
augbaby Jayden Male 6-Aug-06 Jazzele Female
fiona Dennis Female Jul-08
Jesline Jia Hui Female
erin00 Kayden Male
HoneyB Hannah Female
Leia Jadon Male 29-Aug-06
Catherine24 Charlotte Female
Jasmine Jadelle Female 1-Sep-06
Butter8 Ryan Male
Cynthia Natalie Female
Crisann Crisann Female
leobbsmom Shervonn Female
racoon Justin Male
augustmum Zac Male Noah
Superdad Dickson Male 26-Aug-06
Rain Reina Female
honeyhaven Kayden Male
CrispyApple Aden Male Avelyn Female
Kelly Edward Male 11-Jul-06 Gabe Stella Female Jan-08
pups Leon Male
cj Kaefer Male Langyer Female
Yoshi Shauna Female Kieira Female
White Lady Raygen Male
cheers Jadon Male
pupsandcups Leon Male
Kris Zorian Male 15-Aug-06 Jul-08

WAH, Kris,

peifu you manz! Got list!! Geez, my girl only sept bb here.. oops!

Jadelle uses 4 max. sometimes is 3 only - she is on Mamy poko normal diapers or Mamy Poko/ Huggies Pull up pants.

Hi Kris,

Jia Hui - 1 August 06

Also include Babyboy
Babyboy Keiran 1 August 06

Regarding diaper
Jia Hui uses abt 4-5 per day... also on Mamy poko...

Hi Jas..

my memory very bad.. no list later get mixed up the names.. so must have a list to remind myself..

the max 4 includes night? did u change the diaper during night time? thanks!

Hi Jesline..

okok.. added babyboy.. thanks..

for jia hui, does the 4-5 include night diaper? mamy poko good?? thanks..

Hi Kris

ya... include night diaper... normally will bath her at abt 8-9pm & change her diaper & will not change her diaper till next morning... Personally feel that mamy poko is better than Pamper.. the cutting is just nice... JH wearing XL now....

Hi Jes..

thanks.. wow.. so good.. usually zorian day time already used up to 5 diapers... the one at night usually get super wet by 6am.. so thinking of changing.. sigh.. very headache..