(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Hi Honeyb,

All! that's y I've decided to take up plus maybe next time if we go for their shots again, got disc etc?

Here r the details: - u think it's worth it?

Foto-U Studio Membership Drive

Become a Foto-U Studio member now and enjoy discounts and privileges offered by Foto-U Studio partners. Membership is free! In conjunction with this membership drive, we are also offering a promotional $100 studio session for all members.

The $100 Studio Family Portraits Promotion Package includes:

Studio session of 60 minutes
All images returned in CD, no print included
Max 5 persons, no pets
Open to members of SingaporeMotherhood.com

Booking of studio session is on a first-come-first-serve appointment
basis. A non-refundable deposit of $50.00 is required, valid for 3 months upon closure of booking.

Free 2 8R prints for weekday sessions (Monday to Friday only, not including eve of holiday and holiday).

piyo,

sounds good. However, won't be taking up their package again. Their style is easily recognised, although the pics are very well-taken. You know the pics are taken at Foto-U by just one look.

Would like to consider other studio for the next photo shoots. Hopefully, one that offers outdoor shots.

Augustmum,
Agreed! but not many studios will return you all the negatives at such a price... I wanna go back to my studio wedding photographer but I know sure ex...haiz.. I am taking this to take her 18mths shots in Feb next year

btw I think they does outdoor shots now

Hi HoneyB/Piyo

I don't mind preparing the food and maybe can potluck some

Just wanna share that I took a family package with Berry Happy photo studio. She charge $150 for the shoot for around 60mins too. However, she's very "chin chye" - take alot of exposure till you're satisfied. Shots are saved in CD for you to choose at own pace. In fact, she's the official photographer for the magazine [Singapore's Child].

HoneyB/Yoshi,
Japan's good but then got language barrier le. Most of them dun understand english and I dun speak Jap, gotta 'bi shou hua jiao' with them if go F&E. I like Hokkaido, got snow can ski and the scenary are fantastic. Seafood are great, onsen also shiok shiok. Think of it also happy liao. hoho. . .

August Babies X'mas Bash ~ 23rd Dec @ 2pm

Confirmed list:
1) HoneyB & Hannah
2) Cocomo, Jay, Hubby and maid
3) Yoshi, Shauna, Kieira & Hubby
4) Piyo, Megan, Hubby & maid
5)......

Confirmed list:
1) HoneyB & Hannah
5) Augbaby, jay, Hubby (maybe jazzele & Maid) If jazzele dun go, maid wont go as well...haha..

Hi Yoshi,
Berry Happy is my friend's wedding phtotgrapher.. I tot she dun return you all the shots? or she just return you to select pics only, meaning got her name on each photo as speciman type?

If she really returns all, I won't mind going to her to have a diff take like what Augustmum wanted

Hi Augbb,
you bring your whole ging gang la!

re: aug06 babies xmas bash
any gift exchange for our kids?

Hi Piyo,

She gave me all the pics taken in a CD to select without her name on each photo. Meaning I can also develop outside. However, the photos are not edited yet. Its only when you select then she edit for you.

Hi Augbb,
ya la...think mine also big group leh...more ppl, merrier mah!

Confirmed list:
1) HoneyB & Hannah
5) Augbaby, jay, Hubby (maybe jazzele & Maid) If jazzele dun go, maid wont go as well...haha..
6) kelly, hubby, gabe & edward (there r still some funds left fr e aug06 bday bash. i'll use those $$ 2 bring some food over + some potluck)

cocomo
thks 4 ur sms & concern. i didnt take anmum during tis pregnancy, tat's y i wondering if it's bcos of tis my girl is small. i started 2 take it now

thks 4 all ur concern. will stay positive, eat well & rest well 4 my girl & myself.

pai seh...very busy & tired out wif e boys these few days. will come back 2 reply 2 each of u later.

Hi Piyo/HoneyB/cocomo,

Here's an example of my child taken by Berry Happy. She input the text for me as I want the pic for hand and foot impression.
1097299.jpg

Confirmed list:
1) HoneyB & Hannah
6) Erin, Kayden and Hubby

Confirmed list:
1) HoneyB & Hannah
6) Erin, Kayden and Hubby
7) Cynthia, Natalie and Hubby

Piyo,
I think the package looks ok, may sign up to bring Hannah for studio shoot cos so far we have not gone for it yet. Piyo, your birthday today? Happy Birthday to you!! Gorgeous Forever yah!! :")

Me very suay, yesterday our team dinner I must have ate something unclean, this morning 5.30am woke up stomach pain pain, lao until I fly back home, threw up several times at the airport somemore, went to the clinic straight from airport, they say closed for lunch, wah me so tired already, think will go take a nap first.

Hi Piyo

Happy Birthday.

Hi HoneyB

Take care and hope u get well soon. Me hving stomach flu. But still need to work due to the integration.

Piyo,
happy birthday my dear!!

HoneyB,
oh dear...hope u get well soon and get lotsa rest n drink more fluid ya...

crisann,

you still work when you hv stomach flu? My whole family kena it in Oct. It was so bad, vomit and diarrhoea. Kids off food for almost a week.

It's very contagious. Hope you recover soon.

HoneyB,
Hope you get well soon.

Busy Buddies has responded. However, the trial is on a wekday, Friday

We are delighted to inform you that the new term for Busy Buddies will
begin on 14th January 2008 until 15th March 2008. Please refer to the
attachment for more details.

Trial classes will be held as follows:
10th January 2008 - Alpha babes
11th January 2008 - Busy bods
12th January 2008 - Creative Critters/Arty smarties

When you register for the full term on the spot, the $35 fee for the
one-time trial class will be waived.

wah lau,

jesline, how come ur fren reveal the secrets of the steel industry to you? hahaha..

but hor, high bonus on low quantum salary, is same as high salary with normal 2 months bonus leh!

Steel dun pay THAT well, unless u job hop. and industry in SG is extremely SMALL. Me in this line for 9 years manz.. think growing mould here!

HoneyB,
you so suay, wat u ate? Japanese food? I always kanna when i travel n eat sashimi.. now, i BAN sashimi eating, unless i am in SG.

About travelling, I knoww your dilemma, no fun to travel after a while cos u always alone and iz mostly work. With entertainment after office hours, extremely tiring, especially when still breastfeeding!

I also want to change job.. to one less travelling, but SG based.. and hopefully will pay better, but to start all over and chiong mountain damn sianz..

thanks for helping me with the polling on career vs family choices. Anyway, i confirmed a job liaoz.. working hours are longer, but local based, higher pay & prospects. but it means i cannot TTC for a while, unless they confirm me and i 100% settle down in this new job. location also no longer in orchard.. in pandan loop!

Hi MH,
congrats on having a prince.

Hi Augustmum,
I can't make it for the trial for busybodies. can i check with u regarding the duration of the baking course as well as the cost? i'm interested.

Hi jas,
congrats on getting a new job!

Thanks for all your concern, I'm much better now but still got diarrhoea, hope the drugs will kick in soon.

Jas,
I had some seafood for dinner with my team and I'm the only one who kenna, think because my gastric came together as well so thats why it was quite bad. Ya loh, got to remind myself next time cannot take seafood outside of SG already.

Congrats on getting a new job, ya loh, I changed job hoping to stay put too but then my boss told me still got to travel occassionally so I very xian, somemore my boss relocating to our KL office soon, that means I will have to travel to KL more often.... :"(

Augustmum,
I may have missed out, where's Busy Buddies located and what do they do for the Busy Bods class? I may be able to take leave to bring Hannah to attend. Can share more details, any website to check, thanks.

Handi,

Hey I'm from QUT too and yes, I stayed at Sunnybank as well, love that place and miss the Maryland chicken rice there haa...which year were you there? I was there in 1999 and 2000.

hi erin,

the duration is about 2 to 2.5 hours. Location is at bedok, near mrt, according to trainer. I've forwarded the mail to your gmail account.

I'm signing up for the cupcakes and swiss rolls workshop.

Hi, jas

cos close friends lor.. talk abt everything under the sun..... hee hee hee.... her company is actually a China steel company (one of the largest steel co in the world) forget the name.... her job deals with logistics & other billings docs.... her pay not little lor.....annual income 6 figures lor()....

By the way... congrat to your new job..... me too cannot TTC at the moment cos just joined for 2 mths... need to confirm first then safer... hee hee hee

hi mommies talking about work/job/pay etc

I also quit my last role cuz of travel (APAC). but unfortunately for SG role I prob have to take a bit less pay... prob cannot compare to Steel ind... but for the sake of my boy and family, i decided on this.

after 2 over months now, I am happier cuz i dun need to fly off and there are less middle of the nite concalls.

since i wont get confirmed so fast, even if i get preggy, i guess i wont get any benefits except for maternity leave...

sometimes, i wonder if i can oneday totally give up working .. cuz when i last quit i had about 5 months rest... but it will be different if permanantly not going back to workforce for many years...

Hi, buter8

think if got pregnant & went for delivery and the period in the company is less than 6 months, think we are only entitled to 2 month materity leave & not 3 months. plus if work less than 6 mths, better dont get pregnant but if get pregnant, better not to disclose until really preganacy in the 6 mths onwards cos company cannot sack u like nobody biz as we mummies can complain to MOM....

jesline - it shld be 180days to be exact. If less, no maternity leave at all. But if company sack for no reason then can complain but also depend if the affected falls under the Employment Act or not lor..but im sure not all companies so bad wan lah. For mine, i very honest..the moment i preg i tell them, they are even good enough to convert me from contract to perm despite me already 4mths preggie.

And by right, even for new hire who is not confirmed but after serve 3 months in co. shld be entitled to Annual leave liao.

If you are covered under Employment Act (non-executive, managerial confidential staff), you will be entitled to 12 weeks paid maternity leave under the Act if you have been employed by your present coy for at least 180 days prior to the birth of your child. Otherwise, it's based on the coy's discretion to give you the benefit, based on the terms and conditions of employment. It is an infringement of the EA to terminate a pregnant female employee who is in the last 3 months of pregnancy prior to confinement (before the delivery date) without good reason.

If you are an executive, managerial or confidential staff, then under the Children Development Co-Savings Act, you will be entitled to 12 weeks paid maternity leave if you have been employed by your present coy for at least 180 days prior to the birth of your child.

For both, there is a cap on the number of children you have. Beyond a certain number, you're not entitled to the benefit anymore.

MH,

You're doing HR in your current company?

V fortunate that your company convert you from contract to perm despite knowing your pregnancy. They should really based on one's work performance and potential and not one's current status (pregnant or not) cos it'll be so short-sighted to do so. Companies who have such fair HR practices are truly commendable. But not surprising since your company is a very established MNC. It's a joy to be working in the HR depts of such companies.

Leia,

just curious. What about my position? If I was on 2 years no-pay leave, and give birth a month upon returning to my company, am I entitled to 12 months? I have worked there for 8 years liao but stopped for two years...

Just to clarify, I'm not pregnant, just extremely curious as when I'm on no-pay leave, I'm neither employed nor not employed

has anyone had their bb who comfort latch or hates the bottle??? Coz it seems that i am having such problem wif jazzele...sometimes she seems hungry and when i make EBM for her, she wil cry n refuse to drink n will cry n cry till i no choice latch her and she will suck... or sometimes she want to sleep and again will cry n cry and i carry n rock her also no use and again i hav to latch her and then she will fall asleep..everytime feeding her using a bottle is like a fight everytime and i am going bk to work on 11dec already...how ah? like at night, sometimes i try feeding her thru the bottle n i know she is hungry but it likes i am forcing her to drink from bottle n she still refused n i latch her and she drink....tough man..nowadays i can only take my lunch when she sleep which is like 3+pm lor...

Hi Augustmum

Thks for your concern. I'm much better now. Think have to give it a miss for Busy Buddies. Can't make it on wkday.

Hi Jas

Congrats on getting a new job.

Hi Jesline

me too can't TTC at the moment cos just joined this new company for 4 mths. Probration period is 6 mths.... So long sian.

Hi Crisann

at leas u still got 2 more mths to go.... me still got 4 more mths to go....very sian with probation period too...

Hi, augbaby
i also faced the same problem as u.... JH will cried & cried when giving her milk from bottle & will not finished the milk... so got no choice but to latch her on & she will auto stop crying when she is latch on...& what is worst is that i got sore nipples & still need to latch her on ....but she ok after i gave her pacificer & also cos my milk supply very low & only partial bf her.. so overcome that... really tough for the 1-3 mths

Hi Crisann

at leas u still got 2 more mths to go.... me still got 4 more mths to go....very sian with probation period too...

Hi, augbaby
i also faced the same problem as u.... JH will cried & cried when giving her milk from bottle & will not finished the milk... so got no choice but to latch her on & she will auto stop crying when she is latch on...& what is worst is that i got sore nipples & still need to latch her on ....but she ok after i gave her pacificer & also cos my milk supply very low & only partial bf her.. so overcome that... really tough for the 1-3 mths

leia - Guess you are right..company shld appraise on performance & not whether preg or nt. I got a manager who ask me what shld she do as her new staff is found preg. I say its not ethical to terminate her if she is preg & yet she can perform. Will reflect badly on the co.'s name. For me, many people say im lucky but i oso do
work hard for it else i think my co.can choose to 'hoot' me out after i serve out my 6mths contract this month end.

hi there,

MH/Leia/jesline,
my company even better, now with the high turnover in my dept, all new hires (including myself) are started off on contract status. we are only converted if lucky and have headcount after 6 - 12 months. if not they will just renew contract.

I guess i will not TTC till at least another 6 more months.

augustmum,
I am interested in busy buddies, and willing to take leave to bring my boy.

but will have to know which date u will be chosing.

I think I should correct what I had said earlier to avoid confusion:

If you are covered under Employment Act (non-executive, managerial confidential staff), you will be entitled to 12 weeks paid maternity leave under the Act if you have served (instead of "have been employed by") your present coy for at least 180 days prior to the birth of your child.

As such, I believe augustmum will not be entitled to the benefit. I'll check and confirm with you again.

Leia,

I think you should be correct. Otherwise, taxpayers' money will be wasted to pay cases like mine. Haha... betta not hv any accident till i go back to work and fulfil 180 days.

Butter8,

I will give busy buddies a miss since it's on a weekday and look like it will remain so. I will sign zac up for My Gym instead next year.

I will pm you the details so you could call up busy buddies. Anyway, I think the July thread is organising something for busybuddies.