(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Hi leobbsmom,
shervonn looks good. very pretty like a princess.

hi jas,
me too. safety 1st for hb too. think need to wait till next yrb4 we can try for #2.

hi fiona,
glad to hear that denise is alright now. so happy to hear the good news. take care and don't move around too much ok.

hi piyo,
when r u going to jia you?

Fiona,

Ya U must take care rest more. Hb shld do mah since we are so tired & suffer so much for them hehehe. When I discover preg recently, Natalie was more sticky than in the past. Does this happen to Denise too? I somehow feel this "old wives tales" quite true.. Seems like they know.

There is sure alot planning when 2nd one going to come. So many things unable to do for me and always feel so tired restless and spending less time playing with Nat. Hb trying his best to entertain her but she still insist to wake mi up when i trying to have a short afternoon nap. SHe even use bottle to hit my head! OMG seeing her so noti I gave up my rest and play with her carrying her ard chasing her.... haiz.. Best to conceive when 1st is much older..

hi honeyb/piyo/erin/cynthia,
thx gals! i'm feeling much beta today, the cramp feeling is gone and i dun see any fresh bleeding.

but denise gave me a hard time lst nite, she woke up at 3+am and toss and turn to look at me. ended up having to hug her in bed sitting up from 4+ till 5+ then she fell asleep. now i oso start to believe "old wives' tales" liao...seems like she knows...haha(she has been more clingy recently too)

now i'm really bothered by another issue. i'm supposed to start work next mon, but now they found dat i'm pregnant, start saying the job is quite stressful bcos need to do home visits and provide nursing care for patients at their home. ask me to reconsider. but i was tinking only 3-4 patients each day is ok what, plus i get to claim cab to every destination, shouldn't be too bad mah...(i felt a little discriminated leh)

Fiona,

I understand this. I have been through this. Some can even reject u straight away! I think e best is ask urself n ur body whether do you think you can handle? If you realli can show them ur sincerity. If in the end they still keep pushing I think that is the answer.

Recently I gone through the same situation as you. I quit my easy job with this top accounting firm and went to join one of top insurance co as wealth planning marketing. I discover preg in sept and I was suppose to start around 26sept. I been very honest with them and they hold on to it. I have already tender n left e company waiting to join them and end result they tell me feelin i may not be suitable! Imagine one hand discover I am preg, another hand i lose my job (2 job). Hb was so angry with them. The agency intro me the job tried finding other job for me.
God listen to my prayers. Now I been offered in this USMNC and done the employment check up recently too. Frankly I didnt tell them I m preg and waiting for the test result to show and from there play with it. This is what e agency teach me. Its not deceiving company but frankly alot ppl are doing this and I am honest end up i m in e losing end.

So now I am waiting to be back to work next mon with this new company if nothing goes wrong with my check up or any news from company. I have seen this company, known e colleagues. WHich I am glad is the pay, the environement (they have some handicapped) which I believe they matters on employee care (since they are in the biz of employee HR care too)

I am keeping my finger cross too. I pray for you too. So now Hoping my MS wil be better before i go to work. SOrry my story so long... i didnt say out cos was too devasted and lost. Now feeling that you are not alone I am e same. Main is we do our part take care ourselves. No matter how... society still bit discriminating...

Hope you feel better.

Hi Crisann,
You're most welcome. I'm glad to be able to share with all of you here.
Hi Fiona,
Thank you and Congrats! Take care not to exert yourself yah. Ya loh ...i agree with you that most employers won't want to hire someone that is planning to start a family or is preggie! They will not admit outright that they're discriminating against preggie ladies, but usually give all sorts of reasons.
Hi HoneyB,
SO ENVIOUS!! going to states ya. Was there last year for abt a month but was 7mths preggies then and carrying eldest gal, so not much chance to shop!!!

Thanks to mommies for the compliments on Princess Shervonn! n_n

fiona, congrats!! do take good care of urself and rest plenty. dun worry so much abt the spotting n cramps, dun claim anything negative for the time-being! i'm sure if u think positively, then things will turn out well somehow, agree? i'm happy for ya!

honeyB, can i email u to get something from me? only if it's convenient for u la. thanks in advance ya!

mommies going to Shermeen's place this Sat, can cfm the time you r going? coz i hv another full-mth party at 5pm, i need to plan nice nice so tat Shervonn can hv her afternoon nap b4 the 2nd party. so maybe i will reach abt 1plus... who can join me there?

Hi, mummies

long time never log in.... busy with new job... & loaded with tons of work....

Hi, Fiona
heard from my friend who said if mummy are pregnant with 2nd one, 1st one will be very clingy & her mum plucked 7 different types of flowers & used that to bath 1st son so that he will not be so clingy... not sure whether it works or not... can try...

Hi mommies..

busy recently and dun have time to log in..

hi erin..

zorian is ok but super sticky.. dun know why.. so far dun see any more teeth coming out.. but he seem to have 'wind' in his tummy... hmm..

hi kelly..

r ure boys much better?? go ahead and enjoy yoruself.. happy shopping

hi fiona..

congrats!! so happy for you...
must take care of yourself and lots of rest okie..

for work, it is like that one lor.. ladies are always at losing end..

hi cynthia/yoshi/leobbsmom/kris,
i agree too that there is still much discrimination towards preggy ladies in our society. my gynae has been a great help, he sms the doctor hiring me and even gave a letter to the hospital staff clinic that i'm clear and fit for work...i owe him a big favor
now just waiting for further confirmation...

thanks cynthia for sharing with me, it must be hard on you during those difficult period. so glad for you that things had turned for the beta.

hi jes,
long time no see and thks for the tips. i may just try it out

Have not stroll in here for awhile & so much post to read thru.... I'm lost

Cynthia,
Gd luck on ur new job.

Just to share, my sis got the 'sack' from her boss after she popped. She had been with the co. for more than 3yrs & she's the 1 leg kick admin cum PA cum etc etc...... In her advance preggie she still helped to move office (like packing & coordinating the move). During her 3mth maternity leave she still help answer oversea calls & do coordinating from home (though the company did employ a person to cover her post during the leave, but becos she's the ctc person for oversea stuff & clients so they still call her even when she's on leave). And guess what... they ask her to leave the day she report to work after the leave. All along the company pays her hph bills, but for the 3mths of bills they refuse to pay lor. And my sis chalked up like hundreds in hph bills all becos of company's oversea calls. They just came up with a lame excuse say a lot complains abt her attitude & service. Plzzzzz lor, if that's real you think the company will keep her for more than 3yrs & still pay for her maternity leave! I was soooo pissed!! Angry... angry......

arghhh..... anyway, that's over liao. Now she's with this wonderful company after mths of searching.

I wanna check if any of you mummies has started toilet training your Aug babes yet? Any success story??

Thank for all mummies on the maid info =)

itsy bitsy ,

i have not toliet train my baby yet . cos i think they r still young . i saw on tv , that 1 expert says that , only start toilet train whn the kids really understand what the adult is saying , so i think ours still not yet ... but anyway , any success case ?

Cynthia,
Good luck on your new job, we don't really have unions in Singapore to protect us unlike those Americans or Europeans where they can sue for everything, sometimes I feel that we are quite helpless here especially if you have local bosses. You take good care, I'm sure things will work out well.

Leobbsmom,
Sure, please pm me the item that you want, thanks.

Itsy Bitsy,
I've not really toilet train my girl yet, she only sits on the potty when she poo poo, think I'll only train her when she's about 18mths, ready for playgroup cos I heard some playgroup teachers don't allow tods to wear diapers into the class. Also don't know how to train her now, my mum has been complaining that nowadays my girl don't even tell her when she wants to poo poo, instead my mum noticed that my girl always go to one corner and hide to poo poo in her diapers, like cats you know, cannot let people see so funny, don't know what's wrong, different stage different habit???

i'm not toilet training my boy yet. think it's too early. read in baby books that boys generally can be trained after 18 months. something to do with the brain development. girls could be trained earlier than the boys but not sure when though as the article din state.

hi whitelady,
i'm also sending kayden to 2-3hrs daily playgroup when he turns 18mths. the supervisor of the childcare near my parents say that it's alright for them to wear diapers but they will slowly toilet-train them. dun have to train them prior to that.

hi honeyb
kayden's also a bit shy when he's doing his big business. he hides in one corner to poo. when we walked towards him, he'll stop and look at us. When we pretend to look away, then he'll continue to poo.

Erin,
Ya loh, so funny hor, they behave like cats, must hide in one corner to poo, my lagi better, poo already pretend nothing happen, continue to play and laugh till you discover it, sometimes don't even want to clean backside, what a dirty girl...

hi honeyb,
mine too. once he finished his biz, will walk out and play as usual but we all know he just pooed cos very smelly mah. haha...

Thanks mummies for the encouragement & concern for me & Fiona. Ya we will keep our finger cross for the job. Here is SG.. always different from Americans country. Its a fact so there is nothing much we can do too.

Fiona,
Hope you are feeling better and ur gyane very good to write letter. Anyway we are still human. Only that we suffer MS & bit tired but still can perform work as long not those heavy carrying etc.

Leobbsmom,
Yoz! I be reaching augbb hse about 2-3pm. As Natalie normally nap about 11plus depending.. so this timing is more suitable reaching there yeah.

Is it really true that MS start occuring more terrible from 8weeks? Last time when I have Nat was from 6weeks till 20weeks! This round... on off. So was kinda worried as next week is my 8week and gg back to work...

Ohaiyo gozaimasu mummies,

Just to share a recent incident that happen to my colleague. The bosses asked her to come back to work after abt 2 months into her ML. Said that if a company can function without her for 3 mths, then she might as well don't need to come back! She's in managerial level and its a listed company leh!! She left the company shortly after that. arghh!!! felt that preggie ladies usually discriminated in job interviews.
Hi fiona, Hope that every turns out well for u.(fingers & toes crossed)

Hi itsy bitsy,
I've also not train my gal yet. However her timing to poo poo is quite similiar every day. So every morn, my maid will watch out for her face change and bring her to sit on the toilet. In any case, no need to rush them to learn. My eldest gal was using diaper to poo poo until 3 years old! Every time she need to poo, she'll ask for diaper. If we ask her to sit on the toilet bowl, she'll cry and say she don't want to do it already. So we always give in to her loh as we don't want her to "tong" until so xin ku mah. Well, she's 5 now and have since learn to sit on the toilet bowl herself. So let them take their time to learn lah

Just curious, does anyone know if 1 yr plus toddler can eat mushroom or not? Mushroom belongs to the fungi family so i don't dare to give leh. Everytime come across those shirataki mushroom looks so tempting!

Check with you huh, anyone tried getting their eye-brows done at Browhaus before? I've heard of their prices, very expensive for their 'wen mei', I'm very curious to know, anyone tried or heard before, why so much more expensive than other beauty salons, any idea?

Yoshi,
I have the same concern here too, not sure if can serve mushroom already, anyone know? Btw, do you know how to read Jap?

Cyn, okay! see u there. erin n i will reach abt 1plus to 2. u dun be too late ah! =P so tat we can hv more time to let BBs play with each other. =)

MUSHROOMS
I have given Shervonn shitake mushroom in Aug, and she was okay. think i gave her abt 10pieces. coz we were having steamboat and she wanted to eat..

TOILET TRAIN
i havent tried on Shervonn, coz whenever she poo poo, she will tell my mom. my mom trains her to tell when she poo poo since she was 1yr-old, and she has been doing it well. she will part her legs and squat up and down, very funny! tat's how we know we got HO LIAO to eat liao! hahahaha....gross!

those eating breakfast now.......sorry ah!! =P

augustmum,
can u pls reserve 2 tubes of the latest expiry date for me...i pick them up when we meet up for the gathering ya...

Erin,
u decided on which childcare to let kayden go to already? wich is it ah?

Fio,
CONGRATES!!!! You must rest well ya!!! So your EDD should be early July 2008?

Fio/Cynthia/Yoshi/erin/itsy bitsy,
Think I have an exceptional case where I had interview with my current company when I was already 5 months preggie. Actually they didn't know I was preggie during the interview but I told them and said if they mind I preggie I am fine. But my CEO (an American born Japanses) said if I really suitable for the job they will not mind if I preggie as they will expect that since they employing female staff. One week later I got the offer and report to job when I was already 6-7mths preggie. They gave me ML too but conditioned that they will expect me to help if there is any finance matter need me to handle. After 3 months of working with them I went for ML. However, I still read/answer emails and review announcement and financial reports during my ML.

Erin/piyo,
Aiyo you know I like to talk rubbish one la. If you hubby dun want second one better dun 'zhuo shou jio', if not later you preggie liao he 'bu ren zhang' then siao liao!!! ha. . .

Re: Mushroom
I also want to give Jay mushroom but dunno can or not???!!!

Re: Toilet Train
Jay will poo in his little potty every morning but take him long long time to poo as at the same time he sitting on the potty he needs to have toys to play with. *faint*. Sometimes he poo more than 1 time a day. when he want to poo he will try to pull down his pant and said 'nnggg nnggg'. But I realise sometimes also false alarm, ha. . .

Mummies to Augbaby place tomolo,
I should be reaching at around 3-4pm le coz Jay normally sleep at 12pm for 2-3 hours.

Since there are more response for 11 Nov 2007 then we fix on this date:-

****************************************************************************************************************************
August babies gathering on 11 Nov 2007 at 4:30pm (Sunday)

Botanic Garden (picnic - potluck)
=========================
1) cocomo, hubby, Jayden and maid
2) Pups, hubby and Leon
3) Jasmine, hubby, Jadelle
4) amy and rae
5) Yoshi, baby, Sister hubby and maybe maid
6) Augbaby, hubby and Jay
7) Piyo, hubby, megan and maid
8) kelly, hubby, edward, gabriel
9) Augustmum, hubby, noah, zac
10) erin, hubby n Kayden
11) SL, hubby, Crisann

ANY MORE JOINING US?????

Hi HoneyB,
Sorry, i can't read jap. though learn before but given back to teacher liao.
kao_embarrassed.gif
I speak and understand simple jap though.
Hi leobbsmom,
Since u've given to shervonn, i think shouldn't be any problem. I only managed to find button mushroom in baby food receipe when i googled. Anyway, our bb are all abt 14mths+ now mah. Thinking of stir-frying shitake mushroom with bb corn with garlic and olive oil this weekend.
Hi cocomo,
thanks for the gathering update. will go lah since i've not seen all the pretty mummies and their children before

Hi Fiona..

Wow.. ure gynae very nice.. but dun overstrain ureself okie...

Hi Cynthia..

All the best of luck for ure new job...
for me, the last time pregnant with zorian, had MS since 5 weeks till 20 weeks.. timing the same everyday.. luckily it is at night.. so able to work throughout my 9 months... only cant go shopping cos very tired...

Hi itsy bitsy..

have not trained zorian yet cos MIL said he is still young..

Hi HoneyB..

sorry have not heard of Browhaus... did my at Cosolab, Bukit batok..

Hi cocomo,

U r lucky! I think not all employer will be like this.. haiz.

Thanks kris for e good luck too. My MS is.. dunno hw to describle. Today spotting again lucky not much.. I still do housework. Maybe when I move and work out I don feel the MS with me lo. Pray hard for next mon..

Leobbsmom,
Okie. I try my best and need to let her nap if not she cranky & stick to mi i no need to eat or chat with you all! hehehe. Finally can get to see Shervonn.

I have only tried to give Natalie Shitake mushroom in soup. She don really like it lo.

congrats Fiona & Cynthia

I am sure everything will goes well for both of you take care don't stress yourself too much.

For me 2nd child will be way behind don't dare to think of any due to now we are moving house need to use up alot of cash.

For my work i am stable here and had the confirmation from my boss on monday.
i am glad that i had join a good working enviroment so far so good bosses and colleagues are great.

Charlotte just started to walk more then 10 steps by herself. before that she had been walk with support now then she dare to walk without support. She learns things very fast as well, she know what is "NO" & "Yes" by nodding and shaking. I had lots of fun with her cause she now like to smile alot and laugh seldom cry already only when i walk away then she will look for me other wise she is just like a big ger easy to take care of.

Had try to introduce her 3 meals a day. but if going out i find difficult to let her have 3 meals. so sometimes i will replace by milk instead.

Anyway have a good weekends mummies. Will try to update more when i am free.

Hi cocomo,
i can't make it for the picnic cos hubby on standby. might need to report back to camp so count us out.

ai yah, he finally agreed to try next yr around june. but now i'm the one worried abt the ms and whether we can cope with the 2nd one.

hi augbaby,
haven't select yet. waiting for u to go preschool shopping mah. my parents felt that tampines safra is a bit inconvenient for them so might be dropping kinderland and crestar from my list. will be checking out the learning vision near ur place and elfa educational centre at tampines central cc instead. u might wanna check out the ones at safra though. they just started operations there this yr.

Hi Cath,

TOT u MIA liao.
Congrates you have pass ur probation!

Now is the most fun with our toddlers. They know hw to respond. Like for Nat ask her want milk she will nod but sometime must test water cos she might jus been playful again.

Slowly intro to her no worries. As time goes she will be more daring to move outside! Like Nat she can go shopping alone ignoring us. haiz. But sometime walk also unstable. She so tiny so afraid she be knock down by adults.

HoneyB,
still looking for someone who knows jap arh

Reg. toilet training:
Actually I'm not starting yet cos I'm too lazy kekkeke so just checking if any mums start already, in case I'm really way behind ;P

Browhause??? Thot that's for tai tai types cos EX lor er.... but I've never been there, see the price I scared liao, better do it myself kekekeke

Me also haven't started on toilet train. Asking her to sit on the potty already have problem. She got golden backside.

Hi Cynthia & Fiona

Gd luck to your new job. Don't worry too much. Have to take care.

Hi HoneyB & Erin

Crisann also do her big business at certain spot 1 than also dun wan us to clean her up. My mum n me really had a hard time to clean her up after her business.

Hi HoneyB

Some "wen mei" is cheap cost the colour will fade off easily. done mine at Erabelle. Also consider expensive. Cost me tink $500.

Itsy Bitsy,
Ya loh, haven't given up on the site yet mah haa...think by the time I found someone, its the next season items already :")

Crisann,
Wah $500 is also quite expensive but the one from Browhaus cost more, $800-$1200 I think, very curious to know why so much more expensive, different technology?? Will go find out more hee...

Its TGIF!! Have a lovely weekend everyone! Me starting my weekend already, ta...

Cynthia,
No lar busy with work mah so no time to come here and post.

Good for you tat nat is independent, so that you don't have to carry her too much,
Although charlotte know how to walk but she still need me to carry her she won't walk buy herself outside.

Brought her to Zoo last sun had fun but tiring.. but still ok lar...at least my ger got the chance to go zoo

Hi Honey

Yes is actually quite expensive. I done that in 2005. Think now should be cheaper. Wah that v expensive leh.

Enjoy your trip.

Enjoy your wkend.

HoneyB
Next season is better mah, more suitable for our climate, now all the stuff long sleeve & thick de. Anyway, if you found someone, let me know hor. I also need help on some sites muahahahaha......

All mummies have a GRRRRRRAEEET weekend!!

Hi Crisann,
U did your wen mei at Erabelle. Ask you hor, how's the end result? Is that the shop at Parco Bugis Junction with those ladies wearing kimono thingy? Will the process be painful?

Hi Yoshi

I'm quite satisfied, cos it looks v natural. Yes i went to the Parco outlet. Think they have a few outlets. I find it quite painful that why till now still hv not go for touch up.

finally managed to book a room @ bintan lagoon.. last minute, hubby say go during the long weekend.. heehee..

but ferry full, so cannot go only 1 day.. end up pretty expensive!

BTW,
i having trouble feeding jadelle "healthy" food.
she prefers to eat our food! So, now i stop giving her cereals and porridge (i think she was sick of them).
She now taking more noodles ( pasta/ mifen etc), rice and fresh fruits, bread, cheese..

she really hates jarred food!

hi jas,
so nice...i wish to go for a trip too *envy*

denise same like jadelle...always wants to eat our food. if we are having a meal together, she would give up hers for ours. and this little chili padi would exhibit her anger if we refuse to give her...haiz

hi jasmine,
u went off so early that day. din manage to catch up with u. go get a good breaj. jadelle going with u?

hi fiona and jasmine,
kayden too. always wanna eat our food except for his. haiz...

hey erin,

yah lor.. i was there very long liaoz leh..haha.. ya. jadelle going wtih us.. hehe, hope i dun go nuts..

my backside very sharp now. getting restless, and feel like travelling again.. especially since i am not TTC-ing yet..

Hi Fiona, Jasmine & erin

Crisann also prefer our food. Wkend cook for her porridge dun wana eat. Ended up I have to eat. Haiz....