(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

butter,
i tot playpen can sleep put up to 30 kg don't remember le, that time i bought the playpen only remember hubby say can use up to 30kg.

butter8,
haha..keiran was born on 1st aug - so shld be 6mths11days old? ya, was asking hub how he got into that position too..he just lean forward and started kicking..then when he got tired, he lean his face on the front of float...
aft all that kicking, he slept 3hours straight..haha..his longest nap so far...
*think must bring him swimming more often...* : )
btw, my boy is still sleeping in playpen using 4" thick mattress, so far still ok but need to change to cot soon cause its kinda high for him as he can sit up now.....

cocomo..ya lah,yr jay must love the water too..so tempted to get an inflatable pool and let Keiran kick around aft yesterday....then yr Jay can come splash water..hehe...

Babyboy,
I have the same thinking also! wanna get one then Jay can play in it but think Jay too lonely if play alone. He he. . . if I buy then Kieran can come join him also, good good!! ho ho ho . . . perhaps after CNY I get one big big one then two of us can join them as well!! ha. . .

Noe,
Where did you get your inflatable pool ya???

hahhaa... Cocomo, that will be quite funny if 2mummies+2babies inside leh...maybe we can take the top floor of the multi storey car park on a sunny and not so windy day..heheh...

hi babyboy,

my girl sleeps in the cot when she's @ home with us. and we'd jus lowered to the lowest level, bcos the previous level..she sometimes hit her jaw when she stands, while holding on to the edge as suport.

i've got a playpen @ my parents' hall, which my girl sleeps/play in the day.
when she was NB, it was the 1st level, then we lowered by placing 2 full-sized pillows b/w the mattress and board, and now since she can stand by holding the edge, we've replaced the pillows with 3 cushions instead. kinda adjusting the level by the thickness of pillow/cushion used.

@ night she'll sleep in my parents' room, on the mattress (surrounded by extra adult bolsters) at the foot of their bed. very safe area, cos they get off frm the side of the bed.
but if your room has limited space, and you have to place @ 1 side of the bed instead, then you've got to be careful when you get off the bed.

hi babyboy,

my girl sleeps in the cot when she's @ home with us. and we'd jus lowered to the lowest level, bcos the previous level..she sometimes hit her jaw when she stands, while holding on to the edge as suport.

i've got a playpen @ my parents' hall, which my girl sleeps/play in the day.
when she was NB, it was the 1st level, then we lowered by placing 2 full-sized pillows b/w the mattress and board, and now since she can stand by holding the edge, we've replaced the pillows with 3 cushions instead. kinda adjusting the level by the thickness of pillow/cushion used.

@ night she'll sleep in my parents' room, on the mattress (surrounded by extra adult bolsters) at the foot of their bed. very safe area, cos they get off frm the side of the bed.
but if your room has limited space, and you have to place @ 1 side of the bed instead, then you've got to be careful when you get off the bed.

leia,
thanks for having us over yesterday. ur baby pool must be one of the nicest i hav seen though i din start Kaefer on swimming yet oso felt v inviting. the condo seems very new too. u just moved in?

cocomo,
thanks for the DVD.

jasmine,
thanks for helping me figure out how to use the carrier. haha, can try out wen bringing bb out without maid next outing.

<b> Baby Sleeping Later and Later? <b>

hey anybody's baby sleeping later and later? my leon used to sleep at 930 to 10, then slowly it has become like 1130, i want to peng san.
if i force him to sleep any earlier, ie, dim off the lights, he'll make noise, and in the end fuss till 1130 anyway.
i wanna cultivate early sleeping habits from now, but really dunno how.

<b> Babyboy <b>
leon sleeps on a mattress on the floor next to us. he never got used to the cot..

morning all,
think it was me that ask about baby sleeping place

cheers,
think we cant share our bed with baby like your parents, my hubby already has his legs sticking out hahaha, no space at the feet for baby.
anyway my hubby very against baby in same bed - he super likes to sleep in peace.

but, i think I will try out your method of putting pillows below in the playpen. then I can lower him so I dun have to worry about him falling out..

pupsncups,
my boy sleeps now about 9.30-10, but i noticed it keeps changing, yesterday slept at 8.30.. the prob when he sleeps early, he tends to wake up in the middle of the nite at about 3am and seems pretty refreshed haha piangzzzz so i have to put him back to sleep again.

i would like to also have ryan sleep on floor at some point, however, is your bed the sort that is raised (on legs) cuz mine is and i worry if he will roll under the bed..
also what size is your mattress on the floor? i tried the playpen mattress, but seems a tad too small and he tends to roll off.

Jay mainly sleep in his cot but sometimes in the middle of the nite he will wake up and make noises and we will then carry him to our bed and let him sleep in between us and which he will promptly fall asleep..haha..no choice coz if not he will be fussy...but i try not to let him do that so often in case it becomes a habit

Butter & mummies,
actually baby sleeps at what time will depend on what time is your baby's last feed.

For my girl, if her last feed fall on 8.30 she will sleep at 9.30 and will wake up at 3 or 4 am for a feed, then back to sleep till 8 am for her next feed.

If her last feeding is 9pm or 10 pm she will sleep slighlty later like around 11pm then she will sleep throught till morning 5 or 6a.m.

so got to depend on how early is your baby last feed.

hi butter8,

oh..i think i've got to re-phrase my sentence.
she doesn't sleep on the same bed with my parents, but on the mattress placed on the floor.

I'm new to this forum.
My baby is also born in August. find this website very useful, learn alot from you mummies

hope i can share somethg with u gals too.
On baby sleeping place, my gal sleeps in sarong during day time but sleeps in cot bed at night.
She sleeps pretty early between 8-8.30pm, but i need to give her another feed around 11pm before I go to bed so that it can last her til the next morning. she wakes up early too @ abt 6.30.. very early yeah.

Butter8,
Daytime Jay will sleeps on mattress in living room and nite he sleeps in baby cot.

My Jay woke up these two nights at ard 3:30am and his eyes opened wide wide dun wanna sleep liao. After milk he still refuse to sleep! Then when I off the light he will keep talking to himself and will cry if we dun entertain him. Damn siong le. Anyone encounter this also? what shd I do?

cocomo,
jay may be playing too much liao. char wake up midnight for feed she will make some noise too after i put her in her playpen i ignore her let her play herself and later she will fall asleep.

Leia,
Not at all lah ...
Like the shot on the furry carpet too.

Cocomo,
We got it from Toysrus.
Do get a good pump hor. Else takes a long time to inflate.

Chariselle,
Welcome onboard!

My Jul sleeps as late as his parents and brothers do. Sometimes as late as 11pm.

Cocomo,
The last time that happened to me, I will carry & rock Jul to sleep.
He was having blocked nose then.
Now that he's much better, I will pat him in his cot till he falls asleep.
Yeah ... Didn't want that to become a bad habit for him to zzz.

hi jesline,

i jus suck the juice direct.
ie. when we're eating grapes, mandarin oranges, apples, etc...i'll jus hold it to her mouth and let her suck the juice or fibre

Hi Chariselle,
My baby sleeps on sarong too during the day when she's with my mum and sleeps on her cot at night. I feel that the sarong thingie is pretty good, before that she will always wake up if there's a lot of noise but with the sarong, she usually takes naps of 3hrs sometimes even 4hrs, wah, I can do alot of things with 3-4 hrs at home when I'm around so I really appreciate this old method of rocking babies to sleep..haa...

For my girl, she usually sleeps around 9-10pm. Guess for mine it really depends on what time she woke up from her late afternoon nap and not due to the feeding time. But I do have a routine for her, if I sense that she is tired, I will change her diaper, clean her face and hands with warm towel and let her drink milk (even thou her last feed was like 1.5 - 2 hrs ago), she tends to get the message and will sleep after I burped her and will only wake up next morning around 6.30am - 7am (8am if I'm not working that day).

Guess every baby has different behavioural patterns and funny thing is I think they change their patterns every now and then huh don't you agree, so need to trial and error...hee

Cocomo,
My girl woke up the night before at 4.30am and refused to sleep. Was wondering why she was making so much noise, tried to get her to sleep and found out at 6am that actually all the little girl wanted was to poo poo cos she has a stomach upset, felt so bad after that for not understanding her well, she slept like a little piggy right after her business...and of course, me had to suffer in the office for the rest of the day for lack of sleep due to my stupidity...

hi cocomo,
sometimes my gal will wake up middle of the nite & make noise too. but we just ignore & pretend sleeping. after a while, she will get sian n sleep cos no one entertain her. hahha
but i agreed with Catherine, ur boy may be playing too much. if my gal play too much, i'll had a hard time taht nite. she will like fuss alot when i try to make her sleep and wake up more often in the nite.

HoneyB,

I'm actually quite reluctant to introduce sarong initially cos scared next time difficult to kick off the habit.. but she's v light sleeper lor, can't sleep if too noisy. now she can also take long afternoon nap for 3-4 hrs

hi mommies

thank you for sharing. hmm.. looks like each baby has different sleeping pattern. and as wat honey says, the pattern also changes. actually when leon was 3-5mths old, his sleeping was really good. 10pm - 8am or even later. but somehow it has evolved to this. im guessing it could be teething (i blame all fussing on that now haha), becoming ever ready for solids so needs to wake up for feed now in the night, being able to toss/turn now like a helicopter at night (learnt that term from kelly heehee).

Sleepy in office now, want to peng san.

Helo,

Been ages last logged in... Check with everyone, has ur little one tooth came out or signs of teething? Normally how long does the sign last?
How about turning? I place Natalie on her tummy she trying to flip to her back bt on her side n fuss ard.. how can I do to make her or mayb train her to flip?

Cynthia

TURNING
i think cannot train, but give her as much opportunity to be on her tummy. let her fuss a little, so she can be even more determined to do it.
For leon, when he's on his tummy, he will somehow try to crawl, it kinda looks like he's swimming, then he will lift his backside v high, and sometimes jus flop back to his back.
but nowadays, he doesnt like flipping so much, he loves to jus sit the whole day. i find he likes to shuffle shuffle here n thr when he is sitting, and he jus loves it when he is sitting and we help him to stand up.

Other mommies can share what their babies r up to these days in terms of this too?

Hi pupsandcups,

ON TUMMY.
I put her on tummy she also keep pushing herself to crawl rather to learn & flip.. haiz... sometime see their buttock lift so high with the diapers realli very amusing!

Leon also love to sit whole day? He can sit without support? Natalie like to sit too.. with support. sometime let her sit without support like going to fall.

I don understand why she always like to lean forward or even like look down on floor instead of looking up. I use toys to let her look up she jus glance awhile & look on the floor again! Is it due to her neck is not strong enough? She can support her neck v well n turning ard.. jus that she like to look down more instead of higher... any mummies experience this too?

Chariselle,
Should be fine, I know of alot of babies who sleep in sarong and by the time they turn 1 year old, they will opt to sleep on the floor on a mattress instead

HoneyB,
I hope so. now i only hope she won't prefer her sarong to cot bed at night..

btw mummies, my baby can't finish her milk nowadays. only take about 4-5 oz. she used to take 6oz 2 weeks ago. yesterday she also missed one feed.. any one experience this? is it ok for baby to miss one feed. my gal now drinks ave of 5 oz/feed , 5 feeds a day.

chariselle

cocomo
u really know me very well hor...i did take some pics but i took mostly my boys. will upload once i managed 2 upload fr my HP to my laptop then to my desktop.

leia
thks so much 4 hosting e swimfest. it was lotsa fun 4 my boys, esp gabe who enjoyed himself so much in ur kiddy pool (it looks so fun tat i myself also wanna go down & play) n e food. do let me know if any1 going 2 ur plc 2 swim again, i'm sure gabe wont mind

GYMBOREE TRIAL
any1 interested? pls clink on e link, print out e free trial.

http://www.mumcentre.com/index.php?option=com_classifieds&act=events&task=details&cid=384

i've called gymboree at serangoon gardens n these r e slots available...the free trial is only meant for 1session n each session can take up to 8bbs. tis session is meant for bb above 6mths old.

mummies & a daddy, if u r keen, pls indicate ur preference so i can book wif Gymboree. if u can make it 4 both sessions, pls put ur name down then i'll c which session has most attendees b4 booking. if we can gather min 5bbs for each session, e mummies can proceed wif e session too.

Sat, 24Feb 1215-1pm
1) kelly + edward

Sun, 25Feb 3-345pm
1) kelly + edward
2) shirley + heidi (kelly's frien)

Me me!!!! We going for the 6mths onwards session right?

GYMBOREE TRIAL

Sat, 24Feb 1215-1pm
1) kelly + edward
2) Piyo, hubby & Megan

Sun, 25Feb 3-345pm
1) kelly + edward

Me me!!!! We going for the 6mths onwards session right?

GYMBOREE TRIAL

Sat, 24Feb 1215-1pm
1) kelly + edward
2) Piyo, hubby & Megan

Sun, 25Feb 3-345pm
1) kelly + edward

Hi kelly,
any pics of the swim fest? you sure got take right? post here lei!

SLEEPING PATTERN
recently my megan also been acting up... last time she used exactly at 8.30pm and wont wake up till 3 or 4 am... recently, she sleeps later like ard 9plus 10 even sometimes and wakes up like 12 plus crying then after suckling go back to sleep and then 2 or 3 plus wakes up cries very loudly or sometimes just wakes up wanting to play till 5 or 6 plus in the morning lei! There was even 1 morning when my hubby got to bring her down to market walk a round b4 she falls asleep again.. that's 6plus in the morning lei! so you all think like that is teething issues ah???recently my hubby and I really orh bak kak liao lei!

Hi Cheers,
i also cut small slices of apple and let megan suck the juices CLEAN!!!! sometimes by the time we take over the slice, NO TASTE lei! so bland!!!
BUT SHE CRIES whenever we take the slice of apple from her....

me too..

GYMBOREE TRIAL

Sat, 24Feb 1215-1pm
1) kelly + edward
2) Piyo, hubby & Megan
3) augbaby, hubby & jayden

Sun, 25Feb 3-345pm
1) kelly + edward

Sat, 24Feb 1215-1pm
1) Piyo, hubby & Megan
2) augbaby, hubby & jayden

Sun, 25Feb 3-345pm
1) kelly + edward

i cant make it for 24feb liao...too rushing 4 me. gabe has lego class at 1030-1130am at parkway then e homebased right brain training class at 215pm.

Sat, 24Feb 1215-1pm
1) Piyo, hubby & Megan

Sun, 25Feb 3-345pm
1) kelly + edward
4) ade, mel n leon

thanks for organising kelly!

anyone knows where i can get swim diapers? Normal NTUC or where? Coz we r thinking of bringing jay for a swim next wk and i need to get some swim diapers..any mummies got spare ones that i can buy from you..but i am on leave tom n thur and fri half day so anyone working in raffles place that i can meet to pick up or anyone staying in tampines that i can meet u to buy from u...dun wanna buy the entire pack leh..tks...

GYMBOREE TRIAL
Sat, 24Feb 1215-1pm
1) Piyo, hubby & Megan
5)
6)
7)
8)
tis session can take up to 8 bbs.

Sun, 25Feb 3-345pm
1) kelly + edward
4) ade, mel n leon
5)
tis session can only take up to 5 bbs.

Okie mummies, another trial!!!! I managed to call Aquaducks again on the swimming trial!

I managed to get 2 time slots for our babies cos I am worried we would need 2! It's a 30min free trial in the Suntec pool. Interested mummies and daddy (superdad), pls put the details down as per follows:

AQUADUCKS SWIMMING TRIAL (FREE!)
3RD MAR SAT 2.30PM (max 6 babies)

1. Baby's name: Megan Tay
DOB: 15 Aug 06
Mummies contact no : Pls PM me.

10TH MAR SAT 2.30PM (max 6 babies)

1. Baby's name:
DOB:

The water at 2.30pm would be not too cold and there will still be shaded area due to the shadow cast over by the office towers. They will be conducting the trial with toys, dance, music, group activities, parent involvement and some time for 1to1 baby & parent with coach.

Any mummies interested?

Kelly,
I'm interested too.

Sun, 25Feb 3-345pm
1) kelly + edward
4) ade, mel n leon
5) HoneyB, hubby & Hannah

hi augbaby,

you can get them frm toys r us.
the S size are meant for 7-12kg. so our kids can wear till end of the year, provided still within the 12kg range.
cos my 18mths niece is only 10kg...still wearing this size.

thanks piyo.

hehe i love these trials

2. Baby's name: Leon
DOB: 14 Aug 06
Mummies contact no :

BTW, aquaducks is it run by Joscelin Yeo's bro?

GYMBOREE TRIAL
Sat, 24Feb 1215-1pm
1) Piyo, hubby & Megan
5)
6)
7)
8)

Sun, 25Feb 3-345pm
1) kelly + edward
4) ade, mel n leon
5) cocomo, hubby , Jayden

1. Megan Tay - DOB: 15 Aug 06
2. Leon - DOB 14 Aug 06
3. Jayden Gow - DOB: 02 Aug 06

Piyo,
Me Me interested, thanks for checking!

2. Baby's name: Hannah Lim
DOB: 21 Aug 06
Will PM you my contact

1. Baby's name:
DOB:

Sat, 24Feb 1215-1pm
1) Piyo, hubby & Megan
5)
6)
7)
8)

Sun, 25Feb 3-345pm
1) kelly + edward
4) ade, mel n leon
5) honeyb, hubby & hannah
6) cocomo, hubby & jayden

augbb, will u like 2 take e sat class so cocomo can take e sun slot?

Reorganising:

2. Baby's name: Leon
DOB: 14 Aug 06

3. Baby's name: Jayden Gow
DOB: 02 Aug 06

4. Baby's name: Hannah Lim
DOB: 21 Aug 06