(2006/07) JULY 2006 MTB

Hi Missmoon,

Yes, she takes porridge once or twice a day. Cereal once a day, plus milk 4 or 5 times a day. Think she's a little 'monster' :) But it will be jar food for her on weekends cos mummy lazy to cook .

I never try the cereal before. Is it gd?

We realised Julian appeiate is very gd these days. Can finish a big bowl of porriage and 1 hr later still can down 150ml of milk.

hong
i find it quite tasty too. hehee

it's always good to hear about good appetites, especially our babies
wat do u put in the porridge? watery watery type or those thick type? wat FM is Julian on now?

i'm thinking to switch to another brand, cannot decide between Enfapro or Pediasure.

Hi Hong,

I think HT cereal is not bad. You can get it at NTUC but it's much more ex than Heinz so it will be a waste if Julian doesn't like it. But if you have already started him on other cereal such as Heinz, no harm trying out the HT ones.

Missmoon,
I use pork + carrot to cook the stock.
Julian like not so watery porriage but not the thick kind.

Julian is still on Mamil 2. Can our bb take pedisure now? I thot it is for older kid like 1yo.

Ur boy not eating well? Wat is his weigh now?

May,
OIC. hmmm then i better dun get, later he reject then wasted.

Just wondering when can we stop puree-ing the baby food? I give my girl porridge but I always blend them before feeding her. How long must this continue?

hong
his appetite is ok, cereal he takes. milk he doesn't like. i hv hard time coaxing him to drink at milk feeds. thot pediasure is for kids who are fussy eaters, not getting enough from solids. his weight at 8mos was 8.6kg and he lost a bit after a throat infection.

oh, then the stock used to cook porridge. wat other meats/veggies does Julian take wif?

Fai,
I used a chopper for all the ingredients (fish, vege, meats). Did not do puree before. As long as the pieces of food is not too big, babies should be able to chew....practise their jaws.

missmoon,
I also thot pedisure is for 1 year and above?

Fai,
I dun puree Julian's food anymore. I just used the spoon and mash the fish. I will cut the vege till very fine and add into the porriage to cook.

Missmoon,
I only feed Julian fish (threadfin & codfish).
As for vege, i tried brocoli, carrot, sweet potatoes, asparague, pumpkin n spanish.
My MIL will use sweet corn together with carrot and pork to cook the stock. very sweet.

It is always a headache when the kid dun drink milk.

hong
wah, very varied. me boring, only do carrot, sweet potatoes, asparagus purees. corn ah...good idea.

3 more months to 1 yr old liao, thot can start a bit earlier cos he not taking in enough milk lo...haha, but i will ask PD first.

hong ya, it's a headache, a BIG one

every nite (and all day weekends) keep my fingers crossed for him to drink up....if i'm lucky, he'll finish all 150ml. sigh, sometimes he can totally miss the last feed. sometimes i coax him until i also pek chek but cannot show him, otherwise he will refuse even more.

Hong,
Wah! Ur Julian can eat so much porridge now! Gd! Kaylyn can only finish half a small bowl of porridge. These few days, she also reduce her milk intake from 180ml to 120ml...sigh...getting slimmer & slimmer by the day. Her weight is between 25th & 50th percentile now...She's also drooling alot..dunno if her upper teeth is sprouting out soon.

YB, Kaylyn teething? maybe tat's y more sensitive, therefore reduce intake? i also thot Ethan teething but till now, still no teeth, so i dunno y he's not drinking enough.

it's ok ah, girls usually weigh lighter ah

missmoon,blessings
I'm concern abt Kaylyn's intake of solid lor...cos it seems she's still hungry but refused porridge if we feed her more...think mayb she's lazy to chew? I see other babies already take solid to replace milk, but Kaylyn still can't.

YB,

Cait also reduce her intake of solids now. aiyo big headache to feed her. She is like taking 1/4 of her porridge. I was thinking maybe teething lah. but she prefer to latch on n drink for hrs!

YB, how abt cereal? she likes it? actually, my take is that milk is still a very important source in bb's diet till they're at least 1 year old. so long as he/she is taking enough, it should be fine.

i haven't introduced porridge but my mum did once recently and he hated it. i haven't tried it again since but stuck to cereal. personally, i still want milk feeds to be the main feeds rather than solids for now, solids is just a supplement.

so long as PD not concerned, it shld be fine. i know lah, easier said than done, we mummies always tend to worry no matter wat

May
For the cereal, I give my ger 7 tablespoons each time. And she manages to finish all. I love the texture... very smooth.

YB,
u may want to alternate between cereals and porridge? Milk is still important.

missmoon,
keep trying cos babies will take a while to accept new taste. Ryan also initially does not like it...but my mum persists and he is ok with it now. Though milk is important, taking in solids is a way of teaching babies how to swallow, chew and practise their jaws....When eating different type of food, they will be more adaptable and be a much easier eater in time to come....think I read this somewhere.

Talking abt milk intake, Emerson is also a pathetic milk drinker, from morning til now, he only drink 2 bottles of milk, total of 180ml. I tried so hard to make him drink only to waste bottles and bottles of milk. Porridge - Dont think he's eating alot to replace the milk, coz he eats only one small bowl. I think I will also switch to Pediasure when he turns one.
Today in the MRT, this lady beside me thought he's 4mths only,coz her son is 5mths old and much bigger than E. Haiyo, so sad after i've heard her.

YB - Strange hor, Kaylyn drinks alot more than E, but then her size is smaller... maybe she's like u, petite.

Missmoon - When u check w PD liao, can let me know? Thanks. I always tot yr boy belong to the heavier side.

Fai, I also didnt blend BB's food from the start, because I realise Emerson likes food with abit of texture. But I'm quite stuck now, coz I donno how to intro him meat without blending it, Mumies, how do u all handle the meat other than using a blender?

Ive got a question with regards to Enfacpro. What's the colour of the tin?

I bought mine from medical hall@$27.60 The tin is gold colour then the auntie at the provision store says the gold colour tin is from Malaysia,that's why its cheaper, hers is Singapore, white colour tin so more ex $30.50. But NTUC and Cold storage also gold colour tin...

How do I know which is from Malaysia then?

PM no lah the aunty boy is oversize..hahaha, if E is 4mth then V is 2mth..hahaha

Venice also reject porriage for a while when i start feeding...my mum slowly adjust the ingredient till her liking now she eat 1 big bowl of porriage within 5min provided cook by my mum... more then wat i eat! but her milk intake is veri little only 120ml.

Fai i had never blend her food, she like food n rice with texture!

PM
as for meat...normally i will use the 'ba tou' that used to cook for the stock...i will cook the stock overnite then next day i just press the meat...hehe...then just feed..even for dried scallop oso same same...they he will like' chew' the meat loh...

PM,
For meat, I normally put it together with the porridge in the slow cooker for about 2 hours.
Then I take out the meat and chop it into tiny pieces.

Hope this is the latest list!

<font color="ff0000">7th Gatherin @ Zita's Lovenest
Date: 28 April 07

Timing : 12pm onward ( Try come early if not my gal & frez will miss out the fun as going BJG @ 4pm)</font> will pm yr the addy this weekend

1)dsiitan
2)eeyore
3)Melody
4)Mich
5)YB
6)lala
7)kloe
8)jul04
9)JP
10)CHM
11) Poppy
12) LOK
13)Juronggal
14)nite_gal
15)Z-Lia
16) PM
17) bubble
18) Wendy
19) Lucida
20) Lena
21) cottagefry (Put for her first coz she said ytd she wanna join)
22) CG

<font color="ff0000">Mummy going for BJG class will yr be coming to my hse? hope so then can go to school together...but Daddy is bring V there so i will be around!</font>

missmoon,blessing,
I've tried Nestle rice cereal & Heinz Banana cereal. But Kaylyn at most only eat half a tablespoon then reject again. So I've stopped buying cereals & just concentrate on improving my porridge recipe.

But I find it's not just the taste or texture of the porridge tat bothers Kaylyn. Cos she tried PM's & Jul's porridge and also takes very little...sigh...thinking abt it just gives me headache...

May,
The PT maid tat u introduced me quit after just 2 cleaning sessions. She told me she just took on more regular cleaning jobs (once weekly)& so cannot continue to clean my hse. Guess, I have to look for another reliable PT maid again...

PM
Let me know what you find out about the colour of Enfapro tins. I will switch D back to Enfapro cos his milk intake went down even more now I'm trying Friso on him so mebbe he did like Enfapro. I think some babies, like pp, have smaller appetites and can absorb more nutrients from a small amount of food. Efficient Digestive systems? Cos some bb's drink/eat a lot but are still small.

Dsii - Which brand dry scallop did u buy? As for the bak twa, I thought afetr cooking its very very tough? Can still press the meat?

CG - Chop arh, I tried once, but I feel the meat is too hot to hold on to chop, so I stopped.Hehe Thinking id there's other better methods. :p

Zita - Since going to BJG, then hoW? Ending early or whatt? For me, maybe I go after the class if ppl are still around. My hubby will b holiday-ing during that period, so he cant send me there. Dont think I can get ready by so early. E needs his nap too, else he be super cranky during the class.

Zoe - Ok, will see how the mummies respond. That's true. Friso seems to be cheaper milk powder, it will save u $ if D wants to drink friso. Hehehe. Eversince he improved on Enfacpro I never change him, coz I find it so hard for him to drink, I get headache again if he rejects new FM.

YB,
I also want to get a PT maid leh, anybody else has any recommendations?

zita,
Wah then u better cook a big big pot of porridge on d gathering day for all d babies to try...haha

Yah every bb's appetite is different, G doesn't seem to know when she is full n just keep wanting to be fed!! I have to control her diet :p but she doesn't really like fruits n water, she takes but can tell not as much as her solids which is quite bad...

PM, i think Enfapro change packaging the enfalac stage 1 that i bought oso change packaging... i bought the old stock @ woodlands cost $28.80

btw, those gg zita's house for gathering, keep asking for address, dun worry, nearer to the date, zita will send email to all gg her address

emerson haven been pooing for 3 days, he seems to have difficulty coz every time he wants to do it, his whole face will turn red but nothing came out. I've tried giving him apples, papaya, yogurt and kiwi..nthing seems to make him poo.

pm, gold is the new packaging according to hb... yah she still drinking stage 1 cos she reject porridge n i dun wan her to lose all the nutrients that's why i continue w stage 1, anyway stage 1 can drink until 1 yr old... did e change diet... cos that is quite unusual for them not to poo for 3 days...

Eeyore - Oh I see. So the auntie at the provision shop is just talking nonsense..coz my MIL told her that I bought it cheaper at the medical hall, so she just give the excuse to keep my MIL mouth shut. Haha.

No chnage in diet for him. He's just teething. I wonder if shld bring him to the doc?

Come to think if it, that means this shop abit over charge me, old packaging still selling at higher price. $30.50.

New packaging - NTUC selling $30.30. Medical hall selling $26.70.

oh... PM, no wonder... charlene is teething too... but her appetite quite good n sometimes drink more than usual... hope she remain this way always...